summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/43968.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
Diffstat (limited to '43968.txt')
-rw-r--r--43968.txt4328
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 4328 deletions
diff --git a/43968.txt b/43968.txt
deleted file mode 100644
index d112f76..0000000
--- a/43968.txt
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,4328 +0,0 @@
-Project Gutenberg's The Book of Coniston, by William Gershom Collingwood
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
-almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
-re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
-with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org/license
-
-
-Title: The Book of Coniston
-
-Author: William Gershom Collingwood
-
-Release Date: October 17, 2013 [EBook #43968]
-
-Language: English
-
-Character set encoding: ASCII
-
-*** START OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK THE BOOK OF CONISTON ***
-
-
-
-
-Produced by Les Galloway, sp1nd and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at http://www.pgdp.net (This file was
-produced from images generously made available by The
-Internet Archive)
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
- THE
- BOOK OF CONISTON
-
-
- BY
-
- W. G. COLLINGWOOD, M.A., F.S.A.,
- _Editor to the Cumberland and Westmorland Antiquarian and
- Archaeological Society;
- Author of "The Life of John Ruskin," etc._
-
-
- THIRD EDITION--REVISED AND ENLARGED.
-
-
-
- Kendal:
- Titus Wilson, Publisher.
- 1906.
-
-
- PRESS NOTICES
-
- OF THE EARLIER EDITIONS.
-
-
- "A capital little guide book."--_Daily News._
-
- "It is an interesting little volume."--_Manchester Guardian._
-
- "The ideal of a guide book."--_Carlisle Patriot._
-
- "An excellent guide."--_Carlisle Journal._
-
- "Confidently recommended."--_Ulverston Advertiser._
-
-
- CONTENTS.
-
-
- Page
- I.--THE OLD MAN 1
-
- II.--THE LAKE 8
-
- III.--THE MOORLANDS AND THEIR ANCIENT
- SETTLEMENTS 14
-
- 1.--The Blawith and Kirkby Moors 15
- 2.--Bethecar and Monk Coniston Moors 17
- 3.--Banniside and Torver Moors 18
-
- IV.--EARLY HISTORY
-
- Roman period 22
- British period 23
- Anglian period 23
- Norse period 26
- Norman period 28
-
- V.--MONK CONISTON 31
-
- VI.--THE FLEMINGS OF CONISTON HALL 37
-
- VII.--THE CHURCH AND PUBLIC BUILDINGS 46
-
- VIII.--CONISTON INDUSTRIES
-
- Copper 58
- Iron 62
- Slate 65
- Wood 68
-
- IX.--OLD CONISTON 71
-
- INDEX 87
-
-
-I.--THE OLD MAN.
-
-
-Our first walk is naturally to climb the Coniston Old Man. By the
-easiest route, which fortunately is the most interesting, there is
-a path to the top; good as paths go on mountains--that is, plain
-to find--and by its very steepness and stoniness all the more of a
-change from the town pavement and the hard high road. It is quite
-worth while making the ascent on a cloudy day. The loss of the
-panorama is amply compensated by the increased grandeur of the
-effects of gloom and mystery on the higher crags, and with care
-and attention to directions there need be no fear of losing the
-way.
-
-About an hour and a half, not counting rests, is enough for the
-climb; and rather more than an hour for the descent. From the
-village, for the first ten minutes, we can take two alternative
-routes. Leaving the Black Bull on the left, one road goes up past
-a wooden bridge which leads to the Old Forge, and by Holywath
-Cottage and the gate of Holywath (J. W. H. Barratt, Esq., J.P.)
-and the cottages of Silverbank, through a gate opening upon the
-fell. Turn to the left, past sandpits in a fragment of moraine
-left by the ancient glacier which, at the end of the Ice Age, must
-once have filled the copper-mines valley and broken off here,
-with toppling pinnacles and blue cavern, just like a glacier in
-Switzerland. Note an ice-smoothed rock on the right, showing
-basalt in section. Among the crannies of Lang Crags, which tower
-above, broken hexagonal pillars of basalt may be found in the
-screes, not too large to carry off as specimens. In ten minutes
-the miniature Alpine road, high above a deep ravine, leads to the
-Gillhead Waterfall and Bridge.
-
-An alternative start may be made to the right of the Post Office,
-and up the lane to left of the Sun Hotel; through the gate at
-Dixon Ground, and over a wooden bridge beneath the mineral siding
-which forms the actual terminus of the railway. Another wooden
-bridge leads only to the grounds of Holywath, but affords a fine
-sight of the rocky torrent bed with Coniston limestone exposed on
-the Holywath side. The Coniston limestone is a narrow band of dark
-blue rock, with black holes in it, made by the weathering-out of
-nodules. It lies between the softer blue clay-slates we have left,
-which form the lower undulating hills and moorlands, and the hard
-volcanic rocks which form the higher crags and mountains.
-
-The cartroad to the right, over the Gillhead Bridge, leads to the
-copper mines and up to Leverswater, from which the Old Man can be
-climbed, but by a much longer route. We take the gate and rough
-path to the left, after a look at the fine glaciated rocks across
-the bridge, apparently fresh from the chisel of the sculpturing
-ice; the long grooves betray the direction in which the glacier
-slid over them in its fall down the ravine. From a stile over the
-wall the copper mines become visible above the flat valley-bottom,
-filled with sand from the crushing of the ore. The path leads up
-to the back of the Scrow among parsley fern and club moss, and
-fifteen minutes from the bridge bring us through a sheepfold to
-another stile from which Weatherlam is finely seen on the right,
-and on the left the tall cascade from Lowwater. A short ten
-minutes more, and we reach the hause (_hals_ or neck) joining the
-crag of the Bell (to the left) with the ridge of the Old Man up
-which our way winds.
-
-Here we strike the quarry road leading from the Railway Station
-over Banniside Moor, a smoother route, practicable (as ours
-is not) for ponies, but longer. Here are slate-sheds, and the
-_step_ where the sledges that come down the steep upper road are
-slid upon wheels. The sledge-road winds round the trap rocks of
-Crowberry haws (the grass-grown old road rejoins it a little
-higher) and affords views, looking backwards, of Coniston Hall
-and the lake behind. Five minutes above the slate-sheds the road
-finally crosses Crowberry haws, and Lowwater Fall comes into
-view--a broken gush of foam down a cleft 500 feet from brow to
-base.
-
-A shepherd's track leads to the foot of the fall and to the
-Pudding Stone, a huge boulder--not unlike the famous Bowder Stone
-of Borrowdale--a fragment from the "hard breccia" cliffs rising
-behind it, namely, Raven Tor high above; Grey Crag beneath,
-with the disused millrace along its flank; and Kernel Crag, the
-lion-like rock over the copper mines. Dr. Gibson, the author of
-_The Old Man, or Ravings and Ramblings round Conistone_, writing
-half-a-century ago, says:--"On this crag, probably for ages, a
-pair of ravens have annually had their nest, and though their
-young have again and again been destroyed by the shepherds they
-always return to the favourite spot." He goes on to tell that
-once, when the parent birds were shot, a couple of strange ravens
-attended to the wants of the orphan brood, until they were fit to
-forage for themselves. On this suggestion, Dr. John Pagen White
-has written his poem in _Lays and Legends of the English Lake
-Country_, fancifully describing the raven on Kernel Crag watching
-from prehistoric antiquity the changes of the world around it,
-through past, present and future, to the crack of doom!
-
-From the Pudding Stone experienced climbers can find their way up
-the ledges of Raven Tor to the top of Lowwater Fall. We follow the
-sledge road, and in five minutes reach Saddlestones Quarry, with
-its tram-lines and tunnelled level, and continually increasing
-platform of "rid" or debris.
-
-Ten minutes' walk from the quarries brings us to Lowwater, with
-glimpses of Windermere in the distance, and Leverswater nearer at
-hand under the summit of Weatherlam. It is worth while turning off
-to the right hand to see the great blocks of stone that lie in the
-margin of the tarn, and at the head of the fall.
-
-As we climb the zigzags to the highest quarries, over the slate
-which stands out in slabs from the sward, the crags of Brimfell
-and Buckbarrow opposite seem to rise with us. It is here, on a
-cloudy day when the tops are covered, that the finest impressions
-of mountain gloom may be found; under the cloud and the precipices
-a dark green tarn, savage rocks, and tumbling streams; and out,
-beyond, the tossing sea of mountain forms.
-
-From the platform of the highest quarry, reached in ten minutes
-from the tarn, a rough and steep path to the left leads in five
-minutes more to the ridge, and the view of the lowland bursts
-upon us with the Westmorland and Yorkshire hills in the distance.
-Below, as Ruskin wrote when he first climbed here in 1867, "the
-two lakes of Coniston and Windermere, lying in the vastest space
-of sweet cultivated country I have ever looked over,--a great part
-of the view from the Rigi being merely over black pine-forest,
-even on the plains."
-
-Fifteen minutes more take us up this steep arete to the top, 2626
-feet above the sea.
-
-There used to be three ancient cairns--the "Old Man" himself, his
-"Wife" and his "Son":--_man_, the Celtic _maen_, being the local
-name for a pile of stones, and the _Old Man_ simply the name of
-the cairn, not of the whole mountain. These were destroyed to
-build the present landmark. The circle of stones we have passed
-marks the place of the Jubilee bonfire of 1887; the flare-lights
-of King Edward's coronation were shown from the top of the cairn,
-where in the days of fire signals was a regular beacon station.
-
-The view on a clear day commands Ingleborough to the east,
-Snowdon to the south, the Isle of Man to the west, and to the
-north, Scafell and Bowfell, Glaramara and Skiddaw, Blencathra
-and Helvellyn: and beneath these all the country spread out like
-a raised model, with toy hills and lakes and villages. It is so
-easy to identify the different points with the help of the map,
-that it is hardly necessary to name them in detail. Under the
-distant Pennines of Yorkshire lie Windermere, Esthwaite Water, and
-Coniston with Monk Coniston Tarns at its head. Southward,--over
-Walney Scar, Blind Tarn and Dow Crags close at hand,--are the
-shores of Morecambe Bay and the Duddon Estuary, with Black Combe
-rising dark against the sea. Westward, across the Duddon Valley,
-the steep rocky summits of Harter Fell and Hard Knott. The group
-close under our feet to the north includes Brimfell, Woolcrags,
-and the Carrs, with Grey Friar on the left and Weatherlam on the
-right, and in their hollows Lowwater and Leverswater. To the east
-of Helvellyn are Fairfield, Red Screes and Ill Bell, above the
-russet sides of Loughrigg and the distant detail of Ambleside.
-
-At any time it is a fine panorama; but for grandeur of mountain
-line Weatherlam is the better standpoint. To walk along the
-ridge over springy turf is easy and exhilarating after the toil
-of the stony climb; and the excursion is often made. A mile to
-the depression of Levers Hause, another mile past Wool Crags and
-the Carrs, down Prison Band (the arete running eastward from the
-nearer side of the Carrs) to the dip at Swirl Hause; and a third
-mile over Blacksail, would bring you to Weatherlam Cairn. And a
-red sunset there, with a full moon to light you down the ridge
-to Hole Rake and the copper mines and home, is an experience to
-remember.
-
-But for most of us enough is as good as a feast; and Weatherlam
-deserves a day to itself, and respectful approach by Tilberthwaite
-Gill. This walk leads from the village past Far End up Yewdale,
-turning to left at the sign post, and up between Raven Crag,
-opposite, and Yewdale Crag. At the next sign post turn up the
-path to the left, passing Pennyrigg Quarries, and then keep the
-path down into the Gill. The bridges, put up by Mr. Marshall, and
-kept in repair by the Lake District Association, lead through the
-ravine to the force at its head. Thence Weatherlam can be ascended
-either by Steel Edge, the ridge to the left, or breasting the
-steep slope from the hollow of the cove.
-
-From the top of the Old Man we have choice of many descents. By
-Levers Hause we can scramble down--it looks perilous but is easy
-to a wary walker,--to Leverswater; and thence by a stony road to
-the copper mines and civilization.
-
-By Gaits Hause, a little to the west of the Old Man, we can reach
-Gaits Water, and so across Banniside Moor to the village: or we
-can take the grassy ridge and conquer Dow Crags with a cheap
-victory, which the ardent climber will scorn. He will attack the
-crags from below, finding his own way up the great screes that
-border the tarn, and attack the couloirs,--those great chasms that
-furrow the precipice. Only, he should not go alone. Here and there
-the chimney is barred by boulders wedged into its narrow gorge:
-which to surmount needs either a "leg up," or risky scrambling and
-some nasty jumps to evade them. These chimneys are described with
-due detail in the books on rock-climbing, but should not be rashly
-attempted by inexperienced tourists.
-
-The simplest way down is along Little Arrow Edge. The route can be
-found, even if clouds blot out bearings and landmarks, thus. In
-the cairn on the top of the Old Man there is a kind of doorway.
-You leave that doorway square behind you, and walk as straight
-as you can forward into the fog--not rapidly enough to go over
-the edge by mistake, but confidently. Your natural instincts will
-make you trend a trifle to the left, which is right and proper.
-It you have a compass, steer south south-east. In five minutes
-by the watch you will be well on the grass-grown arete, thinly
-set with slate-slabs, but affording easy walking. Keep the grass
-on a slightly increasing downward slope; do not go down steep
-places either to right or to left, and in ten minutes more you
-will strike a ledge or shelf which runs all across the breast of
-the Old Man mountain, with a boggy stream running through it--not
-straight down the mountain, but across it. If you strike this
-shelf at its highest point, where there is no definite stream but
-only a narrow bit of bog from which the stream flows, you are
-right. If you find the stream flowing to your right hand, bear
-more to the left after crossing it. Five minutes more of jolting
-down over grass, among rough rocks which can easily be avoided,
-and you see Bursting Stone Quarry--into which there is no fear of
-falling if you keep your eyes open and note the time. By the watch
-you should be twenty minutes--a little more if you have hesitated
-or rested--from the top. Long before this the ordinary cloud-cap
-has been left aloft, and you see your way, even by moonlight,
-without the least difficulty towards the village; but though mist
-may settle down, from this quarry a distinct though disused road
-leads you safe home.
-
-In ten minutes from the quarry the road brings you to Booth Tarn,
-through some extremely picturesque broken ground, from which under
-an ordinary sunset the views of the nearer hills are fine, with
-grand foreground. Booth Crag itself stands over the tarn, probably
-named from a little bield or shelter in ruins in a nook beneath
-it; and where the quarry road comes out upon Banniside Moss, the
-Coniston limestone appears, easily recognisable with its pitted
-and curved bands, contrasting with the bulkier volcanic breccia
-just above.
-
-Beyond the tarn to the right are the volunteers' rifle-butts with
-their flagstaff. Take the path to the left, and in five minutes
-reach the gate of the intake, with lovely sunset and moonlight
-views of the Bell and the Scrow to the left, and Yewdale beyond;
-Red Screes and Ill Bell in the distance. Hence the road is plain,
-and twenty minutes more bring you past the Railway Station to
-Coniston village.
-
-To give a good idea of the lie of the land there is nothing
-like a raised map. A careful and detailed coloured model of the
-neighbourhood (six inches to the mile, with the same vertical
-scale, so that the slopes and heights are not exaggerated, but
-true to nature) was made in 1882 under the direction of Professor
-Ruskin, who presented it to the Coniston Institute, where it has
-been placed in the Museum.
-
-
-
-
-II.--THE LAKE.
-
-
-Coniston Water it is called by the public now-a-days, but its
-proper name is Thurston Water. So it is written in all old
-documents, maps, and books up to the modern tourist period. In
-the deed of 1196 setting forth the boundaries of Furness Fells it
-is called _Thorstanes Watter_, and in lawyer's Latin _Turstini
-Watra_, which proves that the lake got its title from some early
-owner whose Norse name was Thorstein; in Latin, Turstinus; in
-English, Thurston. In the same way Ullswater was Ulf's water, and
-Thirlmere was Thorolf's mere, renamed in later times from a new
-owner Leathes water--though in the end the older title finally
-prevailed.
-
-As a first rough survey it will be convenient to take the steam
-gondola, and check off the landmarks seen on her trip, an all too
-short half-hour, down to the waterfoot.
-
-The start is from the pier near the head of the lake, at the
-quaint boathouse built seventy years ago, in what was then called
-the Gothic style, for the late Mr. John Beever of the Thwaite--the
-house on the slope of the Guards Wood above the Waterhead Hotel.
-The boathouse stands on a promontory made by Yewdale Beck, which
-falls into the lake close at hand, and brings down with every
-flood fresh material to build its embankment farther and farther
-into the lake. So rapidly is its work done that a boulder is
-pointed out, twenty yards inland, which was always surrounded by
-water twenty or thirty years ago.
-
-Another cause helps to hasten their work, for it is in this part
-that the waves under the prevailing south-west winds attain their
-greatest size and strength. The steamer captain who lives here
-says that he has measured waves 65 feet long from crest to crest,
-five feet high from trough to crest. These great waves dash back
-the stones and gravel brought down by the becks and spread it
-northwards, embanking it in a ridge under the water from this
-point to Fir Point opposite. Dr. H. R. Mill, by his soundings in
-1893, found the deepest part of the little northern reach to be
-hardly more than 25 feet; this was close to the actual head of the
-water, showing that it is the debris brought down by the Yewdale
-and Church Becks which is silting up the bed.
-
-Looking round this northern reach, which the gondola does not
-traverse in her voyage, opposite is Fir Point, with the boathouse
-of Low Bank; a little higher up in a bay, the twin boathouses of
-Lanehead and Bank Ground; then the landings for Tent Lodge and
-Tent Cottage, and the bathing house and boathouse belonging to
-Victor Marshall, Esq., of Monk Coniston Hall, in the woods at
-the head of the lake. At the true waterhead, where the road from
-Hawkshead joins the road round the lake, used to stand the Old
-Waterhead Inn. Nearer us are the boathouses at Kirkby Quay, and
-the pier of the (new) Waterhead Hotel.
-
-Leaving the steamer pier we are at once in deep water. The
-soundings increase rapidly off the mouth of Church Beck, just
-below Mason and Thwaites' boathouse; the bottom, gently shelving
-for a few yards out, suddenly goes over a bank, and down at a
-steep angle to a depth of 125 feet. On the evening of August
-5th, 1896, a boy named George Gill sank there out of reach of
-his companion, and was drowned before help could be got. At the
-very moment the Parish Council in the village was discussing
-regulations for boating and bathing. The sad news brought the
-members down to the waterside for a painful object-lesson in the
-necessity of life-saving apparatus. By private effort, in the
-absence of public authority, life buoys and lines have now been
-provided at the boathouses and piers, and it is hoped that all
-will co-operate in the proper use of such means in case of need.
-
-We have now passed the boathouse of Coniston Bank on the left, and
-Coniston Hall on the right. Between the two the lake is at its
-broadest--nearly half-a-mile. Land's Point on the right narrows
-the lake to a third of a mile. Looking back, Yewdale Crag stands
-finely over the waterhead; Brantwood is opposite. Between Coniston
-Bank and Brantwood (fishermen and boat sailors may note) there is
-a shoal nearly rising to the surface in low water--a bank of stiff
-clay, about 50 yards off the east shore. On the right hand, in
-the second field below Land's Point, the dark-looking bank just
-above the foreshore is a mass of slag, the remains of an ancient
-bloomery or smelting furnace; and in the next field called the
-"Springs," half a mile below Land Point, there is another bloomery
-site, marked by a tree-grown hillock. Behind these, plantations
-cover the site of the ancient deer park of Coniston Hall. Exactly
-opposite the "Springs" bloomery is a promontory formed by Beck
-Leven, on which Ruskin's seat marks a favourite point of view
-embracing the whole of the waterhead and the crags around. Across
-the road from this seat and close to the beck are the slag mounds
-of another bloomery.
-
-We are now crossing the deepest part of the northern basin of the
-lake, where Dr. Mill found over 150 feet of water. The bottom
-rises, when we pass Hoathwaite boathouse on the right, to little
-more than 125 feet, and off Fir Island deepens again, attaining
-184 feet half a mile farther down--making this the deepest of
-the lakes after Wastwater, Windermere, and Ullswater, as its
-5-1/2 miles of length makes it the longest except Windermere and
-Ullswater. Its normal level is 143 feet above the sea, though it
-rises and falls in drought and damp weather as much as six feet.
-Of the form of its bed Dr. Mill says:--"If the water were reduced
-to sea level, there would remain two small lakes, the southern
-measuring one mile and a half in length, and a quarter of a mile
-in breadth, and having a maximum depth of 42 feet; the northern
-one, separated by a quarter of a mile, being only 9 feet deep,
-three-quarters of a mile long, and perhaps 200 yards wide at the
-most. Quite possibly the two might be connected by a channel, and
-give a long shallow lake of two and a half miles" (_Bathymetrical
-Survey of the English Lakes_, p. 39). This bank or dam between the
-two deeps is not caused by filling up from any stream like that at
-the steamer pier; it points to the fact, more strikingly seen in
-Windermere, that these long lakes, like most of the long valleys,
-are not mere troughs or grooves ploughed in the rock, but a series
-of basins, partly filled up with glacial debris, and partly joined
-together by glacial erosion, which broke and planed away the
-dividing barriers.
-
-Fir Island (formerly from its owner called Knott Island, now
-the property of Arthur Severn, Esq., R.I., J.P.) is low and
-close to the water's edge, hardly distinguishable except by its
-grove of Scotch firs from the rest of the coast. In very dry
-weather it becomes a peninsula, but usually a boat can make the
-circumnavigation, though there is risk of shipwreck on the sharp
-rocks to the landward side. Near it, beyond the road which winds
-prettily along the uneven and craggy shore, are the ruins of
-Copland's Barn; and above it the great larch woods of the Heald,
-on a noble slope of nearly 700 feet from the brow of the fell to
-the lake. The western shore is formed by the long and varied slope
-of Torver Common, down which runs the Moor Gill. At its foot,
-exactly opposite Copland's Barn, is the most extensive of the
-bloomeries, with the ruins of an old hearth still to be found.
-
-At last the continuous skylines are broken. On the left, a steep
-dingle runs up among rocks and woods to Parkamoor, a lonely farm
-on a bleak brow top; and on the right, the valley of Torver begins
-to open out, with glimpses of Dow Crags and the Old Man in a new
-aspect, showing their precipices boldly against the sky, and
-beneath them Sunny Bank and Oxness at the mouth of Torver Beck.
-
-Peel Island is now before us, a crag standing romantically out of
-the water, and rich with varied foliage. From its western brink
-the bed of the lake runs rapidly down to a depth of more than 100
-feet.
-
-The island itself was for a while known as Montague Island, from
-its owner. It was sometimes called the "Gridiron," for it is made
-up of a series of bars of rock, so to say, with a long projecting
-"calf rock" that stood for the handle. It might as well be called
-the ship, with the cockboat astern. But the old original name was
-Peel Island, which to a student of place-names indicated that it
-once was used as a fortress; and permission being asked from the
-agent of the owner, the Duke of Buccleugh, some little excavations
-were made, which revealed ancient buildings and walls, with
-pottery of an early mediaeval type and other remains, which can be
-seen in the Coniston Museum. But Peel Island is such a jewel of
-natural beauty that antiquarian curiosity hardly justified more
-than the most respectful disturbance of its bluebells and heather.
-
-Below this, the shores become more indented and more picturesque;
-the hills around do not fall off into tameness, as at the feet
-of some of the lakes. On the right is the Beacon, with its cairn
-conspicuous at 835 feet above sea; on the left, Selside rises to
-1,015 feet. Opposite is Brown How, or Brown Hall, prettily built
-at the water's edge; and on the long nab that stretches half-way
-across the lake is the old mansion of Water Park (A. P. Bridson,
-Esq.).
-
-The gondola slows down and rounds to the little pier, on one of
-the loveliest bits of all our lakeland scenery. Five minutes' walk
-takes you up to the Lakebank Hotel, and from its terrace--still
-better from the knoll above it when the surrounding trees are bare
-or lopped--the view embraces (beginning from the left) the Beacon,
-Dow Crags, the Old Man, and Weatherlam; Helvellyn, with Yewdale
-Crag and Raven Crag beneath; Fairfield and Scandale Head, with
-Loughrigg below (Red Screes and Ill Bell are not visible), and
-the lake's whole length with all its wooded promontories. To the
-right, across the water, the village of Nibthwaite, with cottages
-nestling under the steep and rocky mountain edge, and ruined quay
-which formed, before the railway tapped the traffic of Coniston,
-the terminus of its ancient waterway.
-
-Formerly this lake, like Derwentwater, boasted a floating
-island--a mass of weeds and water plants detached from the bottom,
-and carrying enough solid matter to make it a kind of natural
-raft. In the floods and storms of October, 1846, it was stranded
-near Nibthwaite, and remained thenceforward indistinguishable from
-the rest of the shore.
-
-Thurston Water used to be famous for its char, which were thought
-to be even finer and better than those of Windermere. Sir Daniel
-Fleming of Rydal notes in his account book, under the date
-February 19th, 1662 (1663, new style):--"Given unto Adam Fleming
-for bringing eleven dozen of charres from Conistone, for four pies
-1s. 6d.;" and he used to send presents of Coniston char pies, as
-the most acceptable of delicacies, to his distinguished friends in
-London. In the middle part of the nineteenth century the turbid
-or poisonous matter washed into the lake by the streams from the
-copper mines, then in full work, is said to have killed off both
-char and trout; but it is an ill-wind that blows nobody good, and
-the cessation of copper mining has left the water pure again. The
-Angling Association has restocked the lake from Windermere, and is
-breeding fish by thousands from spawn in its pond near Coniston
-Hall. Both the red char (the larger sort, with red bellies and red
-pectoral fins) and the silver char (with silvery backs and orange
-bellies) are now caught, and opportunities for fishermen are
-increasing with every year.
-
-Pike, the natural enemies of char and trout, are kept down by
-netting, but are often taken with the line; for example, two of
-16 lbs. each were caught by Mr. Rylands in August and September,
-1897, with yellow phantom and red wagtail. Perch abound, and
-afford exciting sport to less ambitious amateurs of the gentle
-craft. There are eels, too, and minnows in abundance, and an
-occasional stray salmon. Otters are hunted in the summer. Along
-the shore a quiet observer may sometimes startle one from his
-repose, and in bowery nooks or up the mouths of the becks may note
-the blue gleam of the flitting kingfisher.
-
-
-
-
-III.--THE MOORLANDS AND THEIR ANCIENT SETTLEMENTS.
-
-
-The moors around Coniston are full of curious and interesting
-remains--cairns, circles, camps and settlements--of the remotest
-age in which this country was inhabited. Lying away from the high
-roads they are comparatively little known, but can easily be
-reached in the course of a day's walk or on horseback, or else by
-cycling--so far as the cycle will go, which is usually within a
-short distance of the spots to be sought--and leaving the cycle to
-the honesty of the country folk.
-
-These remains are described by Mr. H. Swainson Cowper, F.S.A., in
-"The Ancient Settlements, Cemeteries, and Earthworks of Furness"
-(_Archaeologia_, vol. liii., 1893, with plans), and some of them
-have passing notice in books relating to the district. Their
-very rudeness is a source of interest, and the mystery of their
-origin offers a fresh field for antiquarian research. To the
-unlearned visitor they are no less interesting--if he can throw
-his imagination back to wild days of ancient Britain, and repeople
-the heather and rocks with Children of the Mist. In their day the
-valleys were choked with matted forest or undrained swamp; the
-moorlands alone were healthy and habitable; not so bare and bleak
-as now, but partly sheltered, in their hollows and watercourses,
-by groves of rowan and birch, holly and yew, and the native forest
-trees of the north. Around these settlements the wilderness
-swarmed with red deer and roe, wild swine and cattle, capercailzie
-and moor fowl of every kind--good hunting, with only the wolf pack
-to dispute the spoil; for there is no reason to suppose that war,
-in our sense of the word, has ever invaded these homesteads and
-cattle-garths of primitive hunting and pastoral folk, whose chief
-foes were the wild beasts of the fells. Nor should we suppose
-that the circles are Druid temples where human sacrifices were
-offered. Some are the fences built around graves, and others are
-the foundations of round houses like the huts which wood-cutters
-still make for their temporary lodging when they are at work in a
-coppice. Others may have been sacred places; but let us withhold
-our fancies until we have seen the facts.
-
-
-1.--THE BLAWITH AND KIRKBY MOORS.
-
-The Beacon of Blawith, already noticed, can be climbed in about
-half-an-hour from Lakebank Hotel. South of the cairn on the top is
-Beacon Tarn, and two miles south-west over the heather (in which
-are various unimportant cairns and platforms, perhaps ancient,
-but more probably "tries" for slate) rises Blawith Knott, and
-beyond, at its foot where four roads meet, the Giant's Grave. The
-Giant's Grave can be easily reached by road; 2-1/2 miles from
-Woodland Station, or 4 miles (_via_ Blawith and Subberthwaite)
-from Lakebank. This walk, as described, is well under 10 miles by
-cross roads. The story, still current in the neighbourhood, tells
-that in the Heathwaite "British settlement" (half a mile south
-of the cross roads) lived a race of giants, of whom the last was
-shot with an arrow on the Knott and buried in the grave; and,
-on opening it, the Rev. Francis Evans found calcined bones and
-charcoal.
-
-The Heathwaite settlement consists of the foundations of ancient
-dwellings, just to the north of Pewit Tarn, and surrounded by
-extensive ruined stone walls, and a great number of cairns. Many
-of these are mere heaps of stones thrown together by the farmers
-to clear the land, in order to mow the bracken which they carry
-away for litter. Some of the cairns and walls, however, appear to
-be ancient.
-
-A mile and a half south of this, on the headland to the right-hand
-side of the road, just before we reach Burney Farm, is the ruined
-enclosure, roughly square, with a party wall across the middle
-of it, known as the "Stone Rings." The walls are of a type seen
-in the British settlement near High Borrans, Windermere, and at
-Urswick Stone Walls--that is to say, flanked by big slabs set on
-edge, as though the builders were rudely trying to imitate the
-Roman walls of rubble thrown into an outer casing of masonry.
-
-Following the road for a mile to south-east, shortly before coming
-to the Goathwaite Quarries, in the heather on the left may be
-found a small ring embankment; and about a mile as the crow flies
-south-east of this, across a little valley and only to be reached
-by a somewhat roundabout road, is the remnant of what was once a
-fine stone circle (quarter of a mile north of Knapperthaw).
-
-Looking south-west from here we see a pass across Kirkby Moor, to
-the left of the rounded summit (over 1,000 feet) opposite. From
-the top of that pass, a short mile to the west, is a conspicuous
-grey cairn of loose stones, which was opened by Mr. Jopling
-(author of _A Sketch of Furness and Cartmel_, 1843), and found to
-contain burnt bones in a prehistoric "kist" of flagstones.
-
-Turning south from this, by a grassy track through the heather,
-five minutes' walk brings us to the "Kirk," a ring embankment
-on the brink of the gill which encloses the site on two sides,
-probably sepulchral, and perhaps connected with the great cairn,
-as there are the remains of an avenue of standing stones leading
-in that direction. A field near this is called "Kirk Sinkings,"
-with which compare "Kirk Sunken," the name of the Swinside Circle,
-and of other similar sites. _Kirk_ or _Currock_ does not imply
-a consecrated spot, but is the common word (surviving from the
-"Cumbrian" or Welsh) for stone monuments.
-
-From this, twenty minutes westward down a steep road through the
-picturesque gill brings us to Kirkby Watermill and Church (Norman
-door and font, and a tombstone in the chancel which combines the
-simple cross with rudimentary effigy). Kirkby Hall, a mile to
-the north, is a fine specimen of the ancient manor house. Another
-mile northward is Grizebeck, with remains of a ring embankment,
-unimportant, behind the cottages. Hence it is a little over two
-miles to Foxfield, or three to Broughton; or, omitting Grizebeck,
-from Kirkby Church ten minutes' walk brings us down to Kirkby
-station.
-
-
-2.--BETHECAR AND MONK CONISTON MOORS.
-
-South of Lakebank, turning to left down a narrow lane through the
-hamlet of Water Yeat, we reach Bouthray (Bouldery) Bridge over the
-Crake, and see, half a mile further down, the new Blawith Church
-on the site of an old Elizabethan chapel. Opposite it, across
-the river by a footbridge, is Low Nibthwaite bobbin mill--in the
-eighteenth century an important "forge" where iron was smelted
-with charcoal.
-
-Crossing the bridge, and leaving Arklid Farm on the right, 1-1/2
-mile from Lakebank brings us to Nibthwaite, whence the lakeside
-road leads in about 7-1/2 miles to Coniston Church, past Brantwood
-and Waterhead; the path to the moors strikes up to the right hand
-and across the breast of Selside. Another path leads to the Top of
-Selside, 1,015 feet, with Arnsbarrow Tarn and Bell Beck descending
-from it, to the south-west, with several good waterfalls. Bethecar
-Moor is between Bell Beck and Nibthwaite--fine broken ground,
-which seems to have been less inhabited than the other moors, for
-no remains except a cairn (1-1/4 mile due west of Waterpark) have
-been reported.
-
-Two miles north of Nibthwaite is Parkamoor, which in the Middle
-Ages was a sheep cote belonging to Furness Abbey. Recently, walled
-up in an outbuilding, on a deserted farm near at hand, part of a
-woman's skeleton was found. There is an obscure story of an old
-lady who disappeared after residence at Parkamoor some generations
-ago, but nothing has been proved as to the supposed murder; nor is
-there any reason to connect this with an alleged ghost at Coniston
-Bank, several miles distant.
-
-Hence the path to the right goes to Satterthwaite, down Farragrain
-Gill; northward, a track leads over the Heald, with magnificent
-views, to the lonely hill farm of Lawson Park, another Furness
-Abbey sheep cote (2-1/2 miles), and down to Lanehead and Coniston
-(3-1/4 miles); or by a cart track met 1/4 mile above Lawson Park,
-and leading upward and northward, we can traverse Monk Coniston
-Moor, and descend to civilisation by the lane that crosses from
-Grizedale to Lanehead. Along the ridge which forms the boundary
-between Monk Coniston and Hawkshead is High Man (922 feet), where
-in a cairn is a stone with the initials "J. W., 1771" and "E. D.,
-1817," and on the west side of the stone "T. F., 1817"--evidently
-a _merestone_ or boundary mark. A circle and other cairns have
-been noted near this summit; the circle may be comparatively
-modern, the ruins of a hut such as charcoal-burners make for
-temporary lodgings in the woods.
-
-High Cross, where the Coniston, Ambleside, and Hawkshead roads
-meet, is close at hand, 2-1/2 miles from Coniston Church.
-
-
-3.--BANNISIDE AND TORVER MOORS.
-
-Up the road behind the Railway Station, in twenty-five minutes you
-reach the gate of Banniside Moor, which we passed in descending
-the Old Man. Along the quarry road to the right towards Crowberry
-Haws, about a third of a mile from the gate, below you on the
-right-hand side is an ancient garth of irregular rectangular
-shape, with a circular dwelling in the middle of the highest side.
-A small outlying building is just to the south-east. This seems
-more modern in type than some of the remains we find in the moors,
-but it is difficult to classify and impossible to date.
-
-Returning to the gate, follow the Walna Scar path over Banniside
-to the south-west for ten minutes; 300 yards west of the flagstaff
-is a ring-mound on a levelled platform at the edge of Banniside
-Mire, formerly a tarn, but now almost peated up.
-
-Rather more than half a mile south-west of the flagstaff you
-strike Torver Beck, after passing many clearing-heaps among the
-bracken beds--the subject of Dr. Gibson's dialect sketch of
-"Bannasyde Cairns" in _The Folk-speech of Cumberland_.
-
-Clearings and tries for slate, old limekilns and pitsteads and
-sheepfolds and so forth, are traps for the amateur antiquary.
-But in many cases, as we have seen, and shall find in the course
-of our day's walk, digging has proved that the cairns on these
-moors were actually the graves of prehistoric people, or forgotten
-sites of ancient habitation. Much remains to be explored; and the
-"enclosure" we come to, a few steps down Torver Beck, is a case in
-point.
-
-It is a ruined stone wall forming an irregular quadrangle, through
-which a cart-track now runs. Within it is what looks like a hut
-circle on the brink of the ravine, from which water could be got
-by simply letting a backet down into the stream beneath. Across
-the beck, about 100 yards to the south-west, Mr. Cowper notes
-another ring-mound "badly preserved, without entrance or trenches."
-
-Going due south to the footbridge across Tranearth Beck (or the
-Black Beck of Torver), and then striking up Hare Crags to the
-south-east (about two-thirds of a mile from the last), we come to
-a large ring-mound with double ditch, intrenching the top of the
-hill. From this, descending to the south-west and crossing the
-beck by another footbridge, we strike a path leading north-west in
-half a mile to Ashgill Bridge and Quarry.
-
-Along the ridge of Bleaberry Haws (1/4 mile south-west) is yet
-another ring-mound on the edge of a lake basin, now peat moss; and
-200 yards farther we find the northern angle of the Bleaberry Haws
-dyke, a more important example of the kind seen on Hawkshead Moor.
-
-Following the dyke to the south-west and turning to the left
-where it disappears, we find a circle of seven stones, into which
-Mr. Cowper dug, and found a rough pavement of cobble-stones at a
-depth of two to three feet resting upon the natural rock. Many
-cairns are passed on going a few steps eastward to strike the
-main line of the dyke, which runs down into Bull Haw Moss, making
-a curious fold or fork at the farther side of the valley, and
-then climbing the steep bank and running over the top due south,
-until it loses itself among a group of cairns in which Mr. Cowper
-found prehistoric interments. The dyke is altogether over a mile
-long, partly a stone wall, partly an earthwork. Antiquaries have
-been much divided over its possible use and object; the late W.
-Jackson, F.S.A., thought it might be a kind of deer trap. The deer
-would be driven from the south-west along the moorland valley, and
-_cornered_ in the fork of the wall.
-
-From the southern extremity of the dyke a path leads down to the
-road from Broughton Mills to Torver. Two miles south-west along
-this road, and between it and Appletreeworth Beck, Dr. Kendall of
-Coniston has noticed a similar dyke. The name of a neighbouring
-farm, Burnmoor, suggests the recognition of "borrans" or stone
-heaps of more than usual importance. In the Burnmoor above Eskdale
-are important stone circles.
-
-Torver Station is rather more than a mile from the point where we
-struck this road, and Coniston 2-1/2 miles more by road or rail.
-
- * * * * *
-
-Coniston is a good centre for further excursions in search of
-moorland antiquities. From Woodland station a day's round might be
-made by Broughton Mills to the cairns and enclosures on the south
-side of Stickle Pike and above Stonestar; across the Duddon to
-the ruins of Ulpha Old Hall, Seathwaite, the home of "Wonderful
-Walker" (born at Undercrag, 1709; died at Seathwaite, 1802, in the
-67th year of his curacy there); then back by Walna Scar, passing
-ancient remains of undetermined age. The first group is found
-by turning to the right below the intake wall until a stile is
-reached, below which, and beyond, are traces of rude building. On
-rejoining the road up Walna Scar, a gate is seen across the beck;
-through it and about a quarter of a mile horizontally along the
-breast of the hill are extensive ruined walls, and many outlying
-remains on a shelf of the mountains about 1,000 feet above the
-sea. Hence the way to the top of the Scar is plain, and Coniston
-is about an hour's easy walking by a well-marked path from the
-summit.
-
-Swinside Circle is about 4-1/2 miles from Broughton station, and
-is little inferior to the great circle near Keswick. On digging it
-we found nothing at all; we learnt, however, that the place was
-not used for interments or sacrifices, and its origin remains a
-mystery.
-
-Other prehistoric sites within reach of Coniston are Barnscar and
-Burnmoor (by the Eskdale railway); Urswick Stone Walls, Foula,
-Sunbrick Circle and Appleby Slack, Pennington Castle Hill and
-Ellabarrow in Low Furness; and Hugill British Settlement near
-Windermere station.
-
-
-
-
-IV.--EARLY HISTORY.
-
-
-ROMAN PERIOD.
-
-There are no Roman remains at Coniston; but a great Roman road
-passed just to the north of the township from the camp, still
-visible, at Ambleside, through Little Langdale, over Wrynose and
-Hardknott to the camp at Hardknott Castle, and so down Eskdale
-to the port of Ravenglass, where at Walls Castle there are the
-site of a camp and the ruin of a Roman villa. It is possible that
-a trackway used in Roman times passed through Hawkshead, for
-fragments of Roman brick have been found at Hawkshead Hall and
-a coin at Colthouse (see Mrs. H. S. Cowper's _Hawkshead and its
-Neighbourhood_: Titus Wilson, Kendal, sixpence).
-
-There is a tradition that the Coniston coppermines were worked
-by the Romans; but there is no evidence to prove it. One point
-that tends to suggest the possibility of such a belief is that
-about the year 85 A.D., soon after Agricola had overcome all
-this part of the country, a certain savant, Demetrius of Tarsus,
-fellow-townsman of St. Paul and not much his junior, was sent by
-the Emperor Domitian to Britain, it would seem for the purpose of
-enquiring into its products, especially in metals (Canon Raine,
-_York_, p. 17). Two bronze tablets, dedicated by this Demetrius
-to the gods Oceanus and Tethys, were found at York, and are now
-in the museum there; and on his return from these savage regions
-he went to Delphi and told his traveller's tales to Plutarch, who
-mentions the fact in his treatise _On the Cessation of Oracles_.
-It might be said that these rich copper mines could hardly fail to
-attract the notice of the conquerors; of whom their own Tacitus
-says, speaking of their disappointment in the pearl fishery of
-Britain--"I could more easily believe that the pearls are amiss,
-than that we Romans are wanting in 'commercial enterprise.'"
-_Avaritia_ is the old cynic's word, in the life of Agricola, chap.
-12.
-
-
-BRITISH PERIOD.
-
-After the Romans left, until the middle of the seventh century
-this district remained in the hands of the Cumbri or Welsh, who
-probably dwelt in some of the ancient moorland settlements we have
-already visited. They have perhaps left traces in the language,
-but less than is often asserted.
-
-Some have thought "Old Man" to be a corruption of the Welsh _Allt
-Maen_, "high stone" or "stone of the slope." But even if it be
-more reasonably explained as we have suggested, the word "man"
-for a stone or cairn is Welsh. Dow Crags are sometimes dignified
-into Dhu Crags; but though both "dow" and "crag" have passed into
-our dialect, both are of Celtic origin. The mountain crest over
-Greenburn called Carrs cannot be explained as Norse _Kjarr_, a
-"wood;" but being castle-like rocks, may be from the Welsh _caer_.
-There are many "combes" and "tors," "pens" and "benns" (the last
-Gaelic, for some of the hill tribes may well have been survivors
-of the kindred race of Celts). Of the rivers hereabouts--Kent,
-Leven, Duddon, Esk, and perhaps Crake are Celtic.
-
-
-ANGLIAN PERIOD.
-
-When the Angles or English settled in the country, as they did
-in the seventh century, they came in by two routes, which can be
-traced by their place-names and their grave monuments. One was
-by Stainmoor and the Cumberland coast, round to Ravenglass; and
-the other by Craven to the coast of Morecambe Bay. There is no
-evidence of their settlement in the Lake District fells, except in
-the Keswick neighbourhood, where the story of St. Herbert gives us
-a hint that though the fell country might not be fully occupied,
-it was not unexplored in the seventh century. The mention of
-the murder of Alf and Alfwine, sons of King Alfwald, in 789 at
-Wonwaldremere cannot be located at Windermere with any certainty;
-but still it is possible that the Angles penetrated to Coniston.
-
-The Anglian settlements are known by their names--Pennington,
-the _tun_ of the Pennings in Furness; Workington, the _tun_ of
-the Weorcingas, and so on. Among the mountains there is only
-one _ton_--Coniston, or as it was anciently spelt Cuninges-tun,
-Koninges-ton. Conishead in Low Furness was Cunninges-heved, the
-headland of the King, where perhaps Ecgfrith or his successors
-had a customs-house to take toll of the traders crossing the
-sands to the iron mines. So Cynings-tun (the y pronounced like a
-French u, and making in later English Cunnings-tun) might mean
-King's-town; in Norse, Konungs-tun, whence we get the alternative
-pronunciations of the modern spelling, Coniston or Cuniston. What
-the Norse had to do with it we shall soon see.
-
-Now it is unlikely that kings lived in so out-of-the-way a place;
-but possible that they appropriated the copper mines. The ancient
-claim of kings to all minerals is still kept in mind by the word
-"royalty." And if the king's miners lived here under his reeve
-or officer, their stockaded village would be rightly known as
-Cynings-tun, the King's-town.
-
-It is right to add that some antiquaries make the names beginning
-with Coning-or Coni-to mean the Rabbits'-town, Rabbits'-head,
-Rabbits'-garth, and so forth, and yet even in Iceland, which was
-always republican, there is a Kongsbakki, King's-bank, at which
-no king ever lived. In ancient times, as now, sentiment counted
-for something in the naming of places; and many names, otherwise
-without meaning, may have been simply given by the settler in
-remembrance of his old home. We cannot say for certain that
-Coniston was not so called by an immigrant of the Viking Age, much
-later than the invasion of the Angles; possibly he came from a
-place of similar name in Craven or Holderness or elsewhere and
-brought the name with him.
-
-The Welsh appear to have remained under Teutonic (or later,
-Scandinavian) masters, and one relic of their tongue seems to
-show how they were treated. They seem to have been employed as
-shepherds, and they counted their flocks:--
-
- Un, dau, tri, y pedwar, y pimp;
- Chwech, y saith, y wyth, y nau, y dec;
- Un-ar-dec, deu-ar-dec, tri-ar-dec, pedwar-ar-dec, pemthec;
- Un-ar-pymthec, deu-ar-pymthec, tri-ar-pymthec, pedwar-ar-pymthec,
- ucent;
-
-or in the ancient equivalent form of these Welsh numerals, which
-their masters learned from them, and used ever after in a garbled
-form as the right way to count sheep. The Coniston count-out runs--
-
- Yan, taen, tedderte, medderte, pimp;
- Sethera, lethera, hovera, dovera, dick;
- Yan-a-dick, taen-a-dick, tedder-a-dick, medder-a-dick, mimph;
- Yan-a-mimph, taen-a-mimph, tedder-a-mimph, medder-a-mimph,
- gigget.
-
-And from these north-country dales the Anglo-Cymric score has
-spread, with their roaming sons and daughters, pretty nearly all
-the world over. (See the Rev. T. Ellwood's papers on the subject
-in Cumb. and West. Antiq. Soc. _Transactions_, vol. iii.)
-
-During the ninth century the Anglian power declined. Welsh Cumbria
-regained some measure of independence with kings or kinglets of
-its own, under the dominant over-lordship of the Scottish crown.
-But the Anglian settlers still held their tuns, though their
-influence and interests so diminished that it was impossible for
-them to continue and complete the colonization of Lakeland. It
-remained a no-man's-land, a debateable border country, hardly
-inhabited and quite uncivilised.
-
-
-NORSE PERIOD.
-
-Who then settled the dales, cleared the forest, drained the
-swamps, and made the wilderness into fields and farms?
-
-Let us walk to-day through the valleys to the north of the
-village, and ask by the way what the country can tell us of its
-history.
-
-Leaving the church we come in a few minutes to Yewdale Beck. Why
-"beck?" Nobody here calls it "brook," as in the Saxon south,
-nor "burn," as in the Anglian north. In the twelfth century, as
-now, the name was "Ywedallbec," showing that it had been named
-neither in Anglian nor in Saxon, but by inhabitants who talked the
-language of the Vikings.
-
-The house on the hill before us, above fields sloping to the
-flats, is the Thwaite house. _Thveit_ in Iceland, which the
-Norsemen colonized, means a field sloping to a flat. On the
-wooded hill behind it are enclosures called the high and low
-Guards--"yard" would be the Saxon word; _gardhr_ is the Norse,
-becoming in our dialect sometimes "garth" and sometimes "gard" or
-"guard."
-
-At the Waterhead the signpost tells us to follow the road to
-Hawkshead, anciently Hawkens-heved or Hawkenside--_Hauk's_ or
-_Hakon's_ headland or seat.
-
-Taking the second turn to the left we go up the ravine of Tarn Hows
-Gill (_Tjarn-haugs-gil_), and reach a favourite spot for mountain
-views. Above and around the moorland lake rise the Langdale Pikes
-(_Langidalr_ there is also in Iceland), Lingmoor (_lyng-mor_),
-Silver How (_Soelva-haugr_), Loughrigg (_loch-hryggr_), Fairfield
-(_faer-fjall_), Red Screes (_raud-skridhur_), and on the left Weatherlam
-(_vedhr-hjalmr_) and all the _fells_ and _dales_, _moors_ and _meres_,
-which cannot be named without talking Norse.
-
-Descending to the weir which was built by the late Mr. Marshall,
-to throw into one the three Monk Coniston Tarns, as the sheet
-of water is still called, a broken path leads us down past the
-waterfall of Tom or Tarn Gill, romantically renamed Glen Mary,
-and now even "St. Mary's Glen," and out upon the road opposite
-Yewtree House, behind which stood the famous old yew blown down
-in the storm of 22nd December, 1894. Turning to the right, we
-pass Arnside (_Arna-sidha_ or _setr_, Ami's fellside or dairy)
-and Oxenfell (_oexna-fell_), and soon look down upon Colwith
-(_Koll-vidhr_, "peak-wood" from the peaked rocks rising to the
-left above it; or _Kol-vidhr_, wood in which charcoal was made).
-We quit the road to Skelwith (_skal-vidhr_, the wood of the scale
-or shed) and descend to Colwith Feet (_fit_, meadow on the bank
-of a river or lake), and ascend again to Colwith Force (_fors_,
-waterfall), and pass the _Tarn to Fell Foot_, an old manor house,
-bought in 1707 by Sir Daniel Fleming's youngest son Fletcher,
-ancestor of the Flemings of Rayrigg, who placed his coat of arms
-over the door (as Mr. George Browne of Troutbeck says--Cumb. and
-West. Antiq. Soc. _Transactions_, vol. xi., p. 5).
-
-Permission is readily given to view the terraced mound behind the
-house, in which Dr. Gibson and Mr. H. S. Cowper have recognized a
-Thingmount such as the Vikings used for the ceremonies of their
-Thing or Parliament. There was one in Dublin, the Thingmote;
-the Manx Tynwald is still in use; and the name _Thingvoellr_
-(thing-field) survives at Thingwall in Cheshire, South Lancashire,
-and Dumfriesshire. On the steps of the mound the people stood in
-their various ranks while the Law-speaker proclaimed from the top
-the laws or judgments decreed by the Council. Eastward from the
-mount, to make the site complete, a straight path should lead (as
-in the Isle of Man) to a temple by a stream or well; and around
-should be flat ground enough for the people to camp out, for they
-met at midsummer and spent several days in passing laws, trying
-suits, talking gossip, driving bargains, and holding games--as if
-it were Grasmere Sports and Wakefield Competition, hiring fair and
-cattle market, County Council and Assizes, all rolled into one.
-These requirements are perfectly met by this site, which is also
-in a conveniently central position, with Roman roads and ancient
-paths leading to it in all directions through Lakeland.
-
-From other sources than place-names--from Norse words in the
-present dialect as analysed by Mr. Ellwood, we learn that the
-Vikings settled here as farmers. The words they have handed
-down to their descendants are not fighting words, but farming
-words--names of agricultural tools and usages, and the homely
-objects of domestic life.
-
-The Norse settlement appears, therefore, to be an immigration, not
-of invaders, but of refugees; and the event which first caused it
-was perhaps the raid of King Harald Fairhair, about 880-890, on
-the Vikings of the Hebrides, Galloway, and the Isle of Man.
-
-Gradually they spread from the coast into the fells, until they
-had filled all the hill country; and if we set down their first
-arrival as about 890, we find that for no less than three hundred
-years they were left in possession of the lands they settled, and
-in enjoyment of liberty to make their own laws and to rule their
-own commonwealth at the Thingmount on which we are standing.
-
-
-NORMAN PERIOD.
-
-The Norman Conquest, it must be understood, did not touch the
-Lake District. William the Conqueror and his men never entered
-Cumbria, nor even High Furness. The dales are not surveyed in
-_Domesday_, and the few landowners mentioned on the fringe of
-the fells are obviously of Norse or Celtic origin--Duvan and
-Thorolf, and Ornulf and Orm, Gospatric and Gillemichael. After
-William Rufus had seized Carlisle, the territory of Cumbria and
-Westmorland was granted to various lords; but the dales were the
-_hinterland_ of their claim. In the _Pipe Rolls_ we have full
-accounts of the inhabitants and proceedings of the lowlands during
-the twelfth century, but not a word about the Lakeland. And in
-the disturbed and disputed condition of affairs--the lordship was
-even in the hands of the King of Scots from 1135 to 1157--it is
-easy to understand that it was worth nobody's while to attempt
-the difficult task of reducing to servitude a body of hardy
-freeholders, secure in their mountain fastnesses.
-
-In the later part of the twelfth century, the baron of Kendal and
-the abbot of Furness began to take steps towards asserting their
-claim.
-
-Thirty men, for the most part residents in the surrounding
-lowlands and already retainers of the abbot and the baron, were
-sworn in to survey the debateable ground. Half of these men, to
-judge by their names or pedigrees, were of Viking origin. In the
-list are Swein, Ravenkell, Frostolf, Siward (Sigurd), Bernulf
-(Brynjolf), Ketel, and several Dolfins, Ulfs and Orms, with the
-Irish Gospatrick and Gillemichael. Of the other half, several are
-Anglo-Saxon and the rest Norman.
-
-Their starting-point, in beating the boundaries, was Little
-Langdale--as if they had met, by old use and wont of the
-countryside, at the Thingmount; and they enclosed the district
-by Brathay, Windermere, and Leven, eastward; Wrynose and Duddon,
-westward; and then halved it by a line, along which we may follow
-them, to Tilberthwaite and by Yewdale Beck to Thurston Water.
-Thence their division line ran along the shore of the lake to the
-Waterhead and down the eastern side, and so along the Crake to
-Greenodd.
-
-The western half was taken by the baron of Kendal to hold of
-the abbot by paying a rent of 20s. yearly on the Vigil of the
-Assumption (old Lammas Day). The baron also got right of way and
-of hunting and hawking through the abbey's lands, thence called
-Furness Fells. The valley of Coniston was thus divided into two
-separate parts--the eastern side, but including the Guards, was
-Monk Coniston; and the western side, including also the lake,
-became known from the village church as Church Coniston.
-
-Though this arrangement was proposed about 1160, it was not
-finally settled until 1196; after which the two owners could
-proceed to reduce the old Norse freeholders to the condition of
-feudal tenants. A charter of John, afterwards king, at the end
-of the twelfth century, directs the removal of all tenants in
-Furness Fells who have not rendered due fealty to the abbot. By
-what threats or promises or actual violence this was accomplished
-we have no record; but we can see that it was a slow process, and
-we can infer that it was not done by way of extermination. For
-the Norse families, with their language and customs, remained
-in Coniston. They were a canny race, and knew how to adapt
-themselves to circumstances. Throughout Lakeland they evidently
-made good terms with the Norman lords, and kept a degree of
-independence which was afterwards explained away as the border
-tenant-right--but really must have been in its origin nothing
-less than a compromise between nominal feudalism and a proud
-reminiscence of their Norse allodial practice--the free ownership
-of the soil they had taken, and reclaimed, and inhabited for three
-centuries of liberty.
-
-
-
-
-V.--MONK CONISTON.
-
-
-The Furness monks were of the Cistercian order; which is to say,
-they were farmers rather than scholars or mere recluses and
-devotees. To understand them in the days of their power, we must
-put aside all the vulgar nonsense about fat friars or visionary
-fakirs, and see them as a company of shareholders or college of
-gentlemen from the best landowning families, whose object in their
-association was, of course, the service of God in their abbey
-church; but, outside of it, the development of agriculture and
-industries. They devoted their property and their lives to the
-work, getting nothing in return except mere board and lodging,
-and--for interest on their capital--the means of grace and the
-hope of glory.
-
-Some of the brothers lived continually at the abbey, fully
-occupied in the service of the household, in hospitality to the
-poor and to travellers, in teaching the school, in various arts
-and crafts, and especially in the office work necessary for the
-management of their estates. Their method was to acquire land,
-sometimes by purchase or exchange, more often by gift from those
-who had entered the community, or had received services from them;
-and then to improve these lands, which were generally of the
-poorest when they came into the abbey's possession. As the plots
-were widely scattered over Lancashire, Yorkshire, and Cumberland,
-it must have been no light labour to manage them. For this purpose
-a brother was sent to act as steward or bailiff at a grange or
-cell on the outlying estate.
-
-One such manor house of the monks we may see at Hawkshead Old Hall
-(see the sixpenny _Guide to Hawkshead_, by Mr. H. S. Cowper).
-This was built more than two centuries later than the division of
-High Furness; and though there was probably an earlier building,
-the list of abbey possessions in 1292 makes no mention of it. The
-monks, energetic as they were, had plenty to do in improving their
-lands in Low Furness, and made little impression at first upon
-the wild woods and moors of the fells, thinly dotted with the old
-Norse thwaites and steads.
-
-On the other hand, they provided almost immediately for the
-spiritual needs of their new flock. There was already a chapel at
-Hawkshead, which is mentioned in 1200, but no consecrated burial
-ground; and if anyone wished for Christian burial, his body had
-to be carried on horseback or on a sledge some twenty miles to
-Dalton. In 1219 the monks amended this by making Hawkshead Chapel
-into a parish church, greatly against the will of the vicar of
-Dalton, who was the loser by the reform; and Monk Coniston has
-ever since been in the ecclesiastical parish of Hawkshead.
-
-Church Coniston got no share in this advantage. Up to the time
-of Elizabeth, its people had to take their dead to Ulverston. As
-you go through the village, just beyond the Baptist Chapel, is a
-stream known as Jenkin Syke; and the story goes than a Jenkins
-of Yewdale or Tilberthwaite was being carried, uncoffined, on a
-sledge to Dalton or Ulverston for burial, but when the procession
-reached Torver they found that the body was gone. They tried back,
-and discovered it in the beck, which bears the name to this day.
-
-The first and most obvious use of the fells to the monks was as
-a forest of unlimited timber. One purpose for which they wanted
-this was for charcoal to smelt the iron ore of the mines in Low
-Furness. They needed the waterway of the lake, which was the
-baron's, who, in 1240, allowed them to have "one boat competent
-to carry what might be necessary upon the lake of Thurstainwater,
-and another moderate sized boat for fishing in it, at their will,
-with 20 nets," and a similar privilege on Windermere. The baron
-bargained that if any of the monks' men damaged his property it
-should be "reasonably amended"--as much as to say there was really
-nothing of value along the western side of our lake in 1240.
-
-Now that the monks had the waterway and could get at their
-forests, they pushed the industry. By the end of the century
-(1292) they could return a considerable income from their
-ironworks, while making nothing out of the agriculture of High
-Furness.
-
-There was good hunting, however, and in 1281 the abbot got free
-warren in Haukesheved, Satirthwait, Grisedale, Neburthwaite,
-(Monk) Kunyngeston, and other parts of the fells--the old
-Norse names alone are mentioned. But in 1338 he was allowed
-by Government to impark woods in Fournes fells; not to create
-deer parks in a cultivated country, for that was not done until
-much later, when the bad Abbot Banks in 1516 "of the tenements
-of Richard Myellner and others at a place called Gryesdale in
-Furness fells made another park" (beside those he had just made
-in Low Furness) "to put deer into, which park is about five miles
-in compass" (_Pleadings and Depositions_, Duchy of Lancaster,
-quoted by Dr. T. K. Fell; Mr. H. S. Cowper supposes this site to
-have been Dale Park.) These fourteenth century parks or parrocks
-were simply enclosures from the wild woods, and among them were
-Waterpark, Parkamoor, and Lawson Park which we have passed. So it
-was a century and a half before the monks got their woods cleared
-enough to settle their shepherds on the lands given them by the
-thirty sworn men's division.
-
-Even then it was notoriously a wild place. In 1346 (as we gather
-from a ballad and pedigrees printed in Whitaker's _Loidis and
-Elmete_, 1816, vol. ii., p. 396) it was, like Sherwood and
-Inglewood, the resort of outlaws. Adam of Beaumont (near Leeds)
-with his brother, and Will Lockwood, Lacy, Dawson and Haigh, came
-hither after slaying Sir John Elland in revenge for the murder of
-Sir Robert Beaumont.
-
- In Furness Fells long time they were
- Boasting of their misdeed,
- In more mischief contriving there
- How they might yet proceed.
-
-They seem to have been here until 1363 or later--a gang of
-brigands; which shows how little grip the abbey had so far laid
-upon its _hinterland_.
-
-But gradually new farms were created and held by native families
-who acknowledged the abbot as their lord, and provided men for
-military duty or for various "boons," such as a day's work in
-harvest. These new farms are now known as "grounds." In Monk
-Coniston we find Rawlinson, Atkinson, Knipe, Bank, and Holme
-Grounds; and in the list of abbey "tenants" of 1532, "from the
-Ravenstie upwards" (the path from Dale Park by Ravencrag to
-Hawkshead), are Robert Atkyns, Robert Knype, Robert Bank, Rainold
-and Robert Holme. The Kirkbys of the Thwaite and the Pennys of
-Penny House also signed. Rawlinson is not on this list, but on
-that of 1509 giving the "tenants" "from the Ravenstie downwards,"
-_i. e_., south part of High Furness. The lists do not state that,
-for example, the Bankes lived at Bank Ground, but prove that the
-families were then in the immediate neighbourhood.
-
-At Bank Ground are the ruins of a house which was of some
-pretentions, judging from carved stones lying there. Local
-tradition makes it the site of a religious house, with a healing
-well. Dr. Gibson supplies a monk, "Father Brian," and tells a
-tradition of a witch living opposite (where the gondola station
-is) who came to the monk and confessed that she had sold herself
-to the devil. The monk set her a penance, and promised absolution.
-So when the devil came to claim his own she fled up Yewdale Beck,
-calling on "Father Brian and St. Herbert," and the devil's hoof
-stuck fast in the Bannockstone, a rock below the wooden bridge in
-Mr. George Fleming's field. The hole is there. Many rocks have
-such holes, from the weathering out of nodules. Mediaevals may
-have called them devil's footprints; moderns often call them
-"cup-markings," in equal error.
-
-It may be that a hermit lived where the Bankes afterwards built
-their homestead; it is possible that there was a "cell" for the
-abbey's Monk Coniston representative at the Waterhead. But the
-final list of abbey estates (1535), while mentioning Watsyde
-Parke, Lawson Parke, and Parkamore among granges and parks, puts
-"Watterhed et (Monk) Connyngston, L10-19-5-1/4" in the rental of
-tenants, as if the farm were then let to a tenant, as Hawkshead
-Hall was in 1512. The old Waterhead mansion, however, is known as
-Monk Coniston _par excellence_, and behind the modern Gothic front
-are ancient rooms with thick walls and massive beams, said by Mr.
-Marshall, the owner, to be part of the original monks' house.
-
-There are few actual relics of this period in the way of
-archaeological finds, so that the discovery of a tiny key of lead,
-with trefles on the ring, cast in a double mould, at Tent Cottage,
-where it was found under a stone, is worth remark. Mr. H. S.
-Cowper thought it a pilgrim's badge of the fourteenth or fifteenth
-century, and the site was one of the "grounds" of the abbey
-"tenants."
-
-The list of "tenants" referred to is in an agreement of 1532 to
-prevent "improvement." They had "inclosed common pasture more
-largelie than they ought to doe, under the colour of one bargaine
-called Bounding of the pasture," and this sort of "improvement"
-was thenceforth forbidden. But five years later the abbey was
-dissolved, to the great harm and regret of the country side.
-Though a bad abbot did, for a time, give trouble by making deer
-parks, the abbey rule, on the whole, was good. Monk Coniston made
-slow but sure progress, and reached a point beyond which it did
-not advance for the next three hundred years.
-
-What it was like when the abbey gave it up may be gathered from
-the report of Henry VIII.'s commissioners:--"There is moche wood
-growing in Furneysfelles in the mounteynes there, as Byrk, Holey,
-Asshe, Ellers, Lyng, lytell short Okes, and other Undrewood, but
-no Tymber of any valewe;" they mention also "Hasells." That there
-_had_ been timber is proved by the massive oak beams of many a
-farmhouse and old hall, but the forests were all by this time
-cleared, and coppice had taken their place. "There is another
-yerely profytte comming and growing of the said woods, called
-Grenehewe, Bastyng, Bleching, bynding, making of Sadeltrees,
-Cartwheles, cuppes, disshes, and many other thynges wrought
-by Cowpers and Turners" (the beginning of well-known local
-industries) "with making of Coles (charcoal) and pannage of Hoggs."
-
-After the dissolution the manor remained in the Crown until 1662,
-when Charles II. granted it to General Monk, Duke of Albemarle,
-whose descendant Elizabeth, daughter of George, Duke of Montague
-(whence the other name of Peel Island), married Henry, third Duke
-of Buccleugh, whose representative is now lord of the manor.
-
-Monk Coniston remained separate from Church Coniston, both
-ecclesiastically and politically, until the Local Government Act
-of 1894 establishing Parish Councils gave occasion for the union
-of the two shores of the lake into one civil parish. But Monk
-Coniston is still in the ecclesiastical parish of Hawkshead.
-
-
-
-
-VI.--THE FLEMINGS OF CONISTON HALL.
-
-
-In 1196 the baron of Kendal was Gilbert fitz Roger fitz Reinfrid,
-who had got his lordship by marriage with Heloise, granddaughter
-of William I. de Lancaster. In her right he claimed Furness as
-well. So did the abbey, and the result of this dispute we have
-seen in the division of the fells.
-
-There was a family at Urswick who, to judge by their name, might
-have been descendants of the old Norse settlers. Adam fitz Bernulf
-held land there of Sir Michael le Fleming about 1150; Orm fitz
-Bernulf was one of the thirty sworn men; Stephen of Urswick was
-another. Stephen was doubtless christened after the king, who had
-founded the abbey; for fashions in names followed royalty then as
-now. Gilbert fitz Bernulf was another of the family--a Normanised
-Norseman, it would seem. To him Coniston was let or assigned by
-Baron Gilbert of Kendal.
-
-His son Adam was living in 1227. Adam's daughter Elizabeth was his
-heiress, and married Sir Richard le Fleming.
-
-Le Fleming, or _the_ Fleming, meant simply "the man from
-Flanders." William Rufus had invited many Flemings to settle as
-"buffer" colonies in Cumberland and Wales, and Sir Richard's
-ancestor Michael had received Aldingham in Low Furness. Sir
-Richard's grandfather, being a younger son, had got a Cumbrian
-estate with headquarters at a place called by the Cumbrian-Welsh
-Caernarvon. _Ar mhon_ (arfon) means "over against Mona;" in Wales
-_Caer-n-arfon_ is "the castle over against Anglesey (Mona);" in
-Cumbria the same name had been given to the castle over against
-Man (Mona). It was an oblong base-court with a ditch, and a round
-artificial hill (later known as Coney-garth or King's-garth, cop)
-exactly like the Mote at Aldingham. There Sir Richard's father
-lived, and dying was buried at Calder Abbey.
-
-But when Sir Richard married Elizabeth of Urswick, and got with
-her the manors of Urswick, Coniston, Carnforth, and Claughton,
-they chose to live at Coniston; and being wealthy, they probably
-built a mansion which, rebuilt two hundred years later, became the
-Coniston Hall we now see. Their settlement here would be about
-1250 or later.
-
-Sir Richard, being a knight, must have brought his men with him,
-and let them have farms near at hand on condition of following
-him to the wars. No doubt he turned out the Norse holders of
-Heathwaite and Bleathwaite, Little Arrow (Ayrey, "moor") and
-Yewdale, or took on them as his men. Billmen and bowmen he would
-need, and we find a Bowmanstead in the village.
-
-These tenants followed his son, Sir John, to Scotland in
-1299 to fight Wallace; and got, with him, special protection
-and privileges from Edward I. for bravery at the siege of
-Caerlaverock. John's son, Sir Rayner, was in favour at Court, and
-held the office of King's Steward, _Dapifer_, for these parts, in
-the beginning of the fourteenth century. So West says.
-
-His son, Sir John, had three children. The daughter Joan married
-John le Towers of Lowick; his eldest son William died without
-children; and so Coniston Hall fell to the younger brother,
-Sir John, who lived there in Edward III.'s time, while Adam of
-Beaumont and his fellows were outlaws in the fells, and doubtless
-shot the Coniston deer. Sir John died in 1353, and was succeeded
-by Sir Richard, who married Catharine of Kirkby, and died about
-1392. Of his three sons, Sir Thomas, the eldest, succeeded him. He
-married (1371) Margaret of Bardsey, then Elayn Laybourn (1390),
-and then his deceased wife's sister Isabel (1396). His elder son
-was Thomas, for whom in his childhood his father arranged a
-marriage with an heiress, Isabel de Lancaster. She brought Rydal
-into the family.
-
-Up to this time the knights "le Fleming" had lived for 150 years
-at old Coniston Hall; during Sir Thomas' life (he died about 1481)
-the Hall seems to have been rebuilt, so far as can be gathered
-from the architecture of the remains. Part of his time he spent at
-Rydal, perhaps while rebuilding Coniston Hall.
-
-After him there are no more knights "le Fleming," but a series of
-Squires Fleming, keeping up both the Coniston and Rydal Halls.
-
-Squire John, son of Sir Thomas, was a retainer of the lord of
-Greystoke, a fighting man in the wars of the Roses. He married
-Joan Broughton, and his son John in 1484-5 moved to Rydal, leaving
-Coniston Hall as dower-house for his stepmother Anne. He died
-about 1532. His son Hugh lived at Coniston, and married Jane
-Huddleston of Millom Castle. He died in 1557, and his son Anthony
-died young; and so his grandson William succeeded him in the last
-year of Queen Mary.
-
-West says:--"This William Fleming resided at Coniston Hall, which
-he enlarged and repaired, as some of the carving, bearing the date
-and initial letters of his and his lady's name, plainly shows;
-he died about 40 Elizabeth (1598), and was buried in Grasmere
-Church. The said William Fleming was a gentleman of great pomp and
-expence, by which he injured an opulent fortune; but his widow
-Agnes (a Bindloss of Borwick) surviving him about 33 years, and
-being a lady of extraordinary spirit and conduct, so much improved
-and advanced her family affairs, that she not only provided for,
-and married well, all her daughters, but also repurchased many
-things that had been sold off.... This Agnes established a younger
-branch of the family in the person of Daniel, her then second
-son. When her son John married and resided at Coniston Hall,
-she retired to Rydal Hall, where she died 16 August, 7 Car. I.
-(1641)."
-
-There is a tradition that Sir Philip Sidney (1554-1586) visited at
-Coniston Hall. There used to be an old book with his name in it
-and "Fulke Greville is a good boy" scribbled in an antique hand
-on a fly-leaf. It is probable that Squire William, the "gentleman
-of great pomp," invited many visitors, especially young men of
-distinction, for hunting parties in his deer park; and Sidney is
-said to have stayed at Brougham Castle, so that he may well have
-been, once in a while, in the Lake District.
-
-Dr. Gibson tells a legend, which he says he collected at Coniston,
-of Girt Will o' t' Tarns--"one of the Troutbeck giants." (Hugh
-Hird, the chief of them, flourished in this period.) Girt Will
-is represented as carrying off "the Lady Eva's" bowermaiden, and
-being caught and killed at Caldron Dub on Yewdale Beck (a little
-above the sawmills), where his grave was shown, still haunted,
-they said. There is no "Lady Eva" in the records, but (allowing
-for distortion) there may be a grain of truth in the story, if it
-really was a tradition.
-
-Squire John lived at Coniston. He was twenty-three at his father's
-death. His first wife was Alice Duckett of Grayrigg (died 1617);
-his second, the widow of Sir Thomas Bold, and daughter of Sir
-William Norris of Speke, the famous old timbered hall near
-Liverpool. She died at Coniston Hall, and was buried in Coniston
-Church, which Squire William had built. His third was Dorothy
-Strickland of Sizergh, for whose sake he became a Roman Catholic
-at a time when Roman Catholics were persecuted; and consequently,
-after being J.P. and High Sheriff, he was heavily fined, and had
-to get a special licence to travel five miles from home. He had a
-turn for literature; we find in the Rydal letters one enclosing
-the latest playbook and (Massinger's new work) the _Virgin Martir_.
-
-His son William was only fourteen at his father's death in 1643,
-and soon afterwards died of smallpox in London. Consequently
-the Hall went to his cousin William (son of the Daniel before
-mentioned), born there in 1610, and educated at St. John's
-College, Cambridge. He was one of Charles I.'s cavaliers, and
-suffered severely in pocket for his loyalty. He married Alice
-Kirkby in 1632, and died at the hall in 1653.
-
-His eldest son Daniel, born in 1633, studied at Queen's College,
-Oxford, and Gray's Inn. He married, in 1655, Barbara Fletcher of
-Hutton (who died 1670), and they had a large family. He was a
-cavalier, heavily fined by Cromwell's sequestrators, and living
-in retirement until the Restoration, busied in improving his
-estates and his mind. He became a famous scholar and antiquary,
-corresponding with many learned men, and distinguished, among
-other things, for his knowledge of Runic inscriptions. Under
-Charles II. he took a very active share in public business; was
-knighted at Windsor in 1681, and elected M.P. for Cockermouth,
-1685. He died 1701.
-
-This Sir Daniel finally forsook Coniston for Rydal. In his
-lifetime the Hall was held by his bachelor brothers, Roger and
-William, lieut.-colonel of cavalry and D.L. for Lancashire. In the
-Rydal MSS. there are many letters to and from them; for instance,
-Major W. Fleming writes (July 1st, 1674) to the constables of
-Coniston about arming the men of Colonel Kirkby's regiment--the
-pikemen to have an ashen pike not under sixteen feet in length,
-the musketeers to have a well-fixed "musquet" with a barrel not
-under three feet in length, and a bore for twelve bullets to the
-pound, with "collar of bandeleers" and a good sword and belt.
-
-Other relatives of the family lived at the Hall, which was kept up
-as a sort of general establishment. In September, 1680, Sir Daniel
-notes that his bachelor uncle, John Kirkby, "did fall sick Sept.
-15, and he died at Coniston Hall, Sept. 28. I had not the happ
-to see him dureing his sickness." But Sir Daniel was sometimes
-there, and speaking of one visit, he says (December 14th, 1680),
-"my tenants there and I did see a blazing starr with a very long
-tail--reaching almost to the middle of the sky from the place of
-the sun setting--a little after the sun setting, near the place
-where the sun did set. Lord, have mercy upon us, pardon all our
-sins, and bless the King and these Kingdomes." He got over it by
-Christmas, and "paid the Applethwait players for acting here, Dec.
-27th 00-05-00" (5s).
-
-On February 26th, 1681, his mother died at Coniston Hall, and
-was buried in Lady Bold's grave, close by her brother, John
-Kirkby--"Mr. John Braithwait preaching her funeral sermon upon 1
-Tim. 5, 9, and 10, and applying it very well to her." Her three
-sons put up the brass in the church to her memory.
-
-There was no intention then of letting the Hall go to ruin. Sir
-Daniel notes (March 20th, 1688), "This day was laid the foundation
-of the great barn at Coniston Hall"--not the new barn to the south
-of it, which is a much later building.
-
-We get a glimpse of the friendly relations of hall and village in
-a letter of November 16th, 1689, from George Holmes at Strabane to
-the colonel at the Hall, describing the famous siege of Derry, and
-adding--"Pray do me the favour to present my humble service to Mr.
-Rodger and all the good familie, to the everlasting constable, and
-to my noble friend the vitlar."
-
-Dr. Gibson, about 1845, was told by an aged inhabitant of Haws
-Bank that one of the cottages in that hamlet (pulled down to
-build Mr. John Bell's house) was formerly an alehouse, and that a
-neighbour who died at a great age when the doctor's informant was
-a boy, used to relate that he remembered having seen two brothers
-of the Fleming family, who were staying at the Hall, go there for
-ale, and make a scramble with their change amongst the children
-round the door, of whom the relater was one. The names of the
-brothers, he stated, were "Major and Roger."
-
-This must have been in Queen Anne's days, when perhaps Colonel
-William and his brother Roger were gone. But of Sir Daniel's sons,
-one was Major Michael, M.P. for Westmorland in 1706, died before
-George I. (his daughter married Michael Knott, Esq., of Rydal,
-whose family afterwards came to Coniston Waterhead); and another
-was Roger, afterwards vicar of Brigham.
-
-So we bring "the good familie" at the Hall down to the second
-decade of the eighteenth century, after which they seem to have
-deserted Coniston and left it to decay. Fifty years later it was
-an ivy-covered ruin.
-
-A novel by the Rev. W. Gresley, M.A., Prebendary of Lichfield,
-called _Coniston Hall: or, The Jacobites_ (1846), professes to
-recount the fortunes of "Sir Charles Dalton" of the hall, in
-the rising of 1715. But the local colour is inaccurate, and the
-circumstances impossible.
-
-About 1815 it was patched up into a farmhouse; the ruined wing
-was left to the ivy, and an inclined way was built up to the old
-oriel window of the dining-hall to make it into a barn. Later,
-the old oak was carried off. Quite recently the dwelling-house
-and the chimneys have been newly cemented, which, necessary as it
-was, takes away from the picturesqueness. The main features of
-the interior can be traced; we can make out the dais, the great
-fireplace, the carved screen through which doors led to the stairs
-going down to buttery and kitchen, and the fine old roof with its
-great oak beams. From the middle beam, in which the grooves for
-planking are still seen, a wainscot partition was fixed to the
-back of the dais, and behind it was the withdrawing room. There
-you see its large fireplace and windows on both sides, and in the
-corner is a spiral staircase, leading down to a door opening on
-the garden, and up to the loft or solar, in mediaeval times the
-best bedroom, of which we can see the footing of the flooring
-joists up in the wall, and the little window looking east to catch
-the morning sun. That was no drawback; folk were early risers when
-they had only candles to sit up by.
-
-In its old state the Hall must have been a fine place on a fine
-site; damp, it might be thought, but you note that its dwelling
-rooms are not on the ground floor, and in those big fireplaces
-you can imagine the roaring fires that were kept when wood was
-plentiful. The lake is close at hand for fishing, and along the
-shore towards Torver extended the deer park, still a lovely bit
-of park scenery. That they kept deer even after the head of the
-family had settled at Rydal, Sir Daniel's accounts testify. On
-December 22nd, 1659, he notes, "given unto George Fleming's boy
-for bringing a doe from Coniston, 2s.;" and on Christmas Day,
-"given unto Thomas Brockbanck for killing the doe at Coniston,
-1s. 6d." It was not only at Christmas that they indulged in
-venison. On July 11th, 1660 (King Charles had just come home,
-so cavaliers could feast), George Fleming brought two deer from
-Coniston to Rydal, and got 2s.; and on September 11th, 1661, Sir
-Daniel treated his brother-in-law, Sir George Fletcher, to a hunt,
-and gave the tenants 1s. for drinks, "and next day more for the
-hunters to drink, 2s. 6d." It sounds little, but money was more
-valuable then, and he did not always kill a deer so cheaply. On
-July 27th, 1672, "paid my brother Roger which had spent in killing
-the buck at Coniston, 6s. 6d.;" and August 12th, 1677, "delivered
-to my son William when he went to Coniston to kill a buck, 5s."
-
- * * * * *
-
-The following useful bit of topography is taken from the old copy
-kindly lent by Dr. Kendall:--
-
-"The ancient bounds of the manor of Coniston, besides the Water or
-Lake of Coniston, and certain tenements in Torver, Blawith, and
-Woodland thereunto belonging, are in these terms, namely:--
-
-"Beginning at Coniston otherwise Thurston Water and so by the
-Eastern bank of Yewdale Beck up the same on to the low end of the
-close called the Stubbing and so upwards round the said close by
-the hedge that parts it from Waters Head Grounds into Yewdale
-Beck, and so up Yewdale Beck into the foot of Yewdale Field and so
-upwards by the hedge which parts the several Allans[A] belonging
-to Yewdale from Furness Fell grounds unto Yewdale Beck and so up
-Yewdale Beck unto the foot of a close called Linegards (otherwise
-Lang Gards) and so upwards round the said close by the hedge
-thereof betwixt it and Holme Ground unto Yewdale Beck and so up
-the said beck unto Mickle Gill head, and from thence ascending to
-the height of Dry Cove over against Green Burn and from thence by
-the Lile Wall to the height between Levers Water and Green Burn
-and so to the head of Green Burn and from thence by the Rear or
-Ray Cragg[B] and Bounders of Seathwaite unto Gaites Hause and so
-by the south side of Gaites Water and so down by Torver Beck to
-the foot of Fittess,[C] and so straight over to Brighouse Crag
-Yate and from thence to the Moss Yate and so down by a little Syke
-unto Brundale Beck and so down to the Broadmyre Beck and so down
-the same to Coniston Water aforesaid."
-
- [A] _Allans_, land bordering water, like _holme_; and supposed to
- be from the Celtic _Eilean_, island.
-
- [B] _Rear_ or _Ray Crag_, like _Rear_ or _Ray Cross_ upon
- Stainmoor, from the old Norse _Ra_, "boundary."
-
- [C] _Fittess_, like _Fitz_ at Keswick, Colwith _Feet_,
- Mint's _Feet_, &c., seems to be akin to the Icelandic _Fit_
- (plu. _fitjar_), "meadow near a river or lake;" not found in
- Anglo-Saxon.
-
-
-
-
-VII.--THE CHURCH AND PUBLIC BUILDINGS.
-
-
-There was probably no church at Coniston before the time of Queen
-Elizabeth, though services may have been held by the squire's
-chaplain. Monk Coniston was, and still is ecclesiastically, in the
-parish of Hawkshead.
-
-Coniston Church was built in 1586 by William Fleming, the
-"gentleman of great pomp and expence." It was consecrated and made
-parochial by Bishop Chaderton; the original dedication is not
-known. In 1650 the Parliamentary enquiry shows that there was no
-maintenance but the L1 19s. 10d. which the people raised for their
-"reader," Sir Richard Roule--"Sir" meaning "Rev." in those days.
-With liberal squires at the Hall, no doubt the "priest," as they
-called him, was not badly off, though Colonel Fleming, writing to
-his brother (November 27th, 1688), says:--"Tell the constable the
-same hearth man (hearth-tax collector) is coming again. Tell him
-to be as kind as his conscience will permit to his neighbours,
-and play the fool no more. The priest and he doth not know how
-happy they are." The income was eked out by the old custom of
-"whittlegate," right to have his meals at various houses in turn;
-and it is said that the Priest Stile opposite Mount Cottage was so
-called because he was so often seen crossing it on the way to his
-accustomed seat at the squire's table.
-
-Until the end of the eighteenth century the curate was also
-schoolmaster, and as late as 1761 was nominated to the dual
-office by the six men or sidesmen representing the inhabitants.
-The patronage was afterwards in the hands of the Braddylls of
-Conishead Priory; eventually it passed into the possession of the
-Rev. A. Peache, and the living is now in the gift of the Peache
-trustees. Its net value is L220.
-
-The original church, for we do not know that it was rebuilt
-between 1586 and 1818, was a small oblong structure with lattice
-windows and a western belfry tower.
-
-In the Coniston Museum there is a mutilated document (found by Mr.
-Herbert Bownass among some old deeds) which not only shows the
-quaint arrangement of seats in the church separating the sexes,
-but also gives what is practically a directory of the parish in
-the time of Charles II.
-
- Coniston A Devision of men's and women's fforms made by the
- Church. Minister, six men & churchwardens in the year of our
- Lord 1684.
-
- Imp^s Seats in the Quier:
-
- In the seat with the Minister, one for Silverbank & one for ffarr
- end.
-
- 2 The next seat above:
-
- One for Silverbank for Robert Vickers, for Robert Dixon Bridge End
- & Jno. Atkinson de Catbank & for Holywarth.
-
- 3 The second fform above:
-
- Edward Tyson, Rich. Hodgson, John Holms, Wm. Hobson de Huthw^t,
- Wm. Atkinson de Gateside.
-
- The third fform above: Wm. ffleming jun^r de Littlearrow, Jam.
- Robinson, Tho. Cowerd, Park Yeat.
-
- The fourth fform above: Tho. Dixon de Littlearrow, Mich. Atkinson,
- Huthw^t, Geo. Towers, Hows bank.
-
- The fform next the wall or the highest fform: David Tyson de
- Tilb^rthw^t, Wm. ffleming de Catbank, one for ffar end.
-
- The back fform next Quier door: Jo. ffleming, Low Littlearrow,
- Henry Dover de Brow, Wm. Harrison de Holywarth, Wm. Atkinson,
- Above beck, Myles Dixon & Robt. Dixon de Tilb^rthwaite.
-
- The fform above it: Wm. ffleming de Park Yeat, Geo
-
- The fform under the Pulpit: Jo. Harrison de Bowmansteads
-
- Men's fforms ith church: ffirst Jo. Dixon, Wm. Dixon, Tho. Dix
- ffleming of Bowmansteads.
-
- The second fform beneath: One seat for ffarr end, Wm. Towers
-
- The third fform Smartfield, Jo. Tyson, Low House Low Udale, Wm.
- Denison
-
- The ffourth fform: One for Silverbank, Rob. Walker Parks.
-
- Womens} The Highest ith Church:
- fforms} Wm ffleming wife de Upper
- Sam^{s}. Henry Dover wife de Brow
- Hallgarth and Myles Dixon wi[fe]
-
- 2 The second fform Beneath: David Tyson wife de Tilberthw^{t}
- wife, Dixon Ground, Wm. Dixon, Geo
-
- 3 The third fform: Outrake, Gill, Howsbank wives, Jo. ffleming
- wife, Low Littlearrow, & Park Yeat.
-
- 4 The ffourth form: Silverbank, ffarr end, Ed. Tyson de Nook, Tho.
- Dixon de Littlearrow, Wm. Atkinson, Above beck, their wives.
-
- 5 The ffifth fform: Smartfield, Wm. Atkinson, Wm. Cowerd, Wm.
- Hobson de Huthw^{t}, Jo. Atkinson and Wm. Atkinson, Catbank, their
- wives.
-
- 6 The sixth fform: Jo. Harrison & Tho. ffleming de Bowmanstead,
- [----] Dixon ground, Ed. Park, Wm Denison, Upper Udale, their
- wives.
-
- 7 The seventh fform: Myles Dixon, Upper Udale, Rob. Walker & Wm.
- Addison, Low Udale, Wm. Walker, Wm. Harrison & Elizabeth Parks.
-
- To this devision we the Minister, six men and churchwardens have
- set our hands the year ffirst written, Anno Dni 1684
-
- Jo. Birkett cur.
- Wm. ffleming }
- Wm. ffleming }
- Christo. Dixon } Sidemen
- Wm. Harrison }
- Wm. ffleming }
- Myles Dixon }
-
- Mich. Atkinson } Churchwardens
- Myles Dixon }
-
-In 1817 the curate in charge, John Douglas, and the churchwardens,
-Joseph Barrow and William Townson, obtained a faculty to rebuild
-the church. A sum of L325 was raised by subscription, a further
-sum by assessment, and the Incorporated Church Building Society
-made a grant of L125. The new church was consecrated by the Bishop
-of Chester on November 20th, 1819--Coniston being still within the
-diocese of Chester, not yet transferred to that of Carlisle.
-
-In 1835 a faculty of confirmation was issued from the Consistory
-Court of Chester by which pews were assigned to the contributors
-of the building fund and other parishioners. In 1849, Dr. Gibson
-described the building as "oblong and barn-like, with a few
-blunt-arched windows in its dirty yellow walls, and overtopped
-at its western extremity by an unsightly black superstructure of
-rough stone, which some might call a small square tower badly
-proportioned, and others, with apparently equal correctness, the
-stump of a large square chimney."
-
-In 1866 the same writer, in a paper read to the Historic Society
-of Lancashire and Cheshire, said:--"The church of Coniston, which
-occupies a position central to the village, is a chapel of ease
-under Ulverston, with a stipend of L146, recently augmented,
-derived from land, houses, bounty, dividends and fees. It was
-rebuilt in 1819 on the site of an older edifice. The only part of
-the former church that remains is the belfry tower, which, being
-out of keeping and small in proportion to the body of the present
-building, confers but little ecclesiastical and no architectural
-distinction upon it."
-
-The late Mr. Roger Bownass, in marginal pencillings on this paper,
-noted:--"This is an error. The Belfry Tower was wholly rebuilt at
-the same time as the church, i.e., in 1818-19; the writer of this
-note having seen the old Tower pulled down, and new Foundations
-laid; One reason for the Landowners rebuilding the Church (which
-they did chiefly at their own expense) being the alleged state of
-the old Tower, the Bells of which, the Sexton pretended he durst
-not ring for fear he should bring the Tower down about his ears,
-though it was so difficult to get it down. So strongly was it
-built and cemented together that it had to be cut through nearly,
-near its base, before it could be brought down." Mr. Bownass goes
-on to say that his father, as one of the guarantees, contributed
-nearly L50, "which his widow had to pay, he himself dying before
-it was finished, and was the first person carried into the Church
-while the shavings, etc., lay on the floor, as the writer, his
-son, of 6 years of age, can well remember."
-
-To resume Dr. Gibson's account:--"The new building is plain
-even to meanness; but being now well screened by trees and
-flourishing evergreens--and I may state that evergreens grow here
-with a luxuriance that I have not seen elsewhere--it is not so
-offensive to the eye as formerly. The interior has been greatly
-beautified by improvements made in 1857, the cost being defrayed
-by subscription. The addition of a reading desk, pulpit, reredos
-and altar rail in handsomely carved oak, the painting of what used
-to be an unsightly expanse of white ceiling, in imitation of oak
-panelling, and the spare but tasteful introduction of tinted glass
-into the windows, have made the inside as handsome as it is likely
-to be whilst the pews are allowed to remain. The parish register
-dates back to 1594. In the vestry is stored a library, chiefly
-of works in divinity, sermons, etc., which have been purchased
-from time to time with the interest of different sums left by
-the Fleming family, commencing with L5 under the will of Roger
-Fleming of Coniston, dated February, 1699. In the vestibule of the
-southern entrance to the church is kept one of those curious old
-chests, made from a solid block of oak, like that containing the
-muniments of the Grammar School at Hawkshead. The only contents
-of this are a number of slips of paper, each bearing the almost
-illegible affidavit of two women that the corpse of each person
-interred was shrouded in cloth only made of woollen material.
-These worn and fragile evidences of a curious old protective
-law--for I infer it could only be enacted to support the landed
-interest--serve, if they do nothing else, to explain the line in
-Pope which has puzzled many modern readers--
-
- Odious!--in woollen!--'twould a saint provoke.
-
-The following is a copy of one of the most legible of these
-fugitive records:--
-
- Lancr. P.ociall Cappell de Coniston.
-
- We Jennet Dickson wife of Thomas Dickson and Isabell Fleming
- widow--doe severally make oath that the Corps of Isabel Dickson
- widow was buryed March y^e 15^{th} An^o Dmj 1692. And was not putt
- in, wrapt or wound up in any Shirt, Shift, Sheet or Shroud, Made
- or mingled w^{th} fflax, Hemp, Hair, Gold or Silver, etc: nor in
- any coffin lined or faced w^{th} cloath etc: nor in any other
- material but sheeps wooll onely According to Act of Parlyment. In
- Testimony whereof we y^e s^d Jennet Dickson and Isabel Fleming
- have hereunto putt our Hands and Seales the 15^{th} day of March,
- An^o Dmj 1692.
-
- Cap^t et Jur^t coram me Jennet Dickson
- Henri Mattinson Cur^t her x m^k
- de Torver decimo nono Isabel Fleming
- die Martij Anno dom 1693 her x m^k
-
-So far Dr. Gibson on the "new" church, now the "old" church, and
-already of the past.
-
-On November 17th, 1891, the church was reopened by Bishop Goodwin
-after a "restoration" which almost amounted to renovation. The
-Rev. C. Chapman, in his pamphlet on _The ancient Parochial Church
-of Coniston_, 1888, had already been able to announce that L600
-had been gathered for the Building Fund, beside about the same
-amount spent in buying the old schoolhouse and playground in order
-to improve the site. But the money did not suffice for entire
-rebuilding; the ceiling and pews were removed, a chancel and
-vestry added, a clock placed in the tower, the roughcast of the
-exterior was cleared away, and stained glass windows have since
-been inserted, of which the best is the little west window by
-Kempe to the memory of the Beevers of the Thwaite. But few objects
-of antiquarian interest remain. The old oak chest with a curious
-padlock, the parish registers beginning 1594 and recommencing
-1695, the old library, and the little brass on the south wall are
-all that is left to record the ancient family of the Hall. The
-brass is inscribed:--
-
- To the Liveing Memory of ALICE FLEMING of Coningston-Hall in the
- County Palatine of Lancaster Widow (late Wife of William Fleming
- of Coningston-Hall aforesaid Esq^r; and eldest daughter of Roger
- Kirkby of Kirkby in the said County Esq^{re}) and of John Kirkby
- Gentleman her second brother was this Monument by her three
- sorrowful sons S^r Daniel Fleming Knight Roger Fleming and William
- Fleming gentlemen, for their dear Mother and Uncle here erected.
- The said John Kirkby (having lived above 30 yeares with his sister
- aforesaid, and having given to the Churches and Poor of Kirkby
- and Coningston aforesaid 150L) died a Bachelor at Coningston-Hall
- aforementioned September 28 A.D. 1680, and was buried near unto
- this place the next day: And the said Alice Fleming died also
- (having outlived her late Husband above 27 yeares and suruiued
- 5 of her 8 children) at Coningston-Hall aforesaid Febry 28 A.D.
- 1680, and was buried in this Church, close by her said Brother
- Febr 28, 1680, in the same Grave where ye Lady Bold (second wife
- of John Fleming Esq^{re} deceased, uncle to ye said William
- Fleming Esq^r) had about 55 yeares before been interred.
-
- Epitaph
-
- Spectator stay, and view this sacred ground
- See it contains such Loue, on Earth scarce found,
- A BROTHER and a SISTER, and you see
- She seeks to find him in Mortality--
- First he did leave us; then she stay'd & try'd
- To live without him, lik'd it not and dy'd
- Here they ly buried, whose Religious Zeal
- Appeard sincere to Prince, Church, Commonweal;
- Kind to their Kindred, Faithful to their Friends,
- Clear in their Lives and Chearful to their ends.
- They both were Dear to them whose good intent
- Makes them both liue in this one Monument.
- So Dear in Cordial Loue, tho' th' outward part.
- Turne Dust it holds impression to the Heart.
-
-The churchyard is first mentioned as a burying ground in 1594, and
-until 1841 was very small: indeed, the population it had to serve
-was small up to the nineteenth century. But by 1841 the population
-of the parish had grown, and Lady le Fleming made an addition to
-the churchyard. Subsequent additions were made in 1845, 1865, and
-1878, the last by the removal of the old Institute, formerly the
-Boys' School. This used to stand between the church and the road,
-as shown in the photograph exhibited, with other views and relics
-of the neighbourhood, in the museum at the Coniston Institute.
-
-In Coniston Churchyard the centre of general interest is Ruskin's
-grave, marked by the tall sculptured cross of gray Tilberthwaite
-stone, which stands under the fir trees near the wall separating
-the churchyard from the schoolyard. Near it are the white crosses
-of the Beevers, and the railed-in space is reserved for the family
-of Brantwood. The sculptures on the east face are intended to
-suggest Ruskin's earlier writings--the lower panel his juvenile
-poems; above, the young artist with a hint of sunrise over Mont
-Blanc in the background, for "Modern Painters;" the Lion of
-St. Mark, for "Stones of Venice," and the candlestick of the
-Tabernacle for "Seven Lamps." On the west face below is the
-parable of the labourers in the vineyard--"Unto this Last," then
-"Sesame and Lilies," the Angel of Fate with club, key and nail
-for "Fors Clavigera," the "Crown of Wild Olive," and St. George,
-symbolizing his later work. On the south edge are the Squirrel,
-the Robin and the Kingfisher in a scroll of wild rose to suggest
-Ruskin's favourite studies in natural history. On the north edge
-is a simple interlaced plait. The cross was carved by the late H.
-T. Miles of Ulverston from designs by W. G. Collingwood.
-
-Since the restoration the clergymen have been:--
-
- Richard Rawling May, 1676 d. June, 1682
- John Birkett June, 1683 d. Feb., 1716
- John Stoup 1716 d. Oct., 1760
- John Strickland 1761 d. Sep., 1796
-
-There seems then to have been an interregnum until William Tyson
-is recorded as assistant curate in 1805. The incumbent in 1809 was
-Jonas Lindow, who died 1826, under whom officiated as assistant
-curates:--
-
- John Hodgson, June, 1809.
-
- John Kendal (occasional).
-
- Matthew Inman Carter, of Torver (occasional).
-
- John Douglas, May, 1816, to November, 1821.
-
- W. T. Sandys, February, 1825 (afterwards incumbent, assisted by P.
- Fraser).
-
- H. Siree, February, 1835, to April, 1837 (assistant or incumbent?).
-
- J. W. Harden, incumbent, 1837 to November, 1839 (to whom S.
- Boutflower, afterwards archdeacon of Carlisle, was assistant).
-
- Thomas Tolming, incumbent, December, 1839; resigned April, 1870.
-
- Charles Chapman, incumbent, 1870; died 1905.
-
- H. E. Wood, curate in charge, 1905 to April, 1906.
-
- F. T. Wilcox, incumbent, April, 1906.
-
-The school used to be held in the church, an arrangement common
-in this district when the clergyman was also schoolmaster. Later,
-a small building was put up, within the area of the present
-churchyard; this was turned into a Mechanics' Institute in
-1854, as already noted, when new schools were built. The site
-of the Boys' School and master's house, with adjacent ground,
-was conveyed by a deed dated December 6th, 1853, from Lady Le
-Fleming to the incumbent and chapel-wardens of Coniston and
-their successors. The buildings were to be erected as approved by
-Lady Le Fleming, and the school was always to be conducted on the
-principles of the Established Church of England. There is no deed
-extant for the Girls' (now the Infants') School. It was probably
-built at the same time as the old Boys' School, being similar in
-construction, especially in the chimneys (as Mr. Herbert Bownass
-notes). Dr. Gibson says in _The Old Man_ (1849) that both schools
-had been conducted for the previous three or four years on the
-Home and Colonial School system.
-
-The schoolmasters since the building of the new schools have
-been:--
-
- Mr. Diddams, 1854-1858.
- Mr. Ryder, 1858-1859.
- S. K. Thompson, 1859-1864.
- W. Brocklebank, 1864-1887.
- C. J. Fox, 1887-1891.
- John Morris, 1891-1902.
- W. J. Rich, 1902.
-
-The mistress of the Infants' School since 1876 has been Miss Agnes
-Walker.
-
-The Mechanics' Institute in 1877 was found to be inadequate and
-inconvenient, and in 1878 a new building was made on the Yewdale
-road. This in its turn was outgrown, and in 1896 the committee,
-under the presidency of Dr. Kendall, resolved to enlarge it. A
-library and reading room, billiard and recreation rooms, room for
-meetings and classes, bath, museum, concert hall and caretaker's
-house were planned, and built in 1897 with the proceeds of various
-exhibitions and bazaars, added to private subscriptions. This
-enlarged Institute or village clubhouse was opened by Mrs. Arthur
-Severn on April 15th, 1896.
-
-In 1900 an exhibition of drawings by the late Prof. Ruskin was
-held, and visited by over 10,000 people. From the proceeds of
-this a room for a museum was added, to supersede the little
-room formerly allotted for the purpose; and the Ruskin Museum
-was opened in August, 1901, Canon Rawnsley giving the inaugural
-address. The collection shown in the Museum is confined under
-two headings--"Ruskin" and "Coniston." It comprises (_a_) local
-history and antiquities, with a few illustrative specimens
-of general antiquities; (_b_) local minerals, to which it is
-hoped some day to add other branches of the natural history of
-Coniston: of this division Mr. Ruskin laid the foundation by his
-gift in 1884 of a collection of minerals and the model of the
-neighbourhood; (_c_) Ruskin drawings and relics, given or lent
-by Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Severn; (_d_) books by and about Ruskin,
-with autographs, etc., in illustration; (_e_) engravings after
-Ruskin's drawings, and portraits of him; (_f_) copies and prints
-from pictures which have formed the subject of his writing. The
-collection is still growing, and an enlarged edition of the
-Catalogue (3d.) was brought out at Easter, 1906; copies can be
-had of the caretaker at the Institute. The Museum is open every
-week-day from 10 till dusk, admission one penny in the slot of the
-turnstile. Eight to ten thousand pennies have been taken yearly
-since the opening. The hon. curator is Mr. Herbert Bownass.
-
-In the summer an exhibition, usually of pictures, is held during
-August and September in the large hall adjoining. Since the new
-Museum was built, the room formerly occupied by the collections
-has been used as a Ladies' Reading Room; and in 1905 a workshop
-for wood carving and other art crafts was added to the premises.
-The subscription to the Institute for residents over 16 years of
-age is 1s. 3d. a quarter; for boys, 9d.; for visitors 1s. a week,
-or 2s. 6d. a month. The management is in the hands of a committee
-elected by the members, non-sectarian and non-political; Dr.
-Kendall has been president since 1884, and Mr. Edmund Todd hon.
-secretary since 1902.
-
-The Baptist Chapel was built in 1837, the youngest of many chapels
-described in a booklet entitled _Old Baptist Meeting-houses in
-Furness_, by F. N. Richardson (1904). Tottlebank, the oldest,
-was founded in 1669. Sunnybank, in Torver, 1678, and Hawkshead
-Hill, founded a few years later, no doubt took the early Baptists
-of Coniston; one of whom, William Atkinson of Monk Coniston,
-tanner, was fined in 1683 for attending a conventicle. These three
-chapels are now open, though Sunnybank and Hawkshead Hill were
-closed for some years before 1905. The seventeenth century chapel
-at Scroggs, between Broughton and Coniston, was dilapidated in
-1842, and is now a cattle shed. The Coniston Chapel ministers
-were Mr. Kirkbride, Mr. Myers, and then for twenty-one years from
-about 1865 the Rev. George Howells; he was succeeded by Rev.
-Arthur Johnson. For nine years before 1904 there was no Baptist
-congregation, and the chapel was let to the "Brethren," who built
-a place of worship for themselves and opened it 1903. The Baptist
-Sunday School had been carried on all the while by Mr. William
-Shaw, and on regaining possession of the chapel a congregation was
-once more formed with Rev. R. Jardine as pastor.
-
-A Primitive Methodist Chapel was built in 1859, but some years ago
-was converted into a Masonic Hall. A Wesleyan Chapel was built in
-1875, but there is no settled minister.
-
-The Roman Catholic Chapel was built in 1872 by Miss Aglionby of
-Wigton; Prof. Ruskin gave a window to this chapel. It was served
-for many years by Father Gibson; on his removal he was succeeded
-by Father Laverty, at whose death in 1905 Father Bradshaw was
-appointed to the cure.
-
-
-
-VIII.--CONISTON INDUSTRIES.
-
-
-COPPER.
-
-That the copper mines were worked by the Romans and the Saxons
-is only a surmise. Dr. A. C. Gibson, F.S.A., writing in 1866,
-said:--"Recent operations have from time to time disclosed old
-workings which have obviously been made at a very early period,
-by the primitive method of lighting great fires upon the veins
-containing ore and, when sufficiently heated, pouring cold water
-upon the rock, and so, by the sudden abstraction of caloric,
-rending, cracking and making a circumscribed portion workable by
-the rude implements then in use, specimens of which are still
-found occasionally in the very ancient parts of the mines,
-especially small quadrangular wedges perforated for the reception
-of a handle."
-
-The mines of Cumberland were worked throughout the Middle Ages,
-and it is not impossible that these rich veins in the Coniston
-Fells were tried for ore; but we have no proof of the local
-assertion that they have been worked continuously since the days
-of the Romans. On the contrary, there seem to have been only two
-periods, of about a century each, during which mining was actively
-pushed. In the time of Queen Elizabeth we reach firm ground of
-history.
-
-In 1561 a company was formed by several lords and London merchants
-to work the minerals of the kingdom under a patent from the
-Crown. They invited two German mining experts, Thomas Thurland
-and Daniel Hechstetter, who coming to England opened mines, and
-built smelting works at Keswick in 1565; and in spite of strong
-local opposition soon made a great success. (Their proceedings
-are described in a paper by J. Fisher Crosthwaite, F.S.A., in
-_Transactions_ of the now defunct Cumberland Association, viii.)
-
-They also took over the Coniston mines, and worked them with
-energy and profit. They opened out no less than nine new workings
-beside the old mine--the New or White Work, Tongue Brow (in
-Front of Kernel Crag), Thurlhead, Hencrag, Semy Work, Brimfell,
-Gray Crag, the Wide Work, and the Three Kings in Tilberthwaite;
-employing about 140 men. The ore was raised at a cost of 2s. 6d.
-to 8s. a kibble, each kibble being about a horse load, for it was
-carried on pack-horses to Keswick for smelting. To avoid this they
-proposed building a smelting house at Coniston, which was, they
-said, well supplied with wood and peat, and an iron forge was
-already there. It would be easy to boat the manufactured copper
-down the water, and ship it at Penny Bridge.
-
-But in the civil wars the Corporation of "Governors, Assistants,
-and Commonalty of the Mines Royal" came to an end. The Parliament
-soldiers wrecked the works at Keswick, and operations at Coniston
-were stopped.
-
-After the civil wars, Sir Daniel Fleming was several times
-approached on the subject of reopening the mines. He seems to
-have been willing. He notes on January 21st, 1658, "given unto
-the miller of Conistone for going along with me on to the fell,
-1s.;" and on March 22nd, "given to Parce Corratts when hee came
-to looke at the blacke lead mine at Conistone, 2/6." This turned
-out a disappointment, for on May 2nd, 1665, he says, "given unto
-a Newlands man who came to look at the _supposed_ wadd-mine at
-Coniston, 5/-." And so nothing seems to have been done.
-
-In 1684 Roger Fleming at the Hall sent his brother, Sir Daniel,
-a report of the mines "which were first wrought by the Dutchmen"
-(Keswick Germans) and others discovered more recently. Only three
-of the old workmen were living, but from their evidence we get
-the details given above. On May 25th, 1686, John Blackwall wrote
-from Patterdale to Sir Daniel that he had examined the ground at
-Coniston and studied the evidence of the three old miners, and
-was prepared with a company to open the mines, if they could agree
-upon terms.
-
-Sir Daniel died in 1701; and the Rev. Thomas Robinson's _Natural
-History of Cumberland_, &c., published in 1709, mentions that
-copper had been formerly got at Cunningston, by the Germans,
-and taken to Keswick, but says nothing about a revival of the
-industry. It was, however, prosecuted in a small way throughout
-the eighteenth century. A Company of Miners at Ulpha is mentioned
-in George Bownass' account for tools in 1772. West says, in 1774,
-merely, "the fells of Coniston have produced great quantities
-of copper ore," nothing of mining in his time; and the smith's
-accounts from 1770 to 1774 do not mention it. There must have
-been a revival shortly afterwards. Captain Budworth, about 1790,
-tells the story of the devil and the miner, retold by Dr. Gibson
-from local tradition, to the effect that Simon the miner found
-a paying vein in the crag--it is called Simon Nick to this day,
-and the cleft he made is seen yet on the left hand as you go up
-to Leverswater; but one night at the Black Bull he boasted of his
-luck, and said the fairies, or the devil, were his partners, upon
-which he found no more copper, and lost his life soon after in
-blasting.
-
-In 1802 the mines were going. In 1820 the _Lonsdale Magazine_ says
-that they had been worked at intervals for many centuries, and had
-lately been in the hands of "spirited adventurers," but were then
-discontinued.
-
-About 1835 a new era of prosperity began, in which Mr. John
-Barratt became the leader. His skill and energy brought about such
-success that in 1849 they employed 400 men, and yielded 250 tons
-of ore monthly. In 1855 the monthly wage list amounted to L2,000.
-In 1866 Dr. Gibson said:--"For many years their shipments averaged
-300 tons per month, and employed from five to six hundred people,"
-but "the number of hands employed do not now exceed two hundred."
-
-Up to this time the ore had been boated down the lake, and carted
-to Greenodd. Now the Coppermining Company promoted a railway
-connecting Coniston with Broughton and the Furness line. It was a
-separate concern when it was opened in 1859, but absorbed into the
-Furness system in 1862.
-
-The mines, as they were in his days, are described at length
-by Dr. Gibson in _The Old Man, or Ravings and Ramblings around
-Conistone_. Alexander Craig Gibson, M.R.C.S., F.S.A., was born at
-Harrington, 1813, the son of a ship's captain, who died early.
-He was taken by his mother to her home at Lockerbie, and brought
-up there; afterwards apprenticed to a surgeon at Whitehaven. In
-1844 he came to Coniston as medical officer to the mining company,
-and lived for seven years at Yewdale Bridge, where he wrote his
-"Ravings and Ramblings" as articles for the _Kendal Mercury_,
-afterwards collected into a volume, and subsequently republished
-with considerable revision. He left Coniston in January, 1851, and
-remained at Hawkshead for some years; then removed southward, and
-finally settled at Bebington in Cheshire, where he died in 1874.
-A collection of sketches in prose and verse, _The Folk-speech of
-Cumberland_, &c. (Coward, Carlisle, 1869; ed. ii., 1872), shows
-him to be master of the dialect of the north-west in various
-forms--Furness, Cumbrian, and Dumfriesshire; and his book on
-Coniston remains a valuable contribution to local anecdote. (I owe
-the data of his life to the Rev. T. Ellwood.)
-
-After the middle of the nineteenth century the copper mines
-became less and less profitable, owing to the competition of
-foreign imports. During the "eighties," they were only just kept
-open, until the Coniston Mining Syndicate, under the energetic
-management of Mr. Thomas Warsop, tried to put new life into the
-old business. Mr. Warsop attempted to introduce a new system of
-smelting, but this smelting house was blown away by the storm of
-December 22nd, 1894. He took the watercourse from Leverswater to
-work a turbine, which superseded the old waterwheels for pumping,
-and also supplied power for boring in the mines, and for crushing
-and mixing the material from the old rubbish heaps, with which he
-made excellent concrete slabs, much in demand for pavements. But
-the development came to an end with Mr. Warsop's removal in 1905,
-and when the mines were offered for sale there was no purchaser.
-
-
-IRON.
-
-In our tour of the lake we have noticed that there are remains of
-old iron works along its margin, now difficult to trace.
-
-In High Furness, the district of which Coniston Lake is the
-centre, and the most northern part of Lancashire, there are about
-thirty known sites where iron was smelted in the ancient way with
-charcoal, producing a _bloom_--the lump of metal made by _blowing_
-in the furnace--whence the name _bloomeries_. Of these sites about
-half are in the valley of Coniston, and eight are actually on the
-shore of the lake:--
-
- Beck-leven (below Brantwood) East side.
- Parkamoor Beck (below Fir Island) "
- Selside Beck (below Peel Island) "
- Moor-gill (above Sunny-bank) West side.
- Harrison Coppice (opposite Fir Island) "
- Knapping-tree (opposite Fir Island) "
- Springs (opposite Beck-leven) "
- Waterpark (below Coniston Hall) "
-
-All these have been bloomeries of a somewhat similar kind,
-and on Peel Island some iron works have been carried on of a
-rather different type, and perhaps at a different period. Small
-bloomeries have also been in blast at Tom-gill (the beck coming
-down from the Monk Coniston Tarns, often called Glen Mary), and
-at Stable Harvey in Blawith. One is said to be at the limekiln in
-Yewdale. There were two bloomeries of the later and larger type at
-Coniston Forge (up stream from the church) and at Low Nibthwaite,
-and two others further down the Crake, making sixteen in all the
-valley now known. There are, of course, many beside in the Lake
-District, as in other parts of the country.
-
-That there were iron works before the Conquest in Furness appears
-from the place-name of "Ouregrave" in _Domesday_, which must be
-identical with Orgrave. At this place, early in the thirteenth
-century, Roger of Orgrave gave Furness Abbey the mine "cum ...
-aquae cursu ad illam scil. mineriam lavandum," a grant confirmed by
-his son Hamo in 1235 (_Coucher Book of Furness_, p. 229). About
-1230 Thomas le Fleming gave them iron mines in Elliscales. By 1292
-a great part of their income was derived from iron works.
-
-Canon Atkinson, in his introduction to the _Coucher Book of
-Furness_, c. xviii., reckoned that they must have had some forty
-hearths to produce the iron they made. When the wood near the
-mines was exhausted, it became easier to carry the ore to the
-place where charcoal was burned than to bring the charcoal--so
-much greater in bulk--to the ore. An acre of forest was not enough
-to supply charcoal for smelting two tons of metal, and so the
-woods were gradually devastated over a wider and wider area.
-
-In 1240 the abbey, which owned the eastern side of the lake,
-but not the lake itself, got leave from the baron of Kendal to
-put boats on the lake of Coniston for fishing and carrying. The
-carrying was chiefly of timber for building, but the tops and
-branches were no doubt used for charcoal. That on the other shore
-the smelting works were creeping up the valley is seen from the
-grant, before 1282, of William de Lancaster to Conishead Priory
-of the dead wood in Blawith for charcoal to supply the canons'
-bloomeries--for it was not only Furness Abbey that dealt in iron;
-and, indeed, more bloomeries exist on the side that did not belong
-to the abbey than on the shore that did. Thus in the thirteenth
-century we infer that smelting went on by Coniston Lake shore well
-up the west side.
-
-On the east side there is a remarkable coincidence between the
-sites of Furness Abbey "parks" (or early clearings for sheep
-farms) and the bloomeries we find there. Near Selside Beck, where
-slag has been found, is Waterpark--anciently Water-side-park,
-apparently the earliest of the abbey sheep farms. Above Parkamoor
-Beck bloomery is Parkamoor--the sheep farm on the moor. Above
-Beck-leven bloomery is Lawson Park, the latest of the Furness
-Abbey sheep farms. I think the inference is that when the land was
-cleared they put sheep on it, and went up the lake to the next
-beck for the site of their bloomery. What we know for certain is
-that in early times the valley of Coniston was thickly wooded, but
-by the time of the dissolution of the monastery, High Furness had
-been nearly denuded of timber.
-
-After the dissolution of the monastery, the commissioners of Henry
-VIII. let part of the woods of Furness Fells to William Sandys
-and John Sawrey, to maintain three smithies, or combined smelting
-and hammering works, for which the rent was L20. Less than thirty
-years later, in 1564-5, these were suppressed, because it was
-represented that the woods were being wasted, and the L20 rent
-was thenceforward paid to the lord of the manor by the customary
-tenants as "bloomsmithy rent."
-
-The tenants of High Furness were allowed to make iron for
-themselves with the loppings and underwood, which may account for
-some of the small bloomeries. But by this time an improved and
-larger furnace was beginning to come into fashion, and in the
-seventeenth century we find that one such existed at Coniston
-at the Forge, between the Black Bull and Dixon Ground. It is
-mentioned in 1650 by the German miners, and by Sir Daniel Fleming
-in 1675. In 1750 it was turning out eighty tons of bar iron a
-year, and in 1771 Thomas Tyson is mentioned as the ironmaster
-(George Bownass' accounts). This would suffice for the needs of
-the neighbourhood, while at the same time the Deerpark, which
-we know was stocked in the seventeenth century and probably was
-preserved in the sixteenth, would make impossible the carrying
-on of smelting at Waterpark bloomery, which is within it, and
-at Springs, close to it. The relics from Peel Island, associated
-with iron works, seem to be mediaeval, and the isolation of a forge
-on an island, as at Rampsholme in Derwentwater, implies that
-protection was sought, which would hardly be needed in Elizabethan
-and later times hereabouts. The conclusion seems to be that many
-of the little bloomeries are mediaeval; that at Stable Harvey,
-perhaps the work of Conishead Priory after the grant of 1282, and
-those in Monk Coniston, the work of Furness Abbey.
-
-The iron ore came from Low Furness, but there was an iron mine at
-the Red-dell head under Weatherlam. The Rev. Thomas Robinson, in
-his _Natural History of Westmorland and Cumberland_, 1709, says
-"Langdale & Cunningston mountains do abound most with iron veins;
-which supplies with Ore & keeps constantly going a Furnace in
-Langdale, where great plenty of good and malleable iron is made,
-not much inferior to that of Dantzick."
-
-
-SLATE.
-
-Roofing slabs have been found in the ruins of Calder Abbey and the
-Well Chapel at Gosforth, both mediaeval; in the mansion on Lord's
-Island, Derwentwater, destroyed before the end of the seventeenth
-century, we found green Borrowdale roofing slates. Purple Skiddaw
-roofing slates were also found in the ruins of a seventeenth and
-eighteenth century cottage at Causeway Head near Keswick. But
-it was not until the eighteenth century that quarrying began to
-develop. Mr. H. S. Cowper, in his _History of Hawkshead_, says
-that the Swainsons, from about 1720, worked a quarry in the
-Coniston flag formation near the Monk Coniston Tarns, and sent
-out their flags even as far as Ulverston Church. Fifty years
-later George Bownass, the Coniston blacksmith, was the great
-purveyor and repairer of tools, and from his ledger the names of
-his customers, gathered by Mr. Herbert Bownass, throw light on
-the history of the industry in the second half of the eighteenth
-century.
-
-In 1770 appear William Jackson & Co. and Edward Jackson, no
-doubt of Tilberthwaite. In 1771, the Company of Slate-getters at
-Pennyrigg, Saddlestones, Cove and Hodge Close; Zachias Walker
-& Co., at Cove; George Tyson & Co., quarry owners; William
-Atkinson & Co., at Scoadcop Quarry; John Masacks & Co., at Cove;
-John Atkinson, slate merchant, Torver Fell Quarry; Wm. Fleming
-and Thomas Callan, Stang End Quarry; Matthew Carter, Stang End
-Quarry; also George Thompson and Wm. Vickers at a quarry with an
-unreadable name, and John Johnson, Jonathan Youdale, Wm. Wilson,
-Anthony Rigg and Wm. Stopart, slate-getters. In 1772, William
-Atkinson, Broadscop Quarry; John Speding & Co., quarry owners;
-slate-getters at Bove Beck or Gatecrag Quarries; Wm. Parker, slate
-merchant, Langdale; Wm. Fleming, Bessy Crag Quarry; Wm. Johnson,
-Pennyrigg Quarry; and John Vickers, Thomas and Rowland Wilson,
-John Casson, and George Bownass, slate-getters.
-
-Of the quarries here mentioned as working 130 years ago Stang End
-and Bessy Crag are in Little Langdale, Pennyrigg and Hodge Close
-on opposite sides of the Tilberthwaite valley; Cove is on the
-flank of the Old Man above Gaitswater; Scoadcop and Broadscop look
-like variants of the name Goldscope, the quarry opposite Cove,
-and near Blind Tarn, to the right hand as you go up Walna Scar;
-Torverfell Quarry may be Ashgill; Saddlestones is the quarry seen
-on the way up the Old Man (page 3).
-
-Father West in 1774 said that "the most considerable slate
-quarries in the kingdom" were in the Coniston Fells; the slate was
-shipped from Penny Bridge "for differents parts of the kingdom."
-In 1780, Green saw the quarry near the top of the Old Man "in
-high working condition." W. Rigge & Son of Hawkshead, who worked
-some of them, exported 1,100 tons and upward a year, and the
-carriage to Penny Bridge was 6s. 10d. to 7s. 10d. a ton. The slate
-was shipped at Kirkby Quay upon sailing boats, of which there
-were enough upon the water in 1819 to furnish the subject of a
-paragraph in Green's _Guide_ describing a scene of "bustle and
-animation."
-
-From papers given by Mr. John Gunson of Ulpha to the Coniston
-Museum, we can gather a few particulars of the slate trade in the
-early part of the nineteenth century. John Atkinson of Ivytree,
-Blawith, in 1803 was interested in the Tilberthwaite Quarries, and
-in 1804 applied for leave to redeem the Land Tax on the ground
-they covered, the annual sum being L2 13s. 4d. From 1820 we find
-John Atkinson & Co. working seven quarries--Ashgill (to the left
-hand as you go up Walna Scar) the most important, occupying
-usually about a dozen men, and worked at considerable profit until
-1830, when it began to show a deficit; Tilberthwaite, after 1820
-giving employment to about seven men, with fair profit until 1826,
-when the men seem to have been withdrawn to work a quarry at Wood
-in Tilberthwaite for a year and a half; Goldscope, employing from
-nine to fifteen men between 1821 and 1826, when the Cove Quarry
-seems to have been run with no great profit or energy until 1832;
-and Mosshead, on the north-east side of the Old Man, at the head
-of Scrow Moss, was worked in 1829 and at a loss. The Outcast
-Quarry, near Slater's Bridge (now Little Langdale Quarries), is
-mentioned only in 1830. The best workmen were paid 3s. 6d. a day;
-lads seem to have started at 6d. There are notes of indentures,
-in Atkinson's account-book, from which it seems that apprentices
-at the riving and dressing began at 1s. or 1s. 6d., with a yearly
-rise to 2s. 6d., before they were out of their time. The profits
-were fluctuating--Goldscope in two years (1821-23) produced L1,072
-17s. worth of slates, and paid L719 18s. 10d. in wages; Ashgill in
-1826 made L381 less powder, tools, candles, &c.; but these were
-good years. The royalties to Lady le Fleming on Cove and Mosshead
-for 1827-32 amounted to L33 6s.
-
-Tilberthwaite was the old possession of the Jacksons. Their
-ancestor had come from Gosforth, Cumberland, about 1690, and is
-said to have acquired it by marriage from the Walkers, who held
-the land in freehold, not, as usual hereabouts, in customary
-tenure under a lord of the manor. The Jacksons held most of
-Tilberthwaite, Holm Ground, and Yewdale until their estates were
-bought by Mr. James Garth Marshall, and it was by marriage with
-an Elizabeth Jackson that John Woodburn of Kirkby Quarries came
-to have an interest in the slate trade here. His name appears in
-John Atkinson's account books after 1832, and he seems to have
-taken over the actual working of the quarries. In 1904 the total
-output of the Coniston quarries (Cove, High Fellside, Mossrigg and
-Klondyke, Parrock, Saddlestone, and Walna Scar) was 3438 tons;
-value at the quarries, L12,251.
-
-
-WOOD.
-
-In spite of local production, iron was not plentiful in the
-eighteenth century. Iron nails were too valuable for common use,
-though they are found in quantities at the old furnaces on Peel
-Island and elsewhere, which must date from an earlier period.
-Wooden pegs were substituted in making kists and other furniture,
-house roofs, doors and boats. The trade in woodwork of many kinds
-flourished in Coniston and its neighbourhood.
-
-We have already mentioned the sixteenth century "Cowpers and
-Turners, with makyng of Coles," and the Baptist tanner of Monk
-Coniston in the seventeenth century; his tannery was, no doubt,
-that at Bank Ground. Another old tannery was at Dixon Ground in
-Church Coniston. Bark peeling and charcoal burning are among the
-most ancient and continuous industries; the round huts of the
-charcoal burners and their circular pitsteads can be traced,
-though overgrown and so nearly obliterated as to resemble
-prehistoric remains, in many of the woods, or places which once
-were wooded.
-
-In George Bownass' ledger, already quoted, John Bell & Co. are
-named as wood-mongers in 1771, and in 1772 the same smith repaired
-the "coal boate" owned by the executors of William Ford.
-
-In 1820 the old _Lonsdale Magazine_ says that the woods were cut
-every fifteen or sixteen years, and brought in the same value as
-if the land had been under cultivation. The wood was used for
-charcoal in smelting (and later in gunpowder making), for poles,
-hoops, and birch besoms; bird-lime was made from the bark of the
-holly, and exported to the West Indies.
-
-As the Lancashire spinning increased there was a great demand for
-bobbins, and large quantities of small copse wood went to the
-turning mills. There was one near the Forge at Coniston, and a
-later bobbin mill farther down stream at Low Beck. Others were
-worked at Hawkshead Hill by W. F. Walker, and more recently at
-Sunnybank in Torver. But this industry has now died out.
-
-An agreement in possession of Mr. H. Bownass, dated February 13th,
-1798, between John Jackson of Bank Ground, gent. (landlord), and
-Robert Townson of the Gill, yeoman (tenant), of the one part, and
-T. Mackreth of Bank Ground, tanner, and John Gaskerth of Mattson
-Ground, Windermere, woollen manufacturer, of the other, authorises
-the building of a watermill for spinning and carding on the land
-called the Becks and Lowlands in Church Coniston. The carding mill
-near Holywath was owned early in the nineteenth century by Mr.
-Gandy of Kendal, and managed by Mrs. Robinson of the Black Bull.
-
- * * * * *
-
-The rise of Coniston trade is shown pretty accurately by the
-returns of population in this period. In 1801 Church Coniston
-contained 338 persons; in 1811, 460; in 1821, 566; and in 1831,
-587. At this last date there were 101 houses inhabited and 9
-empty, none building; and there were 102 families of which 25 were
-employed in agriculture, 65 in trade, mining, &c., and 12 beside.
-In Monk Coniston with Skelwith the population in 1801 was 286; in
-1811, 386; in 1821, 426; and in 1831 it had dropped to 397. There
-were then 78 houses occupied and 12 empty; 36 families lived by
-agriculture, 2 by trade or manufacture, and 41 otherwise. This
-means that the village was always the home of the miners and
-quarrymen, while "at the back of the water" there was a gradually
-increasing settlement of gentlefolk attracted to the place by
-its scenery. In the later half of the century the population of
-Church Coniston, after reaching 1324 in 1861, fell to 1106 in
-1871, 965 in 1881, and 964 in 1891; showing the decline of the
-once flourishing industrial enterprises. During the next decade
-the slate trade increased, and in 1901 the population had risen
-to 1111, whence the new rows of houses which, if not picturesque,
-were much needed. It is no longer possible to crowd the cottages
-as in mid-Victorian days when, it is said, the miners coming down
-from their work took the beds _warm_ from the men on the other
-shift. And yet, granting the necessity, one cannot help regretting
-the meanness and ugliness of much recent building in the village.
-A pleasant exception is the new office for the Bank of Liverpool
-at the bridge, which is a clever adaptation of the old cottage,
-making a pretty effect without pretentiousness; and perhaps, with
-this example, local enterprise may still create--what is far
-from impossible--a little town among the mountains worthy of its
-environment.
-
-
-
-
-IX.--OLD CONISTON.
-
-
-The poet Gray, author of _The Elegy in a Country Churchyard_,
-in his tour of 1769, and Gilpin, in search of the picturesque,
-in 1772, did not seem to hear of Coniston as worth seeing. The
-earliest literary description is that of Thomas West, the Scotch
-Roman-Catholic priest, who wrote the _Antiquities of Furness_
-in 1774. He illustrated his book with a map "As Survey'd by Wm.
-Brasier 1745," in which are marked Coniston Kirk, Hall, Waterhead,
-Townend, Thurston Water, Piel I., Nibthwaite, Furnace, Nibthwaite
-Grange, Blawith Chap., Waterycot (by obvious error for "yeat"),
-Oxenhouse, Torver Kirk, Torver Wood (Hoathwaite), New Brig (the
-old pack-horse bridge), White Maidens, Blind Tarn, Goat's Tarn,
-Low Water, Lever Water, and so on, giving names in use 150 years
-ago.
-
-West says:--"The village of Coniston consists of scattered houses;
-many of them have a most romantic appearance owing to the ground
-they stand on being extremely steep." Later editions add:--"Some
-are snow white, others grey ... they are all neatly covered
-with blue slate, the produce of the mountains, beautified with
-ornamental yews, hollies, and tall pines or firs."
-
-Mrs. Ann Radcliffe, author of the _Mysteries of Udolpho_ and
-other romantic novels, came here in 1794 or earlier; and after
-describing the Rhine, and all the other lakes, found Thurston Lake
-"one of the most interesting, and perhaps the most beautiful,"
-though she took the Hall for a Priory, and sentimentalised about
-the "solemn vesper that once swelled along the lake from these
-consecrated walls, and awakened, perhaps, the enthusiasm of the
-voyager, while evening stole upon the scene." Conishead, not
-Coniston, was the Priory; the confusion between the two has been
-often made.
-
-With fuller knowledge and from no hasty glance, Wordsworth soon
-afterwards described the same spot (_Prelude_, VIII.):--
-
- A grove there is whose boughs
- Stretch from the western marge of Thurston mere
- With length of shade so thick that whoso glides
- Along the line of low-roofed water, moves
- As in a cloister. Once--while in that shade
- Loitering I watched the golden beams of light
- Flung from the setting sun, as they reposed
- In silent beauty on the naked ridge
- Of a high eastern hill--thus flowed my thoughts
- In a pure stream of words fresh from the heart:
- Dear native regions, wheresoe'er shall close
- My mortal course, there will I think on you....
-
-Need I quote farther the famous outburst of patriotism?--it was
-our lake that roused it. And another great enthusiasm was stirred
-by our Coniston Fells.
-
-In 1797 the landscape painter Turner came here as a youth of 23
-on his first tour through the north. After his pilgrimage among
-the Yorkshire abbeys, so finely described by Ruskin in _Modern
-Painters_, vol. v., the young artist seems to have arrived among
-the fells one autumn evening, and sketched the Old Man from the
-Half-penny Alehouse. Then--I piece this together from the drawings
-and circumstances--he went round to spend the night at the Black
-Bull with old Tom Robinson and his wife, the daughter of Wonderful
-Walker. She was a wonderful woman herself; had been first a
-miner's wife, helping him to rise to a clerkship at the Leadhill
-Mines in Dumfriesshire, and on his death returning to Seathwaite;
-then, sorely against her old father's will, taking up with Tom,
-and settling at Townend to farm; afterwards for many years at the
-Black Bull, keeping the inn, managing the carding mill, and acting
-as parish officer in her turn; a notable figure, in mob cap and
-bedgown and brat; sharp tongued and shrewd of judgment. What
-did she make, I wonder, of the sunburnt, broad-shouldered lile
-cockney, with his long brown curls, his big nose and eagle eyes,
-and his sketch-book, "spying fancies?" Early in the morning he
-was out and scrambling up Lang Crags. It was one of the magical,
-misty autumnal sunrises we know so well. There had been rain, and
-Whitegill was full, thundering down the precipice at his feet.
-The fog was breaking away from the valley beneath, and rising in
-drifts and swirls among the clefts of Raven Crag, and the woods
-of Tilberthwaite. Far away, serene in the morning light, stood
-Helvellyn. It was his earliest sight of the mountain glory; the
-thrill of emotions never to be forgotten. Going home to London,
-he painted his first great mountain subject, afterwards in the
-National Gallery--the first picture for which he was moved to
-quote poetry in the Academy catalogue, and this from _Paradise
-Lost_--"Morning on Coniston Fells:--
-
- Ye mists and exhalations that now rise
- From hill or streaming lake, dusky or grey,
- Till the sun paint your fleecy skirts with gold
- In honour to the world's Great Author rise."
-
-By this time the fashion of visiting the lakes was coming in,
-enough to give employment to a guide--Creighton, whom Captain
-Budworth, about 1790, described as a self-taught scholar, claiming
-descent from a noble family in Scotland, and fond of bragging
-about the nobility he had taken up the fells. His son William
-was something of a genius; he was found here by John Southern
-of Soho drawing a map of the world with home-made mathematical
-instruments, but using them with immense skill. Mr. Southern took
-him into his drawing office, and young Creighton, by hard study,
-became a considerable linguist, astronomer, and cartographer.
-
-To the old Black Bull, De Quincey came from Oxford in 1806 to see
-Wordsworth. Next year William Green, the artist and guide-book
-writer, was there, and went up Walna Scar with Robinson. Mrs.
-Robinson died in extreme old age, and afterwards Adam Bell was
-landlord (1849); in 1855, Edward Barrow.
-
-The tourist business made more hotels necessary. In 1819 the old
-Waterhead Inn was called the New Inn as distinguished from the
-Black Bull. It stood at the head of the lake, where now is the
-plantation between the letter-box and the sign-post. In Holland's
-aquatint view (1792), a rambling farmhouse is shown there, but
-not called an inn. This became a favourite stopping place for
-tourists. John Ruskin's father was fond of it, and often stayed
-there alone or with his family. But John Ruskin, returning in
-1867, wrote--"Our old Waterhead Inn, where I was so happy playing
-in the boats, _exists_ no more." The present hotel was built by
-Mr. Marshall in 1848-49, and tenanted by Mr. Atkinson, afterwards
-by Mr. and Mrs. Sly, and now by Mr. Joseph Tyson.
-
-In 1849 the landlord of the Crown was Isaac Massicks. The Ship, in
-1849, was kept by John Aitkin; the Rising Sun, in 1855, by James
-Harker. The old Half-penny Alehouse was pulled down in 1848 to
-build Lanehead.
-
-To tell the story of the many "worthies" of Coniston, and to trace
-the fortunes of 'statesman families often wandering far into the
-world, and winning a fair share of renown, would need a volume
-to itself. One or two names we can hardly omit--such as Lieut.
-Oldfield of Haws Bank, who piloted the fleet into Copenhagen, and
-received his commission from Nelson for that deed; and Sailor
-Dixon, who fought under Howe on the first of June and under
-Duncan at Camperdown; twice taken prisoner, once retaken and once
-escaping from Dunkirk; implicated in the great mutiny of 1797, and
-yet acquitted by court martial, he lived at Coniston to the age of
-71.
-
-With these might be mentioned the soldier John Jackson, whose
-records of foreign service in the Crimea and elsewhere are still
-extant. His cousin, the late Roger Bownass, left many papers of
-interest to the student of Old Coniston. The first of his family
-came in 1710 from Little Langdale, and bought from William Fleming
-of Catbank for thirteen pounds odd the smith's shop at the place
-called Chapel Syke, _i.e._, where the Crown Inn bar is now; a
-stream rising above the Parsonage used to cross the road there,
-whence the name. He bought also the old Catbank Farmhouse and
-its land now covered with cottages. His son was about twelve or
-fourteen in 1745, and told the writer of the manuscript history of
-the family that he remembered taking a cartload of cannon balls,
-forged at the smithy, to Kendal for the Duke of Cumberland's army.
-
-By 1773 a new site was needed for the smithy, and it was moved to
-Bridge End, where the Post Office now stands, on land bought from
-William Pennington of Kendal, wool comber, by George Bownass, son
-of the original blacksmith who by this time had died at the age
-of 87. Here a large business was carried on in quarry and edge
-tools, employing a number of men and apprentices; and profitable
-enough to enable the owner to buy many plots of land round about,
-to which his son William, who inherited the business, added
-other purchases, and still managed to save L100 a year. William
-Bownass died in 1818, and was the first person buried after the
-rebuilding of the church; of his seven children, Isaac, of Queen's
-College, Cambridge, became a successful schoolmaster, but died at
-the age of 28, and Roger, for 45 years postmaster at Coniston,
-died in 1889. Old George Bownass, the second of the name, died
-a year later than his son William; one of his daughters married
-a Coniston man, William Gelderd, who became the first mayor of
-Kendal after the passing of the new Municipal Act.
-
-In the Christmas number, 1864, of the old Liverpool _Porcupine_
-is a short story by Dr. Gibson which, if we read _Bownass_
-for "Forness," _Spedding_ for "Pedder," and _Coniston_ for
-"Odinsmere," as the writer certainly intended, becomes a very
-vivid and interesting picture of Coniston folk and their
-surroundings at the beginning of the last century. It describes
-the smith "George Forness" as the well-to-do and industrious
-craftsman, in his busy workshop, surrounded by the village gossips
-at Candlemas. To him enters "old Matthew Pedder," bound next
-morning for Ulverston, to settle accounts. The smith entrusts him
-with money to pay his iron bill at Newlands, and save himself
-a journey. The next scene shows us a lane through the deerpark
-before dawn; Matthew on his half-broken mare attacked by a wastrel
-who has overheard the conversation, and now tries his unaccustomed
-hand at highway robbery. The mare throws him down, and Matthew
-gallops away believing his unknown assailant to be dead. Ten
-months later Matthew is called from his house in Tilberthwaite to
-the death-bed of Tom Bratton, and comes back subdued and silent.
-"What did he want wi' yee?" his family clamoured. "To ex me to
-forgive him." "Then it _was_ him 'at tried to rob ye?" "Niver ye
-mind wha tried to rob me--neahbody _did_ rob me!" "And what did
-ye say till him?" "I ext him to forgive me, and we yan forgev
-t'udder."
-
-The slackness of anything like police in those days is illustrated
-by a document in possession of Mr. John Bell, which is an
-agreement dated 1791 on the part of leading villagers to form a
-sort of Trades Defence Association to preserve their property from
-"the Depredation of Highwaymen, Robbers, Housebreakers and other
-Offenders." It is signed by Edward Jackson, Isaac Tubman, Geo.
-Bownas (the smith), James Robinson, George Dixon, John Gelderd,
-David Kirkby, John Dawson, and by Thomas Dixon for Mr. John
-Armstrong, each of whom subscribed eighteen pence to found the
-association, and resolves in strictly legal form to stand by his
-neighbours in all manner of eventualities.
-
-The smith's ledger, already quoted, gives also a number of
-farmer's names in 1770-74, which may be worth recording as a
-contribution to the history of Coniston folk. At Littlearrow lived
-John Fleming and Wm. Ion; at Spone How (Spoon Hall), Geo. Dixon;
-at Heathwaite, John Fleming; at Bowmanstead, T. Dixon and T.
-Parke; at Dixon Ground, John Ashburner; at Catbank, Roger Tyson;
-at Brow, T. Bainbridge; at Bove Beck, Wm. Dixon; at Far End, Wm.
-Parke; at Tarnhouse (Tarn Hows), John Johnson; at "Utree," Geo.
-Walker; at Oxenfell, Christopher Huertson; at Tilberthwaite,
-John Jackson; at Holme Ground, Wm. Jackson; at Lane End, Henry
-Dawson; at Waterhead, Anthony Sawrey; at Hollin Bank, John Suert;
-at Bank Ground, John Wilson; at Howhead, Eliz. Harrison; at Town
-End (Coniston Bank), Ed. Barrow and Wm. Edrington; at Lowsanparke
-(Lawson Park), Wm. Adinson. Other well-known names are Adam Bell
-(Black Bull), John Bell, John Geldart, T. Gasketh, G. Knott, David
-Kirkby, Matthew Spedding, T. and W. Towers. Many of these names
-are still represented in the neighbourhood, but the old 'statesman
-holdings have nearly all passed into alien hands.
-
-A list dated between 1830 and 1840 enumerates the acreage of
-fifty-three separate estates in Church Coniston, ranging from
-the Hall (Lady le Fleming's), over 397 acres, and Tilberthwaite
-(John Jackson's), over 135 acres, to Henry Braithwaite's plot
-of 15 perches. But of the whole number only twenty-five, or
-less than half, are smaller than ten acres. In 1841 the list of
-Parliamentary voters for Church Coniston gives twenty owners of
-house and land in their own occupation out of forty-six voters. In
-this list, James Garth Marshall of Leeds appears as owner of High
-Yewdale, occupied--no longer owned--by a Jackson; but there are
-very few non-resident landlords on the list.
-
-So late as 1849 the directory mentions as 'statesmen owning their
-farms in Monk Coniston and Skelwith, Matthew Wilson of Hollin
-Bank, John Creighton of Low Park, and William Burns of Hodge
-Close; in Church Coniston, William Barrow of Little Arrow, William
-Dixon of Dixon Ground, Benjamin Dixon of Spoonhall, James Sanders
-of Outhwaite, and William Wilson of Low Beck.
-
-But after the "discovery" of the lakes, in the last quarter of the
-eighteenth century, Coniston began to be the resort of strangers
-in search of retirement and scenery.
-
-In 1801, Colonel George Smith, after losing a fortune in a bank
-failure, settled at Townson Ground, and some years later built
-Tent Lodge, so called from the tent his family had pitched on the
-spot before the house was built, as a kind of "station," as it
-was then called, for admiring the view. Here in the tent, they
-say, his daughter used to sit, dying of consumption, and looking
-her last on the favourite scene. Elizabeth Smith was a girl of
-great charm and unusual genius. Born in 1776, at thirteen she had
-learnt French, Italian, and mathematics; at fifteen, she taught
-herself German; at seventeen, she studied Arabic, Persian, and
-Spanish; and at eighteen, Latin, Greek, and Hebrew. While living
-here she wrote much verse and many translations, of which her
-_Book of Job_ was highly commended by scholars; the manuscript in
-her handwriting, with a copy of her portrait, may be seen in the
-Coniston Museum. She died in 1806, and is buried at Hawkshead.
-
-After the death of Mrs. Smith, Tent Lodge was bought by Mr.
-Marshall, and occupied by Tennyson the poet on his honeymoon.
-His favourite point of view is still marked in the wood above
-by a seat now hidden among the trees. Later, the Misses Romney,
-descendants of the famous painter, lived at Tent Lodge; then it
-was taken by the late George Holt, Esq., of Liverpool.
-
-At Colonel Smith's removal to the Lodge, Tent Cottage, as it is
-now called, was taken by Mrs. Fletcher, one of whose daughters
-became Lady Richardson and another married Dr. Davy, brother of
-Sir Humphrey Davy. Dr. Townson succeeded them at the Cottage;
-then Mr. Oxley of the sawmills; then the Gasgarths, on their
-removal from the Hall; then Mr. Evennett, agent to Mr. Marshall.
-Afterwards it was taken by Mr. Laurence Jermyn Hilliard, secretary
-to Mr. Ruskin. Mr. Hilliard died in 1887 just as he was beginning
-to be well known as an artist; he is commemorated in a brass
-tablet in the church, and some examples of his work are to be seen
-in the Museum. Since his death Tent Cottage has been tenanted by
-his brother and sister.
-
-In 1819 Mr. Thomas Woodville bought from Sir D. Fleming a house
-called Yewdale Grove at Yewdale Bridge. In 1821 Mr. Binns of
-Bristol built the Thwaite House, and let it in 1827 to Mr.
-William Beever, a Manchester merchant, who died four years later,
-leaving two sons and four daughters, whose memory is very closely
-associated with Coniston. John, the eldest son, was a sportsman
-and naturalist; the author of a little volume entitled _Practical
-Fly-fishing_, published in 1849, and republished 1893, a memoir
-of the author (now again out of print). The pond behind the
-Thwaite was made by him, and stocked with fish; once a year he
-used to catch every member of his water colony, and examine it
-to note its growth. The picturesque "Gothic" boat house, now the
-gondola house, was built for his use. One of his hobbies was the
-improvement of fishing-rods, and Mr. William Bell (afterwards J.P.
-of Hawes Bank, who died in 1896) remembered helping Mr. Beever
-in this and other carpentering, turning, carving, and mosaic
-works, and in the construction of the printing press used for his
-sister's little books. John Beever died in 1859, aged 64. His
-brother Henry was a Manchester lawyer, and died 1840.
-
-Of the four ladies of the Thwaite, Miss Anne Beever died in 1858,
-and is buried with her brothers at Hawkshead. Miss Margaret (d.
-1874), Miss Mary (d. 1883), and Miss Susanna (d. 1893) are buried
-at Coniston; their graves are marked by white marble crosses
-close to Ruskin's. Indeed, though their local influence and
-studies, especially in botany (see, for example, Baxter's _British
-Flowering Plants_ and Baker's _Flora of the Lake District_, to
-which they contributed, and the Rev. W. Tuckwell's _Tongues in
-Trees and Sermons in Stones_, describing their home), give them
-a claim to remembrance, their name is most widely known through
-Miss Susanna Beever's popular _Frondes Agrestes, readings in
-"Modern Painters,"_ and through the correspondence of Ruskin
-with Miss Mary and Miss Susanna published as _Hortus Inclusus_.
-In his preface to the last he spoke of them as "at once sources
-and loadstones of all good to the village in which they had their
-home, and to all loving people who cared for the village and its
-vale and secluded lake, and whatever remained in them, or around,
-of the former peace, beauty, and pride of English Shepherd Land."
-
-The old Thwaite Cottage, below the house, was tenanted by the
-Gaskarths after the death of David Kirkby, Esq., the last of the
-former owners, in 1814; and then for many years it was the home
-of Miss Harriette S. Rigbye, daughter of Major E. W. Rigbye of
-Bank Ground, and an accomplished amateur of landscape painting.
-She died in 1894, aged 82, and is buried beside her friends the
-Beevers in Coniston Churchyard. The Thwaite Cottage was then let
-to Professor J. B. Cohen of the Leeds University, whose works on
-organic chemistry are well known.
-
-The Waterhead estate was bought in the eighteenth century from the
-Thompsons by William Ford of Monk Coniston (see Mr. H. S. Cowper's
-_History of Hawkshead_, p. xvi.), and came to George Knott (d.
-1784) by marriage with a Miss Ford. Mr. Knott was mentioned by
-Father West as having "made many beautiful improvements on his
-estate." In 1822 a view of the modern "Gothic" front of the
-house, now called Monk Coniston Hall, was given in the _Lonsdale
-Magazine_. The poet Wordsworth is said to have advised in the
-laying out of the gardens. From Mr. Michael Knott the place was
-bought by James Garth Marshall, Esq., M.P. for Leeds, whose son,
-Victor Marshall, Esq., J.P., still holds it.
-
-Holywath was built by Mr. John Barratt, the manager of the mines
-in their prosperous days, and afterwards held by his daughter,
-the wife of Colonel Bousfield. Mr. William Barratt, his cousin,
-built Holly How on the site of an old cottage; it was afterwards
-tenanted by Mrs. Benson, and is now occupied by Mrs. Kennington.
-Mr. William Barratt's son, James W. H. Barratt, Esq., J.P., now
-lives at Holywath.
-
-In 1848 Miss Creighton of Bank Ground built Lanehead, on the site
-of the old Half-penny Alehouse, for Dr. Bywater, who tenanted it
-for many years. Miss Creighton left the estate to the Rev. H. A.
-Starkie; the house was occupied later by Mrs. Melly, and since
-1892 by W. G. Collingwood.
-
-Coniston Bank replaces the old homestead of Townend. It was held
-in 1819 by Thomas North, Esq.; in 1849, by Henry Smith, Esq.; in
-1855, by Wordsworth Smith, Esq.; subsequently by Major Benson
-Harrison, who let it for a time to George W. Goodison, Esq., C.E.,
-J.P., and then to Thomas Docksey, Esq. In 1897 it was sold to Mrs.
-Arthur Severn, who sold it to its present occupant, H. P. Kershaw,
-Esq.
-
-Brantwood, that is to say the nucleus of the present house, was
-built at the end of the eighteenth century by Mr. Woodville on
-a site bought from the Gaskarths. It was sold to Edward Copley,
-Esq., of Doncaster, whose widow died there in 1830. In 1849 it
-was in the occupation of Josiah Hudson, Esq., and the early home
-of his son, the Rev. Charles Hudson, a founder of the Alpine
-Club, and one of the party of young Englishmen who first climbed
-Mont Blanc without guides. He joined in the first ascent of the
-Matterhorn, 1865, and was killed in the accident on the descent.
-
-The next resident was an artist, poet, and politician. Mr. William
-James Linton was born at Mile-End Road in the east of London in
-1812; his father was of Scotch extraction. After apprenticeship
-to a wood engraver at Kennington, he worked for the _Illustrated
-London News_, and mixed with artists and authors of the Liberal
-and advanced party, becoming known as a writer, editor, and
-lecturer of much energy on the Radical side. In 1849 he left
-London for Miteside in West Cumberland, and in May, 1852, moved
-to Brantwood; after a year's tenancy he bought the little house
-and estate of ten acres, to which on the enclosure of the common
-six acres more were added. At Brantwood he also rented the garden
-and field between the house and the lake, and kept cows, sheep,
-and poultry; he anticipated Ruskin in clearing part of the land
-and cultivating it; in his volume of _Memories_ (Lawrence &
-Bullen, 1895) he records the pleasures of his country life, as
-well as some of the trials of that period. He had been editing,
-and publishing at his own expense, a monthly magazine called
-_The English Republic_, and this was taken up again in 1854.
-Two young printers and a gardener came to Brantwood and offered
-their services, as assistants in this work; and with their help
-the magazine was printed in the outhouse, which he decorated
-with mottoes, such as "God and the People"--still to be traced
-in the roughcast on the wall. But its cost, however economically
-produced, was more than he could afford, and the magazine was
-dropped in April, 1855, after which he was employed on the
-woodcuts for the edition of Tennyson's poems illustrated by
-Rossetti, Millais, and other artists of the period. He tells how
-Moxon came to call on him and hasten the work, but could not be
-received into the house owing to serious illness; and how thankful
-he was for a ten-pound note put into his hand by the considerate
-publisher as they stood at the gate. At Brantwood Miss Eliza Lynn
-came to nurse the first Mrs. Linton in her fatal illness, and
-married Mr. Linton in 1858. At Brantwood she wrote her novels
-_Lizzie Lorton_, _Sowing the Wind_, and _Grasp your Nettle_;
-also _The Lake Country_, published in 1864. Mr. Linton, in 1865,
-published _The Ferns of the Lake Country_, but for some years he
-had not lived continuously at Brantwood, and in 1866 he went to
-America, where he died in 1898. Mrs. Lynn Linton's best known work
-was _Joshua Davidson_, written later than her Coniston period; she
-died in London in 1898, and was buried at Crosthwaite, Keswick.
-Portraits and relics of the Lintons are to be seen in the Museum
-at Coniston.
-
-Another poet, Gerald Massey, lived for a time at Brantwood, and
-dated the dedication of a volume of his poems from that address
-in May, 1860. He, like Linton, is known for his advocacy of
-democratic opinions; indeed, it is said that George Eliot took him
-for model in _Felix Holt the Radical_.
-
-During the later years of Mr. Linton's ownership, Brantwood was
-taken for the summer by the Rev. G. W. Kitchin, now Dean of
-Durham. In 1871, however, Mr. Linton sold the house to Prof.
-Ruskin.
-
-Ruskin as a child often visited Coniston, and in 1830 at the age
-of eleven made his first written mention of the place in a MS.
-journal now in the Museum. In his _Iteriad_, a rhymed description
-of the tour of that date, he gave the first hint of his wish to
-live in the Lake District, and in the winter of 1832-33, at the
-age of nearly fourteen, he wrote the well-known verses which stood
-first in the earliest collection of his poems:--
-
- I weary for the torrent foaming,
- For shady holm and hill;
- My mind is on the mountain roaming,
- My spirit's voice is still.
- The crags are lone on Coniston ...
-
-remembering first and foremost, not Snowdon or Scotland, but
-Coniston. In 1837, as an Oxford man, he was here again, making
-notes for his earliest prose work, _The Poetry of Architecture_;
-and one of the illustrations was a sketch of the Old Hall from
-the water, the view which became so familiar afterwards from his
-windows at Brantwood.
-
-Then for a while his interests turned to the cathedrals of France,
-the palaces and pictures of Italy, and to the loftier scenery of
-the Alps; but curiously enough he did not like the Matterhorn at
-first--it was too unlike "Cumberland," he said. In 1847, already
-a well-known author, he was looking out for a house in the Lake
-District, and staying at Ambleside. But the March weather was
-dull, and he had many causes for depression. As he rowed on
-Windermere he pined for the light and colour of southern skies.
-"The lake," he wrote home, "when it is quite calm, is wonderfully
-sad and quiet; no bright colour, no snowy peaks. Black water, as
-still as death; lonely, rocky islets; leafless woods, or worse
-than leafless; the brown oak foliage hanging dead upon them; gray
-sky; far-off, wild, dark, dismal moorlands; no sound except the
-rustling of the boat among the reeds." Next year he revisited the
-lakes in spring, and wrote soon after about a wild place he had
-found:--"Ever since I passed Shap Fells, when a child, I have had
-an excessive love for this kind of desolation."
-
-It was not, however, until 1867 that he revisited the Lakes. He
-came to Coniston on August 10th and went up the Old Man, delighted
-with the ascent. We have already quoted his description of the
-view.
-
-At last (it was in 1871, at the age of 52, being then Slade
-Professor at Oxford) he fell into a dangerous illness, and lay
-between life and death at Matlock. He was heard to say and
-repeat:--"If only I could lie down beneath the crags of Coniston!"
-
-Before he was fairly well again he heard through his old friend,
-Mr. T. Richmond, that a house and land at Coniston were for
-sale. The owner, W. J. Linton, asked L1,500 for the estate, and
-he bought it at once. In September he travelled here to see his
-bargain and found the cottage, as it then was, in poor condition;
-but, as he wrote, some acres "of rock and moor and streamlet, and,
-I think, the finest view I know in Cumberland--or Lancashire, with
-the sunset visible over the same."
-
-Next summer the house was ready for him, and thenceforward became
-his headquarters. From June, 1889, till his death he never left it
-for a night; indeed, the last time he went so far as the village
-was on April 7th, 1893, when he attended our Choral Society's
-concert.
-
-It is needless to tell over again the story of his life at
-Brantwood; to describe the house that he found a rickety cottage,
-and left a mansion and a museum of treasures; the gardens, woods,
-and moor he tended; the surroundings of mountain and streamlet,
-bird and beast, child-pet and peasant acquaintance, now familiar
-to the readers of his later books and of the many books that have
-been written about him. But here it must not be left unsaid that
-Coniston folk knew him less as the famous author than as the kind
-and generous friend; eccentric and not easily understood, but
-always to be trusted for help; giving with equal readiness to all
-the churches, to the schools and Institute; and to these last
-giving not only his money, but his strength and sympathy. It was
-he who started the first carving classes, and promoted the linen
-industry; he lectured in the village (December, 1883) for local
-charities, and--what was perhaps most effective of all--carried
-out in practice his principle of employing neighbours rather than
-strangers, of giving the tradesfolk and labourers of the valley
-a share in his fortunes and interests. And perhaps in his death
-he did them almost a greater service. It was in obedience to
-his wishes that the offer of a funeral in Westminster Abbey was
-refused, and he was laid to rest--January 25th, 1900--"beneath the
-crags of Coniston," so linking his name for ever with the place he
-loved.
-
-
-
-
-INDEX.
-
-
- Above beck, 47, 48;
- Bovebeck, 77.
-
- ADDISON of Coniston, 48;
- Adinson, 77.
-
- "Allans," 44, 45.
-
- Anglian settlement, 23.
-
- Angling Association, 13.
-
- Anglo-Cymric score, 25.
-
- Arnside, 27.
-
- ASHBURNER of Coniston, 77.
-
- Ashgill quarry, 19, 66, 67.
-
- ATKINSON of Coniston, 47-49, 57, 66, 67, 74.
-
-
- BAINBRIDGE of Coniston, 77.
-
- Bank ground, 9, 34, 77.
-
- Banniside, 2, 6, 7, 18, 19.
-
- Baptist chapels, 56, 57.
-
- BARRATT of Coniston, 1, 60, 80.
-
- BARROW of Coniston, 49, 74, 77.
-
- Basalt, 1.
-
- Beacons, 4, 12, 15.
-
- "Beck, brook, burn," 26.
-
- Beck Leven, 10, 62.
-
- BEEVER of Coniston, 8, 52, 53, 79.
-
- BELL of Coniston, 42, 68, 74, 76, 77.
-
- Bethecar, 17.
-
- BIRKETT, Rev. J., 49, 54.
-
- Black Bull, 1, 60, 72, 73, 77.
-
- Blawith, 15, 17, 62, 63.
-
- Bleaberry haws, 19.
-
- Bloomeries, 10, 11, 17, 62-65.
-
- Bloomsmithy rent, 64.
-
- Boathouses, 8, 9, 10.
-
- Bobbin mills, 17, 69.
-
- Bonfires, 4.
-
- Booth crag and tarn, 7.
-
- Bounding of pasture, 35.
-
- Bowmansteads, 38, 48, 76.
-
- BOWNASS of Coniston, 47, 50, 55, 56, 60, 65, 66, 68, 74-76.
-
- Brantwood, 10, 81-84.
-
- Brasses in church, 52, 78.
-
- British village, 15.
-
- Brow, 47, 48, 77.
-
- Brown How, 12.
-
- BUCCLEUGH, duke of, 12.
-
- Burnmoor, 20.
-
- BURNS of Coniston, 77.
-
- Bursting-stone quarry, 7.
-
- BYWATER, Dr., 80.
-
-
- Carnarvon, Cumberland, 37.
-
- Carrs, 5, 23.
-
- Catbank, 47, 48, 75, 77.
-
- Chapels at Coniston, 57.
-
- Chapel Syke, 75.
-
- CHAPMAN, Rev. C, 51, 54.
-
- Char, 13.
-
- Charcoal-burning, 18, 36, 63, 68.
-
- Church Coniston, 29, 32.
-
- Church of Coniston, 46-54.
-
- Circles, stone, 16-21.
-
- Clergy of Coniston, 54.
-
- Colwith, 27.
-
- Comet, 41.
-
- Conishead Priory land, 63, 65.
-
- Coniston Bank, 10, 17, 81, _and see_ Townend.
-
- Coniston, the name, 24.
-
- COPLEY of Brantwood, 81.
-
- Coppermines, 2, 13, 22, 58-62.
-
- COWERD of Coniston, 47, 48.
-
- COWPER, Mr. H. S., 14, 19, 20, 22, 27, 32, 33, 35, 65, 80.
-
- CREIGHTON of Coniston, 73, 77, 80.
-
- Crowberry Haws, 2, 3.
-
- Crown Hotel, 74, 75.
-
- "Currock," 16.
-
-
- DAWSON of Coniston, 76, 77.
-
- Deer-parks, 10, 33, 44, 64.
-
- Deer-traps, 20.
-
- DEMETRIUS of Tarsus, 22.
-
- DENISON of Coniston, 48.
-
- DE QUINCEY at Coniston, 73.
-
- Devil's footprints, 34-35.
-
- DIXON of Coniston, 47-49, 74-77;
- Dickson, 51.
-
- Dixon ground, 2, 48, 76, 77.
-
- DOUGLAS, Rev. J., 49, 54.
-
- DOVER of Coniston, 47, 48.
-
- Dow crags, 5, 6, 23.
-
- Dykes, ancient, 19, 20.
-
-
- EDRINGTON of Coniston, 77.
-
- ELLWOOD, Rev. T., 25, 28, 61.
-
- EVANS, Rev. F., 15.
-
-
- Far end, 5, 47, 48, 77.
-
- "Feet, fit," 27;
- Fittess, 45.
-
- Fellfoot, 27.
-
- Fir island, 11.
-
- Fir point, 9.
-
- FLEMING, Fletcher, 27.
-
- ---- Lady le, 53-55, 67, 77.
-
- ---- of Coniston, 47-49, 51, 66, 75, 76.
-
- ---- of Coniston Hall, 37-44, 50, 52.
-
- ---- Sir Daniel, 13, 27, 41, 42, 44, 59, 64.
-
- ---- Sir Daniel (in 1819), 79.
-
- ---- Thomas le, 63.
-
- Floating island, 13.
-
- FORD of Monk Coniston, 68, 80.
-
- Forge, 1, 62, 69.
-
- Furness abbey, 29, 31-36, 63, 65.
-
- Furness fells, 29, 34, 35.
-
-
- Gaits water, 6, 45;
- Goat's tarn, 71.
-
- GASKERTH of Coniston, 69;
- GASKETH, 77;
- GASGARTH, 78;
- GASKARTH, 81.
-
- Gateside, 47.
-
- GELDERD of Coniston, 75, 76;
- GELDART, 77.
-
- German miners, 58-60, 64.
-
- Ghosts, 17.
-
- Giant's grave, 15.
-
- Giants of Troutbeck, 40.
-
- GIBSON, Dr., 3, 19, 27, 34, 40, 42, 49-51, 55, 58, 60, 61, 75.
-
- Gill, 48, 69.
-
- Gillhead bridge, 1, 2.
-
- Glacial action, 1, 2, 11.
-
- Glen Mary, 26.
-
- Goldscope quarries, 66, 67.
-
- Gondola, 8.
-
- GREEN, Wm., 66, 67, 73.
-
- GRESLEY'S novel, _Coniston Hall_, 43.
-
- Gridiron, 12.
-
- Grisedale, 33.
-
- "Grounds," 34.
-
- Guards, 8, 26.
-
-
- Half-penny alehouse, 72, 74, 80.
-
- Hall, Coniston, 3, 10, 38-44, 71, 77.
-
- Hallgarth, 48.
-
- Hare crags, 19.
-
- HARRISON of Coniston, 47-49, 77, 81.
-
- "Hause," 2.
-
- Hawkshead, 26, 31-33.
-
- ---- hill, 57.
-
- Haws bank, 42, 74;
- Hows bank, 47, 48.
-
- Heald, 11, 18.
-
- Heathwaite, 76.
-
- High cross, 18.
-
- HILLIARD, Mr. L. J., 78.
-
- Hoathwaite, 10;
- Huthwait, 47;
- Outhwaite, 77.
-
- HOBSON of Coniston, 47, 48.
-
- Hodge close, 66, 77.
-
- HODGSON of Coniston, 47.
-
- Hollin bank, 77.
-
- Holly how, 80.
-
- Holme ground, 45, 77.
-
- HOLMS of Coniston, 47.
-
- Holywath, 1, 2, 47, 80.
-
- How head, 77.
-
- HUDSON of Brantwood, 81.
-
- HUERTSON of Coniston, 77.
-
- Hut-circles, 18, 19.
-
-
- Institute, 53, 55, 56;
- _and see_ Museum.
-
- ION of Coniston, 76.
-
- Iron industries, 32, 62-65;
- _and see_ Bloomeries.
-
-
- JACKSON of Tilberthwaite, 66-69, 74-77.
-
- Jenkin syke, 22.
-
- JOHNSON of Coniston, 66, 77.
-
-
- Kendal, barons of, 29, 32, 37.
-
- KENDALL, Dr., 20, 44, 55, 56.
-
- Kernel crag, 3.
-
- Kirkby quay, 9, 66.
-
- KIRKBY of Coniston, 76, 77.
-
- "Kirk Sinkings," 16.
-
- KITCHIN, Dean, 82.
-
- KNOTT of Monk Coniston, 42, 77, 80.
-
-
- Lakebank hotel, 12.
-
- Lake of Coniston, 8-13, 29, 32.
-
- Lanehead, 9, 74, 80.
-
- Lang crags, 1.
-
- Lawson park, 18, 33, 35, 64, 77.
-
- Levers hause, 5,6.
-
- Levers water, 2-6;
- Lever water, 71
-
- Limestone, 2, 7.
-
- Line or Lang gards, 44.
-
- LINTON of Brantwood, 81, 82, 84.
-
- Little Arrow, 38, 47, 48, 76, 77.
-
- Low Bank ground, 9.
-
- Low house, 48.
-
- Low water, 2, 3, 5;
- Lowwater fall, 3.
-
-
- MACKRETH of Coniston, 69.
-
- "Man, maen," 4, 23;
- High Man, 18.
-
- Manor of Coniston, 38, 44;
- of Monk Coniston, 36.
-
- MARSHALL of Monk Coniston, 5, 9, 26, 35, 68, 74, 77, 78, 80.
-
- Meerstone, inscribed, 18.
-
- MASACKS, MASSICKS of Coniston, 66, 74.
-
- MASSEY, Gerald, 82.
-
- Mills, 69, 72.
-
- Mines, _see_ Copper.
-
- Model of Coniston, 7.
-
- Monk Coniston, 29, 31-36.
-
- ---- ---- hall, 35, 80.
-
- ---- ---- moor, 18.
-
- ---- ---- tarns, 4, 26.
-
- Montague island, 12, 36.
-
- Moors and their antiquities, 14-20.
-
- Museum, 7, 12, 53, 55, 56, 67, 78.
-
-
- Nibthwaite, 12, 13, 17, 62;
- Neburthwaite, 33.
-
- Nook, 48.
-
- Norman settlement, 28-30, 37.
-
- Norse settlement, 26-28, 30, 37.
-
- NORTH of Coniston Bank, 81.
-
-
- OLDFIELD, Lieut., 74.
-
- Old Man, 1-7, 23.
-
- Otters, 13.
-
- Outlaws, 33, 34, 38.
-
- Outrake, 48.
-
- Oxenfell, 27, 77.
-
- Oxness, 11.
-
-
- Parkamoor, 17, 33, 35, 62, 64.
-
- PARK, PARKE of Coniston, 48, 76, 77.
-
- Park Yeat, 47, 48.
-
- "Parrocks, parks," 33, 63, 64.
-
- Partition of Furness, 29.
-
- Peel island, 11, 12, 62, 65, 68.
-
- Pennyrigg quarries, 5, 66.
-
- Pilgrim's badge, 35.
-
- Population, 69, 70.
-
- Prehistoric antiquities, 15-21.
-
- Priest stile, 46.
-
- Priory, none at Coniston, 72.
-
- Pudding-stone, 3.
-
-
- Quarries, _see_ Slate.
-
-
- RADCLIFFE, Mrs., at Coniston, 71.
-
- Railway, 61.
-
- Raven crag (Yewdale), 5.
-
- Raven tor (Old Man), 3.
-
- Rear or Ray crag, 45.
-
- RIGBYE, Miss, 80.
-
- Ring mounds, 16-19.
-
- ROBINSON of Coniston, 47, 69, 72, 74, 76.
-
- Roman Catholics, 40, 57.
-
- Roman roads, 22.
-
- ROULE, Sir R., 46.
-
- Ruskin cross, 53.
-
- RUSKIN, John, 4, 7, 10, 56, 57, 74, 83-85.
-
-
- Saddlestones quarry, 3, 66.
-
- SANDERS of Coniston, 77.
-
- Satterthwaite, 33.
-
- SAWREY of Coniston, 77.
-
- Schools, 46, 54, 55.
-
- Scrow, 2, 7.
-
- Selside, 12, 17, 62.
-
- SEVERN of Brantwood, 11, 55, 56, 81.
-
- Ship inn, 74.
-
- SIDNEY, Sir Philip, 40.
-
- Silverbank, 1, 47, 48.
-
- Simon Nick, 60.
-
- Slate quarries, 2, 4, 5, 7, 65-68.
-
- SLY of Coniston, 74.
-
- Smartfield, 48.
-
- SMITH, Elizabeth, 78.
-
- Smithies, 64.
-
- SMITH of Coniston Bank, 81.
-
- SPEDDING of Coniston, 66, 75, 77.
-
- Spoon hall, 76, 77.
-
- Springs bloomery, 10, 62, 65.
-
- Stable Harvey, 62, 65.
-
- Statesmen, 74-77.
-
- Stone rings, Burney, 16.
-
- SUERT of Coniston, 77.
-
- Sun hotel, 2, 74.
-
- Sunnybank, 11, 57.
-
- Swinside circle, 16, 21.
-
-
- Tanneries, 68.
-
- Tarn hows, Tarnhouse, 77.
-
- Tarns, _see_ Monk Coniston, Gaitswater, Levers, Lowwater.
-
- TENNYSON at Coniston, 78.
-
- Tent cottage, 9, 35, 78.
-
- Tent lodge, 9, 78.
-
- Thingmounts, 27-29.
-
- THOMPSON of Coniston, 66, 80.
-
- Thurston water, 8, 13, 29, 32, 44, 72.
-
- "Thwaite," 26.
-
- Thwaite cottage, 80.
-
- Thwaite house, 8, 79.
-
- Tilberthwaite, 47, 48, 67, 77.
-
- ---- gill, 5; Micklegill, 45.
-
- TODD, Mr. E., 56.
-
- Tom or Tarn gill, 26, 62.
-
- TOWERS of Coniston, 47, 48, 77.
-
- Townend, 71, 72, 77, 81; _and see_ Coniston bank.
-
- TOWNSON of Coniston, 49, 69, 78.
-
- TUBMAN of Coniston, 76.
-
- TURNER the painter at Coniston, 72.
-
- TYSON of Coniston, 47, 48, 64, 66, 74, 77.
-
-
- VICKERS of Coniston, 47, 66.
-
- Volcanic rock, 2, 7.
-
-
- WALKER of Coniston, 48, 66, 67, 77.
-
- Walna scar, 20, 21.
-
- WARSOP, Mr., 61, 62.
-
- Waterhead, 35, 77, 80.
-
- ---- hotel, 8, 9.
-
- ---- old inn, 9, 74.
-
- Waterpark (Coniston), 62, 64.
-
- ---- (Nibthwaite), 12, 33, 64; Watsyde park, 35.
-
- Weatherlam, 2, 5, 26.
-
- Welsh survivals, 23.
-
- WEST, Father, 38, 39, 66, 71.
-
- "Whittlegate," 46.
-
- WILL O' T' TARNS, 40.
-
- WILSON of Coniston, 66, 77.
-
- WONDERFUL WALKER, 20, 72.
-
- Wonwaldremere, 24.
-
- Wood industries, 68, 69.
-
- Woods, 36, 64.
-
- WOODVILLE, Mr. T., 79, 81.
-
- Woollen, burials in, 51.
-
- WORDSWORTH at Coniston, 72, 80.
-
-
- Yewdale, 5, 62, 77;
- Udale, 48.
-
- ---- beck, 26, 44.
-
- ---- crag, 5, 10.
-
- ---- grove, 79.
-
- Yewtree, 27;
- Utree, 77.
-
- YOUDALE of Coniston, 66.
-
-
-
-
- ADVERTISEMENTS.
-
-
- Telegraphic Address:--
-
- "SUN HOTEL, CONISTON, LANCS."
-
- Postal Address:--
-
- "SUN HOTEL, CONISTON, R.S.O., LANCS."
-
-
- _Sun_
-
- _Hotel_
-
- ENGLISH
-
- LAKE
-
- DISTRICT.
-
-
- CONISTON.
-
- Boarding Terms from 6/6 inclusive.
-
- Hot and Cold Baths.
-
- Separate Drawing Room for Ladies.
-
- Public and Private Sitting Rooms.
-
- Large or small Parties catered for.
-
- PROPRIETOR - T. SATTERTHWAITE.
-
-
-
- TYSON'S
-
- Waterhead Hotel,
-
- CONISTON LAKE, LANCASHIRE.
-
- Headquarters "Automobile Club" of Great Britain & Ireland.
-
- THIS FIRST-CLASS ESTABLISHMENT is the most delightfully situated
- of any Hotel in the Lake District. It is surrounded with beautiful
- pleasure grounds and select walks, from which excellent views
- of Brantwood, the home of the late Professor Ruskin, and Tent
- Lodge, for some time the residence of the late Lord Tennyson, are
- obtained; and embraces most interesting Lake and Mountain Views.
-
- Coniston Churchyard, the burial place of the late John Ruskin, and
- the Ruskin Museum, are within a few minutes walk of the Hotel.
-
-
- =Billiards. Lawn Tennis. Private Boats.=
-
- Fishing.
-
- A Steam Gondola runs daily on the Lake during the Season.
-
- _Char a Banc. Open and Close Carriages and Post Horses._
-
- =Coaches Daily to AMBLESIDE, GRASMERE, WINDERMERE and LANGDALES.=
-
- AN OMNIBUS MEETS ALL TRAINS ARRIVING.
-
- =J. TYSON, Proprietor.=
-
-
-
-
- JOHN BAXTER,
- Painter and Decorator,
-
- Dealer in Paperhangings,
- Glass, Oils, Colours, &c.
-
- LAKE VIEW, CONISTON, R.S.O.
-
- All Papers edged by Machine Free of Charge
-
- ESTIMATES FREE.
-
-
-
-
- WRITE FOR TITUS WILSON'S
- LIST OF LOCAL PUBLICATIONS
-
- Post Free to any Address.
-
- 28, Highgate, Kendal.
-
-
-
-
- _'Fairfield' Temperance Hotel_,
-
- CAFE AND RESTAURANT,
-
-
- _Opposite the Church._
-
- Also a FANCY REPOSITORY with a fine selection of Pictorial Post
- Cards, Crest and View China. _Dark Room._
-
-
-
-
- JONATHAN BELL,
-
- Joiner, Builder,
- English timber
- and Slate Merchant.
-
- Complete Undertaker.
-
- Plans made & Estimates given
-
- for
-
- every description of Building.
-
-
- HAWS BANK, CONISTON, R.S.O.
-
- LANCASHIRE.
-
-
-
- _Titus Wilson, Printer, Kendal._
-
- Transcriber's Notes
-
- Very few changes have been made to the published text.
-
- Obvious inconsistencies of punctuation have been resolved.
-
- Inconsistencies of hyphenation have been retained except those
- between text and index which have been resolved. Words in italics
- are represented thus; _italic_ while words in bold are represented
- thus; =bold=. Many abbreviations are shown with the (usually)
- final character superscripted. These are represented by ^.
-
-
-
-
-
-
-End of the Project Gutenberg EBook of The Book of Coniston, by
-William Gershom Collingwood
-
-*** END OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK THE BOOK OF CONISTON ***
-
-***** This file should be named 43968.txt or 43968.zip *****
-This and all associated files of various formats will be found in:
- http://www.gutenberg.org/4/3/9/6/43968/
-
-Produced by Les Galloway, sp1nd and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at http://www.pgdp.net (This file was
-produced from images generously made available by The
-Internet Archive)
-
-
-Updated editions will replace the previous one--the old editions
-will be renamed.
-
-Creating the works from public domain print editions means that no
-one owns a United States copyright in these works, so the Foundation
-(and you!) can copy and distribute it in the United States without
-permission and without paying copyright royalties. Special rules,
-set forth in the General Terms of Use part of this license, apply to
-copying and distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works to
-protect the PROJECT GUTENBERG-tm concept and trademark. Project
-Gutenberg is a registered trademark, and may not be used if you
-charge for the eBooks, unless you receive specific permission. If you
-do not charge anything for copies of this eBook, complying with the
-rules is very easy. You may use this eBook for nearly any purpose
-such as creation of derivative works, reports, performances and
-research. They may be modified and printed and given away--you may do
-practically ANYTHING with public domain eBooks. Redistribution is
-subject to the trademark license, especially commercial
-redistribution.
-
-
-
-*** START: FULL LICENSE ***
-
-THE FULL PROJECT GUTENBERG LICENSE
-PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU DISTRIBUTE OR USE THIS WORK
-
-To protect the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting the free
-distribution of electronic works, by using or distributing this work
-(or any other work associated in any way with the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg"), you agree to comply with all the terms of the Full Project
-Gutenberg-tm License (available with this file or online at
-http://gutenberg.org/license).
-
-
-Section 1. General Terms of Use and Redistributing Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic works
-
-1.A. By reading or using any part of this Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work, you indicate that you have read, understand, agree to
-and accept all the terms of this license and intellectual property
-(trademark/copyright) agreement. If you do not agree to abide by all
-the terms of this agreement, you must cease using and return or destroy
-all copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in your possession.
-If you paid a fee for obtaining a copy of or access to a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work and you do not agree to be bound by the
-terms of this agreement, you may obtain a refund from the person or
-entity to whom you paid the fee as set forth in paragraph 1.E.8.
-
-1.B. "Project Gutenberg" is a registered trademark. It may only be
-used on or associated in any way with an electronic work by people who
-agree to be bound by the terms of this agreement. There are a few
-things that you can do with most Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works
-even without complying with the full terms of this agreement. See
-paragraph 1.C below. There are a lot of things you can do with Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works if you follow the terms of this agreement
-and help preserve free future access to Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works. See paragraph 1.E below.
-
-1.C. The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation ("the Foundation"
-or PGLAF), owns a compilation copyright in the collection of Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works. Nearly all the individual works in the
-collection are in the public domain in the United States. If an
-individual work is in the public domain in the United States and you are
-located in the United States, we do not claim a right to prevent you from
-copying, distributing, performing, displaying or creating derivative
-works based on the work as long as all references to Project Gutenberg
-are removed. Of course, we hope that you will support the Project
-Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting free access to electronic works by
-freely sharing Project Gutenberg-tm works in compliance with the terms of
-this agreement for keeping the Project Gutenberg-tm name associated with
-the work. You can easily comply with the terms of this agreement by
-keeping this work in the same format with its attached full Project
-Gutenberg-tm License when you share it without charge with others.
-
-1.D. The copyright laws of the place where you are located also govern
-what you can do with this work. Copyright laws in most countries are in
-a constant state of change. If you are outside the United States, check
-the laws of your country in addition to the terms of this agreement
-before downloading, copying, displaying, performing, distributing or
-creating derivative works based on this work or any other Project
-Gutenberg-tm work. The Foundation makes no representations concerning
-the copyright status of any work in any country outside the United
-States.
-
-1.E. Unless you have removed all references to Project Gutenberg:
-
-1.E.1. The following sentence, with active links to, or other immediate
-access to, the full Project Gutenberg-tm License must appear prominently
-whenever any copy of a Project Gutenberg-tm work (any work on which the
-phrase "Project Gutenberg" appears, or with which the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg" is associated) is accessed, displayed, performed, viewed,
-copied or distributed:
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
-almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
-re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
-with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org/license
-
-1.E.2. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is derived
-from the public domain (does not contain a notice indicating that it is
-posted with permission of the copyright holder), the work can be copied
-and distributed to anyone in the United States without paying any fees
-or charges. If you are redistributing or providing access to a work
-with the phrase "Project Gutenberg" associated with or appearing on the
-work, you must comply either with the requirements of paragraphs 1.E.1
-through 1.E.7 or obtain permission for the use of the work and the
-Project Gutenberg-tm trademark as set forth in paragraphs 1.E.8 or
-1.E.9.
-
-1.E.3. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is posted
-with the permission of the copyright holder, your use and distribution
-must comply with both paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 and any additional
-terms imposed by the copyright holder. Additional terms will be linked
-to the Project Gutenberg-tm License for all works posted with the
-permission of the copyright holder found at the beginning of this work.
-
-1.E.4. Do not unlink or detach or remove the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License terms from this work, or any files containing a part of this
-work or any other work associated with Project Gutenberg-tm.
-
-1.E.5. Do not copy, display, perform, distribute or redistribute this
-electronic work, or any part of this electronic work, without
-prominently displaying the sentence set forth in paragraph 1.E.1 with
-active links or immediate access to the full terms of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm License.
-
-1.E.6. You may convert to and distribute this work in any binary,
-compressed, marked up, nonproprietary or proprietary form, including any
-word processing or hypertext form. However, if you provide access to or
-distribute copies of a Project Gutenberg-tm work in a format other than
-"Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other format used in the official version
-posted on the official Project Gutenberg-tm web site (www.gutenberg.org),
-you must, at no additional cost, fee or expense to the user, provide a
-copy, a means of exporting a copy, or a means of obtaining a copy upon
-request, of the work in its original "Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other
-form. Any alternate format must include the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License as specified in paragraph 1.E.1.
-
-1.E.7. Do not charge a fee for access to, viewing, displaying,
-performing, copying or distributing any Project Gutenberg-tm works
-unless you comply with paragraph 1.E.8 or 1.E.9.
-
-1.E.8. You may charge a reasonable fee for copies of or providing
-access to or distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works provided
-that
-
-- You pay a royalty fee of 20% of the gross profits you derive from
- the use of Project Gutenberg-tm works calculated using the method
- you already use to calculate your applicable taxes. The fee is
- owed to the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark, but he
- has agreed to donate royalties under this paragraph to the
- Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation. Royalty payments
- must be paid within 60 days following each date on which you
- prepare (or are legally required to prepare) your periodic tax
- returns. Royalty payments should be clearly marked as such and
- sent to the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation at the
- address specified in Section 4, "Information about donations to
- the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation."
-
-- You provide a full refund of any money paid by a user who notifies
- you in writing (or by e-mail) within 30 days of receipt that s/he
- does not agree to the terms of the full Project Gutenberg-tm
- License. You must require such a user to return or
- destroy all copies of the works possessed in a physical medium
- and discontinue all use of and all access to other copies of
- Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-- You provide, in accordance with paragraph 1.F.3, a full refund of any
- money paid for a work or a replacement copy, if a defect in the
- electronic work is discovered and reported to you within 90 days
- of receipt of the work.
-
-- You comply with all other terms of this agreement for free
- distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-1.E.9. If you wish to charge a fee or distribute a Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work or group of works on different terms than are set
-forth in this agreement, you must obtain permission in writing from
-both the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation and Michael
-Hart, the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark. Contact the
-Foundation as set forth in Section 3 below.
-
-1.F.
-
-1.F.1. Project Gutenberg volunteers and employees expend considerable
-effort to identify, do copyright research on, transcribe and proofread
-public domain works in creating the Project Gutenberg-tm
-collection. Despite these efforts, Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works, and the medium on which they may be stored, may contain
-"Defects," such as, but not limited to, incomplete, inaccurate or
-corrupt data, transcription errors, a copyright or other intellectual
-property infringement, a defective or damaged disk or other medium, a
-computer virus, or computer codes that damage or cannot be read by
-your equipment.
-
-1.F.2. LIMITED WARRANTY, DISCLAIMER OF DAMAGES - Except for the "Right
-of Replacement or Refund" described in paragraph 1.F.3, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation, the owner of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm trademark, and any other party distributing a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work under this agreement, disclaim all
-liability to you for damages, costs and expenses, including legal
-fees. YOU AGREE THAT YOU HAVE NO REMEDIES FOR NEGLIGENCE, STRICT
-LIABILITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR BREACH OF CONTRACT EXCEPT THOSE
-PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH 1.F.3. YOU AGREE THAT THE FOUNDATION, THE
-TRADEMARK OWNER, AND ANY DISTRIBUTOR UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL NOT BE
-LIABLE TO YOU FOR ACTUAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, PUNITIVE OR
-INCIDENTAL DAMAGES EVEN IF YOU GIVE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH
-DAMAGE.
-
-1.F.3. LIMITED RIGHT OF REPLACEMENT OR REFUND - If you discover a
-defect in this electronic work within 90 days of receiving it, you can
-receive a refund of the money (if any) you paid for it by sending a
-written explanation to the person you received the work from. If you
-received the work on a physical medium, you must return the medium with
-your written explanation. The person or entity that provided you with
-the defective work may elect to provide a replacement copy in lieu of a
-refund. If you received the work electronically, the person or entity
-providing it to you may choose to give you a second opportunity to
-receive the work electronically in lieu of a refund. If the second copy
-is also defective, you may demand a refund in writing without further
-opportunities to fix the problem.
-
-1.F.4. Except for the limited right of replacement or refund set forth
-in paragraph 1.F.3, this work is provided to you 'AS-IS' WITH NO OTHER
-WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO
-WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE.
-
-1.F.5. Some states do not allow disclaimers of certain implied
-warranties or the exclusion or limitation of certain types of damages.
-If any disclaimer or limitation set forth in this agreement violates the
-law of the state applicable to this agreement, the agreement shall be
-interpreted to make the maximum disclaimer or limitation permitted by
-the applicable state law. The invalidity or unenforceability of any
-provision of this agreement shall not void the remaining provisions.
-
-1.F.6. INDEMNITY - You agree to indemnify and hold the Foundation, the
-trademark owner, any agent or employee of the Foundation, anyone
-providing copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in accordance
-with this agreement, and any volunteers associated with the production,
-promotion and distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works,
-harmless from all liability, costs and expenses, including legal fees,
-that arise directly or indirectly from any of the following which you do
-or cause to occur: (a) distribution of this or any Project Gutenberg-tm
-work, (b) alteration, modification, or additions or deletions to any
-Project Gutenberg-tm work, and (c) any Defect you cause.
-
-
-Section 2. Information about the Mission of Project Gutenberg-tm
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm is synonymous with the free distribution of
-electronic works in formats readable by the widest variety of computers
-including obsolete, old, middle-aged and new computers. It exists
-because of the efforts of hundreds of volunteers and donations from
-people in all walks of life.
-
-Volunteers and financial support to provide volunteers with the
-assistance they need, are critical to reaching Project Gutenberg-tm's
-goals and ensuring that the Project Gutenberg-tm collection will
-remain freely available for generations to come. In 2001, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation was created to provide a secure
-and permanent future for Project Gutenberg-tm and future generations.
-To learn more about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation
-and how your efforts and donations can help, see Sections 3 and 4
-and the Foundation web page at http://www.pglaf.org.
-
-
-Section 3. Information about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive
-Foundation
-
-The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation is a non profit
-501(c)(3) educational corporation organized under the laws of the
-state of Mississippi and granted tax exempt status by the Internal
-Revenue Service. The Foundation's EIN or federal tax identification
-number is 64-6221541. Its 501(c)(3) letter is posted at
-http://pglaf.org/fundraising. Contributions to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation are tax deductible to the full extent
-permitted by U.S. federal laws and your state's laws.
-
-The Foundation's principal office is located at 4557 Melan Dr. S.
-Fairbanks, AK, 99712., but its volunteers and employees are scattered
-throughout numerous locations. Its business office is located at
-809 North 1500 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, (801) 596-1887, email
-business@pglaf.org. Email contact links and up to date contact
-information can be found at the Foundation's web site and official
-page at http://pglaf.org
-
-For additional contact information:
- Dr. Gregory B. Newby
- Chief Executive and Director
- gbnewby@pglaf.org
-
-
-Section 4. Information about Donations to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm depends upon and cannot survive without wide
-spread public support and donations to carry out its mission of
-increasing the number of public domain and licensed works that can be
-freely distributed in machine readable form accessible by the widest
-array of equipment including outdated equipment. Many small donations
-($1 to $5,000) are particularly important to maintaining tax exempt
-status with the IRS.
-
-The Foundation is committed to complying with the laws regulating
-charities and charitable donations in all 50 states of the United
-States. Compliance requirements are not uniform and it takes a
-considerable effort, much paperwork and many fees to meet and keep up
-with these requirements. We do not solicit donations in locations
-where we have not received written confirmation of compliance. To
-SEND DONATIONS or determine the status of compliance for any
-particular state visit http://pglaf.org
-
-While we cannot and do not solicit contributions from states where we
-have not met the solicitation requirements, we know of no prohibition
-against accepting unsolicited donations from donors in such states who
-approach us with offers to donate.
-
-International donations are gratefully accepted, but we cannot make
-any statements concerning tax treatment of donations received from
-outside the United States. U.S. laws alone swamp our small staff.
-
-Please check the Project Gutenberg Web pages for current donation
-methods and addresses. Donations are accepted in a number of other
-ways including checks, online payments and credit card donations.
-To donate, please visit: http://pglaf.org/donate
-
-
-Section 5. General Information About Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works.
-
-Professor Michael S. Hart is the originator of the Project Gutenberg-tm
-concept of a library of electronic works that could be freely shared
-with anyone. For thirty years, he produced and distributed Project
-Gutenberg-tm eBooks with only a loose network of volunteer support.
-
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks are often created from several printed
-editions, all of which are confirmed as Public Domain in the U.S.
-unless a copyright notice is included. Thus, we do not necessarily
-keep eBooks in compliance with any particular paper edition.
-
-
-Most people start at our Web site which has the main PG search facility:
-
- http://www.gutenberg.org
-
-This Web site includes information about Project Gutenberg-tm,
-including how to make donations to the Project Gutenberg Literary
-Archive Foundation, how to help produce our new eBooks, and how to
-subscribe to our email newsletter to hear about new eBooks.