summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/42842-8.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
Diffstat (limited to '42842-8.txt')
-rw-r--r--42842-8.txt7878
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 7878 deletions
diff --git a/42842-8.txt b/42842-8.txt
deleted file mode 100644
index 59a9f1d..0000000
--- a/42842-8.txt
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,7878 +0,0 @@
-The Project Gutenberg EBook of America, Volume 5 (of 6), by Joel Cook
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
-almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
-re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
-with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org
-
-
-Title: America, Volume 5 (of 6)
-
-Author: Joel Cook
-
-Release Date: May 29, 2013 [EBook #42842]
-
-Language: English
-
-Character set encoding: ISO-8859-1
-
-*** START OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK AMERICA, VOLUME 5 (OF 6) ***
-
-
-
-
-Produced by Melissa McDaniel and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at http://www.pgdp.net (This file was
-produced from images generously made available by The
-Internet Archive)
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-Transcriber's Note:
-
- Inconsistent hyphenation and spelling in the original document have
- been preserved. Obvious typographical errors have been corrected.
-
- Italic text is denoted by _underscores_.
-
- The Title Page and Table of Contents for this book refer to it as
- Volume V. The half-title, and page and chapter numbering is
- consistent with this being the first half of Volume III.
-
-
-
-
-THE OLD BAY STATE.
-
-VOL. III.
-
-
-
-
- [Illustration: _The Temperance Outfit_]
-
-
-
-
- _EDITION ARTISTIQUE_
-
- The World's Famous
- Places and Peoples
-
- AMERICA
-
- BY
- JOEL COOK
-
- In Six Volumes
- Volume V.
-
- MERRILL AND BAKER
- New York London
-
-
-
-
-THIS EDITION ARTISTIQUE OF THE WORLD'S FAMOUS PLACES AND PEOPLES IS
-LIMITED TO ONE THOUSAND NUMBERED AND REGISTERED COPIES, OF WHICH THIS
-COPY IS NO. 205
-
-Copyright, Henry T. Coates & Co., 1900
-
-
-
-
-LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS
-
-VOLUME V
-
-
- PAGE
-
- FANEUIL HALL, BOSTON 44
-
- ALONG THE SHORE AT CAPE ANNE, GLOUCESTER,
- MASS. 86
-
- STATE CAPITOL, HARTFORD, CONN. 162
-
- LOG BRIDGE OVER THE WILD CAT, NEAR
- JACKSON, N. H. 212
-
- HOUSE OF "THE PEARL OF ORR'S ISLAND,"
- CASCO BAY, ME. 244
-
- ALONG THE COAST OF BAR HARBOR, ME. 270
-
-
-
-
-AMERICA, PICTURESQUE AND DESCRIPTIVE.
-
-
-
-
-XV.
-
-THE OLD BAY STATE.
-
- Early Explorations -- John Cabot -- Bartholomew Gosnold --
- The Old Colony -- The Mayflower -- Plymouth -- Plymouth
- Rock -- Duxbury --Samoset -- Governor Bradford -- Miles
- Standish -- Cape Cod -- Chatham -- Barnstable -- Truro --
- Highland Light -- Provincetown -- The Puritan Compact --
- Quincy -- Marshfield -- Daniel Webster -- Minot's Ledge --
- Nantasket -- Hingham -- Squantum -- Boston -- Shawmut
- --Boston Harbor and Islands -- Boston Common -- Beacon Hill
- and the State House -- The Codfish -- Boston Attractions --
- Old South Church -- Old State House -- Faneuil Hall -- Old
- Christ Church -- Boston Fire -- Boston Development -- The
- New West End -- Parks and Suburbs --Brook Farm -- Newton --
- Nonatum Hill -- Natick -- Cochituate Lake --Wellesley --
- Sudbury -- The Wayside Inn -- Charlestown -- Old Ironsides
- -- Jackson's Head -- Bunker Hill -- Cambridge -- Harvard
- University -- Henry W. Longfellow -- James Russell Lowell
- -- Oliver Wendell Holmes -- Margaret Fuller -- Waltham --
- Lexington -- Concord in Middlesex and its Bridge -- Ralph
- Waldo Emerson -- Nathaniel Hawthorne -- Henry D. Thoreau --
- The Alcotts -- Massachusetts North Shore -- Lynn -- Nahant
- -- Swampscott -- Marblehead -- Salem and the Witches --
- Beverley -- Wenham Lake -- Ipswich -- Andover -- Merrimack
- River -- Salisbury -- Concord in New Hampshire --
- Manchester -- Nashua -- Lowell -- Lawrence -- Haverhill --
- Newburyport -- Bridal of Pennacook -- Cape Ann --
- Gloucester -- The Fisheries -- Norman's Woe -- Wreck of
- the Hesperus -- Land's End -- Thatcher's Island --Rockport
- -- Lanesville -- Granite -- The Fishermen.
-
-
-EARLY EXPLORATIONS.
-
-John Cabot was the first explorer of the coasts of New England under
-British auspices. After Columbus had discovered America, fabulous
-tales were told of its outlying islands. The primitive maps
-represented the Atlantic Ocean as full of islands, some being very
-large, especially the Island of Brazil, and the fabled Island of the
-Seven Cities. The latter was said by sailors to be inhabited by
-Christians who years before had fled from seven cities of Asia, under
-their seven bishops, taking refuge there. Bristol was then the leading
-English seaport, and five years after the discovery by Columbus, John
-Cabot started from it on a western voyage of exploration in search of
-these famous islands. King Henry VII. encouraged the enterprise, and
-in May, 1497, Cabot sailed in the little ship "Matthew," with a crew
-of eighteen, and going westward he discovered one of these islands,
-which he called the New Found Land. It was Cape Breton Island, but
-being apparently unproductive and without inhabitants, although some
-signs of people were seen, he soon returned to England. The greatest
-excitement followed his arrival home, and the report got abroad that
-he had discovered the Island of the Seven Cities and the coast of
-Asia. Cabot became all the rage in England, and a writer of that time
-records that Englishmen called him "the Great Admiral," followed him
-about "like madmen," that he was "dressed in silks," and "treated like
-a prince." Cabot, feeling his importance, wanted his friends to share
-his good fortune, so he appointed some of them governors, and others
-bishops over the new world he had discovered, while King Henry was so
-delighted at the success of the voyage that he sent Cabot a letter of
-thanks and the munificent present of £10. King Henry VII. was always
-regarded as being "a little near."
-
-In 1498, another and larger expedition was fitted out, Cabot planning
-to sail westward until he reached the land he had discovered in the
-previous year, and then he thought by turning south he would come to
-the Island of Cipango (Japan), where he would fill his ships with
-spices and jewels, a half-dozen small vessels making up the fleet.
-They took a more northerly course than before, got among icebergs, and
-where the summer days were so long there was very little night. They
-reached Labrador, where the sailors were frightened at the amount of
-ice, and turning south, Cabot sailed along the American coast nearly
-to Florida, once trying to plant a colony, but being discouraged by
-the barren soil, abandoning it. Yet sterile as the land might be, the
-waters were filled with fish, so that Cabot called the country the
-"Land of the Codfish," there was such an abundance of them. The
-explorers recorded that the bears were harmless, they could so easily
-get food, describing how they would swim out into the sea and catch
-the fish. Then Cabot disappeared from view. Whether he died on the
-homeward voyage or after he returned is unknown, as everything about
-his subsequent career has faded from history. But his two voyages were
-the foundation of the British claim to the Atlantic coast from
-Labrador to Florida, and the basis of all the English grants for the
-subsequently formed American colonies.
-
-Bartholomew Gosnold planted the first English colony in the Old Bay
-State. Upon Friday, May 14, 1602, after elaborate preparations, he
-sailed from Falmouth, England, in the ship "Concord," his party
-numbering thirty-two, of whom about a dozen expected to remain in the
-new country as settlers. Crossing the ocean and coming into view of
-the American coast, he steered south, soon finding his progress barred
-by a bold headland, which encircled him about. He had got into the
-bight of Cape Cod Bay, and thus discovered that great bended, sandy
-peninsula, to which he gave the name from the abundance of codfish he
-found disporting in the waters. Many whales were also seen, and vast
-numbers of fish of all kinds. He tried to get out of the bay, and
-coasting around the long and curiously hooked cape, emerged into the
-Atlantic, and then coming down the outer side got into Vineyard Sound,
-where he planted his colony on Cuttyhunk Island, but soon abandoned
-it. Gosnold returned to England, and in 1607 sailed with Newport's
-expedition, carrying Captain John Smith to Virginia.
-
-
-THE OLD COLONY.
-
-The first English settlement permanently planted in New England was
-the famous "Old Colony" at Plymouth. The Puritan Separatists, from the
-Church of England, sought refuge from English persecution in Holland,
-living in Leyden under their pastor, John Robinson, for eleven years,
-when they decided to migrate to America. They arranged with the
-Virginia Company to send them across the ocean, and about the middle
-of the summer of 1620 the little band of Pilgrims sailed from
-Delft-haven, the port of Leyden, on the "Speedwell," in charge of
-Elder Brewster. The "Mayflower" joined at Southampton with other
-Puritans from England, but the "Speedwell" sprung a leak and they put
-into Plymouth roads. Then they decided to go on in the "Mayflower"
-alone, and the party left Plymouth early in September. They were
-seeking Virginia, but found the land, after a voyage of over two
-months, at Cape Cod, anchoring inside the Cape. Then they thanked God,
-"who had brought them over the vast and furious ocean, and delivered
-them from all the perils and miseries thereof, again to set their feet
-on the firm and stable earth." While the ship lay there, the famous
-"Mayflower Compact" was drawn up, pledging the signers to obey the
-government that it established, and John Carver was chosen the first
-Governor, forty-one men signing the compact. After nearly a month
-spent in exploration, their shallop going all about the coasts,
-Plymouth was selected, and the pioneers landed December 21, 1620, the
-day being now annually celebrated as "Forefathers' Day."
-
-Plymouth has a little land-locked harbor behind a long and narrow sand
-beach, projected northward from the ridge of Manomet below, this beach
-acting as a protective breakwater to the wharves. The harbor is so
-shallow, however, that there is little trade by sea. The town spreads
-upon the bluff shores, and on a plateau to the hills in the rear.
-There is now a population of about nine thousand, engaged mainly in
-manufacturing cordage and textiles, and having a considerable fishery
-fleet. While the town is of modern build, yet it is devoted to the
-memory which gives it deathless fame, every relic of the Pilgrims
-being restored and perpetuated. There is little to be seen that comes
-from the olden time, however, outside of the hills and harbor and
-original streets, excepting the carefully cherished relics of the
-"Mayflower's" passengers, that have been gathered together. The choice
-of Plymouth as the landing-place seems to have been mainly from
-necessity, when protracted explorations failed to find a better place,
-and the coming of winter compelled a landing somewhere. The actual
-location was hardly well considered, the Pilgrims themselves being
-far from satisfied. After the "Mayflower" anchored inside of Cape Cod,
-several weeks were passed in explorations, and finally, upon a Sunday
-in December, 1620, a landing was made upon Clark's Island, where
-religious services were held, the first in New England. Upon the most
-elevated part of this island stands a huge boulder, about twelve feet
-high, called from some local circumstance the "Election Rock." Its
-face bears the words taken from _Mourt's Relation_, which chronicled
-the voyage of the "Mayflower":
-
- "Upon the Sabbath-Day wee rested, 20 December, 1620."
-
-Eighteen of the Pilgrims thus "rested," after their shallop, in making
-the shore, had been almost shipwrecked. The next day they sailed
-across the bay to the mainland, their first landing being then made at
-Plymouth, and upon the second day, December 22d, the entire company
-came ashore and the settlement began.
-
-Within the Pilgrim Hall, a fireproof building upon the chief street,
-are kept the precious relics of the "Mayflower" and the Pilgrims, with
-paintings of the embarkation from Delft-haven and landing at Plymouth,
-and old portraits of the leaders of the colony. Among the interesting
-documents are autograph writings, establishing a chain of
-acquaintanceship connecting the original Pilgrims with the present
-time. Peregrine White was the first child of the new colony, the
-infant being born on the "Mayflower" after she came into Cape Cod Bay,
-in November, 1620, and he was only a month old when they landed. The
-baby, surviving all their hardships, lived to a ripe old age, and
-"Grandfather Cobb," born in 1694, knew him well. Cobb, in his day,
-lived to be the oldest man in New England, his life covering space in
-three centuries, for he exceeded one hundred and seven years, dying in
-1801. William R. Sever, born in 1790, knew Cobb and recollected him
-well, and living until he was ninety-seven years old, died in 1887.
-These three lives connected the Pilgrim landing almost with the
-present day. The old cradle that rocked Peregrine White on the
-"Mayflower," and after they landed, is preserved--an upright,
-stiff-backed, wicker-work basket, upon rude wooden rockers. One of the
-chief paintings represents the signing of the memorable "Mayflower
-Compact." There are also in the hall some of the old straight-backed
-chairs of the Pilgrims, with their pots and platters, and among other
-relics Miles Standish's sword. In the court-house are the original
-records of the colony, the first allotment of lands among the
-settlers, their deeds, agreements and wills, and the patent given the
-colony by Earl Warwick in 1629. There are also shown in quaint
-handwriting, with the ink partly faded out, records of how they
-divided their cattle, when it was decided to change from the original
-plan of holding them in common. Signatures of the Pilgrims are
-attached to many of these documents. Governor Carver died the first
-year, William Bradford succeeding, and there is preserved in Governor
-Bradford's writing the famous order establishing trial by jury in the
-colony.
-
-
-THE PLYMOUTH ROCK.
-
- "The breaking waves dashed high
- On a stern and rock-bound coast."
-
-Thus begins Mrs. Hemans' beautiful hymn on the landing of the
-Pilgrims. Unfortunately for the poetry, however, sand is everywhere
-about, and scarcely a rock or boulder can be seen for miles, excepting
-the very little one on which they landed. Down near the water-side is
-this sacred stone, worshipped by all the Pilgrim descendants, the
-retrocession of the sea having left it some distance back. It is a
-gray syenite boulder, oval-shaped, and about six feet long. It was
-some time ago unfortunately split, and the parts have been cemented
-together. At the time of the landing this boulder lay on the sandy
-beach, partly embedded, being almost solitary on these sands, for
-unlike the verge of Manomet to the southward, and the coast north of
-Boston, this sandy shore is almost without rocks of any kind. Dropped
-here in the glacial period, and lying partly in the water, the rock
-made a boat-landing naturally attractive to the water-weary Pilgrims
-when they coasted along in their shallop from Clark's Island, so they
-stepped out upon it to get ashore dry-shod. The rock is in its
-original location, but has been elevated several feet to a higher
-level, is surmounted by an imposing granite canopy, and is railed in
-for protection from the relic-hunter. The numerals "1620" are rudely
-carved upon its side, and a sort of fissure in its face seems like the
-impress of a foot. Surmounting the canopy is a scallop shell, the
-distinctive emblem of the pilgrim. The scallop has been called the
-"Butterfly of the Sea," and in the time of the Crusades, a scallop
-shell fastened in the cap denoted that the wearer had made a
-pilgrimage to the Holy Land. Thus it is said in the _Hermit_:
-
- "He quits his cell, the pilgrim staff he bore,
- And fixed his scallop in his hat before."
-
-Behind the Plymouth Rock rises the bluff shore into Cole's Hill,
-having its steep slopes sodded, this having been the place up which
-the Pilgrims climbed after the landing. A view to the front shows the
-wharves, and across the bay the narrow sandspit protecting the harbor,
-while on the right hand is the long ridge of Manomet, and over the
-water to the left appear distant sand-dunes along Duxbury Beach. Off
-to the northward rises the "Captain's Hill" of Duxbury, surmounted
-with the monument to Captain Miles Standish, erected in 1889, rising
-one hundred and ten feet. Upon Cole's Hill was the first burial-place
-of the Pilgrims, and here were interred about half the intrepid band,
-who died from the privations of the first winter. Their bones were
-occasionally washed out by heavy rains, or found in digging for the
-foundations of buildings, but all have been carefully collected, and,
-with several of the dead thus exposed, were again entombed in the
-canopy over Plymouth Rock. A little way to the southward is Leyden
-Street, running from the water's edge for some distance back up the
-slope to the side of the "Burial Hill," the first cemetery. This was
-the earliest highway laid out in New England, although it did not
-receive its present name until long afterwards. Upon this street the
-Pilgrims built their first rude houses, the lots extending southward
-from it to the "Town Brook," a short distance beyond, which supplied
-them with good water, and was the chief feature inducing them to
-select this place for settlement.
-
-The story of their landing is told in _Mourt's Relation_, written by
-one of the actors in this great historical drama. After describing
-their explorations and hasty selection of the place, he continues:
-"So, in the morning, after we had called on God for direction, we came
-to this resolution, to go presently ashore again, and to take a better
-view of two places which we thought most fitting for us; for we could
-not now take time for further search or consideration, our victuals
-being much spent, especially our beer, and it being now the 19th of
-December. After our landing and viewing the places so well as we
-could, we came to a conclusion, by most voices, to set on a high
-ground, where there is a great deal of land cleared, and hath been
-planted with corn three or four years ago; and there is a very sweet
-brook runs under the hillside, and many delicate springs of as good
-water as can be drunk, and where we may harbor our shallops and boats
-exceeding well; and in this brook fish in their season; on the further
-side of the river also much corn-ground cleared. In one field is a
-great hill on which we point to make a platform and plant our
-ordnance, which will command all around about. From thence we may see
-into the bay and far into the sea, and we may see thence Cape Cod. Our
-greatest labor will be the fetching of our wood, which is half a
-quarter of an English mile; but there is enough so far off. What
-people inhabit here we know not, for as yet we have seen none. So
-there we made our rendezvous, and a place for some of our people,
-about twenty, resolving in the morning to come all ashore and to build
-houses." About a week after landing they began constructing their
-first fort on the hill, and allotted the plots of land on their
-street, subsequently named Leyden. Thus the town was begun, and behind
-it rose two hills, the one now known as the Burial Hill being at the
-head of this street, and elevated about one hundred and fifty feet
-above the sea. Miles Standish, with his military eye, for he had seen
-veteran service in Flanders, selected this hill for the fort, and
-here in 1622 was built the square timber block-house that made them
-both a fort and a church, the entire settlement as it then existed
-being enclosed with a stockade for further protection. This caused the
-hill to be named Fort Hill, and it was not until long afterward that
-it was used as a cemetery and called Burial Hill, the first interred
-being some of the original Pilgrims after the graveyard on Cole's
-Hill, down by the waterside, had been abandoned.
-
-Upon Fort Hill was built the "Watch House," where an outlook was kept
-for the Indians. Stones now mark the locations both of the fort and
-the watchhouse, and surrounding them are the graves of several of the
-"Mayflower" Pilgrims, with many of their descendants, the dark slate
-gravestones having been brought out from England. There is a fine
-outlook from Burial Hill, far over the sea to the distant yellow
-sand-streak of Cape Cod. About a half-mile northward is the other
-hill, rising somewhat higher, and upon it is the National Monument to
-the Pilgrims, dedicated in 1889. This is a massive granite pedestal
-forty-five feet high, surmounted by the largest stone statue in
-existence, a colossal figure of Faith, thirty-six feet high, and
-adorned by large seated statues emblematic of the principles upon
-which the settlement was founded, representing Law, Morality, Freedom
-and Education. Upon this great monument are also representations of
-the landing of the Pilgrims, their names, and the "Mayflower
-Compact." It was into this infant colony of Plymouth, after some weeks
-of careful parley and investigation, there strode the stalwart Indian
-Samoset, making their acquaintance and paving the way for the
-subsequent treaty and alliance with Massasoit, which for many years
-was scrupulously observed by both parties, and not broken until after
-he died. Canonicus, of the Narragansetts, to the southward, sent to
-the colony after Massasoit's death a sheaf of arrows bound with a
-rattlesnake's skin as a token of hostility. Governor Bradford did not
-want war, but he knew they must maintain a brave outlook, so he
-promptly filled the skin with powder and shot and sent it back to
-Canonicus, who understood the grim challenge, and fearing the deadly
-musketry, prudently restrained the hostile instincts of his tribe. The
-privations of the first year, which killed half the settlers, and were
-only relieved by succor from England, are said to have originated the
-New England Thanksgiving Festival Day, which has since spread over the
-whole country. In December, 1621, they had their first Thanksgiving,
-upon the arrival of a relief ship from abroad. Such was the dawning of
-the ruling race of the American nation.
-
-
-DUXBURY AND MILES STANDISH.
-
-Upon the upper side of Plymouth Bay, enclosing its northern portion,
-is one of those long peninsulas of sand and rocks, abounding upon the
-Massachusetts coasts, which projects about six miles southeastward
-into the sea and terminates in a high knob, called the Gurnet, with a
-hook turned inward. This elongated sand-strip is Duxbury Beach, the
-town of Duxbury being upon the mainland inside, a fishing village
-probably best known as the terminus of the French Atlantic Cable. It
-was at Duxbury that the first regular pastor was Ralph Partridge, whom
-Cotton Mather described as having "the innocence of a dove and the
-loftiness of an eagle." The Pilgrims allotted this district to Miles
-Standish and to their youngest member, John Alden. Standish named it
-from Duxbury Hall, in Lancashire, the seat of his English ancestors.
-The brave Miles was not a Puritan and did not belong to their church,
-but as he was an experienced warrior, they made him the commander of
-their standing army of twelve men. Is is said that there have been
-only two renowned military chieftains in history who were personally
-acquainted with all their soldiers--Julius Cæsar and Miles Standish.
-The redoubtable old captain lost his wife Rose soon after the landing,
-and he then engaged the fascinating and youthful Alden to do his
-courtship for him and woo the gentle Priscilla Mullins, with the usual
-result that the maiden preferred the more attractive Alden to the grim
-old soldier. Standish has been described as "a short man, very brave,
-but impetuous and choleric, and his name soon became a terror to all
-hostile Indians." His is the romance of early Plymouth, for he has
-been made the hero of Longfellow's poem, and of renowned operas and
-many New England tales, while the fair Priscilla gave her name to the
-great Long Island Sound steamer. Standish lived upon the "Captain's
-Hill," out on the Duxbury peninsula, the highest land thereabout,
-rising one hundred and eighty feet, upon a broad point projecting into
-Plymouth Bay. His monument is near the site of his house upon the
-bare-topped, oval-shaped hill, a rather bleak place, however, to have
-selected for a home. Beyond it the projecting Duxbury Beach ends in
-the high Gurnet, with twin lighthouses, and then hooks inward to
-another bold terminating bulb, the headland of Saquish. To the
-northward is Clark's Island, where the Pilgrims first landed, a
-similarly round-topped mass rising from the water. Thus is Plymouth
-Bay environed, for to the southward its long guarding ridge on that
-side, Manomet, projects far into the sea.
-
-
-CAPE COD.
-
-The Old Bay State presents a front to the rough Atlantic like a
-gladiator at bay. She has in Cape Cod one defensive forearm boldly
-extended, and she likewise is prepared, if necessary, to thrust out
-the other, which keeps close guard upon her rugged granite breast in
-Cape Ann. These capes are the portals of Massachusetts Bay, and of the
-ocean entrance to Boston. Everyone, in viewing the map, marvels at the
-extraordinary formation of Cape Cod. Thoreau, who in days gone by
-tramped all over the Cape, says, "A man may stand there and put all
-America behind him." This great sandy headland stretches eastward from
-the mainland at Sandwich about thirty miles, then turns north and
-northwest thirty miles more, finally terminating in a huge hook, bent
-around to the south and east again, and forming the spacious
-landlocked harbor of Provincetown. At Harwich and Chatham the elbow
-sharply bends, the shoulder is at Buzzard's Bay, the wrist at Truro,
-and the closing fingers make Provincetown's haven. The Cape is nearly
-all white sand, with boulders occasionally appearing, particularly
-near the extremity. Thin layers of soil extend as far as Truro, but
-the sand is seen through many rents, and the extremity is completely
-bare, being a wilderness of sand, kept in partial motion by the winds,
-and making constantly shifting dunes. The prevalent northeast winds
-and surf are regarded as having made the hooked end of the Cape by
-gradually moving the sands upon the shore around to the west and
-south. This hooked end impressed the Colonial navigators, and the
-ancient Dutch maps call it Staaten Hoeck, and the enclosed waters
-Staaten Bay. The extremely white sand, in contrast with the darker
-rocks of more northern shores, led Champlain to name it Cape Blanc.
-Gosnold, as already announced, from the abundance of codfish named it
-Cape Cod, whereof the faithful historian, Cotton Mather, who records
-the fact, writes naïvely that he supposes it will never lose its name
-"till swarms of codfish be seen swimming on the highest hills."
-
-This remarkable cape came near being an island, Buzzard's Bay on the
-south and Cape Cod bay on the north being so deeply indented that
-their waters approach within about seven miles. The isthmus is a low,
-broad alluvial valley stretching between, having Monumet River flowing
-from Herring Pond south into Buzzard's Bay, and the Scusset River
-north from the divide, their headwaters only a thousand yards apart,
-so that this narrow neck of land, nowhere elevated more than
-twenty-five feet, is all that saves the famous Cape from being an
-island. A canal was projected there as early as 1676, and the proposed
-"Cape Cod Ship Canal" has been regularly agitated ever since, and may
-at some time be constructed, saving the shipping from the long detour
-around the Cape. This neck has been called "the collar of the Cape,"
-and beyond was the Indian domain of Monomoy. Chatham then was Nauset,
-and Barnstable was Cummaquid, these, as indeed every village on the
-Cape, being famous nurseries of sailors and fishermen. Here is some
-agriculture, the farms and towns having roomy old houses, and the
-extensive cranberry bogs showing one of the chief industries of the
-people. Along the southern shore are Marshpee, Cotuit, and Hyannis,
-all changing from fishing-ports to modern fashionable watering-places.
-The surface is composed of sharply defined hills of white sand,
-having broad sandy levels between that are almost desert plains. There
-are some trees, but the growth becomes gradually stunted, as the
-journey is made out upon the Cape, and villages are less frequent and
-population sparser. Modern cottages crown the hilltops, and the
-frequent cranberry bogs are as level as a floor, being thickly grown
-with the myriad runners and sombre foliage of the prolific plant.
-
-Passing Yarmouth and Harwich, the railway turns northward at the elbow
-of the cape, where Chatham is on the ocean shore. Brewster is
-northward, and Eastham, noted for its fortified church, whose colonial
-pastor received by law, for his salary, part of every stranded whale
-coming upon the shore. To the left is Welfleet, on the bay shore, and
-to the right the triple lighthouses of Nauset Beach, in front of which
-the ocean tides divide, moving in opposite directions, one current
-south to Nantucket Sound, and the other north, to go around the Cape
-into Massachusetts Bay. Northward is the sandy desert of Truro, the
-"Dangerfield" of early days, regarded as the most fatal coast in New
-England. This town of Truro has been described as "a village where its
-able-bodied men are all ploughing the ocean together as a common
-field," while in North Truro "the women and girls may sit at their
-doors and see where their husbands and brothers are harvesting their
-mackerel fifteen to twenty miles off on the sea, with hundreds of
-white harvest-wagons." Here, upon the high hill making the ocean
-shore, where the headland curves from north around to the west, is the
-guardian beacon of Cape Cod, the lofty Highland Light, forty-one miles
-southeast of Boston Light, and whose powerful white rays shine for
-twenty miles over the ocean without, and the bay within. The tower
-stands on a hill one hundred and forty-two feet high, and the light is
-elevated nearly two hundred feet. Along here Thoreau walked on the
-"sand-bar in the midst of the sea," and as he gazed far over the
-ocean, thus reflected: "The nearest beach to us on the east was on the
-coast of Galicia in Spain, whose capital is Santiago, though by old
-poets' reckoning it should have been Atlantis, or the Hesperides; but
-Heaven is found to be farther west now. At first we were abreast of
-that part of Portugal _entre Douro e Mino_, and then Galicia and the
-port of Pontevedro opened to us as we walked along, but we did not
-enter, the breakers ran so high. The bold headland of Cape Finisterre,
-a little north of east, jutted toward us next with its vain brag; for
-we flung back 'Here is Cape Cod, Cape Land's Beginning.' A little
-indentation toward the north--for the land loomed to our imaginations
-like a common mirage--we knew was the Bay of Biscay, and we sang,
-'There we lay, till next day, in the Bay of Biscay, O!' A little south
-of east was Palos, where Columbus weighed anchor, and further yet the
-pillars which Hercules set up."
-
-
-THE PURITAN COMPACT.
-
-At the extremity of Cape Cod is Provincetown, among the sand dunes, a
-town with about forty-five hundred inhabitants, encircling the harbor
-on its western verge, a long, narrow settlement between the high white
-sand-hills and the beach. There are two main streets, one along the
-beach and the other parallel to it back among the hills. Upon the
-highest hill is the Town Hall, the mariner's landmark entering the
-harbor, and from it are good views over ocean and bay, displaying the
-curious end of the Cape sweeping grandly around and enclosing the
-spacious harbor with room enough for anchoring an enormous fleet. To
-the west and south is the great bended hook having Race Point on its
-northwesterly verge and a lighthouse on the southern termination,
-whence a tongue of beach juts over towards Truro. This is a haven for
-many fishermen, and the people, who are among the purest descendants
-of the original Puritans, devote their energies largely to catching
-mackerel and cod, curing and stacking the fish all around the bay. The
-first appearance of Provincetown in history was when the "Mayflower"
-entered the harbor with the Pilgrims in November, 1620. Cape Cod was
-the first land they saw after leaving the English Channel, then not
-bare as now, but wooded down to the shore. They anchored in the bay,
-and the men were forced to wade "a bow-shoot" to the shore to make a
-landing, and it was this wading and subsequent exposure which gave
-them the colds and sickness resulting in the deaths of so many during
-the subsequent winter. It is recorded that upon Monday, November 23,
-1620, the women went ashore to wash, and thus they inaugurated that
-universal institution which has extended all over the country, the
-great American Monday washing-day. It was while anchored in
-Provincetown harbor the Pilgrims framed and signed the celebrated
-Puritan Compact, so long ruling Plymouth, which is regarded as the
-foundation of constitutional government. John Quincy Adams said of it:
-"This is perhaps the only instance in human history of that positive
-original social compact which speculative philosophers imagined as the
-only legitimate source of government." It was signed by forty-one
-Pilgrims, of whom twenty-one died during the ensuing four months. It
-reads:
-
-"In the name of God, amen. We, whose names are underwritten, the loyal
-subjects of our direct sovereign lord King James, by the grace of God,
-of Great Britain, France and Ireland, King, Defender of the Faith,
-etc., having undertaken, for the glory of God and advancement of the
-Christian faith and honor of our King and country, a voyage to plant
-the first colony in the northern parts of Virginia, do by these
-presents solemnly and mutually, in the presence of God and of one
-another, covenant and combine ourselves together into a civil body
-politic, for our better ordering and preservation, and furtherance of
-the ends aforesaid; and by virtue hereof to enact, constitute and
-frame such just and equal laws, ordinances, acts, constitutions and
-offices, from time to time, as shall be thought most meet and
-expedient for the general good of the colony; unto which we promise
-all due submission and obedience. In witness whereof, we have
-hereunder inscribed our names at Cape Cod, the 11th day of November
-(old style), in the year of the reign of our sovereign lord King
-James, of England, France and Ireland, the 18th, and of Scotland, the
-54th, Anno Domini, 1620."
-
-Provincetown was a long time afterwards started, and began with a few
-fishermen's huts, which grew in the eighteenth century to a small
-village with extensive fish-drying flakes. The people top-dressed the
-soft sands with clay, shells and pebble, thus making the streets.
-There are relics of wrecks all about the extremity of the Cape, and it
-has had a sad history, though now, being better lighted and having
-life-saving stations, these terrible disasters are rare. The town has
-become an attractive summer resort, and has quite a development of
-pleasant homes. The visitor mounts High Pole Hill to get the view, and
-all around it is over the sea, for, gaze whither one may as the winds
-blow freshly across the Cape, the scene is of dazzling white sand or
-deeply blue water.
-
-
-APPROACHING MASSACHUSETTS BAY.
-
-From Plymouth Harbor northward to Massachusetts Bay is but a short
-distance. Inland from the coast-line the land rises into the noted
-"Blue Hills of Milton," their highest dome-like summit elevated six
-hundred and fifty feet and surmounted by an Observatory. These are
-granite hills, having the picturesque town of Quincy stretching down
-to the sea, with a broad fringe of salt marshes in front. Thus are
-named the "Quincy granites," famous for building, and it was to get
-these huge stones out that the earliest rude railway in New England
-was constructed in 1826, a line three miles long to Neponset River,
-the cars being drawn by horses. It is said by the geologists that
-these hills of Milton are an older formation than the Alps, and their
-earliest English name, designated by King Charles I., was the Cheviot
-Hills. Among the salt marshes just north of Duxbury is Marshfield, the
-home of Daniel Webster, whose remains lie in an ancient graveyard on
-an ocean-viewing hill not far away. Beside him are the graves of his
-sons--Edward, killed in the Mexican War, and Fletcher, killed at Bull
-Run in the Civil War. An ornamental villa has replaced his old house,
-which was burnt, and the homestead has gone to strangers. Close by
-Webster's is the grave of the early Pilgrim Governor Winslow, whose
-quaint old dwelling is near. Quincy is famous as the home of the
-greatest families of the original colony of Massachusetts Bay--Quincy
-and Adams. The antique church of Quincy, known as the Adams Temple,
-has in the yard the graves of the two Presidents Adams, father and
-son. John Hancock, whose bold signature leads the Congress in the
-Declaration of Independence, was a native of Quincy. It was among the
-earliest Massachusetts settlements, having been colonized by a number
-of Episcopalians at Merry Mount, who were such jovial people that the
-strict Puritans of Plymouth were aghast at their goings on, and sent
-Miles Standish with the whole army against them, and capturing the
-leaders shipped them prisoners back to England. This severe treatment
-was administered a second time before they were subdued. Thomas
-Morton, who was among those twice banished, wrote the _New England
-Canaan_, giving this curious account of the aborigines: "The Indians
-may be rather accompted as living richly, wanting nothing that is
-needful, and to be commended for leading a contented life, the younger
-being ruled by the elder and the elder ruled by the Powahs, and the
-Powahs are ruled by the Devill; and then you may imagine what good
-rule is like to be amongst them." This theory was generally prevalent
-among the early colonists, for Cotton Mather was convinced that "the
-Indians are under the special protection of the Devill."
-
-The coast, as Massachusetts Bay is approached, rises into the rocky
-shores of Scituate and Cohasset. Here is the dangerous reef of Minot's
-Ledge in the offing, guarded by the leading beacon of the New England
-waters, about four miles from the shore. The original lighthouse was
-washed away in a terrific storm in April, 1851. The catastrophe
-occurred in the night, when those on shore heard a violent tolling of
-the lighthouse bell, and in the morning the tower was gone, with all
-the light keepers, the only relic being a chair washed ashore, which
-was recognized as one that had been in the watch-room of the tower.
-Scituate was the birthplace of Samuel Woodworth, author of the _Old
-Oaken Bucket_. These shores are all lined with villas and attractive
-coast resorts, and the noted Jerusalem Road is the chief highway of
-Cohasset, following the coast-line around to the westward. Here
-projects the narrow and strange peninsula of Nantasket Beach, five
-miles out into the sea to Point Allerton, then hooking around and
-terminating in the town of Hull, and making one of the most popular
-seaside resorts of Bostonians. Farther to the westward, behind it, is
-Hingham Harbor, the quaint old village of Hingham on its shores,
-settled in 1635, having the oldest occupied church in New England,
-dating from 1681. This most ancient church of Yankeedom is a square
-building of the colonial style, its steep roof sloping up on all four
-sides to a platform at the top surrounded by a balustrade and
-surmounted by a little pointed belfry. Still farther westward, and
-within the entrance to Boston Harbor, projects the bold bluff of
-Squantum, thrust out into the bay, it having been named in memory of
-the old sachem who ruled all the country round about when Boston was
-first colonized, his home being on an adjacent hill. Sturdy old
-Squantum was a firm friend of the colonists, and when he was dying he
-besought Governor Bradford to pray for him, "that he might go to the
-Englishman's God in Heaven."
-
-
-THE CITY OF BOSTON.
-
-The approach to the New England metropolis, especially by way of the
-harbor, is fine. The city rises gradually ridge above ridge, until the
-centre culminates in Beacon Hill, surmounted by the bright gilded dome
-and lantern-top of the Massachusetts State House. From all sides the
-land, with its varied surfaces of hill and vale, slopes down towards
-the water courses, leading into the deep indentation of Boston Harbor.
-The pear-shaped peninsula, forming the original town, was the Indian
-Shawmut, or the "sweet waters," a name reproduced in many ways in the
-modern city. William Blackstone, the recluse Anglican clergyman of
-London who could not get on there with the "Lords Bishops" and
-emigrated, was the first white inhabitant of Shawmut, coming in 1623.
-Governor John Winthrop, of the Massachusetts colony, who came out in
-1630 to Salem, removed to Shawmut the same year with Thomas Dudley
-and a number of Puritans, crossing over from Charlestown in a search
-for good water, which led them to select this place, which, from its
-three hills, they called the Tri-mountain, since shortened into
-Tremont. Blackstone, having lived there in solitude for several years,
-soon tired of having such near neighbors, and in 1634 he sold out the
-whole town site to them for about $150, and being disgusted with these
-"Lords Brethren," as he had previously been with the "Lords Bishops,"
-avoided controversy by going farther into the wilderness. Winthrop and
-Dudley had come originally from Boston in England, and making this the
-capital of the Massachusetts colony, they gave it that name. The
-English Boston in Lincolnshire grew around the monastery of the Saxon
-St. Botolph, established in the seventh century, and hence its name of
-Botolph's Town, which has been condensed into Boston. Some years ago
-the English Bostonians presented a Gothic window from the ruins of old
-St. Botolph's to Trinity Episcopal Church in Boston. When this
-Massachusetts colony was originally established, one of Winthrop's
-depressed companions, writing home, described Shawmut as "a hideous
-wilderness possessed by barbarous Indians, very cold, sickly, rocky,
-barren, unfit for culture, and like to keep the people miserable." Yet
-the settlement grew, and, as an early historian says, "Philadelphia
-was a forest and New York was an insignificant village long after its
-rival, Boston, had become a great commercial town." In 1663 an
-English visitor, describing the place, wrote that "the buildings are
-handsome, joining one to the other, as in London, with many large
-streets, most of them paved with pebble-stones. In the high street
-toward the Common there are faire houses, some of stone." The young
-colony encouraged commerce and became possessed of many ships, the
-earliest built at Boston being the bark "Blessing of the Bay" of
-thirty tons, a noted vessel belonging to Governor Winthrop, and
-considered a wonder in her time. The first solid wharf was built in
-1673. It was Governor Winthrop who put into one of his official
-messages this chunk of wisdom: "The best part of a community is always
-the least, and of that part the wiser are still less." Anterior to the
-Revolution, Boston was the largest and most important American city,
-then having twenty-five thousand inhabitants.
-
-Boston Harbor covers about seventy-five square miles, having various
-arms, such as South Boston Bay and Dorchester Bay, and the estuaries
-of the Charles, Mystic and Neponset Rivers, which enlarge the
-landing-spaces. The outer harbor has great natural beauty, increased
-by the improvements and adornments of buildings, the water surface
-gradually narrowing towards the city, and dotted with craggy,
-undulating islands, having long stretches of bordering beaches,
-interspersed with jutting cliffs, broad and bold promontories, and
-both low and lofty shores. The adjacent coasts are lined with
-villages that gradually merge into the suburbs of the great city. In
-this spacious harbor there are at least fifty large and small islands,
-and most of these, which were bare in Winthrop's day, are now crowned
-with forts, lighthouses, almshouses, hospitals and other civic
-institutions, several being most striking edifices, giving a pleasing
-variety to the scene. The splendid guiding beacon for the harbor
-entrance stands upon Little Brewster or Lighthouse Island, at the
-northern edge of Nantasket Roads. This is Boston Light, elevated about
-one hundred feet, a revolving light visible sixteen miles. George's
-Island, near the entrance and commanding the approach from the sea,
-has upon it the chief defensive work of the harbor, Fort Warren, about
-two miles west of Boston Light. Farther in, and near the city, off
-South Boston, is Castle Island, with Fort Independence, the successor
-of the earliest Boston fort, the "Castle," built by Winthrop in 1634.
-Opposite and about one mile northward is Governor's Island, containing
-Fort Winthrop. This island was originally the "Governor's garden," and
-Winthrop paid a yearly rent of two bushels of apples for it. These
-forts are nearly all constructed of Quincy granite, but none has seen
-actual warfare. Long Island spreads its high crags across the harbor,
-outside of the inner forts, and has a lighthouse on its northern end,
-while to the eastward is a low, rocky islet, bearing as a warning to
-the mariner a curious stone monument, known as Nix's Mate. It was
-here the colonists used to hang the pirates caught on the New England
-coasts. Upon Deer and Rainsford Islands are hospitals and
-reformatories, and upon Thompson's Island, which is fantastically
-shaped like an unfledged chicken, is an asylum and farm-school for
-indigent boys. Spectacle, Half Moon and Apple Islands received their
-names from their shapes.
-
-At the inward, western extremity of the harbor is the pear-shaped
-Shawmut peninsula of Boston, having water ways almost all around it.
-Upon the one side is South Boston and upon the other Charlestown, the
-comparatively narrow intervening water courses of Fort Point Channel
-and Charles River being in parts nearly roofed over with bridges, that
-grudgingly open their draws to let through the vessels laden with
-lumber and coal. To the northeast, upon another peninsula, which
-formerly was an island, is East Boston, having Chelsea beyond to the
-northward. Towards the west, across the broadened estuary of Charles
-River, is Cambridge, this part of the estuary known as the Back Bay
-having been largely encroached upon to create more land for the
-crowded and spreading city. To the southward are Roxbury and
-Dorchester, and to the westward Brookline, Brighton and Somerville.
-Upon the Shawmut peninsula, the original city of Boston covered only
-seven hundred and eighty-three acres, but by the reclamations this has
-been more than doubled. It absorbed Dorchester Neck to enlarge South
-Boston; took in Noddle's Island for East Boston; and annexed about all
-the other suburbs, so that the city now covers forty-three square
-miles. The hills have been partly levelled and the whole face of the
-ancient town altered, these improvements and the great changes wrought
-by fires obliterating the older narrow and crooked streets, having
-thus wrought a complete transformation. The alignments of the colonial
-maps can now hardly be recognized, and scarcely a vestige, beyond the
-three old burying-grounds and a few buildings, remains of primitive
-Boston. When the first settlers coming from Charlestown saw Shawmut or
-the Tri-mountain, it seemed to chiefly consist of the three high hills
-which they called Copp's, Beacon and Fort Hills, the highest of these,
-the Beacon, being itself a sort of tri-mountain, having three
-well-developed surmounting little peaks. These, however, were
-afterwards cut down, although the massive elevation of Beacon Hill,
-whereon the colonists burnt their signal-fires, remains the crowning
-glory of the peninsula.
-
-
-BOSTON COMMON.
-
-The city of Boston has a population of six hundred thousand, and the
-centre around which it clusters is the well-known Boston Common, set
-apart in 1634, and always jealously reserved for public uses, the
-surface rising upon its northern verge towards Beacon Hill. No matter
-by what route approached, the city has the appearance of a broad cone
-with a wide-spreading base, ascending gradually to the bulb-like apex
-of the gilded State House dome. Occasionally a tall building looms
-above the mass, or it is surmounted by church-spires and the fanciful
-towers of modern construction, or by a high chimney pouring out black
-smoke; but it is a symmetrical scene in the general view, though in
-many parts the surface of the actual city is very uneven. The Common
-rises towards the State House from the south and west by a graceful
-plane interspersed with hillocks. It is crossed by many pleasant
-walks, and has broad open spaces used for sports and military
-displays. It is rich in noble old trees, and covers nearly fifty
-acres, while to the westward is an additional level park of half the
-size, known as the Public Garden, separated by a wide street
-accommodating the cross-town traffic. This noted Boston Common was the
-ancient Puritan pasture-ground, and it is rich in traditions. In the
-colonial wars, the captured hostile Indians were put to death here,
-their grinning heads impaled on stakes for a public warning. Murderers
-were gibbeted, witches burnt and duels fought here. The impassioned
-George Whitefield, in the middle of the eighteenth century, preached
-here to a congregation of twenty thousand. An English traveller in the
-late seventeenth century described the place as "a small but pleasant
-Common where the gallants, a little before sunset, walk with their
-marmalet-madams till the bell at nine o'clock rings them home."
-Sometimes it was a fortified camp, and it was always a pleasure-ground,
-while during the great fire of 1872, which destroyed the chief
-business section with property valued at $70,000,000, enormous piles
-of hastily saved goods filled the eastern portions next to Tremont
-Street, bounding it on that side. Beacon Street is the northern border
-and Boylston Street the southern, there being rows of stately elms
-upon the walks along these streets and the pathways leading across the
-Common in various directions.
-
-Flagstaff Hill, the most prominent eminence, near the centre of the
-Common, is surmounted by the Soldiers' Monument, rising ninety feet,
-with a colossal statue of America on the apex, overlooking the city.
-It was designed by Milmore, and is one of the most imposing memorials
-of the Civil War in the country. Nearby stood the "Old Elm," which was
-much older than the city, and was blown down in 1876. The adjacent
-sheet of water is the noted "Frog Pond" of colonial memory, and dear
-to the hearts of all old Bostonians. Near the northeastern boundary
-the Brewer Fountain, famous for its magnificent bronzes, the
-munificent gift of a prominent citizen, pours out its limpid waters. A
-colossal equestrian statue of Washington adorns the Public Garden.
-These attractive grounds are additionally embellished by tasteful
-little lakes, statues and lovely floral displays. On the southern side
-of the Common is the old Central Burying-Ground, which contains the
-grave of Gilbert Stuart, the portrait painter, who died in 1828.
-Beneath the edge of the Common on the southern and eastern sides is
-the great Subway, which crosses Boston, giving needed relief to the
-congested traffic, and was completed in 1898 at a cost of nearly
-$5,000,000, a most commodious, airy and well-lighted tunnel,
-accommodating many lines of electric cars, and providing speedy
-transit across the crowded city.
-
-
-THE STATE HOUSE.
-
-The famous Boston State House, fronting on Beacon Street at the summit
-of the hill, stands upon ground which, in the eighteenth century, was
-John Hancock's cow-pasture, his residence, for many years alongside,
-having been replaced by the ornamental "swell-fronts" of the Somerset
-Club. This rounded construction, known as the swell-front, is a
-distinctive feature of the old-time Boston residential architecture,
-and in many buildings the effect is heightened by the luxuriant
-overrunning vines of the Boston ivy, which is especially fine in the
-autumn. A Corinthian portico fronts the State House, which was built
-about the beginning of the nineteenth century, but has since been
-repeatedly enlarged, the latest extension being completed in 1898, so
-that the whole building is now four hundred by two hundred and twelve
-feet, the lantern on the dome rising one hundred and fifty feet. Upon
-the terrace in front are statues of Daniel Webster and Horace Mann.
-The eastern side of the last extension has a small park, and here, on
-top of Beacon Hill, has been erected a reproduction, practically on
-the original site, of the Beacon Monument, which was put there in 1790
-to commemorate the success of the Revolution, but was removed in 1812.
-Within the State House is the Memorial Hall, containing the
-battle-flags of Massachusetts regiments and other historical relics.
-Portraits, busts and statues of the great men of Massachusetts adorn
-the interior rooms. From the lantern surmounting the dome is the
-finest view of Boston, with the mass of estuaries penetrating the land
-on all sides, the harbor and islands, and over the neighboring country
-for many miles. In the Representatives' Chamber hangs, high on the
-wall, one of the precious relics of the Old Bay State, the noted
-carved codfish, typifying a great industry. In the original State
-House preceding this one, down on Washington Street, in the heart of
-the older town, on March 17, 1785, Representative Rowe--who is also
-said to have been the suggester of throwing the tea overboard in
-Boston harbor--according to the minutes moved, "That leave might be
-given to hang up the representation of a codfish in the room where the
-House sit, as a memorial of the importance of the cod-fishery to the
-welfare of the Commonwealth, as had been usual formerly." Leave was
-accordingly given, and this emblem was brought in time to the present
-State House and hung on the wall, and it has always been an object of
-interest to visitors, not only as emblematic of sundry fishery
-problems that perplex the statesmen, but also as recalling a question
-always of lively interest in New England and elsewhere, "Does the
-codfish salt the ocean, or the ocean salt the codfish?" Another great
-treasure is held by the State Library, which has a hundred thousand
-volumes; and the chief of its possessions, exhibited under glass, is
-the "History of the Plimouth Plantation," popularly known as the "Log
-of the 'Mayflower,'" written by Governor William Bradford. This
-manuscript, discovered in London in 1846, was presented to
-Massachusetts in 1898.
-
-
-NOTABLE BOSTON ATTRACTIONS.
-
-A ramble through the older parts of Boston discloses many objects of
-interest. Near the northern edge of the Common, at the corner of Park
-and Tremont Streets, is the old "Brimstone Corner," where stands the
-citadel of orthodoxy, the Puritan meeting-house, Park Street Church.
-Adjoining is an ancient graveyard, the "Old Granary Burying-Ground,"
-where lie the remains of some of the most famous men of Boston, John
-Hancock, Samuel Adams, Paul Revere, James Otis, Peter Faneuil, many of
-the colonial Governors, and also the parents of Benjamin Franklin, a
-prominent monument marking the graves of the latter. The rows of
-ancient, dark-looking and half-effaced gravestones in this quiet
-burial-place, in one of the busiest parts of the city, are an antique
-novelty. Many noted buildings are near it--Tremont Temple, the
-Horticultural and Music Halls, the Athenæum, and not far away,
-fronting Pemberton Square, the massive County Court-house of granite
-in Renaissance style, four hundred and fifty feet long, having in its
-imposing central hall a statue of Rufus Choate. On Tremont Street was
-established the first Episcopal Church in Boston, the King's Chapel,
-the present building replacing the original one in 1754. Adjacent is
-the oldest burying-place of the colony, where lie the remains of
-Governor John Winthrop and his sons, with other early settlers. Most
-of the old gravestones in this yard have been taken away from the
-graves and reset in strange fashion as edge-stones along the paths.
-One of these odd old stones of a greenish hue marked the grave of
-William Paddy, dying in 1658. In an unique poetical effusion it
-records these quaint words:
-
- "Hear sleaps that blessed one
- Whoes lief God help us all
- To live that so when tiem shall be
- That we this world must liue,
- We ever may be happy
- With blessed William Paddy."
-
-Adjoining this old-time region is the splendid City Hall, grandly
-rising beyond the graveyard, in Italian Renaissance, with an imposing
-louvre dome. In front, upon School Street, are statues of Benjamin
-Franklin and Josiah Quincy.
-
-Various intricate streets and passages lead eastward from Tremont
-Street into Washington Street, these two chief business highways in a
-certain sense being parallel. Washington Street is the main
-thoroughfare of the city, having prominent theatres, newspaper
-offices, many of the largest stores and great office buildings, and it
-finally crosses over into the South End, being a wider and straighter
-street in this newer portion. Benjamin Franklin was born in a little
-old dwelling near Washington Street, where now stands a newspaper
-office. Alongside is the "Old South Church," the most famous church of
-Boston, but now an historical relic and museum of Revolutionary
-antiquities, the congregation having built themselves a magnificent
-temple, the "New Old South Church," upon Boylston Street, in the
-fashionable quarter of the Back Bay. This ancient church is a curious
-edifice of colonial style, built in 1729, when it replaced an earlier
-building. It has a tall spire and a clock, to which it is said more
-eyes are upturned than to any other dial in New England. The interior
-is square, with double galleries on the ends, and its original
-condition has been entirely restored. It is brimful of history, and
-was the colonial shrine of Boston, wherein were held the spirited
-meetings of the exciting days that hatched the Revolution. Within it
-were arranged the preliminaries leading to the march from its doors of
-the party of disguised men who went down to the Liverpool wharf and
-threw the tea overboard in December, 1773. Behind the pulpit is the
-famous window through which climbed Dr. Joseph Warren in 1775 to make
-the oration on the anniversary of the "Boston Massacre," that had so
-much to do with creating the high condition of feeling producing the
-final defiance of the British soldiery, culminating in the battle of
-Lexington. The British afterwards turned the building into a
-riding-school. Franklin was baptized in the original church, and here
-Whitefield preached. For nearly two centuries there was delivered, in
-this noted church, the annual "election sermon" before the Governor
-and Legislature. It was only by the greatest exertions that the
-venerable building was saved from the fire of 1872, which halted at
-its edge. It now belongs to a patriotic society, who maintain it as a
-precious historical relic.
-
-Also fronting upon Washington Street is the "Old State House," an
-oblong and unpretending building at the head of State Street, dating
-from 1748, which was the headquarters of the Massachusetts Provincial
-Government. The "Boston Massacre," in March, 1770, originating in an
-encounter between a British sentry and the crowd, resulting in the
-troops firing upon the populace, occurred in the street on its
-eastern side. Afterwards Samuel Adams, voicing the public
-indignation, made within the building, in an address to the Executive
-Council, his memorable and successful demand that the British soldiery
-should be removed outside the city. It has been restored as far as
-possible to its original condition, even the figures of the British
-"Lion and Unicorn," which had been taken down in Revolutionary days,
-having been replaced on the wings of the roof over the southern front.
-The upper rooms contain a valuable collection of relics and paintings,
-and much that is of interest in connection with early Boston history.
-Opposite are the tall Ames and Sears Buildings of modern construction,
-while State Street extends northeast through the financial district to
-the harbor, passing the massive granite dome-surmounted Custom House.
-
-Dock Square is not far away, and Change Alley and other intricate
-passages lead over to the Boston "Cradle of Liberty," Faneuil Hall.
-Old Peter Faneuil, a Huguenot merchant, built it for a market and
-presented it to the city in 1742, but it was unfortunately burnt,
-being rebuilt in 1761. Within it were held the early town-meetings,
-and it is still the great place for popular assemblages. It was
-enlarged to its present size in 1805. This famous Hall is a plain
-rectangular building, seventy-six feet square inside, the lower floor
-a market, and the upper portion an assembly room. It is located, with
-surmounting cupola, in an open square, and when anything excites the
-public it is crowded with standing audiences, there being no seats.
-Across the end is a raised platform for the orators, behind which, on
-the wall, is Healy's large painting, representing the United States
-Senate listening to a speech by Daniel Webster, his noted oration in
-the South Carolina nullification days of 1832, when Webster was the
-champion of the Union. There are numerous historical portraits on the
-walls. The "Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company," dating from
-1638, occupy the floor above the Hall, while in front of it and
-extending towards the harbor is the spacious Quincy Market.
-
-At the corner of Washington and School Streets is another ancient
-building, its quaint gambrels and gables recalling primitive
-architecture--the "Old Corner Book-store," long a favorite literary
-haunt. Northward, Washington Street extends to Haymarket Square, and
-beyond is Charlestown Street, passing by Copp's Hill, now reduced in
-size. Upon this hill is the oldest Boston church,--Christ Church in
-Salem Street,--dating from 1723, from whose steeple, on the eve of the
-battle of Lexington, in April, 1775, were displayed the lights giving
-warning of the movement of the British troops starting from Boston for
-Concord. These signals notified Paul Revere, across the Charles River,
-who made his famous midnight ride that roused the country. The
-silver-plate, service-books and Bible of the church were gifts from
-King George II., and in the adjacent burial-ground are the graves
-of the three noted Doctors Mather, who had so much to do with colonial
-affairs and history--Increase, Cotton and Samuel--the last dying in
-1785. The great Boston fire of 1872, which ravaged the district east
-of Washington Street for two days, extended over fifty acres, and
-destroyed nearly eight hundred buildings. The section was quickly
-rebuilt, however, with much finer structures, and is now the chief
-wholesale business district of Boston. The elaborate Government
-Building, containing the Post-office and Courts, was erected, since
-the fire, of Cape Ann granite, at a cost of $7,500,000. In this
-district are enormous office-buildings, insurance-offices, banks,
-extensive blocks of stores, and the headquarters of the leading trades
-of New England, the boot and shoe, cotton and woollen, dry goods,
-paper and wool merchants, Boston being the greatest wool mart in the
-country. When Boston, having preserved Beacon Hill and reduced in size
-Copp's Hill, decided to remove the third eminence of the
-"Tri-mountain," Fort Hill, its earth and rocks were used to give
-better commercial facilities by filling in and grading the magnificent
-marginal highway fronting the harbor, Atlantic Avenue. In front of
-this broad street the wharves project many hundreds of feet, having
-rows of capacious storehouses in their centres, while on either side
-are wide docks for the shipping. Here is conducted an extensive
-traffic with all parts of the world, and to these wharves come the
-yacht-like fishing-smacks to unload their catch of cod and mackerel,
-while there are piles of fish in the stores. Thus is realized the
-significance of the emblematic codfish hanging in the State House.
-
- [Illustration: _Faneuil Hall, Boston_]
-
-
-BOSTON DEVELOPMENT.
-
-When the great Boston fire had been quenched, and an estimate was
-being formed of the enormous losses, the significant statement was
-made that "the best treasure of Boston cannot be burnt up. Her grand
-capital of culture and character, of science and skill, humanity and
-religion, is beyond the reach of flame. Sweep away every store and
-house, every school and church, and let the people with their history
-and habits remain, and they still have one of the richest and
-strongest cities on earth." This is the prominent characteristic of
-Boston public spirit. The people take the greatest pride in their
-city, its high rank and achievements, and the wealthy and energetic
-townsfolk are always alert to extend them. There are more libraries,
-schools, colleges, art and scientific collections, museums,
-conservatories of music and educational foundations in and near Boston
-than in any other American city. Magnificent structures, the homes of
-art, science and education, are scattered with prodigality all about.
-Next to the Library of Congress, the Boston Public Library is the
-largest in America. Bostonians love the fine arts, and the many open
-spaces and public grounds are adorned with statues of eminent men and
-groups representing historical events. The people seem to be always
-studying and investigating, the women as well as the men pursuing the
-difficult paths of abstruse knowledge, so that armies of them, fully
-equipped, scatter over the country to impart the learning of the
-"Modern Athens" to less fortunate communities. There are many fine
-churches, especially in the newer parts of the West End, whither have
-removed into grand temples of modern artistic construction quite a
-number of the wealthy congregations of the older town. Boston is also
-full of clubs, in endless variety, formed for every conceivable
-purpose, and several of them very handsomely housed.
-
-To get available room and facilitate business, the city has gathered
-the terminals of all the railways into two enormous stations on the
-northern and southern sides of the town, and for nearly a half century
-it has been filling-in the fens and lowlands to the westward, so that
-now this reclaimed West End is the fashionable section, containing the
-finest churches, hotels, and residences. Through this splendid
-district extends for over a mile the grand Commonwealth Avenue, two
-hundred and forty feet wide, its centre being a tree-embowered park
-adorned by statues of Alexander Hamilton, John Glover, William Lloyd
-Garrison, and Leif Ericson, and having on either side a magnificent
-boulevard. The bordering residences are fronted by delicious gardens,
-and at regular intervals fine streets cross at right angles, their
-names arranged alphabetically, in proceeding westward, with the
-well-known English titles, Arlington, Berkeley, Clarendon, Dartmouth,
-Exeter, Fairfield, Gloucester, Hereford, etc. Parallel to the Avenue
-are also laid out Boylston, Marlborough, Newbury and Beacon Streets
-through this favorite residential section. Proceeding out Boylston
-Street are passed the stately buildings of the Museum of Natural
-History, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, with twelve
-hundred students, the leading institution of its kind in America.
-Beyond, at the intersection of Dartmouth Street, is Copley Square,
-displaying around it the finest architectural group in the city, five
-magnificent buildings, three of them churches. Trinity Episcopal
-Church, built on the northern side, in free Romanesque, is formed as a
-Latin cross, with a massive central tower, two hundred and ten feet
-high. It has elaborate interior decoration and fine windows. The
-Public Library, on the southern side, is in Roman Renaissance, two
-hundred and twenty-eight by two hundred and twenty-five feet, and
-sixty-eight feet high, erected at a cost of nearly $2,400,000. It
-contains eight hundred thousand volumes, and the interior is
-excellently adapted to its uses, being tastefully adorned. The Second
-Unitarian Church, on the northern side of the square, built in 1874,
-was the church of the three Mathers, and of Ralph Waldo Emerson. The
-Museum of Fine Arts, on the eastern side of the square, is constructed
-of red brick and terra-cotta, and contains extensive collections. The
-fifth building fronting the square is the "New Old South Church," in
-Italian Gothic, with a tower rising two hundred and forty-eight feet.
-
-Beyond this fashionable district, the "Back Bay Fens" have been
-skillfully laid out in a series of boulevards and parks, making a
-chain extending several miles south and southwest through the suburbs,
-Franklin Park, covering nearly a square mile, being the chief. Here,
-on grounds with great natural adornments, in Roxbury, Brookline, and
-Brighton, is a region of much beauty. The surface is undulating,
-finely wooded, dotted with lakes, and displaying many costly suburban
-houses, in full glory of garden and foliage. This pleasant region
-spreads to Chestnut Hill, where the city has its great water
-reservoir, holding eight hundred million gallons, the favorite drive
-from Boston being to and around this reservoir, the route giving
-splendid views from the hilltop. Jamaica Pond and Jamaica Plain are
-near by, two of Boston's attractive cemeteries being beyond the
-latter, Mount Hope and Forest Hills. Here is also the famous Arnold
-Arboretum, the greatest institution of its kind, now part of the park
-system, and having a grand outlook from its central hill. In West
-Roxbury is the Martin Luther Orphan Home, which now occupies the noted
-"Brook Farm," where a group of cultivated people, led by George
-Ripley, and including Hawthorne, Curtis, Dana, Channing, Thoreau,
-Emerson, and Margaret Fuller, made their famous attempt to found a
-socialistic community in 1841, but found that it would not work. It
-was described as an experiment in "plain living and high thinking,"
-the articles of association calling it the "Brook Farm Institute of
-Agriculture and Education," for the establishment of an "agricultural,
-literary, and scientific school or college." Pupils were taken, and in
-its most successful period there were about one hundred and fifty
-persons in the community; "kitchen and table were in common; very
-little help was hired, but philosophers, clergymen and poets worked at
-the humblest tasks, milking cows, pitching manure, cleaning stables,
-etc., while cultivated women cooked, washed, ironed, and waited at
-table; all work, manual or intellectual, was credited to members at a
-uniform rate of ten cents an hour." Later, it became a Fourieristic
-"phalanstery," under the title of the "Brook Farm Phalanx;" then, in
-1845, the chief building burnt down, and financial difficulties
-following, the experiment, which had excited world-wide comment, was
-abandoned in 1847.
-
-
-NONATUM AND SUDBURY.
-
-To the westward of Brighton is the extensive and wealthy suburban city
-of Newton, a favorite place of rural residence for Bostonians. Here
-rises, near Newton Corner, the ancient Nonatum Hill, where the
-Apostle Eliot first preached to the Indians, the name being now
-classically modernized into Mount Ida. Eliot converted these Indians,
-who became the Christian tribe of Nonatum and formed their system of
-government after the plan set forth in the Book of Exodus, with rulers
-of hundreds, of fifties, and of tens. For them the Bible was
-translated into the Indian language by Eliot and printed at Cambridge
-in 1663. They removed nearer to Charles River, where there were better
-soils, at Natick, their village consisting of three streets lined with
-little huts and gardens, a large circular fort, and a building for a
-church and school, at the same time having a rude bridge constructed
-over the river. Natick is now a busy shoemaking town, with about ten
-thousand people, and in South Natick is the old Indian cemetery and
-Eliot's Oak. To the northward of Natick is Cochituate Lake, the chief
-source of Boston's water supply, over three miles long, and having
-with tributary ponds nearly a thousand acres area when full of water
-in the spring. To the eastward of Natick is Wellesley, where the
-famous Wellesley Female College, with seven hundred students, has its
-spacious buildings located in a beautiful park. To the northward is
-the valley of Sudbury River, into which Lake Cochituate discharges,
-and here at Sudbury was the old colonial tavern which Longfellow has
-given renown in his "Tales of a Wayside Inn":
-
- "One autumn night in Sudbury town,
- Across the meadows bare and brown,
- The windows of the wayside inn
- Gleamed red with firelight through the leaves
- Of woodbine hanging from the eaves
- Their crimson curtains rent and thin.
-
- "As ancient is this hostelrie
- As any in the land may be.
- Built in the old Colonial day,
- When men lived in a grander way,
- With ampler hospitality.
- A kind of old Hobgoblin Hall,
- Now somewhat fallen to decay,
- With weather stains upon the wall,
- And stairways worn, and crazy doors,
- And creaking and uneven floors,
- And chimneys huge, and tiled and tall.
-
- "A region of repose it seems,
- A place of slumber and of dreams,
- Remote among the wooded hills!"
-
-Here Longfellow located his modern Canterbury tales by the landlord,
-the student, the theologian, the poet, the musician, and other
-sojourners, which have become interwoven so attractively with our
-better American literature.
-
-
-CHARLESTOWN AND BUNKER HILL.
-
-Across the Charles River, northward from the Shawmut peninsula of
-Boston, is Charlestown, one of the earliest settled suburbs, a large
-part of the river front being occupied by the Navy Yard, which covers
-a surface approximating a hundred acres. Here were built many famous
-vessels of the older navy, anterior to the change to steel
-construction, and the first Government dry-dock in the country was
-placed at this yard, which after the war of 1812 became one of the
-leading naval stations. Among the historical features of the yard has
-been the famous ship "Constitution," familiarly known as "Old
-Ironsides," which is again to be rebuilt for preservation. This noted
-ship, with others that achieved renown in the war of 1812, was kept at
-Charlestown, and all of them having rotted, the Navy Department in
-1830 decided to destroy them so as to save further trouble, and an
-article announcing this appeared in a Boston newspaper. Little did the
-naval authorities, however, appreciate the sentimental love the
-country had for the old "Constitution." Two days after the newspaper
-announcement, Oliver Wendell Holmes, then twenty-one years of age,
-published his poem of "Old Ironsides," which caused such a sensation.
-
- "Aye, tear her tattered ensign down!
- Long has it waved on high,
- And many an eye has danced to see
- That banner in the sky;
- Beneath it rung the battle's shout,
- And burst the cannon's roar;--
- The meteor of the ocean's air
- Shall sweep the land no more.
-
- "Her deck--once red with heroes' blood,
- Where knelt the vanquished foe,
- When winds were hurrying o'er the flood,
- And waves were white below--
- No more shall feel the victor's tread,
- Or know the conquered knee;--
- The harpies of the shore shall pluck
- The eagle of the sea!
-
- "O, better that her shattered hulk
- Should sink beneath the wave;
- Her thunders shook the mighty deep,
- And there should be her grave:
- Nail to the mast her holy flag,
- Set every threadbare sail;
- And give her to the god of storms,
- The lightning and the gale!"
-
-These stirring lines of earnest protest touched the popular heart,
-there was an universal outburst of indignation, and the "Constitution"
-was saved. The old ship was rebuilt on her original lines, only a few
-timbers, including the keel, being retained, and the former
-allegorical figure-head was replaced by one modelled in the image of
-Andrew Jackson, then President of the United States. This change was
-sanctioned by the Secretary of the Navy, although Commodore Hull, who
-had charge of rebuilding the ship, protested against it. The
-reconstructed "Constitution" was launched in 1834, and anchored, with
-her figure-head, but a short distance from Charlestown bridge.
-Politics ran high at the time, and the change caused great
-controversy, particularly in and around Boston. One stormy night,
-Captain Samuel W. Dewey, then a hardy young sailor, managed without
-discovery to saw off Jackson's head, and carried it away. When the
-mutilation was disclosed next day there was another great clamor, and
-so intense was the excitement that the utmost exertions were vainly
-made to find the man who did the daring deed. Dewey kept his secret
-for several weeks, but suddenly, under an unexplainable impulse,
-decided he would go to Washington and give the sawed-off head to
-President Jackson himself. He appeared before the Secretary of the
-Navy, and stating that he was the man who had removed the figure-head
-from the "Constitution," said he had brought it along to restore it,
-exhibiting the grim features tied up in a bandana handkerchief. The
-Secretary was indignant, and spoke of having him arrested, but Dewey
-said there was no statute that he had violated, and the Secretary,
-calming down finally, listened to the man's story of how he took away
-the head, and agreed to take it to President Jackson. He took the
-mutilated head over to the White House, exhibited it to Jackson, and
-repeated to him Dewey's story. When Jackson had heard the tale he
-burst out in loud laughter, and pointing at the head, said: "That is
-the most infernal graven image I ever saw. The fellow did perfectly
-right; you've got him, you say; well, give him a kick and my
-compliments, and tell him to saw it off again." Captain Dewey was
-afterwards called the "figure-head man," and was given a public dinner
-in Philadelphia on his return from Washington. He died at an advanced
-age, in 1899.
-
-The crowning glory of Charlestown is the Bunker Hill Monument, marking
-the greatest historical event of Boston, the famous battle fought June
-17, 1775, when the British stormed the Yankee redoubt on the hilltop
-north of Charles River, which was then open country, but long ago
-became surrounded by the buildings of the expanding city, excepting
-the small space of the battlefield, now reserved for a park around the
-monument. The granite shaft rises two hundred and twenty-one feet,
-upon the highest part of the eminence. The Provincial troops had
-assembled in large numbers north and west of Boston, mainly in
-Cambridge to the westward, and hearing that the British intended to
-occupy Bunker and Breed's Hills, in Charlestown, a force was sent
-under Colonel William Prescott, a veteran of the old French war, in
-the night, to fortify Bunker Hill. Upon crossing over, they hastily
-decided that it was better to occupy Breed's Hill, which, while part
-of the same ridge, was nearer Boston, and they constructed upon it a
-square redoubt. The British ships in Charles River discovered this at
-daylight, and began a cannonade; American reinforcements were sent
-from Cambridge; and in the afternoon General Gage attacked, his
-onslaught being three times repulsed with heavy slaughter, when, the
-Americans' ammunition being spent, they could only resist with clubbed
-muskets and stones, and had to retreat. Facing Boston, in front of the
-monument, the direction from which the attack came, is the bronze
-statue of Prescott, the broad-brimmed hat shading his earnest face,
-as, with deprecatory yet determined gesture, he uttered the memorable
-words of warning that resulted in such terrible punishment of the
-British storming column: "Don't fire until I tell you; don't fire
-until you see the whites of their eyes." The traces of the hastily
-constructed breastworks of the redoubt can be seen on the brow of the
-hill, and a stone shows where Dr. Joseph Warren fell, he being killed
-in the battle. He came to the fight as a volunteer, and had been made
-a General in the Provincial army. The top of the tall monument gives a
-splendid view in all directions over the harbor and suburbs of Boston,
-with traces of Mount Wachusett far to the westward, and on clear days
-a dim outline of the distant White Mountains. The corner-stone of the
-monument was laid by Lafayette on his American visit in 1825, and it
-was completed and dedicated in 1842, the oration on both occasions
-being delivered by Daniel Webster. One of his glowing passages thus
-tells the purpose of the monument:
-
-"We come as Americans to mark a spot which must forever be dear to us
-and to our posterity. We wish that whosoever, in all coming time,
-shall turn his eye hither, may behold that the place is not
-undistinguished where the first great battle of the Revolution was
-fought. We wish that this structure may proclaim the magnitude and
-importance of that event to every class and every age. We wish that
-infancy may learn the purpose of its erection from eternal lips, and
-that weary and withered age may behold it and be solaced by the
-recollections which it suggests. We wish that labor may look up here
-and be proud in the midst of its toil. We wish that in those days of
-disaster which, as they come upon all nations, must be expected to
-come upon us also, desponding patriotism may turn its eyes hitherward,
-and be assured that the foundations of our national powers are still
-strong."
-
-
-CAMBRIDGE AND HARVARD.
-
-Various long causeways over the wide expanse of Charles River where it
-spreads out to form the Back Bay, and passing in front of the newly
-filled-in West End, lead from Boston to the academic city of
-Cambridge. This populous city, best known from Harvard University, is
-beautifully situated on a plain, has important manufacturing
-industries, handsome public buildings, and a large number of elegant
-private residences in spacious grounds ornamented with fine old trees,
-shrubbery and flower-gardens. Cambridge was settled soon after Boston,
-as the "Newe Towne," in 1630. Its Common contains the venerable
-"Washington Elm," over three hundred years old, under which, after the
-battle of Bunker Hill, General Washington assumed command, July 3,
-1775, of the American army besieging Boston. Opposite the southern
-end of the Common are old Christ Church, built of materials sent out
-from England, and the First Parish Church, with a Gothic steeple,
-having between them the burying-ground of the old town. Of these,
-Oliver Wendell Holmes has written:
-
- "Like Sentinel and Nun they keep
- Their vigil on the green;
- One seems to guard and one to weep
- The dead that lie between."
-
-In the suburbs of Cambridge, adjoining Charles River, is Boston's
-chief place of interment, Mount Auburn Cemetery, a romantic enclosure
-of hill and vale, covering one hundred and twenty-five acres, with a
-grand development of tombs and landscape. The tower upon the summit of
-the Mount gives a beautiful outlook over the winding Charles River
-valley and the Brookline, Brighton and West Roxbury villa and park
-districts beyond, the distant view being closed by the charming Blue
-Hills of Milton. In this cemetery are interred many of the famous men
-of Massachusetts, including Longfellow, Lowell, Holmes, Everett,
-Sumner, Motley, Choate, Quincy, Agassiz and Prescott.
-
-The great Cambridge institution, however, is Harvard University, the
-oldest, largest and wealthiest seat of learning in America. In 1636
-the Massachusetts Legislature founded a school at the "Newe Towne,"
-voting £400 for the purpose, and in 1638 John Harvard, who had been
-for a short time a pastor in Charlestown, died at the age of
-thirty-one, and left to this school his library of two hundred and
-sixty volumes and half his estate, valued at about £800. Then the
-school was made a college and named Harvard, and the town was called
-Cambridge by the Legislature. The monument of the youthful patron is
-in Charlestown, and, cast in heroic bronze, he now sits in a capacious
-chair in front of the Harvard Memorial Hall. This great University far
-antedates its rival Yale at New Haven, for its first class was
-graduated in 1642, and in 1650 "The President and Fellows of Harvard
-College" were incorporated. In fact, Harvard was founded only ninety
-years later than the great College of English Cambridge--Emmanuel.
-John Harvard and Henry Dunster, who was the first President of
-Harvard, and several other prominent Boston colonists, had been
-students at Emmanuel, and thus from the older Puritan foundation came
-the younger, and it was natural to adopt for the town the name of the
-English University city. The first New England printing-press was set
-up in 1639 at Cambridge, and in the Riverside Press and the University
-Press of to-day it is succeeded by two renowned book-making
-establishments. Closely allied, in a scientific way, has also been at
-Cambridgeport for many years the works of Alvan Clark & Co., the noted
-makers of telescope lenses.
-
-Harvard University has sent out many thousands of famous graduates,
-and Longfellow, Holmes and Lowell have been members of its faculty. It
-is liberally endowed, has ample grounds, and there are over sixty
-buildings devoted to the purposes of the University, the annual
-disbursements exceeding $1,000,000. Its government was formerly a
-strictly religious organization, most of the graduates becoming
-clergymen, but it was recently secularized so that no denominational
-religion is now insisted upon, and comparatively few graduates enter
-the pulpit. There are schools of law, medicine, dentistry, divinity,
-agriculture, the arts and sciences, all the learned professions being
-provided for, but everything is elective. In the various departments
-there are more than four thousand students, taught by about four
-hundred professors and instructors. It has some seven hundred acres of
-land, interest-bearing endowments exceeding $8,000,000, receives,
-besides, annual gifts sometimes reaching $400,000, and has a library
-of five hundred thousand volumes and almost as many pamphlets. Much
-attention is given outdoor sports and athletic training, Harvard
-having the finest gymnasium in the country, and an athletic field of
-twenty acres south of the river. Among the graduates have been two
-Presidents, John Adams and his son John Quincy Adams; also his
-grandson, Charles Francis Adams, William Ellery Channing, Edward
-Everett, George Bancroft, Jared Sparks, William H. Prescott, Emerson,
-Holmes, Sumner, Lowell, Motley and Thoreau.
-
-The University buildings are in the centre of the old city, enclosing
-two large quadrangles shaded by elms. Massachusetts Hall, the oldest
-building now standing, dates from 1720, Harvard Hall from 1766, and
-University Hall from 1815. The most elaborate modern building is the
-Memorial Hall, a splendid structure of brick and Nova Scotia stone,
-three hundred and ten feet long, having a cloister at one end and a
-massive tower at the other. This was erected in memory of the Harvard
-graduates who fell in the Civil War; and in the grand Vestibule which
-crosses the building like a transept, having a marble floor and rich
-vaulted ceiling of ash, and fine windows through which pours a
-mellowed light, there are tablets set in the arcaded sides bearing the
-names of the dead. Upon one side of this impressive Vestibule is the
-spacious Saunders Theatre, used for the commencements and public
-services, having as an adornment the statue of Josiah Quincy, a
-President of the College and long the Mayor of Boston. Upon the other
-side of the Vestibule is the college Great Hall, one hundred and
-sixty-four feet long and eighty feet high, with a splendid roof of
-open timber-work and magnificent windows. This is the refectory where
-a thousand students can dine, and in it centre the most hallowed
-memories of Harvard, portraits and busts of the distinguished
-graduates and benefactors adorning it, with the great western window
-in the afternoon throwing a flood of rich sunlight over the scene.
-Harvard has been patterned much after the original Cambridge, thus
-adding to the English vogue of many things seen about Boston. When
-Charles Dilke visited America he wrote of Harvard, "Our English
-Universities have not about them the classic repose, the air of study,
-which belongs to Cambridge, Massachusetts; our Cambridge comes nearest
-to her daughter-town, but even the English Cambridge has a breathing
-street or two, and a weekly market-day, while Cambridge in New England
-is one great academic grove, buried in a philosophic calm, which our
-universities cannot rival as long as men resort to them for other
-purposes than work." The people at Boston told Dilke, when he was
-here, that they spoke "the English of Elizabeth," and they heartily
-congratulated him at the same time upon using what they said was "very
-good English for an Englishman."
-
-Adjoining Cambridge Common is Radcliffe College, for women, named in
-honor of the English Lady Anne Radcliffe, afterwards Lady Moulson, the
-first woman giving a scholarship to Harvard (in 1640). Some four
-hundred women receive instruction here from Harvard professors, and
-the graduates are granted the college degrees. Near by, in Brattle
-Street, is the Craigie House, dating from 1759, which was Washington's
-headquarters in 1775-6, and later, for nearly a half century, was the
-home of Henry W. Longfellow, until he died in 1882. Longfellow was for
-twenty years Professor of Modern Languages in Harvard, being succeeded
-in 1854 by James Russell Lowell, whose home of Elmwood, an old
-colonial house, is farther out Brattle Street. Lowell was born in
-Cambridge in 1819, dying in 1891. Oliver Wendell Holmes was born in
-Cambridge in 1809, and being a skillful physician as well as a
-_litterateur_, he was Professor of Anatomy and Physiology at Harvard
-from 1847 till 1882. He resided in Boston on Beacon Street, dying in
-1894. Margaret Fuller, the noted transcendentalist, was born in
-Cambridge in 1810, and after writing several books, and achieving fame
-as a linguist and conversationalist, she went abroad, marrying the
-Marquis d'Ossoli in Rome, and returning to New York, they were both
-lost by shipwreck at Fire Island in 1850.
-
-
-LEXINGTON AND CONCORD.
-
-Following up the Charles River, about ten miles west of Boston is
-Waltham, with twenty-two thousand people, noted for the works of the
-American Waltham Watch Company, the largest in the world, producing
-nearly six hundred thousand watches and movements in a year. The
-extensive factory buildings spread along the river, and there are also
-large cotton mills. General Nathaniel P. Banks was a native of
-Waltham. To the northward and about twelve miles from Boston is the
-quiet village of Lexington, chiefly built on one long tree-shaded
-street, which terminates at its western end in a broad Green of about
-two acres, whereon a plain monument recalls the eight Revolutionary
-patriots killed there April 19, 1775. A handsome Memorial Hall of
-brick is built on the Green to commemorate the Lexington soldiers who
-fell in the Civil War. It also contains statues of John Hancock and
-Samuel Adams, and of the "Minute Man of 1775" and the "Volunteer of
-1861."
-
-The British commander in Boston, having learnt that the Massachusetts
-patriots had collected arms and military stores at Concord, about
-twenty miles northwest of Boston, on the night of April 18, 1775,
-despatched a force to destroy them, and incidentally to capture
-Hancock and Adams, who were at Lexington. The roads leading westward
-out of Boston were picketed to prevent news being carried of the
-expedition, but the signals from the old Christ Church on Copp's Hill
-enabled Paul Revere to start from Charlestown through Cambridge, and
-he made his rapid horseback ride, arriving by midnight at Lexington.
-The bells of the village churches rang out the alarm, signal-guns were
-fired, and messengers were sent in every direction to arouse the
-people. About five o'clock in the morning Major Pitcairn with six
-British companies arrived at Lexington, where the patriots, numbering
-about seventy, were drawn up in line on the Green. Pitcairn rode
-forward and shouted "Disperse, ye rebels; throw down your arms and
-disperse!" They held their ground, and a volley was fired over their
-heads, when, not dispersing, a second volley was fired, killing eight
-and wounding ten men, the first blood shed in the American Revolution.
-The American commander, seeing resistance was useless, withdrew and
-dispersed his little band, some, as they retired, discharging their
-muskets at the British, three of the latter being wounded and
-Pitcairn's horse struck. Then the British made a rapid movement to
-Concord, and some of the military stores which had not been removed
-were found and destroyed. Meanwhile about four hundred Minute Men
-gathered near the North Bridge over Concord River, about a mile from
-the Common, and under orders they attacked and drove away the British
-infantry, who had been placed on guard there. As the morning advanced,
-the whole country became aroused, and armed patriots assembled from
-every direction, those of Lexington having rallied and placed
-themselves along the Concord road. The British commander was greatly
-alarmed and ordered a retreat. They marched back to Boston under a
-rattling fire, every house, barn and stone wall being picketed by
-patriot sharpshooters, so that the road was strewn with dead and dying
-British. Passing through Lexington, the British met reinforcements,
-but they were still pursued to Cambridge and Charlestown, the
-slaughter only ceasing when they had got under protection of the guns
-of the fleet. The British loss was about two hundred and seventy, and
-the Americans lost one hundred. In Concord the British graves and the
-battle monuments are on one side of the historic bridge, and on the
-other is a fine bronze statue of the "Minute Man." This Concord fight
-was the first organized attack made by the Americans upon the British
-in the Revolution, thus beginning the patriot rebellion against
-British rule, as the Minute Men were acting under authority of the
-Provincial Congress of Massachusetts, assembled in Concord, and
-protecting their military stores.
-
- "By the rude bridge that arched the flood,
- Their flag to April's breeze unfurled,
- Here once the embattled farmers stood,
- And fired the shot heard round the world."
-
-Concord has about six thousand people, and is also famous for its
-literary history and associations. It is near the tranquil Concord
-River and the junction of the little Assabet and Sudbury Rivers, a
-pleasant tree-embowered quiet place of rural residence. Peter Bulkley,
-an English rector, who was oppressed by Archbishop Laud, fled to New
-England, and in 1636 buying of the Indians their domain of
-Musketaquid, founded the town and church of Concord, thus naming it
-because of its peaceful acquisition. In the nineteenth century it
-became noted as the home of some of the greatest men of letters in
-America. Near Concord bridge is an ancient gambrel-roofed house built
-for Parson William Emerson in 1765, and from its windows he watched
-the fight. This is the "Old Manse" in which Ralph Waldo Emerson,
-himself once a clergyman, and descended from seven generations of
-clergymen, was born in 1803. Emerson was known as the "Sage of
-Concord," or, as Fredrika Bremer the novelist, who visited him there,
-described him, the "Sphinx in Concord," and was the head of the modern
-school of transcendental philosophy. He died in 1882. Nathaniel
-Hawthorne lived for awhile in the "Old Manse" at Concord, and there
-wrote his "Mosses from an Old Manse." The house was afterwards burnt.
-Hawthorne died in 1864. Both Emerson and Hawthorne are buried in the
-attractive little Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, Emerson's grave being marked
-by a large block of pink quartz. Henry D. Thoreau, the eccentric but
-profound scholar and naturalist, in 1845 built himself a hut on the
-shores of the sequestered Walden Pond near Concord, leading the life
-of a recluse, raising a few vegetables, and now and then, to get a
-little money, doing some work as carpenter or surveyor. He was
-profoundly skilled in Oriental and classic literature, and was an
-ardent naturalist, delighting in making long pedestrian excursions to
-the forests, lakes and ocean shores of New England. He never voted,
-nor paid a tax, nor entered a church for worship, and of himself he
-said, "I am as unfit for any practical purpose as gossamer is for
-ship-timber." Emerson tells us that "Thoreau dedicated his genius
-with such entire love to the fields, hills and waters of his native
-town, that he made them known and interesting to all; he grew to be
-revered and admired by his townsmen, who had at first known him only
-as an oddity." Dying in 1862, he, too, is buried in Sleepy Hollow
-Cemetery. In the Orchard House in Concord lived the Alcotts, of whom
-Louisa M. Alcott, author of _Little Women_, is so widely known.
-Adjacent is the building used by the "Concord School of Philosophy,"
-established in 1879 by A. Bronson Alcott. They also rest in the little
-Cemetery. Thus is Concord famed, and it has well been said of this
-historic old place that "it is dangerous to turn a corner suddenly for
-fear of running over some first-class saint, philosopher or sage."
-
-
-THE MASSACHUSETTS NORTH SHORE.
-
-The outer verge of Boston Harbor may be described as protected on the
-south by the long projection of Nantasket Beach, while on the northern
-side there comes out, as if to meet it, another curiously-formed
-peninsula, making the bluffs of Winthrop, and a strip beyond
-terminating in the rounded headland of Point Shirley. Deer Island,
-almost connected with the Point, stretches farther, and we were
-anciently told it was so called "because of the deare who often swim
-thither from the maine when they are chased by the wolves." All these
-places are popular resorts, and their odd formations assist in making
-the Boston surroundings picturesque. Some distance up the coast, and
-eleven miles from Boston, is the shoemaking city of Lynn, with seventy
-thousand people, the flourishing society of the "Knights of St.
-Crispin" ruling the shoemakers' "teams" and largely running the
-politics of the town. Most of the work is done by machinery, there
-being over two hundred factories, making more women's shoes than any
-other place in the country. The first colonists were brought by their
-pastor from Lynn-Regis, England, in 1629, and thus the town was named.
-It spreads broadly along the water-front, its attractive City Hall
-seen from afar, and many ornamental villas adorning the shore. Out
-beyond it, thrust into the sea, is the long, low and narrow sand-strip
-barely a hundred yards wide, leading for nearly four miles to Nahant.
-This is a most curious formation, the name meaning the "Lovers' Walk,"
-a mass of rocks and soil at the outer end of the sand-strip covering
-nearly five hundred acres, and crowned with villas, the neat tower of
-a pretty white church rising on the highest part near the centre. The
-Bostonians have made Nahant, thus surrounded by the ocean, one of
-their most fashionable suburban sections, and it is popularly known as
-"Cold Roast Boston." This strange rocky promontory was originally
-bought from the Sagamore Poquanum for a suit of clothes, and it is now
-valued at over $10,000,000. Many are the poems written about this
-curious projection, and N. P. Willis says of it: "If you can imagine a
-buried Titan lying along the length of a continent, with one arm
-stretched out into the midst of the sea, the spot to which I would
-transport you, reader mine, would be, as it were, in the palm of the
-giant's hand." Invocations have been addressed to Nahant by
-Longfellow, Whittier and Mrs. Sigourney; there Longfellow wrote part
-of _Hiawatha_, Motley began his _Dutch Republic_, Prescott wrote his
-Spanish histories, and Agassiz composed _Brazil_.
-
-The region beyond Lynn and Nahant is the famous Massachusetts "North
-Shore," stretching to the extremity of Cape Ann, a domain of villas
-and summer homes, pleasant sea-beaches, and brisk towns with
-interesting past history, now devoted largely to shoemaking and the
-fisheries. From Boston State House to the extremity of the Cape at
-Halibut Point, or the Land's End, is thirty-one miles, and Lucy Larcom
-thus attractively describes the route along the shore:
-
- "You may ride in an hour or two, if you will,
- From Halibut Point to Beacon Hill,
- With the sea beside you all the way,
- Through pleasant places that skirt the bay;
- By Gloucester harbor and Beverley beach,
- Salem's old steeples, Nahant's long reach,
- Blue-bordered Swampscott, and Chelsea's wide
- Marshes laid bare to the drenching tide,
- With a glimpse of Saugus' spire in the west,
- And Malden Hills in their dreamy rest."
-
-Saugus, Lynn, Nahant, Swampscott, Salem and Marblehead were originally
-the Indian domains of Saugus, Naumkeag and Massabequash. Beyond Lynn,
-most of the coast has undergone a modern evolution from fishery
-stations to smart summer resorts; and here, around the swamps and
-marshes, abounding crags protrude, with many fine villas in another
-fashionable Boston suburb, Swampscott, as populous and almost as
-famous as Nahant, with huge hotels down by the seaside. Swampscott
-merges into Clifton, and then an uneven backbone of granite covering
-about six square miles is thrust into the ocean in the direction of
-Cape Ann, and is hedged about with rocky islets. On one side this
-granite peninsula forms Salem harbor, while on the other a miniature
-haven is made by a craggy appendage to the southeastward, attached to
-the main peninsula by a ligature of sand and shingle. The quaint old
-town of Marblehead occupies most of the surface, and the appendage is
-the modern yachtsmen's headquarters, Marblehead Neck. This is a very
-ancient place, dating back to the early seventeenth century, and was
-once pre-eminently nautical and the second port in Massachusetts; but
-the sailors and fishermen are missing, excepting those who man the
-summer yacht fleets, and the people, like so many other Massachusetts
-communities, have gone largely into shoemaking, the big shoe-factories
-being scattered about. The crooked narrow streets run in all
-directions among and over the rocks, which appear everywhere and have
-gained the mastery. When George Whitefield, the preacher, visited
-Marblehead, he gazed in astonishment upon these superabundant rocks,
-and asked, in surprise, "Where do they bury their dead?" Out on the
-headland is the superannuated little Fort Sewall, once protecting the
-port and commanding both harbors, and though the walls are decaying,
-it is preserved as a memento of the past. Fine villas are all about,
-and the numerous islands add picturesqueness to the sea-view. Elbridge
-Gerry, of "Gerrymander" fame, was a native of Marblehead, and its
-hardy sailors formed most of the crew of the old ship "Constitution"
-when she fought and captured the "Guerriere," and afterwards the
-"Cyane" and "Levant." Marblehead was also the scene of "Skipper
-Ireson's Ride," which Whittier has made historic:
-
- "Old Floyd Ireson, for his hard heart,
- Tarred and feathered and carried in a cart
- By the women of Marblehead!"
-
-He had refused to take some of his townsmen off a drifting wreck,
-because it would cost too much to feed them on the way home.
-
-
-SALEM AND THE WITCHES.
-
-Westward of the Marblehead peninsula, there stretches into the
-mainland another noted haven of the olden time, Salem harbor,
-dividing it into two arms, the North and South Rivers, having between
-them the town, chiefly built upon a peninsula about two miles long.
-This was the Indian domain of Naumkeag, a name preserved in many
-titles there, and meaning the "Eel-Land." It was the mother-colony on
-Massachusetts Bay, the first house being built in 1626, and old John
-Endicott having got a grant from Plymouth for the colony, he came out
-and founded the town two years afterwards, calling it Salem, "from the
-peace which they had and hoped in it." But despite this peacefulness,
-the people soon developed warlike tendencies. They scourged Philip
-Ratcliffe, and cut off his ears and banished him soon after the
-founding, for "blasphemy against the First Church," and when the port
-had got well under way, an annual trade statement showed imports of
-$110,000 in arms and cannon, against $90,000 in everything else. The
-"First Church," formed in 1629, was the earliest church organization
-in New England, and it still exists. There were then ten houses in the
-town, besides the Governor's house, which the early history describes
-as "garnished with great ordnance;" adding, "thus we doubt not that
-God will be with us, and if God be with us, who can be against us?"
-John Winthrop was here as Governor, briefly, in 1630, soon migrating
-to Shawmut, to found Boston for the capital of the colony. After the
-Revolution, Salem was the leading seaport of New England; but its
-glory has departed, and the trade has gone to Boston. In 1785 it sent
-out the first American vessel that doubled the Cape of Good Hope, and
-during a half century afterwards it held almost a monopoly of the East
-India and China trade with the United States, having at one time
-fifty-four large ships thus engaged. The Salem ships also went to the
-Southern seas, Japan and Africa. This trade gave its people great
-wealth and influence, and it was said, about 1810, that a Salem
-merchant was then the largest shipowner in the world. But this has
-retired into the dim past, and now it is a restful city of about forty
-thousand people, its leading townsmen, the descendants of the
-merchants and captains, living in comfortable mansions surrounding the
-Common and along the quiet elm-shaded streets in the residential
-section. The rest of the population have gone into shoemaking and
-other manufactures.
-
-George Peabody, the philanthropist, was the most noted citizen of
-Salem, born in the suburb of Danvers (since changed to Peabody) in
-1795, and, dying in 1869, his remains rest in Harmony Grove Cemetery.
-In the Peabody Institute, which he founded in Danvers, is kept as a
-sacred relic Queen Victoria's portrait, her gift to him in recognition
-of his benefactions. General Putnam, Nathaniel Bowditch, William H.
-Prescott, the historian, W. W. Story, the sculptor, and Nathaniel
-Hawthorne, were natives of Salem. The East India Marine Hall is its
-most noted institution, a fine building filled with a remarkable
-Oriental collection, gathered in the many voyages made by Salem ships,
-and also having a valuable Natural History Museum, designed to show
-the development of animal life. In the Essex Institute are interesting
-historical paintings and relics, including the charter given by King
-Charles I. to the colony of Massachusetts Bay. Also, carefully kept
-near by, is the original "First Church," built in 1634 for the
-organization formed in 1629, and of which Roger Williams was the
-pastor before the Puritans banished him from the colony. When the
-enlarging congregation built a more spacious church, this quaint
-little house, with its high-pointed roof, diamond-paned windows and
-gallery, which is revered as the shrine of Salem, was removed to its
-present location. In Essex Street is also the old "Roger Williams
-House," a low-roofed structure with a little shop in front, his home
-for a brief period in 1635-36. This house has acquired additional fame
-as a relic of the witchcraft days, for in it was held the court trying
-some of the witches in 1692, who were afterwards taken to the gallows
-or Witch Hill, on the western verge of the town, to be put to death.
-The witchcraft delusion began in the Danvers suburb and soon overran
-most of New England, the prosecutions continuing more than a year.
-Nineteen proven witches were executed, while one, under the ancient
-English law, was pressed to death for standing mute when told to
-plead. Old Cotton Mather, the historian and pastor, was a leader in
-the movement against the witches.
-
-The North Shore, beyond Salem Harbor, stretches far along the
-rock-bound coast of Cape Ann. Here all the old fishing towns have
-become modern villa-studded summer resorts, picturesque and attractive
-in their newer development. Beverley, Manchester-by-the-Sea and
-Magnolia all have grand headlands and fine beaches. Beverley also has
-shoe-factories, and is proud of the memory of Nathan Dane, the eminent
-jurist, who named Dane Hall, the Harvard Law School. Manchester has
-the "Singing Beach," where the white sand, when stirred, emits a
-musical sound. Magnolia, on a rocky bluff, is adjoined by the
-attractive Crescent Beach, and has around it very fine woodland. To
-the eastward is Rafe's Chasm, sixty feet deep and only a few feet
-wide, and off shore, almost opposite, is the bleak reef of Norman's
-Woe. Inland is Wenham Lake, near Beverley, noted for its ice supply,
-upon which all these places depend, while beyond, the Ipswich River
-comes down through the pleasant town of Ipswich, covering both banks
-with houses, and flowing into Ipswich Bay north of the peninsula of
-Cape Ann. To the westward is Andover, where the thrifty Puritan
-Fathers, having bought the domain from the Indians "for twenty-six
-dollars and sixty-four cents and a coat," established the noted
-Andover Theological Seminary of the Congregational Church, where its
-ablest divines have been taught in what has been called "the school
-of the prophets." Here, on "Andover Hill," abstruse theology has been
-the ruling influence and intense religious controversies have been
-waged, over three thousand clergymen having been graduated. Mrs.
-Harriet Beecher Stowe lived here after publishing _Uncle Tom's Cabin_,
-and is buried here. Elizabeth Stuart Phelps was born here, and wrote
-_Gates Ajar_ in the venerable "Phelps House." The Seminary buildings,
-the local guidebook tells us, cause visitors to wonder "if orthodox
-angels have not lifted up old Harvard and Massachusetts Halls and
-carried them by night from Cambridge to Andover Hill." Ipswich, too,
-has a famous Seminary, but it is for the opposite sex. We are told
-that one reason for the popularity of Ipswich Female Seminary is that
-its location tends to softening the rigors of study, as this is the
-place "where Andover theological students are wont to take unto
-themselves wives of the daughters of the Puritans." The indented shore
-of Ipswich Bay was ancient Agawam, of which Captain John Smith,
-coasting along in 1614, recorded in his narrative that he saw "the
-many cornfields and delightful groves of Agawam." The fertile valley
-of Ipswich River is a veritable oasis among the rocks, moors and
-salt-marshes that environ it.
-
-
-THE MERRIMACK RIVER.
-
-Near the northern boundary of Massachusetts is the famous Merrimack
-River, flowing northeastward into the Atlantic, and noted for the
-enormous water-powers it provides for the various mill-towns that line
-its banks. It is a vigorous stream, having frequent waterfalls and
-carrying a powerful current, the name appropriately meaning "the swift
-water." Oliver Wendell Holmes writes of it in _The School Boy_:
-
- "Do pilgrims find their way to Indian Ridge,
- Or journey onward to the far-off bridge,
- And bring to younger ears the story back
- Of the broad stream, the mighty Merrimack?"
-
-The Merrimack drains the southern slopes of the White Mountains, and
-takes the outflow of Lake Winnipesaukee, a vast reservoir, the waters
-being regulated at its outlet to suit the wants of the mills below. It
-flows southward through New Hampshire into Massachusetts, turning
-northeast to the ocean. The river passes near Salisbury, where Daniel
-Webster was born in 1782; then, seventy-five miles northwest of
-Boston, comes to Concord, the capital of New Hampshire, which has a
-fine Capitol building and quarries of excellent granite; and eighteen
-miles below, it reaches Manchester, the chief city of New Hampshire,
-having sixty thousand people and many large mills owned by wealthy
-corporations. Here are the Amoskeag Falls (the Indian name meaning the
-"fishing-place"), the largest on the Merrimack, having fifty-five feet
-descent, and their water-power being utilized through two canals. The
-chief products are textile goods, locomotives and steam fire-engines.
-Eighteen miles farther southward the Nashua River comes up from the
-southwest, having passed the industrial town of Fitchburg on the way,
-and here at its confluence with the Merrimack is Nashua, another busy
-factory town. At Amherst, not far away, Horace Greeley was born in
-1811. Crossing the boundary into Massachusetts, the river comes to the
-Pawtucket Falls, having thirty-two feet descent, and furnishing the
-water-power, twenty-six miles northwest of Boston, for the great mills
-of Lowell, the third city of Massachusetts, having a hundred thousand
-people, and spreading along the Merrimack at its confluence with
-Concord River, coming up from Concord Bridge of Revolutionary fame.
-The first mill was built at Lowell in 1823, and its industries have
-assumed a wide range and enormous output, though the operatives are
-nearly all French Canadians, and the language heard in this once
-Yankee mill-town is now mainly French. The Merrimack, having turned
-northeast, next comes to Lawrence, where it descends rapids of
-twenty-eight feet in the course of a half-mile. Here the Lawrence
-family, of which the noted Abbott Lawrence was the chief, established
-a town of cotton and woollen mills, utilizing the rapids by
-constructing a huge dam nine hundred feet long and thirty feet high,
-in 1845, at a cost of $250,000. Here are the great Pacific Mills,
-among the largest textile works in the world, and the city has over
-sixty thousand inhabitants. Nine miles farther down the river is
-Haverhill, another manufacturing town, with forty thousand people,
-largely engaged in shoemaking. The poet John G. Whittier was born in
-1807 near Lake Kenoza, the scene of his _Snowbound_, on the
-northeastern verge of Haverhill.
-
-Below Haverhill the Merrimack is a navigable, tidal stream, broadening
-into a spacious harbor at its mouth in the town of Newbury, where the
-"ancient sea-blown city" of Newburyport is built on the southern
-shore, while five miles to the westward, on the Pow-wow River, is
-Amesbury, long the home of Whittier, who died in 1892, after having
-celebrated this whole region in his poems. His house is maintained as
-a memorial. Newburyport long since turned its attention from commerce
-to making shoes and other manufactures, and it now has about eighteen
-thousand population. Its splendid High Street, upon the crest of the
-ridge, one of the noted tree-embowered highways of New England,
-stretches several miles parallel to the river, down towards the sea,
-bordered by the stately mansions of the olden time. The Merrimack
-sweeps grandly along in front of them with a broad curve to the ocean,
-three miles below. The Newburyport Marine Museum contains foreign
-curiosities brought home by the old-time sea captains, and the Public
-Library, endowed by George Peabody, occupies an impressive colonial
-mansion, which has been flavored by the entertainment of Generals
-Washington and Lafayette. The Old South Presbyterian Church has the
-body of the famous preacher George Whitefield, who died in Newburyport
-in 1770, interred in a vault under the pulpit. In a little wooden
-house behind this church, William Lloyd Garrison, the Abolitionist,
-was born in 1805. Caleb Cushing the jurist and John B. Gough the
-temperance lecturer lived in Newburyport; but its resident who
-probably achieved the greatest notoriety in his day was "Lord" Timothy
-Dexter, an eccentric merchant of the eighteenth century, who made a
-large fortune by singular ventures, among them shipping a cargo of
-warming-pans to the West Indies, where they were sold to the planters
-at a stiff profit for boiling sugar.
-
-Whittier's home was on the Merrimack, and he has written for the river
-a noble invocation:
-
- "Stream of my fathers! sweetly still
- The sunset rays thy valley fill;
- Poured slantwise down the long defile,
- Wave, wood, and spire beneath them smile.
-
- "Centuries ago, that harbor bar,
- Stretching its length of foam afar,
- And Salisbury's beach of shining sand,
- And yonder island's wave-smoothed strand,
- Saw the adventurer's tiny sail
- Flit, stooping from the eastern gale;
- And o'er these woods and waters broke
- The cheer from Britain's hearts of oak,
- As, brightly on the voyager's eye,
- Weary of forest, sea and sky,
- Breaking the dull continuous wood,
- The Merrimack rolled down his flood.
-
- "Home of my fathers! I have stood
- Where Hudson rolled his lordly flood:
- Seen sunrise rest and sunset fade
- Along his frowning Palisade;
- Looked down the Appalachian peak,
- On Juniata's silver streak;
- Have seen along his valley gleam
- The Mohawk's softly winding stream;
- The level light of sunset shine
- Through broad Potomac's hem of pine;
- And autumn's rainbow-tinted banner
- Hang lightly o'er the Susquehanna;
- Yet wheresoe'er his step might be,
- Thy wandering child looked back to thee:
- Heard in his dreams thy river's sound
- Of murmuring on its pebbly bound,
- The unforgotten swell and roar
- Of waves on thy familiar shore."
-
-
-THE BRIDAL OF PENNACOOK.
-
-It was in the valley of the Merrimack that Whittier located the scene
-of his famous poem, the "Bridal of Pennacook." This American epic
-tells--
-
- "A story of the marriage of the chief
- Of Saugus to the dusky Weetamoo,
- Daughter of Passaconaway, who dwelt
- In the old time upon the Merrimack."
-
-Winnepurkit was the son of Nanapashemet, or the New Moon, and was the
-Sagamore of Saugus, Naumkeag, and the adjoining domain. He was of
-noble blood and valor, and for his bride chose the daughter of
-Passaconaway, the great chief, ruling all the tribes in the Merrimack
-Valley, who lived at Pennacook, now Concord. Not only was Passaconaway
-a mighty chief, but he was also the greatest Powah or wizard of his
-time, the colonial annalists gravely telling that he could make trees
-dance, waters burn, and green leaves grow in winter, through his
-necromancy. When Winnepurkit married this wizard's daughter, great was
-the feasting at this "Bridal of Pennacook." Then Passaconaway caused a
-select party of warriors to escort his daughter to her husband's home
-at Saugus, where they received princely entertainment. Not long
-afterwards the bride expressed a wish to again see her father and her
-home at Pennacook, whereupon her husband sent her thither, escorted by
-a trusty band, who were graciously received and rewarded. After some
-time Weetamoo desired to return to Saugus, and her father sent word of
-this to his son-in-law by messengers, requesting that a suitable guard
-be provided to escort her down. But Winnepurkit liked not this method,
-and bade the messengers return with this reply, "That when his wife
-departed from him he caused his own men to wait upon her to her
-father's territories, as did become him; but now that she had an
-intent to return, it did become her father to send her back with a
-convoy of his own people, and that it stood not with Winnepurkit's
-reputation either to make himself or his men so servile as to fetch
-her again." This reply, as may be imagined, ruffled the old chief, and
-he sent a sharp answer "That his daughter's blood and birth deserved
-more respect than to be slighted in such a manner, and therefore, if
-Winnepurkit would have her company, he were best to send or come for
-her." Neither would yield the point of Indian etiquette, and the
-colonial narrator leaves it to be inferred that she then remained with
-her father, though it is supposed she subsequently rejoined her
-husband. The poet has made good use of the story, illustrating the
-scenery of the region with great felicity, but giving the tale a
-highly dramatic ending. Whittier makes the heart-broken bride, in her
-effort to return to her husband, launch her canoe upon the swollen
-Merrimack above the falls at Amoskeag when a spring freshet was
-bringing down masses of ice:
-
- "Down the vexed centre of that rushing tide,
- The thick, huge ice-blocks threatening either side,
- The foam-white rocks of Amoskeag in view,
- With arrowy swiftness sped that light canoe.
-
- "Sick and aweary of her lonely life,
- Heedless of peril, the still faithful wife
- Had left her mother's grave, her father's door,
- To seek the wigwam of her chief once more!
-
- "Down the white rapids, like a sere leaf whirled,
- On the sharp rocks and piled-up ices hurled,
- Empty and broken, circled the canoe,
- In the vexed pool below--but where was Weetamoo?"
-
-
-CAPE ANN.
-
-Out in front of the region we have been describing projects the famous
-"ridge of rocks and roses," the gaunt headland of Cape Ann. This is a
-ponderous mass of hornblende granite, advanced forward twelve to
-fifteen miles into the ocean, with Thatcher's Island beyond, on which
-are the twin lighthouses that guard the mariner, forty-two miles north
-of the Highland Light on Cape Cod. The granite hills of the iron-bound
-headland are fringed with forests, while jagged reefs and rocky islets
-surround it, against which the sea beats in perpetual warfare. The
-surface is strewn with boulders, many of large size, and beds of the
-finest white sand are interspersed. The Indians called this promontory
-Wingaersheek, and when Captain John Smith came along he named it Cape
-Tragabizonda, in memory of a Moslem princess who had befriended him
-when a prisoner in Constantinople, also calling three small islands
-off the cape the "Three Turks' Heads." But King Charles I. would have
-none of this, however, and called the headland Cape Ann, after his
-royal mother, and thus it has remained. The haven on the southern
-side, Gloucester harbor, was early sought as a fishing station, being
-known in 1624, and it received its name in 1642, most of the early
-settlers coming from Gloucester in England. Champlain found it a safe
-harbor when in peril, and writes of it as "Le Beau Port." In
-August, 1892, this famous fishery port celebrated its two hundred and
-fiftieth anniversary with great fervor.
-
- [Illustration: _Along the Shore, Cape Anne, Gloucester, Mass._]
-
-The prosperity of Gloucester has come from the fisheries, it being the
-greatest cod and mackerel port in America, and having the most
-extensive fleet of fishing-boats in the world, exceeding six hundred,
-employing over six thousand men. The population approximates thirty
-thousand, and it is said their earnings on the fishery product are
-over $4,000,000 annually. The earliest form of the Cape Ann
-fishing-smack was known as the "Chebacco," two-masted, cat-rigged, and
-of ten or twelve tons, made sharp at both ends, and getting the name
-from the first place of building, Chebacco Parish, in Ipswich,
-adjoining the Cape. From this was developed the popular American build
-of vessel known as the schooner, the first one being launched at
-Gloucester in 1713. After sliding down the launching-ways, she so
-gracefully glided out upon the water that a bystander exclaimed in
-admiration, "See how she schoons!" and thus was she unexpectedly
-named, for a "schooner" has that style of vessel been ever since
-called. Gloucester surrounds its spacious harbor as a broad crescent,
-having Ten Pound Island in front sentinelling the entrance to the
-inner haven, so named because that was the price said to have been
-paid the Indians for it. The deeply indented harbor opens towards the
-southwest, being protected from the ocean by the long peninsula of
-Eastern Point, having a fort and lighthouse on its extremity. Some
-seventy wharves jut out from the circular head of the bay, with
-granite hills rising behind, up which the town is terraced. Shipping
-of all kinds are scattered about, including large salt-laden ships,
-while fishermen and sailors wander through the streets and assemble
-around the docks, spinning yarns and preparing for fishing ventures
-out to the "Banks." The odd old town around the harbor has seen little
-change for years, but the newer portions are greatly improved, having
-many imposing buildings, including a fine City Hall. The numerous
-churches have gained for it the title of "Many-spired Gloucester," and
-no place could disclose more picturesque sea views.
-
-But the fishery interest pervades the whole town, dwarfing everything
-else. The main street winds about the head of the harbor, bending with
-the sinuosities of the shore, and from it other streets, without much
-regularity, go down to the wharves. Fishing-boats are everywhere, with
-new ones building, and on most of the open spaces are "cod-flakes," or
-drying-places, where the fish are piled when first landed, preparatory
-to being cut up and packed in the extensive packing-houses adjoining
-the wharves. Here many hundreds are employed in preparing the fish for
-market, both men and women working. The best fish are either packed
-whole or cut into squares, so they may be pressed by machinery into
-what are known as "cod-bricks," one and two-pound bricks being put
-into forty-pound boxes for shipment. When packed whole, the best fish
-are known as "white clover," in this stage of what is called the
-fishery "haymaking." This fish-packing is an enormous industry, and
-the Gloucester product goes to all parts of the world. But the fishery
-has its sombre side; the vessels are small, rarely over one hundred
-tons, and the crews are numerous, so that wrecks and loss of life are
-frequent. Often a tremendous storm will destroy a whole fleet on the
-"Banks," with no tidings ever received; and scarcely a family exists
-in Gloucester or its neighborhood that has not lost a member at sea.
-Sometimes the badges of mourning are universal.
-
-An enormous development of rocks and boulders is seen everywhere in
-and around Gloucester. The houses are built upon rocks, the sea beats
-against rocks; but though excellent building-material is here, the
-houses are mostly of wood throughout the whole Cape Ann district.
-There is almost universally an ocean outlook over a sea of deepest
-blue. The outer extremity of the harbor to the westward is a long
-granite ridge ending in the popular watering-place of Magnolia Point.
-Down on the Eastern Point, alongside its terminating lighthouse, is a
-curious granitic formation, the rocks reproducing an elderly dame with
-muffled form and apron, known as "Mother Ann," this rude image being
-locally regarded as representing, in the eternal granite, the lady
-who named the Cape, the royal mother of King Charles I. The white
-flashing light upon Ten Pound Island between them is said to have for
-one of its chief duties the guiding of the mariner past the
-treacherous reefs of Norman's Woe, just west of the harbor entrance,
-which Longfellow has immortalized in his poem _The Wreck of the
-Hesperus_. One "Goodman Norman" and his son were among the first
-settlers near there, and hence the name, but no record is found as to
-the "Woe" he may have had. Neither is it known that any wreck ever
-occurred on this famous reef. In the winter of 1839 a terrific storm
-caused many disasters around Cape Ann, and forty dead bodies, one
-being a woman lashed to a spar, were washed on the Gloucester shore.
-Longfellow read in a newspaper the story of these wrecks and the
-horrible details, one of the vessels being named the "Hesperus," and
-he somewhere saw a reference to "Norman's Woe." This name so impressed
-him that he determined to write a ballad on the wrecks. Late one
-night, as he sat by the fireside smoking his pipe, he conjured up the
-vivid scene and wrote the ballad. He retired to bed, but, as he
-relates, it was not to sleep; new thoughts crowded his mind, and he
-rose and added them to the ballad, and at three o'clock in the morning
-had finished his immortal poem. There was no such wreck at the place,
-but his genius has associated it with the iron-bound coast of Cape
-Ann, and Norman's Woe is a monument consecrated to one of America's
-greatest poets.
-
- "It was the schooner Hesperus
- That sailed the wintry sea;
- And the skipper had taken his little daughter
- To bear him company.
-
- "And fast through the midnight dark and drear,
- Through the whistling sleet and snow,
- Like a sheeted ghost the vessel swept
- Towards the reef of Norman's Woe.
-
- "She struck where the white and fleecy waves
- Looked soft as carded wool,
- But the cruel rocks they gored her sides
- Like the horns of an angry bull.
-
- "Her rattling shrouds, all sheathed in ice,
- With the masts went by the board;
- Like a vessel of glass, she stove and sank,
- Ho! ho! the breakers roared!
-
- "At daybreak on the bleak sea-beach,
- A fisherman stood aghast,
- To see the form of a maiden fair,
- Lashed close to a drifting mast.
-
- "The salt sea was frozen on her breast,
- The salt tears in her eyes;
- And he saw her hair, like the brown sea-weed,
- On the billows fall and rise.
-
- "Such was the wreck of the Hesperus,
- In the midnight and the snow!
- Christ save us all from a death like this
- On the reef of Norman's Woe!"
-
-
-THE LAND'S END.
-
-The impressive scenery and bold picturesqueness all about attract many
-artists, who haunt the rocks and sea views of Cape Ann. The whole
-district is full of summer-homes, with flower-gardens and shrubbery
-amid the rocks and boulders, and the cliffs and ocean presenting an
-endless variety of changing scenery. The outer extremity of the Cape,
-long called Halibut Point, has been modernized into the Land's End,
-thus being rightly named as the termination of the great Massachusetts
-granite ridge, which falls away sharply into the sea. Upon the one
-hand Pigeon Cove, with its adjacent Sandy Bay, indents the rocky
-buttress, while upon the other side is Whale Cove. Just off the Land's
-End is the noted Thatcher's Island, low-lying on the sea, elongated,
-narrow and barren, with its tall twin lighthouses, and having nearby,
-in front of Whale Cove, the diminutive Milk Island. To the northward,
-off Pigeon Cove, is another barren rock surmounted by a lighthouse,
-Straitsmouth Island. These three outlying islands were the "Three
-Turks' Heads," as originally named by Captain John Smith. Thatcher's
-Island has about eighty acres of mainly gravelly surface strewn with
-boulders, being named from Anthony Thatcher's shipwreck there in 1635
-in the most awful tempest known to colonial New England. Rockport is a
-town of quarries extended around Sandy Bay, protected by breakwaters,
-behind which vessels come to load stone almost alongside the quarry.
-Pigeon Cove is the port for shipping stone taken out of Pigeon Hill,
-where the granite ridge is humped up into a grand eminence.
-Lanesville, to the north, is another large exporter of paving-blocks
-and building-stone. Alongside is Folly Point, guarding Folly Cove, at
-the northeastern extremity of the Cape, and to the westward are the
-villages of Bay View and Annisquam, with more quarries, and having,
-not far away, flowing out to Ipswich Bay through a lovely valley in
-the very heart of the Cape, the attractive little Squam River. The
-people of Cape Ann outside of Gloucester are almost all quarrymen,
-their product, largely paving-blocks, being shipped to all the
-seaboard cities. So extensive is this trade that it is difficult to
-decide which now brings the district most profit, the granite or the
-fish. There is no doubt, however, that the greatest fame of this
-celebrated Cape comes from its fisheries and the venturesome men who
-make them so successful. Edmund Burke, in the British House of
-Commons, in 1774, thus spoke of these Massachusetts fishermen: "No sea
-but what is vexed by their fisheries; no climate that is not witness
-of their toils; neither the perseverance of Holland, nor the activity
-of France, nor the dexterous and firm sagacity of English enterprise,
-ever carried their most perilous mode of hardy industry to the extent
-to which it has been pursued by this recent people--a people who are
-yet in the gristle, and not yet hardened into manhood."
-
-For three centuries, almost, this perilous trade has been carried on,
-and they are fully as daring and even more enterprising now than in
-the colonial days. Thus Whittier describes them:
-
- "Wild are the waves which lash the reefs along St. George's Bank,
- Cold on the shore of Labrador the fog lies white and dank;
- Through storm and wave and blinding mist, stout are the hearts
- which man
- The fishing-smacks of Marblehead, the sea-boats of Cape Ann.
-
- "The cold North light and wintry sun glare on their icy forms
- Bent grimly o'er their straining lines, or wrestling with the
- storms;
- Free as the winds they drive before, rough as the waves they roam,
- They laugh to scorn the slaver's threat against their rocky home."
-
-
-
-
-THE NEIGHBORHOOD OF
-
-NARRAGANSETT.
-
-
-
-
-XVI.
-
-THE NEIGHBORHOOD OF NARRAGANSETT.
-
- The State of Rhode Island -- Narragansett Bay -- Point
- Judith -- Aquidneck -- Conanicut Island -- Jamestown --
- Beaver Tail Light -- Patience, Hope and Despair Islands --
- The Starved Goat -- Durfee Hill -- Narragansett Indians --
- Canonicus -- Miantonomoh -- The Narragansett Fort Fight --
- Uncas -- Norwich -- Sachem's Plain -- Nanunteno -- Yantic
- Falls -- Narragansett Pier -- Commodore Perry -- Stuart the
- Artist -- Wickford -- Clams -- Rocky Point -- Blackstone
- River -- Seeconk River -- Vinland -- Roger Williams -- What
- Cheer Rock -- Providence -- General Burnside -- Malbone's
- Masterpiece -- Brown University -- Pawtucket -- Samuel
- Slater -- Central and Valley Falls -- William Blackstone --
- Study Hill -- Woonsocket -- Worcester -- George Bancroft --
- Lake Quinsigamond -- Ware -- Mount Hope Bay -- The Vikings
- -- Taunton Great River -- Bristol Neck -- Taunton --
- Dighton Rock -- The Skeleton in Armor -- Bristol -- Mount
- Hope -- King Philip -- Last of the Wampanoags -- Massasoit
- -- Death of Philip -- Fall River -- Watuppa Ponds --
- Newport -- Brenton's Point -- Fort Adams -- William
- Coddington -- Bishop Berkeley -- The Cliff Walk -- Newport
- Cottages -- The Casino -- Bellevue Avenue -- Judah Touro --
- Touro Park -- The Old Stone Mill -- Buzzard's Bay --
- Acushnet River -- New Bedford -- The Whale Fishery --
- Clark's Point -- Fort Taber -- Nonquitt -- Vineyard Sound
- -- Bartholomew Gosnold -- No Man's Land -- Elizabeth
- Islands -- Cuttyhunk -- Sakonnet Point -- Hen and Chickens
- -- Sow and Pigs -- Gay Head -- Naushon -- Penikese --
- Nashawena -- Pasque Island -- James Bowdoin -- Wood's Holl
- -- Martha's Vineyard -- Vineyard Haven -- Thomas Mayhew --
- Cottage City -- Edgartown -- Chappaquidick Island -- Cape
- Poge -- Nantucket -- Manshope -- Thomas Macy -- Wesco --
- Whaling -- Nantucket Sound -- Nantucket Shoals -- Nantucket
- Town -- Siasconset -- Wrecks.
-
-
-THE STATE OF RHODE ISLAND.
-
-Narragansett Bay is one of the finest harbors on the New England
-coast. It stretches thirty miles inland, the rivers emptying into it
-making the water-power for the numerous and extensive textile
-factories of Rhode Island, which embraces the shores surrounding and
-the islands within the bay. It opens broadly, having beautiful shores,
-lined with pleasant beaches which dissolve into low cliffs and
-water-worn crags; for the character of the coast gradually changes
-from the sandy borders of Long Island Sound to the rocks of New
-England. Its western boundary, stretching far out into the sea, is the
-famous Point Judith, a long, low, narrow and protruding sandspit
-thrust into the Atlantic, a headland dreaded by the traveller, to whom
-"rounding Point Judith" and its brilliant flashing beacon, thus
-changing the course over the long ocean swells, when voyaging upon a
-Sound steamer, means a great deal in the way of tribute to Neptune.
-This headland was always feared by the mariner, and we are
-romantically told that in the colonial days a storm-tossed vessel was
-driven in towards this shore, her anxious skipper at the wheel, when
-suddenly his bright-eyed daughter, Judith, called out, "Land, father,
-I see the land!" His dim vision not discerning it, he shouted, "Where
-away? Point, Judith, point!" She pointed; he was warned; and quickly
-changing the course, escaped disaster. This story was often repeated,
-so that in time the sailors gave her name to the headland. It is an
-interesting tale, but there are people, more prosaic, who insist that
-the Point was really named after Judith Quincy, wife of John Hull, the
-coiner of the ancient "pine-tree shillings," who bought the land there
-from the Indians. But, however named, and whoever the sponsor, Judith
-is usually well-remembered by those circumnavigating the dreaded
-Point.
-
-Within Narragansett Bay, the chief island is Aquidneck, or Rhode
-Island, about fifteen miles long and of much fertility, having the
-best farm land in New England, and at the southern end the noted
-watering-place of Newport. This island furnishes the first half of the
-long official title of the little State--"Rhode Island and Providence
-Plantations." The memory of the old Narragansett chieftain, Canonicus,
-is preserved in Conanicut Island, west of Rhode Island, and seven
-miles long, there being between the two islands the capacious
-anchorage-ground of Newport Harbor. This island in 1678 was named
-Jamestown in honor of King James, and at its southern end, near the
-ruins of an old British fort, is the famous Beaver Tail Light, the
-guide into Newport harbor, the oldest lighthouse in America, dating
-from 1667. Roger Williams, who founded the "Providence Plantations,"
-distributed various names to the other islands, several of them now
-popular resorts, among these titles, which represent the varying
-phases of his early emotions, being Prudence, Patience, Hope and
-Despair, while some later colonists with different ideas, evidently
-named Dutch Island, Hog Island, and the Starved Goat. Rhode Island is
-the smallest State in the Union, though among the first in
-manufactures, and in wealth proportionately to population. It has
-barely twelve hundred square miles of surface, of which more than
-one-eighth is water, and the highest land, Durfee Hill, is elevated
-only eight hundred feet.
-
-
-THE LAND OF THE NARRAGANSETTS.
-
-The region back of Point Judith and around Narragansett Bay was the
-home of the Narragansett Indians, who were early made, by Roger
-Williams, the friends of the white man. When the Pilgrims landed at
-Plymouth, there were said to be thirty thousand of them, but they were
-afterwards wasted by pestilence, and when Williams fled to Providence
-and was received by them, he said they had twelve towns within twenty
-miles, and five thousand warriors. They fought the Pequots, to the
-westward, but were friendly with the tribes of Massachusetts, to which
-they really gave the name, for, living in a comparatively flat
-country, they described these tribes as belonging "near the great
-hills or mountains," which is the literal meaning of the word, they
-telling Williams it meant the many hills of that State, including the
-"blue hills of Milton." Canonicus and Miantonomoh were the great
-chiefs of the Narragansetts, described by the early colonists as wise,
-brave and magnanimous. The former made the grant of the lands at
-Providence to Roger Williams, and was his firm friend. The latter, the
-nephew and successor of Canonicus, joined the Puritans under Mason at
-Pequot Hill in the attack and defeat of the Pequots. In their original
-theology they looked forward to a mystic realm in the far southwest
-where the gods and pure spirits dwelt, while the souls of murderers,
-thieves and liars were doomed forever to wander abroad. Their
-friendship with the whites ended in 1675, however, when King Philip
-incited them to join in his war, and the colonists attacked them on a
-hill in a pine and cedar swamp near Kingston, west of Narragansett
-Bay, where scanty remains still exist of their fortifications. It was
-in December, amid the winter snows, and after a furious struggle their
-wigwams were fired, and in the most blinding confusion a band of
-warriors dashed out and covered the retreat of fully three thousand of
-their people, leaving the whites in possession. Both sides had heavy
-losses, but the result was the scattering and final annihilation of
-the tribe. This was the famous "Fort Fight in Narragansett," of which
-the memorial of the Connecticut Legislature says, "The bitter cold,
-the tarled swamp, the tedious march, the strong fort, the numerous and
-stubborn enemy they contended with for their God, King and country,
-be their trophies over death."
-
-To the westward, beyond the Rhode Island border, lived Uncas, the
-enemy of Miantonomoh. His domain extended to the river Thames, and he
-had been a chief of the Pequots, who revolted in 1634 against the
-Sachem Sassacus and joined the Mohicans, being chosen their chief
-sachem. He was friendly to the colonists, and by sagacious alliances
-with them increased the power of his tribe, which had previously been
-in a relatively subordinate position. He helped defeat the Pequots,
-and became so strong that he was described as the "most powerful and
-prosperous prince in New England." He sold the shores of the Thames
-River to the whites, reserving a small tract on the river bank, and in
-1660 disposed of the present site of Norwich, Connecticut, to a
-nomadic church from Saybrook, for £70. He held his people friendly to
-the colonists, even in King Philip's war, frequently visited their
-capitals at Hartford and Boston, and after reigning nearly fifty
-years, died in 1683. He is described as crafty, cruel and rapacious,
-but, as the head of a savage people, far-sighted and sagacious;
-skillful and fearless as a military leader. His holding aloof from the
-Indian alliances adverse to the colonists and fighting with the whites
-against the powerful hostile tribes, are regarded as having really
-saved colonial New England. His quarrel with Miantonomoh resulted in
-the battle of Sachem's Plain, on the outskirts of Norwich, in 1643.
-This was then a Mohican village, and Miantonomoh marched to attack it
-with nine hundred Narragansetts, Uncas defending with five hundred
-warriors. By a preconcerted plan, Uncas invited him to a parley, and
-while it was going on, and the Narragansetts were off their guard, the
-Mohicans made a sudden onslaught, defeating and pursuing them for a
-long distance. Hundreds of the Narragansetts were slain, and
-Miantonomoh, being captured, was taken prisoner to the English at
-Hartford. He was ultimately surrendered back to Uncas, who took him
-again to the Sachem's Plain, where he was put to death, the historian
-says, "by the advice and consent of the English magistrates and
-elders." A monument marks the place of execution, inscribed
-"Miantonomoh, 1643." His son, Nanunteno, who succeeded, led the tribe
-into King Philip's war, as he hated the colonists, and being captured,
-he declined to treat with them for a pardon, saying, when threatened
-with death, "I like it well; I shall die before my heart is soft or I
-have spoken anything unworthy of myself," whereupon he was shot. He
-was "acting herein," says old Cotton Mather, "as if, by a Pythagorean
-metempsychosis, some old Roman ghost had possessed the body of this
-Western Pagan, like Attilius Regulus."
-
-A few miles south of Norwich is the ancient fortress of Uncas on a
-hill, and a handful of weak half-breeds are all that remain of his
-famous people. In the city, on Sachem Street, near the Yantic Falls,
-is a little cemetery in a cluster of pine trees. This, centuries ago,
-was the burial-place of the Mohican chiefs, and the whole line of
-sachems is here interred, down to the last of them, Mazeen, buried in
-1826 in the presence of a small remnant of the tribe. Ancient stones
-mark their graves, and in the centre is an obelisk in memory of Uncas,
-of which President Andrew Jackson laid the foundation-stone. The
-Yantic and Shetucket Rivers unite at Norwich to form the Thames, and
-the town has arisen around their admirable water-powers, which serve
-many mills. The city has about twenty thousand people, being in a
-beautiful situation between and on the acclivities adjoining the two
-rivers. The praises of the Yantic Falls were sung by Mrs. Sigourney
-and others, but their glory has departed, for the stream has been
-diverted into another channel, leaving a deep cutting in the hard
-rock, the bottom filled with curiously-piled and water-worn boulders.
-
-
-ASCENDING NARRAGANSETT BAY.
-
-On the western shore of Narragansett Bay, just inside of Point Judith,
-stood the little fishing village of Narragansett Pier, originally
-named from its ancient, sea-battered and ruined pier, built for a
-breakwater in early times, which has since become one of the most
-fashionable New England coast resorts, having many large hotels
-spreading in imposing array along the shore. The smooth sands of its
-bathing-beach look out upon Newport far over the bay and behind
-Conanicut Island in front. Upon the southern border of this beach
-there are precipitous cliffs against which the Atlantic Ocean breakers
-dash, the last rocks on the coast of the United States until the
-Florida reefs are reached. The famous Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry
-was a native of this town, born in 1785, a midshipman in the war with
-Tripoli, and the victor in the naval battle on Lake Erie in 1813. His
-brother, Commodore M. C. Perry, born in Newport in 1794, commanded the
-noted expedition to Japan in 1852-54, and concluded the treaty with
-that country, cementing the friendly relations with the United States
-ever since existing. The celebrated portrait painter Gilbert Stuart
-was also a native of this place, born in 1755, his portrait of
-Washington being regarded as the best existing. The western shores of
-the bay north of the Pier are lined with coast resorts. Here is quaint
-old Wickford, on Coweset Bay, which has a ferry twelve miles across to
-Newport, and still exhibits the "Rolling Rock," where Canonicus and
-Roger Williams are said to have signed their compact, and the old
-Blockhouse built for a defense in 1641. Farther northward is the
-ancient Shawomet, whither Samuel Gorton came, changing its name to Old
-Warwick in honor of his friend and patron, the Earl of Warwick. It
-appears that Gorton, a layman, who had a penchant for theological
-disputation, made himself obnoxious to the Plymouth Puritans in the
-early colonial time, and they banished him in 1637. He went to Newport
-and expressed his opinions too freely, and was banished thence in
-1641. Wandering to Providence, he was driven from there to Cranston,
-nearby, the next year, and again expelled from Cranston a few months
-later, and he finally settled at Shawomet. But they still pursued him,
-and in 1643 a detachment of troops came from Boston and took him and
-ten others back as prisoners, and they were tried and sentenced as
-"damnable heretics" to banishment from America. Gorton sought
-Warwick's protection, and the Earl sent him back to Shawomet, where he
-lived undisturbed, but, after changing its name, spent the rest of his
-life in publishing pamphlets attacking Massachusetts and Rhode Island,
-among them being the "Antidote Against Pharisaic Teachers" and
-"Simplicitie's Defence against Seven-Headed Policy." The next thing of
-note occurring in Warwick was the disfranchisement, in 1652, of the
-clerk of the unfortunate town on seven charges: first, calling the
-officers of the town rogues and thieves; second, calling all the town
-rogues and thieves; third, threatening to kill all the mares in town,
-etc. In 1676 the Indians attacked and burnt it, and since, it has had
-little history. General Greene was a native of Warwick, born in 1742.
-
-In sailing up Narragansett Bay, one is struck with the universality
-of the prolific crop of these waters,--the clam. Many of the
-inhabitants seem to spend much of their time gathering them; men and
-boys in boats are dredging all the coves and shallows for the clams,
-seizing enormous numbers by the skillful use of their handy double
-rakes. These people are proud of their home institution, the Rhode
-Island "clam-bake," which is a main-stay of all the shore resorts, and
-is considered a connecting link, binding them to the Narragansetts,
-who originated it. To properly conduct the "clam-bake" a wood fire is
-built in the open air, upon a layer of large stones, and when these
-are sufficiently heated, the embers and ashes are swept off, the hot
-stones covered with sea-weed, and clams in the shells, with other
-delicacies, put upon it, being enveloped by masses of sea-weed and
-sail-cloths to keep in the steam. The clams are thus baked by the
-heated stones, and steamed and seasoned by the moisture from the salt
-sea-weed. The coverings are then removed, the clams opened, and the
-feasting begins. With appetite whetted by the delicious breezes coming
-over the bright waters of the bay, the meal is relished beyond
-description. There are millions of clams thus consumed, but their
-growth is enormous, and the supply seems perennial. The chief of these
-places is Rocky Point, a forest-covered promontory, the favorite
-resort of the population of the Rhode Island capital, where the
-"clam-bakes" have acquired great fame.
-
-
-ROGER WILLIAMS.
-
-There flows southeastward out of Massachusetts the Blackstone River
-into Rhode Island, and going over Pawtucket Falls it then becomes for
-a brief space the Pawtucket River, and finally, at its mouth, the
-Seeconk River, making part of Providence harbor and one of the heads
-of Narragansett Bay. The shores of this river swarm with industrial
-operatives, for its valley is one of the greatest regions of textile
-mills in the world, and half the people of Rhode Island live in the
-chief city on its banks, Providence. Nine centuries ago the Norsemen
-are said to have sailed up into this region, which they called
-Vinland, but the first settlement was not made until 1636. The brave
-and pious Welshman, Roger Williams, the heretical Salem preacher whom
-the Puritans in 1635 banished from Massachusetts, went afoot through
-the forest to the Seeconk Plains along the lower Blackstone River, and
-halting there, lived with the Narragansetts, who were always his firm
-friends. But the wrathful Puritans would not long permit this, and
-ordered him to move on, so that in the spring of 1636, with five
-companions, he embarked in a log canoe and floated down the Seeconk
-River, his movements being watched by Indian groups upon the banks. He
-crossed over the stream finally, and landed on what has since been
-called "What Cheer Rock," on the eastern edge of Providence, thus
-named because, when Williams stepped ashore, some of the Indians
-saluted him with the pleasant greeting, "What cheer, Notop?"
-(friend)--words that are still carefully preserved throughout
-Providence and the State in the names of banks, buildings, and various
-associations. He regarded this as a decidedly good omen, and started a
-settlement, calling it Providence, "in grateful acknowledgment of
-God's merciful providence to him in his distress." His exalted piety
-was beyond question, and not only is the religious spirit in which the
-city was founded indicated by its name, but even in the titles of the
-streets are incorporated the cardinal virtues and the higher emotions,
-as in Joy Street, Faith Street, Happy Street, Hope Street, Friendship
-Street, Benefit Street, Benevolent Street, and many more. We are told
-that his early colonists adopted the Indian foods, such as parched
-corn, which the aborigines called "anhuminea," from which has come the
-name of hominy, and the famous Narragansett mixture of corn and beans,
-the "m'sickquatash," which has become succotash.
-
-Roger Williams in Rhode Island, in 1639, became a Baptist, and the
-"Society of the First Baptist Church," which he founded that year in
-Providence, claims to be the oldest Baptist organization in America.
-But Williams seems to have been somewhat unstable, for he only
-remained with this church as pastor four years, then withdrawing, as
-he had grave doubts of the validity of his own baptism. It appears
-that when this church was started, a layman, Ezekiel Holliman, first
-baptized Williams, and then Williams baptized Holliman and the others.
-When he withdrew, it was not only from the pastoral relation, but he
-ceased worshipping with the brethren, and his conscientious scruples
-finally brought him to the conclusion that there is "no regularly
-constituted church on earth, nor any person authorized to administer
-any church ordinance, nor could there be until new apostles were sent
-by the great Head of the Church, for whose coming he was seeking."
-During many years thereafter he held his religious meetings in a
-grove. This venerable Baptist society which Roger Williams founded
-built a new church in 1726, and in its honor they had a "grand
-dinner." The elaborate banquet of those primitive days consisted of
-the whole congregation dining upon one sheep, one pound of butter, two
-loaves of bread, and a peck of peas, at a cost of twenty-seven
-shillings. Their white wooden church, with its surmounting steeple,
-overlooks the city from a slope rising above Providence River.
-
-
-THE CITY OF PROVIDENCE.
-
-Providence is beautifully situated on the hills at the head of
-Narragansett Bay, and its centre is a fine new Union Railway Station,
-completed in 1897. Near by is the massive City Hall, one of the chief
-public buildings in Rhode Island, a granite structure costing
-$1,500,000. In high relief upon its front is a medallion bust of the
-founder of the little State, Roger Williams, wearing the typical
-sugar-loaf hat. A feature of this impressive building is the
-magnificent stair-hall, lighted from above; and from the surmounting
-tower there is a wide view over the city and suburbs, and far down the
-bay towards the ocean. In front is the public square, with a stately
-Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument of blue Westerly granite, bearing the
-names of nearly seventeen hundred men of Rhode Island who fell in the
-Civil War, and guarded by well-executed bronze statues representing
-the different arms of the service. Facing it is a statue in heroic
-bronze of the Rhode Island General Burnside, who died in 1881. These
-works are artistic, but the priceless art gem in Providence is the
-exquisite little picture of "The Hours," painted on a sheet of ivory
-six by seven inches, in London, by the great portrait and miniature
-painter, Edward Greene Malbone, of Newport--the three Grecian nymphs,
-Eunomia, Dice and Irene, representing the Past, Present and Future.
-The President of the Royal Academy said of it, "I have seen a picture,
-painted by a young man of the name of Malbone, which no man in England
-could excel." This is his masterpiece, one of the most admired
-paintings in America, and is kept carefully in the Athenæum (to which
-it was presented by a public subscription in 1853), a solid little
-granite house built on the hillside, not far from the Baptist church.
-
-Farther up this hill are the campus and rows of buildings of Brown
-University, the great Rhode Island Baptist College with seven hundred
-students, founded in 1764, and bearing the name of one of the leading
-families of the wealthy manufacturing house of Brown & Ives. The
-campus is shaded with fine old elms, and some of the newer buildings
-are handsome and elaborate structures. Around this university, and all
-through the extensive suburbs, are the splendid homes of the
-capitalists and mill-owners of the State, who have made this hill,
-rising between the Providence and Seeconk Rivers, the most attractive
-residential section. Benefit Street, on the hill, is lined with the
-palaces of these textile millionaires. Providence is, in fact, a city
-of many hills, and its houses are mostly of wood. Extensive sections
-can be traversed without seeing a single brick or stone building.
-There is a large railway traffic, but only a small trade by sea,
-beyond bringing coal and cotton, though the city formerly enjoyed an
-extensive China trade. Like all the Rhode Island towns it has many
-mills and much wealth, and there are thirty or forty banks to take
-care of its money. Besides textiles, its mills make locomotives and
-Corliss steam-engines, silverware and jewelry, cigars, rifles and
-stoves, gimlet-pointed wood-screws, tortoise-shell work and cocoanut
-dippers, cottonseed and peanut oils, and many other things, not
-overlooking the famous "Pain-killer," for the ills of humanity, which
-is consumed by the hundred thousand gallons in all parts of the world.
-The "Pain-killer" factory was always one of the lions of the town,
-although now the new Rhode Island State House, finished in 1898, also
-commands great public admiration. This is a huge dome-surmounted
-building in Renaissance, constructed of Georgia marble and pink
-granite. But Providence, above everything else, reveres the memory of
-Roger Williams, who died in 1683, and is interred in the old North
-Burying Ground. On Abbott Street is carefully preserved, as a precious
-relic, a small old house with quaint peaked roof, built in the
-seventeenth century, and reverenced as the place where he held some of
-his religious meetings. His bronze statue ornaments the Roger Williams
-Park to which Broad Street leads, a beautiful tract of about one
-hundred acres, surrounding the quaint gambrel-roofed house in which
-lived his great-great-granddaughter, Betsy Williams, for many years,
-who gave this domain to the city in 1871, as her tribute to his
-memory. Here are refreshments served at "What Cheer Cottage." But the
-most treasured memorial of the founder is his original landing-place
-of "What Cheer Rock," where the Indians greeted him alongside the
-Seeconk River,--a pile of slaty rocks, enclosed by a railing, near the
-foot of Williams Street, down by the waterside.
-
-
-PROVIDENCE TO WORCESTER.
-
-We ascend the Seeconk River to Pawtucket, about five miles distant, a
-busy manufacturing town of thirty thousand people, noted as the place
-where Samuel Slater introduced the cotton manufacture into the United
-States in 1790, the original Slater mill still standing. The Pawtucket
-Falls of fifty feet give the valuable water-power which has made the
-place, and here are some of the greatest thread factories in the
-world. The town extends up into the villages of Central and Valley
-Falls, and the enormous power furnished by the river is drawn upon at
-different levels from several dams. All sorts of cotton textiles,
-muslins and calicoes are made, and the slopes running up from the
-valley, with the plateaus above, are covered with the operatives'
-houses. This town has the most attractive situation on the Blackstone
-River, which here changes its name to the Pawtucket, and finally to
-the Seeconk. Samuel Slater, who started it, was a native of Belper, in
-Derbyshire, England, having worked there for both Strutt and
-Arkwright, the fathers of the textile industries. Learning that
-American bounties had been offered for the introduction of Arkwright's
-patents in cotton-spinning, he crossed the ocean, landing at Newport
-in 1789. Here he heard that Moses Brown had attempted cotton-spinning
-by machinery in Rhode Island. He wrote Brown, telling what he could
-do, and received a reply in which Brown said his attempt had been
-unsuccessful, and added: "If thou canst do this thing, I invite thee
-to come to Rhode Island and have the credit and the profit of
-introducing cotton manufacture into America." Slater went to
-Pawtucket, and on December 21, 1790, he started three carding-machines
-and spinning-frames of seventy-two spindles. He afterwards became very
-prominent, building large mills at Pawtucket and elsewhere, and the
-impetus thus given the place made it the leading American
-manufacturing centre for a half-century. The Indian name of the falls
-was retained by the city.
-
-The Blackstone River was named after the recluse Anglican clergyman,
-Rev. William Blackstone, who, as heretofore stated, first settled
-Boston about 1625. When he found, after a brief experience, that he
-could not get on with the Puritan colonists, who came in there too
-numerously, he sold out and "retired into the wilderness." He wandered
-for over forty miles into the forests, and during more than forty
-years made his home on the banks of this stream among the Indians, not
-far above Pawtucket Falls. He lived there in his hermit home at Study
-Hill among his books, the river rushing by, and the Providence and
-Worcester Branch of the New Haven Consolidated Railroad now cuts its
-route deeply through his hill, running among the dams, and in some
-cases over them, on its way up the busy valley of this very crooked
-river. Its waters, which do such good service for so many mills,
-become more and more polluted as they descend, so that its lower
-course is a malodorous and dark-colored stream. The river is about
-forty-five miles long, rising in the hills adjacent to Worcester and
-flowing in winding reaches towards the southeast, descending over five
-hundred feet to Providence. The mills, however, have grown vastly
-beyond its capacity as a water-power, so that auxiliary steam is now
-largely used. Numerous ponds and other feeders accumulate a vast
-amount of water for the Blackstone in Southern Massachusetts, and its
-lower course for nearly thirty miles is a succession of dams, canals
-and mills, making one of the greatest factory districts in existence.
-Over a half-million people work and live in this busy valley, the
-operatives being chiefly French Canadians, Swedes, and the various
-British races, the French preponderating in some of the towns. The
-Yankees long ago left, seeking better pay elsewhere, being replaced by
-a more contented people satisfied to work in mills. Most of the huge
-factories lining the river are owned by wealthy corporations having
-their head offices in Boston or Providence, and it is said that, the
-buildings being without signs or names, many of the operatives
-actually do not know who they work for. These mills are four and five
-stories high, often a thousand feet long, with hundreds of windows and
-ponderous stairway-towers.
-
-Ascending the river, the factory settlements of Lonsdale, Ashton,
-Albion and Manville are passed, and we come to Woonsocket Hill, one of
-the highest in Rhode Island. Here the river goes around various bends
-admirably arranged for conducting its waters through the mills, and
-the town of Woonsocket is built where twenty thousand people make
-cotton and woollen cloths, the noted "Harris cassimere" having been
-long the chief manufacture at the Social Mills. To the northward,
-Woonsocket spreads into the towns of Blackstone and Waterford, also
-industrial hives; and finally, having followed the river up to its
-sources, the route leads to Worcester, the second city of
-Massachusetts, forty-five miles west of Boston, styled the "heart of
-the Commonwealth," with a population of over one hundred thousand
-people. Its chief newspaper, the _Massachusetts Spy_, is noted as
-having actually started as a spy upon the royalists in the exciting
-times preceding the Revolutionary War, and is still a prosperous
-publication. It was at a Worcester banquet in 1776 that the "Sons of
-Freedom" drank the noted toast: "May the freedom and independence of
-America endure till the sun grows dim with age and this earth returns
-to chaos; perpetual itching without the benefit of scratching to the
-enemies of America!" Worcester is a great manufacturing city, but has
-almost lost its New England population from the steady Yankee
-migration westward, they being replaced in its numerous mills by
-French Canadians, Swedes and Irish, the latter predominating. It has a
-noble Soldiers' Monument, a splendid railway station, and the fine
-buildings of the Massachusetts Lunatic Asylum standing on the highest
-hill in the suburbs. Its new white marble City Hall, completed in
-1898, is an imposing edifice. The huge Washburn & Moen Wire Works are
-on Salisbury Pond, in the outskirts. Among the interesting old
-dwellings is the Bancroft House, where the historian, George Bancroft,
-was born, in 1800, dying in 1891. The great attraction of Worcester is
-Lake Quinsigamond, on the eastern verge, a long, deep, narrow loch,
-stretching among the hills four miles away, with little gems of
-islands and villa-bordered shores. Scattered over the distant rim of
-enclosing hills are several typical Yankee villages, with their
-church-spires set against the horizon. Worcester had a chequered
-colonial career, the Indians repeatedly driving out the early
-settlers, until they built a fortress-like church on the Common, where
-each man attended on the Sabbath, carrying his musket. These resolute
-colonists were Puritans, bent on enforcing their own ideas, for when a
-few Scotch Presbyterians came in 1720, and built a church of that
-creed, it was declared a "cradle of heresy" and demolished. A
-considerable number of the French Acadians, exiled from Nova Scotia in
-the eighteenth century, came to Worcester, and their descendants are
-now among its prominent people.
-
-New England, as is well known, was forced to adopt manufacturing,
-because the inhabitants could not extract a living from the soil. It
-is difficult to say where is the most sterile region, but in
-Massachusetts it seems to be generally agreed that the town of Ware,
-on the Ware River, northwest of Worcester, is hard to beat in this
-respect. It is a picturesquely located mill-village, with a soil that
-is stony and sterile. The original grant of the land was made to
-soldiers as a reward for bravery in King Philip's War. They thankfully
-accepted the gift and went there, but after examination left, and sold
-all their domain at the rate of about two cents an acre. President
-Dwight, of Yale College, rode through the town, but never wanted to
-see it again, saying regretfully, in describing the land: "It is like
-self-righteousness; the more a man has of it, the poorer he is."
-Someone wrote a poem describing the creation of the place, of which
-this a specimen stanza:
-
- "Dame Nature once, while making land,
- Had refuse left of stone and sand.
- She viewed it well, then threw it down
- Between Coy's Hill and Belchertown,
- And said, 'You paltry stuff, lie there,
- And make a town, and call it Ware.'"
-
-
-MOUNT HOPE BAY.
-
-On the northeastern verge of Narragansett Bay is Mount Hope Bay, its
-shores attractive alike in lovely scenery and the most interesting
-tradition. It is also a region of most venerable antiquity in
-America. Hither came the ancient Norsemen Vikings, who explored it,
-and sojourned there almost a thousand years ago. These wandering
-Norsemen, early colonizing Iceland and Greenland, are said to have
-discovered the mainland of North America in the tenth century, the
-energetic Leif, a son of Eric the Red, afterwards, in the year 1001,
-sailing along the American coast, and finding first, Helluland, or the
-"Flat Land," supposed to be Newfoundland, then Mark Land, or the "Wood
-Land," now Nova Scotia, and Vinland, or the "Vine Land," being the
-coasts of Massachusetts and Rhode Island, and wintering in
-Narragansett and Mount Hope Bays. The next year Leif's brother,
-Thorvald, came along these coasts with thirty men, and also passed a
-winter in Mount Hope Bay. The following season he sent a party of
-explorers hither, and in the year 1004 he again came personally, and
-was killed in a skirmish with the Indians, his companions returning to
-Greenland. There seem to have been subsequent Norsemen visits, and the
-name of Vinland was given by them on account of the profusion of vines
-growing on the shores and islands, which was a novelty to these
-wanderers from the far north.
-
-Mount Hope Bay is the broadening estuary of Taunton Great River, and
-the elongated peninsula of Bristol Neck divides it from Narragansett
-Bay to the westward, stretching up to Providence. Upon Taunton Great
-River is a magnificent water-power which has produced the success of
-Taunton, a busy manufacturing town of thirty thousand people, where
-they make locomotives and tacks, bricks, screws and britannia ware,
-its name coming from Taunton in Somersetshire, its founder having been
-Elizabeth Pool, a pious Puritan lady of that place. When the first
-settlers explored the river they made a wonderful antiquarian
-discovery. Upon the shore, below Taunton, and opposite what are now
-the gardens and pleasure-grounds of Dighton, was found the famous
-"Writing Rock," lying partly submerged by the waterside, and when the
-tide is out, presenting a smooth face slightly inclined towards the
-river. It is a large greenstone boulder, the color changed to dusky
-red by the elements, and it now has the faint impression of
-hieroglyphics on its surface that have been almost effaced by the
-action of the water. In the early colonial days these marks were very
-distinct, and even after the beginning of the nineteenth century they
-could be plainly distinguished from the deck of a passing vessel.
-These inscriptions on the Dighton rock excited much wonder, and were
-generally attributed to the Norsemen. Old Cotton Mather described it,
-saying that among the "curiosities of New England, one is that of a
-mighty rock, on a perpendicular side whereof, by a river which at high
-tide covers part of it, there are very deeply engraved, no man alive
-knows how or when, about half a score lines, near ten foot long and a
-foot and a half broad, filled with strange characters." Another
-learned man speaks of them as "Punic inscriptions which remain to this
-day," made by the Phoenicians. Below, and near Fall River, many
-years ago, there was exhumed a skeleton in sitting posture, wearing a
-brass breast-plate and a belt of brass armor. Much marvel resulted
-from this important discovery, which was thought to have produced a
-veritable dead Viking, and it is said to have inspired Longfellow's
-poem of "The Skeleton in Armor":
-
- "Speak! speak! thou fearful guest!
- Who, with thy hollow breast
- Still in rude armor drest,
- Comest to daunt me!
-
- "Wrapt not in Eastern balms,
- But with thy fleshless palms
- Stretched, as if asking alms,
- Why dost thou haunt me?"
-
-Thus he answers:
-
- "I was a Viking old!
- My deeds, though manifold,
- No Skald in song has told,
- No Saga taught thee!
-
- "Take heed, that in thy verse,
- Thou dost the tale rehearse,
- Else dread a dead man's curse;
- For this I sought thee."
-
-And then the poet unfolds his weird and romantic history. Despite the
-Norsemen traditions, however, it is regarded as more probable that
-both the hieroglyphics and the skeleton were of Indian origin.
-
-
-KING PHILIP.
-
-Upon the western shore of Mount Hope Bay is the town of Bristol,
-quiet, with wide, grassy, tree-shaded streets leading down to the
-waterside, now a pleasant summer-resort, having a ferry over to Fall
-River. Farther up the peninsula is Warren, with its factories. In
-Bristol rises the splendid isolated eminence of Mount Hope, which
-gives the bay its name. Its rounded summit is a mass of quartzite
-rock, almost covered by grass. It is hardly three hundred feet high,
-but being the most elevated spot anywhere around, has a grand outlook,
-every town in Rhode Island being visible from it, and all the islands
-of Narragansett Bay, while far to the southward, upon distant
-Aquidneck, Newport gleams in the sunlight. Eastward, across Mount Hope
-Bay, the city of Fall River, with its rising terraces of huge granite
-mills, is built apparently into the sloping side of a ledge of rocks.
-Upon this mountain lived the famous chief, King Philip, and from it,
-with his warrior band, he sallied forth to carry slaughter and rapine
-among the Puritan settlements. The eastern side of Mount Hope falls
-off precipitously to the bay, and when he was finally surprised by the
-colonists in his lair, he is said to have rolled down this steep
-declivity like a barrel. The mountain top is now known as "King
-Philip's Seat;" there is a natural excavation in the mountain side,
-called "King Philip's Throne;" and from the foot the waters of
-"Philip's Spring" flow away, a little purling brook, out to Taunton
-River. One disgruntled early colonial annalist described the place as
-"Philip's Sty at Mount Hope." The greatest tradition of this region
-tells of the ambush, surprise and death of this famous sachem, the
-"Last of the Wampanoags."
-
-The name of Wampanoag means "the men of the East Land," or the Indians
-to the eastward of Narragansett Bay. When the Pilgrims landed at
-Plymouth, the noted Massasoit was the Grand Sachem of the Wampanoags,
-or Pokanokets, whose territory embraced most of the country from
-Narragansett Bay to Cape Cod. The tribe had previously numbered thirty
-thousand, but a pestilence had reduced them to a small figure, barely
-three hundred, not long before the arrival of the "Mayflower."
-Massasoit felt his weakness and made friends with the colonists, his
-treaties of peace being faithfully kept for a half-century. The old
-sachem lived north of Mount Hope, at Sowamset, now the town of Warren,
-where his favorite "Massasoit Spring" still pours out its libations.
-He died in 1661, at the age of eighty, leaving two sons, Mooanum and
-Metacomet. Shortly after his death, these sons went to Plymouth to
-confirm the treaties with the whites, and were so much pleased with
-their reception that they asked to be given English names. The
-colonial court accordingly conferred upon them the names of Alexander
-and Philip. The former was chief sachem, but died within a year,
-Philip succeeding. During the next decade he lived in comparative
-friendliness, but was always unsatisfied and restless. He grew to
-distrust the colonists, and never could be made to comprehend their
-religion. When John Eliot, the Indian apostle, who converted so many,
-preached before him, Philip pulled a button off Eliot's doublet,
-saying in contempt that he valued it more than the discourse, a remark
-which led pious old Cotton Mather to exclaim, in horror, "the
-monster!" It was not long before the peaceful relations were broken,
-and, after 1671, Philip travelled among the tribes throughout New
-England, exciting them to a crusade against the colonists, and forming
-a powerful league, including the Narragansetts, who had been friendly.
-The result was the most desolating Indian war from which the colonies
-ever suffered. The whites were everywhere attacked, but made heroic
-defense, and in 1675-6 they defeated all the tribes, the Narragansetts
-and Wampanoags being practically annihilated.
-
-
-KING PHILIP'S DEATH.
-
-Defeated, and left without resources, the savage king was then hunted
-from one place to another, finally seeking refuge in his eyrie on
-Mount Hope, with a handful of followers. Here Captain Church attacked
-him, and on August 12, 1676, he was killed by a bullet fired by an
-Indian. In Church's annals of that terrible war the story is told of
-the death of this chief, the last of his line. Philip was ambushed and
-completely surprised on the mountain, and running away, rolled down
-its side, the Indians trying to escape through a swamp at the foot.
-The attacking party was posted around the swamp in couples, hidden
-from view. Philip, partly clad, ran directly towards two of the
-ambush, an Englishman and an Indian. The former fired, but missed him;
-then the Indian fired twice, sending one bullet through his heart and
-the other not more than two inches from it. Philip fell dead upon his
-face in the mud and water; most of his companions escaped. In Church's
-recital is told what followed:
-
-"Captain Church ordered Philip's body to be pulled out of the mire on
-to the upland. So some of Captain Church's Indians took hold of him by
-his stockings, and some by his small breeches, being otherwise naked,
-and drew him through the mud to the upland; and a doleful, great,
-naked, dirty beast he looked like. Captain Church then said that,
-forasmuch as he had caused many an Englishman's body to lie unburied
-and rot above ground, not one of his bones should be buried. And,
-calling his old executioner, bid him behead and quarter him.
-Accordingly he came with his hatchet and stood over him, but before he
-struck, he made a small speech, directing it to Philip, and said 'he
-had been a very great man, and had made many a man afraid of him, but
-so big as he was, he would now chop him in pieces.' And so went to
-work and did as he was ordered. Philip having one very remarkable
-hand, being very much scarred, occasioned by the splitting of a pistol
-in it formerly, Captain Church gave the head and that hand to
-Aldermon, the Indian who shot him, to show to such gentlemen as would
-bestow gratuities upon him, and accordingly he got many a penny by it.
-This being on the last day of the week, the Captain with his company
-returned to the island (Aquidneck), tarried there until Tuesday, and
-then went off and ranged through all the woods to Plymouth, and
-received their premium, which was 30 shillings per head for the
-enemies which they had killed or taken, instead of all wages, and
-Philip's head went at the same price. Methinks it is scanty reward and
-poor encouragement, though it was better than what had been some time
-before. For this much they received four shillings and sixpence a man,
-which was all the reward they had, except the honor of killing
-Philip."
-
-When the party brought Philip's head to Plymouth, the Puritan meeting
-was celebrating a solemn thanksgiving, and quoting, again, the words
-of old Cotton Mather, "God sent them in the head of a leviathan for a
-thanksgiving feast." This head was exposed on a gibbet at Plymouth for
-twenty years, as the arch-enemy of the colony. But things were
-different afterwards. The "monster" of the seventeenth century became
-a martyr in the nineteenth century. Irving wrote King Philip's
-biography; Southey was his bard; and Edwin Forrest nobly impersonated
-him. Thus the great Metacomet, in the light of history, is regarded as
-sinned against as well as sinning, for he was trying to drive the
-invader from his native land. The resistless westward march of the
-white man overcame him, the first of a long line of famous Indians to
-fall in front of American colonization.
-
-
-FALL RIVER.
-
-Across Mount Hope Bay is Fall River, in Massachusetts, now the leading
-American city in cotton-spinning and the manufacture of print cloths.
-Its huge granite mills stand in ranks, like the platoons of a marching
-regiment, upon the successive rising terraces of the eastern shore.
-Nestling among the hills above the town are the extensive Watuppa
-ponds, long and narrow lakes, spreading eight or ten miles back upon
-the higher plateau. These, with other tributary ponds, cover about
-twelve square miles surface, discharging through a comparatively small
-stream, yet one carrying a large volume of water. This is the Fall
-River, dammed at the outlet of the ponds, and barely two miles long,
-but running so steeply down hill that within about eight hundred yards
-distance it descends one hundred and thirty-six feet, thus being
-appropriately named, and in turn giving its name to the town gathered
-around this admirable water-power. The mills, however, have grown so
-far beyond the ability of the water-wheels that they now run chiefly
-by steam, and Fall River has a population approximating one hundred
-thousand. The prolific granite quarries in the surrounding hills have
-furnished the stone for these imposing mills, and also for the chief
-buildings. Although a New England manufacturing city of the first
-rank, it is not a Yankee settlement, for the operatives are chiefly
-English, Irish, Welsh and French Canadians. When the settlement began,
-it was called Freetown, and afterwards Troy, but the name of the
-stream finally became so popular that the others were discarded, and
-Fall River was adopted officially upon its incorporation as a city.
-The rocky environment enabled it to cheaply construct the grand mill
-buildings, and thus had much to do with its success.
-
-
-NEWPORT OF AQUIDNECK.
-
-The eastern side of Narragansett Bay is chiefly occupied by Aquidneck,
-or Rhode Island, upon which is the queen of American seaside resorts,
-Newport. Aquidneck is the Indian "Isle of Peace," the word literally
-meaning "floating on the water," and its southwestern extremity
-broadens into a wide peninsula of almost level and quite fertile land,
-making a plateau elevated about fifty feet above the sea. The island
-is fifteen miles long and from three to four miles wide, and this
-plateau rests upon rock, the strata making cliffs all around it, with
-coves worked into them by the waters, presenting smooth sand beaches
-having intervening bold promontories. The southeastern border of this
-plateau, facing the Atlantic, has an irregular front of little bays
-and projections, with the waves dashing against the bases of the
-cliffs and among the rocks profusely strewn beyond them. Behind the
-western extremity of the island is Brenton's Point, projecting in such
-a way as to protect the inner harbor of Newport. Here are the wharves,
-facing the westward, and the ancient part of the town, its narrow
-streets and older houses covering considerable surface. The harbor is
-protected by a breakwater, and beyond is Conanicut Island. This was
-"Charming Newport of Aquidneck," as the colonial histories recorded
-it, then a leading seaport of New England. Thames Street, fronting it,
-was, in the eighteenth century, one of the busiest highways of
-America. Protecting the harbor entrance, upon Brenton's Point, is Fort
-Adams, which was a formidable fortification before modern-gunnery
-improvements superseded the old systems, and, next to Fortress Monroe,
-it is the largest defensive work in the United States, having
-accommodations for a garrison of three thousand men. It was built
-during the Presidency of John Adams, and named for him, being then
-hurried to completion as a defense against French attacks, war with
-that country seeming to be imminent, and the French particularly
-desiring to possess Newport. All around the ancient town, and
-spreading over the plateau, to which the surface slopes upward in
-gentle ascent from the harbor, is the modern Newport of the American
-nineteenth century multi-millionaires. From the older town, southward
-across the plateau, stretches the chief street, Bellevue Avenue,
-through the fashionable residential district.
-
-William Coddington, whose name is preserved in various ways, but whose
-descendants are said to have been degenerate, founded Newport. He led
-a band of dissenters from the Puritan church in Massachusetts and
-bought Aquidneck from the Indians, starting his colony in 1639. Most
-of the earlier settlers, in fact, were people of various religious
-sects driven out of the strictly Puritan New England towns. Having
-abandoned England because they objected to a State Church, we are told
-that the Puritans forthwith proceeded to set up in Massachusetts what
-was very like a State Church of their own, and soon made it hot for
-the unbelievers. They drove out both William Blackstone and Roger
-Williams. Blackstone, when he had to go over the border and establish
-his hermitage at Study Hill on Blackstone River, said: "I came from
-England because I did not like the Lords Bishops, but I cannot join
-with you, because I would not be under the Lords Brethren." After
-Blackstone and Williams, many others came to Rhode Island and settled
-at Newport, for there they enjoyed the completest liberty of
-conscience. The Quakers were unmolested and came in large numbers; the
-Baptists flocked in and built a meeting-house; the Hebrews came, solid
-business men, originally from Portugal, and established the first
-synagogue in the United States; the sternest doctrines of the
-Calvinists were preached; the Moravians held their impressive
-love-feasts; and orthodox Churchmen fervently prayed for the English
-King. There were all shades of belief, and dissenters of all ilks, and
-many having no belief at all, so that the fair town on Aquidneck was
-pervaded with such an atmosphere of religious toleration and
-cosmopolitan irregularity that it became famous for its sharp contrast
-with the stern rigidity of New England. Hence it was not unnatural
-that at the opening of the nineteenth century President Dwight should
-have declared that an alleged laxity of morals in Stonington was due
-to "its nearness to Rhode Island." But despite these peculiarities the
-Newport colony got on well, so that the growing settlement on the
-"Isle of Peace" in time came to be designated as the "Eden of
-America." Dean Berkeley, afterwards Bishop, visited Newport in 1729,
-remaining several years, and gave the colony an elevated literary
-tone. An Utopian plan for converting the Indians brought him over from
-England, but he soon discovered that it was impracticable, and went
-back home to become a Bishop. His favorite resort is shown at the part
-of the Newport Cliffs called the "Hanging Rocks," and it is said he
-there composed his _Alciphron, or the Minute Philosopher_, and the
-noble lyric closing with the famous verse proclaiming the patriotic
-prophecy which Leutze made the subject of his grand mural painting in
-the Capitol at Washington:
-
- "Westward the course of empire takes its way."
-
-
-NEWPORT DEVELOPMENT.
-
-Newport, before the Revolution, was a most important seaport. When
-Dean Berkeley was there it had about forty-five hundred inhabitants,
-and they had grown to twelve thousand when the Revolution began. The
-preceding half-century was the era of its greatest maritime
-prosperity, when Newport ships circumnavigated the globe. The
-salubrity of the climate and advantages of the harbor providing safe
-anchorage but a few miles from the ocean attracted many merchants and
-a large trade, and in those days the Quakers and the Hebrews were the
-leading citizens. In 1770 Boston alone surpassed Newport in the extent
-of its trade, which then was much greater than that of New York. It
-was about this time that a visitor to New York wrote back to the
-_Newport Mercury_ that "at its present rate of progress, New York will
-soon be as large as Newport." The Revolutionary War, however, almost
-ruined the town, and annihilated its commerce. The port was at first
-held by the English, and afterwards by the French, both battering and
-maltreating it, so that it emerged from the conflict in a dilapidated
-condition, with the population reduced to barely five thousand. The
-French learned to love the attractive island, and sought earnestly
-after the war to have it annexed to France, in return for the aid
-given the Americans, but Washington strongly opposed this and
-prevented it. The trade was gone, never to return, the merchants went
-away to Providence, New York and Boston, and it existed in quiet and
-uneventful neglect until the nineteenth century had made some
-progress, when people began seeking its pleasant shores for summer
-recreation. In 1840 two hotels were built, and this began the
-_renaissance_. The Civil War made vast fortunes, and their owners
-sought Newport, and it has since become the great summer home of the
-fashionable world of America, where they can, in friendly rivalry,
-make the most lavish displays possible for wealth to accomplish at a
-seaside resort.
-
-Unlike most American watering-places, Newport is not an aggregation of
-hotels and lodging-houses, but it is pre-eminently a gathering of the
-costliest and most elaborate suburban homes this country can show.
-Built upon the extensive space surrounding the older town, and between
-it and the ocean, south and east, modern Newport is a galaxy of large
-and expensive country-houses, each in an enclosure of lawns,
-flower-gardens and foliage, highly ornamental and exceedingly well
-kept. Many of them are spacious palaces upon which enormous sums have
-been expended; and in front of their lawns, for several miles along
-the winding brow of the cliffs that fall off precipitously to the
-ocean's edge, is laid the noted "Cliff Walk." This is a narrow
-footpath at the edge of the greensward that has the waves dashing
-against the bases of the rocks supporting it, while inland, beyond the
-lawns, are the noble palaces of Newport. Each is a type of different
-architecture, and no matter how grand and imposing, each is called a
-"cottage." The greatest rivalry has been shown in construction, and
-the styles cover all known methods of building--Gothic, Elizabethan,
-Tudor, Swiss, Flemish, French, with every sort of ancient house in
-Britain or Continental Europe, imitated and improved upon, and in some
-cases widely varying systems being condensed together. Some of these
-"cottages" have thus become piles of buildings, with all sorts of
-porticos, doorways, pavilions, dormers, oriels, bow-windows, bays and
-turrets, towers, chimneys, gambrel roofs and gables, the whole being
-charmingly elaborated into wide-spreading, imposing and sometimes
-astonishing houses. Occasionally the villa is elongated into the
-stable, in an extended house, which includes the family, horses,
-hounds, domestics and grooms, all living under the same roof. A low
-and rambling style of architecture, with many gables and prominent
-colors, is the favorite for various Newport cottages. To the southward
-of the town are the Ocean Avenue and Ocean Drive, skirting the whole
-lower coast of the island for some ten miles, and displaying fine
-marine views.
-
-There have been lavished upon these palaces of Newport, in
-construction and decoration, large portions of the greatest incomes of
-the multi-millionaires of New York and Boston, and hither they hie to
-enjoy the summer and early autumn in a sort of fashionable
-semi-seclusion, mingling only in their own sets, and rather resenting
-the excursions occasionally made by the plebeian folk into Newport to
-look at their displays. These princes of inherited wealth have made
-Newport peculiarly their own, and, their expenditures being on a scale
-commensurate with their millions, the growth and improvement of the
-newer part of the place have been extraordinary. Land in choice
-locations is quoted above $50,000 an acre, and a Newport "cottage"
-costs $500,000 to $1,000,000 to build, with more for the furnishing.
-Once, when I asked what was the qualification necessary to become a
-director of one of the great banks of New York, I was told that it was
-the ownership of ten shares of stock and a cottage at Newport. The
-sense of newness is sometimes impressive in gazing at these Aladdin
-palaces, for while the architecture reproduces quaint and ancient
-forms, the ancestral ivy does not yet cling to the walls, and the
-trees are still young. But there are older sites in Newport, back from
-the sea-front, where some of the estates, existing many years, have
-smaller and more subdued houses with signs of maturity, where the ivy
-broadly spreads and the trees have grown. Some of the foliage-embowered
-lanes, leading through the older suburbs, are charming in leafy
-richness and make scenes of exquisite rural beauty.
-
-The Casino is the fashionable centre of Newport, a building in Old
-English style, fronting on Bellevue Avenue, having reading-rooms, a
-theatre, gardens and tennis-court, and here the band plays in the
-season, and there are concerts and balls. During the fashionable
-period, Bellevue Avenue is the daily scene of a stately procession of
-handsome equipages of all styles, as it is decreed that the great
-people of Newport shall always ride when on exhibition, and they thus
-pass and repass in the afternoons in splendid review. In the earlier
-times the town's chief benefactor was Judah Touro, who gave it Touro
-Park. His father was the rabbi of Newport synagogue, which now has no
-congregation. Judah spent fifty years in New Orleans amassing a
-fortune, which was bequeathed to various charities. He also liberally
-aided the fund for building Bunker Hill Monument. The synagogue, with
-the beautiful garden adjacent, the Jewish Cemetery, is maintained in
-perfect order. Touro Park is a pretty enclosure in the older town,
-containing statues of Commodore M. C. Perry and William Ellery
-Channing, who were natives of Newport, and a statue of the former's
-brother, Commodore Oliver H. Perry, the victor of Lake Erie, is also
-at the City Hall, not far away. In Touro Park is the great memorial
-around which the antiquarian treasures of this famous place are
-clustered, the "Old Stone Mill," a small round tower, overrun with ivy
-and supported on pillars between which are arched openings. Its origin
-is a mystery, and this is the antiquarian shrine at which Newport
-worships. Longfellow tells weirdly of it in his _Skeleton in Armor_,
-and some of the wise men suggest that it was built by the Norsemen
-when they first came this way and found Vinland so long ago. But the
-more practical townsfolk generally incline to the belief that an early
-colonist put it up for a windmill to grind corn, the weight of the
-evidence appearing to favor the theory that it was erected by Governor
-Benedict Arnold, of the colony, who died in 1678, and described it in
-his will as "my stone-built wind-will." It is, however, of sufficient
-antiquity and mystery to have a halo cast around it, and is the great
-relic of the town. The seacoast rocks that make the Newport Cliffs
-show some wonderful formations of chasms and spouting rocks. A fine
-fleet of yachts is usually in Newport water, and it is a favorite
-naval rendezvous, having the Training Station, War College and Torpedo
-Station, and a new Naval Hospital. This most famous of American
-seaside watering-places has a permanent population approximating
-twenty-five thousand, considerably increased by the summer visitors.
-
-
-NEW BEDFORD.
-
-To the eastward of Narragansett another bay is thrust far up into the
-land of Massachusetts, Buzzard's Bay, which almost bisects the great
-defensive forearm of Massachusetts, Cape Cod. This bay is thirty miles
-long and about seven miles wide. Between it and Narragansett are the
-tree-clad hills of the sparsely-settled regions which the Indians
-called Aponigansett and Acoaksett, out of which the Acushnet River
-runs down to its broadening estuary, now the harbor of New Bedford.
-Originally this city was peopled by Quakers of the English Russell
-family, of which the Duke of Bedford is the head, so that the colony
-was named from his title. A numerous Portuguese migration to the early
-settlements has caused one of the suburbs to still retain the name of
-Fayal. New Bedford stretches two miles along the western river-bank
-and far back upon the gradually ascending surface, and the population,
-including the opposite suburb of Fairhaven, numbers seventy thousand.
-Early a shipping port, it grew into celebrity with the advance of the
-whale fishery, which became its chief industry, and it was then said
-to be the wealthiest city in the country in proportion to population,
-having in 1854 four hundred and ten whaling ships, with ten thousand
-sailors, its fleets patrolling the remotest seas. When this fishery
-died out, the people went to manufacturing, and now they have numerous
-large mills busily spinning cotton, its noted product being the
-Wamsutta muslins. There still remain a few of the little bluff-bowed
-and flush-decked old whalers rotting at the wharves, with huge
-overhanging davits, and still redolent of oil--the relics of an almost
-obsolete industry. The ample fortunes originally gathered in the
-fishery enabled the marine aristocracy of the town to build their
-stately and comfortable old mansions which now enjoy an honorable
-repose in ample grounds along the quiet streets on the higher plateau
-back from the river.
-
-When Samuel de Champlain came into the St. Lawrence River, he wrote
-that whales were killed by firing cannon-balls at them, and later
-explorers described how the Indians captured them. The colonists early
-began the fishery along the New England coasts, and New Bedford sent
-out its first ships in 1755. The period of greatest success in whaling
-was between 1820 and 1857. The advent of gas and petroleum, financial
-reverses, the gradual extermination of the whales, which had been
-pursued to the remotest regions, the substitution of steel for
-whalebone, and the use of hard rubber, all contributed to the decline
-of the business, and it was given its death-blow by the ravages of the
-Confederate privateers among the Pacific whaling fleets. Its memory
-is kept alive, however, by many romances of the sea, it having
-furnished an extensive and interesting literature. Not long ago it was
-related that the unfortunate sculptor who had carved the figure-heads
-for the whaleships was since compelled to earn a precarious livelihood
-by chopping out rude wooden idols for the South Sea islanders.
-Acushnet River is dammed in its upper waters, making an immense
-reservoir, furnishing power to the extensive mills. The harbor
-gradually broadens as it opens into Buzzard's Bay, and Clark's Point
-stretches far into the bay, having on the extremity an old-time square
-stone fort, with bastions at the corners, formerly the trusted
-defender of the harbor and the town, Fort Taber. Now, its only use is
-to furnish, on the outer corner, a foundation for a lighthouse
-lantern. The whaling fleet it formerly guided is all gone, but now it
-is the beacon for an enormous trade in coal, landed here for
-distribution by railway throughout New England. Another little stone
-fort is also built on the opposite side of the harbor, on a rock at
-the lower end of Fairhaven. Outside is the broad surface of the bay, a
-noble inland sea, with irregular and generally thinly populated
-shores, but with attractions that have drawn to it, in various
-localities, a large summer population, with many ornate villas of
-modern fashion. Just below Clark's Point is villa-studded Nonquitt,
-upon an upland among the undulating hills, where lived General Philip
-Sheridan, and to which he was brought home in a United States warship
-to die, in July, 1888. They tell us that when the venturesome Norsemen
-came along here, the bay was given the name of the Straum Fiord, but
-the antiquary is at a loss to find a satisfactory derivation for the
-present name of Buzzard's Bay. Far over its waters, as seen from
-Clark's Point, is the low, dark, gray forest-clad eastern shore,
-stretching down to the distant strait of Wood's Holl, leading out of
-the bay into Vineyard Sound. Spread across the bay entrance to the
-southward, and protecting it from the open sea, are the Elizabeth
-Islands.
-
-
-VINEYARD SOUND.
-
-After Captain Bartholomew Grosnold had discovered Cape Cod in May,
-1602, he coasted along its shores, and coming down into what is known
-as Vineyard Sound, found himself in an archipelago of islands. He
-halted at the one called "No Man's Land," and gave it the name of
-Martha's Vineyard, which is now applied to the largest of these
-islands. Who his favorite Martha was, and why she should have been
-immortalized, old Bartholomew never told, thus disappointing many
-industrious people who have vainly sought the lady's personal history.
-"The Vineyard," as it is familiarly called, lies southeast of
-Buzzard's Bay, across which is the extended and narrow range of the
-Elizabeth Islands, trending far away to the southwestward, and ending
-with Cuttyhunk, where the first English spade was driven into New
-England soil. It was upon this, the outermost island, that Gosnold
-landed and planted his colony, naming it Elizabeth, in honor of his
-queen, a title afterwards given the entire range. The island had a
-pond in which was a rocky islet, and here, as they feared the Indians,
-the colonists built a fort and resided while they gathered a cargo of
-sassafras for their ship, that being then a much-prized specific in
-Europe. The settlement was brief; frightened by savage threats and
-rent by quarrels, they soon abandoned the place, loading their ship
-and returning to England disheartened. This settlement antedated by
-eighteen years the arrival of the "Mayflower" at Plymouth.
-
-The Elizabeth group is a range of sixteen islands, stretching in a
-long line from the Cape Cod shore for eighteen miles southwest to the
-extremity of Cuttyhunk. It makes the southeastern boundary of
-Buzzard's Bay, with Martha's Vineyard beyond, there being between them
-the long and rather narrow channel of Vineyard Sound. The mariner
-going eastward out of Long Island Sound passes Sakonnet Point at the
-eastern verge of Narragansett Bay, and finds in front a chain of
-beacons posted across the route. Two of these are lightships, marking
-reefs to which are given the bucolic names of the "Hen and Chickens"
-and the "Sow and Pigs." If the shipmaster wishes to enter Buzzard's
-Bay for New Bedford, he sails between these two unromantic shoals,
-passing a lightship on either hand, and being further guided by a
-lighthouse on the extremity of Cuttyhunk. But if he wishes to follow
-the great maritime route to the eastward around Cape Cod, he gives the
-"Sow and Pigs" a wide berth to the northward and passes between it and
-the splendid flashing red and white beacon on Gay Head, the western
-extremity of Martha's Vineyard, south of Cuttyhunk. Gosnold was the
-first Englishman who saw the brilliant and variegated coloring of this
-remarkable promontory when the sun shone upon it, and appropriately
-called it the Gay Head. Its magnificent Fresnel lens, the most
-powerful in this region, is elevated one hundred and seventy feet
-above the sea, and is thirty miles east of Point Judith. The breadth
-of the entrance to Vineyard Sound from this lighthouse across to the
-lightship is about seven miles.
-
-The northeastern extremity of the Elizabeth Islands is Naushon, and
-between it and the main land of Cape Cod are the strait and harbor
-formerly known to the sailor as Wood's Hole, but now refined into
-Wood's Holl, just as "Holmes's Hole," another popular harbor over on
-"the Vineyard," has since become Vineyard Haven. Both of these
-"holes," and particularly the latter, have always been favorite places
-for schooner skippers to run into and avoid adverse winds. The
-Elizabeth group has four large islands, the others being small. Narrow
-and often tortuous channels separate them. Cuttyhunk is about two and
-one-half miles long, and the present successor of Gosnold's
-ill-starred colony is a club from New York who have a seaside
-establishment there. Not far away, to the northward, is Penikese
-Island, covering about one hundred acres, which was formerly the
-location of Professor Agassiz's "Summer School of Natural History."
-East of Cuttyhunk is Nashawena, three miles long, and next comes
-Pasque Island, also the abiding-place of an attractive club
-comfortably housed. Naushon is the largest island, eight miles long,
-stretching from Pasque almost to Wood's Holl, and having opposite each
-other, on its northern and southern shores, two noted harbors of
-refuge, the Kettle and Tarpaulin Coves. Upon Naushon, early in the
-nineteenth century, lived James Bowdoin, the diplomatist and
-benefactor of Bowdoin College in Maine, which was named for his
-father. Naushon is a very pretty island, and was described in those
-days by a distinguished English lady traveller as "a little pocket
-America, a liliputian Western world, a compressed Columbia."
-Clustering around its northeastern extremity are some of the smaller
-islets of the group--the Ram Islands, and Wepecket, Uncatina and
-Nonamesset. The strait at Wood's Holl forms a rocky gateway leading
-from Buzzard's Bay into Vineyard Sound, and just beyond, on the Cape
-Cod shore, is its guiding beacon on the point of Nobska Hill. Wood's
-Holl has but a small harbor on the edge of the contracted and
-tortuous passage, which is full of rocks, difficult to navigate, and
-generally having the tide running through like a millrace. The
-settlement is small, displaying attractive cottages on the adjacent
-shores, and here are located the station and buildings of the United
-States Fish Commission and the Marine Biological Laboratory.
-
-
-MARTHA'S VINEYARD.
-
-Between the Elizabeth Islands and Martha's Vineyard is the great route
-of vessels passing to and from New England waters, and the lighthouse
-keeper at the entrance has counted more than a thousand of them
-passing in a single week. Aquatic birds skim the waters, and all about
-the Sound are islands great and small, their granite coasts
-contrasting with the blue waters they protect from the severity of
-ocean storms. A tale is told of the origin of the names of some of the
-islands, which is original, if apocryphal. The story comes as a
-tradition from the "oldest inhabitant" of these parts, who is said to
-have been the owner of all these islands, and who determined, before
-he died, to bestow the chief ones upon his four favorite daughters.
-Accordingly, Rhoda took Rhode Island; Elizabeth took hers; Martha was
-given "the Vineyard;" and there was left for Nancy the remaining large
-island--so "Nan-took-it."
-
-Martha's Vineyard is shaped much like a triangle, and is twenty-three
-miles long and about ten miles broad in the widest part. Vineyard
-Haven, its chief harbor, is deep and narrow, opening like a pair of
-jaws at the northern apex of the triangle, the entrance being guarded
-by the pointed peninsulas of the East Chop and West Chop, each
-provided with a lighthouse. Within is one of the most fairly
-constructed natural harbors ever seen, a spacious haven of protection,
-often crowded with vessels, which run in there to escape rough
-treatment outside. Here is the pleasant village of Vineyard Haven,
-prettily located upon the sloping banks of a small cove inside, and
-having down at the end of the harbor a Government Marine Hospital.
-"The Vineyard's" famous western promontory of Gay Head is composed of
-ponderous cliffs, falling off steeply to the water, and presents an
-interesting geological study. The inclined strata rise about two
-hundred feet above the sea, being gaily colored in tints of red,
-white, yellow, green, and black. About forty-five hundred people
-reside on this island, including fishermen, sailors and farmers, but
-mostly gaining a livelihood by ministering to the wants of the large
-population of summer visitors. The first colonist was Thomas Mayhew, a
-Puritan from Southampton, who came in 1642, being then the grantee
-both of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket.
-
-Cottage City is the chief settlement, built upon the eastern ocean
-shore of "the Vineyard," a wonderful place attracting twenty to thirty
-thousand people in the summer. The bluff shore rises precipitously
-for thirty feet from the narrow beach forming the verge of the sea,
-and there are myriads of cottages, many hotels, and a complete summer
-town spreading over a large surface. Here are held the great Camp
-Meetings which are the attraction in August--one Methodist and the
-other Baptist. The former is the "Martha's Vineyard Camp Meeting
-Association," first established and meeting in the Wesleyan Grove,
-back from the sea. The other is the "Oak Bluffs Association," out by
-the ocean's edge. This place, thoroughly alive in summer, is dormant,
-however, for nearly nine months of the year. From it a railroad runs
-several miles southward along the shore to the little village of
-Edgartown, the place of original colonization, and the county-seat of
-Dukes County, Massachusetts, which is composed of all these islands.
-Towards the southeast, out of sight, is the distant island of
-Nantucket. Nearer is seen the misty outline of old Chappaquadick
-Island, called "the Old Chap," for short, with its long terminating
-extremity of Cape Poge. To the northward is the hazy mainland of Cape
-Cod, a streak upon the horizon, whence, long ago, these islands are
-supposed to have been sliced off during the glacial epoch, and going
-adrift, were thus anchored out in the ocean.
-
-
-NANTUCKET.
-
-The island of Nantucket, dropped in the Atlantic, everyone has heard
-of, but few visit. We are told by tradition that it was originally
-formed by the mythical Indian giant, Manshope, who, when he was tired
-of smoking, emptied here into the sea the ashes from his pipe. It was
-also the smoke from this pipe which created the fogs so plentifully
-abounding around the place. These fogs are very dense, and it is said
-of a certain noted Nantucket skipper going away on a long voyage that
-he marked one of them with his harpoon, and returning to the harbor
-three years later, at once recognized the same fog by his private
-mark. Old Manshope, the giant, was the tutelary genius of all the
-Indian tribes on the islands of Vineyard Sound and the adjacent
-mainland, and his home was on the cliffs of Gay Head, in an ancient
-extinct volcanic crater, now called the Devil's Den. He feasted here
-on the flesh of whales, which he broiled on live coals, obtaining fuel
-by uprooting huge trees. His firelight, thus made, is said to have
-been the earliest beacon seen by superstitious sailors passing the
-headland, and as it flickered in his midnight orgies, they solemnly
-shook their heads, saying, "Old Manshope is at it again." This
-powerful giant seems to have waded around Vineyard and Nantucket
-Sounds and regulated all the affairs of the neighborhood. But finally
-the sailors and colonists became so numerous that he waxed very wroth.
-With a single stroke of his ponderous club he separated "No Man's
-Land" from "the Vineyard," and then transformed his children into
-fishes. His wife lamented this cruelty, and he seized and threw her
-over to the mainland on Sakonnet Point, where she still lies, a
-misshapen rock. Then the disgusted giant vanished forever.
-
-The Norsemen first named the island Nautikon, appropriately meaning
-the "Far Away Land." From this, on an early map, it appears as
-Natocko, then as Nantukes, and finally it became Nantucquet, from
-which the present name is derived. When Gosnold came along in 1602, he
-first saw its great eastern promontory, Sankaty Head, describing the
-island as covered with oak trees and populous with Indians. After the
-original grant was made to Thomas Mayhew, he sold it in 1659 to the
-"ten original purchasers" for £30 and two beaver hats, one for himself
-and one for his wife, he reserving one-tenth. These purchasers
-colonized the island, Thomas Macy, a Quaker who fled from Puritan
-persecution in New England, beginning the first settlement, and Peter
-Foulger, who came there somewhat later, had a daughter, who was the
-mother of Benjamin Franklin. John G. Whittier, the good Quaker poet,
-thus sings of Macy's flight to the island:
-
- "Far round the bleak and stormy cape
- The vent'rous Macy passed,
- And on Nantucket's naked isle
- Drew up his boat at last."
-
-Macy landed at the site of the town of Nantucket, then the Indian
-village of Wesco, or the "White Stone," which lay on the shore of the
-harbor, and afterwards had a wharf built over it. The whale fishery,
-which made Nantucket's prosperity, began early, in boats from the
-island, and the population had increased by the Revolution to about
-forty-five hundred, Sherburne, as it then was called, being the chief
-whaling port in the world, with one hundred and fifty whale ships. The
-island was covered with trees, but they were all destroyed during the
-Revolution, and it was then made almost a desert, losing also the
-greater part of its population and much of the fishery fleet. There
-was a revival subsequently, and Nantucket reached its maximum
-prosperity in 1840, with nearly ten thousand population. Afterwards
-came the final decline of whaling, and the sandy, almost treeless
-island now has about three thousand people, who depend for a living
-chiefly on the summer visitors. It is without a whaleship, but it has
-many snug cottages, and those going for health and rest can well say,
-with Whittier:
-
- "God bless the sea-beat island!
- And grant forever more
- That charity and freedom dwell,
- As now, upon her shore."
-
-Nantucket is southeast of Martha's Vineyard and south of Cape Cod, the
-sea between them being known as Nantucket Sound. The island is an
-irregular spherical triangle, sixteen miles long and three to four
-miles wide, the outer coast bent around like a bow, as the Gulf
-Stream currents wash the shores. To the south and east are the great
-Nantucket Shoals, dangerous to the navigator, but acting as a
-breakwater, preventing the island being entirely washed away by the
-sea, which makes constant encroachments. The harbor of Nantucket town
-presents sandy beaches and bluff shores, rising with some boldness
-from the water, the sand dunes stretching away in regular lines behind
-them. The town is snugly located at the bottom of a deep and secure
-harbor, having a breakwater outside, and its chief daily event is the
-arrival of the steamboat from the mainland, from which it is
-frequently cut off for days together by winter ice and stormy weather.
-There are various ancient and dilapidated wharves, fronting a
-collection of strange-looking old gabled houses, many having raised
-platforms on top of the peaked roofs, where the former inhabitants
-used to go up to watch for vessels. It is a healthy place, with modern
-hotels, tree-lined, pleasant streets, many gardens, and a magnificent
-climate, the winter rigors corrected by the closeness of the Gulf
-Stream. The surrounding country, outside the town, is almost
-everywhere a flat prairie-land, with the one horizon all around, of
-the distant blue sea. A narrow-gauge railroad leads over to the
-southeastern coast at Siasconset, the quaint original gem of the
-island, familiarly called 'Sconset, a curious little village of
-fishermen's huts, existing now about the same as in the primitive
-days. Its outlook is over the South Shoals, but not a sail is to be
-seen, for these shoals are the grave of every vessel getting upon
-them. It is a dismal reminder of vanished maritime prestige to see
-about the Nantucket coasts the gaunt ribs of the old hulks, half
-sunken in the sands where they have been cast ashore, as year by year
-they gradually break up in the great storms and slowly disappear. In
-the Boston _Daily Advertiser_ a poet plaintively mourns the fate of
-these marine skeletons seen "at midnight off the coast":
-
- "Half-tombed in drifting sands upon the shore
- Are ye, and heedless lashed by angry seas,
- As through your blackened ribs the breeze
- Exultant plays, and crested breakers roar,
- And screeching sea-gulls round thee, prostrate, soar.
- Wert thou allured by sighs of moaning trees,
- As sirens sought to charm with songs like these
- Ulysses and his brave companions o'er
- To reefs deep hidden, silent, save in storm?
- The rolling thunder of the sullen surge,
- The mournful sobbing of the gathering gale,
- Plain answer make, as round the spectre form
- Of these gaunt skeletons they ceaseless scourge
- The giant's battered coat of oaken mail!"
-
-
-
-
-THE CONNECTICUT RIVER AND
-
-WHITE MOUNTAINS.
-
-
-
-
-XVII.
-
-THE CONNECTICUT RIVER AND WHITE MOUNTAINS.
-
- The Long Tidal River -- Middletown -- Wethersfield -- Blue
- Hills of Southington -- Meriden -- Berlin -- Hartford --
- The Charter Oak -- Samuel Colt and the Revolver -- New
- Britain -- Enfield Rapids -- Windsor Locks -- Agawam --
- Springfield and the Armory -- Westfield River -- Brookfield
- -- Chicopee Falls -- Hadley Falls -- Holyoke -- Mount Tom
- -- Mount Holyoke -- Nonotuck -- Northampton -- Old Hadley
- and its Street -- The Ox-Bow -- Goffe and Whalley -- Mount
- Holyoke College -- Amherst -- Deerfield River and Old
- Deerfield -- Greenfield -- Shelburne Falls -- Brattleboro'
- -- Ashuelot River -- Keene -- Mount Monadnock -- Williams
- River -- Bellows Falls -- Lake Sunapee -- Windsor, Vermont
- -- Ascutney Mountain -- White River -- Olcott Falls --
- Hanover -- Dartmouth College -- Mooseilauke -- Newbury --
- Wells River -- Littleton -- Passumpsic River -- St.
- Johnsbury -- Lake Memphramagog -- Dixville Notch -- Lake
- Umbagog -- Rangeley Lakes -- Connecticut Lakes -- Source of
- the Connecticut -- White Mountains -- Ammonoosuc River --
- Bethlehem -- Gale River -- Sugar Hill -- Franconia Notch --
- Coös -- Echo Lake -- Profile Lake -- Old Man of the
- Mountain -- Pemigewasset River -- Flume and Pool -- North
- Woodstock -- Plymouth -- Squam Lake -- Ethan's Pond --
- Thoreau and the Merrimack -- White Mountain Notch -- Israel
- River -- Jefferson -- Lancaster -- Fabyan's -- Crawford's
- -- The Presidential Range -- Saco River -- Willey Slide --
- View from Mount Willard -- Giant's Grave -- Mount
- Washington -- Grand Gulf -- The Summit and View --
- Tuckerman's Ravine -- The Glen -- Pinkham Notch -- Peabody
- River -- Gorham -- Androscoggin River -- Ellis River --
- Jackson -- Lower Bartlett -- Intervale -- North Conway --
- Mount Kearsarge -- Pequawket -- Madison -- Ossipee -- Lake
- Winnepesaukee -- Sandwich Mountains -- Chocorua --
- Wolfboro' -- Weirs -- Alton Bay -- Centre Harbor -- Red
- Hill -- Whittier's Poetry on the Lake and the Merrimack.
-
-
-THE LONG TIDAL RIVER.
-
-The greatest New England river, the Connecticut, was first explored by
-the redoubtable Dutch navigator, Captain Adraien Blok. When he made
-his memorable voyage of discovery from New Amsterdam along Long Island
-Sound, Blok ascended the Connecticut to Enfield Falls. Its source is
-in the highlands of northern New Hampshire upon the Canadian boundary,
-at an elevation of twenty-five hundred feet, and it flows four hundred
-and fifty miles southward to the Sound. Its Indian title was
-Quonektakat, or "the long tidal river," from which the name has been
-derived. It is noted for beautiful scenery and has many cataracts, the
-chief being Olcott Falls, at Wilder in Vermont, South Hadley in
-Massachusetts, and Enfield in Connecticut. The soils of its valley are
-extremely fertile, making a garden-spot in the otherwise generally
-sterile New England, the most luxuriant crop being the tobacco-plant,
-known as "Connecticut seed-leaf," used largely for cigar-wrappers, and
-often yielding two thousand pounds to the acre. Steamboats navigate
-the river to Hartford, about fifty miles from the Sound. The blazing
-red beacon of the Cornfield Point Lightship is the outer guide for the
-mariner entering its mouth, while the white lights of Saybrook guard
-the inner channel. The lower Connecticut flows through a region of
-farms, enriched by copious dressings of manures made from the fish
-caught in the stream, and it passes picturesque shores and pleasant
-villages in the domain of Haddam, an extensive tract which the Indians
-originally sold to Hartford people for thirty coats.
-
-Middletown, the "Forest City," at a great bend in the lower river, has
-many mills making pumps, tapes, plated wares, webbing and
-sewing-machines, its shaded streets leading up the hill-slopes,
-bordering the water, that have in them valuable quarries of rich brown
-Portland stone. The county Court-house of Middletown is a quaint
-little miniature of the Parthenon. The Wesleyan Methodist College,
-having three hundred students, is located here, the chief buildings
-being the Memorial and Judd Halls, built of the native Portland stone,
-the latter the gift of Orange Judd. The large buildings of the
-Connecticut Insane Hospital, also of Portland stone, overlook the
-river from a high hill southeast of the city, and are in a spacious
-park. To the northward of Middletown, level green and exceedingly
-fertile meadows adjoin the river, their product being the noted onion
-crops of Wethersfield, which permeate the whole country. This was the
-earliest Connecticut settlement in 1635, and here in the next year
-convened the first Connecticut Legislature to make the arrangements
-for the war against the Pequots which annihilated that tribe. In one
-of its old mansions General Washington had his headquarters, where, in
-conjunction with the French officers, the plans were prepared for the
-campaign closing the Revolution by the victory at Yorktown.
-
-To the westward of the river are the famous "Blue Hills of
-Southington," the most elevated portion of the State of Connecticut,
-and nestling under their shadow is Meriden, the hills rising high
-above its western and northern verge, in the West Peak and Mount
-Lamentation. Here are gathered over thirty thousand people in an
-active factory town, the neat wooden dwellings of the operatives
-forming the nucleus of the city adjacent to the extensive mills, and
-having as a surrounding galaxy the attractive villas of their owners,
-scattered in pleasant places upon the steep adjacent hills. They are
-industrious iron and steel, bronze, brass and tin workers, and the
-Meriden Britannia and electro-plated silver wares are famous
-everywhere. The Meriden Britannia Company has enormous mills, and is
-the greatest establishment of its kind in the world. Meriden and
-Berlin, a short distance northward, have long been the headquarters of
-the peripatetic Connecticut tin-pedler, who goes forth laden with all
-kinds of pots and pans, and other bright and useful utensils, to
-wander over the land, and charm the country folk with his attractive
-bargains. Berlin began in the eighteenth century the first American
-manufacture of tinware. There are scores of villages about, cast
-almost in the same mould. Each has the same beautiful central Public
-Green, the charm of the New England village, shaded by rows of stately
-elms; the tall-spired churches; the village graveyard, usually on a
-gently-sloping hillside, with the lines of older white gravestones,
-supplemented in the modern interments by more elaborate monuments; the
-attractive wooden houses nestling amid abundant foliage, and
-surrounded by gardens and flower-beds, that are the homes of the
-people, and the huge factories giving them employment. Some of these
-villages are larger than others, thus covering more space, but
-excepting in size, all are substantially alike.
-
-
-HARTFORD.
-
-The high gilded dome of the Capitol at Hartford and the broad fronts
-of the stately buildings of Trinity College surmounting Rocky Hill,
-above a labyrinth of factories, are seen rising on the Connecticut
-River bank to the northward. This is the noted city, with about
-seventy thousand people, which has reproduced in New England the name
-in the mother country of the ancient Saxon village just north of
-London at the "Ford of Harts," whence some of its early settlers came.
-The brave and pious Thomas Hooker led his flock from the seacoast
-through the wilderness in 1636 to Hartford, to establish an English
-colony at the Indian post of Suckiang, the Dutch three years before
-having built a fort and trading-station at a bend of the Connecticut,
-where the little Park River flowing in gave a water-power which
-turned the wheels of a small grist-mill, to which all the country
-around afterwards brought grain to be ground. Cotton Mather, the
-quaint historian, described Hooker as "the renowned minister of
-Hartford and pillar of Connecticut, and the light of the Western
-churches." Hartford is known as the "Queen City," and its centre is
-the attractive Bushnell Park, fronting on the narrow and winding Park
-River. An airy bridge leads from the railway station over this little
-stream, to the tasteful Park entrance, a triumphal brownstone arch
-with surmounting conical towers, erected as a memorial to the soldiers
-who fell in the Civil War. A grand highway then continues up the hill
-to the Connecticut State Capitol, which cost $2,500,000 to build, one
-of the finest structures in New England, an imposing Gothic temple of
-white marble, three hundred feet long, the dome rising two hundred and
-fifty feet, and all the fronts elaborately ornamented with statuary
-and artistic decoration. The statue of General Putnam, who died at
-Hartford in 1790, is in the Park, and his tombstone, battered and
-weatherworn, is kept as a precious relic in the Capitol. The "Putnam
-Phalanx" is the great military organization of Hartford. In the east
-wing of the Capitol is the bronze statue of Nathan Hale, whom the
-British hanged as a spy in the Revolution. It is a masterpiece, the
-almost living figure seeming animated with the full vigor of
-earnest youth, as with outstretched hands he actually appears to speak
-his memorable words: "I only regret that I have but one life to lose
-for my country." The Connecticut law-makers of to-day who meet in this
-sumptuous Capitol are milder legislators than their ancestors who made
-the "blue laws" of the olden time, when the iron rule of the Puritan
-pastors governing the colony enacted a Draconian code, inflicting
-death penalties for the crimes of idolatry, unchastity, blasphemy,
-witchcraft, murder, man-stealing, smiting parents, and some others,
-with savage punishment for Sabbath-breaking and the use of tobacco.
-
- [Illustration: _State Capitol, Hartford, Conn._]
-
-The celebrated Charter Oak is the great memory of Hartford. In 1856
-the old tree was blown down in a storm, and a marble slab marks where
-it stood. The remains of the tree were fashioned into many precious
-relics, and our friend of humorous memory, Mark Twain, who lives in
-Hartford, says he has seen all conceivable articles made out of this
-precious timber, there being, among others, "a walking-stick,
-dog-collar, needle-case, three-legged stool, bootjack, dinner-table,
-tenpin alley, toothpick, and enough Charter Oak to build a plank-road
-from Hartford to Great Salt Lake City." This ancient tree concealed
-the royal charter of the Connecticut colony, granted by the King,
-when, in 1687, the tyrannical Governor Andros came to Hartford with
-his troops and demanded its surrender. While the subject was being
-discussed in the Legislature, the lights were suddenly put out, and in
-the darkness a bold colonist seized the precious document, and running
-out, concealed it in the hollow of the oak. The fine statue
-surmounting the Capitol dome and overlooking the city is now, with
-extended arm, crowning the municipality with a wreath of Charter Oak
-leaves, and the oak leaf is repeated in many ways in the decoration of
-the Capitol and of many other buildings in the city. The Charter Oak
-Bank and Life Insurance Company are also flourishing institutions. In
-proportion to population, Hartford is regarded as the wealthiest city
-in America, and it is financially great, particularly in Life and Fire
-Insurance Companies, whose business is wide-spread. It has many
-charitable foundations, book-publishing houses, banks, manufacturing
-establishments and educational institutions, the most noted of the
-latter being Trinity College, in the southern part of the city, its
-brownstone Early English buildings having a grand view across the
-intervening valley to the hills of Farmington and Talcott Mountain,
-nine miles westward.
-
-Picturesque suburbs adorned by magnificent villas environ the built-up
-parts of Hartford, making a splendid semi-rural residential section,
-where arching elms embower the lawn-bordered avenues, many localities
-being adorned by superb hedges. There is a fine artistic and
-historical collection in the Wadsworth Atheneum, where, among other
-precious relics, are kept General Putnam's sword and the Indian King
-Philip's club. Mrs. Harriet Beecher Stowe, and Mrs. Sigourney, the
-poetess, were long residents of Hartford. The citizen whom it holds in
-steadfast memory, however, is Colonel Samuel Colt, who invented the
-revolving pistol. He was born in Hartford, and his remains rest under
-a fine monument in Cedar Hill Cemetery. His widow built as his
-memorial a beautiful little brownstone chapel, the Church of the Good
-Shepherd, which is not far away from the huge works of the Colt Arms
-Company, the chief industrial establishment of the city. Colt, when a
-boy, ran away from home and went to sea, and is said to have there
-conceived the idea of his great invention. He sought vainly during
-several years to establish a factory to make it, but did not prosper
-until 1852, when he started in Hartford; and with the great demand for
-small-arms then stimulated by the opening of the California gold mines
-and the exploration of the Western plains, afterwards expanded by the
-Civil War, his factory grew enormously. The heraldic "colt rampant"
-adopted by the inventor is stamped on all the arms and reproduced in
-all the decorations of these vast works. Among other large factories
-is also the Pope bicycle works. A short distance west of Hartford is
-New Britain, where there are twenty thousand people engaged in making
-hardware, locks and jewelry, its noted resident having been Elihu
-Burritt, the "Learned Blacksmith," who was born there in 1810 and died
-in 1879.
-
-
-SPRINGFIELD AND THE ARMORY.
-
-To the north of Hartford is a fertile intervale, the rich meadows of
-Mattaneag, where the Connecticut River pours down the Enfield Rapids,
-and the diverted water flows through a canal formerly used to take the
-river-craft around the obstruction, but now giving ample power to many
-paper and other mills at Windsor Locks. The original colony was
-started here by John Warham, said to have been the first New England
-pastor who used notes in preaching. He sustained the "blue laws," but
-his colony to-day is a great tobacco-growing section, through which
-the Farmington River flows down from the western hills. At South
-Windsor, John Fitch, the steamboat inventor, was born. The Hazardville
-Powder Works, one of the greatest gunpowder factories in the world,
-are beyond, and also Thompsonville, a prodigious maker of carpets, and
-then the boundary is crossed into Massachusetts. Just north of the
-line, the Connecticut River sweeps grandly around in approaching
-Springfield, built on the eastern bank, and spreading for a long
-distance up the slopes of the adjacent hills. It is a busy
-manufacturing city, with sixty thousand population and an important
-railway junction, where the roads along the river cross the route from
-Boston to Albany and the West. This was the Indian land of
-Agawam--"fish-abounding"--to which the Puritan missionary William
-Pynchon led his hardy flock in 1636, and the statue of Miles Morgan, a
-noted soldier of the early time, representing the "Puritan," stands,
-matchlock in hand, in heroic bronze on the Public Square. Springfield
-is noted for its great firearms factories, having the extensive works
-of the Smith & Wesson Company, and also the United States Armory. This
-enormous Government factory, making rifles for the army previously on
-a large scale, quadrupled its output during the Spanish War of 1898.
-It occupies an extensive enclosure on Armory Hill, up to which the
-surface gradually slopes from the river, giving an admirable view over
-the city. The chief buildings stand around a quadrangle, making a
-pleasant stretch of lawn, with regular rows of trees crossing it.
-There are a few old cannon planted about, giving a military air, and
-here are made the Springfield rifles. During the Revolution most of
-the arms for the American army were made here, and the cannon were
-cast that helped defeat Burgoyne at Saratoga. In the Civil War the
-main works were constructed, and they ran day and night for four
-years, making nearly eight hundred thousand rifles for the Union
-armies. The Arsenal, a large building on the western side of the
-quadrangle, contains two hundred and twenty-five thousand arms,
-tastefully arranged, and rivalling the collection at the Tower of
-London. This armory is the chief industrial establishment of
-Springfield, and Longfellow has thus described its great Arsenal:
-
- "This is the Arsenal. From floor to ceiling,
- Like a huge organ rise the burnished arms;
- But from their silent pipes no anthem pealing
- Startles the villages with strange alarms.
-
- "Ah! what a sound will rise, how wild and dreary,
- When the death-angel touches those swift keys!
- What loud lament and dismal Miserere
- Will mingle with their awful symphonies!
-
- "I hear even now the infinite fierce chorus,
- The cries of agony, the endless groan,
- Which, through the ages that have gone before us,
- In long reverberations reach our own.
-
- * * * * *
-
- "Were half the power that fills the world with terror,
- Were half the wealth bestowed on camps and courts,
- Given to redeem the human mind from error,
- There were no need of arsenals or forts:
-
- "The warrior's name would be a name abhorred!
- And every nation that should lift again
- Its hand against a brother, on its forehead
- Would wear for evermore the curse of Cain!
-
- "Down the dark future, through long generations,
- The echoing sounds grow fainter and then cease;
- And like a bell, with solemn, sweet vibrations,
- I hear once more the voice of Christ say 'Peace!'
-
- "Peace! and no longer from its brazen portals
- The blast of war's great organ shakes the skies!
- But beautiful as songs of the immortals,
- The holy melodies of Love arise."
-
-At Springfield the Agawam River flows from the westward into the
-Connecticut, and along its broad bordering meadows comes the Boston
-and Albany Railroad. This is one of the Vanderbilt lines, crossing
-Massachusetts from the Berkshires to Boston, and it was among the
-earliest railways built in New England, being in construction from
-1833 to 1842. The project while zealously pushed was then generally
-derided as chimerical, the Boston _Courier_ of that time saying the
-road could only be built at "an expense of little less than the market
-value of the whole territory of Massachusetts, and, if practicable,
-every person of common sense knows it would be as useless as a
-railroad from Boston to the moon." Yet it was built, and prospered so
-much that, to break its profitable monopoly, Massachusetts had
-afterwards to bore the costly Hoosac Tunnel on the only available
-route, to provide a competing line. The railroad climbs up the
-Taghkanic range from the Hudson River Valley, crosses the Berkshire
-Hills, going through Pittsfield and over Hoosac Mountain at an
-elevation of fourteen hundred and fifty feet, then coming down a wild
-and picturesque defile made by a mountain brook flowing into Westfield
-River, which in turn flows into the Agawam. It is a route of
-magnificent scenery, gradually leading from a mountain gorge to a
-broadening intervale, where it passes the fertile Indian domain of
-Woronoco and the pleasant town of Westfield, noted for its whips and
-cigars. Then the winding reaches of the Agawam lead through broad
-meadows and past many mills to Springfield. The various streams around
-the Armory City, like so much of the clear waters elsewhere in
-Massachusetts, are largely devoted to paper-making, and eastward from
-Springfield the railroad ascends the valley of the swift-flowing
-Chicopee, meaning the "large spring," among more paper-mills. This is
-a vast industry developed by the pure, clean waters of Central
-Massachusetts. Farther eastward, however, the character of the mills
-changes, and at Brookfield shoemaking villages appear, while elsewhere
-there are textile and leather factories. Brookfield was the
-birthplace, in 1818, of the noted female agitator Lucy Stone, its
-Quaboag Pond furnishing the water turning the mill-wheels, and then
-flowing off through Podunk meadows by the Sashaway River to the
-Chicopee. At Spencer, not far away, was born in 1819 Elias Howe, the
-inventor of the sewing-machine. Farther eastward the railway route
-leads to Worcester, and thence to Boston.
-
-
-THE LAND OF NONOTUCK.
-
-The valley of the Connecticut north of Springfield is a hive of busy
-industries where are made most of the finer papers used in the United
-States. All the tributary water-courses teem with factories. Four
-miles above Springfield the Chicopee flows in from the eastern hills,
-there being a population of twenty thousand, and the mills, served by
-the power from its falls two miles eastward, working cotton and wool,
-brass and bronze, as well as making paper. Chicopee Falls was the home
-of Edward Bellamy, author of _Looking Backward_, who died in 1898. A
-few miles above the Chicopee, on the Connecticut, are the Hadley
-Falls, the greatest water-power of New England, and the creator of
-Holyoke, with fifty thousand people, the chief manufactory of fine
-papers in the world. In a little more than a mile the river descends
-sixty feet in falls and rapids, and by a system of canals the water is
-led for three miles along the banks, thus serving the factories, which
-have great advantages of position, as the river winds around them on
-three sides, and its flow is also supplemented by steam-power. The
-water, from its great descent, is used several times over. The main
-Hadley fall descends thirty feet, and to prevent erosion is aproned
-with stout timbers sheathed with boiler iron. The river is bridled by
-a huge dam one thousand feet long, and has a boom to catch the
-floating logs.
-
-The scenery above the Hadley Falls grows more attractive; the hills
-approach nearer the river and rise sharply into mountains; the river
-winds about their bases, and, abruptly turning, goes through a gorge
-between them. Upon the western side is the Mount Tom range, and upon
-the eastern bank Mount Holyoke, with inclined-plane railways ascending
-both, Mount Tom rising twelve hundred and fifteen feet, and Mount
-Holyoke nine hundred and fifty-five feet. The Connecticut flows out
-between them from the extensive valley above. These guardian peaks of
-Tom and Holyoke bear the names of two pioneers of the valley, who are
-said to have first discovered the pass, and the tradition is that the
-broad and fertile plain above, spreading almost to the northern
-Massachusetts boundary, was once a lake with the outlet towards the
-west, behind Mount Tom, until the waters broke a passage through the
-ridge, and made the Connecticut River route to the Sound. The origin
-of these mountains was evidently volcanic, being built up of trap-rock
-lifting its columned masses abruptly from the level floor of the
-valley, and almost without foothills to dwarf the greater elevation.
-The broad vale beyond is the fertile land of Nonotuck, bought from the
-Indians in 1653 for "one hundred fathoms of wampum and ten coats."
-Here to the westward of the river is Northampton, a most lovely and
-attractive town, well described as "the frontispiece of the book of
-beauty which Nature opens wide in the valley of the Connecticut." The
-fairest fields surround it, with thrifty farmers cultivating their
-rich bottom-lands, and the people have a splendid outlook in front of
-their doors, in the glorious panorama of the noble mountains, with the
-river flowing away through the deep gorge. The place was named
-Northampton because most of the original settlers came from that
-English town. Solomon Stoddart was the sturdy Puritan pastor, ruling
-the flock at Nonotuck for over a half-century, the village being for
-protection surrounded by a palisade and wall. The little church in
-which he preached measured eighteen by twenty-six feet, being built in
-1655 at a cost of $75, and the congregation were summoned to meeting
-armed and by the blasts of a trumpet:
-
- "Each man equipped on Sunday morn
- With psalm-book, shot and powder-horn,
- And looked in form, as all must grant,
- Like th' ancient, true Church militant."
-
-This renowned pastor was of majestic appearance, and as good a fighter
-as he was a preacher. He never hesitated to lead his people in their
-Indian wars, and once he is said to have got into an ambush, but the
-awestruck savages, impressed by his noble bearing, hesitated to shoot
-him, telling their French allies, "That is the Englishman's god." The
-present stone church is the fifth built on the original site. During
-nearly a quarter-century the noted Jonathan Edwards was the
-Northampton pastor, but he was dismissed in 1750, because, owing to
-the growing laxity of church members, he insisted upon "a higher and
-purer standard of admission to the communion-table." Northampton is
-famed for its educational development, the chief institution, endowed
-by Sophia Smith in 1871, being Smith College for women, having a
-thousand students and possessing fine buildings, with an art gallery,
-music hall and gymnasium. There are various attractive public
-buildings, including an Institution for Mutes and the State Lunatic
-Asylum. The level land of Nonotuck raises much tobacco, the
-Connecticut River winding in wide circular sweeps among the fields and
-meadows, but making little progress as it goes around great curves of
-miles in circuit. Upon an isthmus thus formed, with the broad river
-loop stretching far to the westward, is "Old Hadley," the Connecticut
-having made a five-mile circuit to accomplish barely one mile of
-distance. Across the level isthmus from the river above to the river
-below, stretching through the village, is the noted "Hadley Street,"
-the handsomest highway in natural adornments in the Old Bay State.
-Over three hundred feet wide, this street is lined by two double rows
-of noble elms, with a broad expanse of greenest lawn between, and
-nearly a thousand ancient trees arching their graceful branches over
-it. This very quiet street has perfect greensward, for it is almost
-untravelled, and its inhabitants grow tobacco and make brooms. Another
-of these wayward river loops is the great "ox-bow" of the Connecticut,
-where the river used to flow around a circuit of nearly four miles and
-accomplished only one hundred and fifty yards of actual distance,
-until an ice-freshet broke through the narrow isthmus and made a
-straight channel across it, which has become the course of the river.
-The abandoned channel of the "ox-bow" is now usually stored with logs
-awaiting the sawmill. Hadley was the final home and burial-place of
-Goffe and Whalley, the regicides, who fled there from New Haven. When
-their house was pulled down, it was said the bones of Whalley, who
-died in 1679, were found entombed just outside the cellar-wall. It was
-the house of the pastor, and they were concealed in it fifteen years,
-from 1664 to 1679, their presence known only to three persons. Once,
-during the hiding, Indians attacked the town, and after a sharp fight
-the people gave way, when there suddenly appeared "an ancient man with
-hoary locks, of a most venerable and dignified aspect," who rallied
-them to a fresh onslaught, driving the Indians off. He then
-disappeared, the inhabitants attributing their deliverance to a
-"militant angel." This was Goffe, and the tale is the chief legend of
-"Old Hadley." General Joseph Hooker of the Civil War was born in
-Hadley. At South Hadley is the Mount Holyoke College for girls, almost
-under the shadow of the mountain, amid magnificent scenery, a noted
-institution with four hundred students, where, during the past
-century, have been educated many missionary women for their labors in
-distant lands.
-
-
-MOUNT HOLYOKE AND BEYOND.
-
-There is a grand view from the summit of Mount Holyoke, spreading
-almost from Long Island Sound to the White Mountains, and from the
-Berkshire Hills in the west to the cloud-capped mountains Monadnock
-and Wachusett, fifty miles to the eastward. This is regarded as the
-finest view in New England, for the wide and highly cultivated valley
-of the Connecticut, with its wayward, winding stream flowing
-apparently in all directions over the rich bottom-lands cut up into
-diminutive farms and fields like so many "plaided meadows," gives a
-charm that is lacking in most other mountain views. The grand panorama
-displays parts of four New England States. Off to the northeast
-several miles is seen the town of Amherst, with four thousand people,
-the seat of another noted educational institution, Amherst College,
-having over four hundred students and a fine archæological museum.
-
-The Hoosac Mountain range in the Berkshires sends down various streams
-on its eastern slopes through wild and romantic gorges into the
-Connecticut Valley, and one of these is Deerfield River, coming into
-the main stream some distance north of Mount Holyoke. Here is the
-village of "Old Deerfield," settled in 1670, on the Indian domain of
-Pocomtuck, and named from the abundance of deer found in the forests.
-Its streets often ran with blood in King Philip's and the later Indian
-Wars, and its young men were then described by the quaint Puritan
-chronicler as "the very flower of Essex County, none of whom were
-ashamed to speak with the enemy in the gate." Its guardian peaks are
-the Sugar Loaf, rising seven hundred and ten feet, and on the
-opposite eastern side of the river Mount Toby, nearly thirteen hundred
-feet high. King Philip, in his attack upon the settlers here in 1675,
-made the tall and isolated Sugar Loaf his lookout station, whence he
-directed the movements of his forces, and a crag on the top is yet
-called "King Philip's Chair." Nearby, a monument marks the battlefield
-of Bloody Brook in 1675, where the Indians killed Captain Lathrop and
-eighty young men of Essex County. The Fitchburg Railroad from Boston
-through Fitchburg comes across the Connecticut Valley, and passing the
-village of Greenfield, takes advantage of the winding canyon of
-Deerfield River to ascend westward to the wall of Hoosac Mountain,
-where the great tunnel is pierced. The route is in a wild and
-picturesque defile, in the heart of which is the pleasant village of
-Shelburne Falls, where the stream glides down a series of cataracts
-and rapids having one hundred and fifty feet descent. Here are mills
-making cutlery, hooks, gimlets and other things, and there are
-sheep-pastures on the mountain sides, and the people also tap the
-maple trees for sugar. There are more villages among these mountains
-farther up the gorge, where it may broaden to give a little arable
-land, and at one of these, under the shadow of the great Pocomtuck
-Mountain, was born in 1797 Mary Lyon, the devout and noted teacher who
-founded Mount Holyoke College for girls. Finally the railway reaches
-the Hoosac wall, and leaving the little Deerfield River which comes
-down from the north, disappears westward in the tunnel.
-
-The Connecticut River beyond the Massachusetts northern boundary
-divides the States of New Hampshire and Vermont, and its scenery, as
-ascended, becomes more romantic and mountainous. At Northfield, near
-the boundary, lived Dwight L. Moody, the evangelist. Above the
-boundary, the Massachusetts colony, as a protection to the river
-settlements, in 1724 built Fort Dummer, which was often attacked by
-the French and Indians in their forays from Canada, but never
-captured, and near it was made the first settlement in Vermont, a
-village named in 1753 Brattleborough, in honor of Colonel Brattle of
-Boston, one of the landowners. The Whetstone Brook flows in, making a
-fine water-power, and the town, now having six thousand people, is
-charmingly situated on an elevated plateau, surrounded by lofty hills.
-Brattleboro' is the centre of the Vermont maple-sugar industry, and it
-has the largest organ-works existing, those of the Estey Company. Just
-south of the town rises Cemetery Hill, overlooking it with a fine
-view, and here is the grand monument erected in memory of the
-notorious James Fisk, Jr., who was a native of the place. It bears
-emblematic female statues representing Railroads, Commerce, Navigation
-and the Drama, and was executed by Larkin G. Mead, the sculptor, also
-a native of the town. It is recorded that when a lad, Mead worked one
-long winter night on a snow figure at the head of the Main Street, and
-next morning, the people were surprised to see there a beautiful
-figure of the Recording Angel, modeled in the purest snow. Southwest
-of Brattleboro' is Sadawga Lake, in the town of Whitingham, near
-which, in a poor log hut, Brigham Young was born in 1801. He was a
-farmer's son, educated in the Baptist Church, and afterwards
-emigrating to Ohio, joined the Mormons there when about thirty years
-old. When Rudyard Kipling had his home in Vermont, it was about three
-miles north of Brattleboro'.
-
-From the eastern highlands of New Hampshire the Ashuelot River flows
-into the Connecticut below Brattleboro', and to the northeast in its
-alluvial valley is Keene, the centre of an agricultural district, and
-having about eight thousand people, some of whom make leather goods,
-furniture and wooden ware. The Ashuelot means a "collection of many
-waters," and the place was named before the Revolution in honor of Sir
-Benjamin Keene, a British friend of Governor Wentworth of New
-Hampshire, in consequence of which the colonial historian recorded
-that "Keene is a proud little spot." To the southeast boldly rises
-Mount Monadnock, its high and rugged top elevated nearly thirty-two
-hundred feet, and having a hotel half-way up its side. This mountain
-is about eighty miles from Boston, and the town of Jaffrey, at its
-southeastern base, has an old church, the frame of which was raised on
-the day of the battle of Bunker Hill, the workmen claiming that they
-heard the cannonading. The Williams River, coming from the slopes of
-the Green Mountains, flows into the Connecticut on the Vermont side,
-at Bellows Falls, a picturesque summer resort located at the river
-rapids, where there is a descent of forty-two feet in about a
-half-mile, the power being availed of for various factories. Above, at
-Claremont, the Sugar River flows in from New Hampshire, and to the
-eastward is the charming Lake Sunapee, nine miles long, and surrounded
-by wooded highlands, which has been often called the American Loch
-Katrine. Over on the Vermont side, north of Claremont, is Windsor,
-where it is recorded that during a fearful thunder-storm, and with the
-appalling news of the loss of Fort Ticonderoga ringing in their ears,
-the deputies of Vermont adopted the State Constitution, July 2, 1777.
-Southwest of the village rises Ascutney Mountain, its Indian name
-meaning the "Three Brothers," being supposed to refer to three
-singular valleys running down the western slope. Its summit is
-elevated thirty-three hundred and twenty feet. William M. Evarts, who
-was a native of Boston, has his summer home Runnymede near Windsor,
-and at Cornish, nearby, Chief Justice Salmon P. Chase was born in
-1808, emigrating to Ohio in 1830.
-
-
-HANOVER TO MEMPHRAMAGOG.
-
-The White River, coming out from the Green Mountains, flows into the
-Connecticut at a noted railway junction, while a short distance above
-is the Olcott Falls, a cataract amid picturesque surroundings which
-provides power for large paper-mills at Wilder, Vermont. To the
-northward is Hanover, in New Hampshire, the seat of the most famous
-educational foundation of northern New England, Dartmouth College,
-having some seven hundred students. Rev. Eleazer Wheelock began it in
-1770, and his name is preserved in the chief hotel. He started a
-school in the forest to educate missionaries for the Indians, having
-twenty-four students domiciled in rude log huts. He also educated
-several Indians, giving them Master's degrees; but after some of them
-had returned to savage life he changed his plan, and this object was
-subordinated to the purposes of general and higher education, the
-College, which was named for the Earl of Dartmouth, entering upon a
-successful career subsequently to the Revolution. Among the graduates
-have been Daniel Webster, Amos Kendall, Levi Woodbury, Benjamin
-Greenleaf, George P. Marsh, George Ticknor, Rufus Choate, Thaddeus
-Stevens and Salmon P. Chase. There are numerous buildings surrounding
-an extensive elm-shaded campus, and also a spacious college park. The
-Connecticut River above Hanover winds about the level fertile
-intervale, making numerous "ox-bow" bends, and there appear numerous
-mountain peaks which are outlying sentinels of the Franconia Mountains
-to the eastward. The best known of these is Moosilauke, rising
-forty-eight hundred feet, which formerly was the "Moose Hillock" of
-the colonists. On the western river bank is the Vermont town of
-Newbury, founded by General Bailey of Massachusetts. It is related
-that during the Revolution a detachment of British troops came there
-to capture him, but a friend who learned their object went out where
-he was ploughing and dropped in the furrow a note, saying, "The
-Philistines be upon thee, Samson!" Bailey, returning down the long
-furrow, saw the note, took the hint and escaped. The crooked little
-Wells River flows out of the Green Mountains and falls into the
-Connecticut at the village of Wells River, nestling in a deep basin
-among the high hills; and here is another important railway junction,
-with routes going westward to Lake Champlain, northward to Canada, and
-eastward to the White Mountains. The latter route is up the Ammonoosuc
-River valley, past Littleton, with its glove factories and summer
-boarding-houses, on the edge of the mountain district, and thence to
-Bethlehem and into the heart of the White Mountain region.
-
-The Passumpsic River flows from Vermont into the Connecticut a few
-miles above, and about ten miles up that winding and hill-environed
-stream is the picturesque town of St. Johnsbury, with about seven
-thousand people, noted as the location of the extensive Fairbanks
-Scale Works. St. John de Crevecoeur, the French Consul at New York,
-was very popular in the Revolutionary times and a benefactor of
-Vermont, and this town, settled in 1786, was named in his honor. It is
-related that in 1830, when there was a good deal of excitement about
-hemp-culture in the United States, the Fairbanks Brothers established
-a hemp-dressing factory here, and one of them conceived the idea of a
-platform-scale to weigh the hemp, which construction was the origin of
-their extensive business, the works sending scales all over the world.
-The railroad route to Montreal and Quebec ascends the Passumpsic,
-crosses the watershed, passing Lake Memphramagog at Newport, and then
-enters Canada. This noted lake is on the national boundary, more than
-two-thirds of it being in Canada, and is thirty miles long.
-Memphramagog means the "beautiful water," and the mountain ranges
-enclosing it with their wooded slopes present fine views. The national
-boundary is marked by clearings in the forests on either side of the
-lake. The massive rounded summit of the Owl's Head rises thirty-three
-hundred feet on the western shore in imposing magnificence, and many
-other peaks are sentinelled all around. Steamboats ply on the lake
-from Newport to Magog at the foot, where its waters discharge
-northward into Magog River and thence flow over the vast plain of
-Canada, which is so conspicuously contrasted with the mountains to the
-southward, until at Sherbrooke they reach St. Francis River, and
-finally the St. Lawrence. Lake Memphramagog has its Indian legends of
-massacre and escape, but its chief modern tradition is of a noted
-smuggler named Skinner, who in the early nineteenth century performed
-prodigious feats of skill in eluding the revenue officers. Near the
-boundary is Skinner's Island, having a spacious cavern on its
-northwestern side. The smuggler usually disappeared near this island,
-which came in time to be named for him, and it is related that one
-night the officers, having had a long chase, found his boat on this
-island and turned it adrift on the lake. The smuggler never appeared
-afterwards, but some years later a fisherman, seeking shelter from a
-squall under the lee of the island, discovered the cave hidden under
-foliage and explored it.
-
- "And what do you think the fisherman found?
- Neither a gold nor a silver prize,
- But a skull with sockets where once were eyes;
- Also some bones of arms and thighs,
- And a vertebral column of giant size;
- How they got there he could not devise,
- For he'd only been used to commonplace graves,
- And knew naught of 'organic remains' in caves;
- On matters like those his wits were dull,
- So he dropped the subject as well as the skull.
- 'Tis needless to say
- In this latter day,
- 'Twas the smuggler's bones in the cave that lay:
- All I've to add is--the bones in a grave
- Were placed, and the cavern was called 'Skinner's Cave.'"
-
-
-SOURCES OF THE CONNECTICUT.
-
-The Connecticut River comes from the northeast to its confluence with
-the Passumpsic, a stream of reduced volume, flowing down rapids. There
-is only sparse population above, and in New Hampshire, some distance
-east of Colebrook, is the famous Dixville Notch. This is an attractive
-ravine about ten miles long, cut through the isolated Dixville Range.
-It is not a mountain pass in the usual sense, but a wonderful gorge
-among high hills, the cliffs being worn and broken down into strange
-forms of ruin and desolation. Theodore Winthrop describes the Dixville
-Notch as "briefly, picturesque--a fine gorge between a crumbling,
-conical crag and a scarped precipice--a place easily defensible,
-except at the season when raspberries would distract sentinels."
-Approached from Colebrook to the westward, the view is disappointing,
-as it is entered at a high level, but after an abrupt turn to the
-right, the tall columnar sides are seen frowning at each other across
-the narrow chasm; cliffs of decaying mica slate presenting a scene of
-shattered ruin that is mournful to behold. To the right of the Notch,
-Table Rock rises five hundred and sixty feet above the road, being
-elevated nearly twenty-five hundred feet above the sea, and is
-ascended by a rude stairway of stone blocks called Jacob's Ladder. Its
-summit is a narrow pinnacle only eight feet wide, with precipitous
-sides. It gives an extensive view over the Connecticut Valley
-northward to the Connecticut Lakes, and over the upper Androscoggin
-Valley to the southeastward. Its most impressive sight, however, is
-much nearer, the narrow dreary chasm immediately below, with its
-broken palisades that seem almost ready to fall. Beyond is the Ice
-Cave, a deep ravine where snow and ice remain throughout the summer.
-Washington's Monument and the Pinnacle, remarkable rock formations,
-rise high on the north side of the Notch. Beyond the Notch
-southeastward is the Androscoggin, which small steamboats ascend to
-Lake Umbagog on the Maine boundary. Still farther eastward and deep in
-the Maine forests are the noted fishery waters of the Rangeley Lakes,
-which have polysyllabic names, such as Mooselucmaguntic,
-Mollychunkamunk, and Welokenebacook. They are elevated fifteen hundred
-feet above the sea and cover eighty square miles of surface.
-
-We have now ascended the picturesque Connecticut River to its mountain
-sources. It has become only a brook, and having followed it up to the
-Canadian boundary of Vermont, it is found to come out of Northern New
-Hampshire, flowing westward from the Connecticut Lakes. The main lake
-of this group is twenty-five miles northeast of Colebrook, covering
-about twelve square miles, a favorite haunt of anglers, and navigated
-by a small steamboat. The second lake, four miles farther northeast
-through the forest, has about five square miles of surface, and the
-third lake is to the northward, covering two hundred acres. The
-Canadian northern boundary of New Hampshire is a low mountain range,
-and on its southern slope is the fourth and highest lake, at
-twenty-five hundred feet elevation above the sea, a pond of about
-three acres, in which the great New England river has its head. These
-Connecticut Lakes are in an almost unbroken forest.
-
-
-THE WHITE MOUNTAINS.
-
-To the eastward of the Connecticut River, which we have explored from
-its mouth to the source, lies one of the most attractive regions in
-America, the White Mountain district. It covers about thirteen hundred
-square miles, stretching forty-five miles eastward from the
-Connecticut to the Maine boundary, and being thirty miles wide from
-the Ammonoosuc and Androscoggin on the north to the base of the
-Sandwich range on the south. There are some two hundred of these
-mountains rising from a plateau elevated generally sixteen hundred
-feet above the sea. They cluster mainly in two groups, separated by a
-broad table-land ten to twenty miles wide, the western group being the
-Franconia Mountains and the eastern group the Presidential range, or
-White Mountains proper. Their great mass is of granite, overlaid by
-mica slate; their scenery is varied and beautiful; and the country has
-nowhere a more popular resort than these mountains in the summer. They
-send out from their glens and notches various rivers, westward to the
-Connecticut, eastward to the Androscoggin and Saco, and southward to
-the Merrimack. The Indians called the White Mountains Agiochook,
-meaning "the Mountains of the Snowy Forehead and Home of the Great
-Spirit," and held them in the utmost reverence and awe. They rarely
-ascended the peaks, as it was believed no intruder upon these sacred
-heights was ever known to return. The legend was that the Great Spirit
-once bore a blameless chief and his squaw in a mighty whirlwind to the
-summit, while the world below was overspread by a flood destroying all
-the people. It was said that the great Passaconaway, the wizard-king
-at Pennacook, was wont to commune with celestial messengers on the
-summit of Agiochook, whence he was finally borne to heaven. The first
-white man who visited these mountains was Darby Field, who came up
-from Portsmouth on the seacoast in June, 1642, by the valley of the
-Saco. The Indians tried to dissuade him, saying he would never return
-alive, but he pressed on, attended by two seashore Indians, passing
-through cloud-banks and storms, reaching the highest peak, whence he
-saw, as he related, "the sea by Saco, the Gulf of Canada, and the
-great lake Canada River came out of;" and he found many crystals that
-he thought were diamonds, from which the range long bore the name of
-the "Chrystal Hills." Towards the close of the eighteenth century
-colonists began moving into the outlying glens; in 1792 Abel Crawford
-lived on the Giant's Grave, now Fabyan's; in 1803 a small inn was
-built there; and in 1820 a party of seven ascended and slept on the
-summit of Mount Washington, giving the principal peaks the names they
-now have.
-
-From the Connecticut River the chief route of entrance to the White
-Mountain region is by railway up the Ammonoosuc River alongside its
-swift-flowing amber waters, and through the villages of North Lisbon
-and Littleton, then coming to Bethlehem Junction, whence a short
-narrow-gauge railroad leads steeply up the hill-slope westward to
-Maplewood and Bethlehem. This is one of the most populous resorts of
-the district--Bethlehem Street--a well-kept highway, stretching two
-miles along a plateau upon the northern hill-slope at an elevation of
-almost three hundred feet above the river. When old President Dwight,
-in his early wanderings over New England, first saw this place, it was
-known as the "Lord's Hill," and he recorded it as remote and sterile,
-having "only log huts, recent, few, poor and planted on a soil
-singularly rough and rocky," but he saw "a magnificent prospect of
-the White Mountains and a splendid collection of other mountains in
-this neighborhood." It is now an aggregation of fine hotels and summer
-boarding-houses, the whole "Street" having a grand view of the
-imposing Presidential range, seen nearly twenty miles to the eastward
-over the Ammonoosuc Valley, while other mountain ranges are to the
-north and west, so that Bethlehem is in a vast amphitheatre,
-presenting, when the clouds permit, an environment of unsurpassed
-magnificence. To the southward, the visitors climb Mount Agassiz,
-rising twenty-four hundred feet, formerly known as the Peaked Hill,
-and get an unrivalled view of mountains all around the horizon, the
-Green Mountains of Vermont being plainly visible beyond the
-Connecticut River to the westward. The southern flanks of Mount
-Agassiz are drained by the pretty little Gale River, flowing through a
-deep glen westward to the Ammonoosuc at North Lisbon. Down in this
-glen, to the southwest of Bethlehem, is the village of Franconia, with
-numerous hotels and boarding-houses, while to the southwest of the
-glen rises Sugar Hill, another popular resort, with its great hotels
-set high on the hilltop, and having superb views of the Franconia and
-White Mountains to the eastward, and far away westward over the
-Connecticut Valley where the horizon is enclosed by the long line of
-the Green Mountains. It is a breezy and health-giving place.
-
-
-THE OLD MAN OF THE MOUNTAIN.
-
-To the southward of Bethlehem is the Franconia group, of which Mount
-Lafayette is the crowning peak, its pyramidal summit rising fifty-two
-hundred and seventy feet. A notch is cut down into the group, and
-through this, the Franconia or Profile Notch, another narrow-gauge
-railway going up-hill for ten miles in the forest, traverses the
-flanks of Lafayette and leads to the Echo Lake and Profile House, the
-most extensive hotel in the region. This is in Coös County, the
-mountain county of northern New Hampshire, getting its strangely
-pronounced name from the Indian word _cooash_, meaning the "pine
-woods," with which almost the whole country was then covered. Here
-lived the Abenaqui tribe, known as the "swift deer-hunting Coosucks."
-At the highest part of the Notch, where its floor broadens
-sufficiently for a few acres of smooth surface between the enormous
-enclosing mountains, is built the hotel and its attendant cottages,
-standing between two long, narrow lakes at the summit of the pass, the
-waters flowing out respectively north and south, from the one, Echo
-Lake to Gale River and the Ammonoosuc, and from the other, Profile
-Lake to the Pemigewasset, seeking the Merrimack. The Pemigewasset
-means "the place of the Crooked Pines," and Profile Lake used to be
-called the "Old Man's Washbowl." On its western side rises Mount
-Cannon, forty-one hundred feet high, on the southeastern face of
-which is the "Old Man of the Mountain," the noted Franconia Profile.
-The mountain rises abruptly from the edge of the lake, and twelve
-hundred feet above the water is this "Great Stone Face," about which
-Nathaniel Hawthorne wrote so famously. It is a remarkable semblance of
-the human countenance, and can be properly seen from only one
-position. Move but a short distance either north or south from this
-spot, and the profile becomes distorted and is soon obliterated. It is
-composed of three distinct ledges of granite projecting from the face
-of the mountain, one forming the forehead, another the nose and upper
-lip, and a third the chin. These three ledges are in different
-vertical lines, the actual length of the profile being forty feet, and
-they make an overhanging brow, a powerful and clearly-defined nose,
-and a sharp and massive projecting chin, the very mark of complete
-decision of character, so that the realism of the profile is almost
-startling. The Old Man's severe and somewhat melancholy gaze is
-directed towards the southeast over the lake, as if looking earnestly
-down the Notch.
-
-The white man's discovery of this profile was made in the early
-nineteenth century by two road-makers, mending the highway through the
-Notch. Stooping to wash their hands in the lake, just at the right
-spot, they casually looked up and saw it, being struck instantly by
-the wonderful facial resemblance. "That is Jefferson," said one of
-them, Thomas Jefferson then being President of the United States, and
-the stern countenance certainly looks like some of his portraits.
-There he is, gazing far away, with sturdy, unchanging expression, as
-he has done for thousands of years. Thomas Starr King, who has so well
-described these mountains, regards the "Great Stone Face" as "a piece
-of sculpture older than the Sphinx--an imitation of the human
-countenance which is the crown of all beauty, that was pushed out from
-the coarse strata of New England, thousands of years before Adam." Yet
-a slight change from the proper position for view greatly alters the
-profile. Move a few paces northward, and the nose and face are
-flattened, only the projecting forehead finally being seen. Go a short
-distance to the southward, and the Old Man's decisive countenance
-quickly deteriorates into that of a toothless old woman wearing a cap,
-and soon the lower portion of the face is so distorted that the human
-profile is obliterated. The Cannon Mountain bearing the famous profile
-is a majestic ridge named from a spacious granite ledge on its steep
-slope, presenting, when observed from a certain position below, the
-appearance of a cannon ready for firing. Its summit rises seven
-hundred feet above the profile.
-
-From the Profile Lake, the Pemigewasset River flows southward, deep
-down in the narrow Franconia Notch, the stream descending over five
-hundred feet in five miles. Here is the "Flume," and beyond it the
-gorge widens, giving a view which Thomas Starr King has described as
-"a perpetual refreshment," for it extends far away southward over the
-broadening intervale, one of the fairest scenes in nature, stretching
-many miles to and beyond Plymouth. The "Flume" is made by a brilliant
-little tributary brook dashing along the bottom of a fissure for
-several hundred feet, bordered by high walls rising sixty to seventy
-feet above the torrent and only a few feet apart. The water rushes
-towards the Pemigewasset between these smooth granite walls, and the
-awe-struck visitor walks through in startled admiration. The "Pool" is
-beyond, a deep, dark basin, into which the Pemigewasset falls,
-surrounded by a high rocky enclosure, making an abyss over a hundred
-feet across and one hundred and fifty feet deep. There is also another
-pellucid green basin below, into which the river tumbles by a pretty
-white cascade, this being a huge pothole originally ground out by the
-action of boulders whirled around in it by the current. A galaxy of
-peaks environ this pleasant glen in the Franconia and Pemigewasset
-ranges, the highest of them, Mount Lincoln, rising fifty-one hundred
-feet, and having Mount Liberty, a lower peak, to the southward.
-
-
-TO PLYMOUTH AND BEYOND.
-
-Emerging from the Franconia Notch, the broadened valley reaches the
-attractive village of North Woodstock, another cluster of hotels and
-summer boarding-houses in an attractive location. The Pemigewasset
-receives its eastern branch, passes other villages, is swollen by the
-brisk torrent of the Mad River, and then, amid lower mountains and
-broader vales, but still with the most delicious views, comes to the
-typical White Mountain outpost town of Plymouth, at the confluence of
-the Pemigewasset and Baker Rivers, the latter coming in from the
-northwest. Captain Baker with a company of Massachusetts rangers,
-early in the eighteenth century, attacked an Indian village here, and
-his name was given the tributary stream. The Puritan colonists,
-however, did not actually settle Plymouth until 1764. The town is full
-of summer cottages and boarding-houses, is noted for its manufacture
-of fine buckskin gloves, and has as its chief relic the little old
-building, then the court-house, in which Daniel Webster made his first
-speech to a jury. It was here that Nathaniel Hawthorne suddenly died
-in May, 1864. He was travelling with his intimate friend, ex-President
-of the United States Franklin Pierce, and stopping overnight at a
-hotel, was found dead in his room next morning, having passed quietly
-away while sleeping. Far away beyond Plymouth the bright Pemigewasset
-flows, receiving the outlets of the Waukawan Lake, and of the
-beautiful and island-dotted Squam Lake, its enclosing hills being most
-superb sites for summer villas. This is the "mountain-girdled Squam"
-of which Whittier sings, and a giant pine tree is pointed out on its
-banks where the poet used to sit and watch the lake by hours, and in
-honor of which he wrote the _Wood Giant_, one of his most admirable
-poems. The Pemigewasset joins the outlet stream of Lake Winnepesaukee
-at Franklin, and they together form the noble Merrimack, which, in its
-useful flow to the sea, turns so many New England mill-wheels. The
-Pemigewasset and its branches drain the southern slopes of the
-Franconia ranges in a vast primeval forest, whose inner solitudes are
-rarely explored. Upon its eastern verge, far up on the southwestern
-slope of Mount Willey, is Ethan's Pond, said to be the most elevated
-source of the Merrimack, twenty-five hundred feet above the sea. Its
-most remote source is the Profile Lake, at the head of the
-Pemigewasset, over which the "Great Stone Face" mounts guard. Thus
-writes Thoreau of the Merrimack:
-
-"At first it comes on, murmuring to itself, by the base of stately and
-retired mountains, through moist, primitive woods, whose juices it
-receives, where the bear still drinks it and the cabins of settlers
-are far between, and there are few to cross its stream; enjoying in
-solitude its cascades still unknown to fame; by long ranges of
-mountains of Sandwich and of Squam, slumbering like tumuli of Titans,
-with the peaks of Moosilauke, the Haystacks and Kearsarge reflected in
-its waters; where the maple and the raspberry, those lovers of the
-hills, flourish amid temperate dews; flowing long and full of meaning,
-but untranslatable as its name, Pemigewasset, by many a pastured
-Pelion and Ossa, where unnamed muses haunt, tended by Oreades, Dryads
-and Nereids, and receiving the tribute of many an untasted Hippocrene:
-
- "'Such water do the gods distil,
- And pour down every hill,
- For their New England men.
- A draught of this will nectar bring,
- And I'll not taste the spring
- Of Helicon again.'
-
-"Where it meets the sea is Plum Island, its sand ridges scalloping
-along the horizon like the sea-serpent, and its distant outline broken
-by many a tall ship, leaning, still, against the sky. Standing at its
-mouth, looking up its sparkling stream to its source,--a silver
-cascade which falls all the way from the White Mountains to the
-sea,--and behold a city on each successive plateau, a busy colony of
-human beavers around every fall. Not to mention Newburyport and
-Haverhill, see Lawrence and Lowell, and Nashua and Manchester and
-Concord, gleaming one above the other."
-
-
-THE WHITE MOUNTAIN NOTCH.
-
-The most remarkable pass in this attractive mountain district is the
-great White Mountain Notch, through the heart of the range. The
-valley of the Ammonoosuc, farther ascended from Bethlehem Junction,
-soon becomes an enormous chasm, cut deeply down, and sweeping grandly
-around from the south towards the east, disclosing in magnificent
-array the splendid galaxy of Presidential Peaks as it is carved along
-their western bases. This Notch is formed by the headwaters of the
-Ammonoosuc rising among the foothills of Mount Washington, flowing out
-towards the west, and by the Saco River, flowing southeast to the
-Atlantic. The Maine Central Railway avails of this remarkable pass to
-get through the White Mountains, and bring the traffic of northwestern
-New England and Canada down to the sea. To the northward arises the
-Owl's Head, around which this railway circles after emerging from the
-western portal of the Notch, and on the northern flanks of this
-mountain are the head-streams of Israel River, over beyond which is
-Mount Starr King. Here is Jefferson, another gathering of hotels and
-cottages, enjoying one of the finest views of the White Mountain
-range, a popular resort, from which there are grand drives around the
-northern side of the Presidential range, seventeen miles eastward to
-Gorham on the Androscoggin. It was on this route that the famous view
-of these mountains was painted by George L. Brown--the "Crown of New
-England," owned by the Prince of Wales. Jefferson Hill has been
-described by Starr King as "the _ultima thule_ of grandeur in an
-artist's pilgrimage among the New Hampshire mountains." Seven miles
-northwest, down the Israel River, is Lancaster, with nearly four
-thousand people, another favorite resort, though with more distant
-mountain views.
-
-Where the Ammonoosuc, now become so small, curves around from the east
-towards the south at the western portal of the Notch, is Fabyan's, and
-here are located some of the great hotels of the district, right in
-front of Mount Washington. Between Fabyan's and Crawford's, four miles
-southward, the Presidential Range is the eastern border of the Notch
-and is passed in grand review. The headspring of the Ammonoosuc is on
-the slope of the mountain alongside Crawford's, where the floor of the
-valley is at its highest elevation, nineteen hundred feet above the
-sea and three hundred and thirty feet above Fabyan's. Higher than this
-the massive walls of the Notch rise some two thousand feet farther,
-and then slope backward up to the mountain summits, which are much
-higher, but invisible from the bottom of the valley. In front of
-Crawford's, where there is a rather broader space, one looks southward
-at the little oval lake which is the source of Saco River. Just beyond
-is the "Gate of the Notch," where the rocky projections of the huge
-mountains on either hand come out and almost close the passage,
-leaving an opening of only a few feet width for the diminutive Saco,
-here a mere rill, to start on its career, soon becoming a vigorous
-mountain torrent, leaping and bounding down the canyon. Upon the left
-hand of the stream the rocks have been cut out to give the wagon-road
-room, and on the right hand the railroad has hewn its route through
-the granite, the three being closely compressed between the high
-cliffs towering above. The Elephant's Head, formed of dark rocks, with
-trunk and eye well fashioned, looks down upon this "Gate," and just
-beyond, another cliff presents the semblance of an Indian papoose
-clinging to its mother's back. The little Saco soon cuts the Notch
-deeply down, such is its steep descent, so that in a short distance it
-becomes a vast ravine. Thus, with the railway high up on a gallery
-upon the mountain side, and the road deep down by the Saco, the ravine
-is cleft between Mounts Webster and Willard, the latter, as the chasm
-bends, falling sharply off, a tremendous precipice of steep and bare
-rock, when Mount Willey appears beyond. Thus the Notch deepens and
-broadens, becoming an enormous chasm, with the rapid river down in the
-bottom, constantly increasing in volume. The Saco is said to have been
-thus named by the Indians because of the mass of water it brings down,
-the word meaning "pouring out."
-
-About three miles below the "Gate," the Notch broadens into a sort of
-basin enclosed by the bare walls of Mount Willard to the westward and
-Mount Willey to the south, curving around the long crescent-shaped
-slope of Mount Webster, which makes the northern border. Here is the
-Willey House, the scene of the Willey Slide, the great tragedy of the
-Notch, a small and antiquated inn, now adjoined by a modern hotel. In
-August, 1826, there was a terrific landslide down the slope of Mount
-Willey behind the old house, then kept by Samuel Willey, from whom the
-mountain was afterwards named. A heavy storm after a long drouth had
-made a flood in the Saco, and Willey, fearing an overflow, deserted
-his house in the night, with his family of nine persons, to seek
-higher ground. Suddenly the slide came down the mountain and the
-flight was fatal, the avalanche of rocks and dirt overwhelming them
-all, while a convenient boulder behind the house so deviated it that,
-although almost covered with rubbish, the building was uninjured. A
-traveller who afterwards came through the Notch found the half-buried
-inn deserted, with the doors open, the supper-table spread, and a
-Bible lying open upon it, with a pair of spectacles on the page,
-evidently just as they had been left in the sudden flight. Owing to
-the bend in the Notch there is an unrivalled view down it from the
-summit of Mount Willard, which thus stands practically at the head of
-the deep pass. The southern face of this mountain is a vast and almost
-perpendicular precipice, out on the brow of which the observer stands
-to look down the deep valley stretching far away, and enclosed
-between mountains rising nearly two thousand feet above him on either
-hand, so that the view has a singular individuality, as if one were
-looking at it through a camera. The depth of the gorge and the
-precipitous front of the mountain make the Notch a tremendous gulf.
-The deeply concave chasm is scooped out like an immense cylinder,
-having the inside covered with dense green foliage, and grandly
-bending around to the left until lost afar off behind the distant
-projecting slope of Mount Webster. The railroad stretches, a streak of
-brown, along the right-hand wall of the valley, twisting in and out
-about the promontories. Down in the bottom the thick forest hides the
-wagon-road and the bed of the Saco until they come out in a flat
-cleared green spot in front of the Willey House. The towering mountain
-slopes are scratched and scarred where slides have come down, and two
-or three bright little ribbons of white water are suspended on their
-sides, making cascades that help fill the river beneath. Beyond the
-outlet of the Notch, the eastern background is a vast sea of mountain
-ranges and billowy peaks, having the bold, white, pyramidal crown of
-proud Chocorua rising behind them. This splendid scene, regarded by
-many as the finest in the White Mountains, had a peculiar charm for
-Anthony Trollope on his American visit. He did not usually view
-America with favor, but he emphatically wrote: "Much of this scenery,
-I say, is superior to the famed and classic lands of Europe," adding
-"I know nothing, for instance, on the Rhine equal to the view from
-Mount Willard and the mountain Pass called the Notch." Most
-experienced observers are convinced that as an impressive exhibition
-of a deep mountain canyon with an enchanting background, this is not
-surpassed in Switzerland.
-
-
-MOUNT WASHINGTON.
-
-The Fabyan House, in front of Mount Washington, stands upon the
-location of the "Giant's Grave," which was an elongated mound of sand
-and gravel formed by the waves of an ancient lake, reacting from the
-adjacent mountain slopes, and rising about fifty feet. Being high,
-long and wide, it was just the place for a house. The tradition is
-that once a fierce-looking Indian stood upon this mound at night,
-waving a flaming torch and shouting "No paleface shall take root here;
-this the Great Spirit whispered in my ear." The successive burnings of
-hotels on this site would seem to indicate this as prophetic, and in
-fact no hotel did stand there any length of time until the projectors
-of the present large building, after the last one was burnt, as if to
-avoid fate, had the mound making the "Giant's Grave" levelled and
-obliterated. Here was built the earliest inn of the White Mountains in
-1803 by a sawmill owner on the Ammonoosuc River, named Crawford. His
-grandson, Ethan Allen Crawford, the famous "White Mountain Giant," was
-the noted guide who made the first path to ascend Mount Washington
-and built the first house on its summit. Now, the mountain is ascended
-from this western side by an inclined-plane railway, reached by an
-ordinary railway extending from Fabyan's five miles across to the base
-of the mountain. The railway to the summit is about three miles long,
-with an average gradient of thirteen hundred feet to the mile, the
-maximum being thirteen and one-half inches in the yard. It is worked
-by a cog-wheel locomotive acting upon a central cogged rail, and the
-ascent is accomplished in about ninety minutes. It is an exhilarating
-ride up the slope, for, as the car is elevated, the horizon of view
-widens decidedly to the west and northwest, while the trees of the
-forest get smaller and smaller, and their character changes. The
-sugar-maples, yellow birches and mossy-trunked beeches, with an
-occasional aspen or mountain ash, are gradually left behind in the
-valley, being replaced on the higher slope by white pine and hemlock,
-white birch, and dark spruces and firs hung with gray moss. These
-gradually becoming smaller, soon the only trees left are a sort of
-dwarf fir intertangled with moss. Then, rising above the limit of
-trees, there is only a stunted arctic vegetation, and this permits a
-grand and unobstructed view all around the western horizon.
-
-The route of the railway goes over and up various steep trestles, the
-most startling of all being "Jacob's Ladder," elevated about thirty
-feet and having the steepest gradient. Here is a perfect arctic
-desolation, the surface being broken blocks and rough stones of schist
-and granite, cracked, honeycombed and moss-grown, having endured the
-storms and frosts of centuries. There is a little vegetation where it
-may get root, the reindeer-moss, saxifrage clumps and sandwort of
-dreary Labrador or Greenland. The view covers a wide expanse far away
-westward to the Green Mountains, the landscape being everywhere dark
-forests and peaks, with the massive slopes of Mount Clay nearer to the
-northward, and the whole Presidential range, Mounts Jefferson, Adams
-and Madison, stretching beyond. As one looks over the vast, dark,
-undulating wilderness of peaks, it can be realized how the flood of
-emotion made an entranced observer exclaim, in the hearing of Mr.
-Starr King, "See the tumultuous bombast of the landscape." Nearing the
-summit, the railway gradient is less steep, and here an opportunity is
-given to peer over the edge of the "Great Gulf," a profound abyss on
-the eastern mountain slope between Washington, Clay and Jefferson.
-This hollow gulf, its sides and bottom covered with dark trees,
-relieved by a little glistening pond at the bottom, stretches out to
-the narrow valley along the eastern base of the range, known as the
-Glen, down into which one can look at an angle of about forty-five
-degrees. Rounding the mountain summit, the train halts at a broad
-platform in front of the Summit Hotel.
-
-The top of Mount Washington is the highest elevation in the United
-States east of the Rockies and north of the Carolinas. It is what may
-be described as an arctic island, elevated sixty-two hundred and
-ninety feet, in the temperate zone, and displaying both arctic
-vegetation and temperature, the flora and climate being alike that of
-Greenland. An observatory gives a higher view over the tops of the
-buildings, and the first great impression of it is that the view seems
-to be all around the world, limited only by the horizon. In every
-direction are oceans of billowy peaks, the whole enormous circuit of
-almost a thousand miles, embracing New England, New York, Canada and
-the sea. The grand scene is at the same time gloomy. The almost
-universal forests overspread everything with a mournful pall of sombre
-green. The summit is spacious, and the contour of the mountain can on
-all sides be plainly seen. Its slope to the westward, like all of the
-Presidential range, is steeper than to the eastward, down which a
-wagon-road zigzags into the Glen. Upon the eastern side, two long
-spurs seem to brace the mountain, though profound ravines are there
-cut into it. The southern slope of the summit pitches off suddenly,
-while to the north there is a more gradual descent, both the railway
-and wagon-road approaching that way. The original Tip-Top House, the
-first inn erected, is preserved as a curiosity, a low and damp
-structure built of the rough stones gathered on the mountain. The
-newer hotel is of wood, with a steep roof, and is chained down to the
-rocks to prevent the gales from blowing it over. There is a
-weather-signal station at the summit, one of the most important posts
-in the country.
-
-
-THE GRAND MOUNTAIN VIEW.
-
-The Indians always held the White Mountains in reverent awe. They were
-the religious shrine of the Pennacooks, who roamed over the region
-between the mountains and the sea. The early historian Josselyn in the
-seventeenth century recorded, of these Indians: "Ask them whither they
-go when they dye; they will tell you, pointing with their finger, to
-Heaven, beyond the White Mountains." Passaconaway, the great
-wizard-chief of the Pennacooks, who was finally converted to
-Christianity by the Apostle Eliot, is said to have lived to the great
-age of one hundred and twenty years, and then to have been translated.
-The Pennacook tradition was that in the cold of mid-winter he was
-carried away from them in a weird sleigh drawn by wolves, that took
-him to the summit of Mount Washington, whence he was straightway
-received into Heaven:
-
- "Far o'er Winnepiseogee's ice,
- With brindled wolves all harnessed then and there,
- High seated on a sledge made in a trice
- On Mount Agiochook of hickory,
- He lashed and reeled and sang right jollily,
-
- And once upon a car of flaming fire,
- The dreadful Indian shook with fear to see
- The King of Pennacook, his chief, his sire,
- Ride flaming up to Heaven, than any mountain higher."
-
-The first house on the mountain, built by Ethan Allen Crawford in
-1821, was a small stone cabin having the floor covered with moss for
-bedding, the only furniture being a chest to contain blankets, and a
-stove; a roll of sheet-lead serving as the "register," on which the
-guests scratched their names and the date of visit. This cabin was
-swept away by a terrific storm in August, 1826. Some time later an
-eccentric individual took possession of the summit, naming it "Trinity
-Height," and called himself the modern "Israel of Jerusalem,"
-proposing to inaugurate in this exalted place a new Order, styled "The
-Christian or Purple and Royal Democracy." With an eye to business, he
-put toll-gates on the bridlepaths and taxed each visitor a dollar.
-There were bitter quarrels about the ownership for years afterwards,
-and the first winter ascent was made by a sheriff, who went up to
-serve a writ in 1858, and found frost over a foot thick enveloping
-everything. The lawsuits, however, were ultimately fought out and
-settled, and the present owners have been undisturbed for years.
-
-The view from the summit is widespread. The most distant objects that
-have been recognized are Mount Beloeil, northwest in Canada, and
-Mount Ebeeme, northeast beyond the Moosehead Lake in Maine, each one
-hundred and thirty-five miles away. These distant mountain tops are
-said to be brought into view only by the aid of atmospheric
-refraction, in raising them, as they are actually below the horizon.
-Also northeast is Mount Abraham, sixty-eight miles away; and were it
-not for this, Maine's greatest mountain, Katahdin, in the wilderness
-of the upper Penobscot, might be seen, but Abraham obstructs the view.
-Katahdin, rising nearly fifty-four hundred feet, is one hundred and
-sixty-five miles northeast. Saddleback, at the head of the Rangeley
-Lakes, is seen sixty miles away, and Bald Mountain, to the right, one
-hundred miles off in Maine. To the eastward is seen Mount Megunticook,
-in the Camden range, on Penobscot Bay, one hundred and fifteen miles
-off. To the east and southeast for many miles is the ocean between
-Casco Bay and Cape Ann. The sea, however, is never well viewed from
-Mount Washington, because it is so nearly the color of the sky at the
-horizon as to be difficult of acute discernment. The moving vessels,
-however, can be readily seen by the aid of a glass. The bright waters
-of Sebago Lake are to the southeast, and beyond are the shores of
-Casco Bay and the city of Portland, sixty-seven miles off. The low
-round swell of Mount Agamenticus shows faintly above the horizon,
-seventy-nine miles south-southeast, and to the right there is also a
-faint trace of the Isles of Shoals, ninety-six miles off. To the
-southeast, twenty-two miles, is the sharpest and noblest peak of all
-in the galaxy of view, the high, white, pyramidal top of Chocorua,
-having the broad island-studded Lake Winnepesaukee to the right, with
-the distant double peak of Mount Belknap seen over its clear waters.
-Just to the west of south, and one hundred and four miles distant, is
-the faint rounded summit of Mount Monadnock, near the southwest corner
-of New Hampshire, and nearer is Mount Kearsarge, seventy miles off,
-and appearing much similar. The Nelson Pinnacle, farther away, is to
-the right of Kearsarge. The most distant mountain discernible in that
-direction is Mount Wachusett, one hundred and twenty-six miles off. To
-the southwest are seen Ascutney and the twin Killington Peaks, near
-Rutland, Vermont, eighty-eight miles away. To the west are seen
-plainly the two Green Mountain peaks of Mansfield and the Camel's
-Hump, seventy-eight miles off, and over the northern slope of the
-latter can be faintly detected the great Adirondack Mount Whiteface,
-one hundred and thirty miles distant. Such is the splendid circuit of
-mountains forming the horizon for Mount Washington. Among the striking
-objects in the view are the deep river valleys as they go out from the
-Presidential range. The Peabody flows through the Glen north to the
-Androscoggin, which can be traced far northeast. The Ellis flows south
-to the Saco, which goes out through the Notch and away southeast. The
-valley of the Ammonoosuc runs off westward, where along the horizon is
-the great trough of the Connecticut Valley stretching all across the
-scene. Lakes and ponds are studded among the dark summits, and at the
-observer's feet are the springs feeding many great rivers of New
-England, the Merrimack, to the southward, also having its sources in
-this great wilderness of mountains, which on all sides sends out
-babbling brooks and silvery cataracts to bear their waters down to old
-ocean.
-
-
-THE GLEN AND NORTH CONWAY.
-
-The wagon-road from Mount Washington summit down to the base, is on
-the eastern side, and is a little more than eight miles long, with an
-average gradient of one to eight, descending into the Glen and
-displaying magnificent views. The descent occupies about one hour, and
-the ascent five hours. On the southeastern side of the mountain is
-Tuckerman's Ravine, a huge gorge enclosed by rocky walls a thousand
-feet high. This ravine usually displays the "Snow Arch" until late in
-August, formed by a stream flowing out from under the huge masses of
-snow piled up in winter, until it gradually melts away and collapses.
-The main Glen is formed by the deep and thickly-wooded Pinkham Notch
-at the eastern base of Mount Washington, its floor being at two
-thousand feet elevation, and this Notch continues north and south in
-deeply-carved stream beds, the Peabody River flowing northward to the
-Androscoggin at Gorham and the Ellis River southward to the Saco. The
-Peabody descends rapidly to the Androscoggin, entering it at about
-eight hundred feet elevation, the active town of Gorham being located
-here in a beautiful situation, and having two thousand people, at the
-northern gateway to the White Mountains. The Androscoggin, having
-drained the eastern mountain slopes, flows away into the State of
-Maine to seek the Kennebec, and thence the sea. In the Glen, in the
-coaching days, the old Glen House was the headquarters at the foot of
-the road down Mount Washington, but it was burnt in 1894, and has not
-been rebuilt. To the eastward, bounding the Glen, rise the Wild Cat
-Ridge and the impressive Carter Dome, which would be a grand mountain
-elsewhere, but here is dwarfed by the overshadowing Presidential range
-on the western side. From the Pinkham Notch the little Ellis River
-goes southward, and below the outlet of Tuckerman's Ravine is the
-beautiful Crystal Cascade, where it pours down eighty feet over
-successive step-like terraces. Another lovely cataract it makes is the
-Glen Ellis Fall, which is considered the finest in the White
-Mountains, on the slope of the Wild Cat Ridge. The stream slides down
-an inclined plane of twenty feet over ledges, and then falls seventy
-feet through a deep groove, twisted by bulges in the rocks and making
-almost a complete turn. Thus sliding, foaming and falling, the
-stream leaps nearly a hundred feet into a dark green pool beneath. The
-Glen broadens as it progresses southward, and soon becomes a widened
-intervale, having many houses for summer boarders.
-
- [Illustration: _Log Bridge over the Wild Cat, near Jackson, N. H._]
-
-Here is the pleasant village of Jackson in a broad basin, surrounded
-by low mountains, making splendid views in all directions. There are
-the Tin, Iron, Thorn and Moat Mountains, with others, the intervale
-being almost covered with hotels, boarding-houses, and the accessories
-of a popular summer resort, and having pretty cottages perched on the
-hill-slopes all about. This pleasant resting-place was originally
-called New Madbury, but at the opening of the nineteenth century it
-was named in honor of President John Adams. It continued contentedly
-as Adams until his son John Quincy became President, and in 1828, when
-politics ran high and John Quincy Adams was again a candidate, it
-happened that all the votes in the town of Adams but one were given to
-his competitor, Andrew Jackson, who was elected, whereupon the town
-changed its name to Jackson. Since then it has had a quiet history
-excepting once, when, in 1875, they were building the railroad through
-the White Mountain Notch, and the bears, scared by the powder-blasts
-of the builders, came in droves to Jackson and almost captured the
-town from the frightened inhabitants. Just beyond Jackson, in Lower
-Bartlett, the Ellis flows into the Saco in a magnificent environment,
-the Ellis and the Eastern Branch from the Carter range coming in
-together, and making the Saco a great river. This is another paradise
-for the seeker after the picturesque. From the little church of the
-village, looking down over the Saco intervales, when flooded with
-sunset light, gives a most fascinating view. An enraptured visitor has
-written of this landscape seen from the church door: "One might
-believe that he was looking through an air that had never enwrapped
-any sin, upon a floor of some nook of the primitive Eden." Bartlett
-was named in honor of Josiah Bartlett, a signer of the Declaration of
-Independence, and its pioneer settler, John Poindexter, came eighty
-miles on foot through the wilderness from Portsmouth, dragging his few
-household effects on a hand-sled, his wife riding an old horse, with
-the feather-bed for a saddle, and carrying the baby in her arms.
-
-The Saco Valley broadens below, and Intervale, another summer village,
-is passed, and then North Conway, one of the most popular of the White
-Mountain resorts. It spreads along a low sloping terrace on the
-eastern verge of the widening valley, and looks out upon the river
-with the elongated and massive ridge of Moat Mountain grandly rising
-beyond. The town is largely built along a pleasant tree-bordered
-street, having the Presidential range spread in magnificent array to
-the northwest, sixteen miles away. To the southward the valley opens
-over long stretches of fertile lowlands until the Saco turns sharply
-to the eastward, seeking the sea. To the northward, the immediate
-guardian of the valley is Mount Kearsarge, sometimes called Pequawket,
-rising thirty-three hundred feet. Kearsarge means the "pointed pine
-mountain," and its name was given the famous warship which fought and
-sunk the privateer "Alabama." It is the beauty of the surroundings
-which gives North Conway its charm, and the valley is called the
-"Arcadia of the White Hills," where the harshness of the granite
-ramparts beyond are in strange contrast with the genial repose of
-these meadows, and the delicate curves of the long, swelling hills.
-The restfulness of the scene is its attraction, everything
-contributing to its serenity; even distant Mount Washington is said to
-"not seem so much to stand up as to lie out at ease across the north;
-the leonine grandeur is there, but it is the lion, not erect, but
-couchant, a little sleepy, stretching out his paws and enjoying the
-sun." Proud Chocorua, which is not far away, is also said to even
-appear "a little tired," as seen from North Conway, and as if looking
-wistfully down into
-
- "A land
- In which it seemed always afternoon."
-
-These Conway intervales of the Saco were the Indian valley of
-Pequawket, and its people have long been known as the Pigwackets. An
-Indian village first occupied the site of North Conway, gradually
-giving place to the rude huts of the colonists. It progressed greatly
-by the trade through the mountain district, before the advent of the
-railway, and was the chief stage-coach headquarters in those days. Now
-it is quiet and restful, the excitements of the coaching times being
-gone. Three miles below, the magnificent valley makes its grand bend
-to the eastward, and the swelling Saco flows out through the State of
-Maine and to the sea at the twin towns of Saco and Biddeford.
-
-
-LAKE WINNEPESAUKEE.
-
-The southern verge of the White Mountains has many lower peaks and
-ridges, including the Ossipee and Sandwich ranges, and finally they
-all run off into the serrated shores of the extensive and beautiful
-Lake Winnepesaukee, cut by long, sloping promontories and abounding in
-islands. Thirteen miles southward from North Conway, near Madison, is
-the largest erratic boulder of granite known to exist, which was
-brought down and dropped there by the great glacier and is estimated
-to weigh eight thousand tons. It is seventy-five feet long, forty
-wide, and from thirty to thirty-seven feet high. Lake Winnepesaukee
-washes all the southeastern flanks of the mountain region, and has
-many peaks in grand array around its northern borders. The Indians
-were so impressed with the attractive scenery of the lake that they
-gave it the poetical name, meaning "the Smile of the Great Spirit."
-The Sandwich Mountains are spread across its northern horizon,
-showing the rocky summit of Mount Tecumseh, rising over four thousand
-feet; Tripyramid and its great "Slide," marked along its face, where a
-vast mass of rocks and forest went down the slope in the rainy season
-of 1869, moving over a distance of two miles and falling twenty-one
-hundred feet; the broad, rounded summit of the Sandwich "Dome;" the
-sharp peak of Whiteface, also scratched by a wide landslide on its
-southern slope; the lofty top of Passaconaway, rising forty-two
-hundred feet; and the proud apex of Chocorua, regarded as the most
-picturesque of all these mountains. Its much-admired peaks do not rise
-as high as some of the others, thirty-five hundred feet, but are built
-of a brilliant crystalline labradorite, called Chocorua granite,
-presenting a striking appearance, and being entirely denuded of trees.
-Chocorua was an Indian prophet of the Pequawkets, whose family was
-slain by the whites, and he took a terrible revenge. A reward was
-offered for his scalp, and his pursuers followed him to the mountain
-top and shot him down. When dying, he invoked the curses of the Great
-Spirit upon them, and the mountain now bears his sonorous name. For
-years afterwards the curses came true; pestilence raged in the
-adjacent valleys, cattle could not be kept, for they all died, and the
-people submitted humbly to the affliction, believing it to be the
-realization of the Indian's imprecation. But one day a scientific
-fellow wandered that way, and being of an investigating turn, he soon
-found the sickness was due to muriate of lime in the water. After that
-discovery the Indian's curse went for naught. Now the whole country
-roundabout is healthy, and filled with the balsamic atmosphere which
-invigorates the admiring thousands who come to see the noble mountain.
-Thus sings Whittier of it in _Among the Hills_, after a storm:
-
- "Through Sandwich Notch the west wind sang
- Good morrow to the cotter;
- And once again Chocorua's horn
- Of shadow pierced the water.
-
- "Above his broad Lake Ossipee,
- Once more the sunshine wearing,
- Stooped, tracing on that silver shield
- His grim armorial bearing.
-
- "For health comes sparkling in the streams
- From cool Chocorua stealing:
- There's iron in our northern winds;
- Our pines are trees of healing."
-
-Lake Winnepesaukee, thus magnificently outstretched in front of these
-lofty hills, is twenty-five miles long and in the centre about seven
-miles wide, covering a surface, exclusive of its many islands, of
-seventy square miles. It has wonderfully transparent water, being fed
-by springs, and its outline is very irregular, pierced by deep,
-elongated bays, and having broad peninsulas or necks of land
-stretching far out from the mainland. The shores are composed mostly
-of rocks, myriads of boulders being piled up along the water's edge as
-if for a wall, making an attractive rocky border with the foliage
-growing out of it. An archipelago of islands of all sizes and
-characters is dotted over the lake, there being two hundred and
-seventy-four of them, several having inhabitants. These are what Starr
-King calls "the fleet of islands that ride at anchor on its
-bosom--from little shallops to grand three-deckers." This attractive
-lake is the storage-reservoir for the many mills on the Merrimack,
-keeping their water-supply equable throughout the year by a dam at the
-Weirs, the western outlet, raising the surface six feet and making its
-level about five hundred feet above the sea. The railroads approach
-the lake both at the Weirs and at Wolfboro' on the eastern verge, and
-steamboats take the people over the lake to the various settlements on
-its shores. Wolfboro' was named after the British General Wolfe who
-fell on the Plains of Abraham, and is the largest town on the lake,
-having three thousand people. It has a beautiful outlook over the
-water from the adjacent high hills of Copple Crown and Tumble-Down
-Dick, the latter getting its name from an unfortunate blind horse
-"Dick," who once fell over a cliff on its side.
-
-The steamboat journey upon the lake discloses its beauties, the gentle
-tree-clad shores with higher hills and mountains behind them, the many
-pleasant cottages, and the wonderfully clear green waters. It is a
-curious place, all arms and bays and great protruding necks of land,
-the open spaces dotted with islands, so that everywhere there are long
-vista views across the water and far up into the inlets of the shores,
-while the large double peak of Mount Belknap stands up massive and
-impressive at the southwestern border, and opposite in the northeast
-is the proud white summit of Chocorua. Edward Everett, speaking of his
-extensive travels in Europe, says, "My eye has yet to rest on a
-lovelier scene than that which smiles around you as you sail from
-Weirs Landing to Centre Harbor." The Weirs Landing is at the head of a
-deep bay made by the outlet stream, and is a popular summer
-camping-ground, the edge of the water fringed with cottages and the
-adjacent groves used by the camps. Many fish ascended the outlet
-stream in the early times seeking the clear waters, and the shallows
-at the outlet were availed of by the Indians to set their nets, so
-that it naturally got the name of the Weirs. Here, adjoining the
-shore, is the ancient "Endicott Rock," which was marked by the first
-surveyors sent up by Governor Endicott of Massachusetts to find the
-source of the Merrimack. The outlet stream goes through a region of
-many ponds and lakes bordered by large icehouses, the chief of these
-waters being Lake Winnisquam, and all these extensive reservoirs help
-to supply the great river of mill-wheels. The longest fiord indented
-in the southern shore of Winnepesaukee is narrow and five miles long,
-called Alton Bay, and it has a most attractive environment, with Mount
-Belknap rising to the westward twenty-four hundred feet high.
-
-Upon the northern shore, grandly encircled by the Sandwich Mountains,
-the most extensive bay running up into the land is Centre Harbor, and
-here is a popular place of summer sojourn. Its background is a grand
-mountain amphitheatre from Red Hill to the westward around to the dark
-Ossipee range to the east, while in front, over the lake, is one of
-the most charming views in nature, with its many islands, long arms,
-deep bays, and strangely protruding elongated necks of wooded land.
-Thus the delicious water scene stretches for over twenty miles away,
-having in the distance the twin peaks of Belknap and the long and wavy
-summits of the attendant ridges nestling low and blue at the southern
-horizon. Climbing to the top of Red Hill, rising over two thousand
-feet, this magnificent view is got in a way which one charmed observer
-says "defies competition, as it transcends description; it is the
-perfection of earthly prospects." Whittier, who was passionately fond
-of this whole region, after admiring it from Red Hill, wrote the noble
-invocation:
-
- "O, watched by silence and the night,
- And folded in the strong embrace
- Of the great mountains, with the light
- Of the sweet heavens upon thy face--
-
- "Lake of the Northland! keep thy dower
- Of beauty still, and while above
- Thy silent mountains speak of power,
- Be thou the mirror of God's love."
-
-Far over to the westward can be traced the outlet stream, flowing past
-many lakes and seeking the great river where these pellucid waters do
-such useful work. Thus has Whittier, from this mountain outlook, sung
-of the Merrimack:
-
- "O child of that white-crested mountain whose springs
- Gush forth in the shade of the cliff-eagle's wings,
- Down whose slopes to the lowlands thy cold waters shine,
- Leaping gray walls of rock, flashing through the dwarf pine.
-
- "From that cloud-curtained cradle, so cold and so lone,
- From the arms of that wintry-locked mother of stone,
- By hills hung with forests, through vales wide and free,
- Thy mountain-born brightness glanced down to the sea."
-
-
-
-
-GOING DOWN EAST.
-
-
-
-
-XVIII.
-
-GOING DOWN EAST.
-
- Salisbury, Hampton and Rye Beaches -- Portsmouth -- Kittery
- -- Newcastle Island -- Wentworth House -- Isles of Shoals
- -- Appledore -- Star Island -- Pirates' Haunts -- Boon
- Island -- Nottingham Wreck -- Agamenticus -- York Beach --
- Cape Neddick -- Wells -- Kennebunk River -- Saco River --
- Biddeford and Saco -- Old Orchard -- Scarborough -- Casco
- Bay -- Portland -- Cape Elizabeth -- "Enterprise" and
- "Boxer" Fight -- Sebago Lake -- Poland Springs --
- Androscoggin River -- Rumford Falls -- Livermore Falls --
- Lewiston Falls -- Brunswick -- Bowdoin College -- Merry
- Meeting Bay -- Kennebec River -- Moosehead Lake -- Mount
- Kineo -- Norridgewock -- Mogg Megone -- Father Rale --
- Skowhegan Falls -- Taconic Falls -- Waterville -- Augusta
- -- Lumber and Ice -- Bath -- Sheepscott Bay -- Monhegan --
- Pemaquid -- Fort Frederick -- Wiscasset -- Penobscot River
- -- Norumbega -- Sieur de Monts -- Acadia -- Pentagoet --
- Baron de Castine -- The Tarratines -- Muscongus -- Camden
- Mountains -- Rockland -- Islesboro' -- Penobscot
- Archipelago -- Belfast -- Bucksport -- Bangor -- Mount
- Desert Island -- Bar Harbor -- Somes' Sound -- Fogs --
- Mount Desert Rock -- Passamaquoddy Bay -- Grand Manan --
- Quoddy Head -- Lubec -- Campobello -- Eastport -- St. Croix
- River -- Calais and St. Stephen -- New Brunswick -- Bay of
- Fundy -- High Tides -- St. John City -- Madame La Tour --
- River St. John -- The Reversible Cataract -- Grand Falls --
- Tobique River -- Pokiok River -- Frederickton --
- Maugerville -- Gagetown -- Kennebecasis Bay -- Digby Gut --
- Annapolis Basin -- Digby Wharf -- Yarmouth -- Annapolis
- Royal -- Basin of Minas -- Land of Evangeline -- Grand Pré
- -- Cape Blomidon -- The Acadian Removal -- Cape Split --
- Glooscap -- Chignecto Ship Railway -- Windsor -- Sam Slick
- -- The Flying Bluenose -- Halifax -- Chebucto -- Seal
- Island -- Tusket River -- Guysborough -- Cape Canso --
- Sable Island -- Truro -- Pictou -- Prince Edward Island --
- Charlottetown -- Summerside -- Canso Strait -- Cape Breton
- Island -- The Arm of Gold -- Isle Madame -- St. Peter's
- Inlet -- The Bras d'Or Lakes -- Baddeck -- Sydney --
- Spanish Bay -- Cape Breton -- English Port -- Louisbourg --
- The Great Acadian Fortress -- Its Two Surrenders -- Its
- Destruction -- Magdalen Islands -- Gannet Rock -- Deadman's
- Isle -- Tom Moore's Poem.
-
-
-NEWBURYPORT TO PORTSMOUTH.
-
-We will start on a journey towards the rising sun, searching for the
-elusive region known as "Down East." Most people recognize this as the
-country beyond New York, but when they inquire for it among the
-Connecticut Yankees they are always pointed onward. Likewise in
-Boston, the true "Down East" is said to be farther along the coast.
-Pass the granite headland of Cape Ann, and it is still beyond. Samuel
-Adams Drake tells of asking the momentous question of a Maine
-fisherman getting up his sail on the Penobscot: "Whither bound?"
-Promptly came the reply: "Sir, to you--Down East." Thus the mythical
-land is ever elusive, and finally gets away off among the "Blue Noses"
-of the Canadian maritime provinces. We cross the Merrimack from
-Newburyport in searching for it, and enter the New Hampshire coast
-border town of Seabrook, where the people are known as the
-"Algerines," and where salt-marshes, winding streams, forests and
-rocks vary the view with long, sandy beaches out on the ocean front,
-having hotels and cottages scattered along them. Here are noted
-resorts--Salisbury Beach, Hampton Beach and Rye Beach--all crowded
-with summer visitors. For over two centuries on a certain day in
-August, the New Hampshire people have visited Salisbury Beach by
-thousands, to keep up an ancient custom. Here Whittier pitched his
-_Tent on the Beach_ he has so graphically described. It was at Hampton
-village in 1737, that occurred the parley which resulted in giving the
-infant colony of New Hampshire its narrow border of seacoast.
-Massachusetts had settled this region, and that powerful province was
-bound to possess it, though the King had made an adverse grant. Into
-Hampton rode in great state the Governor of Massachusetts at the head
-of his Legislature, and escorted by five troops of horse, formally
-demanding possession of the maritime townships. He met the Governor of
-New Hampshire in the George Tavern, and the demand was refused. The
-latter sent a plaintive appeal to the King, declaring that "the vast,
-opulent and overgrown province of Massachusetts was devouring the
-poor, little, loyal, distressed province of New Hampshire." The royal
-heart was touched and the King commanded Massachusetts to surrender
-her claim to two tiers of townships, twenty-eight in number, thus
-giving New Hampshire her present scant eighteen miles of coast-line.
-Rye Beach is the most popular of these seashore resorts, and not far
-beyond is Piscataqua River, the New Hampshire eastern boundary.
-
-Here is the quaint and quiet old town of Portsmouth, three miles from
-the sea, and having about ten thousand people. Opposite, on
-Continental Island, adjoining the Maine shore, is the Kittery Navy
-Yard, where the warship "Kearsarge" was built. Commerce has about
-surrendered to the superior attractions of a summer resort at
-Portsmouth, and the comfortable old dwellings in their extensive
-gardens show the wealth accumulated by bygone generations. To this
-place originally came the "founder of New Hampshire," Captain Mason,
-who had been the Governor of the Southsea Castle in Portsmouth harbor,
-England, and at his suggestion, the settlement, originally called
-Strawberry Bank, from the abundance of wild strawberries, was named
-Portsmouth. The Piscataqua is formed above by the union of the Salmon
-Falls and Cocheco Rivers, both admirable water-powers, serving large
-factories, and the whole region adjacent to Portsmouth harbor is
-bordered by islands and interlaced with waterways, some of them yet
-displaying the remains of the colonial defensive forts. At Kittery
-Point, near the Navy Yard, was born and is buried the greatest man of
-colonial fame in that region, Sir William Pepperell, the famous leader
-of the Puritan expedition that captured Louisbourg from the French in
-1745. The noted "Mrs. Partington," B. P. Shillaber, was born in
-Portsmouth in 1814.
-
-Adjoining the harbor, and with a broad beach facing the sea, is
-Newcastle Island, incorporated for the annual fee of three
-peppercorns, by King William III. and Queen Mary in the seventeenth
-century. Here lived in semi-regal state the Wentworths, who were the
-colonial governors, their memory now preserved by the vast modern
-Wentworth Hotel, whose colossal proportions are visible far over land
-and sea. The old Wentworth House at Little Harbor, wherein was held
-the provincial court, still remains--an irregular, quaint but
-picturesque building--its most noted occupant having been the courtly
-and gouty old Governor Benning Wentworth, who named Bennington in
-Vermont, and whose wedding on his sixtieth birthday has given
-Longfellow one of his most striking themes, the "Poet's Tale" at _The
-Wayside Inn_. The poet tells of the appearance one day in Queen
-Street, Portsmouth, of Martha Hilton,
-
- "A little girl,
- Barefooted, ragged, with neglected hair,
- Eyes full of laughter, neck and shoulders bare,
- A thin slip of a girl, like a new moon,
- Sure to be rounded into beauty soon,
- A creature men would worship and adore,
- Though now, in mean habiliments, she bore
- A pail of water, dripping, through the street,
- And bathing, as she went, her naked feet."
-
-The buxom landlady at the inn, "Mistress Stavers in her furbelows,"
-felt called upon to give her sharp reproof:
-
- "'O Martha Hilton! Fie! how dare you go
- About the town half-dressed, and looking so!'
- At which the gypsy laughed, and straight replied:
- 'No matter how I look; I yet shall ride
- In my own chariot, ma'am.'"
-
-The old Governor was a widower and childless, and in course of time
-Martha came to be employed at Wentworth House as maid-of-all-work, not
-wholly unobserved by him, as the sequel proved. He arranged a feast
-for his sixtieth birthday, and all the great people of the colony were
-at his table.
-
- "When they had drunk the King, with many a cheer,
- The Governor whispered in a servant's ear,
- Who disappeared, and presently there stood
- Within the room, in perfect womanhood,
- A maiden, modest and yet self possessed,
- Youthful and beautiful, and simply dressed.
- Can this be Martha Hilton? It must be!
- Yes, Martha Hilton, and no other she!
- Dowered with the beauty of her twenty years,
- How lady-like, how queen-like she appears;
- The pale, thin crescent of the days gone by
- Is Dian now in all her majesty!
- Yet scarce a guest perceived that she was there
- Until the Governor, rising from his chair,
- Played slightly with his ruffles, then looked down,
- And said unto the Reverend Arthur Brown:
- 'This is my birthday; it shall likewise be
- My wedding day; and you shall marry me!'
-
- "The listening guests were greatly mystified,
- None more so than the rector, who replied:
- 'Marry you? Yes, that were a pleasant task,
- Your Excellency; but to whom? I ask.'
- The Governor answered: 'To this lady here;'
- And beckoned Martha Hilton to draw near.
- She came, and stood, all blushes, at his side.
- The rector paused. The impatient Governor cried:
- 'This is the lady; do you hesitate?
- Then I command you as chief magistrate.'
- The rector read the service loud and clear:
- 'Dearly beloved, we are gathered here,'
- And so on to the end. At his command,
- On the fourth finger of her fair left hand
- The Governor placed the ring; and that was all:
- Martha was Lady Wentworth of the Hall!"
-
-
-THE ISLES OF SHOALS.
-
-Out in the Atlantic Ocean, six miles off the harbor entrance, and ten
-miles from Portsmouth, is one of the strangest places existing, the
-collection of crags and reefs known as the Isles of Shoals, their dim
-and shadowy outline lying like a cloud along the edge of the horizon.
-There are nine islands in the group, the chief being Appledore, rising
-from the sea much like a hog's back, and hence the original name of
-Hog Island. It covers about four hundred acres, and the whole group
-does not have much over six hundred acres. Star Island is smaller;
-Haley's or Smutty Nose, with Malaga and Cedar, are connected by a sort
-of breakwater; and there are four little islets--Duck, White's,
-Seavey's and Londoner's--and upon White Island is the lighthouse for
-the group, with a revolving light of alternating red and white
-flashes, elevated eighty-seven feet and visible fifteen miles at sea.
-A covered way leads back over the crags from the tower to the
-keeper's cottage. To this light there come answering signals from the
-Whale's Back Light at the Piscataqua entrance, from solitary Boon
-Island out at sea to the northward, and from the twin beacons of
-Thatcher's Island off Cape Ann to the south. As darkness falls, one
-after another these beacons blaze out as so many guiding stars across
-the waters. One of the noted sayings of John Quincy Adams was that he
-never saw these coast lights in the evening without recalling the
-welcoming light which Columbus said he saw flashing from the shore,
-when he discovered the New World.
-
- "I lit the lamps in the lighthouse tower,
- For the sun dropped down and the day was dead;
- They shone like a brilliant clustered flower,
- Two golden and five red."
-
-The Isles of Shoals are a remarkable formation--rugged ledges of rock
-out in the ocean bearing scarcely any vegetation; and on some of them
-not a blade of grass is seen. Four islands stretching in a line make
-the outside of the strange group--bare reefs, with water-worn, flinty
-surfaces, against which the sea beats. Not a tree grew anywhere until
-a little one was planted on Appledore, in front of the hotel, and
-another dwarf was coaxed to grow in the little old graveyard on Star
-Island. Their best vegetation was low huckleberry bushes, until
-someone thought of gathering soil enough to make grass patches for a
-cow or two. The utter desolation of these rocks, thus cast off
-apparently from the rest of the world, can hardly be realized, yet
-they have their admirers. Celia Thaxter, the poetess, was the daughter
-of the White's Island lightkeeper, and to her glowing pen much of
-their fame is due. She died on Appledore in 1894. The curious name of
-these islands first appears in the log of their discoverer, Champlain,
-who coasted along here in 1605. They were always prolific fishery
-grounds, and the name seems to have been given them from "the shoaling
-or schooling of the fish around them." In a deed from the Indians in
-1629 they are called the Isles of Shoals. Captain John Smith visited
-and described them in 1614, and with his customary audacity tried to
-name them "Smith's Islands," but without success. The boundary-line
-dividing Maine and New Hampshire passes through the group between Star
-and Appledore. The peculiar grouping makes a good harbor between these
-two, opening westward towards the mainland, and amply protected from
-the sea by the smaller islands outside. These rugged crags resemble
-the bald and rounded peaks of a sunken volcano thrust upward from the
-sea, with this little harbor forming its crater. When Nathaniel
-Hawthorne visited them, he wrote: "As much as anything else, it seems
-as if some of the massive materials of the world remained superfluous
-after the Creator had finished, and were carelessly thrown down here,
-where the millionth part of them emerge from the sea, and in the
-course of thousands of years have become partially bestrewn with a
-little soil." Their savagery during violent storms, when surrounded by
-surf and exposed to the ocean's wildest fury, becomes almost
-overwhelming, and they actually seem to reel beneath the feet.
-
-Star Island originally had a village of fishermen, until they were
-sent away to make room for the summer hotel. It was the town of
-Gosport, and its little church and tiny bell-tower are visible from
-afar over the water. The original church was built of timbers from the
-wreck of a Spanish vessel in 1685, and the present little stone church
-is as old as the nineteenth century. It had several faithful pastors,
-who were buried on the island, among them Rev. John Brook, of whom the
-quaint historian Cotton Mather tells the anecdote illustrating the
-efficacy of prayer: A child lay sick and so nearly dead those present
-believed it had actually expired, "but Mr. Brook, perceiving some life
-in it, goes to prayer, and in his prayer used this expression: 'Lord,
-wilt thou not grant some sign before we leave prayer that thou wilt
-spare and heal this child? We cannot leave thee till we have it.' The
-child sneezed immediately." On the highest part of Star Island is the
-broken monument to John Smith, put up by some of his admirers not long
-ago, bearing the three Moslem heads representing the Turks he had
-slain, but vandals have ruined it. The diminutive fort defending Star
-Island in colonial times has been abandoned more than a century, and
-nestling beneath it is the old graveyard, part of the walls remaining,
-and a few dilapidated gravestones. All the original inhabitants of the
-island are dead, their descendants scattered, and fashionable
-pleasuring now dominates this reef and its restless waters.
-
-As might be expected, a place like these islands was a favorite haunt
-for pirates in the colonial days. Around them cruised Captain Kidd,
-the notorious Blackbeard, and Hawkins, Phillips, Low, Ponad, and other
-famous pirates, and in fact the ghost of one of Kidd's men is said to
-still haunt Appledore. Many and bold were the gentry who in those days
-hoisted the "Jolly Roger" flag, with its grinning skull and
-cross-bones, and cruised in this picturesque region for glory and
-plunder. It was near the route between Boston and the Provinces and to
-Europe, and hence the valuable prey that allured them. Here sailed
-Captain Teach of ferocious countenance, piercing black eyes and
-enormous beard, who came to be familiarly known and feared as
-"Blackbeard." He was said to be "in league with the Devil and the
-Governor of North Carolina," and had an uncomfortable habit of firing
-loaded pistols in the dark, without caring much who got hit. In fact,
-it is recorded he once told his trusty crew he had to kill a man
-occasionally merely to prove he was captain. He also kept a diary,
-making characteristic entries, such as these: "Rum all out; our
-company somewhat sober; rogues a-plotting; confusion among us; so I
-looked for a prize." And this next day: "Took a prize with a great
-deal of liquor on board; so kept the ship's company hot, and all went
-well again." Blackbeard is supposed to have buried treasures on these
-islands, and the fishermen tell how they have seen the ghost of his
-mistress, gazing intently seaward, on a low, projecting point of White
-Island, a tall and shapely figure wrapped in a long cloak. Blackbeard
-ruled these waters until Lieutenant Maynard, with two armed sloops,
-went after him, captured his ship, met him in single combat, and after
-a hand-to-hand fight, in which both received fearful wounds, finally
-pinned the pirate to the deck with his dagger, closing his interesting
-career.
-
-Captain Kidd, who sailed in these parts, was not so ferocious as
-Blackbeard. It is said that at first he always swore-in his crew on
-the Bible, but afterwards finding this interfered with business, he
-buried his Bible in the sand. Captain Low captured a fishing-smack off
-these islands, but disappointed of booty, had the crew flogged, and
-then gave each man the alternative of being hanged or of three times
-vigorously cursing old Cotton Mather, which latter, it is recorded,
-"all did with alacrity." It is probable this punishment was inflicted
-by the pirate because it was the custom of the Puritan clergymen,
-when pirates were condemned, to have them brought into church, and as
-a proper preliminary to the hanging, preach long and powerful sermons
-to them on the enormity of their crimes and the torments awaiting in
-the next world. This same Captain Low is said to have once captured a
-Virginia vessel, and was so pleased with her captain that he invited
-him to share a bowl of punch. The Virginian, however, demurred, having
-scruples about drinking with a pirate, whereupon Low presented a
-cocked pistol to his ear and a glass of punch to his mouth, pleasantly
-remarking: "Either take one or the other." The captain took punch.
-Another rover of the seas, Phillips, captured the Dolphin, a
-fishing-vessel, and made all her crew turn pirates. John Fillmore, one
-of them, started a mutiny, killed Phillips, and took the Dolphin back
-to Boston. His great-great-grandson was President Millard Fillmore.
-There was also at one time a famous woman pirate in this region--Anne
-Bonney, an Irish girl from Cork, who fell in love with Captain
-Rockham, a pirate, who was afterwards captured and hanged. Before the
-capture she fought bravely, and, as she expressed it, "was one of the
-last men left upon the deck." There was much that was fascinating in
-the desperate careers of the lawless buccaneers who swept the New
-England coasts in the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries. They
-were for years masters of the ocean, and they even sent defiance to
-the King himself:
-
- "Go tell the King of England, go tell him thus from me,
- Though he reigns king o'er all the land, I will reign king at sea."
-
-All around the Isles of Shoals, when the sun sinks and twilight
-comes--
-
- "From the dim headlands many a lighthouse gleams,
- The street lamps of the ocean."
-
-Far away to the northeast a single white star appears eleven miles
-off, on the solitary rock of Boon Island, out in mid-ocean, where not
-a pound of soil exists, excepting what has been carried there. One of
-the worst wrecks of modern times occurred on this rock before the
-lighthouse was built. The "Nottingham," from London, was driven
-ashore, the crew with difficulty gaining the island when the ship
-broke up. They had no food; day by day their sufferings from cold and
-hunger increased; the mainland was in full view and they built a raft
-of pieces of wreck to try and get there, but it was swamped; they
-signalled passing vessels, but could not attract attention. Gradually
-they sank into hopelessness, but thought to make a final effort by
-constructing another rude raft, on which two of them tried to reach
-the shore. It too was wrecked, being afterwards found on the beach
-with a dead man alongside. Then hope entirely failed them, and to
-sustain life they became cannibals, living on the body of the ship's
-carpenter, sparingly doled out to them by the captain. Eventually the
-survivors were rescued, the wrecked raft being their preserver. When
-it was found, the people on shore started a search for the builders,
-and they were discovered and taken off the island, after twenty-four
-days of starvation. Then the lighthouse was built on Boon Island, and
-its steady white star gleams in nightly warning:
-
- "Steadfast, serene, immovable, the same
- Year after year, through all the silent night,
- Burns on for evermore that quenchless flame,
- Shines on that inextinguishable light!
-
- "A new Prometheus chained upon the rock,
- Still grasping in his hand the fire of Jove,
- It does not hear the cry nor heed the shock,
- But hails the mariner with words of love.
-
- "'Sail on!' it says, 'sail on, ye stately ships!
- And with your floating bridge the ocean span;
- Be mine to guard this light from all eclipse;
- Be yours to bring man nearer unto man!'"
-
-
-MOUNT AGAMENTICUS TO OLD ORCHARD.
-
-Beyond the Piscataqua River is the famous "Pine-Tree State," noted for
-its noble forests and its many splendid havens. This is Whittier's
-"hundred-harbored Maine," and such are the sinuosities of its
-remarkable coast, that while its whole distance from Kittery Point to
-Quoddy Head is two hundred and seventy-eight miles, the actual length
-of the shore-line stretches to twenty-five hundred miles, and if
-straightened out would reach across the Atlantic. The great landmark
-of this coast beyond Kittery, standing in gloomy isolation down by the
-shore, is the "sailor's mountain," Agamenticus, rising six hundred and
-seventy-three feet, a sentinel visible far out at sea. It is a
-solitary eminence, lifted high above the surrounding country and
-having three summits of almost equal altitude, the sides clothed with
-dark forests. This graceful and imposing mountain gave James Russell
-Lowell an attractive theme in his _Pictures from Appledore_:
-
- "He glowers there to the north of us,
- Wrapt in his mantle of blue haze,
- Unconvertibly savage, and scorns to take
- The white man's baptism on his ways.
- Him first on shore the coaster divines
- Through the early gray, and sees him shake
- The morning mist from his scalplock of pines;
- Him first the skipper makes out in the west
- Ere the earliest sunstreak shoots tremulous,
- Plashing with orange the palpitant lines
- Of mutable billow, crest after crest,
- And murmurs 'Agamenticus!'
- As if it were the name of a saint."
-
-Almost under the shadow of the mountain is the quiet old town of York,
-the "ancient city of Agamenticus," founded by Sir Ferdinando Gorgues
-in the early seventeenth century as Gorgeana, the place of first
-settlement in Maine. Now it is a summer-resort, with York Beach
-stretching along the coast, having Cape Neddick at its northern end
-thrust out into the sea, with the curious rocky islet of the Nubble,
-and surmounting lighthouse, off its extremity. Four miles beyond,
-there projects the frowning promontory of the Bald Head Cliff and its
-lofty Pulpit Rock, an almost perpendicular wall rising ninety feet,
-with the breakers beating at its base. Farther along, the coast is a
-succession of magnificent beaches all the way to Casco Bay, and the
-broad road they furnish is the chief highway. Wells is a popular
-summer resort, and beyond it the charming little Kennebunk River comes
-down through the hills and woods and over falls, past Kennebunkport to
-the sea. Then the broader Saco River is reached, its ample current
-drawn from the White Mountains, plunging down a cataract of fifty-five
-feet around which are gathered the mills of the twin towns of
-Biddeford and Saco, having the river between them, and a population of
-over twenty thousand. Their steeples rise above the trees, and one of
-these, a French Catholic church in Biddeford, has little trees growing
-out of its spire. Sawmills and cotton-mills largely use the ample
-power of the Saco Falls. The beach fronting Saco gradually dissolves
-into the noted Old Orchard Beach, stretching nearly ten miles to
-Scarborough River, the finest beach in New England, over three hundred
-feet wide and named from an apple orchard that once stood there, of
-which the last ancient tree died before the Revolution. There are
-numerous hotels and boarding-houses scattered along this broad beach,
-and its people completed in 1898 one of the longest ocean piers
-existing, which extends nearly two thousand feet into the sea.
-Scarborough Beach is beyond, and around the broad end of Cape
-Elizabeth is the entrance to Casco Bay, marked by the "Two Lights" on
-the eastern extremity of the cape, these powerful white beacons being
-about nine hundred feet apart. Almost under their shadow, in 1862, the
-Allan Line steamer "Bohemian" was wrecked with fearful loss of life.
-Within Casco Bay is an archipelago of over three hundred and fifty
-islands, stretching eastward for twenty miles to the mouth of the
-Kennebec. Many of these islands are favorite summer resorts, and their
-surrounding waters are always haunts for yachts, the bay being an
-admirable yachting ground.
-
-
-PORTLAND.
-
-The city of Portland, with over forty thousand people, is the
-metropolis of Maine and the winter port of Canada, which has to use it
-when the river St. Lawrence is frozen. It is built upon an elevated
-and hilly peninsula projecting eastwardly into Casco Bay, and having
-commanding eminences at each extremity,--the western being Bramhall's
-Hill and the eastern Munjoy's Hill,--spacious promenades having been
-made around both for outlooks. The city being almost surrounded by
-water, and the bold shores of the bay enclosing so many beautiful
-tree-clad islands, there are magnificent views in every direction.
-The streets are finely shaded, mostly with elms, so that it is often
-called the "Forest City." This was the Indian land of Machigonne, to
-which the English first came in 1632, and there yet remain some
-stately trees of that time, which are among the charms of the pleasant
-park of the Deering Oaks at the West End, from which State Street
-leads into the best residential section, bordered by double rows of
-elms, making a grand overarching bower. Here, in a circle at the
-intersection of Congress Street, is an impressive bronze statue of
-Longfellow, who was born in Portland in 1807, the poet sitting
-meditatively in his chair. Among the other distinguished citizens have
-been Commodore Edward Preble, Neal Dow, N. P. Willis, Mrs. Parton
-(Fanny Fern) and Thomas B. Reed, who long represented Portland in
-Congress. The city has an air of comfort, and its broad-fronted,
-vine-covered homes look enticing. From its hills the outlook is
-superb, particularly that from the Eastern Promenade encircling
-Munjoy's Hill, where the view is over Casco Bay and its many arms and
-forest-fringed rocky islands. On the eastern side, Falmouth Foreside
-stretches out to the distant ocean, while the western shore is the
-broad peninsula terminating in Cape Elizabeth. This hill has a
-commanding prospect over one of the most bewitching scenes in
-nature,--the island-studded Casco Bay, having the famous Cushing's
-Island at the outer verge of the archipelago protecting most of the
-harbor from the ocean waves. Upon other islands down the bay are three
-old forts, two of them abandoned, while the flag floats over the more
-modern works of Fort Preble. Portland was originally called Falmouth,
-not receiving the present name till 1786. In a beautiful spot on
-Munjoy's Hill is the monument to the founder, its inscription being
-"George Cheeves, Founder of Portland, 1699." Upon this hill is the old
-cemetery containing Preble's grave. He commanded the American squadron
-in the war against Tripoli in 1803, and died in Portland in 1807. Also
-in this cemetery rest alongside each other two noted naval officers of
-the War of 1812-14 with England--Burrows and Blythe. They commanded
-rival warships, the American "Enterprise" and the British "Boxer,"
-that fought on Sunday, September 5, 1814, off Pemaquid Point, near the
-mouth of the Kennebec, the adjacent shores being covered with
-spectators. The "Enterprise" captured the "Boxer" and brought her a
-prize into Portland harbor. Both commanders were killed in the fight,
-and their bodies were brought ashore, each wrapped in the flag he had
-so bravely served, and the same honors were paid both in the double
-funeral. Longfellow recalls this as one of the memories of his youth:
-
- "I remember the sea-fight far away,
- How it thundered o'er the tide!
- And the dead captains, as they lay
- In their graves, o'erlooking the tranquil bay,
- Where they in battle died."
-
- [Illustration: _House of "The Pearl of Orr's Island," Casco Bay, Me._]
-
-
-THE ANDROSCOGGIN.
-
-Maine has more than fifteen hundred lakes, scattered everywhere
-through its extensive forests. Seventeen miles northwest of Portland
-is Sebago Lake, one of the most attractive, an islet-dotted expanse,
-fourteen miles long and ten miles wide, its Indian name meaning "the
-stretch of water." Into it flows the rapid and devious Songo River,
-discharging Long Lake, a little over two miles distant, but the boat
-journey on the river to that lake is for six miles and around
-twenty-seven bends. Thirty-eight miles northwest of Portland is Poland
-Springs, the chief inland watering-place of Maine, with pure air, the
-finest waters and large hotels. To the northward the Androscoggin
-River, flowing from the flanks of the White Mountains, sweeps
-eastwardly across the State, and then turns southward to unite its
-current with the Kennebec in Merry Meeting Bay. Not far from the New
-Hampshire boundary it pours down the Rumford Falls, one of the finest
-of cataracts, the river making three or four leaps over ragged,
-granite ledges, aggregating one hundred and sixty feet descent, the
-final fall being nearly seventy feet, making a great roaring, heard
-for a long distance. Here is a town of textile and paper-mills, with
-three thousand people. Having turned to the southward, the river comes
-to the Livermore Falls, another manufacturing village on the Indian
-domain of Rockomeka, or the "great corn land." Here were born the
-famous brothers Israel, Elihu B. and Cadwalader C. Washburne, who were
-so long in the public service, representing Maine, Illinois and
-Wisconsin. A handsome Gothic public library built of granite has been
-erected as their memorial. Farther along is Leeds, the birthplace of
-General Oliver O. Howard, and then some distance below the river
-plunges down the Lewiston Falls of fifty-two feet at the second city
-in Maine, the towns of Auburn and Lewiston having twenty-five thousand
-population, chiefly employed in the manufacture of textiles, there
-being large numbers of French Canadians in the mills. Bates College,
-with two hundred students, is one of the chief buildings of Lewiston.
-
-Eastward from Casco Bay to the Androscoggin is a rough wooded country
-becoming, however, rather more level as the river is approached. The
-Androscoggin having come down from the north, sweeps around to the
-northeast to enter Merry Meeting Bay, and at the bend, about thirty
-miles from Portland, is Brunswick, at the head of tidewater, with over
-six thousand population, largely employed in its mills. The river
-falls forty-one feet here in three separate cataracts, giving an
-enormous water-power. This was the Indian Pejepscot, where the English
-built Fort George in 1715, known as "the key of Western Maine." The
-city is chiefly noted now as the seat of Bowdoin College, the chief
-educational institution of Maine, incorporated in 1794, and opened in
-1802 with an endowment by the State. It has nearly four hundred
-students and attractive buildings, the most conspicuous one being
-surmounted by twin spires, which are seen from afar in approaching the
-town, rising above the trees with a thick growth of pines behind them.
-This college had President Franklin Pierce, Hawthorne, Longfellow and
-Chief Justice Fuller among its graduates, and Longfellow was its
-professor of modern languages until 1835, when he was called to
-Harvard. Harriet Beecher Stowe wrote _Uncle Tom's Cabin_ in Brunswick
-in 1851-2, when her husband was in the Bowdoin College faculty. Pierre
-Baudouin, a Huguenot refugee from La Rochelle, came to Portland in
-1687; and his grandson, who was Governor of Massachusetts in 1785-6,
-had his name given the college, the great-grandson, James Bowdoin 2nd,
-the noted diplomatist, having been most liberal in his gifts to it.
-Beyond Brunswick the Androscoggin broadens into Merry Meeting Bay,
-which is finally absorbed by the Kennebec.
-
-
-THE KENNEBEC.
-
-The Kennebec River, the Indian "large water place," is one of the
-greatest streams of Maine, having its source in its largest lake,
-Moosehead, surrounded by forests. This lake is at an elevation of over
-a thousand feet, is thirty-five miles long, and has a surface of two
-hundred and twenty square miles. The shores are generally monotonous,
-excepting where the long peninsula of Mount Kineo is projected from
-the eastern side so far into the lake as to narrow it to little more
-than a mile width. Mount Kineo is nine hundred feet high, rising
-abruptly on the south and east, but sloping gradually to the water on
-the other sides. To the northeast, Spencer Mountain is seen rising
-four thousand feet, with Katahdin, the Indian "greatest mountain," in
-the distance. This magnificent summit, the highest in Maine, rises
-nearly fifty-four hundred feet. All about Moosehead Lake and far to
-the northward over the Canadian border is a vast forest wilderness,
-full of lakes and streams, visited chiefly by the timber-cutters and
-sportsmen, and one of the favorite hunting and angling regions of the
-country. From the southwestern extremity of the lake the Kennebec
-River flows out towards the sea, and in a winding course of a hundred
-miles descends a thousand feet of rapids and cataracts, until it
-reaches the tidal level at Augusta. It narrows at Solon to only forty
-feet as it goes over the Carrituck Falls of twenty feet. Then it
-passes Old Point and comes to Norridgewock, where several ancient elms
-of enormous size border the street along the river bank. This is the
-scene of Whittier's poem of _Mogg Megone_, and along here lived the
-ancient Norridgewocks. At Old Point was their chief town, and as early
-as 1610 French missionary priests sent out from Quebec settled among
-them, the famous Jesuit, Sebastian Rale, coming about 1670 and living
-there over forty years, being not only the spiritual but finally the
-political head of the tribe. He was a man of high culture, and had
-been professor of Greek at the College of Nismes, in France. The tribe
-belonged to the Canabis branch of the Abenaquis nation, and he
-prepared a complete dictionary of their language (now preserved in
-Harvard University), which he described as "a powerful and flexible
-language--the Greek of America."
-
-In the early eighteenth century wars broke out between these Indians
-under the French flag and the Puritans of New England. It is said that
-Father Rale had a superb consecrated banner floating before his
-church, emblazoned with the cross, and a bow and sheaf of arrows. This
-was often borne as a crusading flag against the Puritan border
-villages. Norridgewock was destroyed by a sudden raid in 1705, and
-peace following, an envoy was sent to Boston to demand an indemnity,
-and also that workmen be sent to rebuild the church. Both were
-promised on condition that they would accept a Puritan pastor, but
-this was declined. The Indians rebuilt their village, and it was again
-destroyed by a plundering raid in 1722, and in revenge they then made
-a fearful ravaging expedition in which the Maine coast towns paid
-dearly. The English seacoast colonists consequently decided that for
-protection Norridgewock must be taken and the tribe driven away, a
-price being set upon Rale's head. In August, 1724, a strong party of
-New England rangers marched secretly and swiftly, and, before their
-presence was known, had surrounded the village and began firing
-through the wigwams. A few Indians escaped, but nearly the whole
-tribe--men, women and children--were massacred. Charlevoix writes of
-it that "the noise and tumult gave Père Rale notice of the danger his
-converts were in, and he fearlessly showed himself to the enemy,
-hoping to draw all their attention to himself, and to secure the
-safety of his flock at the peril of his life. He was not disappointed.
-As soon as he appeared the English set up a great shout, which was
-followed by a shower of shot, when he fell dead near to the cross
-which he had erected in the midst of the village. Seven chiefs, who
-sheltered his body with their own, fell around him." His mutilated
-body was afterwards found at the foot of the cross and buried there.
-The place lay desolate for a half-century, when English settlers came
-in 1773, and in 1833 a granite memorial obelisk was erected on the
-site of the ancient church. Thus Whittier describes the tragedy:
-
- "Fearfully over the Jesuit's face,
- Of a thousand thoughts, trace after trace,
- Like swift cloud shadows, each other chase.
- One instant, his fingers grasp his knife,
- For a last vain struggle for cherished life,--
- The next, he hurls the blade away,
- And kneels at his altar's foot to pray;
- Over his beads his fingers stray,
- And he kisses the cross, and calls aloud
- On the Virgin and her Son;
- For terrible thoughts his memory crowd
- Of evils seen and done,--
- Of scalps brought home by his savage flock
- From Casco and Sawga and Sagadahock
- In the Church's service won.
-
- "Through the chapel's narrow doors,
- And through each window in the walls,
- Round the priest and warrior pours
- The deadly shower of English balls.
- Low on his cross the Jesuit falls:
- While at his side the Norridgewock
- With failing breath essays to mock
- And menace yet the hated foe,--
- Shakes his scalp-trophies to and fro
- Exultingly before their eyes,--
- Till cleft and torn by shot and blow,
- Defiant still, he dies."
-
-The Kennebec, turning grandly to the eastward, five miles below pours
-over the falls of Skowhegan, descending twenty-eight feet upon rough
-ledges, having a picturesque island ending at the crest of the
-cataract, with the stream beyond compressed within the high, rocky
-walls of a canyon. Here are numerous factories and a population of six
-thousand. Eighteen miles beyond, the river, having resumed its
-southern course, tumbles down the Taconic Falls at Waterville, a town
-of seven thousand people and extensive cotton-mills, also having the
-Colby College of the Baptist Church where General Benjamin F. Butler
-was a student. Farther down the Kennebec are the ruins of Fort
-Halifax, near the confluence with Sebasticook River, draining various
-lakes to the northeastward. This was one of the chain of forts built
-in the middle eighteenth century to defend the Puritan coast towns
-from French and Indian raids, and large Indian settlements formerly
-occupied the broad intervales in the neighborhood. Twenty miles below
-Waterville is Augusta, the Maine capital, situate at the head of
-navigation, the city being beautifully located upon the high hills and
-their slopes bordering the river. Just above the town is the great
-Kennebec dam, built at an expense of $300,000 to make an admirable
-water-power, and rising fifteen feet above high water. Here are over
-ten thousand people, among whom lived for many years James G. Blaine,
-who died in 1893. There are large textile factories giving employment
-to the inhabitants, and the chief building is the State House, of
-white granite, fronted by a Doric colonnade, standing upon a high hill
-and surmounted by a graceful dome. Across the Kennebec is the fine
-granite Insane Hospital in extensive ornamental grounds, while down by
-the bank are the remains of Fort Western, built as a defensive outpost
-in 1754, being then surrounded by palisaded outworks garnished with
-towers. It was here that Benedict Arnold gathered his expedition
-against Quebec in 1775, going up the Kennebec, crossing the border
-wilderness and enduring the greatest hardships, before he appeared
-like an apparition with his army of gaunt heroes under the walls of
-that fortress.
-
-Below Augusta is the quiet town of Hallowell, and then Gardiner, and
-beyond, the Kennebec spreads out in the broad expanse of Merry Meeting
-Bay, where it receives the Androscoggin coming up from the southwest.
-Along here are seen to perfection the two great crops of these
-rivers--the lumber and the ice. The largest icehouses in existence
-line the banks, and the prolific ice-crop of these pure waters, thus
-gathered by the millions of tons, is shipped by sea from Gardiner and
-Bath throughout the coast and over to Europe. The people seem to saw
-logs all summer and cut ice all winter. The river next passes Bath,
-formerly a great ship-building port, and still doing much work in the
-construction of steel vessels, though the population has rather
-decreased of late years. The town, with its front of shipyards and
-kindred industries, fringes the western river-bank for two or three
-miles, and on either hand the rocky shores slope steeply down to the
-water. A clergyman from Salem bought this domain in 1660 from
-Damarine, the old sachem of Sagadahoc, whom the whites called Robin
-Hood, but the place did not grow much until after the Revolution, when
-extensive shipbuilding began. It is about thirteen miles from the
-sea, the Kennebec entering the Atlantic through Sheepscott Bay, an
-irregular indentation of the coast studded with many attractive
-islands. At Bath, more than anywhere else in New England, has been
-practically realized Longfellow's invocation:
-
- "Build me straight, O worthy master!
- Staunch and strong, a goodly vessel,
- That shall laugh at all disaster,
- And with wave and whirlwind wrestle!"
-
-
-ANCIENT PEMAQUID.
-
-Eastward from the Kennebec the long peninsula of Pemaquid Point
-stretches to the sea, between John's Bay and Muscongus Bay, and far
-out beyond it, off the western entrance to Penobscot Bay, is Monhegan,
-the most famous island on the New England coast. It is twelve miles
-off the Point, and the surface rises into highlands. Monhegan appears
-upon the earliest charts made by the first navigators, Champlain
-naming it in 1604 and Weymouth coming there the next year to trade
-with the Indians of Pemaquid before he ascended the great river, which
-he said was called Norumbega, and about which there was long so much
-mystery and wonder in Europe. Smith was there in 1614, it was
-colonized in 1618, in 1621 it sent succor to the starving Pilgrims at
-Plymouth, and in 1626 two proprietors bought the island for £50. It
-had a stirring colonial history, and on account of its location its
-grand flashing beacon-light is a landmark for the mariners coasting
-along Maine or entering the Penobscot. Yet it has barely a hundred
-people to-day, mostly fishermen, though its isolation has manifest
-advantages, for it is said to have no public officials, and to be the
-one place where there are no taxes. In fair sight of each other, over
-the blue sea, are the highlands of Monhegan and the rocks and coves of
-Pemaquid Point, the great stronghold of early British colonial power
-in Maine. Rival French and English grants covered the whole of Maine,
-and at the outstart the English took possession of the Kennebec, and
-the French of the Penobscot. The colonists were in almost constant
-enmity, as also were the Indians upon the two rivers, the warfare
-continuing a hundred and fifty years, until after the Revolution. The
-English made Pemaquid Point their fortified outpost, while the French
-established old Fort Pentagoet, afterwards Castine, as their
-stronghold on the Penobscot. The earliest settlement at the mouth of
-the Kennebec was made in 1607 by Chief Justice George Popham, who came
-there with one hundred and twenty colonists in two ships, named the
-"Mary and John" and the "Gift of God." They founded Fort St. George,
-and built the first vessel on the Kennebec, the "Virginia" of thirty
-tons, but Popham dying the next year, they became discouraged and
-abandoned the colony.
-
-Pemaquid saw constant disturbances. Weymouth, when he traded there in
-1605, kidnapped several Indians and carried them back to England. The
-fierce Abenaquis from Penobscot Bay attacked the place in 1615 and
-massacred all the Wawenock Indians who lived there. Then the old
-Sagamore Samoset appeared upon the scene, the same who welcomed the
-Pilgrims to Plymouth. He lived near Pemaquid, and told them at
-Plymouth his home was distant "a daye's sayle with a great wind, and
-five dayes by land." He sold Pemaquid to the first English colonists
-in 1625 by deed, his sign manual upon it being a bended bow with an
-arrow fitted to the string, ready to shoot. They saw the strategic
-importance of the place and built a small fort in 1630. Then a pirate
-came along, captured and plundered the settlement, holding it until an
-armed ship from Massachusetts recaptured it in 1635, the pirate being
-hanged. Then stronger forts were built, and Fort Charles was
-constructed in 1674, but in King Philip's War the French and Indians
-attacked it, driving out the people, who escaped by boats to Monhegan.
-Again, in 1689, the Abenaquis from old Pentagoet, under their chief
-Madockawando, captured it with great slaughter, destroying the works.
-The English in 1693 once more took possession, this time building a
-stone fort regarded as impregnable and said to be the finest work then
-in New England. French frigates soon attacked it and were repulsed,
-and its fame was great throughout the colonies. But the French and
-the Abenaquis were bound to defeat its possessors, and in 1696 the
-former with a fleet and the latter under Baron de Castine again
-attacked, and captured it with a horrible massacre, all the survivors
-being carried into captivity. The English did not reoccupy the Point
-for some time, but in 1724 they repaired the ruined fort, and deciding
-that a place of so much importance must be held at all hazards, in
-1730 Fort Frederick, the great defensive work of Pemaquid, was built,
-and a town grew around it. The French and Indians made unsuccessful
-attacks in 1745, and again in 1747. Thus fiercely raged the battle
-between the rival possessors of the Penobscot and the Kennebec, and
-the ruins of this last and greatest work, Fort Frederick, have been
-the place where for years the antiquarians have been delving for
-relics, much as they do in Pompeii. It was an extensive exterior
-fortress with an interior citadel, located upon a slope rising from a
-rocky shore and controlling the approach from the sea. A high rock in
-the southeastern angle, forming part of the magazine, is the most
-prominent portion of the ruins. A martello tower stood in front on the
-sea-beach, but is now pulverized into broken fragments. A graveyard,
-several paved streets, and cellars of buildings have been disclosed.
-The final destruction of Fort Frederick was by the Americans in the
-Revolution, to prevent its becoming a British stronghold, and its last
-battle was in 1814, when a force in boats from a British frigate
-attacked the Point, but were repulsed with heavy loss. Its present
-condition is thus described in the mournful ballad of _Pemaquid_:
-
- "The restless sea resounds along the shore,
- The light land breeze flows outward with a sigh,
- And each to each seems chanting evermore
- A mournful memory of the days gone by.
-
- "Here, where they lived, all holy thoughts revive,
- Of patient striving, and of faith held fast;
- Here, where they died, their buried records live,
- Silent they speak from out the shadowy past."
-
-
-THE PENOBSCOT.
-
-The peninsula between the Kennebec and the Penobscot River is
-traversed by a railway route through the forests of Lincoln and Knox
-Counties, named after two famous Revolutionary Generals. It crosses
-the Sheepscott and St. George Rivers and skirts the head of Muscongus
-Bay, amid a goodly crop of rocks, passing Wiscasset, Damariscotta
-(near the lake of that name, which got its title from the old Indian
-chief, Damarine), Waldeboro' and Thomaston to Rockland, upon the
-deeply indented Owl's Head Bay looking out upon the Penobscot. This
-peninsula is serrated by more of the numerous bays and havens of which
-Whittier sings:
-
- "From gray sea-fog, from icy drift,
- From peril and from pain,
- The homebound fisher greets thy lights,
- O hundred-harbored Maine!"
-
-We have now come to the chief river of Maine, the Penobscot, draining
-the larger portion of its enormous forests, and emptying into the
-ocean through a vast estuary, which is the greatest of the many bays
-upon this rugged coast. Three centuries ago this was the fabulous
-river of Norumbega, enclosing unknown treasures and a mysterious city,
-as weirdly described by the Spaniards and Portuguese, who were the
-first visitors to the prolific fishing-grounds of America. At that
-time Europe knew of no river that was its equal, and no bay with such
-broad surface and enormous tidal flow. Hence many were the tales about
-wonderful Norumbega. The Penobscot estuary, with its connecting
-waters, embraces an archipelago said to contain five hundred islands,
-making a large portion of the Maine coast, which in many respects is
-the most remarkable in the country. It is jagged and uneven, seamed
-with deep inlets and guarded by craggy headlands, projecting far out
-into the ocean, while between are myriads of rocky and in many cases
-romantic islands. This coast is composed almost wholly of granites,
-syenites and other metamorphic rocks that have been deeply scraped and
-grooved ages ago by the huge glacier which, descending from Greenland
-and extending far into the sea, was of such vast thickness and
-ponderous weight as to plough out these immense valleys and ravines in
-the granite floor. The chief of these ridges and furrows lie almost
-north and south, so that the Maine shore-line is a series of long,
-rocky peninsulas separated by deep and elongated bays, having within
-and beyond them myriads of long islands and sunken ledges, with the
-same general southern trend as the mainland. Large rocks and boulders
-are also strewn over the land and upon the bottom of the sea, where
-they have been left by the receding glacier. These fragments are piled
-in enormous quantities in various places, many of the well-known
-fishing-banks, such as George's Shoals, being glacial deposits. These
-rocks and sunken ledges are covered with marine animals, making the
-favorite food of many of the most important food-fishes. The Penobscot
-from its source to the sea flows about three hundred miles. The wide
-bay and wedge-shape of the lower river, by gathering so large a flow
-of tidal waters, which are suddenly compressed at the Narrows just
-below Bucksport, make a rapidly-rushing tide, and an ebb and flow
-rising seventeen feet at Bangor, sixteen miles above. When Weymouth
-came in 1605 he set up a cross near where Belfast now stands, on the
-western shore of the bay, and took possession for England, and he
-marvelled greatly at what he saw, writing home that "many who had been
-travellers in sundry countries and in most famous rivers affirmed them
-not comparable to this--the most beautiful, rich, large, secure
-harboring river that the world affordeth." The Indians whom he found
-on its shores were the Tarratines, an Abenaquis tribe, who inhabited
-all that part of Maine. The Jesuit missionaries early came among them
-from Canada, and they were firm friends of the French. They called the
-great river Pentagoet, or "the stream where there are rapids," while
-its shores were the Penobscot, meaning "where the land is covered with
-rocks."
-
-
-PENTAGOET AND CASTINE.
-
-Pierre du Guast, Sieur de Monts, as a reward for his faithfulness, was
-given, in 1602, by the French King Henry of Navarre, a grant of all
-America from the 40th to the 46th parallels of latitude. He came out
-and founded a colony on Passamaquoddy Bay, and finding that the
-Indians called the region Acadie, or the "land of plenty," he named
-his domain Acadia. The French afterwards extended their explorations
-westward along the Maine coast, claiming under this grant, and this
-was the source of the many subsequent conflicts. Coming into Penobscot
-Bay, they made their outpost and stronghold upon the peninsula of
-Pentagoet on its eastern shore, marking the western limit of Acadia.
-Their famous old Fort Pentagoet, from which the French and Indian
-raiders for more than a century swooped down upon the English border
-settlements, is now the pleasant summer resort of Castine. Originally,
-the English from Plymouth established a trading-post there, but the
-French captured it, and then in the French religious conflicts it was
-alternately held by the Catholic and Huguenot chieftains sent out to
-rule Acadia. Sometimes pirates took it, and once some bold Dutchmen
-came up from New York and were its captors. But the French held it for
-a full century, though repeatedly attacked, until just before the
-Revolution, when the English conquered and held it throughout that
-war, again seizing it in the War of 1812. This noted old fort was
-captured and scarred in wars resulting in no less than five different
-national occupations. The present name is derived from Baron Castine,
-who came with his French regiment to Acadia, and gave Pentagoet its
-great romance. He was Vincent, Baron de St. Castine, lord of Oléron in
-the French Pyrenees, who arrived in 1667, and inspired by a chivalrous
-desire to extend the Catholic religion among the Indians, went into
-the wilderness to live among the fierce Tarratines. As Longfellow
-tells it in the Student's Tale at _The Wayside Inn_:
-
- "Baron Castine of St. Castine
- Has left his château in the Pyrenees
- And sailed across the Western seas."
-
-Pentagoet then was a populous town ruled by the Sachem Madockawando,
-and the young Baron, tarrying there, soon found friends among the
-Indians. The sachem had a susceptible daughter, and this dusky belle,
-captivated by the courtly graces of the handsome Baron, fell in love:
-
- "For man is fire, and woman is tow,
- And the Somebody comes and begins to blow."
-
-The usual results followed, so that it was not long before--
-
- "Lo! the young Baron of St. Castine,
- Swift as the wind is, and as wild,
- Has married a dusky Tarratine,
- Has married Madocawando's child!"
-
-This marriage made him one of the tribe, and he soon became their
-leader. The restless and warlike Indians almost worshipped the
-chivalrous young Frenchman; he was their apostle, and led them in
-repeated raids against their English and Indian foes. But ultimately
-tiring of this roving life in the forests, he returned to "his château
-in the Pyrenees," taking his Indian bride along. They were welcomed
-with surprise and admiration:
-
- "Down in the village day by day
- The people gossip in their way,
- And stare to see the Baroness pass
- On Sunday morning to early mass;
- And when she kneeleth down to pray,
- They wonder, and whisper together, and say,
- 'Surely this is no heathen lass!'
- And in course of time they learn to bless
- The Baron and the Baroness.
-
- "And in course of time the curate learns
- A secret so dreadful, that by turns
- He is ice and fire, he freezes and burns.
- The Baron at confession hath said,
- That though this woman be his wife,
- He hath wed her as the Indians wed,
- He hath bought her for a gun and a knife!"
-
-Then there was trouble, but it seems to have been soon cured by a
-Christian wedding:
-
- "The choir is singing the matin song,
- The doors of the church are opened wide,
- The people crowd, and press and throng,
- To see the bridegroom and the bride.
- They enter and pass along the nave;
- They stand upon the father's grave;
- The bells are ringing soft and slow;
- The living above and the dead below
- Give their blessing on one and twain;
- The warm wind blows from the hills of Spain,
- The birds are building, the leaves are green,
- And Baron Castine of St. Castine
- Hath come at last to his own again."
-
-In course of time the son of the Baron by his Tarratine princess
-became chief of the tribe and ruled it until in a raid in 1721 he was
-captured by the English and taken to Boston. When brought before the
-Council there for trial he wore his French uniform, and was accused of
-attending an Abenaqui council-fire. He sturdily replied, "I am an
-Abenaqui by my mother; all my life has been passed among the nation
-that has made me chief and commander over it. I could not be absent
-from a council where the interests of my brethren were to be
-discussed. The dress I now wear is one becoming my rank and birth as
-an officer of the Most Christian King of France, my master." After
-being held prisoner several months, he was released, and finally also
-returned to the ancestral château in the Pyrenees. His lineal
-descendants are still at the head of the tribe, which has dwindled to
-almost nothing. Pentagoet honoring the memory, afterwards became
-Castine. Remains of the old fort and batteries are preserved, and a
-miniature earthwork commands the harbor. The Tarratines and all the
-Abenaqui tribes were firm friends of the Americans in the Revolution;
-there are remnants of them in Canada, but the best preserved is the
-Indian settlement on Indian Island, in the Penobscot River, above
-Bangor. For fealty in the Revolution they were given a reservation,
-where a few hundred descendants now live in a village around their
-church, having a town hall and schools, with books printed in their
-own Abenaqui language, and ruled by their tribal officials. This last
-remnant of a warlike nation with such an interesting history gets a
-modest subsistence by catching fish and lobsters, and rafting logs on
-their great river of Norumbega.
-
-
-ASCENDING THE PENOBSCOT.
-
-The Penobscot drains an immense territory covered with pine, spruce
-and hemlock forests. Two hundred millions of feet of lumber will be
-floated down it in a single season. Its bold western bay shore rises
-into the Camden Mountains, and both sides of the bay were embraced
-for thirty miles in the Muscongus Patent, a grant of King George I.
-which came to the colonial Governor Samuel Waldo, of Massachusetts,
-and afterwards, by descent through his wife, to General Henry Knox.
-Thus Knox became the Patroon of Penobscot Bay, building a palace at
-Thomaston, where he lived in baronial state and spent so much money in
-princely hospitality that he bankrupted himself and almost ruined his
-Revolutionary compatriot, General Lincoln, who became involved with
-him. On this western shore, Rockland, with nine thousand people, is a
-town of sea-captains, fishermen and lime-burners, its rocks making the
-best lime of the district, and a hundred kilns illuminating the hills
-at night. Adjacent are Dix Island, and to the southward Vinalhaven
-Island, producing fine granites shipped abroad for building. To the
-northward is Camden, under the shadow of Mount Megunticook, its two
-peaks rising fourteen hundred feet above the harbor. Out in front is
-an archipelago of pretty islands, the chief being "the insular town of
-Islesboro," stretching about thirteen miles along the centre of
-Penobscot Bay, its ten square miles of irregular contour having of
-late developed into a region of cottages built in all the pleasant
-places and making a very popular resort. To the northeastward the
-massive Blue Hill stands up an isolated guardian behind the peninsula
-of Castine, where the attractive white houses are spread over the
-broad and sloping point enclosing its deep harbor, and its
-church-spire rises sharply among the trees. In the eastern archipelago
-of Penobscot Bay are the Fox Island group of about one hundred and
-fifty islands, and the larger islands of North Haven and Vinalhaven
-are to the southward, beyond which are the shores of Cape Rosier,
-making the eastern border of the bay, while through a vista looms up
-the distant Isle au Haut, an outer guardian upon the ocean's edge. At
-the eastern horizon behind the cape rise the hazy, bisected,
-round-topped peaks of Mount Desert, thirty miles away.
-
-Belfast is another maritime town of Penobscot Bay on a deeply-indented
-harbor under the shadow of the Camden Hills, the place where Weymouth
-in 1605 landed and set up the cross. It was settled and named by
-Scotch-Irish Presbyterians in 1770, and it looks out pleasantly across
-the broad bay upon Castine. Above are Searsport and Fort Point, with
-the ruins of the colonial Fort Pownall, and then the river is quickly
-contracted into the Narrows, where the swift tides run at Bucksport.
-The upper river is sinuous and picturesque, and at the head of
-navigation, sixty miles from the sea, is Bangor, with twenty thousand
-people, finely located on commanding hills, its chief industry being
-the sawing and shipment of lumber. The sawmills line the shores and
-the log-booms extend for miles along the river. The chief assembly
-room of the city is the Norumbega Hall, and there also is a
-Theological Seminary of high standing. It is said that the settlement,
-which had languished during the Revolution, in 1791 ordered Rev. Seth
-Noble, its representative in the Legislature, to have it incorporated
-under the name of Sunbury, but he, being very fond of the old tune of
-Bangor, wrote that name inadvertently, and it thus was given the town.
-Thirteen miles northward is Oldtown, another great gathering-place for
-logs and sawmills, and having the Tarratine Indian settlement on the
-island in mid-stream. The Penobscot River receives various tributaries
-above, which drain the extensive northern forests of Maine--the
-Piscataquis coming from the westward, the Mattawamkeag from the
-northeast, and the Seboois. The main stream rises near the western
-Canada border of Maine and flows eastward into Chesuncook Lake, whence
-its general course to the sea is southeast and south. The river thus
-drains a broad basin, embracing myriads of lakes in the northern Maine
-forests, and it has an enormous water-power, as yet only partially
-utilized.
-
-
-MOUNT DESERT ISLAND.
-
-Beyond the archipelago, eastward from the Penobscot estuary, is the
-noted island, presenting the only land along the Atlantic coast where
-high mountains are in close proximity to the sea. It appears to-day
-just at it did to Champlain when he first saw it in September, 1604,
-and, being impressed with its craggy, desolate summits, named it the
-_Isle des Monts déserts_, the "Island of Desert Mountains." He then
-wrote of it, "The land is very high, intersected by passes, appearing
-from the sea like seven or eight mountains ranged near each other; the
-summits of the greater part of these are bare of trees, because they
-are nothing but rocks." In approaching from the southwestward by sea,
-the distant gray recumbent elephant that has been lying at the horizon
-gradually resolves its two rounded summits into different peaks; but
-the finer approach is rather from the northward by the railway route,
-which is the one most travelled. The quick advance of the train
-unfolds the separate mountain peaks, and the whole range is well
-displayed, there being apparently eight eminences, but upon coming
-nearer, others seem to detach themselves. Green Mountain is the
-highest, rising over fifteen hundred feet, near the eastern side,
-while Western Mountain terminates the range on the other side, and at
-the eastern verge is Newport Mountain, having the fashionable
-settlement of Bar Harbor at its northern base. There are several
-beautiful lakes high up among these peaks, the chief being Eagle Lake.
-Beech and Dog Mountains have peculiarities of outline, and a wider
-opening between two ponderous peaks shows where the sea has driven-in
-the strange and deeply carved inlet of Somes' Sound, six miles from
-the southern side, to almost bisect the island. Hung closely upon the
-coast of Maine, in Frenchman Bay, this noted island, the ancient
-Indian Pemetic, is about fifteen miles long, of varying width, and
-covers a hundred square miles. It has many picturesque features, its
-mountains, which run in roughly parallel ridges north and south,
-separated by narrow trough-like valleys, displaying thirteen distinct
-eminences, the eastern summits being the highest, and terminating
-generally at or near the water's edge on that side in precipitous
-cliffs, with the waves dashing against their bases. Upon the
-southeastern coast, fronting the ocean, as a fitting termination to
-the grand scenery of these mountain-ranges, the border of the Atlantic
-is a galaxy of stupendous cliffs, the two most remarkable being of
-national fame--Schooner Head and Great Head--the full force of old
-ocean driving against their massive rocky buttresses. Schooner Head
-has a surface of white rock on its face, which when seen from the sea
-is fancied to resemble the sails of a small vessel, apparently moving
-in front of the giant cliff. Great Head, two miles southward, is an
-abrupt projecting mass of rock, the grim and bold escarpment having
-deep gashes across the base, evidently worn by the waves. It is the
-highest headland on the island. Castle Head is a perpendicular
-columned mass, appearing like a colossal, castellated doorway, flanked
-by square towers.
-
- [Illustration: _Along the Coast at Bar Harbor, Me._]
-
-For more than a century after Champlain first looked upon this island,
-the French made ineffectual attempts at settlement, but it was
-not until 1761 that any one succeeded in establishing a permanent
-home. Then old Abraham Somes, a hardy mariner from Cape Ann, came
-along, and entering the Sound that bears his name, settled on the
-shore, and his descendant is said to still keep the inn at Somesville
-on the very spot of his earliest colonization. After the little colony
-was planted, the cultivation of the cranberry and the gathering of
-blueberries kept the people alive, these being almost the only
-food-products raised in the moderate allowance of soil allotted the
-island. The population grew but slowly, though artists and summer
-saunterers came this way, and about 1860 it began to attract the
-pleasure-seekers. When the island, in its early government, was
-divided into towns, the eastern portion was called, with a little
-irony, Eden. Bar Harbor, an indentation of Frenchman Bay, having a bar
-uncovered at low tide, which named it, being easy of access, the
-village of East Eden on its shores became the fashionable resort. It
-has a charming outlook over the bay, with its fleets of gaily-bannered
-yachts and canoes and the enclosing Porcupine Islands, but there is
-not much natural attractiveness. It is a town of summer hotels and
-boarding-houses, built upon what was a treeless plain, the outskirts
-being a galaxy of cottages, many of great pretensions. Here will
-congregate ten to twenty thousand visitors in the season, and Bar
-Harbor has become one of the most fashionable resorts on the Atlantic
-coast. Its bane, however, is the fog, a frequent sojourner in the
-summer, though even fogs, in their way, have charms. There are days
-that it lies in banks upon the sea, with only occasional incursions
-upon the shore, when under a shining sun the mist creeps over the
-water and finally blots out the landscape. But light breezes and warm
-sunshine then soon disperse it and the view reappears. The fog-rifts
-are wonderful picture-makers. Sometimes the mist obscures the sea and
-lower shores of the attendant islands, leaving a narrow fringe of
-tree-tops resting against the horizon, as if suspended in mid-air.
-Often a yacht sails through the fog, looking like a colossal ghost,
-when suddenly its sails flash out in the sunlight like huge wings.
-Thus the mist paints dissolving views, so that the fogs of Mount
-Desert become an attraction, and occasionally through them appears the
-famed mirage which Whittier describes:
-
- "Sometimes in calms of closing day
- They watched the spectral mirage play;
- Saw low, far islands looming tall and high,
- And ships, with upturned keels, sail like a sea the sky."
-
-Somes Sound has off its entrance on the southern side of Mount Desert,
-the group of Cranberry Islands with a lighthouse on Baker's Island,
-the outermost of the cluster. These make a picturesque outlook for the
-summer settlements which have grown around the spacious indentations
-of North East Harbor and South West Harbor, on either side of the
-entrance to the Sound. To the eastward is another indentation in the
-southern coast, Seal Harbor, also a popular resort, having one of the
-finest beaches on the island. The five high rocky Porcupine Islands
-partially enclosing Bar Harbor get their names from their bristling
-crests of pines and spruces, one of them, the Bald Porcupine, having
-some stupendous cliffs. The visits to the cliffs along the shores and
-the ascent of the mountains are the chief excursions from Bar Harbor.
-Four miles southward is the summit of Green Mountain, its sides being
-rugged, and the charming Eagle Lake to the westward nestling among the
-mountain peaks. The view from the top is fine, over the deeply-cut
-Somes Sound, penetrating almost through the island, and the grand
-expanse of Maine coast, seen, with its many bays and islands,
-stretching from the Penobscot northeast to Quoddy Head. All around to
-the southward and eastward spreads the open ocean bounded by the
-horizon, and like a speck, to the south-southeast, twenty miles away,
-is the lighthouse upon the bleak crag known as Mount Desert Rock, far
-out at sea, the most remote beacon, in its distant isolation, upon the
-New England coast.
-
-
-ENTERING THE MARITIME PROVINCES.
-
-The Maine coast beyond Mount Desert has more deep harbors and long
-peninsulas. Here are Englishman's Bay, Machias Bay, Cutler Harbor and
-others, and finally Passamaquoddy Bay, opening into the Bay of Fundy.
-Grand Manan Island lies off this Bay, the first land of the British
-Maritime Provinces, twenty-two miles long and distant about nine miles
-from the coast of Maine, the frowning yet attractive precipices of its
-western verge rising four hundred feet. Over opposite in Maine, as the
-strait between the two narrows, are dark, storm-worn crags, which end
-with a promontory bearing a conspicuously red and white-striped
-lighthouse tower. This is the termination of the coast of Maine and of
-the United States at Quoddy Head, and the entrance to St. Croix River
-to the northward, the boundary between New England and the Canadian
-Province of New Brunswick. Quoddy Head is a long peninsula, with
-Campobello Island directly in front. Just beyond is another peninsula,
-bearing a village of white cottages, rising on the slopes of a high
-rounded hill having a church with a tall spire perched upon its
-pinnacle. This is Lubec, the easternmost town of the United States.
-Out in front upon Campobello lived for many years the eccentric old
-sailor, William Fitzwilliam Owen, a retired British Admiral, who built
-there on the rocks a regulation "quarter-deck" of a man-of-war,
-whereon he solemnly promenaded in full uniform and issued orders to a
-mythical crew. Finally he died, and as he had desired, was buried by
-candlelight in the churchyard of the little chapel he had built on
-the island. Campobello is now a summer resort, with numerous hotels
-and cottages. All these waters are filled with wicker-work fish-weirs,
-wherein are caught the herring supplying the Eastport sardine-packing
-establishments. This is another town of white houses on an island
-adjoining the mainland, having a little fort and a prominent display
-of the sardine-factories in front, with a background of fir-clad hills
-in Maine.
-
-St. Croix River falling into Passamaquoddy Bay is, for its whole
-length of one hundred and twenty-five miles, the national boundary.
-Upon Neutral Island near its mouth was made the first unfortunate
-settlement of Acadie by the Sieur De Monts in 1604. He named both the
-island and river St. Croix because, just above, various bends of the
-river and its branches form a cross. The St. Croix discharges the
-noted Schoodic Lakes far up in the forest on the boundary, which have
-become a favorite resort of sportsmen and anglers. It brings down many
-logs, and the sawmills have made the prosperity of the twin towns of
-Calais and St. Stephen on its banks, which represent the two nations,
-and being very friendly, are connected by a bridge. Upon a peninsula
-near the mouth of the river is St. Andrews, in New Brunswick, which
-like most other places in this pleasant region is developing into a
-summer resort. When De Monts came and landed, he named the country
-Acadie because that was what the Indians called it. The Indians,
-however, in pronouncing it made the sound like "a-quoddy," and from
-this is derived Passamaquoddy, the name of the bay into which the St.
-Croix flows, the word _Pesmo-acadie_ meaning the "pollock place of
-plenty," as these fish were prolific there. It is at North Perry in
-Maine, a village on the western verge of the bay and between Eastport
-and Calais, that the Government has erected the obelisk marking the
-forty-fifth parallel of north latitude, midway between the equator and
-the pole.
-
-The Canadian Province of New Brunswick into which we have now come in
-the journey "Down East" is described as "a region of ships, of pine
-trees, salmon, deals, hemlock bark and most excellent red granite."
-The first impression upon entering it is made by the highways, where
-the change from the United States to the British methods is shown in
-the reversal of the usual "rule of the road," from right to left. The
-vehicles all "keep to the left," and hence the appropriate proverb:
-
- "The rule of the road is a parodox quite,
- In driving your carriage along,
- If you keep to the left you are sure to go right,
- If you keep to the right you go wrong."
-
-We have also got into the region of the Bay of Fundy, the Portuguese
-_Bayo Fondo_, or "deep bay," with its high tides. This huge inlet of
-the Atlantic is about one hundred and seventy miles long, thrust up
-between New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, stretching from thirty to
-fifty miles wide between them. Its eastern extremity branches into two
-arms, the northern, Chignecto Bay, about thirty miles long, and the
-southern, Minas Channel, opening into the Minas Basin. Besides the St.
-Croix, this bay also receives St. John River, the greatest in the
-Maritime Provinces. The bay is remarkable for its tides, which are
-probably the highest in the world, owing to the concentration of the
-tidal wave by the approach of the shores and the gradual shoaling of
-the bottom. The very moderate tides of the Massachusetts coast
-increase to about nine feet rise at the mouth of the Kennebec. The
-configuration of the Maine coast to the northeast further increases
-this to fifteen or twenty feet rise at Eastport. Beyond this the Bay
-of Fundy is a complete _cul-de-sac_, and the farther the tide gets in
-the higher it rises. In St. John harbor it becomes twenty-one to
-twenty-three feet, and farther up it is greater, in Minas Basin the
-rise reaching forty feet, and in Chignecto Bay, near the upper
-extremity, sixty feet. These tremendous tides cause peculiar
-phenomena; they make the rivers seem to actually run up-hill at times,
-while the tidal "bore" or wall of water, which is the advance of the
-flood, moves up the streams and across the extensive mudflats with the
-speed of a railway train, often catching the unsuspecting who may be
-wandering over them. The elaborate wharves made for boat-landings are
-built up like three-story houses, with different floor-levels, so as
-to enable the vessels to get alongside at all stages of the tide.
-
-
-THE CITY OF ST. JOHN.
-
-Upon St. John's Day, June 24, 1604, De Monts piloted by Champlain,
-coasting along the monotonous forest-clad shores of New Brunswick,
-sailed into the mouth of the River St. John, and named it in memory of
-the day of its discovery. Off the entrance is Partridge Island, now
-surmounted by a lighthouse and what is said to be the most powerful
-fog-siren in the world, whose hoarse blasts can be heard thirty miles
-away, a necessity in this region, where fogs prevail so generally.
-From the Negro Head, a high hill on the western shore, a breakwater
-extends across the harbor entrance, and within is the city covering
-the hills running down to the water as the inner harbor curves toward
-the westward. Timber being the great export, lumber-piles and
-timber-ships fill the wharves, sawdust floats on the water, and
-vessels are anchored out in the stream loading deals from lighters.
-
-De Monts found some Micmac Indians at St. John, but he did not remain
-there, and it was not until 1634 when Claude de St. Estienne, Sieur de
-la Tour, a Huguenot who had been granted Acadie by King Charles I. of
-England, came out with his son and built a fort at the mouth of St.
-John River, the son Charles de la Tour for some years afterwards
-holding it and enjoying a lucrative trade. The French King, however,
-had made a rival grant of Acadie, which had come into possession of
-Charles de Menon, Sieur d'Aulnay Charnisay, who made a settlement at
-Annapolis Royal over in Nova Scotia, where De Monts took the remnant
-of his unfortunate colony from St. Croix River. D'Aulnay envied La
-Tour his prosperity, provoked a quarrel, accused him of treason, and
-finally came over and blockaded the mouth of the St. John with six
-ships. La Tour, anticipating this attack, had implored aid from the
-Huguenots in France, and they sent out the ship "Clement" with one
-hundred and forty men, which remained in the offing. One cloudy night
-La Tour and his wife slipped out of the harbor on the ebb tide in a
-boat and got aboard the ship, which carried them to Boston, where
-additional help was sought. Old Cotton Mather records that the
-Puritans hearkened unto him and searched the Scriptures to see if
-there was Divine sanction for interference in a French quarrel. They
-found sundry texts that were interpreted as possibly forbidding such
-action, but they nevertheless concluded "it was as lawful for them to
-give La Tour succor as it was for Joshua to aid the Gideonites against
-the rest of the Canaanites, or for Jehoshaphat to aid Jehoram against
-Moab." So they quickly started five Massachusetts ships that way, with
-which La Tour raised the blockade and drove D'Aulnay across the Bay
-of Fundy back to his own post of Annapolis Royal. D'Aulnay did not
-rest content under defeat, however, but two years later again attacked
-the fort. Two spies, who had gained entrance in the disguise of monks,
-informed him La Tour was absent, the fort being under command of his
-wife. Expecting easy victory, he ordered an assault, but was met by
-Madame La Tour at the head of the little garrison and defeated with
-heavy loss. He awaited another opportunity, and in 1647 when La Tour
-was away on a trading expedition, leaving but a small force, he again
-attacked. During three days his assaults were repulsed, but a
-treacherous sentry admitted the enemy within the fort. Even then the
-brave woman fought with such intrepidity that she was given her own
-terms of capitulation. No sooner had she surrendered, however, than
-D'Aulnay violated his agreement and hanged the garrison, compelling
-Madame La Tour to witness it with a halter around her neck. This so
-preyed upon her mind that a few days afterwards she died of a broken
-heart. Whittier has woven this story into his romantic poem _St.
-John_, describing La Tour returning to the fort and expecting his
-wife's greeting, but instead he found its walls shattered and the
-buildings burnt. A priest appearing, La Tour seizes him, demanding an
-explanation, and thus spoke the priest:
-
- "'No wolf, Lord of Estienne, has ravaged thy hall,
- But thy red-handed rival, with fire, steel and ball!
- On an errand of mercy, I hitherward came,
- While the walls of thy castle yet spouted with flame.
-
- "'Pentagoet's dark vessels were moored in the bay,
- Grim sea-lions roaring aloud for their prey.'
- 'But what of my lady?' cried Charles of Estienne:
- 'On the shot-crumbled turret, thy lady was seen:
-
- "'Half-veiled in the smoke-cloud, her hand grasped thy pennon,
- While her dark tresses swayed in the hot breath of cannon!
- But woe to the heretic, evermore woe!
- When the son of the Church and the Cross is his foe!
-
- "'In the track of the shell, in the path of the ball,
- Pentagoet swept over the breach of the wall!
- Steel to steel, gun to gun, one moment--and then
- Alone stood the victor, alone with his men!
-
- "'Of its sturdy defenders, thy lady alone
- Saw the cross-blazoned banner float over St. John.'
- 'Let the dastard look to it,' cried fiery Estienne,
- 'Were D'Aulnay King Louis, I'd free her again.'
-
- "'Alas for thy lady! No service from thee
- Is needed by her whom the Lord hath set free:
- Nine days in stern silence her thraldom she bore,
- But the tenth morning came, and Death opened her door!'"
-
-La Tour returned, but hardly in the manner justifying the revenge
-indicated in the poem. D'Aulnay died shortly afterwards, whereupon La
-Tour recaptured his fort and domain in 1653, but not at the head of an
-army, diplomatically accomplishing his victory by marrying D'Aulnay's
-widow. This post was known as Fort La Tour until the British conquest
-in the eighteenth century, when it was changed to Fort Frederick. It
-then became a fishing station, and was plundered in the Revolution.
-Afterwards, in 1783, about ten thousand exiled tories from the United
-States were landed there, this being the "Landing of the Loyalists"
-commemorated on May 18th as the founding of St. John, the charter
-dating from that day in 1785. Benedict Arnold was one of these
-refugees, he living in St. John for several years from 1786. A
-Monument in King Square commemorates the landing of the loyalists and
-the grant of the charter. Being built largely of wood, the city
-suffered from many disastrous fires, the worst being in June, 1877,
-when one-third of the place was burnt, involving a loss of over
-sixteen hundred buildings and nearly $30,000,000. St. John rose from
-the ruins with great vitality, the new construction being largely of
-brick and stone. The population now exceeds forty thousand.
-
-
-THE RIVER ST. JOHN.
-
-The great curiosity of St. John is the "reversible cataract" in the
-river, caused in the gorge just west of the city by the enormous tides
-of the Bay of Fundy. The great river above the city is a wide estuary,
-but before entering the harbor it is compressed into a short, deep and
-narrow gorge, barely one hundred and fifty yards wide in some places,
-and obstructed by several rocky islets. As this is the best
-crossing-place, two bridges are thrown side by side over the chasm,
-one for a railway and the other for a street, resting upon the
-limestone cliffs a hundred feet above the water. As the tide ebbs and
-flows, the rushing river currents make the reversible cataract, almost
-under the bridges, with the water pouring down both ways at different
-tidal stages. Through this contracted pass the entire current of the
-vast St. John valley finds its outlet to the sea. When the ebb tide
-quickly empties the harbor below, the accumulated river waters cannot
-get into the gorge fast enough to reduce as rapidly the level of the
-broad basin above, and they consequently rush down, a cataract,
-swelling sometimes to ten or twelve feet at the upper entrance to the
-gorge, and make whirling, seething rapids below. When the tide turns,
-this outflow is gradually checked by the rise in the harbor, but soon
-the tremendous incoming flood from the Bay of Fundy overpowers the
-river current, fills up the gorge, and rapidly rising in the gorge
-rushes inward to the broad basin, thus making the cataract fall the
-other way. Twice every day this ever-changing contest is fought, and
-were it not for the obstruction made by this narrow, rocky gateway,
-these enormous tides would rush along in full force and overflow a
-large surface of the very low-lying interior of New Brunswick. The
-river makes a sharp bend just at the outlet of the gorge, turning from
-south to northeast around a rocky cape protruding far into the stream;
-then it broadens out into a rounded bay, and a short distance beyond
-sharply bends again into the harbor of St. John. Vessels are taken
-through the gorge at proper tidal stages, guided by tugs and floating
-at high speed with the rushing current. This is one of the most
-remarkable exhibitions made of the curious influence of these enormous
-Bay of Fundy tides.
-
-The River St. John, flowing out of the vast forests of Maine,
-stretches four hundred and fifty miles from its sources to the sea.
-The Micmac Indians of its upper reaches called it Ouangondie, while
-the Etechemins of the lower waters and the St. Croix valley named it
-Looshtook, or the "Long River." Its sources interlock in the Maine
-forests, at two thousand feet elevation, with those of the Penobscot
-flowing south and the Chaudiere flowing north to the St. Lawrence,
-near Quebec. At first the St. John flows northwest, then east and
-southeast to its Grand Falls, then by a winding southern course to the
-Bay of Fundy. For a long distance its upper waters are the national
-boundary between Maine and Canada. It receives several large
-tributaries and drains a valley embracing seventeen millions of acres.
-The immense forest wilderness of Maine, wherein are the sources of
-these streams, is seven times the size of the famous "Black Forest" of
-Germany. Upon the upper St. John waters are various villages of French
-Acadians, the descendants of those who were driven out of Nova Scotia
-in the eighteenth century. It receives the Allegash, St. Francis,
-Madawaska, Grand and St. Leonard's Rivers, and thus comes to its
-cataract with augmented waters--the Grand Falls. Above, the stream
-expands into a broad basin, flowing from which its enormous current is
-compressed into a narrow rock-bound canyon, and after running down a
-moderate incline suddenly plunges over the front and sides of an
-abyss. This is about sixty feet deep and formed of slate, the water
-falling into the cauldron below, and also over the outer ledges in
-minor cascades. Then, with lightning rapidity the foaming current
-dashes through another canyon of two hundred and fifty feet width for
-three-fourths of a mile, the walls, of dark, rugged rock, being one
-hundred and fifty feet high. Within this terrific chasm there is a
-descent of sixty feet more, in which the waters do not rush along as
-in the rapids below Niagara, but are actually belched and volleyed
-forth, as if shot out of ten thousand great guns, with enormous
-boiling masses hurled into the air and huge waves leaping high against
-the enclosing cliffs. This ungovernable fury continues throughout most
-of the passage, the stream at times heaping itself all on one side,
-and giving brief glimpses of the rocky bed of the chasm. Finally an
-immense frothy cataract flows over into a lower basin, said to be
-unfathomable, where the stream becomes tranquil and then goes along
-peacefully between its farther banks. Majestic scenery surrounds
-these Grand Falls, there being high mountains in all directions.
-
-Like all great cataracts, this one has its romance and tragedy.
-Alongside the final unfathomable basin rises a towering precipice two
-hundred feet high, its perpendicular wall as smooth as glass. Down it
-the ancient Micmacs hurled their captives taken in war. The implacable
-foes of these Micmacs, as of all the tribes allied to the French, were
-the New York Iroquois, and particularly the Mohawks. Once a party of
-Mohawks penetrated all the way to this remote region, surprising and
-capturing a Micmac village with a fearful massacre. One young squaw,
-who promised obedience, they spared, because they wanted her to guide
-them down the river. She was put in the foremost canoe, and the
-fatigued Mohawks lashed their canoes together to float with the
-current in the night, and then went to sleep. The girl was to guide
-them to a safe landing above the cataract, so they could land and next
-day go around the portage. She steered them into the mid-stream
-current instead, and dropping quietly overboard swam ashore. They
-floated to the brink of the cataract, and when its thunders awoke
-them, too late for safety, the whole party were swept over and
-perished. This was the last Mohawk invasion of the region. Twenty
-miles below, the Tobique River comes into the St. John, and is
-regarded as the most picturesque stream in New Brunswick, being noted
-for its lumber camps and good angling. Here is Andover, a little
-village supplying the lumbermen, and also Florenceville and Woodstock,
-with busy sawmills. For miles the river shores are lofty and bold,
-affording charming scenery. The Meduxnekeag flows in from the Maine
-forests, bringing down many logs, and below the Meduntic Rapids are
-passed. Then the Pokiok, its Indian name meaning the "dreadful place,"
-flows to the St. John through a sombre and magnificent gorge four
-hundred yards long, very deep and only twenty-five feet wide. The
-little river, after plunging down a cataract of forty feet, rushes
-over the successive ledges of this remarkable pass until it reaches
-the St. John. For a long distance the great river passes villages
-originally settled by disbanded British troops after the Revolution
-and now peopled by their descendants, and then it winds through the
-pastoral district of Aukpaque, which was held by Americans within New
-Brunswick for two years after the Revolution began, they finally
-retreating in 1777 over the border into the wilderness of Maine, and
-reaching the coast at Machias. Seven miles below is Frederickton, the
-New Brunswick capital, a small city, quiet and restful, with broad
-streets lined by old shade trees, and covering a good deal of level
-land adjoining the river. It has a fine Parliament House, a small but
-attractive Cathedral, with a spire one hundred and eighty feet high,
-and on the hills back of the town is the University of New Brunswick.
-The Nashwaak River flows in opposite among sawmills and cotton-mills,
-and there was the old French Fort Nashwaak where the Chevalier de
-Villebon, who was sent in 1690 to govern Acadie, fixed his capital
-(removing it from Annapolis Royal), and used to fit out expeditions
-against the Puritans in New England, they attacking him once in
-retaliation, but being beaten off. The St. John passes through a
-pleasant intervale below, the garden-spot of the Province, where at
-Maugerville was the earliest English settlement on the river,
-colonized from New England in 1763, after the French surrender of
-Canada. Then the St. John receives Jemseg River, the outlet of Grand
-Lake, where a French fort was built as early as 1640 and was fought
-about for more than a century. This is a deep, slow-winding stream in
-a region of perfect repose, having opposite its outlet Gagetown, a
-pretty place with a few hundred people, and said to be the most
-slumbrous village of all this sleepy region:
-
- "Oh, so drowsy! in a daze,
- Sleeping mid the golden haze;
- With its one white row of street
- Carpeted so green and sweet,
- And the loungers smoking, still,
- Over gate and window sill;
- Nothing coming, nothing going,
- Locusts grating, one cock crowing,
- Few things moving up or down;
- All things drowsy--Drowsytown!"
-
-The St. John below is much like a broad and placid lake flowing
-through a pastoral country, having long tributary lakes and bays,
-including the extensive and attractive Kennebecasis, which is the
-favorite rural resort of the St. John people and the scene of their
-aquatic sports. The river farther down broadens into Grand Bay, and
-then passing the narrow gorge of the "reversible cataract," makes the
-expansive harbor of St. John, and is ultimately swallowed up by the
-Bay of Fundy.
-
-
-ANNAPOLIS AND MINAS BASINS.
-
-From St. John River across the Bay of Fundy to Digby Gut in Nova
-Scotia is forty-five miles. For one hundred and thirty miles, the
-North Mountain Ridge, elevated six hundred feet, stretches along the
-bay upon the Nova Scotia shore, sharply notched down at Digby Gut, the
-entrance to Annapolis Basin. This strait, barely a half-mile wide, is
-cut two miles through the mountain ridge, having a tidal current of
-six miles an hour, and within is a magnificent salt-water lake,
-surrounded by forests sloping up the hillsides, and one of the
-pleasantest sheets of water in the world. It is no wonder that De
-Monts, when his colonists abandoned the dreary island in St. Croix
-River, sought refuge here, and that his companion, Baron de
-Poutrincourt, obtained a grant for the region. It is one of the most
-attractive parts of Acadia, and as the old song has it:
-
- "This is Acadia--this the land
- That weary souls have sighed for;
- This is Acadia--this the land
- Heroic hearts have died for."
-
-Digby is within the Gut, fronted by a long and tall wooden wharf that
-has to deal with fifty feet of tide, its end being an enormous square
-timber crib, built up like a four-story house. The town is noted for
-luscious cherries and for "Digby Chickens," the most prized brand of
-herrings cured by the "Blue-noses," and it has also developed into
-quite an attractive watering-place. To the southwestward a railway
-runs to Yarmouth, at the western extremity of Nova Scotia, a small but
-very busy port, having steamer lines in various directions. To the
-northeastward Annapolis Basin stretches sixteen miles between the
-enclosing hills, gradually narrowing towards the extremity. Here, on
-the lowlands adjoining Annapolis River, is the quaint little town of
-Annapolis Royal and the extensive ramparts of the ancient fort that
-guarded it, covering some thirty acres. This was the original French
-capital of Acadia, and the first permanent settlement made by
-Europeans in America north of St. Augustine, De Monts founding the
-colony in 1605. He named it Port Royal, but the English Puritans a
-century later changed this, in honor of their "good Queen Anne," to
-Annapolis Royal. Almost from the first settlement to the final capture
-by the Puritan expedition from Boston in 1710, its history was a tale
-of battles, sieges and captures by many chieftains of the rival
-nations. As the Marquis of Lorne in his Canadian book describes it:
-"This is the story which is repeated with varying incidents through
-all the long-drawn coasts of the old Acadia. We see, first, the forest
-village of the Red Indians, with its stockades and patches of maize
-around it; then the landing from the ships, under the white flag sown
-with golden lilies, of armored arquebussiers and spearsmen; the
-skirmishing and the successful French settlement; to be followed by
-the coming of other ships, with the red cross floating over the
-high-built sterns, and then the final conflict and the victory of the
-British arms." Now everything is peaceful, and the people raise
-immense crops of the most attractive apples for shipment to Europe.
-
-East of Annapolis is the "Garden of Nova Scotia." The long ridge of
-the North Mountain on the coast screens it from the cold winds and
-fogs, while the parallel ridge of the South Mountain stretches for
-eighty miles, and between these noble ranges, which are described as
-"most gracefully moulded," is a broad and rich intervale extending to
-the Basin of Minas and the land of Evangeline, which Longfellow has
-made so sadly poetical. Good crops of hay grow on the fertile red
-soils, which the farmers gather with their slowly-plodding ox-teams;
-and of this region the poet sang mournfully:
-
- "This is the forest primeval. The murmuring pines and the hemlocks,
- Bearded with moss, and in garments green, indistinct in the twilight,
- Stand like Druids of old, with voices sad and prophetic,
- Stand like harpers hoar, with beards that rest on their bosoms,
- Loud from its rocky caverns, the deep-voiced neighboring ocean
- Speaks, and in accents disconsolate, answers the wail of the forest."
-
-To-day, however, "the murmuring pines and the hemlocks" are not there,
-excepting in stunted growth in occasional thickets, the land being
-meadow and grain fields, with many orchards. Upon a low-lying
-peninsula, washed by the placid waters of the Basin of Minas, is the
-"Great Meadow," the Grand Pré of the unfortunate Acadians, where in
-that early time they had reclaimed from the enormous tides some three
-square miles of land, while south of the meadow, on somewhat higher
-ground, was their little village. Beyond it the dark North Mountain
-ridge stretches to the promontory of Cape Blomidon, dropping off
-abruptly six hundred feet into the Basin of Minas. The contented
-French lived secluded lives here, avoiding much of the ravages of the
-wars raging elsewhere around the Bay of Fundy, and when France ceded
-Nova Scotia to England in 1713 they numbered about two thousand. They
-took the oaths of loyalty to the British crown, but in the subsequent
-French and Indian wars there was much disaffection, and it was
-determined in 1755 to remove all the French who lived around the Bay
-of Fundy, numbering some eight thousand, so that a loyal British
-population might replace them. In September the embarkation began from
-Grand Pré, one hundred and sixty young men being ordered aboard ship.
-They slowly marched from the church to the shore between ranks of the
-women and children, who, kneeling, prayed for blessings upon them,
-they also praying and weeping and singing hymns. The old men were sent
-next, but the wives and children were kept till other ships arrived.
-These wretched people were herded together near the sea, without
-proper food, raiment or shelter for weeks, until the transports came,
-and it was December before the last of them had embarked. In one
-locality a hundred men fled to the woods, and soldiers were sent to
-hunt them, often shooting them down. Many in various places managed to
-escape, some getting to St. John River, while not a few went to
-Quebec, and others found refuge in Indian wigwams in the forests.
-There were seven thousand, however, carried on shipboard from the Bay
-of Fundy to the various British colonies from New Hampshire to
-Georgia, being landed without resources and having generally to
-subsist on charity. To prevent their returning, all the French
-villages around the Bay of Fundy were laid waste and their homes
-ruined. In the Minas district two hundred and fifty houses and a
-larger number of barns were burnt. Edmund Burke in the British
-Parliament cried out against this treatment, saying: "We did, in my
-opinion, most inhumanly, and upon pretences that, in the eye of an
-honest man, are not worth a farthing, root out this poor, innocent,
-deserving people, whom our utter inability to govern or to reconcile
-gave us no sort of right to extirpate." The sad story of Grand Pré and
-of Evangeline was historic before Longfellow's day, but he made it
-immortal.
-
-
-MINAS TO HALIFAX.
-
-The Basin of Minas, in the Micmac Indian tradition, was the
-beaver-pond and favorite abiding-place of their divinity, Glooscap. On
-the great promontory of Cape Blomidon, which stretches northward to
-enclose the Basin on its western side, he had his home. The ridge of
-the cape turns sharply to the westward and ends in Cape Split,
-alongside the Minas Channel. This formation has been compared to the
-curved handle of a huge walking-stick, the long North Mountain
-stretching far away being the stick. The Micmacs tell us that this
-ridge, now bent around to the westward, was Glooscap's beaver-dam,
-which he beneficently swung open, so that the surplus waters might run
-out and not overflow the meadows around the Basin of Minas. In
-swinging it around, however, the terminal cliff of Cape Split was
-broken off, and now rises in a promontory four hundred feet high just
-beyond the main ridge. Glooscap, we are told, began a conflict in the
-Basin with the Great Beaver, and threw at him the five vast rocks now
-known as the Five Islands on the northern shore to the eastward of
-Parrsboro'. The Beaver was chased out of the Basin, westward through
-the Minas Channel, and as a parting salute Glooscap threw his kettle
-at him, which overturning, became Spencer's Island, on the northern
-shore beyond Cape Split. The enormous tides run through the Minas
-Channel at eight miles an hour, and they helped to drive the Great
-Beaver over to St. John, where Glooscap finally conquered and killed
-him.
-
-The formation around the head of the Bay of Fundy is largely of rich
-and fertile red lowlands, marsh and meadow, much of it being reclaimed
-by dyking. The same formation is carried over the Chignecto isthmus,
-east of the bay, where the Nova Scotia Peninsula is joined to the
-mainland. This is only seventeen miles wide, and across it has been
-projected the "Chignecto Ship Railway," designed to shorten by about
-five hundred miles the passage of vessels around the Nova Scotia
-Peninsula into the St. Lawrence. It is a system of railway tracks on
-which the design was to carry ships over the isthmus. Vessels of two
-thousand tons were to be lifted out of the water, placed in a huge
-cradle, and drawn across by locomotives. The project, estimated as
-costing $5,000,000, was stopped in partial completion for want of
-funds. On the meadow land to the southward of the Basin of Minas is
-Windsor on the Avon, a small shipping town, in which the most famous
-building near the river is a broad and oddly-constructed one-story
-house, called the Clifton Mansion, which was the home of the author of
-_Sam Slick_--Judge Thomas C. Haliburton, a native of Windsor, who died
-in 1865. Beyond is Ardoise Mountain, rising seven hundred feet and
-having on its northern verge the great Aylesford sand-plain whereof
-_Sam Slick_ says: "Plain folks call it, in a gin'ral way, the Devil's
-Goose Pasture. It is thirteen miles long and seven miles wide; it
-ain't just drifting sands, but it's all but that, it's so barren. It's
-uneven or wavy, like the swell of the sea in a calm, and it's covered
-with short, thin, dry, coarse grass, and dotted here and there with a
-half-starved birch and a stunted, misshapen spruce. It is just about
-as silent and lonesome and desolate a place as you would wish to see.
-All that country thereabout, as I have heard tell when I was a boy,
-was once owned by the Lord, the king and the devil. The glebe-lands
-belonged to the first, the ungranted wilderness-lands to the second,
-and the sand-plain fell to the share of the last--and people do say
-the old gentleman was rather done in the division, but that is neither
-here nor there--and so it is called to this day the Devil's Goose
-Pasture." Over this sand-plain and the rocky, desolate ridge beyond,
-runs the great railway train of the Provinces, on the route between
-St. John and Halifax--dignified by the title of the "Flying Bluenose."
-It crosses the bleak flanks of Ardoise Mountain and Mount Uniacke,
-with its gold mines, through a region which the local chronicler
-describes as having "admirable facilities for the pasturage of goats
-and the procuring of ballast for breakwaters;" and then comes to the
-pleasant shores of Bedford Basin, running several miles along its
-beautiful western bank down to Halifax harbor.
-
-
-THE GREAT BRITISH-AMERICAN FORTRESS.
-
-The city of Halifax is the stronghold of British power in North
-America, and is said to be, with the exception of Gibraltar, the best
-fortified outpost of the British empire. It is a fortress and naval
-station of magnificent development upon an unrivalled harbor. This is
-an arm of the sea, thrust for sixteen miles up into the land, and the
-Indians called it Chebucto, meaning the "chief haven." A thousand
-ships can be accommodated on its spacious anchorages. Its Northwest
-Arm, a narrow waterway opening on the western shore just inside the
-entrance, makes a long peninsula with water on either side, which in
-the centre rises into Citadel Hill, two hundred and fifty-six feet
-high. Upon its eastern slopes, running down to the harbor and
-spreading two or three miles along it, is the narrow and elongated
-town, having the Queen's Dockyard at the northern end. Covering the
-broad hilltop is the spacious granite Citadel of Fort George, its
-green slopes, covered with luxuriant grass, being now devoted to the
-peaceful usefulness of a cow-pasture. Along the harbor and across in
-the suburb of Dartmouth are the streets and buildings of the town,
-containing forty thousand people. To the southward is the modern
-green-covered Fort Charlotte on St. George's Island, commanding the
-entrance and looking not unlike a sugar-loaf hat, and both shores are
-lined with powerful batteries and forts that make the position
-impregnable. The Citadel was begun by the Duke of Kent, Queen
-Victoria's father, when he commanded the British forces in Canada in
-the latter part of the eighteenth century, and it has since been
-enlarged and strengthened. At the entrance gate, grim memorials of the
-past, are mounted two old mortars, captured at the downfall of
-Louisbourg, on Cape Breton, in 1758.
-
-Halifax did not have an early settlement, though in the Colonial times
-the French came into Chebucto to refit their ships. The Massachusetts
-Puritans, who had long been fighting the French and Indians, first
-recognized its importance, and in 1748 they sent a petition to
-Parliament urging the establishment of a post there, and $200,000 was
-voted for a colonizing expedition, of which the English "Lords of
-Trade," George Montagu, Earl of Halifax, being the chief, took charge,
-hoping for commercial as well as military advantage. Lord Edward
-Cornwallis commanded the expedition, which brought twenty-five
-hundred colonists, largely disbanded soldiers, into Chebucto, landing
-June 21, 1749, and founding Halifax, named in honor of the Chief Lord
-of Trade. They were soon attacked by the French and Indians, the
-suburbs being burnt, and they were harassed in many ways, leading to
-the erection of stockades and forts for defense; but they held the
-place, and it was the control of this fine harbor which finally
-enabled the British to secure Canada. The fleets and armies were
-concentrated here that took and destroyed the famous fortress of
-Louisbourg, which, with Quebec, held the Dominion for the French, and
-here was also organized the subsequent expedition under Wolfe that
-captured Quebec and ended a century and a half of warfare by the
-cession of Canada to England. In the American Revolution, Halifax was
-a chief base of the British operations, and when that war ended, large
-numbers of American loyalists exiled themselves to Halifax. There is
-now maintained a garrison of two thousand men and a strong fleet at
-Halifax, and the sailor and the soldier are picturesque features of
-the streets. The city has pleasant parks and suburbs, but everything
-is subordinated to the grim necessities of the fortress, although in
-all its noted career Halifax has never been the scene of actual
-warfare.
-
-The Atlantic coast of Nova Scotia is indented by numerous bays that
-are good harbors, most of them having small towns and fishery
-stations. The western portal of Halifax harbor is Chebucto Head and
-Cape Sambro, with dangerous shoals beyond. There have been many
-serious wrecks in steering for this entrance during fogs, one of the
-most awful being the loss of the steamship "Atlantic" in 1873, when
-five hundred and thirty-five persons were drowned. Westward from
-Sambro are the broad St. Margaret's and Mahone Bays, and beyond,
-Lunenburg on its spacious harbor, a shipping and fishery town of four
-thousand people. To the westward are Bridgewater, Liverpool and
-Shelburne, with Cape Sable Island at the southwestern extremity of
-Nova Scotia, having behind it Barrington within a deep harbor. Off
-shore is Seal Island, with its great white guiding light, this being
-called, from its position, the "Elbow of the Bay of Fundy," and then
-around the "Elbow" is reached the broad estuary of the Tusket River
-and the beautiful archipelago of the Tusket Islands. The Tusket is one
-of the noted angling and sporting districts of the Province, this
-river draining a large part of the lake region of southwestern Nova
-Scotia, and having a succession of lakes connected by rapids and
-carrying a large amount of water down to the sea. There are eighty of
-these lakes of varying sizes. The salmon in the spring run up
-numerously, and the trout seek the cool recesses of the forests, while
-the rapids, the many islands and the charming woodlands are all
-attractive. In the archipelago of the estuary are some three hundred
-islands, the group extending out into the sea and having the powerful
-tidal currents flowing through their tortuous passages with the
-greatest velocity. These islands vary from small and barren rocks up
-to larger ones rising grandly from the water and thickly covered with
-trees, the channels between being narrow and deep. Among these islands
-are some of the best lobster fisheries in America.
-
-Eastward from Halifax are more deep bays and good harbors, but the
-shores are only sparsely peopled, being mostly a wilderness yet to be
-permanently occupied, though the venturesome fishermen have their huts
-dropped about in pleasant nooks. Here are Musquidoboit and Ship
-harbors, with Sherbrooke village in Isaac's harbor. Beyond, the long
-projecting peninsula of Guysborough terminates in the famous Cape
-Canso, the eastern extremity of Nova Scotia. This peninsula was named
-in honor of Sir Guy Carleton, and has the deep indentation of
-Chedabucto Bay on its northern side. Here is a village of a few
-hundred sailors and fishermen, where the French had a fort in the
-seventeenth century, until the Puritans under Sir William Phips came
-from Boston in 1690, drove them out and burnt it. Off this coast and
-ninety miles out at sea to the southward is the dreaded Sable Island,
-a long and narrow sandspit without trees, producing nothing but salt
-grass and cranberries. A lighthouse stands at either end, and there
-are three flagstaffs for signals at intervals between them, with also
-a life-saving station, and the bleaching bones of many a wreck
-imbedded in the sands. It has few visitors, excepting those who are
-cast away, and everyone avoids it. Yet, strangely enough, the first
-American explorers were infatuated with the idea of planting a colony
-on this bleak and barren sandbar, and its history has mainly been a
-record of wrecks. Cabot originally saw this island, and in 1508 the
-first futile attempt was made to settle it, the colony being soon
-abandoned, though some live-stock were left there. Sir Humphrey
-Gilbert in 1583 lost his ship "Delight" here, with a hundred men, and
-going home on her consort, he lost his own life on the Azores. It was
-on this fateful voyage that Sir Humphrey, on his storm-tossed vessel
-"Squirrel," sweeping past the other, shouted to her crew: "Courage, my
-lads, we are as near Heaven by sea as by land." In 1598 a colony of
-forty French convicts was placed on the island and forgotten for seven
-years, when they were hunted up and twelve survivors found, whom the
-King pardoned, and they were then carried back to France dressed in
-seal-skins and described as "gaunt, squalid and long-bearded." This
-seems to have ended the attempts to colonize Sable Island. The
-Spaniards sent out an expedition to settle Cape Breton, but the fleet
-was dashed to pieces on this island. The great French Armada, sailing
-to punish the Puritans for capturing Louisbourg, suffered severely on
-its shoals. The French afterwards lost there the frigate
-"L'Africaine," and later the steamer "Georgia" was wrecked. It is a
-long, narrow island, bent in the form of a bow, spreading twenty-six
-miles including the terminating bars, and nowhere over a mile wide. A
-long, shallow lake extends for thirteen miles in the centre. There is
-the French Garden, the traditionary spot where the convicts suffered
-during their exile, and a graveyard where the shipwrecked are buried.
-Wild ponies gallop about, the descendants of those left by the first
-settlers, seals bask on the sands, and ducks swim the lake. Such
-to-day is Sable Island.
-
-
-PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND.
-
-From Halifax a railroad leads northward across Nova Scotia to Pictou.
-It passes through the gold-digging regions of Waverley, Oldham and
-Renfrew, then over the rich red soils of the head of the Bay of Fundy
-and down the Shubenacadie River, meaning the "place of wild potatoes,"
-and reaches Truro, an active manufacturing town of over five thousand
-people near the head of Cobequid Bay. Beyond, through forests and
-hills, it crosses the peninsula to the Pictou coal-fields and comes
-out on Northumberland Strait at Pictou harbor. The coal is sent here
-for shipment, the name having come from the Indian word _Pictook_,
-meaning "bubbling or gas exploding," in allusion to the boiling of the
-waters near the coal-beds. Over across the Strait is Prince Edward
-Island, its red bluff shores along the edge of the horizon surmounted
-by a fringe of green foliage. The Micmacs recognized its peculiarity,
-calling it Epayquit, or "Anchored on the Wave." It is one hundred and
-thirty miles long and rather narrow, having deep bays, sometimes
-almost bisecting the island. The surface is low and undulating, with
-fertile soils mostly derived from the old red sandstone. The French
-first called it the Isle de St. Jean, but after the cession to England
-an effort was made to call it New Ireland, as Nova Scotia was New
-Scotland, and finally in 1800 it was given the present name in honor
-of Queen Victoria's father. It raises horses, oats, eggs and potatoes,
-and relatively to size is the best populated of all the Maritime
-Provinces. Charlottetown, inside of Hillsborough Bay,--called
-popularly "Ch-town," for short,--is the capital, a quiet place with
-about eleven thousand population, the Parliament House being its best
-building. A narrow-gauge railway is constructed through the island,
-near its western terminal being Summerside, on Bedeque Bay, where
-there is a little trade and three thousand people, probably its most
-active port.
-
-
-THE ARM OF GOLD.
-
-The eastern boundary of Nova Scotia is the Canso Strait, separating it
-from Cape Breton Island. At Canso, its southern entrance, various
-Atlantic cables are landed, while others go off southward to New
-York. This strait is a picturesque waterway, fifteen miles long and
-about a mile wide, a highway of commerce for the shipping desirous of
-avoiding the long passage around Cape Breton, and it is called by its
-admirers "The Golden Gate of the St. Lawrence Gulf." The geologists
-describe it as a narrow transverse valley excavated by the powerful
-currents of the drift period. As it leads directly from the Atlantic
-Ocean into the Gulf, more vessels are said to pass it than any other
-strait excepting Gibraltar. It has several villages upon the shores,
-mainly with Scottish inhabitants, the chief being Port Hawkesbury,
-Port Mulgrave and Port Hastings, the latter a point for gypsum export.
-Cape Breton Island is about one hundred miles long and eighty miles
-wide, its greatest natural feature being the famous "Arm of Gold,"
-thus named in admiration by the early French explorers. Nearly
-one-half the surface of the island is occupied by the lakes and swamps
-of this "Bras d'Or," an extensive and almost tideless inland sea of
-salt water, ramifying with deep bays and long arms through the centre,
-having two large openings into the sea at its northeastern end, and
-almost communicating with the Atlantic on its southwestern corner.
-This "Arm of Gold" has fine scenery, and presents within the rocky
-confines of the island a large lake, the Great Bras d'Or, where the
-mariner gets almost out of sight of land. To the southward of Cape
-Breton Island is Arichat, or the Isle Madame, having the Lennox
-Passage between, this Isle being inhabited by a colony of French
-Acadian fishermen. Originally this region was colonized by the Count
-de Fronsac, Sieur Denys, the first French Governor of Cape Breton, in
-whose honor they always called the Canso Strait the Passage Fronsac,
-though since then its present title was adopted, being derived from
-the Micmac name of Camsoke, meaning "facing the frowning cliffs." Each
-little French settlement here, as on the St. Lawrence, has the white
-cottages clustering around the church with the tall spire, and the
-curé's house not far away, usually the most elaborate in the
-settlement. From the Lennox Passage a short canal has been cut through
-the rocks into the southwestern extremity of the Bras d'Or, thus
-actually dividing Cape Breton into two islands.
-
-The village of "St. Peter at the Gate" is passed, and the lake entered
-at St. Peter's Inlet, a beautiful waterway filled with islands making
-narrow winding channels. Several of these islands are a Government
-reservation for a remnant of the Micmacs, and they have a small white
-church upon Chapel Island, where they gather from all parts of Cape
-Breton for their annual festival on St. Anne's Day. Beyond, the Great
-Bras d'Or broadens, an inland sea, the opposite shore almost out of
-vision, for the lake is eighteen miles across and fully fifty miles
-long. The banks come together at the Grand Narrows, making the
-contracted Strait of Barra, and then they expand again into another
-lake, neither so long nor so wide, the Little Bras d'Or to the
-northeastward, but still nearly fifty miles long, including its
-northeastern prolongation of St. Andrew Channel. This in turn opens by
-a wider strait into yet another lake to the northward, upon the
-farther shore of which is Baddeck. To the westward this lake spreads
-into St. Patrick's Channel, and to the northeastward there are thrust
-out in parallel lines the two "Arms of Gold" connecting with the sea.
-An island over thirty miles long and varying in width separates these
-two curious arms. These strangely-fashioned lakes present varied
-scenery; the shores in some places are low meadows, in others
-gently-swelling hills, and elsewhere they rise into forest-clad
-mountains. In the pellucid waters swim jelly-fish of exquisite tints.
-The atmosphere blends the outlines and colors so well that it smoothes
-the roughness of the wilder regions, and casts a softness over the
-scene which adds to its charms. Beyond the bordering mountains, to the
-northward, is a dreary and almost uninhabited table-land stretching to
-the Atlantic Ocean, where the long projection of remote Cape North
-stands in silent grandeur within seventy-five miles of Newfoundland.
-
-Upon the verge of the northern Bras d'Or Lake, in a charming
-situation, is the little town of Baddeck, its houses scattered over
-the sloping hillsides and the church spires rising among the trees. A
-pretty island stands out in front as a protective breakwater, for
-storms often sweep wildly across the broad waters. This is the chief
-settlement of the lake district, the Highland Scottish inhabitants
-having twisted its present name out of the original French title of
-Bedique, there being a population of about one thousand. At the
-eastern extremity of Cape Breton Island, on an inlet from the
-Atlantic, and near the terminating arms of the Bras d'Or, is the
-coal-shipping port of Sydney, with a population of twenty-five
-hundred, though excepting coal-piers and colliers there is not much
-there to see. This is the port for the Sydney coal-fields, covering
-nearly three hundred square miles of the island, and the
-mine-galleries being prolonged in various places under the ocean.
-These were the first coal deposits worked in America, the French
-having got coal out of them in the seventeenth century. They are now
-all controlled by the wealthy Dominion Coal Company of Boston. Sydney,
-C. B., is a seaport known from its coaling facilities throughout the
-world, and while prosaic enough now, it saw stirring scenes in the
-Colonial times. The early name for its admirable harbor was Spanish
-Bay, because Spanish fishermen gathered there. It was a favorite
-anchorage for both French and English fleets in their preparations, as
-the tide of battle turned, for attacking New England or Acadia in the
-long struggle for supremacy. In 1696 the French assembled in Spanish
-Bay for a foray upon Pemaquid. In 1711 Admiral Hovenden Walker,
-returning from his unsuccessful expedition against Quebec, his ships
-having been dispersed by a storm, collected in this capacious
-roadstead the most formidable fleet it had seen, forty-two vessels.
-The doughty British Admiral felt so good about it that he set up on
-shore a large signboard made by his carpenters, whereon was inscribed
-a pompous proclamation claiming possession of the whole country in
-honor of his sovereign Queen Anne. The French soon came along,
-however, and smashed his signboard, built their fortress of
-Louisbourg, and there was a half-century of warfare before the
-proclamation was made good and England had undisputed possession. The
-settlement on Spanish Bay was not named after Lord Sydney and made the
-Cape Breton capital until 1784, when exiled loyalists came from the
-United States to inhabit it.
-
-
-THE GREAT ACADIAN FORTRESS.
-
-Upon the seacoast, twenty-five miles southeast of Sydney, is a low
-headland with a dark rocky island in the offing. This headland is Cape
-Breton, originally named for the Breton French fishermen who
-frequented it, and it in turn named Cape Breton Island. Just west of
-Cape Breton is an admirable harbor which, being frequented in the
-early days by English fishermen, the French named the _Havre aux
-Anglais_, or the "English Port." Upon Point Rochefort, on its western
-side, stood the famous French fortress and town of Louisbourg, which
-was called "the Dunkirk of America." While grass-grown ruins and some
-of the ramparts are still traceable, and visitors find relics, yet
-little is left of this great fortress, once regarded as the "Key to
-New France," or of the populous French town on the harbor which in the
-eighteenth century had a trade of the first importance. It was twice
-captured, after remarkable sieges and battles of world-wide renown,
-causing the most profound sensations at the time, and now absolutely
-nothing is left of the original place but an old graveyard on the
-point, where French and English dust commingle in peace under a mantle
-of dark greensward. There is at present a settlement of about a
-thousand people around the harbor, mainly engaged in the fisheries.
-The Treaty of Utrecht in 1713 transferred Newfoundland and Acadia from
-France to England, but the French held Cape Breton Island, and many of
-their refugees came hither. It was not long before the French King,
-Louis XIV., stirred by Admiral Walker's proclamation and anxious about
-Canada, determined to fortify the "English Port" and make a commercial
-depot there, and in 1714 the plan was laid out, the name being changed
-to Louisbourg. In 1720 work began on a prodigious scale, the intention
-being to make it the leading fortress in America, and for more than
-twenty years France devoted its energy and resources to the completion
-of the stupendous fortifications, attracting inhabitants to the place
-by bounties, and creating a brisk trade by sea which soon drew
-inhabitants for a large town. When completed, this town stood upon the
-neck of land on the southwest side of the harbor enclosed by stone
-walls having a circuit of nearly three miles. These walls were
-thirty-six feet high and forty feet thick at the base, with a ditch
-outside eighty feet wide. The fortress was constructed in the first
-system of the noted French engineer, Vauban, and required a large
-garrison. A battery of thirty guns was located on Goat Island, at the
-harbor entrance, and at the bottom of the harbor opposite the entrance
-was another, the Royal Battery, also of thirty guns. The land and
-harbor sides of the town were defended by ramparts and bastions on
-which eighty guns were mounted, the land side also having a deep moat
-and projecting bastions, the West Gate on that side being overlooked
-by a battery of sixteen guns. There was a ponderous Citadel, and in
-the centre of the town the stately stone church of St. John de Dieu,
-with attendant nunnery and hospitals. The streets crossed at right
-angles, and five gates in the walls on the harbor side communicated
-with the wharves. Such was the greatest stronghold in North America in
-1745, the famous Louisbourg fortress.
-
-The people of New England, whose commerce was being preyed upon by
-privateers which found refuge in its harbor, and whose frontiers were
-harassed by forays thence directed, we are told by the historian,
-"looked with awe upon the sombre walls of Louisbourg, whose towers
-rose like giants above the northern seas." But the Puritans were not
-wont to lie still under such inflictions, nor to confine their efforts
-to prayers alone. Massachusetts planned an attack, and the command of
-the expedition was given William Pepperell of Kittery, a merchant
-ignorant of the art of war. Then followed one of the most
-extraordinary events in history. A fleet of about a hundred vessels
-carried a force of forty-one hundred undisciplined militia upon a
-Puritan crusade, which was started with religious services, the
-eloquent preacher, George Whitefield, imploring a blessing and giving
-them the motto, _Nil desperandum, Christo duce_. They rendezvoused at
-Canso, meeting there Commodore Warren and the British West Indian
-fleet by arrangement, and landing at Gabarus Bay, west of Louisbourg,
-April 30, 1745. They did not know much about war, but they set fire to
-some storehouses, and the black smoke drove down in such volumes upon
-the Royal Battery at the bottom of the harbor that its scared French
-defenders spiked the guns and fled in the night. The Puritans took
-possession, beat off the French who attacked them, got smiths at work,
-who drilled out the spikes, and soon from this, the key to the
-position, they turned the guns upon the town. Then began a regular
-siege, though most unscientific in manner. They captured a French ship
-with stores and reinforcements, and by June had breached the walls
-twenty-four feet at the King's Bastion, dismounted all the neighboring
-guns, made the Goat Island Battery untenable, and ruined the town by
-showers of bombs and red-hot balls. Upon June 15th the British fleet
-of ten ships was drawn up off the harbor entrance for an attack, and
-the land forces were arrayed to assault the West Gate, when the French
-commander, knowing he could hold out no longer, decided to surrender,
-and on June 17th, the forty-ninth day of the siege, he capitulated.
-
-Thus the grand fortress fell, as the Puritan historian describes it,
-upon the attack of "four thousand undisciplined militia or volunteers,
-officered by men who had, with one or two exceptions, never seen a
-shot fired in anger in all their lives, encamped in an open country
-and sadly deficient in suitable artillery." He continues: "As the
-troops, entering the fortress, beheld the strength of the place, their
-hearts for the first time sank within them. 'God has gone out of his
-way,' said they, 'in a remarkable and most miraculous manner, to
-incline the hearts of the French to give up and deliver this strong
-city into our hands.'" The capture was the marvel of the time, and
-caused the greatest rejoicings throughout the British Empire; while
-Pepperell, who was made a Baronet, attributed his success, not to the
-guns nor the ships, but to the constant prayers of New England, daily
-arising from every village in behalf of the absent army. This victory
-at Louisbourg gave them an experience to which is attributed the
-American success at Bunker Hill thirty years afterwards. Colonel
-Gridley, who planned Pepperell's batteries, is said to have laid out
-the hastily constructed entrenchments on Bunker Hill, and the same old
-drums that beat in the siege of Louisbourg were at Bunker Hill, the
-spirit which this great victory imparted to the Yankee soldiers having
-never deteriorated.
-
-The French were terribly chagrined at the loss of their great
-fortress, and in 1746 they sent out the "French Armada" of seventy
-ships under the Duc d'Anville, instructed to "occupy Louisbourg,
-reduce Nova Scotia, destroy Boston, and ravage the coast of New
-England." But storms wrecked and dispersed the fleet, and the vexed
-and disappointed commander died of apoplexy, his Vice-Admiral killing
-himself. Then a second expedition of forty-four ships was sent under
-La Jonquiere to retake Louisbourg, but the English squadrons attacked
-and destroyed this fleet off Cape Finisterre, Admirals Warren and
-Anson gaining one of the greatest British naval victories of the
-eighteenth century. The fortress which thus could not be retaken by
-arms was, however, to the general astonishment, surrendered back to
-France by diplomacy. The peace of Aix la Chapelle in 1748 ended the
-war by restoring Louisbourg and Cape Breton Island to France, and the
-historian bluntly records that "after four years of warfare in all
-parts of the world, after all the waste of blood and treasure, the war
-ended just where it began." France then rebuilt, improved and
-strengthened the idolized fortress, sending it a powerful garrison.
-
-War was renewed in 1755,--the terrible French and Indian War. Halifax
-was then the base of British-American operations, and fleets soon
-blockaded Louisbourg. The French had twelve warships in the harbor and
-ten thousand men in the garrison, but the British, bewailing the
-shortsightedness that gave it up by treaty, were bound to retake it at
-all hazards. They sent a fleet of one hundred and fifty-six warships
-and transports from Spithead, the most powerful England had down to
-that time assembled, carrying thirteen thousand six hundred men, with
-Admiral Boscawen commanding the navy and General Amherst the army, the
-immortal Wolfe being one of the brigadiers. Rendezvousing at Halifax,
-this great force sailed against Louisbourg May 28, 1758, the troops
-landing at Gabarus Bay, and beginning the attack June 8th, with Wolfe
-leading. The French commander sank five of his warships to blockade
-the harbor entrance. Wolfe closely followed Pepperell's method, got
-batteries in position to bombard the city, and silenced the Goat
-Island Battery by his tremendous cannonade. In time he had destroyed
-the West Gate, the Citadel and barracks, and burnt three of the French
-ships by his red-hot balls. Two more ships ran out of the harbor in a
-fog to escape, and one was captured. Two French frigates alone
-remained, and a daring attack in boats was made on these, and both
-were destroyed. Breaches were rent in the walls, so that the place
-became untenable, and finally, after forty-eight days of terrific
-siege, Louisbourg, on July 26th, again surrendered to the British.
-Then more rejoicings came throughout the Empire, Wolfe was made a
-Major General, and the gain to ocean commerce by the downfall of the
-fortress, which had been a refuge for privateers, was seen in an
-immediate decline in marine insurance rates from thirty to twelve per
-cent. The next year the great British fleet and army sailed away from
-Louisbourg under Wolfe for the capture of Quebec and the final
-conquest of Canada. Then went forth the edict of the conqueror that
-the famous French fortress should be utterly destroyed. It was found
-as a seaport to be inferior to Halifax, where the admirable harbor is
-never closed by ice, and where the forts could make the place
-impregnable. The Louisbourg garrison was withdrawn, and the people
-scattered, many going to Sydney. All the guns, stores and everything
-valuable went to Halifax. In 1760 a corps of sappers and miners
-worked six months, demolishing the fortifications and buildings,
-overthrowing the walls and glacis into the ditches, leaving nothing
-standing but a few small half-ruined private houses, and thus the
-proud Acadian fortress was humbled into heaps of rubbish. The merciful
-hand of time, left to complete the ruin, has during the centuries
-healed most of the ghastly wounds with its generous mantle of
-greensward, and the neighboring ocean sounds along the low shores the
-eternal requiem of proud Louisbourg.
-
-
-THE MAGDALEN ISLANDS.
-
-We have come to the uttermost verge of the Continent in quest of "Down
-East," and find it elusive and still beyond us. There is yet the
-remote island of Newfoundland, and we are pointed thither as still
-"Down East." To the northward, lying in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, are
-the group of Magdalen Islands, where a steamer calls once a week,
-sailing from Pictou, these probably being about as far away as one
-would wish to go in his search. There are thirteen in the group, sixty
-miles off the extremity of Cape Breton Island, the bleak Cape North.
-Acadian fishermen live there, the population being about three
-thousand, and New England fishery fleets visit them for cod, mackerel
-and seals, with lobsters and sea-trout also abundant, so that these
-islands have come to be called in the Provinces the "Kingdom of Fish."
-Amherst Island is the chief, having the village and Custom House, the
-surface of this and other islands rising in high hills seen from afar.
-Coffin Island is the largest of the group, named after Admiral Sir
-Isaac Coffin, the original owner. Coffin was a native of Boston, and
-in colonial times a distinguished British naval officer. When he was a
-Captain he took Governor General Lord Dorchester to Canada in his
-frigate, and designing to enter the St. Lawrence, a furious storm
-arose. With skill he saved his vessel by managing to get under the lee
-of these islands, which broke the force of the gale, and Lord
-Dorchester in gratitude procured the grant of the group for Coffin.
-There are also the Bird Isles, two bare rocks of sandstone, the
-principal one called the Gannet Rock. These are haunted by immense
-numbers of sea-birds, whose eggs the islanders gather. The surf dashes
-violently against the gaunt rocks on all sides, and they have been
-visited by the greatest naturalists of the world, who found them a
-most interesting study. A lighthouse is erected on one of them.
-Charlevoix, in 1720, recorded his visit here, and his wonder how "in
-such a multitude of nests every bird immediately finds her own." It is
-also recorded of this remote region that it, too, is a colonizer, the
-people of the Magdalen Islands having established three small but
-prosperous colonies over on the Labrador shore. Outlying the group to
-the westward, eight miles from Amherst, is the desolate rock,
-resembling a corpse prepared for burial, known as Deadman's Isle. Tom
-Moore sailed past this gruesome place in 1804, and wrote the poem
-making it famous:
-
- "There lieth a wreck on the dismal shore
- Of cold and pitiless Labrador,
- Where, under the moon, upon mounts of frost,
- Full many a mariner's bones are tossed.
-
- "Yon shadowy bark hath been to that wreck,
- And the dim blue fire that lights her deck
- Doth play on as pale and livid a crew
- As ever yet drank the churchyard dew.
-
- "To Deadman's Isle in the eye of the blast,
- To Deadman's Isle she speeds her fast;
- By skeleton shapes her sails are furled,
- And the hand that steers is not of this world."
-
-
-
-
-
-End of the Project Gutenberg EBook of America, Volume 5 (of 6), by Joel Cook
-
-*** END OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK AMERICA, VOLUME 5 (OF 6) ***
-
-***** This file should be named 42842-8.txt or 42842-8.zip *****
-This and all associated files of various formats will be found in:
- http://www.gutenberg.org/4/2/8/4/42842/
-
-Produced by Melissa McDaniel and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at http://www.pgdp.net (This file was
-produced from images generously made available by The
-Internet Archive)
-
-
-Updated editions will replace the previous one--the old editions
-will be renamed.
-
-Creating the works from public domain print editions means that no
-one owns a United States copyright in these works, so the Foundation
-(and you!) can copy and distribute it in the United States without
-permission and without paying copyright royalties. Special rules,
-set forth in the General Terms of Use part of this license, apply to
-copying and distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works to
-protect the PROJECT GUTENBERG-tm concept and trademark. Project
-Gutenberg is a registered trademark, and may not be used if you
-charge for the eBooks, unless you receive specific permission. If you
-do not charge anything for copies of this eBook, complying with the
-rules is very easy. You may use this eBook for nearly any purpose
-such as creation of derivative works, reports, performances and
-research. They may be modified and printed and given away--you may do
-practically ANYTHING with public domain eBooks. Redistribution is
-subject to the trademark license, especially commercial
-redistribution.
-
-
-
-*** START: FULL LICENSE ***
-
-THE FULL PROJECT GUTENBERG LICENSE
-PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU DISTRIBUTE OR USE THIS WORK
-
-To protect the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting the free
-distribution of electronic works, by using or distributing this work
-(or any other work associated in any way with the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg"), you agree to comply with all the terms of the Full Project
-Gutenberg-tm License available with this file or online at
- www.gutenberg.org/license.
-
-
-Section 1. General Terms of Use and Redistributing Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic works
-
-1.A. By reading or using any part of this Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work, you indicate that you have read, understand, agree to
-and accept all the terms of this license and intellectual property
-(trademark/copyright) agreement. If you do not agree to abide by all
-the terms of this agreement, you must cease using and return or destroy
-all copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in your possession.
-If you paid a fee for obtaining a copy of or access to a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work and you do not agree to be bound by the
-terms of this agreement, you may obtain a refund from the person or
-entity to whom you paid the fee as set forth in paragraph 1.E.8.
-
-1.B. "Project Gutenberg" is a registered trademark. It may only be
-used on or associated in any way with an electronic work by people who
-agree to be bound by the terms of this agreement. There are a few
-things that you can do with most Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works
-even without complying with the full terms of this agreement. See
-paragraph 1.C below. There are a lot of things you can do with Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works if you follow the terms of this agreement
-and help preserve free future access to Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works. See paragraph 1.E below.
-
-1.C. The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation ("the Foundation"
-or PGLAF), owns a compilation copyright in the collection of Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works. Nearly all the individual works in the
-collection are in the public domain in the United States. If an
-individual work is in the public domain in the United States and you are
-located in the United States, we do not claim a right to prevent you from
-copying, distributing, performing, displaying or creating derivative
-works based on the work as long as all references to Project Gutenberg
-are removed. Of course, we hope that you will support the Project
-Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting free access to electronic works by
-freely sharing Project Gutenberg-tm works in compliance with the terms of
-this agreement for keeping the Project Gutenberg-tm name associated with
-the work. You can easily comply with the terms of this agreement by
-keeping this work in the same format with its attached full Project
-Gutenberg-tm License when you share it without charge with others.
-
-1.D. The copyright laws of the place where you are located also govern
-what you can do with this work. Copyright laws in most countries are in
-a constant state of change. If you are outside the United States, check
-the laws of your country in addition to the terms of this agreement
-before downloading, copying, displaying, performing, distributing or
-creating derivative works based on this work or any other Project
-Gutenberg-tm work. The Foundation makes no representations concerning
-the copyright status of any work in any country outside the United
-States.
-
-1.E. Unless you have removed all references to Project Gutenberg:
-
-1.E.1. The following sentence, with active links to, or other immediate
-access to, the full Project Gutenberg-tm License must appear prominently
-whenever any copy of a Project Gutenberg-tm work (any work on which the
-phrase "Project Gutenberg" appears, or with which the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg" is associated) is accessed, displayed, performed, viewed,
-copied or distributed:
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
-almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
-re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
-with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org
-
-1.E.2. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is derived
-from the public domain (does not contain a notice indicating that it is
-posted with permission of the copyright holder), the work can be copied
-and distributed to anyone in the United States without paying any fees
-or charges. If you are redistributing or providing access to a work
-with the phrase "Project Gutenberg" associated with or appearing on the
-work, you must comply either with the requirements of paragraphs 1.E.1
-through 1.E.7 or obtain permission for the use of the work and the
-Project Gutenberg-tm trademark as set forth in paragraphs 1.E.8 or
-1.E.9.
-
-1.E.3. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is posted
-with the permission of the copyright holder, your use and distribution
-must comply with both paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 and any additional
-terms imposed by the copyright holder. Additional terms will be linked
-to the Project Gutenberg-tm License for all works posted with the
-permission of the copyright holder found at the beginning of this work.
-
-1.E.4. Do not unlink or detach or remove the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License terms from this work, or any files containing a part of this
-work or any other work associated with Project Gutenberg-tm.
-
-1.E.5. Do not copy, display, perform, distribute or redistribute this
-electronic work, or any part of this electronic work, without
-prominently displaying the sentence set forth in paragraph 1.E.1 with
-active links or immediate access to the full terms of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm License.
-
-1.E.6. You may convert to and distribute this work in any binary,
-compressed, marked up, nonproprietary or proprietary form, including any
-word processing or hypertext form. However, if you provide access to or
-distribute copies of a Project Gutenberg-tm work in a format other than
-"Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other format used in the official version
-posted on the official Project Gutenberg-tm web site (www.gutenberg.org),
-you must, at no additional cost, fee or expense to the user, provide a
-copy, a means of exporting a copy, or a means of obtaining a copy upon
-request, of the work in its original "Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other
-form. Any alternate format must include the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License as specified in paragraph 1.E.1.
-
-1.E.7. Do not charge a fee for access to, viewing, displaying,
-performing, copying or distributing any Project Gutenberg-tm works
-unless you comply with paragraph 1.E.8 or 1.E.9.
-
-1.E.8. You may charge a reasonable fee for copies of or providing
-access to or distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works provided
-that
-
-- You pay a royalty fee of 20% of the gross profits you derive from
- the use of Project Gutenberg-tm works calculated using the method
- you already use to calculate your applicable taxes. The fee is
- owed to the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark, but he
- has agreed to donate royalties under this paragraph to the
- Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation. Royalty payments
- must be paid within 60 days following each date on which you
- prepare (or are legally required to prepare) your periodic tax
- returns. Royalty payments should be clearly marked as such and
- sent to the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation at the
- address specified in Section 4, "Information about donations to
- the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation."
-
-- You provide a full refund of any money paid by a user who notifies
- you in writing (or by e-mail) within 30 days of receipt that s/he
- does not agree to the terms of the full Project Gutenberg-tm
- License. You must require such a user to return or
- destroy all copies of the works possessed in a physical medium
- and discontinue all use of and all access to other copies of
- Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-- You provide, in accordance with paragraph 1.F.3, a full refund of any
- money paid for a work or a replacement copy, if a defect in the
- electronic work is discovered and reported to you within 90 days
- of receipt of the work.
-
-- You comply with all other terms of this agreement for free
- distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-1.E.9. If you wish to charge a fee or distribute a Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work or group of works on different terms than are set
-forth in this agreement, you must obtain permission in writing from
-both the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation and Michael
-Hart, the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark. Contact the
-Foundation as set forth in Section 3 below.
-
-1.F.
-
-1.F.1. Project Gutenberg volunteers and employees expend considerable
-effort to identify, do copyright research on, transcribe and proofread
-public domain works in creating the Project Gutenberg-tm
-collection. Despite these efforts, Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works, and the medium on which they may be stored, may contain
-"Defects," such as, but not limited to, incomplete, inaccurate or
-corrupt data, transcription errors, a copyright or other intellectual
-property infringement, a defective or damaged disk or other medium, a
-computer virus, or computer codes that damage or cannot be read by
-your equipment.
-
-1.F.2. LIMITED WARRANTY, DISCLAIMER OF DAMAGES - Except for the "Right
-of Replacement or Refund" described in paragraph 1.F.3, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation, the owner of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm trademark, and any other party distributing a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work under this agreement, disclaim all
-liability to you for damages, costs and expenses, including legal
-fees. YOU AGREE THAT YOU HAVE NO REMEDIES FOR NEGLIGENCE, STRICT
-LIABILITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR BREACH OF CONTRACT EXCEPT THOSE
-PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH 1.F.3. YOU AGREE THAT THE FOUNDATION, THE
-TRADEMARK OWNER, AND ANY DISTRIBUTOR UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL NOT BE
-LIABLE TO YOU FOR ACTUAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, PUNITIVE OR
-INCIDENTAL DAMAGES EVEN IF YOU GIVE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH
-DAMAGE.
-
-1.F.3. LIMITED RIGHT OF REPLACEMENT OR REFUND - If you discover a
-defect in this electronic work within 90 days of receiving it, you can
-receive a refund of the money (if any) you paid for it by sending a
-written explanation to the person you received the work from. If you
-received the work on a physical medium, you must return the medium with
-your written explanation. The person or entity that provided you with
-the defective work may elect to provide a replacement copy in lieu of a
-refund. If you received the work electronically, the person or entity
-providing it to you may choose to give you a second opportunity to
-receive the work electronically in lieu of a refund. If the second copy
-is also defective, you may demand a refund in writing without further
-opportunities to fix the problem.
-
-1.F.4. Except for the limited right of replacement or refund set forth
-in paragraph 1.F.3, this work is provided to you 'AS-IS', WITH NO OTHER
-WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO
-WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE.
-
-1.F.5. Some states do not allow disclaimers of certain implied
-warranties or the exclusion or limitation of certain types of damages.
-If any disclaimer or limitation set forth in this agreement violates the
-law of the state applicable to this agreement, the agreement shall be
-interpreted to make the maximum disclaimer or limitation permitted by
-the applicable state law. The invalidity or unenforceability of any
-provision of this agreement shall not void the remaining provisions.
-
-1.F.6. INDEMNITY - You agree to indemnify and hold the Foundation, the
-trademark owner, any agent or employee of the Foundation, anyone
-providing copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in accordance
-with this agreement, and any volunteers associated with the production,
-promotion and distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works,
-harmless from all liability, costs and expenses, including legal fees,
-that arise directly or indirectly from any of the following which you do
-or cause to occur: (a) distribution of this or any Project Gutenberg-tm
-work, (b) alteration, modification, or additions or deletions to any
-Project Gutenberg-tm work, and (c) any Defect you cause.
-
-
-Section 2. Information about the Mission of Project Gutenberg-tm
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm is synonymous with the free distribution of
-electronic works in formats readable by the widest variety of computers
-including obsolete, old, middle-aged and new computers. It exists
-because of the efforts of hundreds of volunteers and donations from
-people in all walks of life.
-
-Volunteers and financial support to provide volunteers with the
-assistance they need are critical to reaching Project Gutenberg-tm's
-goals and ensuring that the Project Gutenberg-tm collection will
-remain freely available for generations to come. In 2001, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation was created to provide a secure
-and permanent future for Project Gutenberg-tm and future generations.
-To learn more about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation
-and how your efforts and donations can help, see Sections 3 and 4
-and the Foundation information page at www.gutenberg.org
-
-
-Section 3. Information about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive
-Foundation
-
-The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation is a non profit
-501(c)(3) educational corporation organized under the laws of the
-state of Mississippi and granted tax exempt status by the Internal
-Revenue Service. The Foundation's EIN or federal tax identification
-number is 64-6221541. Contributions to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation are tax deductible to the full extent
-permitted by U.S. federal laws and your state's laws.
-
-The Foundation's principal office is located at 4557 Melan Dr. S.
-Fairbanks, AK, 99712., but its volunteers and employees are scattered
-throughout numerous locations. Its business office is located at 809
-North 1500 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, (801) 596-1887. Email
-contact links and up to date contact information can be found at the
-Foundation's web site and official page at www.gutenberg.org/contact
-
-For additional contact information:
- Dr. Gregory B. Newby
- Chief Executive and Director
- gbnewby@pglaf.org
-
-Section 4. Information about Donations to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm depends upon and cannot survive without wide
-spread public support and donations to carry out its mission of
-increasing the number of public domain and licensed works that can be
-freely distributed in machine readable form accessible by the widest
-array of equipment including outdated equipment. Many small donations
-($1 to $5,000) are particularly important to maintaining tax exempt
-status with the IRS.
-
-The Foundation is committed to complying with the laws regulating
-charities and charitable donations in all 50 states of the United
-States. Compliance requirements are not uniform and it takes a
-considerable effort, much paperwork and many fees to meet and keep up
-with these requirements. We do not solicit donations in locations
-where we have not received written confirmation of compliance. To
-SEND DONATIONS or determine the status of compliance for any
-particular state visit www.gutenberg.org/donate
-
-While we cannot and do not solicit contributions from states where we
-have not met the solicitation requirements, we know of no prohibition
-against accepting unsolicited donations from donors in such states who
-approach us with offers to donate.
-
-International donations are gratefully accepted, but we cannot make
-any statements concerning tax treatment of donations received from
-outside the United States. U.S. laws alone swamp our small staff.
-
-Please check the Project Gutenberg Web pages for current donation
-methods and addresses. Donations are accepted in a number of other
-ways including checks, online payments and credit card donations.
-To donate, please visit: www.gutenberg.org/donate
-
-
-Section 5. General Information About Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works.
-
-Professor Michael S. Hart was the originator of the Project Gutenberg-tm
-concept of a library of electronic works that could be freely shared
-with anyone. For forty years, he produced and distributed Project
-Gutenberg-tm eBooks with only a loose network of volunteer support.
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks are often created from several printed
-editions, all of which are confirmed as Public Domain in the U.S.
-unless a copyright notice is included. Thus, we do not necessarily
-keep eBooks in compliance with any particular paper edition.
-
-Most people start at our Web site which has the main PG search facility:
-
- www.gutenberg.org
-
-This Web site includes information about Project Gutenberg-tm,
-including how to make donations to the Project Gutenberg Literary
-Archive Foundation, how to help produce our new eBooks, and how to
-subscribe to our email newsletter to hear about new eBooks.
-