summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/41776-8.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
Diffstat (limited to '41776-8.txt')
-rw-r--r--41776-8.txt5929
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 5929 deletions
diff --git a/41776-8.txt b/41776-8.txt
deleted file mode 100644
index c52e838..0000000
--- a/41776-8.txt
+++ /dev/null
@@ -1,5929 +0,0 @@
-The Project Gutenberg EBook of America, Volume III (of 6), by Joel Cook
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
-almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
-re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
-with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org/license
-
-
-Title: America, Volume III (of 6)
-
-Author: Joel Cook
-
-Release Date: January 4, 2013 [EBook #41776]
-
-Language: English
-
-Character set encoding: ISO-8859-1
-
-*** START OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK AMERICA, VOLUME III (OF 6) ***
-
-
-
-
-Produced by Melissa McDaniel and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at http://www.pgdp.net (This file was
-produced from images generously made available by The
-Internet Archive)
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-Transcriber's Note:
-
- Inconsistent hyphenation and spelling in the original document have
- been preserved. Obvious typographical errors have been corrected.
-
- Italic text is denoted by _underscores_.
-
- The Table of Contents for this book refers to it as Volume II. The
- Title Page and List of Illustrations refer to it as Volume III.
-
- The Table of Contents for this volume refers to chapters
- ultimately published in a subsequent volume. Those chapter
- listings are retained, but the page number links are not active.
-
-
-
-AMERICA
-
-
-
-
- [Illustration: _A Cowboy_]
-
-
-
-
- _EDITION ARTISTIQUE_
-
- The World's Famous
- Places and Peoples
-
- AMERICA
-
- BY
- JOEL COOK
-
- In Six Volumes
- Volume III.
-
- MERRILL AND BAKER
- New York London
-
-
-
-
-THIS EDITION ARTISTIQUE OF THE WORLD'S FAMOUS PLACES AND PEOPLES IS
-LIMITED TO ONE THOUSAND NUMBERED AND REGISTERED COPIES, OF WHICH THIS
-COPY IS NO. 205
-
-Copyright, Henry T. Coates & Co., 1900
-
-
-
-
-CONTENTS
-VOLUME II
-
-
- PAGE
-
- VIII. AROUND THE HARBOR OF NEW YORK, 3
-
- IX. THE ENVIRONMENT OF LONG ISLAND SOUND, 89
-
- X. ASCENDING THE HUDSON RIVER, 129
-
- XI. A GLIMPSE OF THE BERKSHIRE HILLS, 241
-
- XII. THE ADIRONDACKS AND THEIR ATTENDANT LAKES, 271
-
- XIII. CROSSING THE EMPIRE STATE, 329
-
- XIV. DESCENDING THE RIVER ST. LAWRENCE, 399
-
-
-
-
-LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS
-VOLUME III
-
-
- PAGE
-
- GRANT'S TOMB, NEW YORK 58
-
- WILLIAM CULLEN BRYANT AT "CEDARHURST," ROSLYN 94
-
- PALISADES OF THE HUDSON 132
-
- UP THE HUDSON FROM THE WATER BATTERY, WEST POINT 162
-
- STATE CAPITOL, ALBANY, N. Y. 204
-
-
-
-
-AROUND THE HARBOR OF NEW YORK.
-
-
-
-
-AMERICA,
-PICTURESQUE AND DESCRIPTIVE.
-
-
-
-
-VIII.
-
-AROUND THE HARBOR OF NEW YORK.
-
-
- Hendrick Hudson -- The Ship "Half Moon" -- Manhattan Island --
- New Amsterdam -- Hudson River -- Fire Island -- Navesink
- Highlands -- Sandy Hook -- Liberty Statue -- Governor's Island
- -- Jersey City -- Hoboken -- Weehawken -- The Kills -- Perth
- Amboy -- Staten Island -- New Dorp -- Commodore Vanderbilt --
- Hackensack River -- Passaic River -- Paterson -- Newark --
- Elizabeth -- Rahway -- Raritan River -- New Brunswick -- Battle
- of Monmouth -- Molly Pitcher -- Greater New York -- Battery
- Park -- Bowling Green -- Broadway -- Trinity Church -- Famous
- and Sky-Scraping Buildings -- Wall Street -- National City Bank
- -- St. Paul's Church -- City Hall Park -- Chemical Bank -- Dry
- Goods District -- Cooper Institute -- Peter Stuyvesant -- Union
- Square -- Tammany Hall -- Madison Square -- Fifth Avenue --
- Washington Square -- Little Church Around the Corner -- Murray
- Hill -- John Jacob Astor -- Alexander T. Stewart -- Fifth
- Avenue Architecture -- The Vanderbilts -- New York Public
- Library -- Famous Churches -- Jay Gould -- Metropolitan Museum
- -- Central Park -- Museum of Natural History -- Morningside
- Park -- Riverside Park -- Spuyten Duyvel Creek -- Battle of
- Harlem Heights -- Fort Washington -- Morrisania -- Croton
- Aqueducts -- High Bridge -- The Bronx -- Van Cortlandt Park --
- Bronx Park -- Pelham Bay Park -- Hunter's Island -- East River
- and its Islands -- Hell Gate -- Brooklyn Bridge -- City of
- Churches -- Brooklyn Development -- Fulton Street -- Brooklyn
- Heights -- Plymouth Church -- The Beecher Family -- Church of
- the Pilgrims -- Pratt Institute -- Greenwood Cemetery -- Its
- Famous Tombs -- Ocean Parkway -- Prospect Park -- Coney Island
- -- Its Constant Festival -- Brighton and Manhattan Beaches --
- View from the Observatory.
-
-
-HENDRICK HUDSON.
-
-The redoubtable navigator for the Dutch East India Company, Hendrick
-Hudson, after exploring Delaware Bay, sailed along the New Jersey
-coast and entered Sandy Hook, discovering, on September 11, 1609, the
-Hudson River. There is a vague tradition that the first European who
-saw the magnificent harbor of New York was the Florentine, Verrazani,
-who came as early as 1524. Hudson was searching for the "Northwest
-Passage," and when he steered his little ship, the "Half Moon," into
-the great river, with its swelling tide of salt water, was sure he had
-found the long-sought route to the Indies. He explored it as far up as
-the present site of Albany, creating a sensation among the Indians,
-who flocked to the shores to see the "great white bird," as they
-called the "Half Moon," because of its wide-spreading sails. He traded
-with them for tobacco and furs, finding the Lenni Lenapes on the
-western bank and the Mohicans on the eastern side, and to impress them
-with his prowess, put them in a great fright by shooting off his
-cannon. Upon returning from Albany, the Indians gave him a feast on an
-island, breaking their arrows in token that they meant no treachery.
-Hudson had a goodly store of seductive "schnapps," and offered them
-some in return for their hospitality. They examined it closely, smelt
-it, but passed it along without tasting. Finally one, somewhat bolder,
-partook, and drinking a good deal, fell in a drunken stupor for
-several hours. When finally aroused he said the Dutchmen had the
-strongest water he had ever tasted, and the other Indians then became
-eager to try the fire-water too, and soon they were all under its
-influence, and thus became firm friends of the Dutch.
-
-The scene of this great carousal is said to have been the island where
-is now the city of New York. The Indian word Man-a-tey means "the
-island," and from this they named the place Man-a-hat-ta-nink, the
-"island of general intoxication." Ticknor, in his guide-book, gravely
-tells us that "from the scene of wassail and merriment which followed
-the meeting of the sailors and the Indians, the latter called the
-island Manhattan, "the place where they all got drunk." Thus, at the
-beginning, this noted locality acquired a reputation which many attest
-as existing with undiminished lustre in maturer years. By way of
-variety in this connection, it may be related that Washington Irving,
-in Knickerbocker's veritable history of New York, has this to say:
-"The name most current at the present day, and which is likewise
-countenanced by the great historian Vander-Donck, is Manhattan, which
-is said to have originated in a custom among the squaws, in the early
-settlement, of wearing men's hats, as is still done among many tribes.
-'Hence,' as we are told by an old Governor, who was somewhat of a wag,
-and flourished almost a century since, and had paid a visit to the
-wits of Philadelphia, 'hence arose the appellation of man-hat-on,
-first given to the Indians, and afterwards to the island'--a stupid
-joke, but well enough for a Governor." Irving continues: "There is
-another, founded on still more ancient and indisputable authority,
-which I particularly delight in, seeing it is at once poetical,
-melodious and significant, and this is recorded in the before-mentioned
-voyage of the great Hudson, written by Master Juet, who clearly and
-correctly calls it Manna-hatta, that is to say, the island of Manna,
-or, in other words, 'a land flowing with milk and honey.'"
-
-
-NEW AMSTERDAM AND ITS HARBOR.
-
-About five years elapsed after Hudson's discovery before a colony was
-firmly fixed on Manhattan Island, which, when fairly started in 1614,
-was a little palisade fort and four small log houses. The Dutch called
-their possessions the Niew Netherlands, named the colony Nieu
-Amsterdam, and the land across the East River was known as Nassau, the
-earliest name of Long Island. Hudson was so impressed with the
-Highlands and the Catskills, which he passed in exploring the river,
-that he named it the "River of the Mountains," but this was changed
-by the Dutch to Mauritius, in honor of Prince Maurice of Nassau. The
-Indians along the banks called the river Shatemuc and Cahohatatea. The
-English, shortly after the discovery, began calling it the Hudson
-River, but later, it was generally styled the North River to
-distinguish it from the Delaware or South River; and North River is
-the name now generally used in New York. The Manhattan colony was of
-slow growth, and the first Dutch Governor sent out was a Westphalian,
-Peter Minuit, a thrifty old fellow, who, by again making good use of
-"schnapps," bought the whole of Manhattan Island in 1626 from the
-Indians for beads and trinkets valued at sixty guilders, about $25.
-There were a thousand people there in 1644, making the original Dutch
-aristocracy of the "Knickerbockers," this name being adapted later
-from Irving, and they impressed their peculiarities upon the early
-city; but their descendants have largely given place to a newer
-aristocracy of wealth and an army of immigrants from all races. The
-last Dutch Governor, Peter Stuyvesant, arrived in 1647, and for
-protection the colonists had then built a fence across the island
-along what is now the line of Wall Street. An Indian scare a few years
-later caused this to be replaced with a wall of cedar palisades, and
-it ultimately developed into the city wall. Thus enclosed, the Mayor
-of New Amsterdam was required to walk around the walls every morning
-at sunrise, unlock the gates and give the keys to the commander of
-the fort down at the Battery. When the Duke of York's English
-expedition came over in 1664 and overturned the government of old
-Stuyvesant, surnamed "Peter the Headstrong," and his Knickerbockers,
-at the same time changing the city's name to New York, it had three
-hundred and eighty-four houses, and in 1700 the population had
-increased to about six thousand. The first English Governor was Sir
-Edmund Andros.
-
-The remote sources of the Hudson River are in Hamilton and Essex
-Counties, in the Adirondacks, in northeastern New York State, the
-highest at four thousand feet elevation above the sea, the head
-streams being outlets for a large number of highland lakes. The river
-flows over three hundred miles to the sea, and has few tributaries,
-the largest being the Hoosac and the Mohawk. Its lower course is a
-long tidal estuary, the tidal head being at Troy, from whence the fall
-in level to the ocean is only about five feet. The estuary below
-Manhattan Island expands into the noble New York harbor, enclosed
-between Long Island on the east and Staten Island on the west, the
-latter being the Indian Aquehonga, meaning the "high sandy banks." The
-harbor entrance from the sea, at Sandy Hook, is eighteen miles below
-the city. Inside Sandy Hook is the lower bay, of triangular form,
-extending nine to twelve miles on each side, the Narrows, a deep
-channel about a mile wide at the northeastern angle, opening into the
-upper bay, which is an irregular oval, about eight by five miles. This
-extends northward into the Hudson River, westward into Newark Bay, and
-has the tidal strait of East River leading north to Long Island Sound,
-on the eastern side of Manhattan. Within the bays and rivers around
-New York there are over a hundred miles of available anchorage ground,
-and the Government is now making a channel to the sea through Sandy
-Hook bar, forty feet deep at low water.
-
-
-ENTERING NEW YORK HARBOR.
-
-The approach from the sea to Sandy Hook is first guided for the modern
-navigator by the flashing white light on Fire Island, a low sand-strip
-on the Long Island Coast; and then there rise in front the Highlands
-of the Navesink, on the Jersey Coast south of Sandy Hook, with a pair
-of twin lighthouses perched upon their green slopes. The Hook, a long
-strip of yellow sand enclosing the harbor, also has another lighthouse
-on its northern end. Here are the expanding works of a formidable fort
-defending the harbor entrance, and an artillery trial and proving
-ground. Behind the Navesink Highlands and the Hook, the Jersey shore
-of the lower bay stretches far back westward into Raritan Bay, thrust
-up into the land between New Jersey and Staten Island. The green hills
-of this island, crowned with villas, make the northwestern boundary
-of the bay. To the right hand of the Hook, and north of the entrance,
-is the sand strip of Coney Island, with its stretch of hotels and
-buildings, the popular seashore resort of New York. Within the Hook is
-the lower Quarantine on the west bank of Romer Shoal, and over
-opposite is Gravesend Bay, behind Coney Island. The Narrows, where the
-Hudson has forced an outlet through a broken-down mountain range, is
-partly obstructed by an island reef of rocks. The hill-slopes,
-together with the island, are fortified, Forts Hamilton and Tompkins
-being on either hand, named after Alexander Hamilton and Daniel D.
-Tompkins, the latter having been a Governor of New York and
-Vice-President of the United States. On the island is the little red
-sandstone Fort Lafayette, where many famous political prisoners were
-confined during the Civil War. Within the Narrows the upper bay
-spreads out, the high Staten Island hills, covered with noble
-mansions, rising on the left hand, while on the right are the hamlets
-on the lower shores of Long Island, with the distant tombs of
-Greenwood Cemetery behind. The villages of Clifton and Stapleton and
-the Quarantine Station are on Staten Island, Stapleton being the
-yachting headquarters. Bedloe's and Ellis's Islands are passed, the
-latter being the landing-place of arriving emigrants, while on the
-former, now called Liberty Island, is the colossal Liberty Statue
-presented to the United States by France in commemoration of the
-Centenary of the Declaration of Independence in 1876. This statue,
-designed by Bartholdi and erected ten years later, is a female figure
-holding aloft a torch--"Liberty enlightening the world." It is made of
-copper and iron, and weighs two hundred and twenty-five tons. The
-statue is one hundred and fifty-one feet high, and stands on a granite
-pedestal one hundred and fifty-five feet high.
-
-Over on the western side, behind these small islands, the Jersey shore
-recedes, and the strait making the boundary of Staten Island, which
-the Dutch named the Kill von Kull, stretches around behind that island
-to Arthur Kill and sundry railway coal-shipping ports on its banks,
-where the great coal roads come out from the Pennsylvania mines. Just
-in the entrance to East River is Governor's Island, with an
-old-fashioned circular stone fort, called Castle William, and the more
-modern defensive work, Fort Columbus. On Governor's Island is the
-United States Army headquarters. This old Castle William, with another
-very similar circular fort, then called Castle Clinton, on the Battery
-at the lower end of Manhattan Island, were the defensive works of New
-York in the eighteenth century. Castle Clinton is now an aquarium. Red
-Hook, the jutting point of Brooklyn, is opposite Governor's Island,
-and above it the East River opens, the strait flowing between New York
-and Brooklyn, and connecting the harbor with Long Island Sound,
-twenty miles distant, beyond the famous "Hell Gate," once the terror
-of the mariner, but since improved by costly rock excavations which
-have made a deep and safe channel. Through the East River and Hell
-Gate flows the greater part of the Hudson River tidal current. Both
-the East and North Rivers are lined on either side for miles by piers
-crowded with shipping, and the tall towers and ponderous cables of the
-Brooklyn Bridge rise high above the East River, while behind the
-foliage-covered Battery Park stretches the metropolis, with its many
-huge buildings.
-
-
-JERSEY CITY AND STATEN ISLAND.
-
-Communipaw, the lower end of Jersey City, is opposite the Battery, and
-above it the Jersey City front on the Hudson River is occupied for
-miles by railway terminals, making a succession of piers, ferry-houses
-and grain elevators. Originally Jersey City was the sandy peninsula of
-Paulus Hook, a tongue of flat farming land stretching down between the
-Hudson River and Newark Bay. The termination of this peninsula is
-Communipaw, long a sleepy village, originally granted to a Dutch West
-India Company Director--Michael Pauw. He was proud of this domain, of
-which he was the patroon, so he called it Pavonia or Communipauw, the
-"Commune of Pauw." His Dutch garrison massacred the Indians in the
-neighborhood, and soon afterwards, in retaliation, they exterminated
-all the Dutch but one family. At Jersey City there come out to the
-Hudson River all the great Trunk Line railways from the West, with the
-single exception of the New York Central Railroad. In the Revolution,
-the site of the present Pennsylvania Railroad Terminal Station was a
-British fortification, which was partly stormed and captured, with a
-number of prisoners, in 1779, by Major Henry Lee. Jersey City is
-entirely a growth of the nineteenth century, at the beginning of which
-it had a population of only thirteen persons, living in a single
-house. It now has two hundred and fifty thousand, and is replete with
-important manufacturing establishments, its expansion having come from
-the overflow of New York and the wonderful development of its railway
-system. While spreading over much surface, yet it presents little
-attraction beyond the enormous railway terminals and factories. The
-traveller rarely stops there, but rushes through to get into or out of
-New York. To the northward is Hoboken, with sixty thousand people,
-including many Germans, and it has large silk factories. Here, in
-strange contrast with the commercial aspect of everything around, the
-river front rises in a bluff shore, crowned by a grove of trees and
-running up into a low mound, whereon is the "Stevens Castle." This was
-the home of Edwin A. Stevens one of the projectors of the Camden and
-Amboy Railroad. He endowed the Stevens Institute of Technology at
-Hoboken, and spent his declining years and much of his railway
-fortune in building the "Stevens Battery," a noted warship, for New
-York harbor defense, which he bequeathed his native State of New
-Jersey, and that Commonwealth shortly afterwards sold it to be broken
-up for old iron. Beyond is the village of Weehawken, with the Elysian
-Fields, where Aaron Burr killed Alexander Hamilton in the duel of
-1804, then a pleasant rural resort, but now largely absorbed by
-railway terminals. This duel arose from political quarrels, and at the
-first fire Hamilton received a wound from which he died the next day.
-Behind Jersey City rises the long rocky ridge of Bergen Hill, through
-which all but one of the railways cut their routes by tunnels or deep
-fissures, and its outcroppings above Weehawken come forward to the
-Hudson River bank in the grand escarpment of the Palisades. These
-remarkable columnar formations of trap rock extend for twenty miles
-along the western shore of the river, and in part appear to be built
-up of basalt. To connect the various railways terminating at Jersey
-City with New York, a tunnel is being constructed under the Hudson
-River; and two others, and also a gigantic bridge, are projected.
-
-I have already referred to Staten Island, which is the western border
-of New York harbor, where its pleasant hill-slopes add so much to the
-scenic beauty. The narrow "Kills," stretching for nearly twenty miles
-down to Perth Amboy, make its western boundary, separating the
-island, which is the Borough of Richmond in Greater New York, from New
-Jersey, to which by right it is said to belong. It covers about sixty
-square miles, with its diversified hill-slopes rising in some places
-to an elevation of over four hundred feet, and has probably seventy
-thousand population. It is shaped something like a leaf, hung, as it
-were, upon the long projecting peninsula between Newark Bay and New
-York harbor, the Kill von Kull stretching westward to divide it from
-this peninsula, which at that part is the town and port of Bayonne,
-running off into Bergen Point at the lower end of Bergen Hill. It was
-from Bergen Point that General Washington in 1787 was rowed in a barge
-to New York, to be inaugurated the first President of the United
-States. From Elizabethport, on the western side of Newark Bay, the
-Arthur Kill stretches, a narrow strait, far southward, broadening
-somewhat into Staten Island Sound, and debouching at Perth Amboy into
-the western end of Raritan Bay. Perth Amboy was the terminus of the
-original line of the Camden and Amboy Railroad. It was the capital of
-the Colonial Province of New Jersey two centuries ago, and its
-eligible position at the confluence of Staten Island Sound and the
-Raritan River and Bay, the point of union of the various interior
-water ways, made it at that early period very ambitious. In fact,
-"Perthtown, or Ompoge on Ambo" (the Indian name for the point, which
-meant "round and hollow"), then rivalled New York in commercial
-importance. Its name came from the Earl of Perth, one of the grantees
-of lands in East Jersey. Early travellers flocked thither, praising
-its merits; and even William Penn was persuaded to go over and look at
-it, oracularly declaring, "I have never seen such before in my life,"
-whatever that might have meant. But New York, with its great harbor,
-ultimately overshadowed Amboy, and it has since dropped out, even as a
-way-station on the route between the two leading cities. It has about
-fifteen thousand inhabitants, and its trade chiefly consists in
-shipping coal and fire-clay, brought out by the railroads.
-
-The loyal Jerseyman will never forgive New York for having captured
-Staten Island. After the English came to New York in 1664, under the
-grant of King Charles II. to the Duke of York of all the country from
-Canada down to Virginia, the Duke granted to Berkeley and Carteret the
-portion lying between the Hudson and Delaware Rivers. This grant
-grieved the New Yorkers, for they said it gave away the best lands
-around their harbor, so they tried to get it all back, and managed to
-capture Staten Island. Some sharp fellow invented the fiction, on
-which they resolutely insisted, that the Arthur Kill was really the
-Hudson River; and, taking possession, they never gave it up. A legal
-contest was fought for over one hundred and fifty years, and it was
-not until 1833 that a treaty between the two States declared the
-Kills to be their boundary. Staten Island is about sixteen miles long,
-and from its eastern slopes has a noble outlook over the Lower New
-York Bay towards the ocean. Fine beaches line these coasts, which rise
-sharply into hills inland, and most of the eligible sites are crowned
-with villas. It was at Stapleton, on Staten Island, that Commodore
-Cornelius Vanderbilt, the head of the great family, was born in 1794,
-and he laid the foundation of his great fortune, at the age of sixteen
-years, by sailing a ferryboat to New York, six miles away. Upon a
-plateau in the centre of the island is the village of New Dorp, the
-original settlement of the Vanderbilts, a farm of about four hundred
-acres. Here the Commodore came in his youth, and here his son, William
-H. Vanderbilt, was born and lived for many years, an agricultural
-laborer for his father. Here also is a little Moravian church they
-attended, and upon a terraced hill behind it, the highest part of the
-island, is the spacious gray granite mausoleum, within which rest the
-two great millionaires, father and son, with some of their children.
-In the old churchyard are the graves of many other Vanderbilts and
-their collaterals. At Port Richmond, over on the Kill, the most
-considerable town on the island, and formerly the county-seat, is the
-house, now a hotel, in which Aaron Burr died in 1836.
-
-
-SOME NEW JERSEY TOWNS.
-
-Westward from Bergen Hill and the Palisades are the meadows which
-stretch down to Newark Bay, and meandering through them to form it are
-the Hackensack and Passaic Rivers. The name of Hackensack means, in
-the original Indian dialect, the "lowlands," and it was given by them
-also to the channel around Bergen Point, by which the waters of Newark
-Bay reach New York harbor. This river drains the western slopes of the
-Palisades. Passaic means "the valley," and the name seems to have
-referred to the country through which that stream flows. The Passaic
-River, which is ninety miles long, comes from the mountains of
-Northern New Jersey and flows a tortuous course to Paterson, fifteen
-miles northwest of Jersey City, where there is an admirable water
-power which has created a manufacturing town of over one hundred
-thousand people, having extensive silk and cotton mills and locomotive
-factories. The river describes a curve, forming the boundary of the
-city for more than nine miles, on all sides excepting the south, and
-its rapids and falls descend seventy-two feet, the falls being a most
-picturesque cataract with fifty feet perpendicular descent. The town
-was named after Governor William Paterson of New Jersey, who signed
-its incorporation act July 4, 1792, the manufacturing corporation
-projecting it having been formed under the auspices of Alexander
-Hamilton.
-
-The Passaic flows onward past Newark nine miles west of Jersey City,
-another extensive and prosperous manufacturing city of two hundred and
-fifty thousand inhabitants, turning out goods of all kinds with an
-annual value of over $100,000,000. This city spreads far across the
-flat surface above Newark Bay and adjoining the Passaic, and to the
-northward its suburbs run up into the attractive hills of Orange.
-Market Street is a fine highway through the business section, while a
-large area is covered by comfortable and handsome residences, among
-which passes Broad Street, its finest avenue, one hundred and
-thirty-two feet wide, shaded by majestic trees, bordered with many
-ornamental buildings, and skirting three attractive parks embowered
-with elms. Newark is a great iron and steel centre, makes fine
-jewelry, good carriages and excellent leather, and also brews much
-lager beer. Yet few would suppose it had a strictly Puritan origin. In
-1666, hearing the praises of East Jersey, a body of discontented men
-of Connecticut, headed by their pastor, Abraham Pierson, journeyed to
-the Passaic meadows and bought these lands from the Hackensack Indians
-"for one hundred and thirty pounds, twelve blankets and twelve guns."
-In early life the pastor had preached at Newark in England, for which
-he had quite an affection, and he gave the Jersey settlement its name.
-When Philadelphia was founded, the fame of Newark spread down there as
-a producer of excellent cider and seductive Jersey apple jack. Its
-most famous son of modern times was General Phil Kearney.
-
-Five miles beyond Newark the diminutive Elizabeth River flows down to
-the Kills, and here is the city of Elizabeth, with fifty thousand
-people, noted as one of the handsomest of the Jersey towns. Like
-Newark and Paterson, it is really an outlying suburb of New York,
-providing homes for much of the overflow of population, who rush into
-the metropolis for business every morning, and back again every
-evening. Under the name of Elizabethport it spreads down to the Arthur
-Kill, and over there are most of its factories and extensive
-coal-shipping piers. The original settlement dates from 1665, when it
-was named in honor of Lady Elizabeth, wife of Sir George Carteret, one
-of the grantees of East Jersey. The early inhabitants were largely
-Puritans, and its chief establishment is the extensive works of the
-Singer Sewing Machine Company. Here was founded the College of New
-Jersey, afterwards removed to Princeton, and a tablet marking the
-original site was unveiled in 1897. A few miles beyond, another little
-river flows down to the Kills, first named after old Rahwack, the
-Indian sachem whose tribe owned the land thereabouts, and here is
-another thriving town, Rahway, which is noted for its carriages. At
-Menlo Park, nearby, the electrical inventor, Thomas A. Edison,
-sustained by New York capital, toiled for years in seclusion to
-perfect his discoveries, and developed the germ that has grown to
-such vast proportions. The "Wizard of Menlo Park" afterwards located
-his chief laboratory and his home at Newark. Then, crossing what are
-known as the "Short Hills" westward, past many villages, among them
-Metuchen, once the domain of Metuching, the Indian "King of the
-Rolling Land," we come to the Raritan River, thirty-one miles from
-Jersey City.
-
-Here debouches the Delaware and Raritan Canal at New Brunswick, a city
-of twenty-five thousand people. The Raritan flows through the red
-shales and sandstones of Central New Jersey, generally a
-chocolate-colored stream, and goes off to form Raritan Bay, fifteen
-miles below. Factories cluster on the New Brunswick lowlands along the
-river and canal, but there is a handsome town built upon the higher
-grounds, encircling the lower and older portions like a crescent. The
-Dutch came here from the Hudson River early in the eighteenth century
-and found a village which had been started by some fishermen from Long
-Island. They organized the town, naming it in honor of the Ducal House
-of Brunswick. Its most prominent feature is Rutgers College, housed in
-red sandstone buildings upon attractive grounds, alongside the
-railway, a venerated foundation of the Dutch Reformed Church,
-originally chartered by King George III. as "Queen's College," but
-afterwards receiving the name of Rutgers from a benefactor in 1826. It
-has an important adjunct in the New Jersey Agricultural College.
-There is also the Dutch Reformed Theological Seminary, the first
-established in America, and dating from 1771, its main building, also
-named from its chief benefactor, being Hertzog Hall. An early
-traveller, visiting New Brunswick in 1748, described it as "a pretty
-little town with four churches;" and these quaint buildings are still
-there, the ancient Christ Church being surrounded with the graves of
-the first settlers. Eighteen miles to the southeast the Revolutionary
-battle of Monmouth was fought in June, 1778, and a monument
-commemorates it at Freehold (Monmouth Court-house). Sir Henry Clinton,
-having evacuated Philadelphia, was marching towards New Brunswick,
-intending to embark on the Raritan for New York. Washington, coming
-from Valley Forge in pursuit, gave him battle. The day was very hot,
-and the result was an uncertainty, General Charles Lee's misconduct,
-for which Washington reprimanded him on the field, preventing a
-victory, and at night the British withdrew quietly. Lee was afterwards
-court-martialed and suspended from command for a year. Monmouth was
-the scene of "Molly Pitcher's" famous exploit. She was Mary Hays of
-Carlisle, Pennsylvania, wife of John Hays, a soldier in the First
-Pennsylvania Artillery. Molly was with the army, and engaged in
-bringing water to the battery, which was behind a hedgerow, her
-husband managing one of the cannon. The British made a charge, and a
-shot killing him, the officers, having no one to manage the gun,
-ordered it withdrawn. Molly saw her husband fall and heard the order;
-dropping her bucket, she seized the rammer and served the gun with
-skill and dexterity. Next morning General Greene presented her to
-General Washington, who conferred upon her the office of Sergeant. She
-afterwards lived at Carlisle Barracks, and died there in 1823.
-
-
-GREATER NEW YORK.
-
-The Dutch city of New Amsterdam, which became New York by the English
-conquest in 1664, was of slow growth. It had hardly more than twenty
-thousand inhabitants at the time of the Revolution, being less than
-either Boston or Philadelphia, and a map made in 1767 shows that the
-town scarcely extended beyond Wall Street. At the beginning of the
-nineteenth century there were sixty thousand people, and its rapid
-growth began through large immigration after the War of 1812, and was
-stimulated by the completion of the Erie Canal in 1825, which gave it
-greatly increased foreign trade. By the new Charter of "Greater New
-York" coming into operation in 1897, the city was made, next to
-London, the largest in the world, being expanded beyond Manhattan
-Island, so as to include all the outlying cities. It now consists of
-five boroughs, Manhattan, the Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens and Richmond,
-having an area of three hundred and twenty square miles, and a
-population exceeding three and one-half millions. If Jersey City and
-the other New Jersey settlements on the west side of the Hudson were
-added, the population would be four millions. This great city is about
-thirty-five miles long from north to south, and nineteen miles wide.
-The long and narrow island of Manhattan stretches thirteen miles,
-while it is not much over two miles broad in the widest part, and
-sometimes narrows to a few hundred yards, particularly in the northern
-portion. The Harlem River and the winding strait of Spuyten Duyvel
-separate northern Manhattan from the mainland. The island is very
-rocky, excepting the southern part, which is alluvial, and at the
-upper end the cliffs rise precipitously from the Hudson over two
-hundred and thirty feet into Washington Heights, and the surface
-descends sharply on the eastern side to the Harlem flats. It does not
-take the visitor long to recognize, however, that the capacious
-harbor, the converging rivers and numerous adjacent arms of the sea
-combine all the requisites of a great port, and they could not have
-been better planned if human hands had fashioned them. There is a vast
-wharf-frontage, for over fifty miles of shore-line are available for
-shipping, thus accommodating an almost limitless commerce. This has
-made the metropolis and continues its wonderful growth.
-
-At the lower end of Manhattan is the Battery Park, of about twenty
-acres, with the elevated railways coming over it from both sides of
-the city, and joining at the lower point of the island in a terminal
-station at the South Ferry. Here were located the old forts for the
-city defense, but the park superseded them after the War of 1812, and
-in the earlier years of the nineteenth century this was the
-fashionable resort for an airing. The old circular fort, Castle
-Garden, now the Aquarium, was formerly a popular place of amusement,
-and here, under the auspices of the great manager, Barnum, Jenny Lind
-made her first appearance in America in 1850. The Park contains a
-statue of John Ericsson. The lower point of the island is Whitehall
-Slip, and here is the Government Barge Office, an appanage of the
-Custom House. To the northward of the Battery is the Bowling Green,
-the space between them having been the site of the original Dutch
-palisade fort which guarded New Amsterdam. A row of fine residences
-was built here, which afterwards became the favorite locality for
-steamship offices, and the new Custom House is now being constructed
-on their site. This Bowling Green, a triangular space of about a
-half-acre, was in the early days surrounded by the homes of the
-proudest Knickerbockers. For seven years during the Revolution, and
-until the evacuation, November 25, 1783, this was the British
-headquarters. Here lived Cornwallis, Howe and Clinton, Benedict Arnold
-occupied No. 5 Broadway, and Washington's headquarters was in No. 1,
-on the west side, now occupied by the towering Washington Building,
-rising nearly three hundred feet to the top of the cupola. To the
-eastward is the spacious Produce Exchange, in Italian Renaissance,
-with its huge square tower, part of the ground on which it stands
-having been the site of the house where Robert Fulton lived and died.
-Talleyrand also once lived on Bowling Green. In the centre is the
-statue of Abraham de Peyster, an original Knickerbocker, erected in
-1895. There was a leaden statue of King George III. here at the
-opening of the Revolution, but it was pulled down when the Declaration
-of Independence was promulgated in 1776, carried to Litchfield,
-Connecticut, and melted into bullets for the Continental soldiers, so
-that it was facetiously said at the time that "King George's troops
-will probably have his melted Majesty fired at them."
-
-
-BROADWAY.
-
-The two smaller streets on either side of the Bowling Green, Whitehall
-and State Street, unite to the northward and form Broadway. This is
-the chief highway of New York, and one of the most famous in the
-world, extending in various forms all the way to Yonkers, a distance
-of nineteen miles. The long and narrow formation of Manhattan Island
-puts Broadway longitudinally in the centre of the city, and
-necessarily throws into it an enormous traffic. One can hardly make
-any extended movements in New York without getting into Broadway.
-Hence the noted street has its show, always on exhibition, of the
-restless rush of life in the modern Babylon. The architecture of its
-great buildings, which tower far skyward, excites admiration, and its
-perpetual din of traffic, with the moving crowds and jam of vehicles,
-is the type of New York activity. This wonderful street is eighty feet
-wide between the buildings, and extends of that width from the Bowling
-Green five miles to Central Park at Fifty-ninth Street; and from its
-upper end, beyond this, the "Grand Boulevard," one hundred and fifty
-feet wide, with pretty little parks in the centre, is prolonged
-northward. In its course, which inclines somewhat to the westward,
-Broadway diagonally crosses Fifth, Sixth and Seventh Avenues, and at
-the Central Park boundary intersects Eighth Avenue. Here is the
-"Merchant's Gate," entering the Park from Broadway, the opposite
-entrance from Fifth Avenue being known as the "Scholar's Gate." The
-intermediate entrances at Sixth and Seventh Avenues are the "Artist's
-Gate" and the "Artisan's Gate."
-
-A survey of Broadway gives the best idea of the characteristics of New
-York. Its lower course is a succession of wealthy financial and
-business establishments and huge office buildings, and the adjacent
-streets on either side are similarly occupied. Banks, trusts,
-insurance offices, and manufacturers' and merchants' counting-rooms,
-railroad and steamship offices are everywhere. But in the midst of all
-this display of worldly wealth and grandeur is the quiet graveyard at
-the head of Wall Street, wherein stands the famous Trinity Church. Its
-chimes, morning and evening, summon the restless brokers and business
-men to attend divine service, though few may take heed. It is a
-wealthy parish, with over $500,000 annual revenue, maintaining a
-magnificent choir and various charities, and owns valuable buildings
-all about. The old graveyard stretches along Broadway, and in Church
-Street, behind, the elevated railway trains rush by every few minutes.
-It is part of the valuable domain of Trinity Church that "the heirs of
-Anneke Jans" have long been trying to recover. Anneke Jans Bogardus
-was an interesting Dutch lady who died in Albany in 1663, having
-outlived two husbands. The first husband owned the whole of the Hudson
-River front of New York between Chambers and Canal Streets, with a
-wide strip running back to Broadway. Her heirs sold this to the
-British Colonial Government, and it was known as the "King's Farm,"
-being afterwards given as an endowment to Trinity Church. This is what
-the present generation of heirs want to recover, but thus far have
-gained more notoriety than cash by the effort.
-
-In 1696 the first Trinity Church was built, being afterwards burnt,
-while a second church was built and taken down, to be replaced by the
-present fine Gothic brownstone edifice, whose magnificent spire rises
-two hundred and eighty-four feet. This church was dedicated in 1846,
-and its chancel contains a splendid reredos of marble, glass and
-precious stones, the memorial of William B. Astor, while the bronze
-doors are a memorial of his father, John Jacob Astor. The churchyard
-is chiefly a mass of worn and battered gravestones, resting in the
-busiest part of New York, the oldest stone being dated 1681, for it
-has been a burial-place more than two centuries. Near its northern
-border is the Gothic "Martyrs' Monument," erected over the bones of
-the patriots who died in the British prison-ships, moored over on the
-Brooklyn shore during the Revolution. There are hints, however, that
-it was not so much the reverent memory of these heroes that prompted
-the erection of the monument as the desire of the vestry to stop the
-proposed opening of a street through the yard. There is also a
-remembrance that, while these patriots were in prison dying, among
-their relentless foes was the Trinity rector, Dr. Inglis. When General
-Washington came into New York in 1776 he desired to worship at the
-church, and sent an officer to Dr. Inglis, on Sunday morning, to
-request that he omit reading the usual prayers for the king and the
-royal family. The rector refused, and afterwards said: "It is in your
-power to shut up the churches, but you cannot make the clergy depart
-from their duty." Among the noted graves is that of Charlotte Temple,
-under a flat stone, having a cavity out of which the inscription
-plate has been twice stolen. Her romantic career and miserable end,
-resulting in a duel, have been made the basis of a novel. William
-Bradford's grave is here, one of Penn's companions in founding
-Philadelphia; but he removed to New York, published the first
-newspaper there, and for fifty years was the official printer. A
-brownstone mausoleum covers the remains of Captain James Lawrence of
-the frigate "Chesapeake," killed in action in 1813, when his ship was
-taken by the British ship "Shannon," his dying words being, "Don't
-give up the ship." Here also are buried Alexander Hamilton, Robert
-Fulton, Albert Gallatin and other famous men, almost the latest grave
-being that of General Philip Kearney, killed in the Civil War.
-
-
-SOME FAMOUS BUILDINGS.
-
-The great number of immensely tall office-buildings on lower Broadway,
-literally "sky-scrapers," so encompass the street as to give it the
-appearance of a deep canyon as one gazes along it between them. The
-Bowling Green Building out-tops the Washington Building, and there are
-the Welles, Standard Oil and Aldrich Court Buildings, the latter
-marked by a tablet of the Holland Society, being erected on the site
-of "the first habitation of white men on Manhattan Island." Opposite
-it is one of the most curious appearing of these tall structures, the
-Tower Building, nearly two hundred feet high and only twenty-five
-feet wide. Just above, the tall light sandstone building of the
-Manhattan Life Company is surmounted by a cupola three hundred and
-fifty feet high. The Empire Building rises twenty stories, and the
-American Surety Building at the corner of Pine Street, nearly opposite
-Trinity churchyard, twenty-three stories, three hundred and six feet,
-being surmounted by the various weather-gauging instruments of "Old
-Probabilities." Here are also the magnificent buildings of the Union
-Trust and the Equitable Life Companies.
-
-Opposite Trinity Church, Wall Street leads off from Broadway, with
-winding course and varying width, down to the East River, following
-the line of the ancient Dutch palisade wall which it has replaced.
-Here is the financial centre and the domain of the bankers. One block
-down, Broad Street enters from the south, and the narrower Nassau
-Street goes out to the north. At this corner, on the one hand, is the
-white marble Drexel Building, Mr. J. Pierpont Morgan's office, and on
-the other the United States Treasury and Assay Office. The huge
-Manhattan Trust Building also is there, rising three hundred and
-thirty feet, and opposite is the Stock Exchange, while across Broad
-Street from the latter is the Mills Building, the home of many bankers
-and brokers. In Nassau Street is the magnificent building of the
-Mutual Life Insurance Company. These financial structures at Broad
-and Wall Streets are regarded as the most valuable real estate in the
-world. The Treasury and Assay Office contain most of the gold owned by
-the Government, and in the latter the kegs of gold are made up that
-are shipped to Europe. It holds millions of gold bars that make annual
-excursions in fast steamers across the ocean and back again, to adjust
-our varying foreign exchange balances. The Treasury is a white marble
-building fronted by an imposing colonnade and a broad flight of steps,
-and here is a bronze statue of Washington on the spot where he was
-inaugurated the first President of the United States in 1789, the
-location being then occupied by the old Federal Hall, where the first
-Congress met. Farther down Wall Street, the next corner is William
-Street, where there is a massive dark granite building with an
-elaborate Ionic colonnade. The interior contains a large rotunda
-surmounted by a dome supported by eight immense columns of Italian
-marble. This building was originally constructed for the Merchants'
-Exchange, and it afterwards became the Custom House. It is hereafter
-to be the office of the National City Bank, the largest financial
-institution of New York. Wall Street goes on to the river, where there
-is a ferry to Brooklyn. Down William Street is the broad, low, granite
-building, with a columned portico, of the Farmers' Loan and Trust
-Company, another financial institution of renown.
-
-It is evident, as Broadway is traversed northward between the huge
-office-letting structures, reared skyward, and among them the little,
-narrow, crooked streets, pouring their traffic into the main stream,
-carrying a vast, surging mass of humanity, that the crowded-in New
-Yorker, deprived of lateral expansion, thus seeks needed relief by
-mounting upward. Fulton Street here stretches across the island from
-river to river, the turmoil from its conflicting streams of traffic
-showing the full tide of restless development in lower Broadway. Above
-is the white marble Park Bank and the enormous St. Paul Building,
-rising three hundred and eight feet, twenty-six stories high. Opposite
-is the sombre church of St. Paul, with a tall spire, the oldest
-church-building in New York, built in 1756, containing the memorial of
-General Montgomery, who fell at the storming of Quebec in 1775, and in
-the graveyard a monument to Emmet, the Irish patriot. Just beyond is
-the triangular City Hall Park, with Park Row diagonally entering
-Broadway. Here can be got an idea of the rush and restlessness of New
-York, for two enormous streams of traffic pour together into lower
-Broadway, at probably the worst street-crossing in the world.
-
-
-THE CITY HALL PARK.
-
-The New York City Hall Park was the ancient "Commons," or public
-pasturage, and it now contains the headquarters of the city
-government, and may be regarded as the political and business centre.
-It is enclosed by Broadway, Park Row and Chatham Street, a triangular
-space, formerly a sort of garden around the City Hall, but now well
-occupied by other buildings. At the southern extremity is the
-Post-office, which cost $7,000,000, a grand granite structure in Doric
-and Renaissance, with a fine dome and tower, which are a landmark for
-miles. Around this Park, and in the many streets radiating from it,
-are a vast aggregation of corporate institutions and great buildings
-devoted to all kinds of business. Here are the offices of newspapers,
-banks, trusts, insurance companies, railways, lawyers, politicians,
-exchanges, etc., with lunch-rooms and restaurants of every grade,
-liberally provided to feed or stimulate the multitude. The famous
-hotel of a past generation, the Astor House, rich in historical
-associations, stands on the opposite side of Broadway from the
-Post-office. Along Park Row are the great newspapers, and here is
-Printing House Square, adorned with statues of Benjamin Franklin and
-Horace Greeley, appropriate in this region deluged with printer's ink.
-Here is the Ivins Syndicate Building, finished in 1898, the loftiest
-structure in New York, twenty-nine stories, its towers rising three
-hundred and eighty-two feet. The tall and narrow Tribune Building, of
-red brick with white facings, has its clock tower reared two hundred
-and eighty-five feet, while beyond is the Pulitzer Building, of
-brownstone, with a gilded dome, its apex rising three hundred and
-seventy-five feet. The building of the American Tract Society on
-Nassau Street is twenty-three stories and three hundred and six feet
-high, with a restaurant on the top. Park Row runs into Chatham Square,
-over which the Brooklyn Bridge terminal comes out, with elevated and
-surface railroads all about. This is a location of cheap shops and
-concert halls, and is prolonged into the Bowery, an avenue of the
-humbler classes, lined with shops, theatres and saloons, generally
-crowded, and having four sets of street cars running on the surface,
-besides the elevated roads above. The ancient Dutch farms on this part
-of the island were known as the "Bauereies," whence came the name of
-the street.
-
-Chambers Street bounds the City Hall Park on the north, and upon it
-faces the Court-house, a massive Corinthian building of white marble,
-finished in 1867, famous as the structure which the "Tweed Ring" of
-that time used to extract about $15,000,000 from the city treasury on
-fraudulent bills, or more than five times the actual cost of the work.
-It stands on part of the site of an old fort, which in the Revolution
-was the British outpost commanding the approach to the city by the
-Northern or Bloomingdale Road, now Broadway. The City Hall, to the
-southward, is a less pretentious and much older building, constructed
-in the Italian style, of white marble with freestone at the back to
-the northward, it being supposed at the time of its completion, 1812,
-that "no one of importance would ever live to the north of the
-building," then a broad expanse of farms. Here is the office of the
-Mayor and the meeting-place of the Board of Aldermen, and its chief
-apartment is the "Governor's Room," adorned with portraits of various
-Governors of New York and Revolutionary patriots, and having among its
-treasures Washington's desk and chair which he used when first
-President of the United States, and also the chairs of the First
-Congress. To the southwest of the City Hall a fine statue of Nathan
-Hale, an early victim of the Revolution, executed by the British in
-New York in 1776, faces Broadway.
-
-Near Chambers Street and the northern end of the Park a noted building
-stands on the opposite side of Broadway, a modest brownstone structure
-without any pretension nor of much height, but containing a famous
-bank, whose phenomenal success is everywhere known. This is the
-Chemical Bank, originally started as a chemical manufacturing company
-with banking privileges. The chemistry seems to have been a failure
-and soon abandoned, but the banking talents were so well developed
-that the shares of $100 par value have sold for over forty times that
-sum. The capital is only $300,000, but it has amassed a surplus over
-twenty times the amount, and is the strongest bank in New York. Among
-the large shareholders are said to be three New York ladies who
-married foreign titles--the Dowager Duchess of Marlborough (who was
-Miss Pine, afterwards Mrs. Hamersley, and now Lady Beresford), the
-Duchess de Dino (Miss Sampson), and the Comtesse de Trobriand (Miss
-Jones). It is here that the noted Mrs. Hetty Green generally conducts
-her financing, a lady of immense fortune and peculiar ideas, who has
-been one of the greatest money accumulators of New York. Across
-Chambers Street, and occupying an entire block, is the building that
-originally was "Stewart's Store," where the late Alexander T. Stewart
-made most of his success in the dry-goods trade, now converted into a
-vast office building for all kinds of business. This was the outpost
-of the "Dry Goods District," for Broadway northward for several
-blocks, including a wide belt of adjacent streets, now deals with all
-kinds of products of the mill and loom, clothing and similar articles.
-Here are located the agents and factors for many mills at home and
-abroad, and their traffic sometimes exceeds a thousand millions of
-dollars a year. The pulse of the American dry-goods trade throbs in
-this locality, weakening or strengthening as poor or good crops give
-the farmers and working-people a surplus to spend upon dress. Mr.
-Stewart once said that if every woman decided to pass a single season
-without a new bonnet it would sufficiently diminish trade to bankrupt
-this whole district. Canal Street crosses New York through the
-northern portion of the district, a broad highway, formerly a water
-course draining an extensive swamp across Broadway to the Hudson
-River. In this locality, east of Broadway, are two famous regions--the
-"Five Points," now, however, much improved, and "Chinatown." The
-latter, in Mott Street, has its Joss House, restaurant, theatre and
-opium joints, and is picturesque with swinging lights and banners. In
-Leonard Street, standing where once was part of the swamp, is the
-noted Tombs City Prison, thus named because originally it was a sombre
-gray building in the gloomy Egyptian style, but this was recently
-replaced by a modern structure. The Criminal Courts adjoining are
-connected with it by a bridge.
-
-
-PETER COOPER AND PETER STUYVESANT.
-
-At Bond Street, in advancing up Broadway, are encountered the
-booksellers, this with adjacent streets being the home of much of that
-trade. In Lafayette Place is the spacious Astor Library, and in the
-wide Astor Place is the handsome new building of the Mercantile
-Library. The former is now a part of the New York Public Library. A
-half-century ago the site of the Mercantile Library was occupied by
-the "Astor Place Opera House," then a leading theatre, and in the
-adjacent streets occurred the "Macready riots" in 1849. The rivalries
-of Edwin Forrest and Macready resulted in an effort by the partisans
-of the former to prevent the latter from playing in the Opera House
-on the night of May 10th. The Forrest faction attacked the building
-with stones, and the police being unable to control them, troops were
-called out, and, firing several volleys along Astor Place, they
-suppressed the riot and dispersed the mob, but at a cost of about
-sixty killed and wounded. At the end of Astor Place and its junction
-with Third Avenue is the Cooper Institute, occupying an entire block,
-a large brownstone building with a fine front, founded and endowed in
-1857, at a total cost of about $1,000,000, by Peter Cooper, for the
-free education of men and women in science and art. His statue stands
-in front. It also received in 1900 additional gifts from his executors
-and $300,000 from Andrew Carnegie. Peter Cooper was a wealthy
-manufacturer and merchant of the broadest philanthropy. At a recent
-anniversary of the Institute his son-in-law, Abram S. Hewitt, speaking
-of him, said: "Fifty years ago three men, all of whom started in life
-as poor boys, got together and talked over various ways by which they
-could be of benefit to the public. They were Peter Cooper, Ezra
-Cornell and Matthew Vassar. The latter said he would found a school
-for girls, and he founded Vassar College. Mr. Cornell said he would
-found a school for boys, and he founded Cornell University. Peter
-Cooper said he would found a school for both girls and boys, and he
-founded Cooper Union. But Mr. Cooper's school differs from the others,
-in that here, any boy or girl may receive an education absolutely
-free of charge." Opposite the Cooper Institute is an immense red
-building, the "Bible House," the home of the American Bible Society,
-where the Scriptures are printed by the millions, in all languages,
-for distribution throughout the world--over eighty different languages
-and dialects being used.
-
-Diagonally northeast from Astor Place runs Stuyvesant Street, formerly
-the country lane leading out to the ancient farmhouse of old Governor
-Stuyvesant, surnamed "Peter the Headstrong." Here was built "St.
-Mark's Church in the Bowerie" in the last century, then a mile out of
-town, and the quaint little Stuyvesant House still stood, at that
-time, perched on a high bank near the church, having, with its
-odd-looking overhanging upper story, been built of small yellow bricks
-brought out from Holland. In the days of New Amsterdam this region was
-Governor Stuyvesant's "Bauerie," and to it he retired when compelled
-to surrender to the English in 1664. He lived in this secluded spot
-for eighteen years, dying in 1682, and his brown gravestone occupies a
-place in the wall of the church. He was the last of the Dutch
-Governors, energetic, aristocratic and overbearing, and described by
-Irving as a man "of such immense activity and decision of mind that he
-never sought nor accepted the advice of others;" Irving further saying
-that he was a "tough, sturdy, valiant, weather-beaten, mettlesome,
-obstinate leather-sided, lion-hearted, generous, spirited old
-Governor."
-
-Returning to Broadway, for a mile or more it, with the adjacent
-streets, is the great retail shopping district. Here on the pleasant
-afternoons are throngs of shoppers. A short distance above, Broadway
-bends to the left, displaying Grace Church, with its rich marble
-façade, beautiful spire, and adjoining rectory, chantry and church
-house, an unique ecclesiastical group, dating from 1846, when it was
-far "up town," but now almost covered-in by the huge surrounding
-stores. Fourteenth Street crosses beyond, and here is Union Square, a
-pretty oval park of about four acres, adorned by an ornamental
-fountain and statues of Washington, Lafayette and Lincoln. Large
-buildings and stores surround the square, the chief being Tiffany's
-noted jewelry establishment. Fourteenth Street is a wide avenue, with
-an extensive shipping trade. To the eastward of Broadway is the
-Academy of Music and the noted Tammany Hall. This is the seat of the
-"Tammany Society," established in 1789 for benevolent purposes, but
-now controlled by the Democratic political organization ruling New
-York. The Hall is a capacious brick structure with stone facings,
-surmounted by a statue of its presiding genius, the old chief and
-warrior of the Lenni Lenapes, St. Tammany, who with outstretched hand
-beneficently looks down upon the street. The sturdy Indian, however,
-was probably more used to the mild and just methods of William Penn
-and his Quakers on the Delaware than to the political schemes on the
-Hudson, of which fate seems to have made him a patron saint.
-
-
-MADISON SQUARE.
-
-Broadway reaches Madison Square at Twenty-third Street, another wide
-highway crossing the city, and also intersects Fifth Avenue, which is
-the western side of the Square. This junction has a park of about six
-acres, surrounded by large hotels and noted buildings, and alongside
-the triangular intersection of Broadway and Fifth Avenue is a handsome
-granite monument to General Worth, a hero of the War with Mexico. The
-plateau on which it stands is usually availed of as the site for the
-official reviewing stage for processions. This Square is the great
-centre of elaborate civic and military displays, and has, with its
-surroundings and the light stone of the adjacent buildings, an air
-that is decidedly Parisian, it occupying much the same position for
-New York as the Place de la Concorde in Paris, or Trafalgar Square in
-London. In Madison Square are statues of Admiral Farragut (the finest
-statue in New York), William H. Seward, President Arthur and Roscoe
-Conkling. At the northwest corner of the Square was for many years
-Delmonico's famous restaurant, since moved farther up town. Its owner,
-after feeding wealthy New Yorkers on the choicest viands for several
-decades, finally lost his mind, and in a fit of aberration wandered
-over into the wilderness in New Jersey, and becoming lost in the
-woods, actually died of starvation. The new Appellate Court of New
-York is on the eastern side of the Square; at the northeast corner is
-the Madison Square Garden, and at the southeast corner the Madison
-Square Presbyterian Church, where the great clerical censor of New
-York, Rev. Dr. Parkhurst, occupies the pulpit. Madison Square may be
-regarded as the social centre of modern New York. Far to the northward
-Fifth Avenue stretches, with its rows of palatial brownstone
-residences, and towards the north-northwest Broadway extends for two
-miles to Central Park, passing many hotels, theatres, and the tall
-"French flats" that have been devised for residences in the crowded
-city where the land surface is so scarce. It also passes, at the
-intersection of Sixth Avenue, the Greeley and Herald Squares, with
-statues of Horace Greeley and William E. Dodge, and the _New York
-Herald_ Building. A short distance beyond is the Metropolitan Opera
-House, the finest theatre in the city, rebuilt after a fire in 1893.
-Broadway at Fifty-ninth Street reaches the southwest corner of Central
-Park and intersects Eighth Avenue, and here is the Columbus Monument,
-a tall shaft surmounted by a marble statue, erected in 1892. Broadway
-then becomes the magnificent "Grand Broadway Boulevard," with rows of
-trees, prolonged far northward.
-
-
-FIFTH AVENUE.
-
-Fifth Avenue, one hundred feet wide, is probably the New York street
-that is most talked about, for they say the main object of working so
-hard to get rich in the metropolis is to be able to live in a fine
-mansion on Fifth Avenue. This great highway extends northward almost
-in the centre of Manhattan Island, but it has an humble beginning,
-starting from the original "Potter's Field," where for many years the
-outcast and the unknown were buried and over a hundred thousand
-corpses are believed to have been interred. When the city spread
-beyond this cemetery it was decided to make the place a park, and thus
-was formed Washington Square on Fourth Street, a short distance west
-of Broadway, an enclosure of about nine acres. From this Square Fifth
-Avenue is laid in a straight line six miles northward, to the Harlem
-River. The fine Washington Centennial Memorial Arch spans the avenue
-at the southern end, near the Square, marking the Centenary of
-Washington's inauguration as President. In the lower portions the
-famous avenue has been largely invaded by business establishments, but
-above, it is the finest residential street in the world, there being
-four or five miles of architectural magnificence, in which for two
-miles it borders Central Park. The street displays the best dwelling
-and church architecture, the progress northward into the newer
-portion showing how the styles have changed. All railways have been
-carefully excluded from this street. At the southern end the older
-houses are generally of brick, gradually developing into the use of
-brownstone facings, and then into almost uniform rows of elaborate
-brownstone buildings, with imposing porticos reached by high and broad
-flights of steps. The rich yet gloomy brown is somewhat monotonous,
-but as Central Park is approached this is broken, as all styles of
-designs and materials are used. Fifth Avenue has the great "Methodist
-Book Concern" at Twentieth Street, and in this neighborhood are also
-several of the leading book houses. The wealthy and exclusive Union
-Club is at Twenty-first Street, with the Lotus Club in a more modest
-house adjacent.
-
-Northward from Madison Square the great street stretches up the
-aristocratic grade of Murray Hill, with its rows of stately buildings.
-Parallel and a short distance eastward is Madison Avenue, also a
-street of fashionable residence, and second only to Fifth Avenue in
-grandeur. At Twenty-ninth Street is the plain and substantial granite
-Dutch Reformed Church, and to the eastward is an odd-looking little
-church that has attained a wide reputation. It is a picturesque
-aggregation of low brick buildings, set back in a small enclosure
-between Fifth and Madison Avenues, and looking like a quaint mediæval
-structure. Some years ago a pompous rector, when asked to read the
-last prayers over the dead body of an actor, sent the sorrowing
-friends to this church, saying he could not thus pray for the ungodly,
-but they might be willing to do it at the little church around the
-corner. The public quickly caught on, through newspaper aid, and the
-result was that this attractive Church of the Transfiguration
-performed the last rites in presence of an overflowing congregation,
-and its official title has since been overshadowed by the popular one
-of "the Little Church Around the Corner." It is much attended by the
-theatrical fraternity, and contains a handsome memorial window to
-Edwin Booth.
-
-Mounting the gentle grade of Murray Hill, we come to Thirty-fourth
-Street, the locality typifying the two greatest fortunes amassed in
-America before the advent of the Vanderbilts. The whole block between
-Thirty-third and Thirty-fourth Streets is occupied by the towering
-Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, built of brick and sandstone in German
-Renaissance, and occupying the land originally the home of the Astors,
-while across Thirty-fourth Street is the white marble Stewart palace.
-The ancestor of the Astor family, John Jacob Astor, accumulated the
-largest fortune known in this country before the Civil War, his
-estates representing the early growth of New York, and the wealth
-coming from the advancing value of land as the city expanded. He was a
-poor German peasant-boy who came from the village of Waldorf, near
-Heidelberg, to London, and worked there prior to 1783, making musical
-instruments for his brother. In that year, at the age of about twenty,
-he sailed for America with $500 worth of instruments, meeting a
-furrier on the ship, who suggested that he trade the instruments for
-American furs. This he did in New York, and returning to London, sold
-the furs at a large profit. Coming back to New York, he established a
-fur-trade with England, and built ships for his business. He
-prospered, and at the beginning of the nineteenth century was worth
-$250,000. Then he began buying land and houses in New York, built many
-buildings, and was so shrewd in real-estate investments that they
-often increased a hundredfold. He was liberal and charitable, and
-dying in 1848, his estate, then the largest in the country, was
-estimated at $25,000,000. His chief public benefaction was the Astor
-Library, which his son, William B. Astor, also aided, so that besides
-the buildings it has an endowment of about $1,800,000. The great Astor
-estates, now represented by the fourth generation, are estimated at
-over $200,000,000.
-
-The splendid palace at the northwest corner of Fifth Avenue and
-Thirty-fourth Street was built by Alexander T. Stewart when at the
-height of his fame as the leading New York merchant. Intended to
-eclipse anything then known in New York, he expended $3,000,000 upon
-the building and its decoration, so that this house outshone all other
-New York residences until the Vanderbilt palaces were erected farther
-out Fifth Avenue. Its latest occupant has been the Manhattan Club.
-Stewart's fortune was accumulated through the facilities at New York
-for successful trading, though much of his wealth was afterwards
-invested in large buildings in profitable business localities, and
-notably in great hotels. Stewart, like Astor, began his career with
-almost nothing, but at a later period. He was born at Belfast,
-Ireland, in 1802, studied at Trinity College, Dublin, but before
-taking his degree migrated to New York as a teacher in 1818. He got
-into the dry-goods trade in a small way near the City Hall Park, and
-his business grew until he acquired all the adjacent buildings, and
-put up the store at Chambers Street, and afterwards the retail store
-farther up Broadway. Enlarging in every direction, his business became
-the greatest in the country, with branches in the leading cities. He
-was an extensive importer, and owned various factories making the
-fabrics he sold. His business methods were profitable but unpopular,
-involving the remorseless crushing of rivals, so that he had few
-friends and many enemies. Yet he was charitable, sending a shipload of
-provisions to relieve the Irish famine in 1846, and he made large
-public gifts to aid suffering. When he died he was building on Fourth
-Avenue an enormous structure intended as a "Home for Working Girls,"
-on which $1,400,000 were expended. It was opened soon after his
-death, but with such stringent regulations that a rebellion soon arose
-among the intended beneficiaries, and it had to be closed. There was a
-shrewd suspicion that the difficulty came by design, for the building
-was soon reopened as a hotel. Stewart had scarcely moved into his
-marble palace when he died, his body being put temporarily into a
-vault in the churchyard of old "St. Mark's Church in the Bowerie,"
-awaiting removal to the magnificent mausoleum preparing for it at
-Garden City, Long Island. Then came the horrible news that the corpse
-had been stolen to avenge business tyranny. The childless widow lived
-in gloomy grandeur in the palace until her death, rarely seeing
-visitors, and having watchmen pacing the sidewalk at all hours.
-Stewart left no direct descendants, and his great business has gone,
-like his estate, to strangers.
-
-
-THE VANDERBILTS.
-
-The construction of the white marble Stewart palace was the first
-serious innovation made upon the rich brownstone fronts of Fifth
-Avenue, the possession of which was a necessary adjunct to social
-standing in New York before the Civil War. The material, quarried
-generally in Connecticut, was in such extensive use that it gave a
-distinctive coloring to New York, its sombreness and uniformity of
-architecture making most of the residential streets corridors of
-gloom. For years, as a local authority described it, "our new houses
-and blocks were all turned out from the same moulds, and apparently
-congealed from the same coffee-colored liquid." The builders, since
-the war, have made large inroads with other materials, thus giving
-more individuality to the finer buildings of later construction. To
-the eastward, Fourth Avenue is tunnelled for several blocks under
-Murray Hill, to carry street railways up to the Grand Central Station
-at Forty-second Street, the open spaces above, giving the tunnel light
-and air, being surrounded by pleasant little parks, so that the
-widened street, called Park Avenue, is an attractive residential
-region, the view being closed to the northward by the louvre domes of
-the Vanderbilt railway station.
-
-Continuing out Fifth Avenue, the "Old Brick Church" of the
-Presbyterians, built solid and substantial, with a tall spire, stands
-about on the most elevated portion of Murray Hill, the congregation
-dating from 1767. A short distance beyond, at Thirty-ninth Street, is
-the finest club-house in New York, the elaborate brick and brownstone
-Union League Club, its spacious windows disclosing the luxurious
-apartments within. Just above is the historic Vanderbilt house, where
-the old Commodore lived--a wide, brownstone dwelling, having alongside
-a carriage entrance into a small courtyard. The Vanderbilt fortunes,
-the greatest accumulated, represent the financially expansive
-facilities of modern New York as manipulated by corporation
-management and the Stock Exchange. Commodore Cornelius Vanderbilt,
-born on Staten Island in 1794, in 1817, at the age of twenty-three,
-owned a few small vessels, and estimated his wealth at $9000. He
-became a steamboat captain, and went into the transportation business
-between New York and Philadelphia, afterwards broadening his
-operations, and in 1848 owning most of the profitable steamboat lines
-leading from New York. When the California emigration fever began, he
-started ocean steamers in connection with the transit across the
-Isthmus of Panama. This business grew, and at the height of his
-steamship career the Commodore owned sixty-six vessels. The finest,
-named the Vanderbilt, which cost him $800,000, he gave the Government
-for a war vessel, to chase the rebel privateers. As American
-vessel-owning became unprofitable, he determined to abandon it and
-devote himself to railway management, having already bought largely of
-railway stocks. When he thus changed, he estimated his fortune at
-$40,000,000. He got control of various railroads leading east, north
-and west from New York, buying the shares at low prices, his excellent
-methods improving their earning powers, so that their value greatly
-enhanced. The greatest of these corporations was the New York Central
-and Hudson River Railroad. When the Commodore died his estate was
-estimated at $75,000,000, left almost wholly to his son William H.
-Vanderbilt. When the latter died it had reached $200,000,000,
-bequeathed chiefly to his two eldest sons, Cornelius, who died in
-1899, and William K. Vanderbilt. The family are now housed in a row of
-palaces farther out the avenue near Central Park, and there are
-fabulous estimates of their colossal fortunes, which are the greatest
-in America, and probably in the world.
-
-Upon the west side of Fifth Avenue the New York Public Library is
-being erected on the site of the old Croton Reservoir, which occupied
-the summit of Murray Hill, and behind it is the pretty little Bryant
-Park, extending to Sixth Avenue. This Library comes from the
-consolidation of the Astor and Lenox Libraries, augmented by the
-Samuel J. Tilden Trust Fund, amounting to about $2,500,000. North of
-this, Forty-second Street crosses the city, having the Grand Central
-Station of the Vanderbilt lines opposite Fourth Avenue, the only
-railway station in New York, though other roads are expecting to come
-in by tunnels under the rivers. At Forty-third Street and Fifth Avenue
-is the finest American synagogue, the Jewish Temple Emanu-El, a
-magnificent specimen of Saracenic architecture, the interior being
-rich in Oriental decoration. Creeping plants tastefully overrun the
-lower portions of its two great towers. There are numerous fine
-churches on this portion of the avenue, two of which are rather more
-famous than the others. When the old Dutch Governor Peter Minuit
-bought Manhattan Island from the Indians, he founded an orthodox Dutch
-church in 1628. This church is now a costly brownstone structure in
-Decorated Gothic at the corner of Forty-eighth Street, having a
-crocketed spire two hundred and seventy feet high. Its inscription
-tells us it is the "Collegiate Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of the
-City of New York, organized under Peter Minuit, Director General of
-the New Netherlands, in 1628, chartered by William, King of England,
-1696." The present church was built in 1872. Occupying the entire
-block at Fiftieth Street is the magnificent white marble Roman
-Catholic Cathedral of St. Patrick, in Decorated Gothic, with two
-spires rising three hundred and thirty-two feet. This noble church
-much resembles the great Cathedral at Cologne, particularly in the
-interior. Behind it, fronting on Madison Avenue, is the Archbishop's
-white marble residence, and adjacent is the old building of Columbia
-College, the original King's College of New York, founded in 1754 by a
-fund started from the proceeds of various lotteries, which then raised
-$17,215. It now has new buildings elsewhere.
-
-In the neighborhood of these churches there must not be overlooked, in
-this part of Fifth Avenue, the residence of Helen Gould, a
-square-built house with an elaborate portico, at the corner of
-Fifty-seventh Street. This was originally the home of one of the most
-extraordinary men ever developed in New York--Jay Gould. He was an
-orphan boy in Northeastern Pennsylvania, who became a clerk in a
-country store, a surveyor and map-maker, and finally was employed in a
-tannery, and to sell its leather first took him to New York. Finally
-he removed there, and soon became a leading Wall Street stock
-operator. Nobody ever made such daring ventures; he became the "great
-bear" on the market, wrecking, pulling down, ruining; controlling
-newspapers, courts, legislatures, and being even accused of trying to
-bribe a President. Then, as he acquired wealth, he became an extensive
-investor in railways and telegraphs, and died, leaving a fortune
-estimated at $80,000,000. He is buried in a magnificent mausoleum, a
-miniature of the Pantheon, in Woodlawn Cemetery, in the northern
-suburbs, and his daughter Helen is trying, by her beneficent
-charities, to make the best use she can of the share of the money she
-inherited. Westward from Fifty-first Street are the famous Vanderbilt
-palaces where most of the sons and daughters of William H. Vanderbilt
-reside, five grand residences which cost $15,000,000 to build and
-furnish. Standing among them is the Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church,
-said to be the largest and wealthiest in the world of this
-denomination, where the late pastor, Dr. John Hall, is described as
-preaching to $250,000,000 every Sunday. This is the most splendid
-portion of Fifth Avenue, with grand residences all about, and as
-Central Park is approached, there are also enormous apartment-houses
-and huge hotels. The avenue reaches the Park at Fifty-ninth Street,
-and for two miles its grand buildings face that attractive
-pleasure-ground. At Seventieth Street is the Lenox Library, the
-benefaction of James Lenox, and at Eighty-second Street the
-Metropolitan Museum of Art, containing some of the finest collections
-in the world, and patterned largely after the British Museum. Its
-treasures of art and science, antiquities and museums, are valued at
-$9,000,000, and it has an elaborate building fronting on Fifth Avenue,
-within the Park.
-
-
-CENTRAL PARK.
-
-New York is very proud of its great pleasure-ground, the Central Park,
-upon which has been lavished all that art and money could accomplish.
-This Park is a parallelogram in the centre of Manhattan Island, a
-half-mile wide and two and a half miles long, covering eight hundred
-and forty-three acres, though nearly one-fourth of this space is
-occupied by the Croton water reservoirs. The original surface was
-either marsh or rock, very rough, and with topography generally the
-reverse of that needed for a park. It took prodigious labor and an
-enormous outlay to overcome the difficulties, but skillful engineering
-and landscape gardening have made the most of the unsightly surface,
-so that it has become one of the handsomest parks in the world, its
-beauties increasing as the growing trees mature. Entering at the
-"Scholar's Gate" from Fifth Avenue, the road within the Park leads by
-a gently winding course past vista views and pretty lakes to the Mall,
-or general promenade. Here, on pleasant days, thousands gather to
-listen to the music. To the westward are broad green surfaces giving a
-tranquil landscape, and looking northward through the avenue of elms
-upon the Mall, a little gray stone tower called the Observatory closes
-the view far away over another pretty lake. At the end of the Mall a
-terrace is crossed bordering this lake, the ground sloping to its
-edges. Here a fountain plashes on one side, and on the other is the
-concert ground, overlooked by the Pergola, a shaded Gallery. Across
-the lake, on the Observatory side, is the Ramble, a rocky,
-forest-covered slope with paths winding through it, and on the highest
-point a massive Belvedere. There are a menagerie and an aviary, and
-the children have playgrounds and varied amusements. Beyond this
-enchanting region the road winds past statues and ever-changing
-beauties of garden and landscape, and comes out in a space alongside
-the smaller reservoir, where stands Cleopatra's Needle, brought from
-Egypt and set up near the Museum of Art. Then the road passes
-alongside the larger reservoir, with barely enough room to get through
-between it and Fifth Avenue, though both are admirably masked. The
-northern portion of the Park has greater natural attractions and less
-ornamentation, the land ascending to a fine lookout on the western
-side, where there is a grand view over the Harlem River, displaying
-the tall arches of the "High Bridge" bringing the Croton Aqueduct
-across, and the tower alongside, which makes a high level reservoir.
-The expanding city, however, is extending its buildings over large
-surfaces north and west of the Park.
-
-One Hundred and Tenth Street is the northern boundary of Central Park.
-Upon the western side of the Park, in Manhattan Square, is being
-gradually constructed the American Museum of Natural History, with
-elaborate buildings and collections already exceeding $3,000,000 in
-value. Near the northwestern corner of the Park, extending to One
-Hundred and Twenty-third Street, is the long and narrow Morningside
-Park, a high elevation held by massive retaining walls on the
-hill-slope, and ascended by flights of steps. Morningside Avenue, its
-western boundary, has at One Hundred and Twelfth Street what will be
-the largest ecclesiastical edifice in the United States, the new
-Episcopal Cathedral of St. John the Divine, of which the corner-stone
-was laid in 1892, and building slowly progresses. The splendid St.
-Luke's Hospital adjoins to the northward, while to the northwest, on
-an elevated site overlooking the Hudson River, are the fine new
-buildings of Columbia College in an enclosure of about twenty acres.
-This great University has buildings and collections valued at
-$7,000,000, an endowment of $12,000,000, and is attended by about two
-thousand students. Farther westward, upon the high ground at the edge
-of the Hudson River, stretches the stately Riverside Park for about
-three miles, making a magnificent drive, along which many handsome
-residences are being constructed. Near its northern end is the tomb of
-General Grant, a white granite mausoleum ninety feet square and
-surmounted by a cupola, which was finished in 1897 and cost $600,000.
-The interior arrangement is like Napoleon's tomb in Paris, the body,
-contained in a red porphyry sarcophagus, being placed in an open crypt
-below the centre of the dome. Beyond Central Park, the broad public
-roads known as the Boulevards traverse the island northward, and many
-elaborate structures are being erected along them.
-
-
-SPUYTEN DUYVEL AND CROTON.
-
-The Spuyten Duyvel Creek, the strait connecting the Harlem with the
-Hudson, winds through a deeply-cut gorge around the northern end of
-Manhattan and makes it an island. Knickerbocker, the veracious
-historian of early Dutch New York, tells how it got its name. Old
-Governor Stuyvesant, he says, had a wonderful trumpeter, Anthony von
-Corlaer, who persisted in swimming across during a violent storm, and
-lost his life. Thus of it, Knickerbocker writes: "The wind was high,
-the elements were in an uproar, and no Charon could be found to ferry
-the adventurous sounder of brass across the water. For a short
-time he vapored like an impatient ghost upon the brink, and then,
-bethinking himself of the urgency of his errand (to arouse the people
-to arms), he took a hearty embrace of his stone bottle, swore most
-valorously that he would swim across in spite of the devil--_en spyt
-den duyvel_--and daringly plunged into the stream. Luckless Anthony!
-Scarcely had he buffeted half-way over when he was observed to
-struggle violently, as if battling with the spirit of the waters.
-Instinctively he put his trumpet to his mouth, and giving a vehement
-blast, sank forever to the bottom. The clangor of his trumpet, like
-that of the ivory horn of the renowned Paladin Orlando, when expiring
-on the glorious field of Roncesvalles, rang far and wide through the
-country, alarming the neighbors around, who hurried in amazement to
-the spot. There, an old Dutch burgher, famed for his veracity, and who
-had been a witness to the fact, related to them the melancholy affair,
-with the fearful addition (to which I am slow in giving belief) that
-he saw the Duyvel, in the shape of a huge moss-bunker (a species of
-inferior fish), seize the sturdy Anthony by the leg and drag him
-beneath the waves. Certain it is, the place, with the adjoining
-promontory which projects into the Hudson, has been called _Spyt den
-Duyvel_ ever since."
-
- [Illustration: _Grant's Tomb, New York_]
-
-The narrow and elevated northern prolongation of Manhattan is the
-picturesque district of Washington Heights. Here is the attractive
-Trinity Church Cemetery, laid out on the battlefield of Harlem
-Heights, a hotly contested Revolutionary conflict, fought on September
-16, 1776, and some distance northward, on the highest point of the
-island, elevated two hundred and sixty feet above the Hudson River,
-there are still seen the remains of Fort Washington, which was bravely
-but unsuccessfully defended against British attacks in the following
-November, and had to be abandoned. Across the Harlem River is the
-ancient suburb of Morrisania. Here was Washington's headquarters
-during those conflicts, and here lived Lewis Morris, one of the
-signers of the Declaration of Independence, and his half-brother,
-Gouverneur Morris, a noted New York statesman, who bore a striking
-resemblance to General Washington. The historic old house at
-Morrisania was afterwards acquired by Madame Jumel, and when Aaron
-Burr, in his old age and poverty, met this wealthy widow, he courted
-and married her in 1833, he being then seventy-eight years old. Here
-they lived for a brief period "during the days of his octogenarian
-love," as the annalist has it, but soon quarrelled and separated. The
-house is now preserved as a Revolutionary Museum. Not far away was the
-Grange, the home of Alexander Hamilton, who planted there a group of
-thirteen trees named after the thirteen original States of the Union,
-in which all flourished, as we are credibly informed, excepting the
-"South Carolina tree," which persisted in growing up very crooked.
-Upon the top of Washington Heights and the precipitous slopes of the
-Spuyten Duyvel and Harlem there are many fine villas, and down in the
-bottom of the gorge the New York Central Railroad seeks its route out
-to the Hudson River bank. The historic old King's Bridge spans the
-Harlem, deep down in the valley, while all along the river is the fine
-new drive, the "Speedway," upon which the New Yorkers display the
-qualities of their fastest horses.
-
-The splendid Washington Bridge, built of steel at a cost of
-$2,700,000, carries one of the Boulevards across the Harlem at a
-height of one hundred and fifty feet; but the great landmark is the
-High Bridge which brings the Croton Aqueduct over, its tall granite
-piers and graceful arches displaying singular beauty from every point
-of view. This aqueduct is forty miles long, and has been well
-described as "a structure worthy of the Roman Empire." It originally
-cost $12,500,000, subsequent improvements absorbing millions more. The
-Croton River, coming down through Westchester County, falls into the
-Hudson about twenty-five miles above the city, and its headwaters are
-dammed, making artificial lakes gathering the supply. The Aqueduct was
-finished in 1842, and, going through tunnels and rock-cuttings, has a
-cross-section of about fifty-four feet and an inclination of one foot
-to the mile, or thirty-three feet in the distance to the Harlem River.
-About one hundred and fifteen millions of gallons go through it daily,
-moving at the rate of a mile and a half per hour. Three huge pipes
-carry the water across the High Bridge at one hundred and sixteen feet
-elevation. There are eight arches in the river crossing, their
-openings being eighty feet wide and one hundred feet high, to allow
-the passage of vessels, and seven narrower arches of fifty feet span
-on the banks. At the New York end of this picturesque bridge is the
-tall tower, rising two hundred and sixty-five feet, which has water
-pumped into its surmounting tank to supply the highest parts of the
-island. New York, however, long since outgrew the capacity of this
-famous aqueduct, so that a new one of much greater size was tunnelled
-underground and finished in 1890, which is fourteen feet high, and
-bored at an average depth of one hundred and fifty feet below the
-surface, and is carried three hundred feet under the Harlem River bed,
-its estimated daily capacity being three hundred millions of gallons.
-The receiving reservoirs in Central Park hold over a thousand millions
-of gallons. An imposing gate-house at One Hundred and Thirty-fifth
-Street admits this supply into the northern city mains. The great
-Quaker Bridge dam across the Croton is two hundred and seventy-seven
-feet high and thirteen hundred and fifty feet long, making the most
-enormous artificial reservoir in the world, holding forty thousand
-millions of gallons. It has cost New York over $70,000,000 to thus
-insure an ample water supply, free of all risk from drought.
-
-
-THE BRONX AND THE NEW PARKS.
-
-Across Harlem River, to the north and east, is the attractive region
-of the Bronx, much of the surface being yet in its primitive condition
-as maintained in the old estates that have come down from the early
-days of the Knickerbockers. Here are being laid out several new and
-large parks. Van Cortlandt Park, near the Hudson, about four miles
-north of the High Bridge, covers about eleven hundred acres, Pelham
-Bay Park, on the shore of Long Island Sound, nine miles from the
-Harlem, seventeen hundred and fifty acres, and the Bronx Park, between
-them, six hundred and fifty acres. These three great pleasure-grounds
-are being gradually developed, and the plan is to connect them with
-magnificent tree-lined avenues six hundred feet wide. The western
-verge of Van Cortlandt Park finely overlooks the Hudson, and it is
-intended largely for military uses, with parade-grounds and
-rifle-ranges. It has an attractive lake; and the quaint old mansion
-where lived the Van Cortlandts, whose successive generations owned the
-estate, built in 1748, is preserved as a Museum of Colonial Relics. To
-the eastward, a shallow and almost aimless little stream, flowing
-from above White Plains down to Long Island Sound, with many pools
-and rapids, and occasionally broadening into mirror-like lakes, was
-long the eastern boundary of New York City. This is the Bronx River,
-coming through a green, well-watered and shaded valley, a half to
-three-quarters of a mile wide, and a considerable part of this
-bewitching region makes the Bronx Park,
-
- "Where gentle Bronx, clear, winding, flows
- The shadowy banks between;
- Where blossomed bell or wilding rose
- Adorns the brightest green."
-
-The wildness and seclusion of this place, its natural charms and
-romantic character, make one almost believe that New York cannot
-possibly be near such an attractive wilderness. Nature seems to have
-especially designed it for a park, and art cannot improve it. Huge
-rocks and giant trees flourish here, among them the Delancey pine, one
-hundred and fifty feet high and straight as an arrow, standing in a
-prominent position and having a huge branch reaching upward upon one
-side, with interlacing boughs, making it appear not unlike a gigantic
-harp. The Delanceys once owned the place. A "balanced boulder" is
-nearby, weighing hundreds of tons, yet very easily rocked. The Bronx
-in one portion flows deep down between high, rocky walls, where the
-thin-armed white birches wave their slender limbs a hundred feet above
-the water. Here was an early home of the Lorillards, now a Museum and
-large Botanical Garden. Here are also the grounds of the New York
-Zoological Society, the animals roaming in extensive enclosures, where
-they are placed, as far as possible, in their native surroundings.
-
-The peninsula of Throgg's Neck is the northern headland at the
-entrance of East River into Long Island Sound. Beyond this, the waters
-deeply indent the New York shore, and there is thrust out the green
-peninsula of Pelham Neck. This is some distance beyond the Bronx.
-Eastchester Bay is on the southern side of the neck; Pelham Bay beyond
-it; and immediately in front City Island, reached by a long
-drawbridge. To the north is Hunter's Island, connected by another
-bridge. Hunter's Island and more than two square miles of the hills
-and meadows adjacent on the mainland make the new park of Pelham Bay.
-Various old mansions scattered over this domain were the homes of the
-Hunters, Lorillards and other prominent families. The island belonged
-to many generations of Hunters, and near the bridge a large gateway
-has "Hunter's Island" carved on one of the marble gate-posts. Years
-ago another wealthy man bought the island, and these words offending
-him, he brought a marble-mason out from New York, who chiselled them
-off, and carved instead the words "Higgins's Island." But after
-Higgins had his day and was gathered unto his fathers, the next owner,
-revering rather the antiquity of the place, had "Higgins" eliminated
-and "Hunter's Island" restored, though the gate-post became quite thin
-under this treatment. On the western edge of Pelham Bay Park is
-Hutchinson's River, flowing down into Eastchester Bay, and recalling
-the days of the Salem witchcraft. Poor Anne Hutchinson fled here to
-escape burning as a witch, and on City Island built a hut on a little
-cape still called Anne Hook. She lived there peacefully for a year,
-harming nobody and declining every invitation to stir from her humble
-abode. One day a young girl went to visit Anne, but found the hut in
-ashes, and before the door lay the poor woman, where she had been
-tomahawked and scalped by the Indians. No one has built a house on
-Anne Hook since, and many have been the tales told of ghostly Indian
-revels on bleak and rainy nights around the site of the burning hut.
-On the mainland were Indian villages, and here have been found relics,
-and in 1899 there was exhumed the skeleton of an Indian warrior.
-
-
-EAST RIVER AND HELL GATE.
-
-The Harlem River, flowing into the East River, divides Manhattan from
-Ward's Island, and this, with Randall's Island to the north and
-Blackwell's Island to the south, forms the group of "East River
-Islands" upon which are the penal and charitable institutions of the
-great city. The chief of these are on Blackwell's Island, a long,
-narrow strip stretching nearly two miles in the centre of East River,
-and barely more than two hundred yards wide. It covers one hundred and
-twenty acres, and has the penitentiary, almshouses, workhouses and
-hospitals, the spacious buildings being of granite quarried there by
-the convicts. Over on the New York City shore is the extensive
-Bellevue Hospital. In cases of vagrancy and minor crimes, the offender
-is said to be "sent up to the Island." Ward's Island has a surface of
-two hundred acres, and here are the Lunatic Asylum and Emigrant
-Hospital. Randall's Island has the institutions for children and
-idiots, while upon Hart's Island, out in Long Island Sound, are
-industrial schools and the pauper cemetery. The buildings are all upon
-a most elaborate scale, and it costs over $2,000,000 for their annual
-maintenance. A steamboat ride along East River, with these extensive
-establishments and their well-kept grounds passing in review, is a
-most interesting suburban excursion.
-
-The Long Island shore to the southward of Ward's Island is thrust out
-in a way that curves and contracts the East River passage, which,
-turning eastward just below where the Harlem River comes in, goes
-through the famous Hell Gate to reach the Sound. Formerly, the swift
-tidal currents boiled and eddied through this dangerous pass,
-Hallett's Point, jutting out from Long Island, narrowing the channel,
-and Pot Rock, Flood Rock, the Gridiron and other reefs making
-navigation perilous. Many were the wrecks here, and frequent
-ineffective efforts were made to improve the passage. The Government
-finally undertook the work in 1866 under a comprehensive plan
-projected by General Newton. His first task was the removal of the
-Hallett's Point reef, a mass of rock projecting three hundred feet
-into the stream and throwing the whole tidal current coming in from
-the Sound against the great opposing rock called the Gridiron. He
-first sunk a shaft upon the Point and excavated the inland side so
-that it made a perpendicular wall which was curved around, and
-designed for the future edge of the river. From the shaft, tunnels
-were bored into the reef under the river in radiating directions,
-being connected by concentric galleries. The design was to remove as
-much rock as possible without letting the water in from overhead, and
-then to blow the rocky roof and supporting columns into fragments and
-remove them at leisure. This work began in 1869, the shaft being sunk
-thirty-two feet below mean low water and the tunnels drilled out,
-inclining downward under the river. In 1876 the task was finished, and
-thousands of separate dynamite blasts had been placed in the roof and
-supporting columns, ready for the explosion on Sunday, September 24th.
-This being the greatest artificial explosion ever attempted, there was
-much trepidation shown in New York for fear of the shock, while
-everywhere the keenest interest was taken in the result. The blast was
-entirely successful, being discharged by General Newton's little
-child, who touched the electric key. The calculation had been so
-accurately made that the great reef was pulverized, and the fragments
-fell into the spaces excavated beneath without causing more than a
-slight tremor in the adjacent region. By a similar system and more
-extensive work, Flood Rock was afterwards removed from mid-channel,
-the second great blast reducing it to fragments, being discharged in
-October, 1885. The terrors of Hell Gate are gone, though the tide
-still flows swiftly through the strait.
-
-
-THE BROOKLYN BRIDGE.
-
-The growth of population on Long Island has caused various new bridges
-and tunnels to be projected for crossing East River. One new bridge is
-to cross at Blackwell's Island, with a pier on the island. Another now
-nearly completed, and estimated to cost $10,000,000, crosses from
-Grand Street to Broadway in Brooklyn. The Long Island Railroad is
-arranging to bore a tunnel under East River, to be operated by
-electricity, to bring its trains into New York. The East River being
-the locality for most of the foreign shipping, the bridges are at high
-elevations, the great Brooklyn Bridge, which crosses from City Hall
-Park, being one hundred and thirty-five feet above the water. Its
-massive piers are among the tallest structures about New York, rising
-two hundred and sixty-eight feet. This, the largest suspension bridge
-in the world, was begun in 1870 and opened for traffic in 1885. The
-piers stand upon caissons sunk into the rocky bed of the river, which
-is forty-five feet below the surface on the Brooklyn side and ninety
-feet below on the New York side. Their towers carry four sixteen-inch
-wire cables that sustain the bridge, which is built eighty-five feet
-wide, giving ample accommodation for two railways, two wagon roads
-also carrying electric cars, and a wide raised footway in the centre.
-The bridge cost nearly $15,000,000, the distance between the piers is
-about sixteen hundred feet, and its entire length between the
-anchorages of the cables is three thousand four hundred and
-seventy-five feet. The cable anchorages are enormous masses, each
-containing about thirty-five thousand cubic yards of solid masonry.
-The whole length of the bridge and its elaborate approaches is
-considerably over a mile. Its projector was John A. Roebling, who died
-during the early work, and its builder, his son Washington Roebling,
-who caught the dreaded "caisson disease" while superintending labor
-under water, and for years afterward an invalid, watched the progress
-of the later work from his chamber window on Brooklyn Heights nearby.
-The bridge has carried an enormous traffic, taxing its capacity to the
-utmost, and its passengers average over a million a week. The view
-from its raised footway is one of the most superb sights of New York,
-disclosing both cities, and the extensive wharves and commerce of
-East River, the Navy Yard just above, and for miles over the
-surrounding region and down through the harbor to the distant blue
-hills of Staten Island.
-
-
-THE CITY OF CHURCHES.
-
-The Borough of Brooklyn, which has grown from the overflow of New
-York, whose people are said to go over there "chiefly to sleep or be
-buried," is popularly known as the "City of Churches." A large portion
-of the working population of the metropolis, as well as the merchants
-and business men, make it their home and dormitory, while there are
-beautiful cemeteries in the suburbs peopled largely by dead New
-Yorkers. Greenwood, overlooking New York harbor from Gowanus Heights
-in South Brooklyn, is regarded as one of the finest American
-cemeteries. In no other city can be found such an aggregation of
-churches, developed in a past generation, and under the ministry of a
-regiment of distinguished clergymen, then led by Beecher and Storrs,
-so that the popular title was well bestowed. Brooklyn is entirely the
-growth of the nineteenth century, a growth due to the inability of New
-York to spread, excepting far northward. It stretches several miles
-along East River and three or four miles inland, and grows rapidly.
-When the century began, however, it was hard work to find three
-thousand people there, and, strangely enough, they had to cross over
-to New York to go to church. Just about the time old Peter Minuit was
-buying Manhattan from the Indians, a band of Walloons first settled in
-Brooklyn. Their descendants drove cows across East River to Governor's
-Island to graze, the Buttermilk Channel between them being then
-shallow enough for fording, though it is now scoured out deep enough
-to float the largest vessels, the docks located where the cows then
-crossed now accommodating an enormous commerce. At first a little
-ferry from Fulton Street to Peck Slip, New York, accommodated the
-straggling village, and it has grown into more than a dozen steam
-ferries of the largest capacity, which (besides the bridge) will carry
-daily a half-million people across at one cent apiece, this fleet of
-packet-boats being the greatest transporters of humanity in the world.
-
-The Indians called the region around Wallabout Bay, and Gowanus
-Mercychawick, meaning "the sandy place." When the Walloons came along,
-they began settling on the shores of the bay, which they called
-Waal-bogt, afterwards gradually changed to its present name of
-Wallabout. In 1646 the town was organized by Governor Kieft as
-Breuckelen, he appointing Jan Eversen Bout and Huyck Aertsen as
-"schepens" or superintendents to preserve the peace and regulate the
-community. During the Revolution the British prison-ships were moored
-in the Wallabout, and it is estimated that eleven thousand five
-hundred Americans, chiefly seamen, died upon them, the shores of the
-bay being full of dead men's bones, which the tides for many years
-washed out from the sand. In 1808 these bones were finally collected
-and put in a vault near the Navy Yard, which had been established on
-the bay. This is the chief naval station of the United States,
-covering about eighty-eight acres, including all the available space.
-There is attached a large naval hospital, while between the two is the
-immense Wallabout Market, covering forty-five acres, the largest in
-Brooklyn, its buildings being brick structures in the old Dutch style.
-
-Fulton Street is the chief highway of Brooklyn, beginning almost under
-the shadow of the great Bridge. It is a broad and attractive street,
-stretching six miles to the eastern edge of the city, and about one
-mile from the river it passes the various city buildings, including
-the Post-office, Court-house and Borough Hall, all handsome
-structures. In front of the Borough Hall is a fine statue of
-Brooklyn's most famous clergyman, Henry Ward Beecher. From Fulton
-Street radiate several of the highways leading into the fashionable
-residential quarter,--Brooklyn or Columbia Heights,--overlooking East
-River, where the tree-bordered streets are lined with costly and
-attractive dwellings. Here in Orange Street, in a very quiet spot, is
-Brooklyn's most noted edifice, a plain, wide, unornamented brick
-building, with the inscription, "Plymouth Church, 1849." Here preached
-for nearly forty years, until he died in 1887, Beecher, the great
-Puritan, whose family was so noted. His father, Lyman Beecher, like
-the son, fought slavery and intemperance in Boston, Litchfield and
-Cincinnati, and was an impressive pulpit orator. The old man was
-eccentric, however, and after being wrought up by the excitement of
-preaching, is said to have gone home and let himself down by playing
-on the fiddle and dancing a double-shuffle in the parlor. He had
-thirteen children, nearly all famous, and has been described as "the
-father of more brains than any other man in America." Four sons were
-clergymen and two daughters noted authoresses. Henry Ward, who ruled
-Brooklyn, and Harriet, who wrote _Uncle Tom's Cabin_, were among the
-great leaders of the anti-slavery movement.
-
-Clinton Street leaves Fulton a little beyond Orange, and passes
-southward through Brooklyn Heights, being the chief street of the
-fashionable district. Embowered in trees, handsome churches and
-residences border it, and Pierrepont, Remsen, Montague and other noted
-streets extend at right angles from it to the edge of the bluff, where
-the Heights fall sharply off to the river. Here, at seventy feet
-elevation, and overlooking the lower level of buildings and piers at
-the water's edge, are the terraces where the finest residences are
-located, having a magnificent outlook upon the harbor and New York
-City beyond. The ships land their cargoes within almost a stone's
-throw of the palaces. In this district there are several large
-apartment-houses and various clubs, a statue of Alexander Hamilton
-adorning the front of the Hamilton Club at Remsen and Clinton Streets.
-Upon Remsen Street is another noted building, the Congregational
-"Church of the Pilgrims," a spacious graystone edifice with towers,
-its most prominent tower and spire being a commanding landmark for
-vessels sailing up New York Bay. There is let into the outer wall of
-this church, about six feet above the pavement, a small piece of the
-original "Plymouth Rock" whereon the Pilgrims in 1620 landed in
-Massachusetts Bay--a dark, rough-hewn fragment, projecting with
-irregular surface a few inches from the wall. As an author, lecturer
-and preacher, the veteran pastor for over a half-century, Dr. Richard
-Salter Storrs, acquired wide renown. Upon Clinton Street is the
-elegant Pointed Gothic brownstone St. Ann's Episcopal Church, famous
-for its choir, and on Montague Street the Holy Trinity Church, its
-spire rising two hundred and seventy-five feet. But almost everywhere
-are churches, there being about five hundred in Brooklyn. The noted
-Pratt Institute is one of the best known charities of the city,
-founded and endowed by Charles Pratt, an oil prince, as a technical
-school, its spacious and well-equipped buildings caring for
-thirty-four hundred students. The object of this noble institution is
-"to promote manual and industrial education, and to inculcate habits
-of industry and thrift."
-
-
-GREENWOOD CEMETERY AND PROSPECT PARK.
-
-A border of tombs almost surrounds Brooklyn, for in the suburbs are
-the great cemeteries which are the burial-places of both cities. In
-lovely situations upon the surrounding hills are Greenwood, Cypress
-Hills, Evergreen, Holy Cross, Calvary, Mount Olivet, The Citizens'
-Union, Washington and other cemeteries, occupying many hundreds of
-acres. Of these, the noted Greenwood is the chief, covering some four
-hundred acres on Gowanus Heights, south of the city. This is a high
-ridge dividing Brooklyn from the lowlands on the south side of Long
-Island, and it has elevations giving charming views. The route to it
-crosses various railroads leading to Coney Island, which is the
-ultimate objective point of most Brooklyn lines of transit. A neat
-lawn-bordered road leads up to the magnificent cemetery entrance on
-Fifth Avenue, an elaborate and much ornamental brownstone structure
-rising into a central pinnacle over a hundred feet high. This entrance
-covers two fine gateways, with representations of Gospel scenes, the
-principal being the Raising of Lazarus and the Resurrection. The
-grounds display great beauty, the ridgy, rounded hills spreading in
-all directions, the surface being an alternation of hills and vales,
-vaults terracing the hillsides, with elaborate mausoleums above and
-frequent little lakes nestling in the pleasant valleys. Vast sums have
-been expended on some of the grander tombs, which are upon a scale of
-great magnificence. The attractive rural names of the walks and
-avenues, the delicious flowers and foliage, the balmy air, the lakes,
-valleys and points of beautiful outlook giving grand views over New
-York Bay and the surrounding country, make Greenwood a park as well as
-a cemetery, and it is generally admitted to be without a peer. Many
-costly pantheons and chapels cover the remains of well-known people,
-and one mausoleum is a large marble church. A three-sided monument of
-peculiar construction standing on a knoll marks the resting-place of
-Samuel F. B. Morse, the telegrapher. Horace Greeley's tomb has his
-bust in bronze on a pedestal. A colossal statue surmounts the grave of
-the great De Witt Clinton, the Governor of New York who built the Erie
-Canal and thus secured the commercial supremacy of the city. The
-romantic career of Lola Montez ended in Greenwood. Commodore Garrison,
-who was at one time Vanderbilt's rival in steamship management, is
-interred in a mosque. The tomb of the Steinways is a large granite
-building. A magnificent marble canopy crowns the Scribner tomb, having
-beneath it an angel of mercy. There is an appropriate monument to
-Roger Williams. Here are also buried Elias Howe, the inventor of the
-sewing-machine, Peter Cooper, Henry Ward Beecher, James Gordon
-Bennett, Henry George and others of fame. The Firemen, the Pilots and
-the New York Volunteers all have grand monuments, the statue sentinels
-of the latter overlooking the bay. Among these magnificent sepulchres,
-probably the most magnificent is that of Charlotte Canda, an heiress,
-who died in early youth, her fortune being expended upon her tomb.
-
-There is a high lookout upon the eastern border of this attractive
-place, where the flat land at the base of the ridge spreads for miles
-away to the sea. The Coney Island hotels, by the ocean side, are dim
-in the distance, and far over the water the Navesink Highlands close
-the view beyond Sandy Hook. The many railroads leading to Coney Island
-can be traced out, as on a map, across the level land. Over on the
-western side of the cemetery is another lookout, having a broad view
-of Brooklyn and the harbor, extending to the hills of Staten Island
-and the distant Jersey lowlands beyond. This is the verge of Gowanus
-Heights, with the busy commerce of the port spread at its base. It is
-this magnificent scene which the marble sentinels overlook who are
-guarding the Volunteers' Monument erected by the city of New York.
-
-Between Greenwood Cemetery and Prospect Park there are various
-railways, all going to Coney Island, and also the Ocean Parkway,
-leading thither, a splendid boulevard, two hundred feet wide, and
-planted with six rows of trees, being flanked on either side by a
-broad cycle-path. It is laid in a straight line from the southwestern
-corner of the Park for three miles to the great seaside resort.
-Prospect Park covers nearly a square mile on an elevated ridge on the
-edge of Brooklyn, and it has great natural attractions which did not
-need much change to improve the landscape, while the fine old trees
-that have been there for centuries are in magnificent maturity. Its
-woods and meadows, winding roads, lakes and views, combine many
-charms. On Lookout Hill, rising two hundred feet, the most commanding
-point, with a view almost entirely around the compass, there is a
-monument on the slope in memory of the Maryland troops who fell in the
-Revolutionary battle of Long Island, fought in August, 1776, on these
-heights. The Park is ornamented with several statues, including one of
-Abraham Lincoln, and there is a bust of John Howard Payne, the author
-of _Home, Sweet Home_. It has an extensive lake, a deer preserve,
-children's playgrounds, and a concert grove and promenade. The main
-entrance is a fine elliptical plaza with a splendid fountain, and
-adorned by a Memorial Arch to the Soldiers and Sailors of the Civil
-War, and a statue of James Stranahan, a venerable citizen of Brooklyn,
-foremost in all its good works, who died in 1898. The Brooklyn
-Institute, an academy of art and science with a large membership, has
-a large building in the Park.
-
-
-CONEY ISLAND.
-
-Pretty much all routes through Brooklyn, as already indicated, lead to
-Coney Island, the barren strip of white sand, clinging to the southern
-edge of Long Island, about ten miles from New York, which is the
-objective point of the populace when in sweltering summer weather they
-crave a breath of sea air. The antiquarians of the island insist that
-it was the earliest portion of these adjacent coasts discovered, and
-tell how Verrazani came along about 1529 and found this sand-strip,
-and how Hudson, nearly a century later, held conferences with the
-Indians on the island. But however that may be, its wonderful
-development as a summer resort has only come since the Civil War. It
-has a hard and gently-sloping beach facing the Atlantic, and can be so
-easily and cheaply reached, by so many routes on land and water, that
-it is no wonder, on hot afternoons and holidays, the people of New
-York and Brooklyn go down there by the hundreds of thousands. Coney
-Island is about five miles long, and from a quarter-mile to a mile in
-width, being separated from the adjacent low-lying mainland only by a
-little crooked creek and some lagoons. It has two bays deeply indented
-behind it, Gravesend Bay on the west and Sheepshead Bay on the east.
-The name is derived from Cooney Island, meaning the "Rabbit Island,"
-rabbits having been the chief inhabitants in earlier days. The Coney
-Island season of about a hundred days, from June until September, is
-an almost uninterrupted festival, and nothing can exceed the jollity
-on these beaches, when a hot summer sun drives the people down to the
-shore to seek relief and have a good time. They spread over the miles
-of sand-strip, with scores of bands of music of varying merit in full
-blast, minstrel shows, miniature theatres, Punch and Judy,
-merry-go-rounds and carrousels, big snakes, fat women, giant, dwarf,
-midget and pugilistic exhibitions, shooting-galleries, concerts,
-circuses, fortune-tellers, swings, toboggan slides, scenic railways,
-and myriads of other attractions; lakes of beer on tap, with ample
-liquids of greater strength; and everywhere a good-humoured crowd,
-sight-seeing and enjoying themselves, eating, drinking, and very
-numerously consuming the great Coney Island delicacy, "clam-chowder."
-To the clam, which is universal and popular, the visitors pay special
-tribute. This famous bivalve is the _Mya Arenaria_ of the New England
-coast, said to have been for years the chief food of the Pilgrim
-fathers. Being found in abundance in all the neighboring waters, it is
-served in every style, according to taste. As the Coney Island "Song
-of the Clam" has it:
-
- "Who better than I? in chowder or pie,
- Baked, roasted, raw or fried?
- I hold the key to society,
- And am always welcome inside."
-
-The long and narrow Coney Island sand-strip may be divided into four
-distinctive sections--a succession of villages chiefly composed of
-restaurants, lodging-houses and hotels, built along the edge of the
-beach, and usually on a single road behind it. In the past generation
-the rougher classes best knew its western end or Norton's Point, a
-resort of long standing. The middle of the island is a locality of
-higher grade--West Brighton Beach. Here great iron piers project into
-the ocean, being availed of for steamboat landings, restaurants and
-amusement places, while beneath are bathing establishments.
-Electricity and fireworks are used extensively to add to the
-attractions, and there is also a tall Observatory. The broad Ocean
-Parkway, coming down from Prospect Park and Brooklyn, terminates at
-West Brighton Beach. East of this is a partially vacant, semi-marshy
-space, beyond which is Brighton Beach, there being a roadway and
-elevated railroad connecting them. Brighton is the third section, and
-about a half-mile farther east is the fourth and most exclusive
-section--Manhattan Beach. Here are the more elaborate and costly Coney
-Island hotels. In all this district the power of the ocean is shown in
-the effect of great storms, which wash away roads, railways and
-buildings, and shift enormous amounts of the sands from one locality,
-piling them up in front of another. Huge hotels have had to be moved,
-in some cases bodily, a thousand feet back inland from the ocean
-front, to save them, and immense bulkheads constructed for protection;
-but sometimes the waves play havoc with these. Very much of the money
-spent by the visitors has to be devoted to saving the place and
-preventing the wreck of the great buildings. But this does not worry
-the visitors so much as it does the landlords. On a hot day the vast
-crowds arriving on the trains are poured into the hotels, and swarm
-out upon the grounds fronting them, where the bands play. Here the
-orchestras give concerts to enormous audiences. The piazzas are filled
-with supper-parties, the music amphitheatres are crowded, and
-thousands saunter over the lawns. As evening advances, the blaze of
-electric illumination and brilliancy of fireworks are added, and the
-music, bustling crowds and general hilarity give the air of a splendid
-festival. The bathing establishments are crowded, and many go into the
-surf under the brilliant illumination. Not a tree will grow, so that
-the view over the sea is unobstructed, and out in front is the pathway
-of ocean commerce into New York harbor, with the twinkling, guiding
-lights of Sandy Hook and its attendant lightships beyond. What a
-guardian to the mariner is the lighthouse:
-
- "'Tis like a patient, faithful soul
- That, having reached its saintly goal,
- And seeing others far astray
- In storms of darkness and dismay,
- Shines out o'er life's tempestuous sea,
- A beacon to some sheltered lee,--
- The haven of eternity."
-
-The tall Observatory, on its airy steel framework, rises three hundred
-feet to overlook the wonderful scene. When the top is reached, the
-first impression made is by the dissonant clangor of the many bands of
-music below, heard with singular clearness and much more intensity of
-sound than on the ground. This discord ascends from all sorts of
-structures, generally having flat pitch-and-gravel roofs, forming a
-variegated carpet far below. Coney Island stretches along the ocean's
-edge, with the lines of foaming surf slowly rolling in. To the
-eastward, at Brighton and Manhattan Beaches, it bends backward like a
-bow, with semicircular indentations where the sea has made its
-inroads. To the westward, the curve of the beach is reversed, and the
-extreme point of the island ends in a knob having a distinctive hook
-bent back on the northern side. Behind the long and narrow strip of
-sand there are patches of grass, and much marsh and meadow, spreading
-away to the northward, and meandering through the marsh can be traced
-the crooked little tidal creek and series of lagoons separating Coney
-from the mainland. Far away northward runs the broad tree-bordered
-Ocean Parkway, with the hills of Prospect Park and the tombs and
-foliage of Greenwood Cemetery hiding Brooklyn, and closing the view at
-the distant horizon. Various railways stretch in the same direction,
-some crossing the bogs on extended trestle-bridges. Many carriages are
-moving and thousands of people walking about in the streets and open
-spaces beneath us, while upon the ocean side the piers extend out in
-front, with their steamboats sailing to or from the Narrows to the
-northward, around the knob and hook at Norton's Point. Far south over
-the water are the distant Navesink Highlands behind Sandy Hook and the
-low adjacent New Jersey Coast, gradually blending into the Staten
-Island hills to the westward. Around from the south to the east is the
-broad and limitless expanse of ocean, where, in the words of Heinrich
-Heine:
-
- "The cloudlets are lazily sailing
- O'er the blue Atlantic sea."
-
-Far to the eastward, seen across the broad Jamaica Bay, are more low
-sandy beaches, each with its popular resort, though all pale before
-the crowning glories of Coney Island. There is Rockaway, with its iron
-pier and railway connecting with the mainland to the northeast, also
-Arverne and Edgemere, the distant cottage-studded Long Beach, and the
-hazy sand-beaches of Far Rockaway. And as we gaze over this wondrous
-scene down by the water side, the freshening wind gives a pleasant
-foretaste of old ocean, and recalls the invocation of Barry Cornwall:
-
- "The sea! the sea! the open sea!
- The blue, the fresh, the ever free!
- Without a mark, without a bound,
- It runneth the earth's wide regions round.
-
- "I'm on the sea! I'm on the sea!
- I am where I would ever be,
- With the blue above, and the blue below,
- And silence wheresoe'er I go.
-
- "I never was on the dull tame shore,
- But I loved the great sea more and more."
-
-
-
-
-THE ENVIRONMENT OF LONG ISLAND SOUND.
-
-
-
-
-IX.
-
-THE ENVIRONMENT OF LONG ISLAND SOUND.
-
- The Isle of Nassau -- Captain Adraien Blok -- Roodt Eylandt --
- Block Island -- Great South Bay -- Great South Beach -- Jamaica
- Bay -- Hempstead Bay -- Fire Island and its Lighthouse --
- Shinnecock -- Quogue-East Hampton -- Lyman Beecher -- John
- Howard Payne -- Garden City -- Jericho -- Elias Hicks --
- Flushing Bay -- Throgg's Neck -- Willett's Point -- Little Neck
- Bay -- Great Neck -- Sands Point -- Harbor Hill -- William
- Cullen Bryant -- Oyster Bay -- Lloyds' Neck -- Nathan Hale --
- Ronkonkoma Lake -- The Wampum Makers -- Mamaroneck -- Byram
- River -- The Wooden-Nutmeg State -- Brother Jonathan --
- Greenwich -- Old Put's Hill -- Stamford -- Colonel Abraham
- Davenport -- The Dark Day -- Norwalk -- Sasco Swamp --
- Fairfield -- Pequannock River -- Bridgeport -- Phineas T.
- Barnum -- Joyce Heth -- General Tom Thumb -- Jenny Lind -- Old
- Stratford -- Milford -- New Haven -- Quinnepiack -- John
- Davenport -- Yale College -- Killingworth -- Elihu Yale --
- Steamboat Fulton -- East and West Rocks -- The Regicides --
- Wallingford -- James Hillhouse -- Savin Rock -- Saybrook Point
- -- Guilford -- Connecticut River -- The Sachem's Head --
- Thimble Islands -- Saybrook Platform -- Old Saybrook -- Thames
- River -- New London -- Groton -- Silas Deane -- Fort Hill --
- Pequot Hill -- Defeat of the Pequots -- Pawcatuck -- Stonington
- -- Watch Hill Point -- Westerly -- Orient Point -- Plum Island
- -- Plum Gut -- Shelter Island -- The Gull Islands -- The Horse
- Race -- Fisher's Island -- Gardiner's Island -- Lyon Gardiner
- -- Captain Kidd and his Buried Treasures -- Sag Harbor --
- Montauk Indians -- Money Pond -- Fort Pond Bay -- Montauk Point
- and its Lighthouse -- Ultima Thule -- Isle of Manisees -- Block
- Islanders -- Whittier -- Palatine Wreck.
-
-
-THE ISLE OF NASSAU.
-
-The first white man who sailed upon Long Island Sound was the bluff
-old Dutch navigator, Captain Adraien Blok. Desirous of adventure and
-spoil, he built upon the shore of the Battery, in 1614, the first ship
-ever constructed at New York, a blunt-pointed Dutch sloop-yacht of
-sixteen tons, which he named the "Onrest." The four little huts he had
-upon the shore to house his builders and crew were among the first
-structures of the early Manhattan colony. Fitting her out, he braved
-the terrors of the Hell Gate passage and started on a voyage of
-discovery on Long Island Sound, which he explored throughout. He found
-the mouth of the principal river of New England, the Connecticut, and
-coasting around Point Judith, entered Narragansett Bay, and cast
-anchor before an island with such conspicuously red-clay shores that
-he called it Roodt Eylandt, or the Red Island, on which Newport now
-stands. Then he ventured out to sea and found the bluff shores of
-Block Island, to which he gave his own name. Sated with exploration
-and loaded with spoil exchanged with the Indians, he then returned to
-New York and told of his wonderful adventures. His was the first
-vessel, manned by white men, known to have sailed upon the
-"Mediterranean of America," as Long Island Sound is popularly called.
-This grand inland sea is generally from twenty to thirty miles wide,
-and is enclosed by Long Island, the ancient Isle of Nassau of the
-Dutch, stretching for one hundred and thirty miles eastward from New
-York harbor, and being likened to a fish lying upon the water. It has
-a generally bluff northern shore along the Sound, and the southern
-coast, which is low and level almost to the eastern extremity, lies
-nearly due east and west, the island finally breaking into a chain of
-narrow peninsulas and islands facing the rising sun. The southern
-border is a continuous line of broad lagoons, separated from the
-Atlantic by long and narrow sand-bars. The chief lagoon is the Great
-South Bay, eighty miles long, fronted by the curious formation of the
-Great South Beach, stretching its entire length, and from one to five
-miles wide. Upon the outer beaches, and within the lagoons, are a
-succession of noted seashore resorts. Eastward, beyond Jamaica Bay and
-Rockaway, is Long Beach, and behind it Hempstead Bay. Then come Jones'
-Beach and Oak Island, with Massapequa, Amityville and Lindenhurst
-behind them. Then we are at Babylon and Bayshore, with the Great South
-Bay fronted by Fire Island, and beyond it the long sand-strip of the
-Great South Beach. The famous lighthouse of Fire Island, the guiding
-beacon to New York, one hundred and sixty-eight feet high, is flanked
-by summer hotels, and its flashing electric light of twenty-three
-million candlepower is the most powerful on the Atlantic Coast. The
-Great South Bay spreads far eastward past Patchogue to Moriches, and
-then comes Quogue and the Hamptons, where the level land rises into
-the Shinnecock hills. At the eastern extremity are Amagansett and
-Montauk. It is a long coast, fringed with lights to point the
-mariner's way into New York harbor.
-
-They tell us that when the "Onrest" came into the Sound there were
-thirteen tribes of Indians on Long Island, and that it was the mint
-for the aborigines, these tribes being the great makers of wampum, the
-Indian money, for which its beaches and bays furnished the materials.
-The Montauks, on the eastern end, were the most formidable, and were
-usually carrying on wars with the Pequots, across the Sound in New
-England. Out on Shinnecock Neck is the reservation where live the
-small remnant of the Shinnecock tribe, there being barely a hundred of
-them, each family in a little house on a little farm it tills. Around
-Jamaica Bay once lived the Jameko tribe, all now disappeared. At
-quaintly named Quogue, Daniel Webster used to go fishing and bathing.
-The hill tops of the Hamptons have perched upon them the picturesque
-old Dutch windmills which are so attractive to the artists, and at
-East Hampton still stands the venerable gabled house where lived Lyman
-Beecher in his earlier ministry, and where his elder children,
-Catharine and Edward Beecher, were born. Here also passed his boyhood,
-before he began wandering over the earth, the author of _Home, Sweet
-Home_, John Howard Payne, his father being the village schoolmaster.
-Payne's quaint little shingled cottage is East Hampton's most sacred
-memorial. The inhabitants of East Hampton are so much in love with
-their healthy home, which dates from 1648, that on its two hundred and
-fiftieth anniversary, celebrated in 1898, the announcement was made
-that they "like East Hampton in a thick fog better than any other
-place in full sunshine." Eastward from Jamaica, in the western centre
-of Long Island, are Creedmoor, the noted rifle range, Hempstead, where
-the New York troops were mobilized in 1898 for the Spanish War, and
-Garden City, the model suburban town laid out by Alexander T. Stewart,
-containing a handsome Episcopal Cathedral. Not far away is Hicksville,
-and to the northward the ancient town of Jericho. This was a tract
-bought from the Indians by Robert, the brother of Roger Williams, in
-1650, which afterwards became a place of Quaker settlement, and here
-lived and preached for sixty years the famous Elias Hicks, the founder
-of one of the Quaker sects. He was an opponent of war and of slavery,
-and rode all over the country as a missionary preacher.
-
-
-THE NORTHERN LONG ISLAND SHORE.
-
-The steamboat entering Long Island Sound from New York, after passing
-Hell Gate and crossing Flushing Bay, emerges from the strait of East
-River between Throgg's Neck and Whitestone. Upon the end of Throgg's
-Neck, the jutting point has the graystone ramparts and surmounting
-earthworks of its ancient guardian, Fort Schuyler. Thrust forward from
-the Long Island shore, as if to meet it, is the protruding headland of
-Willett's Point, the Government torpedo station. Here also is an old
-stone fort down by the waterside, with the extensive ramparts of a
-modern fort on the bluff above. These are the defensive works
-commanding the approach to New York from Long Island Sound. In the
-neighboring havens are favorite anchorages for yachts. Beyond are the
-expansive waters of the Sound, and far off southward, thrust into the
-land, are the deep recesses of Little Neck Bay, made famous by its
-clams, and protected to the eastward by the curiously bifurcated
-peninsula of Great Neck. The northern Long Island shore is very
-irregular, and rises into hills. Bold peninsulas and deep bays form
-it, the surface being corrugated into hillocks and valleys, and
-penetrated by narrow, shallow harbors. The waves of the Sound have
-eroded the shores into steep and often precipitous bluffs of gravel,
-sometimes rising a hundred feet above the water, where narrow beaches,
-strewn with boulders, border them. At Sands Point is a great peninsula
-protruding in high sandy bluffs, and behind it is the highest mountain
-on Long Island, Harbor Hill, rising three hundred and fifty feet above
-the village of Roslyn, at the head of the deeply indented
-Hempstead Harbor, where lived at his home of Cedarmere, for many
-years, William Cullen Bryant, who now sleeps in the little cemetery.
-
- [Illustration: _William Cullen Bryant at "Cedarhurst," Roslyn_]
-
-Oyster Bay is deeply indented into the land to the eastward,
-surrounded by villas and attractive homes, and beyond protrudes the
-broad, high headland of Lloyds' Neck. This was strongly fortified by
-the British in the Revolution, and King William IV., then the youthful
-Duke of Clarence, was at one time an officer of the garrison. It was
-attacked and captured by the Americans who came over from Connecticut
-in 1779, the garrison being taken prisoners. Subsequently the British
-again took possession, and the French from Newport attacked them in
-1781, but were repulsed. The hero of Oyster Bay is Captain Nathan Hale
-of Connecticut, whose statue stands in New York City Hall Park. He had
-been sent by Washington in 1776, across the Sound, to examine the
-British defenses of Brooklyn, and, returning, was captured by some
-Tories at Oyster Bay, and the next day hanged in New York as a spy.
-Though but twenty-one years old, he met his fate bravely, saying: "I
-only regret that I have but one life to give for my country." The
-British destroyed his farewell letters, the provost-marshal saying
-"that the rebels should not know they had a man in their army who
-could die with so much firmness." Oyster Bay was bought in 1653 from
-the Matinecock Indians by a Pilgrim colony from Sandwich,
-Massachusetts, and a treaty made at Hartford established it as the
-boundary between the Dutch of New York and the English of New England.
-To the eastward are Huntingdon, Setauket and Port Jefferson, popular
-resorts, and inland are Jerusalem and Islip, the latter settled and
-named in the seventeenth century by emigrants from old Islip,
-Oxfordshire, England. Here is the famous Ronkonkoma Lake, so named by
-the Indians from the white sand of its shores. It is a pretty sheet of
-fresh water among the forests, about a mile in diameter, of great
-depth, and has neither inlet nor outlet, though its surface level
-regularly rises and falls every four years. Here lived the chief
-wampum makers, the Secatogue and Patchogue tribes. Their wampum mainly
-consisted of the thick blue part of clam shells, ground into the form
-of bugle beads, and strung upon cards a foot long.
-
-
-ENTERING NEW ENGLAND.
-
-Coming out of New York on the northern shore of Long Island Sound, the
-land is found to be profusely sprinkled with outcropping rocks, a
-development so universal that to one place the Indians gave the name
-of Mamaroneck, meaning "the place of rolling-stones." These rocks are
-gathered into piles for fences, which cross the surface in all
-directions, and it requires serious effort to till the stony land.
-About twenty-five miles from New York is the Byram River, the
-Connecticut boundary, the old saying being that New England stretches
-"from Quoddy Head to Byram River." This original Yankee land, though
-the smallest section of the United States, has made the deepest
-impress upon the American character. They have not enjoyed the
-agricultural advantages of other sections, the bleak climate, poor
-soil and lavish distribution of rocks and sterility making farming
-hard work with meagre results, so that the chief Yankee energy has
-been devoted to the development of manufactures, literature, commerce
-and the fisheries; this wonderful race who have had to practically
-live by their wits having admirably succeeded. Crossing Byram River
-brings us into the "Land of Steady Habits," Connecticut, the
-"Wooden-Nutmeg State," the special home of "Yankee Notions," which
-gave the country the original personation of "Brother Jonathan" in
-Governor Jonathan Trumbull, who was so useful to General Washington.
-Consulting him in many emergencies, Washington was wont to remark,
-"Let us hear what Brother Jonathan says," a phrase finally popularly
-adopted by making him the national impersonation.
-
-Connecticut has the great Puritan College of the country--Yale--ruled
-by the Congregationalists. It has varied manufactures, to which its
-abundant water-powers contribute, and in which nearly all its people
-are engaged, its methods being largely the inventions of its own
-sons, of whom three are prominent--Eli Whitney of the cotton-gin,
-Samuel Colt of the revolver, and Charles Goodyear of india-rubber
-fame. When De Tocqueville was in America, he was much impressed by the
-development of the inventive genius, education and political force of
-the State, which he described as a little yellow spot on the map, and
-at a dinner he proposed a toast, saying, in his quaint, broken
-English: "And now for my grand sentiment: Connect-de-coot--de leetle
-yellow spot dat make de clock-peddler, de school-master and de
-Senator; de first give you time, de second tell you what to do with
-him, and de third make your law and civilization." Connecticut gets
-more patents proportionately than any other State, one to eight
-hundred inhabitants being annually granted; it makes clocks for all
-the world, and leads in india-rubber and elastic goods, in hardware
-and myriads of "Yankee notions," besides being well in the front for
-sewing-machines, arms and war material. It is named after the chief
-New England river, and its rugged surface is diversified by long
-ridges of hills and deep valleys, running generally from north to
-south, being the prolongation of mountain ranges and intervales that
-are beyond the northern border. The picturesque Housatonic comes from
-the Massachusetts Berkshire hills down through the western counties;
-the centre is crossed by the Connecticut Valley, which has great
-fertility and beautiful scenery, while in the eastern section the
-Quinnebaug River makes a deep valley, and, flowing into the Thames,
-seeks the Sound at New London. These many hills make many streams, all
-having water-powers, around which cluster numerous busy factories.
-
-The southwestern town of Connecticut is Greenwich, and in front
-Greenwich Point is thrust out into the Sound, while, as the Yankee
-land is entered by railway, on a high hill stands the Puritan outpost,
-seen from afar--a stately graystone Congregational Church with its
-tall spire. The ancient Greenwich village was built on the hillside at
-Horse Neck, and it was here, in 1779, that General Putnam swiftly
-galloped down the rude rocky stairway leading from the old church, to
-get away from the British dragoons, on what has since been known as
-"Old Put's Hill," and they were too much astonished either to chase or
-shoot him. Beyond is Stamford, a busy factory town, where lived in the
-eighteenth century Colonel Abraham Davenport, described as "a man of
-stern integrity and generous benevolence." He was a legislator, and
-when, on May 19, 1780, the memorable "Dark Day" came in New England,
-some one, fearing it was the day of judgment, proposed that the House
-adjourn. Davenport opposed it, saying, "The day of judgment is either
-approaching, or it is not; if it is, I choose to be found doing my
-duty; I wish therefore that candles may be brought." This scene has
-been immortalized by Whittier. The town of Norwalk is beyond, another
-nest of busy mills, spreading upward on the hill-slopes from the
-Sound. The original settlers bought from the Indians in 1640 a tract
-extending "one day's north walk" from the Sound, and hence the name.
-Fine oysters are gathered in the spacious bay, and the people make
-shoes and hats, locks and door-knobs. On the lowlands to the eastward
-the Pequot Indian nation, once ruling all this part of New England,
-the name meaning "the destroyers," was finally overpowered in 1637 by
-the Colonial troops in the Sasco Swamp, now a cultivated farm, with
-almost the only highly fertile land seen in the immediate region. Most
-of the Pequots were captured and sold as slaves in the West Indies.
-Beyond is tranquil Fairfield, embowered in trees and introduced by a
-rubber-factory, its green-bordered streets lined with cottages, and
-church-spires rising among the groves, while along the shore it has
-the finest beach on Long Island Sound.
-
-
-BRIDGEPORT, OLD STRATFORD AND MILFORD.
-
-Pequannock, the "dark river" of the Indians, flows out of the hills to
-an inlet of the Sound, where the enormous mills of the active city of
-Bridgeport have gathered a population of over fifty thousand people,
-in a hive containing some of the world's greatest establishments for
-constructing sewing-machines and firearms, building carriages, and
-making cutlery, corsets and soaps, while other goods also occupy
-attention. The grand Seaside Park esplanade overlooks the harbor, and
-towards the north the city stretches up the slopes into Golden Hill,
-named from its glittering mica deposits, where magnificent streets
-display splendid buildings. When the Pequots were exterminated in
-1637, colonists founded this town, gradually crowding the Paugusset
-Indians, who owned the land, into a small reservation on Golden Hill.
-The great establishments to-day are the Wheeler and Wilson and Howe
-Sewing-Machine Works, Sharp's Rifle Factory and the Union Metallic
-Cartridge Company; and Bridgeport is also the headquarters of the
-chief American circus. The stately and high-towered mansion of
-Waldemere fronts the park, and was the home of Bridgeport's best-known
-townsman, the veteran showman, Phineas T. Barnum. Born in Connecticut,
-at Bethel, in 1810, he died at Bridgeport in 1891. He first developed
-the financial advantages of amusing the public, and possibly
-humbugging them on a grand scale, and by working upon his oft-quoted
-theory that "the people liked to be humbugged," twice amassed a large
-fortune. In early life he wandered over the country earning a
-precarious livelihood in various occupations, and in Philadelphia in
-1834 began his career as a showman. He bought for $1000 a colored
-slave-woman, Joyce Heth, represented to be the nurse of George
-Washington and one hundred and sixty-one years old. From her
-exhibition his receipts reached $1500 a week, and she died the next
-year. In 1842 he began exhibiting Charles S. Stratton, "General Tom
-Thumb," a native of Bridgeport, born in 1832, whose size and growth
-were as usual until his seventh month, when he had a stature of
-twenty-eight inches, and ceased to grow. Barnum exhibited him in the
-United States, France and England, and attracted world-wide notoriety.
-Barnum started the American fashion of paying extravagant sums to
-opera-singers, in 1849 engaging Jenny Lind to sing at one hundred and
-fifty concerts in America for $1000 a night, the gross receipts of a
-nine months' tour being $712,000. He subsequently had his fortune
-swept away through endorsing $1,000,000 notes for a manufacturing
-establishment that went down in the panic of 1857. His fortunes were
-revived, however; he had museums in the leading cities, and in his
-later life had the "Greatest Show on Earth," which set out every
-spring from Bridgeport. Tom Thumb in 1863 married Lavinia Warren of
-Middleboro', Massachusetts, a dwarf like himself, and he died in 1882.
-
-To the eastward a short distance, and in sharp contrast with active
-Bridgeport, is quiet old Stratford, with Stratford Point protruding in
-front into the Sound, at the entrance of the stately and placid
-Housatonic, which comes down through the meadowland just beyond the
-village. Here there are neither watering-place hotel nor busy factory
-to disturb the ancient order of things, encumber the greensward, or
-encroach upon the sleepy and comfortable houses, where one may dream
-away in the twilight, under the shade of grand trees that are even
-older than the town. Stratford is much the same now as when settled by
-a Puritan colony from Massachusetts in 1639, the leader and pastor
-being Adam Blackman, whom Cotton Mather called "a Nazarite purer than
-snow and whiter than milk." Across the patches of marshland, adjoining
-the Housatonic, is Milford, its half-mile-long stretch of village
-green neatly enclosed, and its houses upon the bank of the silvery
-Wap-o-wang, back of which spread the wide streets lined by rows of
-overarching elms. A colony from Milford in England settled here in
-1639 and soon crowded the Indians off the land, establishing the
-primitive church, which was the usual beginning of New England
-settlements. Then, true to the American instinct, they proceeded to
-hold a convention, the result being the adoption of the following
-platform:
-
-_Voted_, That the earth is the Lord's and the fulness thereof.
-
-_Voted_, That the earth is given to the saints.
-
-_Voted_, That we are the saints.
-
-They had a good deal of trouble afterwards, both with the Dutch from
-New York and the Indians, but the saints ultimately possessed the
-earth in peace, and their successors are now making straw hats for
-the country.
-
-
-THE CITY OF ELMS.
-
-The city of New Haven, the most populous in Connecticut, having a
-hundred thousand people, is built upon a plain, surrounded by hills,
-at the head of a deep bay extending several miles northward from Long
-Island Sound. The magnificent elms, arching over the streets and the
-Public Green, and grandly rising in stately rows, make the earliest
-and the deepest impression upon the visitor. In one of his most
-eloquent passages, Henry Ward Beecher said that the elms of New
-England are as much a part of her beauty as the columns of the
-Parthenon were the glory of its architecture. The grand foliage-arched
-avenues of New Haven are unsurpassed elsewhere, so that they are the
-crowning glory as well as the constant care of the townsfolk. Among
-the finest is the avenue separating the Yale College grounds from the
-Public Green--a magnificent Gothic aisle of the richest
-foliage-covered interlacing boughs. The Indian name for the region
-round about New Haven was Quinnepiack, and the placid Quinnepiack
-River, coming from the northward, flows through a deep valley past the
-towering East Rock into the harbor. Old John Davenport was the leader
-and first pastor of the infant colony that settled here. He was a
-powerful Anglican parish pastor of London who had joined the Puritans,
-and in 1637 was forced to leave for New England with many of his
-people. They spent a year in Boston, but in April, 1638, sailed around
-Cape Cod to the Sound, and landed at Quinnepiack, where they laid out
-a town plan with nine squares for buildings, surrounding a large
-central square, the Public Green. At the foundation, Davenport
-delivered a most impressive sermon from the text, "Wisdom hath builded
-her house; she hath hewn out her seven pillars;" and from this came
-the original scheme of government for the colony by the seven leading
-church members, who were known as the "seven pillars." The colony got
-on well with the Indians, who revered Davenport, calling him "so big
-study man." They bought the whole tract of one hundred and thirty
-square miles from the Indians for thirteen coats. At first, however,
-they did not prosper, their trading ventures proving unfortunate, and
-they determined to abandon the place and remove elsewhere, selecting
-Jamaica, and afterwards Galloway in Ireland. The ship carrying their
-prospectors to Ireland sailed in January, 1647, but was never heard
-from afterwards, save when, as the legend has it, "the spectre of the
-ship sailed into the harbor in the teeth of a head-wind, and when in
-full view of the anxious people, it slowly melted into thin air and
-vanished." Then they decided to remain, and getting on better, in 1665
-united their plantation with that of Connecticut at Hartford, under
-the condition that each should be a capital, a compact observed until
-1874, when Hartford was made the sole capital. The British in July,
-1779, attacked and partly burnt and plundered the town, the Americans
-galling them by desultory attacks as they passed through the streets.
-They captured Rev. Naphtali Daggett, President of Yale College, musket
-in hand, and with repeated bayonet-thrusts forced him to guide them.
-When he was wearied and sore from wounds they asked, "Will you fight
-again?" He sturdily answered, "I rather believe I shall if I have an
-opportunity." Being forced to pray for the King, he did it thus: "O
-Lord, bless thy servant King George, and grant him wisdom, for thou
-knowest, O Lord, he needs it."
-
-The great fame of New Haven comes from Yale College, having two
-hundred and fifty instructors and over twenty-five hundred students,
-the orthodox Congregational University of New England, which for two
-centuries has exerted a most advantageous and widely diffused
-influence upon the American intellectual character, and around it and
-its multitude of buildings of every kind clusters the town. In the
-year 1700 ten clergymen planned to have a college in the colony of
-Connecticut, and for the purpose contributed as many books as they
-could spare for its library. In 1701 it was chartered, and began in a
-very small way at Saybrook, at the mouth of Connecticut River, during
-the first year having only one student. The pastor of the adjacent
-village of Killingworth was placed in charge, and for several years
-the students went there to him, though the commencements were held at
-Saybrook, and in 1707 the college was located at Saybrook.
-Subsequently, for a more convenient location, it was removed to New
-Haven, the first commencement being held there in 1718, and its first
-building being named Yale College, in honor of Elihu Yale, a native of
-the town, born in 1648, who went abroad, and afterwards became
-Governor of the East India Company. He made at different times gifts
-of books and money amounting to about five hundred pounds sterling,
-the benefactions being of greater value because of their timeliness.
-His name was afterwards adopted in the incorporation of the
-university. Timothy Dwight and Theodore D. Woolsey were perhaps the
-greatest Presidents of Yale, and among its graduates were Jonathan
-Edwards, Eli Whitney, Samuel F. B. Morse, Benjamin Silliman, Noah
-Webster, John C. Calhoun, J. Fenimore Cooper, James Kent, William M.
-Evarts, John Pierpont and Samuel J. Tilden. The College buildings are
-of various ages and styles of architecture, the original ones being
-the plain "Old Brick Row" on College Street, northwest of the Public
-Green, behind which what was formerly a large open space has been
-gradually covered with more modern structures. The line of ancient
-buildings facing the Green has a venerable and scholarly aspect,
-stretching broadly across the greensward, fronted by noble elms
-arranged in quadruple lines along the street. One of these houses,
-Connecticut Hall, was built with money raised by a lottery, and from
-the proceeds of a French prize-ship in the colonial wars, when
-Connecticut aided the King by equipping a frigate. There are on the
-campus statues of the first rector, Abraham Pierson, President Woolsey
-and Professor Silliman. Various elaborate buildings are also upon
-adjacent grounds, such as the Peabody Museum, the Sheffield Scientific
-School, of four halls; the Divinity Halls, Observatory, Laboratory and
-Gymnasium, while the entrance to the campus from the Public Green is
-by an imposing tower-gateway known as Phelps Hall. The Peabody Museum
-has one of the best natural-history collections in the country, and
-the College Library approximates three hundred thousand volumes.
-Besides the Academic Department, Yale has schools of Science, Law,
-Medicine, Theology and the Fine Arts, and its properties and
-endowments exceed $10,000,000, the grounds occupying nine acres.
-
-
-NEW HAVEN ATTRACTIONS.
-
-But New Haven is much more than Yale College. It is a great hive of
-industry, manufacturing all kinds of "Yankee notions," with
-agricultural machinery, corsets, scales, organs, pianos, carriages,
-hardware and other things, and it has a large commerce along the
-coast and with the West Indies. It was to New Haven that the first
-steamboat navigating Long Island Sound went from New York in March,
-1815, the Fulton, which occupied eleven hours in going there, and
-fifteen hours in returning two days later, being delayed by fog,
-subsequently, however, making the trip in less time. This boat was
-constructed by Robert Fulton, and carried a figure-head of him on her
-bow. She was one hundred and thirty-four feet long, and of three
-hundred and twenty-seven tons, built with a keel like a ship, having a
-sloop bow, and being rigged with one mast and sails to accelerate her
-speed. She was managed by Elihu S. Bunker, and her ability to pass
-through Hell Gate against a tide running six miles an hour was
-regarded as one of the marvels of that time. The New York _Evening
-Post_ of March 25, 1815, describing her, said, "We have been assured
-that this establishment has cost $90,000, and we believe it may with
-truth be affirmed that there is not in the whole world such
-accommodations afloat as the Fulton affords. Indeed, it is hardly
-possible to conceive that anything of the kind can exceed her in
-elegance and convenience." Many were the races she had with the
-"packet-sloops" that plied on the Sound and often beat her, when the
-wind was fair.
-
-There are tastefully adorned suburbs surrounding New Haven, where the
-hills afford charming prospects. The two great attractions, however,
-are the bold and impressive promontories known as the East and West
-Rocks, which are high buttresses of trap rock, lifting themselves from
-the plain on each side of the town in magnificent opposition, and
-rising four hundred feet. The geologists say they were driven up
-through the other strata, and some people think these grim precipices
-in remote ages may have sentinelled the outflow of the Connecticut
-River, between their broad and solid bases, to the Sound. Each
-tremendous cliff is the termination of a long mountain range coming
-down from the far North. The Green Mountain prolongation, stretching
-through ridges southward from Vermont, is represented in the West
-Rock, while the East Rock terminates the Mount Tom range, through
-which the Connecticut River breaks its passage in Massachusetts, and
-part of which rises a thousand feet in the "Blue Hills of
-Southington," which are the most elevated portion of Connecticut. Thus
-projected out upon the plain, almost to Long Island Sound, the summits
-of these two huge rocks afford grand views. In the Judge's Cave, a
-small cleft in a group of boulders on the West Rock, the three
-regicides, Goffe, Whalley and Dixwell were in hiding for some time in
-1661, and the three streets leading out to this rock from the city are
-named after them. It is recorded that a man living about a mile away
-took them food until one night a catamount looked in on them, and
-"blazed his eyes in such a frightful manner as greatly to terrify
-them." Dixwell's bones repose upon the Public Green at the back of the
-"Centre Church," which stands in the row of three churches occupying
-the middle of the Green that was the graveyard of colonial New Haven,
-and Whalley is buried nearby.
-
-There is a grand approach to the East Rock, which is elevated high
-above the marshy valley of Mill River, winding about its base, and
-upon the topmost crag is a noble monument reared to the soldiers who
-fell in the Civil War. The whole surface of the East Rock is a park,
-and upon the face of the cliff the perpendicular strata of
-reddish-brown trap stand bolt upright. From this elevated outpost
-there is a charming view over the town spreading upon the flat plain,
-and the little harbor stretching down to the Sound; and beyond, across
-the silvery waters, can be traced the hazy hills of Long Island,
-twenty-five miles away. Two little crooked rivers come out of the deep
-valleys on either side of the great rock, winding through the town to
-the harbor, while all about, the country is dotted with flourishing
-villages. Among them is Wallingford, to which the railway leads
-northeast amid meadows and brickyards until it reaches the high hill,
-whose church-towers watch over the population, largely composed of
-plated-ware makers. When this town was founded, John Davenport came
-out from New Haven and preached the initial sermon from the
-appropriate text, "My beloved hath a vineyard on a very fruitful
-hill."
-
-Hillhouse Avenue, a broad and beautiful elm-shaded street bordered by
-fine mansions, leads out to the "Sachem's Wood," which was the home of
-the Hillhouses, of whom James Hillhouse was the great Connecticut
-Senator after the Revolution. His remains repose in the old Grove
-Street Burying-Ground, where rest many other famous men of the
-Academic City, among them Timothy Dwight, Lyman Beecher, Samuel F. B.
-Morse, Benjamin Silliman, Elbridge Gerry, Roger Sherman, of whom
-Jefferson wrote that he "never said a foolish thing in his life," Eli
-Whitney, and Noah Webster, who, before he compiled his famous
-dictionary, had published the "Elementary Spelling Book," which had a
-sale of fifty millions of copies. The New Haven City Hall, fronting
-the Green, is one of the finest municipal buildings in New England.
-The three churches occupying the centre of the Green are the North,
-the Centre, and Trinity churches, the first two Congregationalist and
-the last Episcopal, the row presenting a curiously quaint and ancient
-appearance. The favorite resort of the people of New Haven is Savin
-Rock, a promontory four miles away, pushing a rocky front to the Sound
-at the end of a long sandy beach, and having a good view, being
-located westward from the harbor entrance.
-
-
-OLD SAYBROOK.
-
-The Connecticut River flows into Long Island Sound thirty-three miles
-east of New Haven at Saybrook Point. Between is the venerable village
-of Guilford, where Fitz Greene Halleck was born, and where the three
-regicides were also for some time hidden. Out in front is the bold and
-picturesque Sachem's Head, which got its name from a tragedy of the
-Pequot War in 1637. The Mohican chief Uncas pursued a Pequot warrior
-out on this point, and shooting him, put his head in the fork of an
-oak tree, where it remained many years. The group of Thimble Islands
-are off shore, having been repeatedly dug over by deluded individuals
-searching for the buried treasures of Captain Kidd. Saybrook Point was
-the place of earliest settlement in Connecticut. The first English
-patent for lands on these coasts was granted to Lord Saye and Seal and
-Lord Brooke, and the colony was given their double name. The original
-settlement was planned with great care, as it was expected to become
-the home of noted men, and a fort was built on an isolated hill at the
-river's mouth. According to the British historian, it was to Saybrook
-that Cromwell, Pym, Hampden and Haselrig, with their party of
-malcontents, intended to emigrate when they were stopped by the order
-of King Charles I. Had this migration been made, it might have greatly
-changed the subsequent momentous events in England ending with the
-execution of that king. A little westward of the old colonial fort
-guarding the river entrance, a public square was laid out, where,
-according to the town plan, their houses were to have been built. The
-first Yale College at Saybrook was a narrow one-story house eighty
-feet long, and looking much like a ropewalk, which was afterwards
-removed, with the college, to New Haven. Its founders were pious men,
-who in 1708 drew up the celebrated "Saybrook Platform," with a
-declaration that "the churches must have a public profession of faith,
-agreeable to which the instruction of the college shall be conducted."
-
-The ancient fort at Saybrook, built by Plymouth people in 1635, stood
-upon a steep and solitary knoll near the Connecticut River, which in
-1872 was carried off bodily by a railroad to make embankments across
-the adjacent lowlands. The earliest governor of the colony came out in
-1636, Colonel Fenwick, afterwards one of the regicide judges. Old
-Saybrook is now a quiet village, chiefly spread along one handsome
-wide street, canopied over by the arching branches of its stately
-elms, under which the distant vista view looks almost like a scene
-through a veritable foliage tunnel. The broad Connecticut flows in
-front, back and forth with the tide from the Sound, its restfulness in
-keeping with the ancient town, as yet uninvaded by business bustle or
-manufacturing energy. The Saybrook fort repelled the Pequots in 1637;
-and afterwards, in the Connecticut boundary disputes with the Dutch at
-New York, the latter, according to the veracious chronicler, marched
-against it "brimful of wrath and cabbage," but seeing it would be
-stoutly defended, he adds that "they thought best to desist before
-attacking." The British captured it in 1814, and ascending the river
-in a sudden raid, destroyed a large number of vessels.
-
-
-THE THAMES TO THE PAWCATUCK.
-
-The river Thames, coming down out of the hills and receiving the
-Quinnebaug, flows into the Sound twenty miles east of the Connecticut,
-and here is the pleasant city of New London, with about fifteen
-thousand people. Thus the early settlers renewed in the New England
-colony the names of old London and Father Thames, replacing the
-original Indian titles of Pequot for the town and Mohegan for the
-river. New London is built on a hillside, famous for comfortable old
-mansions and noble trees on the hilly streets, running down the
-declivity to the harbor, in the upper part of which is a navy yard. On
-either side of the harbor entrance are the gray walls and grassy
-mounds of the ancient defensive works, Forts Griswold and Trumbull,
-which got their chief scars during the Revolution. The most sacred New
-London memory is of Nathan Hale, who lived there, his little house
-being preserved as a relic. The Thames is a fine estuary, and upon it
-are sailed the great Yale and Harvard boat-races. New London was the
-headquarters of the Connecticut navy during the Revolution, a fleet of
-twenty-six vessels. After Arnold's treason, he came in September,
-1780, with ships and a large force of troops, captured Fort Trumbull
-and burnt the town. Afterwards they attacked Fort Griswold across the
-river, losing large numbers in storming it, and when the garrison had
-surrendered they were massacred. A fine granite Obelisk contains the
-names of the slain, and bears the inscription: "Zebulon and Naphtali
-were a people that jeoparded their lives till death in the high places
-of the Lord." The people of New London go down to the Sound for
-recreation and clam-bakes, the wide-spreading beaches having numerous
-hotels and summer cottages. All this region in the early times was the
-home of the Niantic Indians, a clan of the Narragansetts, their sachem
-being Ninigret, the brother of Canonicus and uncle of Miantonomoh,
-whose names are preserved in powerful American warships.
-
-Beyond the Thames is Groton, known as the home of Silas Deane, the
-early American diplomatist, a hilly township, with little good soil.
-On its verge are Fort Hill, where Sassacus, the sachem of the Pequots,
-had his royal fortress, and Mystic, with the popular resort of Mystic
-Island just off shore. To the northward of Mystic is Pequot Hill,
-where Colonel Mason attacked that tribe in May, 1637. He had marched
-out of Rhode Island with ninety English and over four hundred Mohicans
-and Narragansetts under the sachems Uncas and Miantonomoh, but when
-they arrived at the Pequot stronghold, the Indian allies were afraid
-to attack and drew off. Nothing daunted, Mason and his colonial
-soldiers prepared to do the work alone, and as a preliminary knelt
-down in prayer. At the sight of this, another sachem, Wequash, who had
-been their guide, was amazed and asked an explanation, and when he
-understood it, became so impressed that he was converted, afterwards
-preaching throughout New England. Mason and his men assaulted the
-stronghold in the darkness, and got inside the palisades, but being
-overwhelmed by the superior numbers, fell back after setting fire to
-the wigwams. The fire compelled the Pequots to flee, and then the
-English and friendly Indians surrounded the hill and shot down the
-fugitives, there being six hundred Pequots shot or burnt, this being
-the death-blow to the tribe. Old Cotton Mather, who recorded it,
-wrote: "It was a fearful sight to see them frying in the fire, and the
-streams of blood quenching the same, and horrible was the stink and
-scent thereof; but the victory seemed a sweet sacrifice, and they gave
-the praise thereof to God." Sassacus, from Fort Hill, sent
-reinforcements, but they were too late, although they harassed Mason's
-retreat, and Sassacus was soon forced also to flee, the remnant of the
-Pequot tribe being killed or captured in Sasco Swamp.
-
-This region was Pawcatuck, and its chief town now is Stonington, built
-on a fine harbor, near the Rhode Island boundary, which is protected
-by the protruding arm of Watch Hill Point, the whole coast thereabout
-being filled with summer hotels and cottages. Stonington is on a
-narrow rocky peninsula, and of this town, in the early part of the
-nineteenth century, President Dwight of Yale College wrote, referring
-to its reputation, that "Stonington and all its vicinity suffers in
-religion from the nearness of Rhode Island." The place was bombarded
-for three days, in 1814, by a British fleet, but all attempts to land
-were successfully repulsed. Watch Hill Point is a high bold
-promontory, with sand beaches stretching both ways and hooking around
-westward so as to enclose Stonington harbor. To the eastward is
-Westerly on the Pawcatuck River, noted for its fine granite quarries
-and textile factories.
-
-
-EASTERN LONG ISLAND.
-
-From the Long Island shore, opposite the mouth of Connecticut River,
-there protrudes northeastward an elongated and almost bisected
-peninsula, ending in Orient Point. The eastern end of Long Island
-divides into two arms, this being the northern one, having at its
-outer extremity Plum Island, the passage between being the famous
-"Plum Gut," a short cut occasionally taken by cunning yachtsmen racing
-around Long Island. Orient Point was originally the "Oyster Pond
-Point," its name having been modernized, and Plum Island, covering
-more than a square mile, is said to have been bought from the Indians
-by the first colonists in 1667 for a hundred fish-hooks and a barrel
-of biscuit. A succession of islands stretches out from it over
-northeastward towards the Rhode Island shore, and these guard the
-entrance to the Sound. The southern arm of Long Island extends much
-farther eastward than the northern one, and ends in Montauk Point.
-Enclosed between these branching peninsulas is Shelter Island, thus
-appropriately named from its well protected harbors. It is a delicious
-island, about four by six miles in extent, picturesque and irregular
-in outline, having cliffs and promontories dropping off into tiny
-coves and bays with little beaches, their shores rich with the
-attractions that shells and sea mosses give. In the interior are
-rolling hills and fresh-water ponds. Out in front on either hand are
-the blue waters of Peconic and Gardiner's Bays, with the broad
-Atlantic beyond. This island was the home of the Manhasset Indians,
-and that was its early name. To its hospitable shores fled some of the
-persecuted Quakers of New England, when driven out by the Puritans,
-the settlement being made as early as 1652. The records tell that in
-the eighteenth century George Whitefield came and preached here with
-such fervor and success that he was constrained to ask, "And is
-Shelter Island become a Patmos?" It is in a delightful location, and
-from the breezy hill-tops which have a grand outlook over the azure
-waters there can be seen a vision
-
- "----of islands that together lie
- As quietly as spots of sky
- Amongst the evening clouds."
-
-The array of islands guarding the entrance to the Sound beyond Plum
-Island begins with Great Gull and Little Gull Islands, the latter
-marking the edge of the "Horse Race," as the rapid tidal current in
-and out of the Sound between Little Gull and Fisher's Island is
-called. This Race is off the mouth of the Thames River, beyond which
-is Fisher's Island, nearer the Connecticut shore, an island nine miles
-long, and forming a sort of barrier protecting the Thames entrance
-from the ocean storms. This elongated island, covering about twelve
-square miles, was originally "Ye Governour's Farme of Fyscher's
-Island," owned by Governor John Winthrop of Connecticut, to whom it
-was granted in 1668, remaining in his family for two centuries, when a
-wealthy New Yorker bought it for a stock-farm. The adjacent waters are
-now a favorite locality for United States naval evolutions. To the
-eastward of Shelter Island, and lying in front of Gardiner's Bay, is
-Gardiner's Island, covering about six square miles, and having a long
-protruding northern point stretching up towards Plum Island. This
-island was the Indian Monchonock, and Lyon Gardiner, the first
-Englishman who settled anywhere in the State of New York, came along
-in 1639, and bought it from them for some rum and blankets, a gun and
-a large black dog, and his descendants have since been the owners. He
-was a veteran of Cromwell's wars, and always had the confidence of the
-Indians. Gardiner's Island was a favorite resort of the noted
-freebooter Captain Kidd, and while thousands of people at many places
-have at various times searched for his buried treasures, this is the
-only place that anything was ever found. Kidd was the son of a
-Scottish clergyman, became a mariner, and was sent from New York in an
-armed vessel to chase the pirates off the coast. Succeeding admirably,
-he was placed at the head of a new ship, the "Adventure," with one
-hundred and fifty men, and sent to chastise the freebooters in the
-East Indies. But after rounding the Cape of Good Hope and entering the
-Indian Ocean he turned pirate himself, crossing the Indian and Pacific
-Oceans, rounding Cape Horn, sailing up the Atlantic, and sweeping the
-West Indies. In two years he circumnavigated the world, became the
-most famous pirate in history, and landed at Gardiner's Island,
-burying his treasures. He was afterwards captured in Boston and sent
-to London, where he was hanged in 1701 on a charge of murder. The Earl
-of Bellamont, Governor of Massachusetts, took from Kidd part of his
-plunder, and learning the hiding-place on Gardiner's Island, had the
-locality dug up, recovering gold, silver, jewels and merchandise,
-valued at $70,000. Kidd's exploits are commemorated in a song which is
-of world-wide renown, thus beginning:
-
- "I'll sing you a song that you'll wonder to hear,
- Of a freebooter, lucky and bold--
- Of old Captain Kidd--of the man without fear,
- How himself to the devil he sold.
-
- "His ship was a trim one as ever did swim,
- His comrades were hearty and brave,--
- Twelve pistols he carried, that freebooter grim,
- And he fearlessly ploughed the wild wave."
-
-To the southward of Shelter Island, on the southern peninsula of Long
-Island, is the well-protected roadstead of Sag Harbor, formerly a
-famous whaling port, but most of its maritime glory has departed.
-Massachusetts fishermen first settled the place, and it had at one
-time a fleet of over forty whale ships, earning $1,000,000 a year; but
-the California gold-hunting fever in 1849-50 is said to have diverted
-its mariners and began the paralysis of this industry, which
-subsequently died out almost everywhere. It has about two thousand
-people, and its admirable situation has made it an attractive summer
-resort, while it is also developing some manufactures. On the
-peninsula to the southward are perched various old-time windmills,
-with their broad gyrating sails, in the wide-spreading land of the
-Hamptons. Far to the eastward the peninsula stretches out to Montauk
-Point, the end of Long Island. Here is the reservation of the remnant
-of the Montauk Indians, their name meaning the "Fort Country," as they
-were the most powerful tribe on the island, and made some defenses in
-their hilly region. The Sachem Wyandance who was at their head when
-the white men came, in the seventeenth century, was wise and
-sagacious, and became their firm ally, fighting the Pequots and their
-other enemies. In all the adjacent waters vast numbers of menhaden are
-caught. Here was located the camp, in 1898, where the American troops
-returning from the torrid heats and malaria of the Cuban-Spanish war
-recuperated, over thirty thousand men being cared for previously to
-discharge. Captain Kidd was at one time around here also, and is
-supposed to have sunk bags of treasure in one of the little lakes,
-which has since been called Money Pond, but none was ever found there.
-Fort Pond Bay, a spacious harbor on the northern side of Montauk
-Point, has been often suggested as a haven for transatlantic steamers,
-being safe and commodious. The plan suggested is to bring the
-passengers by fast railway trains from New York. Out on the eastern
-rocky buttress of Montauk Point is the tall white lighthouse tower,
-containing a most powerful Fresnel light, the gift of the French
-Government, visible for twenty miles at sea, its intense white light
-varied by occasional flashes. This is the guiding beacon of the
-eastern extremity of Long Island, and the solid buttress on which it
-stands Mrs Sigourney calls--
-
- "Ultima Thule of this ancient isle,
- Against whose breast the everlasting surge,
- Long travelling on and ominous of wrath,
- Forever beats."
-
-
-THE ISLE OF MANISEES.
-
-Fifteen miles northeast of Montauk Point, out in the ocean, is Block
-Island, lying midway between the extremity of Long Island and Point
-Judith, on the western side of the entrance to Narragansett Bay. It is
-about eight miles long, with a prominent white light for a beacon on
-each end, north and south, and is a curious isolated place amid the
-rolling waves of the Atlantic. Its balmy climate and equable
-temperature have made it a favorite summer resort, being popularly
-called the "Bermuda of the North," while some of its admirers say it
-is destined to become the American Isle of Wight. It was known to the
-Indians as Manisees, the "Isle of the Little God," and when the whites
-first came, its aboriginal people were great wampum makers. The
-Puritans campaigned on the island, defeating the Indians, and in 1638
-they sent sixty feet of wampum to Boston for tribute, but the English
-did not permanently settle there till 1661. It is an elongated island,
-with high bold shores, abrupt hills, narrow valleys and sundry ponds,
-one, the "Great Salt Pond," near its centre, being of considerable
-size. The surface, however, is entirely destitute of trees, and the
-only harbor is behind the protecting refuge of a breakwater, built
-some time ago by the Government. As the ocean waves are always
-buffeting and washing away the shores, its ultimate total
-disappearance is predicted, but this impending fate is said not to
-seriously alarm the inhabitants, who are, by the way, almost all
-Baptists. Until recently, so little was actually known of these Block
-Island folk, who were nearly all born there, and relatives, that a
-strong belief was prevalent on the adjacent mainland that the genuine
-native Block Islanders had only one eye apiece. They are strange and
-antiquated, and many of the old people have never been off the island.
-Some of them recall as a wonderful journey taken years ago, in early
-youth, how they ventured so far away from home as to sail "across to
-the Continent," as they call the remainder of the United States. They
-gather sea-weed, which brings them quite a revenue, and dig peat,
-which is largely used for fuel. Their little stone-walled fields,
-ancient windmills and lily-strewn ponds are picturesque, and their
-ancestors are buried in the ancient burying-ground, which visitors
-find interesting, and then climb Beacon Hill to get a view that is
-unique in being an almost complete circle of the sea. This attractive
-place, swept by ocean breezes, is the eastern outpost of Long Island,
-and no better idea of it has ever been given than by Whittier's poem
-on the Palatine wreck, opening by describing Block Island:
-
- "Leagues north, as fly the gull and auk,
- Point Judith watches with eye of hawk;
- Leagues south, thy beacon flames, Montauk!
-
- "Lonely and wind-shorn, wood-forsaken,
- With never a tree for Spring to waken,
- For tryst of lovers or farewells taken,
-
- "Circled by waters that never freeze,
- Beaten by billow and swept by breeze,
- Lieth the island of Manisees,
-
- "Set at the mouth of the Sound to hold
- The coast lights up on its turret old,
- Yellow with moss and sea-fog mould.
-
- "Dreary the land when gust and sleet
- At its doors and windows howl and beat,
- And Winter laughs at its fires of peat!
-
- "But in summer-time, when pool and pond,
- Held in the laps of valleys fond,
- Are blue as the glimpses of sea beyond;
-
- "When the hills are sweet with brier-rose,
- And, hid in the warm, soft dells, unclose
- Flowers the mainland rarely knows;
-
- "When boats to their morning fishing go,
- And, held to the wind and slanting low,
- Whitening and darkening, the small sails show,--
-
- "Then is that lonely island fair;
- And the pale health-seeker findeth there
- The wine of life in its pleasant air.
-
- "No greener valleys the sun invite,
- On smoother beaches no sea-birds light,
- No blue waves shatter to foam more white!"
-
-
-
-
-ASCENDING THE HUDSON RIVER.
-
-
-
-
-X.
-
-ASCENDING THE HUDSON RIVER.
-
- Hudson River Scenery -- Fort Washington -- Fort Lee -- The
- Palisades -- Piermont -- Greenwood Lake -- Tuxedo Lake -- Font
- Hill -- Yonkers -- Philipse Manor -- Mary Philipse -- Hastings
- -- Dobbs's Ferry -- Tappan Zee -- The Flying Dutchman --
- Tarrytown -- André and Arnold -- Tappan -- Irvington --
- Sunnyside -- Washington Irving -- The Sleepy Hollow -- Ichabod
- Crane -- Point-no-Point -- Rockland Lake -- Sing-Sing -- Croton
- Point -- Haverstraw Bay -- Stony Point -- Treason Hill --
- Verplanck's Point -- The Highlands -- The Donderberg and its
- Goblin -- Peekskill -- Anthony's Nose -- Iona Island -- West
- Point -- Forts Clinton and Montgomery -- Sugar Loaf Mountain --
- Buttermilk Falls -- Constitution Island -- Susan Warner --
- General Kosciusko -- Beverly House -- Arnold's Treason -- Old
- Cro' Nest -- Flirtation Walk -- The Storm King -- Mount Taurus
- -- Joseph Rodman Drake -- The Culprit Fay -- Cornwall --
- Fishkill -- Newburg Bay -- Newburg and Washington's
- Headquarters -- Ural Knapp -- The Tower of Victory -- Enoch
- Crosby, the Spy -- The Devil's Dance Chamber -- The Long Reach
- -- Poughkeepsie -- Lakes Mohonk and Minnewaska -- Vassar
- College -- Crom Elbow -- Rondout -- Kingston -- Esopus --
- Rhinebeck and Rhinecliff -- Ellerslie -- Rokeby -- Wilderscliff
- -- Montgomery Place -- Plattekill Clove -- Saugerties --
- Livingston Manor -- Clermont -- Chancellor Livingston --
- Fulton's First Steamboat -- Catskill Mountains -- Natty Bumppo
- -- Rip Van Winkle -- Slide Mountain -- Kaaterskill Clove --
- Kaaterskill Falls -- Haines's Falls -- The Big Indian -- City
- of Hudson -- The Dutch -- New Lebanon -- The Shakers -- Mother
- Ann Lee -- Kinderhook -- Stuyvesant Landing -- Martin Van Buren
- -- Schodack -- The Mohicans -- Beeren Island -- The Overslaugh
- -- The Patroons -- The Van Rensselaers -- The Anti-Rent War --
- Albany -- New York State Capitol -- Albany Medical College --
- Calvin Edson -- Albany Academy -- Prof. Joseph Henry -- Dudley
- Observatory -- Van Rensselaer Mansion -- Vanderheyden Palace --
- Lydius House -- Balthazar Lydius -- Anneke Jans Bogardus --
- Albany Regency -- Schuyler Mansion -- Erie Canal Basin -- Troy
- -- The Monitor -- Mohawk River -- Stillwater -- Schuylerville
- -- Burgoyne's Defeat -- General Fraser's Death -- Round Lake --
- Ballston Spa -- Saratoga Lake and Town -- High Rock Spring --
- Sir William Johnson -- Saratoga Hotels -- Saratoga Springs --
- Congress Spring -- Hathorn Spring -- Mount McGregor -- Fort
- Edward -- Israel Putnam -- Jenny McCrea -- Baker's Falls --
- Sandy Hill -- Quackenboss' Adventure -- Glen's Falls -- Last of
- the Mohicans -- Hawkeye -- Sources of the Hudson -- The
- Adirondack Wilderness -- Hendrick Spring -- The Tear of the
- Clouds -- Indian Pass -- Tahawas, the Sky-Piercer -- Schroon
- Lake -- The Battenkill.
-
-
-THE HUDSON RIVER SCENERY.
-
-The noble Hudson is one of the most admired of American rivers. It
-does not possess the vine-clad slopes and ruined castles and quaint
-old towns of the Rhine, but it is a greater river in its breadth and
-volume and the commerce it carries. It has scenery fully as attractive
-in the Palisades and Highlands, the Helderbergs and Catskills, and on
-a scale of far more grandeur, while the infinite variety of its shores
-and villas and the many flourishing river towns are to most observers
-more pleasing. A journey along the Hudson presents ever varying
-pictures of rural beauty, in mountain, landscape, field and village;
-at times almost indescribably grand, and again entrancing in the
-autumn's gorgeous coloring of the forest-clad slopes, and the
-brilliant picture under our clear American skies. George William
-Curtis, voicing the opinion of most of our countrymen, is
-enthusiastic about the Hudson, saying: "The Danube has in part
-glimpses of such grandeur, the Elbe sometimes has such delicately
-pencilled effects, but no European river is so lordly in its bearing,
-none flows in such state to the sea. Of all our rivers that I know,
-the Hudson with this grandeur has the most exquisite episodes. Its
-morning and evening reaches are like the lakes of a dream." The Hudson
-may not have as many weird and elfish legends as so many historic
-centuries and the mythical preceding era have gathered upon the annals
-of the Rhine, but its beauties, tragedies and folklore have been a
-favorite theme, and the romantic and poetic fancies of Irving, Drake
-and Cooper, with many others, have given it plenty of fascinating
-literature and picturesque incident. Oliver Wendell Holmes thus sings
-the praises of the Hudson:
-
- "I wandered afar from the land of my birth,
- I saw the old rivers renowned upon Earth;
- But fancy still painted that wide-flowing stream,
- With the many-hued pencil of infancy's dream.
-
- "I saw the green banks of the castle-crowned Rhine,
- Where the grapes drink the moonlight and change into wine,
- I stood by the Avon, whose waves, as they glide,
- Still whisper his glory who sleeps by their side.
-
- "But my heart would still yearn for the sound of the waves,
- That sing as they flow by my forefathers' graves;
- If manhood yet honors my cheek with a tear,
- I care not who sees it--nor blush for it here.
-
- "In love to the deep-bosomed stream of the West,
- I fling this loose blossom to float on its breast;
- Nor let the dear love of its children grow cold,
- Till the channel is dry where its waters have rolled."
-
-
-THE PALISADES.
-
-In ascending the Hudson from New York, there are passed on either hand
-the heights which were covered in early Revolutionary days with the
-defenses of New York, Fort Washington and Fort Lee, but beyond the
-names no trace of either fort remains. The British captured both in
-the latter part of 1776, and afterwards held them. Fort Lee is now a
-favorite picnic ground. Above it rises the great wall of the
-Palisades, the wonderful formation built up of columned trap rock that
-extends along the western river bank for twenty miles up to Piermont,
-this rocky buttress making the northern limit of New Jersey on the
-Hudson River. Occasionally a patch of trees grows upon the tops or
-sides of the Palisades, while the broken rocks and _débris_ that have
-fallen down make a sloping surface from about half-way up their height
-to the water's edge. These columns rise in varying heights from three
-to five hundred feet. This grand escarpment of the Palisades is a
-giant wall along the river bank, sometimes cut down by deep and narrow
-ravines, through which the people behind them get brief peeps at the
-picturesque stream far below. Their general surface makes a sort of
-long and narrow table-land, barely a half-mile to a mile wide,
-dividing the Hudson from the valley of the Hackensack to the westward,
-the top being usually quite level, and in most cases having a growth
-of trees. These desolate-looking Palisades are a barrier dividing two
-sections of country seeming in sharp contrast. To the westward, the
-inhabitants lead simple pastoral lives in a region of farm land and
-dairies. To the eastward, the opposite shore of the Hudson is a
-succession of villas and fashionable summer resorts, whither the New
-York people come out, seeking a little rest and freshness after the
-season's dissipation. From the tops of the Palisades are admirable
-views both east and west, displaying some of the finest sunrises and
-sunsets seen along the great river. Extensive blasting operations, to
-get the building-stone and paving material for which they form
-valuable quarries, are marring the beauty of the Palisades, but legal
-arrangements are maturing for their preservation. Their highest
-elevation, the Indian Head, not far above Fort Lee, rising five
-hundred and ten feet, has been ruined by these blasts, which at times
-will break off many thousand tons of rock at a single explosion.
-
- [Illustration: _Palisades of the Hudson_]
-
-The rocky buttress of Piermont, the termination of the Palisades on
-the Hudson, gets its name from a pier, a mile long, which is extended
-from the shore at the foot of the mountain out to deep water, and a
-branch of the Erie railway terminates here. This line runs inland
-northwestward through a fine country. Over there is Greenwood Lake,
-known as the "miniature Lake George," a beautiful river-like body of
-water, ten miles long and a mile wide, almost entirely enclosed in the
-mountains, and presenting extremely picturesque scenery. This lake is
-at a thousand feet elevation, with clear and deep spring water, and in
-the neighborhood are the smaller but as charming Lakes Wawayanda,
-Macopin and Sterling. The long look over mountain and vale causing an
-expression of surprise in broken English from an Indian gazing upon
-the attractive prospect, is said to have named the first of these
-pretty little lakes;--"Away, way, yonder," he said, but it sounded
-like "Wa-wa-yanda," and the name has since clung to it. Not far away,
-among these mountains, is Tuxedo Lake, the fashionable resort of the
-Tuxedo Park Association, also reached by the Erie railway. This club
-of wealthy New Yorkers has made a paradise among the Allegheny
-foothills, with game-preserves, golf-links, club-house, and many
-cottages for the members.
-
-Above Spuyten Duyvel Creek the western Hudson River shore presents the
-monotonous front of these Palisades, stretching for miles apparently
-without a sign of active life; but the eastern bank is a far different
-picture of undulating hills, with gentle slopes to the water's edge,
-and covered in every eligible position with an endless variety of
-villas, presenting every phase of artistic taste and the development
-of abundant wealth. These summer homes upon the Hudson are among the
-crowning glories of the ever-changing river scene. Here is the famous
-Font Hill, now the Convent of Mount St. Vincent. In 1850 the tragedian
-Edwin Forrest built it for his home, a mediæval graystone castle, with
-moat and drawbridge and six battlemented towers; but he held it only a
-few years, when he quarrelled with his wife, and sold the estate for
-$100,000 to the Sisters of Charity of the Order of St. Vincent de Paul
-for their Mother House, which had to remove from the site of Central
-Park in New York. The cross now surmounts the tallest castle tower,
-and it is surrounded by noble trees which have grown higher than the
-turrets, while on the hill behind, and almost overshadowing the little
-castle, is a huge red-brick convent building. Lawns slope down to the
-shore, and there are superb river views, with the grand wall of the
-Palisades rising high in front.
-
-Yonkers is seventeen miles above New York, a galaxy of castellated and
-ornamental mansions fringing the town about, upon the amphitheatre of
-hills surrounding the flat depression on which it is mainly built. The
-little Neperhan or Sawmill River pours down a series of rapids through
-it before reaching the Hudson, with factories bordering the banks,
-while the great Vanderbilt railway, the New York Central, with a
-half-dozen sets of rails, runs along the front of the town. Here are
-now forty thousand people, in sharp contrast with the time when
-Hendrick Hudson, exploring the river, anchored in front of the little
-Indian village of Napperhamok, or the "Rapid Water." Curiosity brought
-them out in canoes to examine his ship, the "Half Moon," and he bought
-oysters and beans, saying he found them "a loving people who attained
-great age." The Dutch early bought land from these Indians for a
-settlement, and it became the domain of Patroon Vanderdonck, who set
-the town going under the name of Yonk-heer, or the "young master,"
-meaning the heir of the family. Then the English came along and it
-became the "Philipse Manor," the old stone manor house built in 1682
-being the antiquarian attraction, and used now as a sort of City Hall,
-a Soldiers' Monument standing in front. This was a manor of
-twenty-four thousand acres stretching along the river from Spuyten
-Duyvel up to the Croton. The third of the English lords of the manor
-was Fredericke Philipse, who was a shrewd aristocrat, and during the
-Revolution tried the difficult political game of a neutral, desirous
-of keeping on the winning side. But neither party trusted him, and
-although Washington had been his guest in the famous old manor house,
-yet he was attainted of treason by the State of New York, his great
-manor confiscated, cut up into small tracts and sold. The romance of
-Yonkers is the love story of his daughter, Mary Philipse, the "belle
-of the Hudson Valley." Tradition tells of her as the first love of
-Washington, but he wooed in vain, and she married another. Cooper made
-her the heroine of his novel _The Spy_.
-
-The lands of this manor are among the most prized locations on the
-Hudson. Magnificent estates cover the sloping eastern bank, with
-hundreds of villas of all kinds and styles, fortunes being expended
-upon their elaborate decoration. Highly ornamental grounds upon the
-hillsides and terraces surround costly houses, built to reproduce
-palaces, churches, castles, baronial halls and old manors, with some
-sombre buildings not unlike tombs. There is every conceivable
-structure the florid imagination of an architect can fashion into a
-dwelling, some being of great size. They show up prettily among the
-trees, and some are thrust out upon crags almost overhanging the
-river, others nestle far back in clefts, and still others are set high
-upon the slopes. Amid the grand display is the villa-environed and
-exclusive town of Hastings-on-the-Hudson; and a mile above, and still
-in the gilded colony, is the village of Dobbs's Ferry. It got its name
-from the venerable John Dobbs, a Swede, who came over from the
-Delaware River to run the ferry during the Revolution. Not long ago
-some of the modern aristocrats of the place got ashamed of their old
-Dobbs heritage and sought to change the name to Paulding. Then came a
-sharp controversy, fanned into fever heat by the sensational warriors
-of the New York newspapers. Soon, however, the Pauldingites
-surrendered, old Dobbs was vindicated, and Dobbs's Ferry the place
-remains. It was here in the Livingston Mansion, in 1783, that Generals
-Washington, Carleton and Clinton met to finally settle the terms of
-English recognition of American independence. Two miles above is
-Irvington, with more elaborate villas. This favored region of the
-Hudson is the choicest abiding-place of the New York multi-millionaires,
-and a newspaper scribe on one occasion counted in the space of six
-miles above Hastings the rural homes of sixty-three men whose
-aggregate wealth was estimated at more than $500,000,000. The single
-million fellow no longer cuts a figure in such a galaxy. On an
-eminence near Irvington stood the country house of the wealthiest of
-them, loftily situated, a white stone building with a tall tower,
-having very attractive surroundings. This was the Paulding Manor of
-Lyndehurst, the home of Jay Gould.
-
-
-THE TAPPEN ZEE.
-
-Over opposite, the grand terminating buttress of the Palisades,
-Piermont, compresses the river channel, the rocks then receding, so
-that to the northward it broadens into the beautiful lake of the
-Tappan Zee. Here is the boundary dividing New Jersey from New York,
-and the long ridge, retiring from the river, stretches inland some
-miles, encircles the town of Nyack, and comes back to the river some
-distance above in an abrupt elevated cliff known as Point-no-Point.
-This lake is over four miles wide, and is the scene of the legend of
-"The Flying Dutchman of the Tappan Zee." Irving tells us that often in
-the still twilight of a summer evening, when the sea would be as
-glass, and the opposite hills threw their shadows half across it, a
-low sound would be heard, as of the steady vigorous pull of oars,
-though no boat could be seen. Some said it was a whale-boat of the
-ancient water-guard, sunk by the British ships during the war, but now
-permitted to haunt its old cruising-grounds. But the prevalent opinion
-connected it with the awful fate of "Rambout Van Dam of graceless
-memory." He was a roystering Dutchman of Spuyten Duyvel, who in a time
-long past navigated his boat alone one Saturday the whole length of
-the Tappan Zee to attend a quilting-party at Kakiat, on the western
-shore. Here he danced until midnight, when he started home. He was
-warned it was the verge of Sunday morning, but he went off, swearing
-he would not land until he reached Spuyten Duyvel, if it took him a
-month of Sundays. He was never seen afterwards, but may still be
-heard, plying his oars, being "the Flying Dutchman of the Tappan Zee,
-doomed to ply between Kakiat and Spuyten Duyvel until the day of
-judgment." There is also another legend of a stout, round, Dutch-built
-vessel of the olden time, with high bow and stern, sailing up New York
-harbor in the teeth of wind and tide. She never returned down the
-Hudson, but the Dutch skippers plying the river often saw her,
-sometimes along the Palisades, or off Croton Point, or in the
-Highlands, but never above them. Sometimes it was by the lightning
-flashes of a storm upon a pitchy night, and giving glimpses of her
-careering across the Tappan Zee or the wide waste of Haverstraw Bay.
-Sometimes on quiet moonlight nights she would lie under a high bluff
-in the Highlands, all in deep shadow, excepting her topsails
-glittering in the moonbeams. She appeared always just before or after
-or during unruly weather, and all the skippers knew her as the "Storm
-Ship." Some maintained this phantom was the "Flying Dutchman," come
-from the Cape of Good Hope into more tranquil waters. Others held it
-to be Hendrick Hudson and the shadowy crew of the "Half Moon" sailing
-to their revels in the Catskills. We are told by Irving that "she
-still haunts the Highlands and cruises about Point-no-Point. People
-living along the river insist they sometimes see her in summer
-moonlight, and that in a deep still midnight they have heard the chant
-of her crew as if heaving the lead."
-
-Tappan Village, naming the Tappan Zee, is some distance back from
-Piermont. Over on the eastern bank, nearly opposite Nyack, is
-Tarrytown, the "Torwen-Dorp" or "Wheat-Town" of the ancient Dutch,
-which has gradually changed to the present name. The genial Irving,
-never at a loss for a reason for the names of places along the river,
-tells how the good housewives named it Tarrytown because of their
-spouses' propensity to linger in the village tavern on market days. It
-is now one of the most elegant places on the Hudson, notable for its
-splendid villas. The attractive region about the Tappan Zee is full of
-Revolutionary memories, and particularly of the great historic tragedy
-made by the treason of Arnold and the capture of André. Major John
-André, at the age of twenty-nine, in 1780, was Adjutant General of the
-British Army, then commanded by Sir Henry Clinton in New York. On
-September 20th André came to Dobbs's Ferry to meet Arnold, with whom
-he had been in secret correspondence in reference to the surrender of
-West Point, where Arnold commanded. The next night he met Arnold at
-Stony Point, just below the Highlands, and started back with Arnold's
-passport and documents enabling the British to so direct an attack
-upon West Point as to capture it. These papers were in Arnold's
-handwriting, and at his suggestion André concealed them between the
-soles of his feet and his stockings. André tried to make his way down
-the eastern side of the Hudson to New York in disguise, taking the
-Tarrytown road, through what was then known as the "neutral ground,"
-which was overrun by marauders from both armies. When within a
-half-mile of Tarrytown, at a little stream since called André's
-Brook, he was captured by Paulding, Williams and Van Wert, three
-American scouts, whom he mistook for his own partisans, and they
-searched him and found the treasonable papers. Rejecting all bribes,
-they took him across the Hudson to Tappan, then the American army
-headquarters, where he was condemned and hanged as a spy on October
-2d. The old house wherein he was imprisoned still stands in Tappan,
-and his remains were interred there until 1821, when they were
-conveyed to Westminster Abbey, London.
-
-
-THE HOME OF WASHINGTON IRVING.
-
-Near Irvington is Sunnyside, long the home of the famous and genial
-Washington Irving. In the early days this house was built by a cynical
-Dutch councillor named Wolfert Acker, who inscribed over the door,
-"Lust in Rust,"--meaning "pleasure in quiet,"--whence the English
-called it "Wolfert's Roost." As the Spanish Escurial had been modelled
-after the famous gridiron of the blessed Saint Lawrence, so this loyal
-councillor is said to have modelled his house after the cocked hat of
-the doughty Dutch Governor, Peter the Headstrong. The old house with
-its quaint Dutch gables became in time the castle of Baltus Van
-Tassel, and being held by Jacob Van Tassel, an active American
-partisan during the Revolution, the British sacked and burned it. The
-eastern front is overrun by ivy given Irving by Sir Walter Scott at
-Abbotsford, and originally from Melrose Abbey. The great author lived
-here from 1846 until his death in 1859, and his pen has immortalized
-the neighborhood. Nearby is the sequestered vale of Slaeperigh Haven,
-famed in the "Legend of the Sleepy Hollow." Not far from Tarrytown, he
-writes, there is a little valley, or rather a lap of land among high
-hills, one of the quietest places in the whole world. A small brook
-glides through it with just murmur enough to lull one to repose; and
-the occasional whistle of a quail or tapping of a woodpecker is almost
-the only sound that ever breaks in upon the uniform tranquility. At
-the opening of this hollow, by the side of a winding lane, stands the
-ancient Dutch church, which is the oldest religious house in New York
-State. It is a curious little building with a diminutive spire
-enclosing a bell with the inscription, "Si . Deus . Pro . Nobis .
-Contra . Nos . 1685"--If God for us, who against us. It was built of
-bricks brought out from Holland, and in the ancient and mossy
-graveyard, almost under the shadow of the old church, Irving is
-buried. He lies upon a beautiful sunny slope, whence one can look into
-the Sleepy Hollow, and also far over the lovely Tappan Zee and its
-pleasant surroundings, a spot he selected for his tomb. Longfellow
-thus sweetly sings of this modest grave:
-
- "Here lies the gentle humorist, who died
- In the bright Indian Summer of his fame
- A simple stone, with but a date and name,
- Marks his secluded resting place, beside
- The river that he loved and glorified.
- Here in the autumn of his days he came,
- But the dry leaves of his life were all aflame
- With tints that brightened and were multiplied.
- How sweet a life was his; how sweet a death!
- Living, to wing with mirth the weary hours,
- Or with romantic tales the heart to cheer;
- Dying, to leave a memory like the breath
- Of summer, full of sunshine and of showers,
- A grief and gladness in the atmosphere."
-
-Only a short distance from the church is the old bridge made famous in
-the legend describing the escapade of the schoolmaster, Ichabod Crane,
-with his "soft and foolish heart toward the sex." In his love he had a
-rival in the stalwart and muscular Brom Bones. The legend tells us
-that Ichabod taught the Dutch urchins of these parts, and at the same
-time paid court to old farmer Van Tassel's daughter, the fair Katrina.
-Brom Bones, otherwise Brom Van Brunt, determined to drive him away.
-One dismal night Ichabod left the Van Tassel mansion in very low
-spirits. In the hush of midnight he could hear the watchdog bark,
-distant and vague, from the far opposite shore of the Hudson. Irving
-tells us a belief existed in a spectre--the Headless Horseman of
-Sleepy Hollow--supposed to be the spirit of a Hessian trooper whose
-head had been carried off by a cannon-ball. Nearing the old church,
-this horrid ghost appeared in pursuit of Ichabod, who was bestride an
-inflexible old horse called Gunpowder. The terrified schoolmaster made
-all haste to reach the bridge, having passed which, he would be beyond
-the power of his pursuer. He spurred Gunpowder forward, but looking
-back, beheld the spectre close behind him, and in the very act of
-hurling its horrid head at him. The crash came; Ichabod rolled to the
-ground; the spectre and Gunpowder rushed past him in a whirlwind. Next
-day, we are told, a shattered pumpkin was found in the road, and not
-long afterwards Brom Bones led Katrina to the altar, but the luckless
-Ichabod was never heard of again.
-
-In the hills behind Point-no-Point, on the western verge of the Tappan
-Zee, at one hundred and sixty feet elevation, is Rockland Lake, a
-crystal sheet of water which gives New York much of its ice supply,
-the blocks being sent from the top of the hill on a long slide to the
-barges that carry it down the river. As they glide along, they look in
-the distance, under the sunlight, like a string of diamonds. Hook
-Mountain, separating the lake from the river, is over six hundred feet
-high, and out of the lake flows the Hackensack River behind the
-Palisades, through the Jersey meadows to Newark Bay. Just above
-Tarrytown, on the eastern shore, is Sing-Sing Village, on a pretty
-slope, the name coming from the Indian Ossining, meaning "a stony
-place." Here, just back from the shore, is the famous Sing-Sing
-Prison, the long, low tiers of white stone buildings having the
-railway tunnelled through them, and the pleasant village rising on the
-hillside behind. The convicts built their own prison many years ago,
-with stone hewn out of an adjacent marble ridge, called Mount
-Pleasant. Just above, the long forest-covered projection of Teller's
-or Croton Point, thrust for two miles, or more than half-way across
-the broad river, from the eastern bank, makes the northern boundary of
-the Tappan Zee. The West Shore railway, which has come up through the
-Hackensack Valley from Jersey City, emerges high on the western hills
-and runs gradually down to the river bank, so that the Hudson above
-has a railway on either shore. Alongside the Point, the Croton River
-flows in, the Reservoir being about six miles up that stream. It was
-off Teller's Point the British sloop "Vulture" anchored, when she
-brought André up from New York for his interview with Arnold.
-
-
-ENTERING THE HIGHLANDS.
-
-Beyond Teller's Point is another broadened expanse of the Hudson,
-Haverstraw Bay, spreading in parts five miles wide, its western shore
-lined with brickmaking establishments, lime-kilns and the factories
-which break up the stone quarried in the neighboring hills into
-Belgian blocks for New York street paving. Far in front, over the
-spacious bay, looms up the distant range of Hudson River Highlands, an
-outcrop of the great Kittatinny ridge, stretching broadly across the
-country, a part of the same deep blue-gray mountain wall we have
-already penetrated farther south. Its changing hues and appearance, as
-approached, remind of Campbell's couplet in the _Pleasures of Hope_:
-
- "'Tis distance lends enchantment to the view,
- And robes the mountain in its azure hue."
-
-High Torn, just behind the bank below Haverstraw, rises over eight
-hundred feet, while above is Stony Point, the outcrop of a long line
-of limestone hills stretching into the river. Between it and the town,
-standing on a little eminence not far from the shore, was the frame
-house of Smith the Tory, known as the "Treason House," where André and
-Arnold had their clandestine meeting to arrange the surrender of West
-Point, this eminence now being known as "Treason Hill." Across the
-ferry to Verplanck's Point, on the opposite shore, André went when the
-meeting was over, and started on his fateful journey down to
-Tarrytown. The two Points suddenly narrow the Hudson, above Treason
-Hill, to a half-mile width, and they make the northern boundary of
-Haverstraw Bay. This is a region filled with Revolutionary memories.
-These Points commanded the southern river entrance to the Highlands,
-and behind them, back of the western shore, rises the buttress of the
-Kittatinny and the outpost of the pass, the massive Donderberg
-Mountain, eleven hundred feet high. The eastern Point was part of the
-Van Cortlandt manor, whose heiress, Gertrude, married Philip
-Verplanck, for whom it was named. Forts were built on both Points to
-control the river, and the British surprised and captured both of them
-in June, 1779, giving Washington much annoyance; but General Wayne, in
-July, by one of the most brilliant movements of the war, surprised and
-recaptured Stony Point. On the site of the old fort, and built of some
-of its materials, is now a little lighthouse guiding the river
-navigation. Over on the opposite shore, behind Verplanck's Point,
-Baron Steuben drilled the Revolutionary soldiers. This region now is
-chiefly devoted to the peaceful occupations of burning lime and making
-bricks.
-
-The Hudson bends towards the northeast along the base of the towering
-Donderberg,--the Thunder Mountain,--the limestone quarries cut into
-its cliffs looking much like an old-time fortress. The narrow river
-contracted in the pass always has gusty winds blowing over it, and
-this was a weird region in the ancient Dutch _régime_, many a tale of
-woe and wonder being told by the skippers who sailed that way. Irving
-records how they used to "talk of a little bulbous-bottomed Dutch
-goblin in trunk-hose and sugar-loaf hat, with a speaking-trumpet in
-his hand, which they say keeps the Donder-Berg." He declares "they
-have heard him in stormy weather, in the midst of the turmoil, giving
-orders in Low Dutch for the piping up of a fresh gust of wind, or the
-rattling off of another thunder-clap; that sometimes he had been seen
-surrounded by a crew of little imps, in broad breeches and short
-doublets, tumbling head over heels in the rack and mist, and playing a
-thousand gambols in the air, or buzzing like a swarm of flies about
-Anthony's Nose; and that at such times the hurry-scurry of the storm
-was always greatest." The genial historian supports this statement by
-testimony. "Skipper Daniel Ouslesticker of Fish Kill, who was never
-known to tell a lie," declared that in a severe squall he saw the
-goblin "seated astride of his bowsprit, riding the sloop ashore full
-butt against Anthony's Nose," but that he was happily exorcised by
-"Dominie Van Geisen of Esopus, who happened to be on board, and who
-sang the song of Saint Nicholas, whereupon the goblin threw himself up
-in the air like a ball, and went off in a whirlwind, carrying away
-with him the nightcap of the Dominie's wife, which was discovered the
-next Sunday morning hanging on the weathercock of Esopus Church
-steeple, at least forty miles off." Such misadventures occurring, the
-skippers for a long time did not venture past the Donderberg without
-lowering their peaks in homage, "and it was observed that all such as
-paid this tribute of respect were suffered to pass unmolested."
-
-The Hudson River Highlands in some peaks rise nearly sixteen hundred
-feet. The river, coming from the north, breaks through them in a
-series of short bends, making narrow reaches, and in the fifteen miles
-required for the passage presents some of the most attractive American
-scenery. Beyond Verplanck's Point is the town of Peekskill, with the
-mountain range trending far away to the northeast, the river flowing
-along its base, and from the view ahead seeming to come from the
-lowlands beyond Peekskill. It was not strange, therefore, that in the
-early seventeenth century one of the Dutch skippers who braved the
-goblin of the Donderberg, in his explorations should have sailed his
-sloop up there, got into a shallow creek, and run aground. This was
-the misfortune of the honest Dutch mariner Jan Peek; but he made the
-best of it, and seeing that the soil of the valley was fertile,
-settled there, and the creek became Peek's Kill, and thus named the
-town. The rich Canopus Valley is to the northeastward, and the
-mountains blend so well that the sharp right-angled bend the river
-makes into the Highlands is completely hidden.
-
-
-ANTHONY'S NOSE.
-
-Thus rise, high over the valley, "the rough turrets of the Highland
-towers." The Indians believed this mountain region was created by the
-mighty spirit Manetho, to protect his favorite abodes from the
-unhallowed eyes of mortals. Their tradition was that the vast
-mountains of rock were raised before the Hudson poured its waters
-through them, and within them was a prison where the omnipotent
-Manetho confined rebellious spirits. Here, bound by adamantine chains,
-jammed in rifted pines, or crushed under ponderous crags, they groaned
-for ages. At length the mighty Hudson burst open their prison-house,
-rolling its overwhelming tide triumphantly through the stupendous
-ruins. Entering the pass, it really seems as if the Hudson River
-channel ought to run up where Jan Peek went, but instead it goes
-sharply around the ponderous base of the Donderberg Mountain. This is
-a very narrow gateway, where the swift tidal current makes the "Race,"
-and in an instant the contracted passage is opened between the
-Donderberg on the left and Anthony's Nose on the right, entering this
-beautiful Highland district, which Chateaubriand has likened to "a
-large bouquet tied at its base with azure ribbon." As the narrow
-strait is traversed, Iona Island, tree-clad and attractive, appears
-ahead, and the winds usually blow a lively gale, buffeted from one
-mountain side to the other. The tide runs swiftly around the base of
-Anthony's Nose, and the romantic Brocken Kill pours down his sloping
-side, while through the jutting point of the Nose the railway has
-pierced a tunnel, making on either side a veritable nostril. The huge
-tree-covered mountain rises grandly to the clouds, while just over the
-tunnel at the point, a mass of protruding rocks and timber makes a
-first-class pimple to ornament the Nose. This is one of the prominent
-Highland peaks, rising over twelve hundred feet, and is said by some
-to have been named from a fancied resemblance to the nose of the great
-St. Anthony, the Egyptian monk of the third century.
-
-Irving, however, has given us the more popular tradition that it was
-named in memory of luckless Anthony the Trumpeter, who met his fate at
-Spuyten Duyvel. The veracious historian Knickerbocker writes: "It must
-be known that the nose of Anthony the Trumpeter was of a very lusty
-size, strutting boldly from his countenance like a mountain of
-Golconda, being sumptuously bedecked with rubies and other precious
-stones--the true regalia of a king of good fellows--which jolly
-Bacchus grants to all who bouse it heartily at the flagon. Now, thus
-it happened, that bright and early in the morning the good Anthony,
-having washed his burly visage, was leaning over the quarter railing
-of the galley, contemplating it in the glossy wave below. Just at this
-moment, the illustrious sun, breaking in all his splendor from behind
-a high bluff of the Highlands, did dart one of his most potent beams
-full upon the nose of the sounder of brass, the reflection of which
-shot straightway down hissing hot into the water and killed a mighty
-sturgeon that was sporting beside the vessel. This huge monster, being
-with infinite labor hoisted on board, furnished a luxurious repast to
-all the crew, being accounted of excellent flavor, except about the
-wound, where it smacked a little of brimstone, and this, on my
-veracity, was the first time that ever sturgeon was eaten in these
-parts by Christian people. When this astonishing miracle became known
-to Peter Stuyvesant, and he tasted of the unknown fish, he, as may
-well be supposed, marvelled exceedingly, and as a monument thereof, he
-gave the name of 'Anthony's Nose' to a stout promontory in the
-neighborhood, and it has continued to be called 'Anthony's Nose' ever
-since that time."
-
-
-WEST POINT.
-
-The most famous locality in the Highlands is West Point. "In this
-beautiful place," wrote Charles Dickens, "the fairest among the fair
-and lovely Highlands of the North River; shut in by deep green heights
-and ruined forts, and looking down upon the distant town of Newburg,
-along a glittering path of sunlit water, with here and there a skiff,
-whose white sail often bends on some new tack as sudden flaws of wind
-come down upon her from the gullies in the hills, hemmed in besides,
-all around, with memories of Washington and events of the
-Revolutionary war: is the Military School of America." Opposite
-Anthony's Nose, Montgomery Creek flows in, its mouth broadened into a
-little bay. Upon the high rocks at the entrance, on either side, stood
-the great defenders of the lower Highlands during the early
-Revolution, Forts Clinton and Montgomery, considered impregnable
-then, and to bar the river passage a ponderous iron chain on timber
-floats was stretched across the channel to Anthony's Nose. The
-Continental Congress spent $250,000 on these obstructions, but the
-British in 1777 surprised and captured the forts, destroyed the chain
-and burnt the gunboats guarding it. This was a great victory, but
-barren of results, for Burgoyne's surrender soon afterwards compelled
-them to abandon this region and retire down towards New York. There
-are traces of the forts, and a flagstaff on the hill north of the
-creek marks the site of Fort Montgomery. Just above, on the eastern
-bank, is the charming and symmetrical cone of the Sugar Loaf Mountain,
-with several smaller companions, and the vista views along the river,
-and through some of the deep valleys between these mountains, are
-magnificent. The little town of Garrison's fringes the shore, the
-school of the Sisters of St. Francis, formerly a popular hotel, is
-perched high on the cliff on the western bank; while in front the dome
-of the West Point Library and the barracks rise in view upon the Point
-itself, which stretches completely across the view, its extremity
-hidden by the jutting headlands of the eastern bank. Here comes down
-in rainy weather the frothy current of the beautiful Buttermilk Falls,
-for a hundred feet over the rocks into the river, and the West Shore
-Railroad, winding along the edge of the cliffs, cuts or goes through
-their extended points, and finally darts into a long tunnel bored
-right under the West Point Academy.
-
-The Hudson River, some distance above, bends sharply around the little
-lighthouse on the end of West Point, its extremity being a moderately
-sloping rock covered with cedars, the reef going deep down into the
-water, while on its highest part is a monument to General Kosciusko,
-who had much to do with constructing the original military works. The
-flat and elevated surface, some distance inland, plainly visible both
-from up and down the river, is the Parade Ground, the Academic
-buildings being constructed around it, while behind them on higher
-ground is the dome-crowned library. The surface of West Point is not
-so high as the surrounding mountains, but its advanced position
-completely commands the river approach both ways, and hence its
-military importance. Along the water's edge at the Point the rocks are
-worn smooth, it is said, by so many cadets sitting there in the summer
-time. Just above is the cove, where they swim and practice at
-pontoon-bridge building, and back of this cove is the artillery
-ground, the guns being fired at the huge side of old Cro' Nest
-Mountain to the northward. Gee's Point is also above, and from its
-extremity was extended the second big chain across to Constitution
-Island, used during the later years of the Revolution, to obstruct the
-passage, also buoyed on timber floats; some of its huge links being
-still preserved. Constitution Island was long the home of Susan
-Warner, the authoress, who died in 1885, and her grave is in West
-Point Cemetery. Her _Hills of the Shatemuc_ is full of Hudson River
-scenes, but her best-known book was _The Wide, Wide World_, published
-in 1850.
-
-The military post and academy of West Point is about fifty miles north
-of New York, the Government domain covering twenty-four hundred acres.
-The buildings stand on a plain of one hundred and sixty acres,
-elevated one hundred and fifty-seven feet above the river, with
-mountains all around, rising in some cases fifteen hundred feet, the
-highest being old Cro' Nest. South of the Academy, on a commanding
-hill six hundred feet high, are the ruins of Fort Putnam, the chief
-work during the Revolution. When that war began in 1775 it was ordered
-that the passes of the Hudson through the Highlands should be
-fortified, and Fort Constitution was built on the opposite island. As
-the higher adjacent hills commanded it, this work was soon abandoned,
-and three years later West Point was selected and fortified, with Fort
-Clinton at the Point, and several other formidable works, becoming the
-"American Gibraltar," the second massive chain being then extended
-across to the island as an additional protection. It was considered
-the most important post in the country, and at the time of Arnold's
-treason in September, 1780, was garrisoned by over three thousand men,
-and had one hundred and eighteen cannon in the various works. After
-peace came, the military defenses fell into ruin; but Washington
-repeatedly recommended that a military school be established at West
-Point, and in 1802 it was authorized by Congress, going into operation
-in 1812. The earthworks of the original Fort Clinton on the point,
-built by the youthful engineer Thaddeus Kosciusko in 1778, have been
-restored, and are carefully preserved. This young officer, descended
-from a noble Polish family, had not completed his studies in the
-military school of Warsaw when he eloped with a girl of high rank. The
-enraged father pursued and captured them, and the youthful lover was
-compelled either to slay the father or abandon the daughter. He chose
-the latter, and going to Paris met Dr. Franklin, who soon filled him
-with a desire to help the struggling Americans, and he came over and
-entered the army as an engineer in 1776. He served with distinction
-throughout the war, was made a General, and publicly thanked by
-Congress. He fought afterwards in the Polish Revolution, and retiring
-to Switzerland, died in 1817. He is buried in the Cathedral Church of
-Cracow, and near that city a mound one hundred and fifty feet high has
-been raised to his memory, earth being brought from every battlefield
-in Poland. The Kosciusko monument of marble was erected in memory of
-the noble Pole in an angle of Fort Clinton at West Point in 1829.
-
-
-ARNOLD'S TREASON.
-
-West Point itself saw no fighting, the great event of its early
-history being Benedict Arnold's treason. Across the river from the
-Point, and under the shadow of Sugar Loaf Mountain, is Beverly Cove,
-with a little wharf, where then stood Beverly House, previously the
-home of a prominent loyalist, Colonel Beverly Robinson of Virginia.
-Dr. Dwight, afterwards President of Yale College, was Chaplain of a
-Connecticut regiment at West Point in 1778, and he then climbed the
-Sugar Loaf, describing its view over the Highlands as "majestic,
-solemn, wild and melancholy." Arnold, when he plotted for the
-surrender of the post with André at Treason Hill, below the Highlands,
-agreed to the treason for $50,000 gold and a Brigadier General's
-commission in the British army. Believing the plot was working
-prosperously, Arnold, after the interview, had crossed from the Point
-over to Beverly House, his headquarters, and three days afterwards
-breakfasted there on September 24, 1780. Hamilton and Lafayette
-arrived early that morning and met him, announcing that Washington was
-at the ferry below and would soon join them. While at the table,
-Arnold received a letter from an officer down the river with the
-startling intelligence, "Major André of the British army is a prisoner
-in my custody." Arnold is said to have acted with wonderful coolness
-in the presence of his distinguished company, and although evidence
-of his own guilt might at any moment have arrived, he thoroughly
-concealed his emotions. Ordering a horse prepared, on the plea that
-his presence was needed "over the river," he left the table and went
-up stairs to his wife. He briefly told her they must part, perhaps
-forever, as his life depended on speedily reaching the British lines.
-The poor young wife, a bride of less than two years, was
-horror-stricken, and swooning, sank senseless upon the floor. Arnold
-dare not summon assistance, but kissed their sleeping infant, and
-mounting his horse galloped down to the wharf. Here he jumped into his
-six-oared barge, ordering them to row him swiftly down the Hudson,
-strengthening their energies by a promised reward of two gallons of
-rum. The oarsmen worked with a will, not knowing where they were
-going, and were astonished when he got below the Highlands to find him
-guiding them to the British sloop "Vulture." They were kept aboard as
-prisoners by Arnold's orders, and saw him greeted as a friend by their
-enemies. Even Sir Henry Clinton, when they arrived in New York,
-despised this meanness and ordered their liberation.
-
-Washington arrived at Beverly House soon after Arnold had left, being
-anxious to see him, but could not find him. The General took a hasty
-breakfast and crossed over the river to West Point seeking him, but
-having no suspicions. He was disappointed at not finding Arnold
-there, and talking to Colonel Lamb, commanding Fort Clinton, the
-latter told him he had not heard from Arnold for two days.
-Washington's suspicions began to awaken, and crossing back to Beverly
-House, he was met by Hamilton, with the papers found upon André,
-revealing Arnold's guilt. He summoned Lafayette and Knox for counsel,
-and the deepest sorrow evidently stirred Washington's bosom as he
-asked them the memorable question, "Whom can we trust now?" But soon
-the condition of the deserted wife, who was frantic with grief and
-apprehension, aroused his liveliest sympathy. Describing the scene,
-Hamilton wrote: "The General went up to see her. She upbraided him
-with being in a plot to murder her child, for she was quite beside
-herself. One moment she raved; another she melted into tears.
-Sometimes she pressed her infant to her bosom and lamented its fate,
-occasioned by the imprudence of its father, in a manner that would
-have moved insensibility itself." Washington did all in his power to
-soothe her, believing her innocent of previous knowledge of her
-husband's guilt. After Arnold had got safely aboard the "Vulture," he
-wrote to Washington, imploring protection for his wife and child,
-saying: "She is as good and innocent as an angel, and as incapable of
-doing wrong." Ample protection was afforded, and they were sent safely
-to her friends. She was Miss Shippen of Philadelphia, and only
-eighteen years old when Arnold, then the Military Governor of
-Philadelphia, married her in 1778, his second wife. The infant, James
-Robertson Arnold, afterwards became a distinguished officer in the
-British army, serving with credit in different parts of the world, and
-rising to the rank of Lieutenant General, dying in London in 1854.
-Benedict Arnold was made a Major General by the British, and was given
-a considerable sum of money; but his life was unhappy, as he was
-shunned and often insulted, and sinking into obscurity, he died in
-London in 1801. His treason was deliberately plotted, investigation
-showing he had been over a year in correspondence with the enemy, and
-had sought the command at West Point, given him in August, 1780, in
-order to compass its surrender.
-
-
-OLD CRO' NEST AND THE STORM KING.
-
-The dark pile of old Cro' Nest, guarding the northern side of West
-Point, rises fourteen hundred and eighteen feet, one of the noblest
-mountains of the Highlands. Beyond it, the Storm King and Mount Taurus
-are the northern portals of the pass, with Pollopell's Island, rocky
-and tree-clad, lying in the river between, and farther on the distant
-hazy shores enclosing Newburg Bay. These buttresses of the northern
-entrance solidly rise as protectors of the pass into the valley:
-
- "Mountains that like giants stand
- To sentinel enchanted land."
-
-On the northern side of the promontory making the Point, upon a little
-level plain above the cliffs, overlooking the river, and almost under
-the shadow of old Cro' Nest, is the West Point Cemetery. Here is
-buried General Winfield Scott. Upon the Parade Ground is the Battle
-Monument, erected in 1894, a column seventy-eight feet high,
-surmounted by a statue of Victory. Down along the most beautiful part
-of the shore at the Point, and leading to Kosciusko's Garden, a
-favorite resort of the Polish officer, is the secluded path which
-generations of impulsive young cadets have known as the "Flirtation
-Walk." Beginning at the roadway, high on the bluff, overlooking the
-river, it winds with devious turns down the declivity, and after
-curving around the promontory near the water's edge, sweeps grandly up
-the incline again. This trysting-path leads under a lacework of
-foliage, giving it pleasant and meditative gloom even when the sun
-shines brightly. Over across the river is the village of Cold Spring,
-having both above and below the shores rising steeply, and hung upon
-the edge is the pretty Church of St. Mary's, with its columned portico
-and surmounting belfry. Nearby the railway running along the shore
-pierces a tunnel through a rugged protruding rock. Here is the Cold
-Spring foundry that makes cannon for the army. Almost under the Parade
-Ground on the northern side is the Siege Battery, where the guns in
-time of artillery practice carry on a noisy and reverberating
-warfare across the Cove against the dark and towering side of old Cro'
-Nest. This grand mountain, the target for the youthful gunners,
-inspired the muse of George P. Morris, the lyric poet of the
-Highlands, whose delightful home was at Undercliff, across the river
-above, at the foot of Mount Taurus. His eyes perpetually feasted upon
-the view of this peak, and thus he described it:
-
- "Where Hudson's wave o'er silvery sands
- Winds through the hills afar,
- Old Cro' Nest like a monarch stands
- Crowned with a single star."
-
- [Illustration: _Up the Hudson from the Water Battery, West Point_]
-
-The northern portal of the Highlands is guarded on either hand by the
-Storm King, rising fifteen hundred and twenty-nine feet, and Mount
-Taurus, fifteen hundred and eighty-six feet. There are also a galaxy
-of attendant peaks. Beyond Mount Taurus is Breakneck Hill, rising
-nearly twelve hundred feet, with a chain of mountains stretching far
-to the northeast, among them the Old Beacon and the towering Grand
-Sachem, sixteen hundred and eighty feet high. The Storm King was the
-old Boter-Berg of the early Dutch, thus named because, to their
-matter-of-fact minds, the mountain resembled nothing so much as a huge
-lump of butter. Similarly, the eastern portal of the pass was Bull
-Mountain originally, but has since been more classically transformed
-into Mount Taurus. The ancient Knickerbocker legend records how the
-primitive inhabitants chased a wild bull around this mountain to the
-peak beyond it, where he fell and broke his neck, thus naming both of
-them, though Breakneck Hill yet awaits a more classic transformation.
-
-The geologists tell us that in early ages, like the Minisink of the
-Delaware, the region north of the Highlands adjacent to the Hudson
-Valley was a vast lake, extending back to Lake Champlain, which still
-remains as a fragment of the inland sea, following the melting of the
-great glacier. To get a southern outlet, the river broke through the
-mountain barrier and formed the winding and romantic Highland Pass.
-There is a grand outlook from the summit of the Storm King over this
-valley to the northward. The river expands into the beautiful Newburg
-Bay, its most perfect land-locked harbor, and its course can be traced
-through the "Long Reach" for more than twenty miles, a broad, straight
-stream between the pleasant banks, up to Crom Elbow, the "Krom
-Elleboge" of the original Dutch colonists. Villages dot the shores,
-and fertile fields stretch up on either hand, while hung in mid air,
-far away across the water, is the distant, slender, spider-like span
-of the high railway bridge at Poughkeepsie, the route by the "back
-door" into New England, which has gone through such serious throes of
-reconstruction. Upon the left hand the Catskills, and upon the right
-hand the Berkshire Hills of Western Massachusetts, bound the distant
-horizon. Behind, and to the southward, the river can be traced as it
-winds through the Highlands down to Anthony's Nose, while nearer, one
-can look into the depression on top of the adjoining mountain, within
-a surrounding amphitheatre of peaks that makes the striking
-resemblance giving the significant name to the old Cro' Nest.
-
-
-THE CULPRIT FAY.
-
-Between the Storm King and old Cro' Nest is the deep and beautiful
-Vale of Tempe, with wild ravines furrowed through it, forming channels
-for clear mountain streams, and the trees conceal many a delicious
-dell. In this picturesque nook among the mountains is laid the scene
-of Joseph Rodman Drake's charming poem of "The Culprit Fay":
-
- "'Tis the middle watch of a summer's night,
- The earth is dark but the heavens are bright;
- Naught is seen in the vault on high
- But the moon and the stars and the cloudless sky,
- And the flood which rolls its milky hue,
- A river of light on the welkin blue.
- The moon looks down on old Cro' Nest,
- She mellows the shades on his shaggy breast,
- And seems his huge gray form to throw
- In a silver cone on the wave below;
- His sides are broken by spots of shade,
- By the walnut bough and the cedar made,
- And through their clustering branches dark
- Glimmers and dies the fire-fly's spark,
- Like starry twinkles that momently break
- Through the rifts of the gathering tempest's rack."
-
-The story is told that Drake, then about twenty-one years of age, and
-James Fenimore Cooper and Fitz-Greene Halleck, who were his close
-friends, in August, 1816, were strolling through these Highlands. His
-companions got into a discussion, holding that our American rivers
-gave no such rare opportunities for poetic fancy as the streams of
-older lands. Drake disputed this, and, to prove the contrary, composed
-within three days this exquisite poem, which has largely made his
-fame. It is a simple yet interesting story. The fairies living in this
-beautiful valley are called together at midnight to punish one who has
-broken his vow, and they sentence him to a difficult penance, with all
-the evil spirits of air and water opposing. The genius of the poet
-interweaves the poem with every natural attraction the locality
-affords. Thus are the fairies summoned to the dance:
-
- "Ouphe and goblin! imp and sprite!
- Elf of eve and starry fay!
- Ye that love the moon's soft light,
- Hither, hither, wend your way.
- Twine ye in a jocund ring;
- Sing and trip it merrily;
- Hand to hand and wing to wing,
- Round the wild witch-hazel tree."
-
-These Cro' Nest fairies are a dainty race. Owlet's eyes are their
-lanterns; they repose in cobweb hammocks swung on tufted spears of
-grass and rocked by midsummer night zephyrs; some lie on beds of
-lichen, with pillows of the breast-plumes of the humming-bird; others
-nestle in the purple shade of the four-o'clock, or in rock-niches
-lined with dazzling mica. Velvet-like mushrooms are their tables,
-where they quaff the dew from the buttercup. Their king's throne is of
-spicewood and sassafras, supported on tortoise-shell pillars and
-draped with crimson tulip-leaves. The "culprit" himself, however, in
-his beautiful outfit and quaint adventures, gives the best imagery of
-the poem. At the opening of his journey, chagrined and fatigued, he
-captures a spotted toad for a steed, and bridles her with silk-weed
-twist, spurring her onward with an osier whip. Arriving at the water's
-edge, he plunges in, but leeches, fish and other watery foes drive him
-back with bruised limbs. The use of cobweb lint and the balsam dews of
-sorrel and henbane relieve his wounds, and being refreshed by the
-juices of calamus, he embarks in a mussel-shell boat, painted
-brilliantly without and tinged with pearl within. He gathers a
-colen-bell for a cup, and sculls into the middle of the stream,
-laughing at the foes who chatter and grin in the water. There he sits
-in the moonlight, until a sturgeon, coming by, leaps glistening into
-the silvery light; and then, like a liliputian Mercury, balancing upon
-one foot, he lifts the flowery cup and catches the sparkling drop that
-washes the stain from his wing. He returns to the shore, having sweet
-nymphs grasping the sides of the boat with their tiny hands and
-urging it onward. The next enterprise of the "culprit" is more
-knightly. He is arrayed as a fairy cavalier, in acorn helmet, plumed
-with thistle-down, corselet made of a bee's nest, and cloak of
-butterfly wings. His shield is a lady-bug's shell; his lance a
-wasp-sting; his spurs of cockle-seed; his bow of vine-twig strung with
-corn-silk; and his arrows, nettle-shafts. He mounts a fire-fly steed,
-and waving a blade of blue grass, speeds upward to catch a flying
-meteor's spark. Again the spirits of evil are let loose, those of air
-being as bad as those of water. A sylphid queen tries to enchant him
-with her beauty and kindness; she toys with the butterfly cloak as he
-tells the dangers he has passed. But he never forgets the object of
-his pilgrimage, and triumphing over the foes of air, he is escorted
-with honor by the sylph's lovely retinue; his career is resumed, his
-flame-wood lamp rekindled, and before a streak of dawn is proclaimed
-in the eastern sky by the sentry elf, the "Culprit Fay" has made his
-full penance and been welcomed back to all his original glory. Drake
-died at the early age of twenty-five, a victim of consumption, and his
-grave is beside the little river Bronx in New York. To his memory his
-friend Halleck wrote the noted poem, thus beginning:
-
- "Green be the turf above thee,
- Friend of my better days!
- None knew thee but to love thee,
- Nor named thee but to praise."
-
-
-NEWBURG BAY.
-
-Emerging from the Highlands, the gentle slopes of the town of Cornwall
-are under the shadow of the Storm King, while the mountain range
-stretches off to the northeast, with Fishkill village in front, and
-the Revolutionary signal station of the Old Beacon standing up
-prominently behind. These mountains were the Indian Matteawan, the
-"Council of Good Fur." The same name was given the stream draining
-their sides until the Dutch called it Vis Kill, or Fish Creek, and
-hence its present name and that of the village. The shores of Newburg
-Bay seem low, as they are dwarfed by the mountains, and on the western
-slope an elevated bench of table-land in terraces stretches back to
-the distant hills. The town of Newburg, which has about twenty-five
-thousand people, spreads up these terraces, and in front there are
-storehouses, mills and railway terminals. When Hendrick Hudson sailed
-his ship "Half Moon" through the Highlands, he was attracted by the
-site of Newburg, and wrote: "It is as beautiful a land as one can
-tread upon; a very pleasant place to build a town on." A tribe of the
-Minsis who had a village known as the Quassaic, meaning "the Place of
-the Rock," then occupied it, and would not for a half-century permit a
-settlement. They were driven away, however, and a colony of Lutherans
-from the Palatinate came here and founded the "Palatine Parish of
-Quassaic." They did not flourish, and ultimately some Scots arrived
-from the Tay, and seeing quite a resemblance to their old home, named
-the place Newborough. Its most distinguished citizen has probably been
-General John E. Wool, born here in 1788. At the southern end of this
-pleasant town, a short distance back from the river, is its chief
-celebrity, a low, old-fashioned graystone building, appearing to be
-almost all roof, from which tall chimneys rise. There is a broad lawn
-and flagstaff in front, and a grove for the background. This is the
-historic house, maintained by New York State as a relic, which was
-General Washington's headquarters during the closing campaign of the
-Revolution. It was built by Jonathan Hasbrouck, a Huguenot, in 1750,
-and is also known as the Hasbrouck House. In its centre is a large
-hall, having a huge fireplace on one side, and containing seven doors,
-but only one window. This was Washington's reception hall, and here he
-dined with his guests. At the foot of the flagstaff on the lawn is
-buried the last survivor of Washington's Life Guard, Ural Knapp, who
-died in 1856 at the age of ninety-seven. This Guard, organized in
-Boston in 1776, continued as his bodyguard throughout the war, and was
-selected from all the regiments of the army. Knapp was its sergeant,
-and at his last public appearance at a banquet in Newburg, the old man
-made a brief address, concluding with an invitation to the entire
-company to attend his funeral; four months later they did so.
-
-The "Tower of Victory" is a fine monument, built on the grounds by the
-Government, and surmounted by a statue of Washington in the act of
-sheathing his sword. A bronze tablet with the figure of Peace
-announces that it was erected "in commemoration of the disbandment,
-under proclamation of the Continental Congress of October 18, 1783, of
-the armies by whose patriotic and military virtue our National
-independence and sovereignty was established." It was at Newburg that
-Washington was offered the title of King by the officers of the army,
-but declined it. Over at Fishkill is the old Verplanck House, with its
-quaint dormer windows, which was the headquarters of Baron Steuben,
-and here, upon the disbandment of the army, was held the meeting of
-the officers at which was formed the Society of the Cincinnati,
-Washington being its first president. The mountainous region east and
-south and the "neutral ground" were the haunts of Enoch Crosby of
-Massachusetts, the American spy of the Revolution, whose exploits all
-about this locality Fenimore Cooper wove into his novel _The Spy, a
-Tale of the Neutral Ground_, which made the novelist's earliest fame.
-The ancient Wheaton House, around which much of the tale centred, is
-still there. The Murderer's Creek comes down to the Hudson through
-Newburg,--an attractive stream which deserved a better name, but did
-not get it until N. P. Willis, who lived at Cornwall, and who
-converted the Dutch "Butter Hill" into the Storm King, and "Bull Hill"
-into Mount Taurus, tried his persuasive powers at Newburg and got this
-stream softened into the pleasant Indian name of Moodna. The
-neighborhood of Newburg is famous from a scientific standpoint for the
-finding of the remains of mastodons. One was unearthed there in 1899,
-making the eleventh found in Orange County, New York, during the past
-century, some of them being among the finest specimens extant.
-
-At the head of Newburg Bay, on the western shore, is a rocky platform
-down by the waterside, known as the "Devil's Dance Chamber." When the
-"Half Moon" came up the river and anchored for the night, this broad
-flat rock, now almost hidden by cedars, was the scene of a wild
-midnight revel of the Indians, with all the accessories of song and
-dance, fire and war-paint, at which the Dutch sailors marvelled
-exceedingly, calling it the "Duyvel's Dans-Kamer." Here the warlike
-Minsis of the Quassaic, before going on hunting expeditions or the
-warpath, would paint themselves grotesquely and dance around a fire
-with horrible contortions, singing and yelling under direction of the
-soothsayers or "medicine men." They believed, if this was kept up long
-enough, the evil spirit would appear, either as a wild beast or a
-harmless animal; if the former, it foreboded ill-fortune and the
-expedition was abandoned, while the latter was a good omen. These
-hideous performances afterwards scared old Governor Peter Stuyvesant,
-according to the veracious Knickerbocker, when he sailed up the river,
-for the historian says, "Even now I have it on the point of my pen to
-relate how his crew was most horribly frightened, on going on shore
-above the Highlands, by a gang of merry, roystering devils, frisking
-and curvetting on a huge flat rock projecting into the river, and
-which is called the Duyvel's Dans-Kamer to this very day."
-
-
-POUGHKEEPSIE AND VASSAR.
-
-The Hudson River's "Long Reach" stretches many miles almost due
-northward, and on it is Poughkeepsie, with thirty thousand population,
-midway between New York and Albany. Near here lived stout Theophilus
-Anthony the blacksmith, who forged the great chains stretched across
-the Hudson in the Highlands, for which the British burnt his house and
-carried him a captive down to the New York prison-ships. Here, at
-Locust Grove, a foliage-covered rocky point protruding into the river,
-was long the home of Professor Samuel F. B. Morse, the inventor of the
-electric telegraph. Poughkeepsie spreads broadly upon its group of
-gentle hills, with the great railway-bridge crossing high overhead,
-elevated two hundred feet above the water, and nearly a mile and a
-half long. The Poughkeepsie streets, lined with fine elms, maples and
-acacias, rise upon the sloping banks to a height above the bridge
-level, the town being environed by rocky buttresses. The Indians named
-the place Apo-keep-sinck, or the "pleasant and safe harbor," and in it
-they housed their canoes. From this was gradually evolved the present
-name, through a variety of spellings, of which no less than forty-two
-different styles are found in the old records of the town. The "safe
-harbor" of the Indians was between two protruding rocky bluffs, and is
-now filled with wharves. The rapid Winnakee Brook leaps into it, a
-stream which the Dutch called the Fall Kill. The northern bordering
-bluff was their Slange Klippe, or the "Adder Cliff," infested with
-venomous serpents, and the other is the "Call Rock." Tradition tells
-that once a band of Mohican warriors who had made a foray into New
-England brought here some Pequot captives, among them a young chief
-who was tied to a tree for a sacrifice, when a shriek startled them,
-and a girl, leaping from the thicket, implored his life. She also was
-a captive Pequot and his affianced. As the captors debated, the
-warwhoop was suddenly sounded by hostile Hurons, and they seized their
-arms for defense. The maiden released her lover, but in the conflict
-they were separated, and a Huron carried her off. The young chief was
-almost inconsolable, but he pursued them beyond the river, and
-conceived a daring plan for rescue. He entered the Huron camp
-disguised as a wizard, found the maiden ill, and her Huron captor
-implored the wizard to save her life. This he essayed to do, she
-recognized him, and eluding the Huron vigilance, they escaped at
-nightfall. They made their way to the Hudson, paddled over in a canoe,
-and though pursued, he brought her into the "safe harbor," concealed
-her, and then, by the aid of the friendly Indians he found there, beat
-off the Hurons.
-
-The Dutch often sailed by, and cast longing eyes upon this spot, so
-favorable for a settlement, but it was nearly a century after Hudson's
-exploration when the venerable yet venturesome Baltus Van Kleek
-concluded it was about time to take possession. He landed in the
-harbor, became the lord of the manor, and in 1705 built near the
-Winnakee Brook a stout fortress-dwelling, which stood until recently.
-It was loop-holed for musketry, and in it the New York Legislature met
-for two sessions during the Revolution. Out in front was the "Call
-Rock," where old Baltus and his friends used to stand and hail the
-passing Dutch sloops when they wanted to get the news or journey upon
-the river. The New York State Convention met at Poughkeepsie in 1788,
-and ratified the Federal Constitution by the small majority of three,
-after a protracted debate. From its many elevations, this leading city
-of the Hudson Valley has a superb outlook, only limited by the
-Catskills far to the northwest, the Highlands down the river, and the
-dark-blue Shawangunk ridge off to the westward, where the attractive
-lakes Mohonk and Minnewaska, the former at twelve hundred and the
-latter at eighteen hundred feet elevation, nestle high among the
-mountain peaks, overshadowed by the bold summits of Paltz Point and
-Sky Top. Here flows deep in the valley the pretty Wallkill, out to the
-Rondout and the Hudson, giving the railroad a route into the mountain
-fastness.
-
-About two miles back from the river, and behind the city, is Vassar
-College, the foremost educational institution for women in the world.
-The splendid buildings stand in grounds covering two hundred acres,
-attractively laid out, and the main building, modelled after the
-Tuileries, with high surmounting dome, is five hundred feet long. From
-Sunset Hill, their highest eminence, there is a panorama of the Hudson
-for forty miles. This college was the gift of Matthew Vassar, a
-wealthy Poughkeepsie merchant and brewer, of English birth, who
-desired to make it the most complete foundation of its kind, and gave
-and bequeathed $1,000,000 besides the land, there being over $400,000
-expended upon the buildings. His nephews have since made large
-additional gifts. Here is provided a complete mathematical, classical
-and English education for several hundred female students. Its main
-building is the chief structure of Poughkeepsie. There are art
-galleries, a museum, library and observatory. The museum of American
-birds is the most complete existing, there is a fine gallery of
-water-colors, and a collection of ancient weapons and armor, including
-the halberd of King Francis I. The founder, having an ample fortune
-and no children, devoted the closing years of his life to this
-beneficent work, the college being begun in 1861 and opened in 1865.
-He labored assiduously at its development and died at his post of
-duty. Three years after the opening, when attending the annual meeting
-of the trustees, while reading his address, he was suddenly stricken
-with death.
-
-
-CROM ELBOW TO KINGSTON.
-
-Upon the Hudson River's "Long Reach" is the favorite locality of the
-winter "ice-boat races," this exhilarating sport in boats on runners
-speeding over the ice, before the wind, being much enjoyed. A few
-miles above Poughkeepsie the reach comes to an abrupt termination, in
-the bent and narrow pass, where the cliffs compress the channel and
-form the crooked strait known as the Crom Elbow, the Dutch and English
-words having the same meaning. Above, the western shore for a long
-distance is lined with apple orchards and vineyards, while the eastern
-bank for over thirty miles is a succession of villas interspersed with
-hamlets. Moving northward, the noble Catskill range comes into full
-view, gradually changing from distant gray to nearer blue, and then to
-green with the closer approach. Along the river for many miles, where
-these magnificent mountains give such a grand front outlook, there are
-a series of old Knickerbocker estates, many occupied by the
-descendants of the early settlers. Here was the princely home of the
-late William B. Dinsmore of Adams Express Company, a business begun in
-1840 with two men, a wheelbarrow and a boy, Dinsmore being one of the
-men and the late John Hoey of Long Branch the boy. Dinsmore built his
-gorgeous palace on the Hudson--and died. On the western shore is
-Pell's great apple orchard, shipping the fruit from twenty-five
-thousand trees all over the world. Some distance above, the Rondout
-Creek comes out through a deep gorge, having the twin cities of
-Rondout and Kingston nestling among its bordering hills. They have
-together over twenty-five thousand people. This was the outlet of the
-abandoned Delaware and Hudson Canal. Kingston Point, the mouth of the
-creek, was the place of earliest Dutch settlement in this part of New
-York, where they called it Wittwyck, or the "Wild Indian Town," and
-for defense built a redoubt, whence come the name of Rondout.
-
-The historic city of Kingston spreads back to Esopus Creek, a short
-distance inland, and was the Esopus town of colonial times, the name
-coming from the Indian dwellers here, meaning "the river." The old
-"Senate House" of Kingston, built in 1676, was the first meeting-place
-of the New York Legislature, and it now contains a collection of Dutch
-and other relics. The Esopus Indians broke up the original
-settlements with a terrible massacre, but Huguenot refugees came and
-re-peopled the place, and during the Revolution Esopus was such a
-"nest of rebels" that when the British came along in 1777 they burnt
-it. This punishment was inflicted because it was made the capital and
-the first New York State Constitution had been framed here during the
-preceding February. The tale is told that the British landing to burn
-the town scared a party of Dutch laborers, who briskly scampered off.
-One of them stepped on a hay-rake, and the handle flying up gave him a
-sharp rap on the head. Being frightened more than hurt, and sure that
-a Britisher closely pursued him, he fell on his knees, and imploringly
-exclaimed, "Mein Gott, I give up; hooray for King Shorge!" Kingston is
-a great producer of flagstones and manufactory of Rosendale cements,
-made from a fine-grained, hard, dark-blue stone, which is broken,
-burnt in kilns with coal, ground, and then prepared for market. Mixed
-with clean sharp sand, this cement becomes in time entirely impervious
-to water, and has all the strength of the best natural building
-stones.
-
-
-GREAT HISTORIC ESTATES.
-
-The solid old German burgher William Beckman came over from his native
-Rhine in 1647, and went sailing up the Hudson, his Fatherland memories
-being delighted at the sight of a noble hill on the eastern bank,
-opposite Rondout Creek. He settled there, building a house, and behind
-the hill started the town of Rhinebeck, a combination of his own name
-and that of his native river. This well-known Rhinecliff stands up
-alongside the Hudson, much like a vine-clad slope bordering the great
-German river, and is adorned with the ancient Beckman House, a stone
-structure built for a fort and dwelling. Famous estates surround
-Rhinebeck. Here is Ellerslie, the summer home of Levi P. Morton,
-formerly Vice-President, fronting the river for a long distance. The
-Astor estate of Rokeby, which was the home of William B. Astor and his
-son William Astor, is north of Rhinebeck, the house, surmounted by a
-tower, standing in a spacious park about a mile back from the river.
-Rokeby was a noted place in Revolutionary days, the home of General
-Armstrong, whose daughter married the elder Astor. Here is the
-Fleetwood estate, with its old house, built in 1700, having the
-"cannon-room" in front, with a port-hole facing the river. Here are
-Wilderstein and Grasmere, the home of the Livingston descendants, also
-Wildercliff, built by Rev. Freeborn Garrettson, one of the founders of
-the Methodist Church in America, its name signifying the "wild
-Indian's cliff." Garrettson was educated in Maryland for the Church of
-England. As a matter of conscience he afterwards espoused the cause of
-the Methodists, then in their infancy, entered their ministry, freed
-his slaves, and preached the gospel of Methodism everywhere,
-declaring his firm faith in a special Providence, and often proving it
-in his own person. Once a mob seized him and was taking him to jail,
-when a sudden and overpowering flash of lightning dispersed them, and
-he was left unmolested. In 1788 he came to New York in missionary
-work, and was made Presiding Elder of the district between Long Island
-Sound and Lake Champlain. Coming to Clermont, among his converts was
-the sister of Chancellor Livingston, and he married her in 1793,
-shortly afterwards building his house at Wildercliff. This was long a
-home for Methodist clergymen, his daughter continuing his hospitality.
-Another historic estate, just above Rokeby, is Montgomery Place, the
-home of another Livingston, the widow of General Montgomery, who was
-in the colonial attack upon Quebec, by Wolfe, and afterwards, in the
-early days of the Revolution, led a forlorn hope against Quebec, and
-perished as Wolfe had before him. His young widow lived here a
-half-century, and her brother's descendants now possess it.
-
-Krueger's Island, on the eastern shore, discloses in a grove a
-picturesque ruin, with broken arches, specially imported from Italy by
-a former owner of the island to give it a flavor of antiquity. The
-Catskills now rise in grander view, the Plattekill Clove comes down
-out of them, and Esopus Creek from the south flows into the Hudson.
-The Dutch called this Zaeger's Kill, which time corrupted into
-Saugerties, a pleasant factory village built behind the flats at the
-creek's mouth, and having the Catskills for a splendid background.
-Opposite, on the eastern bank, is Tivoli, and near here is located the
-parent estate of these historic homes. Robert Livingston came from
-Scotland to America in 1672 and married a member of the Schuyler
-family, who was the widow of a Van Rensselaer. He was a patrician of
-high degree, of the family of the Earls of Linlithgow, and seeking a
-home in the American wilderness, settled on the Hudson. He first lived
-at Albany, and being Secretary to the Indian Commissioners, he
-acquired extensive tracts of land fronting the river, which afterwards
-became the basis of great wealth. In 1710 these lands were
-consolidated under one English patent, giving him a princely domain of
-one hundred and sixty-two thousand acres for an "annual rent of
-twenty-eight shillings, lawful money of New York," equalling about
-$3.50. This "Livingston Manor" gave him a seat in the Colonial
-Legislature, and he built his manor-house upon a grassy point along
-the Hudson River bank, at the mouth of "Roeleffe Jansen's Kill,"
-flowing in a few miles north of Tivoli. The greater part of the manor
-descended to his son Robert, who built a finer mansion there, known as
-"Old Clermont," which the British burnt during the Revolution. In this
-house was born the grandson, the famous Chancellor of New York, Robert
-R. Livingston, who had so much to do with guiding the course of the
-State in that momentous era. He built the present Clermont mansion on
-the river bank above Tivoli. It is on a bluff shore, a grand estate
-surrounding it, and sloping gradually up to the hill-tops stretching
-to the horizon behind. This estate extended back originally to the
-Berkshire hills. The full glory of the Catskills is spread out in
-panorama before this noted mansion, with the distant hotels perched on
-the mountain tops.
-
-Chancellor Livingston was sent Minister to France, and when he
-returned he brought over merino sheep, introducing them into this
-country. His great honor as a man of science comes from his connection
-with Fulton's steamboat experiments. He met Fulton in Paris, and was
-closely connected with the first steamboat on the Hudson, which in
-fact could not have been built without his aid. By the help of
-Livingston's money, Fulton in 1807 built this steamboat in New York,
-naming her the "Clermont" in his honor. The experiment was publicly
-derided as "Fulton's Folly," but he persevered and succeeded. The
-"Clermont" was one hundred feet long, twelve feet beam and seven feet
-depth. In September, 1807, she made the first successful experimental
-trip from New York to Albany in thirty-six hours, charging the
-passengers $7.50 fare. She afterwards made regular trips, and on
-October 5, 1807, the _Albany Gazette_ announced: "Mr. Fulton's new
-steamboat left New York on the 2d, at ten o'clock A.M., against a
-strong tide, very rough water, and a violent gale from the north. She
-made a headway against the most sanguine expectations and without
-being rocked by the waves." Chancellor Livingston in Jefferson's
-Administration negotiated the cession of Louisiana by France to the
-United States, and ripe with honors, he died at Clermont in 1813.
-
-
-THE CATSKILL MOUNTAINS.
-
-Opposite these great estates, the Catskill Mountains rise in all their
-glory, spreading across the western horizon at a distance of eight to
-ten miles from the Hudson River. They stretch for about fifteen miles,
-and the range covers some five hundred square miles. The most
-prominent peaks in the view are Round Top and the High Peak, rising
-thirty-seven hundred and thirty-eight hundred feet, and in front of
-them, on lower elevations, are the summer hotels that have such superb
-views over the Hudson River valley. The town of Catskill on the
-river--a flourishing settlement of five thousand people--is the usual
-point of entrance, and from it a railway extends back to the bases of
-the mountains. An inclined plane railway over a mile long then ascends
-the face of the range, sixteen hundred feet high, to the hotels. This
-"Otis Elevating Railway," which accomplishes its journey in about ten
-minutes, is said to be the greatest inclined road in the world. The
-Indians knew these grand peaks as the Onti Ora, or "Mountains of the
-Sky," thus named because in some conditions of the atmosphere they
-appear like a heavy cumulus cloud hanging above the horizon. The weird
-Indian tradition was that among these mountains was held the treasury
-of storms and sunshine for the Hudson, presided over by the spirit of
-an old Indian squaw who dwelt within the range. She kept the day and
-the night imprisoned, letting out one at a time, and made new moons
-every month and hung them up in the sky, for they first appeared among
-these mountains, and then she cut up the old moons into stars. The
-great Manitou also employed her to manufacture thunder and clouds for
-the valley. Sometimes she wove the clouds out of cobwebs, gossamers
-and morning dew, and sent them off, flake by flake, floating in the
-air, to give light summer showers. Sometimes she would blow up black
-thunder-storms and send down drenching rains to swell the streams and
-sweep everything away. All these storms coming from the west appeared
-to originate in the mountains. The Indians also told of the imps that
-haunted their dells, luring the hunters to places of peril. When the
-Dutch colonists came along, they sent expeditions into the mountains,
-searching for gold and silver, but chiefly found wildcats, causing
-them to be named the Kaatsbergs, and from this their present title has
-come to be, in time, the Kaatskills or the Catskills.
-
-These attractive mountains are a group of the Alleghenies, having
-spurs extending northwest and west, at right angles to the general
-trend of the range, thus giving them quite a different form from that
-usual in the Allegheny ridges. They assume also more of the abrupt and
-rocky character of the Alpine peaks, and instead of the usual folds or
-fragments of arches commonly seen elsewhere, the Catskill crags are
-masses of piled-up strata in the original horizontal position. They
-have a most precipitous declivity facing the east towards the river
-valley. Deep ravines, which the Dutch called "Cloves," are cut into
-them by the mountain torrents, descending in places in beautiful
-cascades, sometimes for hundreds of feet. This aggregation of rocky
-cliffs and rounded peaks, and the intersecting gorges and smiling
-verdant valleys, have become a great resort for the summer
-pleasure-seeker, with myriads of hotels and boarding-places, where it
-is said that eighty to a hundred thousand people will go in the
-season. Their eastern verge is drained by the Hudson, while the many
-brooks and kills flowing out to the westward are gathered into the two
-branches that form the Delaware River.
-
-From their eastern front, where the huge hotels, built at twenty-four
-hundred feet elevation, are anchored by ponderous chain cables to keep
-them from being overthrown by the wind, there is an unrivalled view
-over the valley. The Hudson River stretches a silvery streak across
-the picture, and can be traced nearly a hundred miles from West Point
-up to Albany. Its distant diminutive steamboats slowly move, and like
-a shining thread, as the western sun strikes the car-windows and is
-reflected, a railway train glides along the bank ten miles away, seen
-so well, and yet so small. The perpendicular mountain wall brings the
-valley almost beneath one's feet, the buildings looking like
-children's toy houses, the trees like dwarfed bushes, and the fields,
-with their alternating green and brown colors, contrasting as the
-spaces on a chess-board. Wagons crawl like little ants upon the narrow
-mud-colored lines representing roads. The broad valley, though its
-surface is rugged and has high hills surmounted by patches of
-woodland, is so far below that it appears from above as a flat floor.
-Thus it stretches off to the river, with a sparkling pond here and
-there, and extending beyond to the eastern horizon the view is
-enclosed by the dark-blue Berkshire hills in Massachusetts, forty
-miles away. Behind them, on favored days, rise like a misty haze, off
-to the northeast, the White Mountains of New Hampshire. It was in this
-region that James Fenimore Cooper located the "Leather Stocking
-Tales," for his home at Cooperstown was on the Catskills' western
-verge. Natty Bumppo climbed up the mountain to get this wonderful
-view. "What see you when you get there?" asked Edward. "Creation,"
-said Natty, sweeping one hand around him in a circle, "all creation,
-lad," and then he continued, "If being the best part of a mile in the
-air, and having men's farms at your feet, with rivers looking like
-ribands, and mountains bigger than the 'Vision' seeming to be
-haystacks of green grass under you, give any satisfaction to a man, I
-can recommend the spot."
-
-
-RIP VAN WINKLE AND THE KAATERSKILL.
-
-These Catskill Mountains were purchased from the Indians on July 8,
-1678, by a company of Dutch and English gentlemen, who took their
-title at a solemn conclave held at the Stadt Huis in Albany, where the
-Indian chief Mahak-Neminea attended with six representatives of his
-tribe. The Indians seem to have soon disappeared, and the region for a
-century or more remained mythical and almost unexplored, thus
-contributing to the many fairy tales that have got mixed up with its
-history. It was among these wonderful mountains that Washington Irving
-was thus enabled to discover Rip Van Winkle. Down on the mountain
-side, upon the margin of a deep dark glen leading up from Catskill
-Village, stands Rip Van Winkle's ancient little cabin. It is within
-the vast amphitheatre where Hendrick Hudson's ghostly crew held their
-revels and beguiled him to drink from the flagon which put him into
-his sleep of twenty years. It was a curious revel, for with the
-gravest faces, and in mysterious silence, they rolled their nine-pin
-balls, which echoed along the mountains like rumbling peals of
-thunder. The huge cliffs overhanging the dark glen were evidently put
-there for just such a ghostly scene, and even now the old denizens of
-the Catskills are said to never hear a summer thunder-storm
-reverberating among these mountains without concluding that the Dutch
-ship's company from the "Half Moon" are again playing at their game of
-nine-pins. There is still pointed out the slab of rock on which Rip
-took his long sleep, and until recently there is said to have lived in
-the old cabin an alleged "Van Winkle" who made a pretence to be a
-descendant of the original Rip, and dispensed to the weary traveller
-liquids fully as sulphurous as those in the flagon of the ghostly
-crew. Among these mountains originated many of the quaint Dutch
-legends that have got so interwoven into the early history of New York
-that it is hard to separate the fact from the fiction.
-
-It was not until 1823 that the first summer hotel was built in the
-Catskills, a rude little structure standing where is now the Mountain
-House, near the summit of the inclined plane railway. The highest peak
-of the range is Slide Mountain, in the western Catskills, at the head
-of the Big Indian Valley, rising forty-two hundred and five feet. A
-large portion of this mountain, including the crest, is a New York
-State reservation, and from its top six States are in view. These
-Catskill peaks are built up of huge and jagged piles of crags and
-broken stone, through which the torrents have carved the "Cloves." The
-stratified rocks are easily split into layers, and they furnish the
-towns along the Hudson with much of the flagging used for footwalks.
-Enormous boulders, some as big as a house, are liberally strewn about,
-where they were dropped by the great glacier. Among the grandest of
-the gorges, which the torrents have cleft, is the Kaaterskill Clove,
-its stream, after various windings, finally flowing eastward towards
-the Hudson. As the name Kaatskill comes from the cat, so the
-Kaaterskill is regarded as derived from an animal of most complete
-feline development, the "gentleman cat." The steep borders of this
-Kaaterskill Clove, a wonderful canyon, down in the bottom of which ice
-and snow remain during the summer, furnish many points of remarkable
-outlook, giving a startling realization of the vast scale of these
-mountains. The stream bubbles far below, heard but not seen, and the
-mountain peaks above are occasionally obscured by passing clouds.
-Adjoining this canyon is an immense gorge carved out of the hills,
-into which pours the majestic Kaaterskill Falls, plunging down an
-abyss of two hundred and sixty feet in two leaps, respectively of one
-hundred and eighty and eighty feet. The stream is dammed above the
-cataract, so that in times of drouth the water may be retained and the
-falls thus be exhibited at intervals by turning on the water, as is
-the case with various cataracts in Switzerland. Few waterfalls have
-had more praises sung than this ribbon of spray, which was a favorite
-both of Cooper and Bryant. An inscription on the rock at the foot
-preserves the memory of a faithful dog, who once jumped down to follow
-a stone, because he thought it his master's bidding.
-
-The unique description of the Kaaterskill Falls by Cooper's Leather
-Stocking is interesting. He says, "The water comes crooking and
-winding among the rocks, first so slow that a trout might swim in it,
-and then starting and running just like any creature that wanted to
-make a far spring, till it gets to where the mountain divides like the
-cleft hoof of a deer, leaving a deep hollow for the brook to tumble
-into. The first pitch is nigh two hundred feet, and the water looks
-like flakes of driven snow afore it touches the bottom; and then the
-stream gathers itself together again for a new start, and may be
-flutters over fifty feet of flat rock before it falls for another
-hundred, where it jumps about from shelf to shelf, first turning this
-a-way, and then turning that a-way, striving to get out of the hollow,
-till it finally comes to the plain. To my judgment, it's the best
-piece of work I've met with in the woods, and none know how often the
-hand of God is seen in the wilderness but them that rove it for a
-man's life." William Cullen Bryant thus sings the praises of the
-Kaaterskill Falls:
-
- "'Midst greens and shades the Kaaterskill leaps
- From cliffs where the wood-flower clings;
- All summer he moistens his verdant steeps
- With the sweet, light spray of the mountain springs;
- And he shakes the woods on the mountain side,
- When they drip with the rains of autumn tide.
-
- "But when in the forest bare and old,
- The blast of December calls,
- He builds, in the star-light clear and cold,
- A palace of ice where his torrent falls,
- With turret, and arch, and fret-work fair,
- And pillars blue as the summer air."
-
-At the head of the Kaaterskill Clove are Haines's Falls in a
-picturesque environment, the stream making two main leaps of one
-hundred and fifty and eighty feet, and other plunges lower down,
-descending in all four hundred and seventy-five feet, within the
-distance of a quarter of a mile. The water here is also dammed to make
-a better exhibition. A main railway route into the Catskills is from
-Kingston up the valley of Esopus Creek, gradually ascending to its
-sources in the southwestern part of the range. This leads past the
-highest peak, Slide Mountain, past Shandaken or "the rapid water," and
-up the Big Indian Valley, at the head of which the summit is crossed
-between the waters of the Hudson and the Delaware. The "Big Indian"
-whose memory is thus preserved was Winnisook, a savage seven feet
-high. He fell in love with a white maiden of the lowlands, who,
-however, married one Joe Bundy instead, but got along so unhappily
-that she finally ran away to her dusky lover. Winnisook on one
-occasion came down to the lowlands with his tribe on a cattle-stealing
-expedition, and Joe Bundy shot and mortally wounded him, saying, "The
-best way to civilize the yellow serpent is to let daylight into his
-black heart." The Big Indian was afterwards found dead standing
-upright in the hollow of a large pine tree. The inconsolable maiden,
-overwhelmed with grief, is said to have spent the rest of her life
-near Winnisook's grave, while the stump of the pine was preserved
-until the railroad came along and covered it with an embankment. The
-whole Catskill region is full of charming places, and the vast summer
-crowds who visit it never tire of the bracing atmosphere, and the
-magnificent and ever-changing panorama of cloud and sunshine and
-diversified landscape, exhibited from its magnificent mountain tops.
-
- "'Tis here the eastern sunbeams gild
- The hills which rise on either hand;
- Till showers of purple mist are spilled
- In glittering dewdrops o'er the land."
-
-
-THE DUTCH AND THE SHAKERS.
-
-When Hendrick Hudson came up the river he found sand-bars above the
-Catskills, and anchored his "Half Moon" near Mount Merino, at what is
-now the head of ship navigation upon the Hudson, one hundred and
-fifteen miles from New York. Just beyond, a high plateau sloping to
-the shore is covered by the city of Hudson, having a green island in
-front, and over opposite the little town of Athens, with a lighthouse
-in midstream between them. Hudson has ten thousand people, a
-picturesque city sloping up Prospect Hill, which rises five hundred
-feet for a noble background, and it once had more ships and commerce
-than the city of New York. A colony of thrifty Quakers from New
-England started the settlement, which had many fishermen and whalers,
-and a large fleet of ships sailing to Europe and the Indies, fifteen
-loaded vessels having cleared from its wharves in a single day. But
-Napoleon's wars swept away its fleet and commerce, and the last ship
-was sold in 1845, so that its commercial greatness is only a
-tradition; although it has become a seat of considerable manufactures.
-Its most noted citizen was General Worth, a hero of the Mexican War,
-whose monument stands on Fifth Avenue, New York. Both sides of the
-river here are inhabited by the Dutch, and in fact theirs is the
-universal language of the Hudson from Kingston up to Albany. These
-Dutch of New York have given the country some notable men, among them
-General Philip Schuyler, Colonel Van Rensselaer, General Stryker and
-others of the Revolution, and President Martin Van Buren. They view
-with pardonable pride the important share they have had in founding
-and building up the Empire State, and Rev. Dr. Henry A. Van Dyke has
-poetically and ingeniously described the "Typical Dutchmen" of New
-York:
-
- "They sailed from the shores of the Zuyder Zee
- Across the stormy ocean,
- To build for the world a new country
- According to their notion:
- A land where thought should be free as air
- And speech be free as water;
- Where man to man should be just and fair,
- And Law be Liberty's daughter.
-
- "When the English fleet sailed up the bay,
- The small Dutch town was taken;
- But the Dutchmen there had come to stay;
- Their hold was never shaken.
- They could keep right on, and work and wait
- For the freedom of the nation;
- And we claim to-day that New York State
- Is built on a Dutch foundation."
-
-From the Taghkanic range of the Berkshire hills, behind Hudson City, a
-pretty stream comes down in many falls and cascades to the river just
-northward, whose charming valley was known among the Dutch as "Het
-Klauver Rack," or the "Clover Reach," modernized since, however, into
-the Claverack Creek. The Columbia Springs are in this valley, and
-farther on is Kinderhook Village, while back on the hills at a
-thousand feet elevation above the river, most picturesquely located,
-are the Lebanon Springs. Here is the noted Shaker settlement of New
-Lebanon, founded by "Mother Ann" in the eighteenth century. The sect
-has been declining in recent years, however. This is the governing
-Shaker community, and it has been well said, of these celibates, that
-"by frugality and industry they give us many useful things, but they
-do not produce what the Republic most needs--men and women." They
-cultivate large tracts of land, produce and sell quantities of herbs,
-seeds and botanic medicines, and make baskets, brooms and sieves. Ann
-Lee was the wife of a blacksmith in Manchester, England, and had been
-the mother of several children. She had what she claimed as Divine
-revelations, and was confined in a lunatic asylum for reviling
-matrimony. Being released in 1770, she founded the new sect,
-announcing, "I am Ann, the Word," and to escape further persecution
-migrated to New York, where she was made its spiritual head.
-Converting many, she established at New Lebanon the capital of the
-Shaker world, which has been called "the rural Vatican which claims a
-more despotic sway over the mind of man than ever the Roman Pontiff
-assumed." She claimed her Divine revelation to be that she was the
-female manifestation of Christ upon earth, the male manifestation
-having been Jesus, and the Deity being considered a duality, composed
-of both sexes. The Shakers call themselves the "United Society of
-Believers in Christ's Second Appearing." They have entire community of
-property, believe idleness to be sinful, and everyone able to work is
-employed. In worshipping they "exercise both soul and body," singing
-and dancing, and at times of fervent excitement making, with
-regularity and perfect rhythm, rapid bodily evolutions. In these they
-form in circles around a band of singers, to whose music they "go
-forth in the dances of them that make merry." Since the death of
-"Mother Ann" the Shaker community has been ruled by what is known as
-the "Holy Lead," composed of the first and second elders and
-elderesses. A peculiar tenet is that persons may join the sect after
-death, and among these posthumous members are Washington, Lafayette,
-Pocahontas, Napoleon and Tamerlane; and they hold that woman is
-supreme over mankind. Near the village and among the Berkshire hills,
-just over the border in Massachusetts, is their "Mount Sinai," where,
-according to the tradition, the Shakers hunted Satan throughout a long
-summer night, finally killing and burying him. They tell us that
-Washington and Lafayette still keep guard over his grave, mounted on
-white horses, and can be seen on summer nights by any of the truly
-faithful who may pass that way.
-
-The village of Kinderhook is in the Claverack Valley, and out in front
-on the Hudson is its port, Stuyvesant Landing, where the testy old
-Governor, Peter Stuyvesant the "Headstrong," made his landing when he
-came up the river to attack the great Patroon, Killian Van Rensselaer.
-Hendrick Hudson is said to have first named Kinderhook, or "Children's
-Point," because he saw here a crowd of Indian children watching his
-vessel. On the Lindenwold estate at Kinderhook, embowered in linden
-trees, lived for many years President Martin Van Buren, a descendant
-of the early Dutch settlers, and the shrewdest New York politician of
-his time. Over on the western bank is the Chaney Tinker Lighthouse,
-mounted on a crag a hundred feet high, and the distant horizon is
-bounded by the Helderbergs, a long range of peaks, lower, however,
-than the Catskills. Above, at Schodack Landing on the eastern shore,
-was the seat of the council-fire of the Mohicans, called by the French
-the _Loups_ or Wolves. The word "Is-cho-da" in their language means
-the "fireplace," and from this has come the name. When Hudson ascended
-the river, he found the Mohicans occupying its shores for a hundred
-miles above Rondout Creek, but the race dwindled, until it became the
-handful to whom the noted Jonathan Edwards ministered in the
-eighteenth century, at Stockbridge, Massachusetts. Hudson passed a day
-with them at Schodack, was treated hospitably, and wrote that their
-land was "the finest for cultivation he ever set foot on." Two
-centuries later, Cooper lamented the _Last of the Mohicans_.
-
-
-THE LAND OF THE PATROONS.
-
-We have now come to the high and rocky Bear or Beeren Island, which in
-New York's early days was the southern boundary on the river of the
-domain of the great Patroon, Killian Van Rensselaer. It marks the
-limit of two counties on either bank, Greene and Columbia below,
-joining Albany and Rensselaer above. Here stood the proud castle of
-Rensselaerstein, cannoned and fortified, where the Patroon's agent,
-the bold and doughty Nicolas Kroon, compelled all the Dutch sloops
-coming up from New Amsterdam to dip their colors in token of his
-sovereignty, and pay tribute for the privilege of entering the sacred
-domain. We are told that all passing craft yielded homage excepting
-two large whales, which in 1647 swam by and went up to the Mohawk,
-greatly terrifying the honest Albany burghers. Above the island, the
-Normanskill and other streams come down from the Helderbergs, making
-the shoals of the "Overslaugh," which the Government has improved by
-an extensive dyke system to deepen the river channel up to Albany.
-There are long and narrow alluvial islands on these flats, among which
-tows of Erie Canal barges thread their careful way; and ahead, the
-city of Albany comes into view with its bridges in front, and the
-grand new Capitol building elevated high on the hill above the town,
-its red-topped pyramidal roofs seen from afar.
-
-We are now at the domain of the great Patroon, the region around
-Albany and Troy. When Hudson anchored his ship below the shoals, he
-came with five of his sailors up to Albany in a row-boat and examined
-the location. The result was that from his report Albany was actually
-settled, five years later, in 1614, by the "United Nieu Nederlandts
-Company," who built a trading-post, thus making Albany, after
-Jamestown in Virginia, the oldest European settlement in the original
-thirteen colonies. The post was located on an island just below the
-city, near which the Normanskill flowed out through the forest on the
-western bank--the Indian Tawasentha, or "place of many dead." This
-island was called the "Kasteel," and in the "castle" a garrison of
-about a dozen Dutchmen conducted a profitable fur-trade with the
-Mohicans. Ultimately a freshet drove them to the mainland and they
-built a fort at the mouth of the Normanskill, and in 1623 a stockade
-was constructed above, at Albany, named Fort Orange in honor of the
-Prince of the Netherlands. In 1629 colonists were sent out from
-Holland, and the patroon system established. The Dutch West India
-Company made arrangements for extensively colonizing the New
-Netherlands, and passed a charter of exemptions and privileges to
-encourage patroons (or patrons) to make settlements. Every patroon
-establishing a colony was to have there within four years, as
-permanent residents, at least fifty persons, over fifteen years of
-age, of whom one-fourth were to arrive the first year. A director of
-the company, Killian Van Rensselaer, a pearl merchant of Amsterdam,
-was granted a patroonship, and got the officials at Fort Orange to buy
-extensive tracts from the Indians. He thus, with three others,
-acquired a manor extending twenty-four miles along the Hudson, from
-Beeren Island up to the Mohawk River, and this manor, which
-afterwards became the sole property of his family, was subsequently
-enlarged to extend twenty-four miles back from the Hudson in both
-directions, and contained over seven hundred thousand acres. The
-Patroon was a feudal lord, possessing absolute title to the soil, with
-power to administer civil and criminal justice, and enjoying other
-rights that reduced his colonists to a condition little better than
-serfs. His son Johannes inherited this patroonship from Killian, and
-it went by entail through five generations, when the United States
-laws barred further succession. The last Patroon, General Stephen Van
-Rensselaer, died in 1839, and his son Stephen, the sixth of the line,
-still styled by courtesy "the Patroon," died in 1868, aged eighty
-years. The original settlement of Fort Orange in the manor of
-Rensselaerwyck, as it was called, became a centre of the fur-trade,
-and a town quickly grew around the fort, which the English, upon their
-occupation in 1664, named Albany.
-
-
-THE ANTI-RENT WAR.
-
-As population increased on the adjacent lands, they began taking
-leases from the Patroon, paying rent for their farms, and this
-produced one of the bitterest conflicts known in American politics,
-the New York "Anti-Rent War." After the Revolution the inhabitants
-increased rapidly, and General Stephen Van Rensselaer, then the
-Patroon, leased farms in perpetuity, upon the nominal consideration
-for eight years of "a peppercorn a year," and at the expiration of
-this time these leases drew a rent estimated at six per cent. interest
-on the land value, about $5 per acre, payable in the produce of the
-soil, fowls, and days' service with wagons and horses, the latter
-designed to secure road-making. When the old General died in 1839, the
-entail being abolished, he divided the manor between his two sons,
-Stephen getting Albany County on the west bank, and William,
-Rensselaer County on the east bank, including Troy. He had been a
-lenient landlord, but the tenants became anxious, especially about
-what was known as the "quarter sales clause" in their leases, giving
-the landlord the right to claim one-fourth the purchase money whenever
-the land passed by purchase, this condition being really inserted to
-prevent alienation, as it did not become operative when the land was
-sold or descended to one of the original tenant's family. The tenants
-proposed that the landlord should sell the reservations, releasing
-them from the rentals and making them owners in fee, but this was
-declined. The tenants then employed counsel, who advised that the
-landlord's right was absolute, but suggested, while there was no legal
-remedy, that it would be good policy to make the rent collections so
-difficult, the landlord would be willing to come to terms; that they
-band together and give each other notice of the approach of bailiffs,
-so the service of legal process would be troublesome. William H.
-Seward, Governor of New York, espoused their cause, and to this
-advice, he being a candidate for re-election in 1840, he added the
-recommendation that the "anti-renters" should organize and send to the
-Legislature men who would hold the balance of power between the great
-parties, thus forcing the passage of laws relieving them.
-
-Then began the "anti-rent" conflicts convulsing New York politics for
-years. They formed an active and powerful political party, and created
-other organizations, disguised as Indians, who attacked the law
-officers. These supposed red men killed a man at Grafton in Rensselaer
-County, and all legal efforts failed to discover the culprits. Other
-similar manors existed in different parts of New York State where
-payment of rents of much the same character was resisted, and these
-regions also were excited. Outbreaks continued several years, until in
-1845 Governor Silas Wright issued a proclamation declaring Delaware
-County, on the western verge of the Catskills, in a state of
-insurrection. This caused additional trouble, but the "anti-renters"
-disposed of Wright by defeating him for re-election in 1846, and he
-died soon afterwards. They elected their own candidate for Governor,
-John Young, who pardoned out of jail nearly everybody imprisoned for
-"anti-rent" crimes. The disputes finally got into the courts, and the
-Van Rensselaers, fatigued with the controversy, sold all their rights
-to a Colonel Church. He was sustained by legal decisions, and then
-adopted a compromising policy, which quieted the agitation. He
-released the rentals and gave fee-simple titles, so that at least
-three-fourths of the old manor became without rental. His method of
-compromise was based on a scale: for a farm of one hundred and sixty
-acres where the annual rent was twenty-two and one-half bushels of
-wheat, four fat fowls and one day's service, the value was fixed at
-$26, being six per cent. interest on $433, and by paying this the
-tenant got his fee-simple title. Thus the harassing conflict which
-frequently required troops to be called out at Albany and elsewhere
-was finally adjusted.
-
-
-THE CITY OF ALBANY.
-
-Albany, the New York State Capital, has over one hundred thousand
-people. The city rises from the strip of level land along the river
-bank, in a series of terraces, to a height of nearly two hundred feet,
-the top being surmounted by the Capitol Building in a spacious park,
-back of which the surface extends westward in a sandy, almost level
-plain. The city spreads broadly along the river, where there are
-wharves, foundries, railway stations, mills, storehouses and lumber
-yards. Deep ravines are scarred into the hill behind them, and rows of
-fine old Knickerbocker houses line the hilly streets, with
-frequent church towers and spires rising above them. The main
-street, just back from the river, is Broadway, of varying width, but
-of the first commercial importance. At right angles to it, leading up
-the hill, is State Street, a noble avenue, one hundred and fifty feet
-wide, the front approach to the Capitol. This is the finest building
-in New York State, was thirty years in construction, and has cost
-$25,000,000. It is a quadrangle three hundred feet wide and four
-hundred feet deep, with an unfinished central tower, intended to be
-three hundred feet high, and Louvre pavilion towers at the angles. It
-is built in the French Renaissance, of a light-colored granite,
-pleasantly contrasting with the red-tiled roofs. Few of the
-pretentious buildings of the world occupy a more commanding situation,
-standing aloft like the Capitol at Washington, and, seen from afar, a
-complete old-time French chateau. Mr. E. A. Freeman has written of it,
-"If anyone had come up to me and told me in French, old or new, that
-the new Capitol was 'Le Chateau de Monseigneur le duc d'Albanie,' I
-could almost have believed him." Its architecture combines features
-adapted from the Louvre and Hotel de Ville of Paris and the Lyons
-Maison de Commerce. It stands in Capitol Square, a park of about eight
-acres, of which it covers three acres. The finest halls are the Senate
-and Assembly Chambers, to which grand stairways lead, and the interior
-is decorated with rich carvings, rare marbles and emblematic
-frescoes. The New York State Library, of nearly two hundred thousand
-volumes, is in the building. Upon the six dormer windows opening in
-the interior court are emblazoned the heraldic insignia of six noted
-families distinguished in New York history--Stuyvesant, Schuyler,
-Livingston, Jay, Clinton and Tompkins.
-
- [Illustration: _The State Capitol, Albany, N. Y._]
-
-Southward from the Capitol Square is the spacious and comfortable
-Executive Mansion, with an extensive lawn, on Eagle Street. On the
-same street, to the northeast of the Square, is the City Hall, a fine
-Gothic building with an elaborate bell tower. Also on Eagle Street is
-the Albany Medical College, having one of the finest Medical Museums
-in the country. Among its curios is the embalmed body of Calvin Edson,
-the "walking skeleton." This curious man came to Albany in 1830, being
-then forty-two years old and five feet two inches high, yet weighing
-only sixty pounds. He exhibited himself, and appeared in a play as
-_Jeremiah Thin_. He had a good appetite, but the more he ate the
-thinner he grew, until in 1833, the food ceasing to nourish him, he
-literally starved to death amid plenty, and when the end came, weighed
-but forty-five pounds. His widow sold his body to the college, and he
-now stands in a glass case, preserved with the skin on, labelled "No.
-1," and excepting discoloration is said to appear not very different
-from when living. On the northern side of the Square is the Albany
-Academy, one of the chief city schools, where Professor Joseph Henry
-was for several years an instructor, and noted as the place where he
-first demonstrated the theory of the magnetic telegraph by ringing a
-bell by an electric spark transmitted through a mile of wire strung
-around the room. The Dudley Astronomical Observatory is a small but
-imposing building upon an eminence overlooking the Hudson, having a
-munificent endowment begun by Mrs. Blandina Dudley in memory of her
-husband, a wealthy Albany merchant. A charming spot is Washington
-Park, westward from the Capitol, an enclosure of eighty-one acres,
-surrounded by ornamental villas, with magnificent views and most
-tastefully arranged. Part of this Park is land given the city by King
-James II.
-
-
-INTERESTING BUILDINGS.
-
-The most noted old Albany building is at the northern end of Broadway,
-in grounds extending to the river, and surrounded by fine trees, the
-ancient Van Rensselaer Mansion, commonly called the "Patroon's,"--a
-broad house with porch and wide central hall. This occupies the site
-of the first mansion, which was covered with a roof of reeds. Over on
-the opposite side of the river at Greenbush, the "Greene Bosch" or
-"pine woods" of the original settlers, is the Patroon's other
-residence, built of bricks from Holland, by the second Patroon
-Johannes. Port-holes were cut in the walls for the musketeers, it
-having been a fort in the Indian forays. The family burial-ground
-adjoins the mansion. State Street, at the corner of Pearl, which is
-parallel with Broadway, is the most interesting historic locality of
-ancient Albany. Here stood that elaborate dwelling of the
-Knickerbockers, regarded as the best specimen of old Dutch
-architecture in New York State, the "Vanderheyden Palace," an
-extensive building with two tall gables facing the street. One of the
-old burghers, Johannes Beekman, built it in 1725, and during the
-Revolution Jacob Vanderheyden of Troy bought it, and lived there many
-years in the almost regal state of the Dutch aristocracy. Washington
-Irving tells of it in the story of Dolph Heyliger, in _Bracebridge
-Hall_, as the residence of "Herr Anthony Vanderheyden," and when
-Irving transformed Van Tassel's old farmhouse into his villa at
-Sunnyside he made a gable in imitation of one of these, and also
-captured the old weather-vane of the "Palace"--a horse going at full
-speed--to mount on top of it. Upon the opposite corner was the quaint
-"Lydius House," the home of Rev. John Lydius, the owner of a great
-manor at Fort Edward, farther up the Hudson, and in front of it stood
-the crooked elm, giving the locality the name of the "Old Elm Tree
-Corner." This tree is said to have been planted by Philip Livingston,
-a signer of the Declaration of Independence, who lived in an adjoining
-house. The "Lydius House" had been built as a parsonage for the
-clergyman sent out to the old Dutch church, Rev. Gideon Schaats, the
-bricks, tiles, iron and woodwork, together with the church bell and
-pulpit, all coming from Holland in 1657, in the same ship. During many
-years its only occupant was Balthazar Lydius, an eccentric bachelor, a
-tall, spare, morose and irritable Dutchman, fond of bottle and pipe,
-and having a round bullet head thinly sprinkled with white hair. He
-gloried in his celibacy until the infirmities of age came upon him,
-when it is said he gave a pint of gin for an Indian squaw, called her
-his wife, and they lived contentedly together until he died. This was
-the oldest brick building in the United States; its partitions were
-made of mahogany and the exposed beams were richly carved.
-
-The antique pulpit, which came across in the ship with the materials
-of the "Lydius House," has done duty from then until now in various
-Dutch churches of Albany. It is of carved oak, octagonal in form. The
-original church stood in the middle of State Street, a low building
-with a tall pyramidal roof and little steeple, since removed to widen
-the street. The church gallery was quite low, while the huge stove
-warming the building was put upon a platform so high that the sexton
-had to step on it from the gallery when he wanted to kindle the fire.
-The astute Albany philosophers of those days believed heat descended
-from above. The bell-rope hung from the little steeple down into the
-centre of the church, and here, at eight o'clock at night, was rung
-the "suppawn bell," a signal to the obedient people to eat their
-"suppawn" or hasty pudding, and go to bed. Albany in the olden time
-had a quaint aspect because of the predominance of steep-roofed
-houses, with their terraced gables, but many of them have given way
-for modern improvements. Upon State Street, at the corner of James,
-lived in one of these the famous Anneke Jans Bogardus, who died there
-in 1663, the owner of the lands in New York city now partly held by
-Trinity Church, which her heirs have acquired so much notoriety in
-trying to recover. A bank now occupies the site. Albany has had some
-interesting history. In 1754 the Congress met here which was the first
-colonial organization, and finally developed into the Continental
-Congress. Seven colonies, north of Maryland, sent twenty-five
-Commissioners, who made a treaty with the Iroquois, the Indian league
-of the "Six Nations." Afterwards, under the guidance of Benjamin
-Franklin, a plan was adopted for a union of the colonies, its
-provisions being much similar to the United States Constitution of
-1787. Thus the germ of the American Union was first developed at
-Albany. Her influences have been powerful in politics. For many years
-the "Albany Regency" controlled the old Democratic party, this name
-having been given by Thurlow Weed, then editor of the _Albany Evening
-Journal_, to a junta of politicians usually assembling there, headed
-by Martin Van Buren. Subsequently, another combination at Albany was
-potential in ruling the Whigs and in controlling the Republican
-party--the political firm of "Seward, Weed and Greeley." Albany
-manoeuvres managed to control the preliminaries that twice made
-Grover Cleveland President; and in both parties the Albany political
-"patroons" are still industriously at work.
-
-Among the finest Albany buildings is the magnificent new Episcopal
-Cathedral of All Saints, an English Gothic structure, as yet
-incomplete, which will be one of the most beautiful churches in
-America. In the southern part of the city is the Schuyler Mansion,
-built in 1760, a brick house with a broad front, having a closed
-octagonal porch over the doorway and spacious apartments; its lawns in
-the olden time reaching to the Hudson, where now the city is densely
-built. Peter Schuyler was the first Mayor of Albany, and his
-descendant, General Philip Schuyler of the Revolution, occupied a
-large space in New York history. In this house Alexander Hamilton was
-married to Elizabeth Schuyler, and a subsequent owner, Mrs. McIntosh,
-was made the wife of Millard Fillmore, President of the United States.
-General Schuyler and his family always dispensed a princely
-hospitality in this mansion. In 1781, towards the close of the
-Revolution, it was the scene of a stirring event. The British,
-discovering that Schuyler was at home, tried to capture him. The house
-was then distant from the small town and surrounded by forests. A
-party of Canadians and Indians prowled for several days in the woods,
-and capturing a laborer, learnt that the General was in the house with
-a bodyguard of six men. The laborer escaped afterwards and notified
-the General. Upon a sultry day in August, when three of the guards
-were asleep in the basement and the other three lying on the grass in
-front of the house, a servant announced that a stranger at the back
-gate wished to speak with the General. The errand being apprehended,
-the doors and windows were barred, the family collected up stairs, and
-the General hastened to his bedchamber for his arms. From the window
-he saw the place surrounded by armed men, and fired a pistol to arouse
-the guards on the grass and alarm the town. At this moment the enemy
-burst open the doors, when Mrs. Schuyler suddenly discovered she had
-left her infant in the cradle in the hall below. She rushed to the
-rescue, but the General stopped her. One of her daughters then quickly
-ran down stairs, and carried the infant up in safety. An Indian who
-had entered hurled a tomahawk, as she rushed up the stairs, which cut
-her dress within a few inches of the baby's head, and striking the
-hand-rail made a deep scar. As she ran up stairs, the Tory commander,
-thinking her a servant, called out, "Wench, where is your master?"
-With great presence of mind she quickly replied, "Gone to alarm the
-town." General Schuyler heard her, and taking advantage, threw up a
-window, crying out loudly, as if to a multitude, "Come on, my brave
-fellows, surround the house and secure the villains!" The marauders,
-who were then plundering the plate in the dining-room, becoming
-frightened, beat a hasty retreat, taking prisoners the three guards
-who were in the house. The brave daughter, who made the gallant
-rescue, afterwards became the wife of the last Patroon Van Rensselaer,
-while the infant she saved lived until 1857, and was Schuyler's last
-surviving child, Mrs. Catharine Cochran of Oswego, New York. General
-Schuyler is buried in the beautiful Albany Rural Cemetery, north of
-the city, and nearby is Palmer's famous figure of the "Angel at the
-Sepulchre." Here is also the tomb of President Chester A. Arthur, who
-died in 1886.
-
-
-THE MODERN TROY.
-
-Travelling northward along the Hudson, the broad basin where the Erie
-Canal comes out to the river is passed, being shielded by a pier
-eighty feet wide and nearly a mile long. Here is the vast storehouse
-for Canadian and Adirondack lumber brought by the canals, a leading
-Albany industry, there being ten miles of dockage within this basin
-for the lumber barges. The Erie Canal from the west, and also the
-Champlain Canal from the north, here have their outlets into the
-Hudson. Both sides of the river are lined with villages between Albany
-and Troy--there being Greenbush, East Albany, Bath, Troy and West
-Troy, and beyond, Lansingburgh and Waterford at the confluence of the
-Mohawk. This series of cities and towns stretching for ten miles along
-the shores, with intervals of farm land, have an aggregate population
-exceeding three hundred thousand, with large manufactures and
-commerce. There are extensive iron mills on the river and upon Green
-Island in front of Troy, where General Gates had the camp for his
-Revolutionary army which fought Burgoyne at Saratoga. Upon the western
-bank is the Watervliet Arsenal, where the government manufactures army
-supplies, an enclosure of over a hundred acres. Troy is a fringe of
-city extending along the eastern bank and up the steep ridge behind,
-crowned by the imposing Byzantine buildings and spires of St. Joseph's
-Theological Seminary. This high ridge, bordering the alluvial flat on
-which the modern Troy is built, thoroughly carries out the Grecian
-idea which was adopted to supersede the original Dutch name of
-Vanderheyden which was given the town. From the northeast Mount
-Olympus and from the east Mount Ida frown upon Troy, and this modern
-Mount Ida does not hesitate at times to hurl down Jove's thunderbolts
-in the form of destructive landslips. Derick Vanderheyden leased this
-estate from the Patroon in 1720, and it slept in Dutch peacefulness
-until after the Revolution, when in 1789 it had twelve dwellings and
-the freeholders adopted the present name. Just before this, Jacob
-Vanderheyden had removed to Albany to occupy his "Palace." The opening
-of the Erie Canal gave Troy great prosperity. It has fine water-power,
-and thus became a busy manufacturing centre. Here are the great Albany
-and Rensselaer Iron Works, which were famous makers of armor plates
-and cannon in the Civil War, and the Berdan Horseshoe Mill, the
-largest in the country, which has the biggest water-wheel, eighty feet
-in diameter, turned by one of the kills coming down from the mountain
-behind the town. It was here that John Ericsson built the little
-"Monitor" ironclad which defeated the "Merrimac" at Fortress Monroe in
-1862. There are also great textile mills and a vast laundry. Its
-famous Polytechnic Institute is an endowment of the last Patroon,
-Stephen Van Rensselaer, who was Troy's steady benefactor.
-
-
-THE DEFEAT OF BURGOYNE.
-
-The Mohawk, its principal tributary, flows into the Hudson just above
-Troy, and each, being a mountain torrent, has brought down large
-alluvial deposits making extensive flats between the hills, so that
-their junction is marked by fertile islands and low shores, backed by
-picturesque ridges bordering broad valleys. Here are Green Island,
-Adam's Island and Van Schaick's Island, making an extensive delta. The
-Mohawk, after flowing from central New York nearly one hundred and
-forty miles in a rich agricultural section, pours down the falls at
-Cohoes, and enters the Hudson through four separate channels formed by
-these islands. The Mohawk Valley is largely a pastoral region, its
-dairies and cheeses having much fame, and in the lower valley
-hop-growing and broom-making are important industries, chiefly
-controlled by the Shakers. At one of their settlements, about six
-miles northwest of Albany, their foundress, "Mother Ann," who died in
-1784, is buried. The Hudson flows to its confluence with the Mohawk,
-with generally rapid current, bordered by rich plains, as it is
-ascended to Stillwater, and thirteen miles beyond, to Schuylerville,
-where Fish Creek comes in, the outlet of Saratoga Lake.
-
-Here is a region of great historic interest, for through it marched
-Sir John Burgoyne's army in 1777 to disastrous defeat. At and above
-Stillwater, and Bemis's Heights beyond, was the scene of his closing
-conflict, while Schuylerville stands upon the site of his camp at the
-time of his final surrender. General Schuyler, from whom the village
-is named, was then the owner of the entire domain of Saratoga.
-Burgoyne had come south from Canada to meet another British force
-thought to be advancing up the Hudson from New York, the design being
-to cut the rebellious colonies in two and defeat them in detail. The
-rebels hung upon Burgoyne's flanks, and at Bennington, Vermont,
-Stark's bold movement in August captured a large force of Hessians.
-Schuyler sent Arnold up the Mohawk, who cut off another detachment
-under St. Leger, who had come over from Oswego, intending to make a
-detour to Albany. In September, Burgoyne came to Saratoga, and had his
-first contest south of the springs, with the Americans under Gates.
-Afterwards, each army encamped within cannon-shot of the other until
-October 7th, Burgoyne all the while hoping for some diversion from the
-lower Hudson. The British camp was on the river below Schuylerville,
-and on that day they marched out to give battle, Burgoyne's chief
-lieutenant, General Fraser, directing the movements. Fraser was in
-full uniform, mounted upon an iron-gray steed, and became a most
-conspicuous object. Colonel Morgan, who had a force of Virginia
-sharpshooters, perceived this, and calling a number of his best men
-around him, pointed to the British right wing, which was making a
-victorious advance under Fraser's inspiration, and said: "That gallant
-officer is General Fraser; I admire and honor him, but it is necessary
-he should die; victory for the enemy depends on him; take your
-stations in that clump of bushes and do your duty." Within five
-minutes afterwards he was mortally wounded. His aid, recognizing that
-he was a conspicuous mark, had just observed: "Would it not be prudent
-for you to retire from this place?" and he had scarcely got the reply
-out of his mouth, "My duty forbids me to fly from danger," when he was
-shot. He survived throughout the night, and asked to be buried in a
-redoubt he had built on a hill near the Hudson. He died next day, and
-at sunset a funeral procession moved towards the redoubt. The
-Americans saw it, and, ignorant of what it meant, cannonaded, but
-desisted on learning the mournful object; and then a single cannon,
-fired at intervals, reverberated along the Hudson; an American
-minute-gun in memory of a brave soldier.
-
-Fraser's fall caused the British defeat, and they afterwards abandoned
-guns and baggage trains and retreated north to Schuylerville.
-Burgoyne's provisions gave out, many auxiliaries deserted him, the
-camp was incessantly cannonaded, and finally, with his forces reduced
-below six thousand men, on October 17th, he surrendered. It was said
-at the time, in the British Parliament, that the campaign thus ended
-"had left the country stripped of nearly every evidence of civilized
-occupation," and in its result it was declared to be "one of the
-fifteen decisive battles of the world." There were six members of
-Parliament among the captive officers, and Burgoyne gave up forty-two
-brass cannon. His army was held in captivity nearly five years, till
-the end of the war, at first near Boston, and later in Virginia. This
-victory was the turning-point of the Revolution. Among its results
-were, an appreciation of twenty per cent. in Continental money; the
-bold stand of Lord Chatham and Edmund Burke in Parliament, denouncing
-the method of conducting the war; the sending of cheering words to
-the struggling colonies by Spain, Holland, Russia and the Vatican; and
-the paving of the way for France to acknowledge the independence of
-the United States--all the result, under Providence, of Fraser's
-indiscreet devotion to duty. In the neighborhood is the great
-Methodist camp-meeting ground of Round Lake, and farther on Ballston
-Spa, where the Kayaderosseras Creek winds through a beautifully shaded
-valley and flows into Saratoga Lake. In the early part of the
-nineteenth century this was the greatest watering-place in America,
-its waters being chemically similar to those of Saratoga. Its Sans
-Souci Hotel, opened in 1804, was then the grandest in the country, and
-here were hatched most of the political schemes of the days of
-Presidents Madison, Monroe and Jackson, the "Albany Regency" in its
-palmiest days flourishing throughout the summer time on its lawns and
-porches. But much of Ballston's glory has departed, eclipsed by the
-newer radiance of its great neighbor, six miles away. The Saratoga
-Lake is three miles east of Ballston, an oval-shaped lake eight miles
-long, from which Fish Creek meanders off to the Hudson at
-Schuylerville. As the fishes thus ascended from the river into the
-lake, the Indians named it Saraghoga, or "the place of the herrings."
-
-
-SARATOGA.
-
-The famous watering-place, Saratoga, is a comparatively small town
-upon a level and somewhat barren plateau. A short distance north of
-Saratoga Lake, with a boulevard and electric road connecting them, is
-the shallow valley wherein are the famous mineral springs. Their
-virtues were long known to the Iroquois, and when the renowned French
-explorer Jacques Cartier ascended the St. Lawrence in 1535, searching
-for the "northwest passage," the Indians on the river bank told him
-about these springs and their wonderful cures. The Mohawks, who had
-these waters in their special keeping, regarded them with veneration.
-In August, 1767, their great English friend and adopted sachem, Sir
-William Johnson, who is said to have been the father of a hundred
-children, was suffering from re-opened wounds received in battle, and
-the tribe held a solemn council and determined to take him to this
-"medicine spring of the Great Spirit." They carried him on a litter
-many miles to the "High Rock Spring," and he was the first white man
-who saw it. His strength was regained in four days, and he wrote
-General Schuyler, "I have just returned from a most amazing spring
-which almost effected my cure." This spring, coming out of its conical
-rock reservoir, much like a diminutive geyser, and then called the
-"Round Rock Spring," was the first one known. There were occasional
-visitors during the Revolution, and the cutting of a road some time
-afterwards from the Mohawk through the forests to reach it, opened the
-place to the public. To-day, Saratoga is an aggregation of some of
-the greatest hotels in the world, with many smaller ones and numerous
-cottages. There is a permanent population of about twelve thousand,
-often swollen to fifty thousand in August and September, the "season."
-A shallow valley contains most of the springs, around which the town
-clusters, with extensive suburbs of wooden houses, groves and gardens.
-The valley is crossed by the chief street, Broadway, a magnificent
-avenue, one hundred and fifty feet wide, with spacious sidewalks
-shaded by rows of grand old elms and, in the centre of the settlement,
-bordered by enormous hotels. The greatest of these is the famous Grand
-Union, a vast structure of iron and brick, fronting eight hundred feet
-on Broadway, and having over two thousand beds, the largest
-watering-place hotel in the world. A garden and park are enclosed by
-its spacious wings, and here fountains plash and bands play, while the
-visitors promenade or sit and gossip upon the extensive piazzas. Its
-front piazza, spreading along Broadway, is eight hundred feet long and
-three stories high. Its dining-hall is two hundred and seventy-five
-feet long and sixty feet wide, the largest in existence, and seats
-seventeen hundred people at table. The United States Hotel, north of
-the Grand Union, and Congress Hall, across Broadway, are also enormous
-caravansaries, and in busy times these three hotels will accommodate
-over six thousand guests, the cost of running each of them for one
-day being $7500 to $10,000. Everything in these gigantic hotels is
-arranged upon a scale of splendor and immensity almost requiring a
-railway train to take the visitor about them.
-
-Many of the twenty-eight mineral springs of Saratoga border Broadway
-or are near it, and the most noted, the "Congress" and the "Hathorn,"
-are on either side of Congress Hall, thus being easy of access. The
-geologists say these springs rise from a line of "fault," which brings
-the slaty formations of the Hudson River against the sandstones and
-limestones that are above. They are generally muriated saline springs
-of about 50° temperature, the Congress Spring having about the
-strength of Kissingen Racoczy, but a milder taste, while the Hathorn
-Spring, its great rival, contains more chloride of sodium and iron.
-Some of the springs are chalybeate, others sulphurous or iodinous, and
-all are highly charged with carbonic acid gas. The Saratoga Seltzer
-resembles the seltzer of Germany, and the Geyser Spring is so highly
-charged that when drawn from a faucet it foams like soda water. The
-waters are both tonic and cathartic. The "High Rock Spring" bubbles up
-through an aperture in a conical rock composed of calcareous tufa,
-which has been formed by the deposits from the waters. This rock is
-four feet high, with a rounded top, in the centre of which is a
-circular opening a foot in diameter. The depth of the spring from the
-present top of the rock is thirty-two feet. The waters used to
-overflow occasionally and increase the size of the rock by the
-deposits, but a tree was blown down and cracked the rock, since which
-the waters will only rise to about six inches below the top. A pagoda
-covers it, beneath which water is ladled out to the thirsty. The
-Congress Spring is in a tasteful park, having this and the Columbian
-Spring under an elaborate pavilion. This Congress Spring was found by
-a hunting party who went through the valley in 1792, and named it in
-honor of a member of Congress who was with them. To this park go the
-crowds in the morning before breakfast to drink the waters, which are
-freely furnished either cold or hot, and music plays while the people
-drink glass after glass. Each pint of Congress water contains about
-seventy-five grains of mineral constituents and forty-nine cubic
-inches of carbonic acid gas. It is cathartic and alterative. The
-Columbian Spring has much more iron, and is a tonic and diuretic. The
-Hathorn Spring is in a large building adjoining Broadway, and was
-found when digging for the foundations of a new house. It is a
-powerful cathartic, containing nearly ninety-four grains of mineral
-constituents and forty-seven cubic inches of carbonic acid gas in each
-pint, and it is also a tonic and diuretic. The chief medicinal
-rivalries of Saratoga have been based upon the respective merits of
-the Congress and Hathorn waters, and great controversy has at times
-been thus inspired.
-
-There are other noted springs--the Hamilton, a mild cathartic; the
-Putnam, chalybeate, and having a bathing establishment; the Pavilion,
-a cathartic; the United States, a mild, agreeable tonic; and the
-Seltzer, rising through a tube several feet high, over the rim of
-which it flows, a sparkling and invigorating drink. The Empire closely
-resembles Congress water; the Red Spring is charged with much iron;
-and the Saratoga "A" Spring is a mild cathartic. Then there are the
-Saratoga Vichy, Saratoga Kissingen, Carlsbad, Magnetic, Imperial,
-Royal, Star, Excelsior, Eureka, White Sulphur and Geyser Springs, most
-of them in the outskirts. The Geyser spouts twenty-five feet high, is
-deliciously cold, and exhilarates like champagne. The Glacier Spring
-nearby was found by sinking an artesian well three hundred feet; its
-waters spout high above the tube, and are powerfully cathartic. There
-are six spouting springs, the Geyser being the best known; but of all
-the springs of Saratoga, the waters of barely a half-dozen are much
-used. The Congress, Empire and Hathorn Springs send their bottled
-waters all over the world. The springs are all wonderfully clear and
-sparkling, most of the waters pleasant to drink, and it is such a
-Saratoga fashion to go about imbibing and tasting these waters of
-rival virtues, that the visitors sometimes get into a plethoric
-condition that becomes uncomfortable if not dangerous. But the springs
-are not the chief attraction of Saratoga, and in fact the veteran
-visitors do not partake of them at all, but freely confess that they
-come not to drink the waters, but to see the life and be "in the
-swim," for in the season the crowd at Saratoga, unlike anywhere else,
-includes the leaders of all sets. The proximity of the Adirondacks
-gives the bracing ozone of mountain air, and in the cosmopolitan
-throng is generally included the best the country can show of fashion
-and wealth. It is a great place for holding all kinds of conventions,
-and many are the political, corporation and stock-jobbing schemes
-hatched on the great hotel piazzas. It is also famous for dresses and
-diamonds, and wonderful is the elaborateness of millinery, gowns and
-jewels. The glitter of diamonds dazzles at every turn as they sparkle
-under the brilliant electric lights illuminating the evening scene. It
-was said not long ago, in a description of Saratoga, that if the Grand
-Union Hotel should ever perish in the height of the season, with all
-it contains, the future explorer who might delve in its ruins would
-come upon the rarest diamond mine the world ever knew.
-
-Upon Saratoga Lake is the famous restaurant where "Saratoga chips"
-were invented and are served, this route being a favorite drive for
-the people who attend the numerous conventions, for whose use an
-elaborate Convention Hall has been erected on Broadway, seating five
-thousand persons. On the western shore of the lake, just where the
-Kayaderosseras River flows in from Ballston, is pointed out the
-battlefield on which the legend says that in the days of the warlike
-Mohawks and fierce Mohicans they had a deadly combat, a thousand
-warriors being engaged, when suddenly the Great Spirit sent a
-miraculous white dove over the lake and battlefield, having such an
-effect that the conflict ceased, their tomahawks fell useless at their
-feet, and they smoked the calumet of peace. To the northward of
-Saratoga is the extensive Woodlawn Park, the home of the late Judge
-Henry Hilton. Ten miles northward is Mount McGregor, rising twelve
-hundred feet and giving a magnificent view. It was here that General
-Grant was taken in his last illness in 1885, and the cottage in which
-he died is now the property of New York State and open to the public.
-
-
-FORT EDWARD.
-
-The upper Hudson River has various falls providing good water-power,
-which are largely availed of by paper-mills. The famous Fort Edward,
-one of these noted paper-making towns, is but a short distance from
-Saratoga. The railroad, leading from Saratoga and the south to Lake
-Champlain and the north, here crosses the Hudson in a region of great
-historic interest. This was the beginning of the portage in early
-times between the river and the lake, the railway route following the
-ancient Indian trail. The two waters are actually connected by the
-Champlain Canal, and, curiously enough, this makes New England an
-island, thus realizing the belief of the original explorers. Rev.
-Robert Cushman, who preached the first sermon before the Massachusetts
-Pilgrims at Plymouth in 1621, afterwards published it with an
-introduction describing New England, in which he says: "So far as we
-can find, it is an island, and near about the quantity of England,
-being cut out from the mainland in America, as England is from the
-main of Europe, by a great arm of the sea (Hudson's River) which
-entereth in forty degrees and runneth up northwest and by west, and
-goeth out either into the South Sea (Pacific Ocean) or else into the
-Bay of Canada (Gulf of St. Lawrence)." There can still be seen at Fort
-Edward traces of the ramparts of the old fort commanding the portage,
-which was held and fought for in the eighteenth century. Originally a
-noble domain around it of one thousand square miles was granted to
-"our loving subject, the Reverend Godfridius Dellius, Minister of the
-Gospell att our city of Albany," for "the annual rent of one Raccoon
-Skin." The old gentleman, however, fell from grace, and the domain was
-taken away from him and the New York Legislature suspended him from
-the ministry for "deluding the Mohawk Indians, and illegal and
-surreptitious obtaining of said grant." Then it went to his successor,
-Rev. John Lydius, who lived in the quaint "Lydius House" in Albany.
-The first fort was built soon after Lydius took possession, and in
-1744 he established a fur-trading station. A military road was then
-constructed from Saratoga to Whitehall on Lake Champlain, here
-crossing the river, and it was commanded by three forts, one at this
-crossing. The French destroyed the first fort, but Sir William Johnson
-made a successful expedition into the Lake Champlain district in 1755,
-and built here the strong post of Fort Edward. It was an important
-work during the whole French and Indian War, lasting seven years, and
-it was here that Lord Amherst organized the army which conquered
-Canada in 1759.
-
-At Fort Edward first appeared as a British soldier one of the greatest
-heroes of the Revolution, Israel Putnam. He had joined Sir William
-Johnson's expedition as captain in a Connecticut regiment. He
-performed here a daring exploit; the wooden barracks had caught fire
-and the garrison vainly tried to subdue the flames, which approached
-the powder magazine, and the danger was frightful. The water-gate was
-opened, and the soldiers in line passed buckets of water up from the
-river, when Putnam mounted the roof of the next building to the
-magazine and threw the water on the fire. The commander, fearing for
-his life, ordered him to desist, but he would not leave until he felt
-the roof giving away. Then he got alongside the magazine, its timbers
-already charred, and hurled bucket after bucket upon it, with final
-success, the magazine being saved and an explosion prevented. The fire
-was quenched, but the burnt and blistered hero was for a month a
-sufferer in the hospital. Putnam had an adventure at the rapids a few
-miles below Fort Edward, where he was out with a scouting party, and
-being alongside the bank alone in his boat, was surprised by the
-Indians. He could not cross the river above the rapids quickly enough
-to elude their muskets, and the only escape was down the cataract.
-Without hesitation, to the astonishment of the savages, his boat shot
-directly down the foaming, whirling current, amid eddies and over
-rugged rocks, and in a few moments he had escaped them, and was
-floating on the tranquil river below. Believing him to be protected by
-the Great Spirit, they dared not follow. Shortly afterwards, returning
-from a scout on Lake Champlain, Putnam's party was surprised, and the
-Indians captured and bound him to a tree. While thus situated, a
-battle between his friends and the enemy raged for an hour around the
-tree, he being under the hottest fire, but he was unscathed. The
-Indians were beaten and had to retreat, but they took their captive
-along, determined to have vengeance by roasting him alive. He was
-again tied to a tree, and the fire had been kindled and was blazing
-when the French commander, Molang, discovered and rescued him. Thus
-was Putnam seasoned for his great work in the Revolution.
-
-The tragic murder of poor Jenny McCrea is also associated with Fort
-Edward. This post in the Revolution was held in 1777 by an American
-garrison, who retired before the advance of Burgoyne's army
-southward. Jenny McCrea, the graceful and winning daughter of a
-Presbyterian clergyman, who was betrothed to an officer in Burgoyne's
-army, was visiting a widow lady at Fort Edward. In order to secure
-Indian co-operation, Burgoyne had offered bounties for prisoners and
-scalps, at the same time forbidding the killing of unarmed persons. He
-found it difficult, however, to restrain the savages, who went about
-in small bodies seeking captives, and one of these parties, prowling
-around Fort Edward, entered the house where Jenny was staying and
-carried off Jenny and her friend. An alarm was given, and troops sent
-after them. The Indians had caught two horses, on one of which Jenny
-was mounted, when the pursuers assailed them with a volley of bullets.
-The Indians were unhurt, but the fair captive was mortally wounded and
-fell, and, as tradition relates, expired at the foot of a huge pine
-tree, which remained a memorial of the tragedy for nearly a century.
-The savages thus lost their prisoner, but they quickly scalped her,
-and taking her long black tresses, bathed in blood, to Burgoyne's
-camp, they claimed reward. They were accused of her murder, but denied
-it, and the horrid tale, magnified by repetition, caused the greatest
-indignation. General Gates issued an address, charging Burgoyne with
-hiring savages to scalp Europeans and their descendants, and
-describing Jenny as having been "dressed to meet her promised
-husband, but met her murderers." For this crime, it was added,
-Burgoyne had "paid the price of blood." Poor Jenny's murder, with
-Burgoyne's defeat, was employed most effectively by the opposition in
-the British House of Commons, Chatham and Burke eloquently denouncing
-the barbarity and merciless cruelties of his unfortunate campaign. Her
-lover declined longer to stay in Burgoyne's army, but retired to
-Canada, living there till old age. Jenny's remains are interred in the
-beautiful cemetery overlooking the Hudson above Fort Edward, marked by
-a monument recording her murder by a band of Indians at the age of
-seventeen, and reciting that the memorial was erected "To record one
-of the most thrilling incidents in the annals of the American
-Revolution; to do justice to the fame of the gallant British officer
-to whom she was affianced; and as a simple tribute to the memory of
-the departed." This gentle maiden's sacrifice was of priceless value
-in producing the revulsion of sentiment in Europe that had so much to
-do with the final success of the Revolution.
-
-
-BAKER'S FALLS AND GLEN'S FALLS.
-
-In coming to Fort Edward, the Hudson River sweeps around a grand curve
-from the west towards the south, much of its course over cascades and
-down rapids that are lined with mills. In a mile it descends eighty
-feet, these rapids being known as Baker's Falls, and just above is the
-village of Sandy Hill, having in its centre a pleasant elm-shaded
-green. Here was enacted a tragedy, in some respects rivalling the tale
-of Pocahontas. A party of sixteen, carrying supplies to Lake George,
-was surprised and captured by Indians, and taken to the trunk of a
-fallen tree on the spot where is now the village green, bound by
-hickory withes and seated in a row. The savages then began at the end
-of the row and tomahawked them one after another until only two
-remained, Lieutenant McGinnis commanding the party and a young
-teamster named Quackenboss. The tomahawk was brandished over the
-former, when he threw himself backward and tried to break his bonds. A
-dozen tomahawks instantly gleamed over him, and lying on his back he
-defended himself with his heels, but he was soon hacked to death.
-Quackenboss alone remained, and the deadly hatchet was raised over his
-head, when suddenly the arm of the savage was seized by a squaw, who
-cried, "You shall not kill him; he no fighter; he my dog." They spared
-him to become a beast of burden. Staggering under a pack of plunder
-almost too heavy to carry, they marched him towards Canada, the
-Indians bearing his companions' scalps as trophies. They sailed along
-Lake Champlain in canoes, and at the first Indian village at which
-they halted he was compelled to "run the gauntlet." He ran between
-rows of savages armed with heavy clubs, who beat him, an ordeal in
-which he was severely injured. The Indian woman, however, took him to
-her wigwam, bound up his wounds, and carefully nursed him until he
-recovered. He was ultimately ransomed, obtaining employment in
-Montreal. Finally returning to his home, he lived to a ripe old age,
-telling of his adventures until he died in 1820.
-
-Following the curving Hudson River bank around to the westward,
-another series of rapids and cascades is ascended to the thriving
-manufacturing town of Glen's Falls. This magnificent cataract pours
-through a wild ravine having over seventy feet descent, the water
-flowing upon rough masses of black marble composing the rocky terraces
-the stream has broken down. The Mohicans had significant names for
-this famous cataract. One was Kayandorossa, meaning the "long deep
-hole," applied to the ravine; and another, Che-pon-tuc, or "hard
-climbing; a difficult place to get around." Along the north side of
-the ravine, upon a beautiful plain, is the manufacturing settlement of
-about ten thousand people, who use the admirable water-power and get
-the black marble out of adjacent quarries. Vast numbers of logs coming
-down the Hudson are gathered in a boom above the town, and sawmills
-cut them into lumber. Paper-mills cluster about the falls, and
-marble-saws work up the black rocks. In the centre of the ravine,
-above the falls, a cavern is hewn where a rocky islet makes a rude
-abutment for a bridge pier. Father Jogues, who came over from Lake
-George in 1645, was the first white man who saw this attractive
-region, and he wrote that the Indians then called the Hudson
-"Oi-o-gue" or "the beautiful river," while the Hollanders, settled on
-it farther down, had named it the "river Van Maurice." When the Dutch
-made their first explorations they found that the lower Mohawk and the
-upper valley of the Hudson, with the country northward extending into
-the Adirondacks, was the home of the Mohicans, an Algonquin tribe, and
-always at war with the Mohawks, their western neighbors higher up that
-valley. It was thought probable that with a view of securing
-assistance in this inveterate feud, the Mohicans received the Dutch
-settlers so amicably and gave them lands.
-
-James Fenimore Cooper located around Glen's Falls the scene of his
-novel, the _Last of the Mohicans_, in which _Hawkeye_, looking out of
-the cavern in the ravine, gives his admirable description of the
-cataract as it appeared in the French and Indian War, before the
-millwright had come along to disturb the scenery. "Ay," he said,
-"there are the falls on two sides of us, and the river above and
-below. If you had daylight it would be worth the trouble to step up on
-the height of this rock and look at the perversity of the water. It
-falls by no rule at all; sometimes it leaps, sometimes it tumbles;
-there it skips; here it shoots; in one place 'tis as white as snow,
-and in another 'tis as green as grass; hereabouts it pitches into deep
-hollows that rumble and quake the 'arth, and thereaway it ripples and
-sings like a brook, fashioning whirlpools and gullies in the old stone
-as if 'twere no harder than trodden clay. The whole design of the
-river seems disconnected. First it runs smoothly as if meaning to go
-down the descent as things were ordered; then it angles about and
-faces the shores; nor are there places wanting where it looks
-backward, as if unwilling to leave the wilderness to mingle with the
-salt!"
-
-
-SOURCES OF THE HUDSON.
-
-The noble Hudson River, which we have ascended to Glen's Falls, flows
-out of the great Adirondack wilderness of Northern New York, the
-headwaters draining its extensive southern declivity. Among these
-virgin Adirondack woods and mountains, near the Long Lake, is the
-remote source of the western branch of the Hudson, the "Hendrick
-Spring." Surrounded by forest and swamp, this cool and shallow pool,
-about five feet in diameter, fringed by delicate ferns, and overhung
-with vines and shrubbery, is the beginning of the great river, and
-named in honor of its discoverer and first explorer:
-
- "Far up in the dim mountain glade,
- Wrapped in the myst'ry of its shade,
- On a cold rock, a dewdrop fell,
- And slumbered in its stony shell,
- Till brewed within its rocky bed,
- There trickled out a silver thread,
- A little, shy, lost waterling,
- That marks the cradled mountain spring."
-
-The Hendrick Spring is within a half-mile of Long Lake and upon the
-same summit, the latter discharging its waters northward into the St.
-Lawrence. The little stream from this source gathers force, and flows
-through a chain of brooks and ponds to the lovely Catlin Lake. High
-peaks environ them, and their swelling waters make much of the river
-on coming to the confluence with the northern branch of the Hudson at
-the outlet of Harris Lake. Here there blooms, all about, the splendid
-cardinal plant, its showy flower glowing like a flame.
-
-The most elevated fountain head of the Hudson is upon the northern
-branch. Within the inmost recesses of the mountain wilderness, in a
-ravine between two of the highest peaks, the river has its spring
-nearest the sky, known as "The Tear of the Clouds," a lofty pool,
-adjacent to one of the noted Adirondack portages, the Indian Pass, at
-about forty-three hundred feet elevation above the sea. From this pool
-the water flows out through the Feldspar Brook into the Opalescent
-River, which does not go far before it tumbles down the picturesque
-cascade of the Hanging Spear, leaping fifty feet into a narrow abyss
-between perpendicular walls, and emerging among a mass of huge
-boulders. All these rocks, like the greater part of the Aganus-chion,
-or Black Mountains, as the Indians often called the Adirondacks, are
-composed largely of the labradorite or opalescent feldspar, which
-fills the stream-bed with beautiful pebbles of blue or green or gold,
-many of them having all the colors. Thus glittering with the splendors
-of its rich coloring under the sunlight, the Opalescent River falls
-into Sandford Lake. A visitor to the Indian Pass says the explorers
-entered the rocky gorge between the steep slopes of Mount McIntyre and
-the cliffs of Wallface Mountain to the westward. Clambering high above
-the bottom of the canyon, they could see the famous Indian Pass
-between these mountains in all its wild grandeur. Before them rose a
-perpendicular cliff nearly twelve hundred feet from base to summit,
-its face being apparently as raw as if only just cleft. Above sloped
-Mount McIntyre, still more lofty than the cliff of Wallface, and in
-the gorge between lay piles of rocks, grand in dimensions and awful in
-aspect, as if hurled there by some terrible convulsion. Through these
-came the little stream going to the Hudson, bubbling along from its
-source close by a fountain of the Ausable. In spring freshets their
-waters commingle, part finding their way to the ocean at New York and
-part at Newfoundland.
-
-Still another spring of clear cold water is a source of the Hudson,
-sending down the mountain side a vigorous rivulet, falling into the
-Opalescent. This fountain bubbles from a mass of loose rocks, some
-weighing a thousand tons apiece, about a hundred feet from the summit
-of the noble Mount Marcy, which the Indians called Tahawus, the
-"Sky-piercer." From these sources among the Adirondacks flows the
-most important river of New York, uniting the waters of myriads of
-lakes and springs to form the noble stream which is picturesque and
-attractive throughout the whole of its course of three hundred miles
-to the sea. The main branches of the upper Hudson unite almost under
-the shadow of Tahawus, and flowing a tortuous course, it receives the
-outlet of Schroon Lake, the largest in the Adirondacks, covering about
-twenty square miles, the junction-point being but a short distance
-west of Lake George. Then flowing southward and turning eastward, it
-emerges from the mountain wilderness, and in about a hundred miles
-reaches its great cataract at Glen's Falls. Sweeping around the grand
-bend below, and tumbling down Baker's Falls, past Fort Edward and the
-rapids of Fort Miller, it receives the largest tributary from the
-eastward, the Battenkill, a rapid shallow stream flowing from the
-Green Mountains of Vermont. Thence its course is southward, every mile
-from the wilderness to the sea being replete with historic and scenic
-attractions:
-
- "Queen of all lovely rivers, lustrous queen
- Of flowing waters in our sweet new lands,
- Rippling through sunlight to the ocean sands,
- Within a smiling valley, and between
- Romantic shores of silvery summer green;
- Memorial of wild days and savage bands,
- Singing the patient deeds of patriot hands,
- Crooning of golden glorious years foreseen."
-
-
-
-
-
-End of the Project Gutenberg EBook of America, Volume III (of 6), by Joel Cook
-
-*** END OF THIS PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK AMERICA, VOLUME III (OF 6) ***
-
-***** This file should be named 41776-8.txt or 41776-8.zip *****
-This and all associated files of various formats will be found in:
- http://www.gutenberg.org/4/1/7/7/41776/
-
-Produced by Melissa McDaniel and the Online Distributed
-Proofreading Team at http://www.pgdp.net (This file was
-produced from images generously made available by The
-Internet Archive)
-
-
-Updated editions will replace the previous one--the old editions
-will be renamed.
-
-Creating the works from public domain print editions means that no
-one owns a United States copyright in these works, so the Foundation
-(and you!) can copy and distribute it in the United States without
-permission and without paying copyright royalties. Special rules,
-set forth in the General Terms of Use part of this license, apply to
-copying and distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works to
-protect the PROJECT GUTENBERG-tm concept and trademark. Project
-Gutenberg is a registered trademark, and may not be used if you
-charge for the eBooks, unless you receive specific permission. If you
-do not charge anything for copies of this eBook, complying with the
-rules is very easy. You may use this eBook for nearly any purpose
-such as creation of derivative works, reports, performances and
-research. They may be modified and printed and given away--you may do
-practically ANYTHING with public domain eBooks. Redistribution is
-subject to the trademark license, especially commercial
-redistribution.
-
-
-
-*** START: FULL LICENSE ***
-
-THE FULL PROJECT GUTENBERG LICENSE
-PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU DISTRIBUTE OR USE THIS WORK
-
-To protect the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting the free
-distribution of electronic works, by using or distributing this work
-(or any other work associated in any way with the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg"), you agree to comply with all the terms of the Full Project
-Gutenberg-tm License (available with this file or online at
-http://gutenberg.org/license).
-
-
-Section 1. General Terms of Use and Redistributing Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic works
-
-1.A. By reading or using any part of this Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work, you indicate that you have read, understand, agree to
-and accept all the terms of this license and intellectual property
-(trademark/copyright) agreement. If you do not agree to abide by all
-the terms of this agreement, you must cease using and return or destroy
-all copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in your possession.
-If you paid a fee for obtaining a copy of or access to a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work and you do not agree to be bound by the
-terms of this agreement, you may obtain a refund from the person or
-entity to whom you paid the fee as set forth in paragraph 1.E.8.
-
-1.B. "Project Gutenberg" is a registered trademark. It may only be
-used on or associated in any way with an electronic work by people who
-agree to be bound by the terms of this agreement. There are a few
-things that you can do with most Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works
-even without complying with the full terms of this agreement. See
-paragraph 1.C below. There are a lot of things you can do with Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works if you follow the terms of this agreement
-and help preserve free future access to Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works. See paragraph 1.E below.
-
-1.C. The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation ("the Foundation"
-or PGLAF), owns a compilation copyright in the collection of Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic works. Nearly all the individual works in the
-collection are in the public domain in the United States. If an
-individual work is in the public domain in the United States and you are
-located in the United States, we do not claim a right to prevent you from
-copying, distributing, performing, displaying or creating derivative
-works based on the work as long as all references to Project Gutenberg
-are removed. Of course, we hope that you will support the Project
-Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting free access to electronic works by
-freely sharing Project Gutenberg-tm works in compliance with the terms of
-this agreement for keeping the Project Gutenberg-tm name associated with
-the work. You can easily comply with the terms of this agreement by
-keeping this work in the same format with its attached full Project
-Gutenberg-tm License when you share it without charge with others.
-
-1.D. The copyright laws of the place where you are located also govern
-what you can do with this work. Copyright laws in most countries are in
-a constant state of change. If you are outside the United States, check
-the laws of your country in addition to the terms of this agreement
-before downloading, copying, displaying, performing, distributing or
-creating derivative works based on this work or any other Project
-Gutenberg-tm work. The Foundation makes no representations concerning
-the copyright status of any work in any country outside the United
-States.
-
-1.E. Unless you have removed all references to Project Gutenberg:
-
-1.E.1. The following sentence, with active links to, or other immediate
-access to, the full Project Gutenberg-tm License must appear prominently
-whenever any copy of a Project Gutenberg-tm work (any work on which the
-phrase "Project Gutenberg" appears, or with which the phrase "Project
-Gutenberg" is associated) is accessed, displayed, performed, viewed,
-copied or distributed:
-
-This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
-almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
-re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
-with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org/license
-
-1.E.2. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is derived
-from the public domain (does not contain a notice indicating that it is
-posted with permission of the copyright holder), the work can be copied
-and distributed to anyone in the United States without paying any fees
-or charges. If you are redistributing or providing access to a work
-with the phrase "Project Gutenberg" associated with or appearing on the
-work, you must comply either with the requirements of paragraphs 1.E.1
-through 1.E.7 or obtain permission for the use of the work and the
-Project Gutenberg-tm trademark as set forth in paragraphs 1.E.8 or
-1.E.9.
-
-1.E.3. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is posted
-with the permission of the copyright holder, your use and distribution
-must comply with both paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 and any additional
-terms imposed by the copyright holder. Additional terms will be linked
-to the Project Gutenberg-tm License for all works posted with the
-permission of the copyright holder found at the beginning of this work.
-
-1.E.4. Do not unlink or detach or remove the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License terms from this work, or any files containing a part of this
-work or any other work associated with Project Gutenberg-tm.
-
-1.E.5. Do not copy, display, perform, distribute or redistribute this
-electronic work, or any part of this electronic work, without
-prominently displaying the sentence set forth in paragraph 1.E.1 with
-active links or immediate access to the full terms of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm License.
-
-1.E.6. You may convert to and distribute this work in any binary,
-compressed, marked up, nonproprietary or proprietary form, including any
-word processing or hypertext form. However, if you provide access to or
-distribute copies of a Project Gutenberg-tm work in a format other than
-"Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other format used in the official version
-posted on the official Project Gutenberg-tm web site (www.gutenberg.org),
-you must, at no additional cost, fee or expense to the user, provide a
-copy, a means of exporting a copy, or a means of obtaining a copy upon
-request, of the work in its original "Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other
-form. Any alternate format must include the full Project Gutenberg-tm
-License as specified in paragraph 1.E.1.
-
-1.E.7. Do not charge a fee for access to, viewing, displaying,
-performing, copying or distributing any Project Gutenberg-tm works
-unless you comply with paragraph 1.E.8 or 1.E.9.
-
-1.E.8. You may charge a reasonable fee for copies of or providing
-access to or distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works provided
-that
-
-- You pay a royalty fee of 20% of the gross profits you derive from
- the use of Project Gutenberg-tm works calculated using the method
- you already use to calculate your applicable taxes. The fee is
- owed to the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark, but he
- has agreed to donate royalties under this paragraph to the
- Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation. Royalty payments
- must be paid within 60 days following each date on which you
- prepare (or are legally required to prepare) your periodic tax
- returns. Royalty payments should be clearly marked as such and
- sent to the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation at the
- address specified in Section 4, "Information about donations to
- the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation."
-
-- You provide a full refund of any money paid by a user who notifies
- you in writing (or by e-mail) within 30 days of receipt that s/he
- does not agree to the terms of the full Project Gutenberg-tm
- License. You must require such a user to return or
- destroy all copies of the works possessed in a physical medium
- and discontinue all use of and all access to other copies of
- Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-- You provide, in accordance with paragraph 1.F.3, a full refund of any
- money paid for a work or a replacement copy, if a defect in the
- electronic work is discovered and reported to you within 90 days
- of receipt of the work.
-
-- You comply with all other terms of this agreement for free
- distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm works.
-
-1.E.9. If you wish to charge a fee or distribute a Project Gutenberg-tm
-electronic work or group of works on different terms than are set
-forth in this agreement, you must obtain permission in writing from
-both the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation and Michael
-Hart, the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark. Contact the
-Foundation as set forth in Section 3 below.
-
-1.F.
-
-1.F.1. Project Gutenberg volunteers and employees expend considerable
-effort to identify, do copyright research on, transcribe and proofread
-public domain works in creating the Project Gutenberg-tm
-collection. Despite these efforts, Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works, and the medium on which they may be stored, may contain
-"Defects," such as, but not limited to, incomplete, inaccurate or
-corrupt data, transcription errors, a copyright or other intellectual
-property infringement, a defective or damaged disk or other medium, a
-computer virus, or computer codes that damage or cannot be read by
-your equipment.
-
-1.F.2. LIMITED WARRANTY, DISCLAIMER OF DAMAGES - Except for the "Right
-of Replacement or Refund" described in paragraph 1.F.3, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation, the owner of the Project
-Gutenberg-tm trademark, and any other party distributing a Project
-Gutenberg-tm electronic work under this agreement, disclaim all
-liability to you for damages, costs and expenses, including legal
-fees. YOU AGREE THAT YOU HAVE NO REMEDIES FOR NEGLIGENCE, STRICT
-LIABILITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR BREACH OF CONTRACT EXCEPT THOSE
-PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH 1.F.3. YOU AGREE THAT THE FOUNDATION, THE
-TRADEMARK OWNER, AND ANY DISTRIBUTOR UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL NOT BE
-LIABLE TO YOU FOR ACTUAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, PUNITIVE OR
-INCIDENTAL DAMAGES EVEN IF YOU GIVE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH
-DAMAGE.
-
-1.F.3. LIMITED RIGHT OF REPLACEMENT OR REFUND - If you discover a
-defect in this electronic work within 90 days of receiving it, you can
-receive a refund of the money (if any) you paid for it by sending a
-written explanation to the person you received the work from. If you
-received the work on a physical medium, you must return the medium with
-your written explanation. The person or entity that provided you with
-the defective work may elect to provide a replacement copy in lieu of a
-refund. If you received the work electronically, the person or entity
-providing it to you may choose to give you a second opportunity to
-receive the work electronically in lieu of a refund. If the second copy
-is also defective, you may demand a refund in writing without further
-opportunities to fix the problem.
-
-1.F.4. Except for the limited right of replacement or refund set forth
-in paragraph 1.F.3, this work is provided to you 'AS-IS' WITH NO OTHER
-WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO
-WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE.
-
-1.F.5. Some states do not allow disclaimers of certain implied
-warranties or the exclusion or limitation of certain types of damages.
-If any disclaimer or limitation set forth in this agreement violates the
-law of the state applicable to this agreement, the agreement shall be
-interpreted to make the maximum disclaimer or limitation permitted by
-the applicable state law. The invalidity or unenforceability of any
-provision of this agreement shall not void the remaining provisions.
-
-1.F.6. INDEMNITY - You agree to indemnify and hold the Foundation, the
-trademark owner, any agent or employee of the Foundation, anyone
-providing copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in accordance
-with this agreement, and any volunteers associated with the production,
-promotion and distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works,
-harmless from all liability, costs and expenses, including legal fees,
-that arise directly or indirectly from any of the following which you do
-or cause to occur: (a) distribution of this or any Project Gutenberg-tm
-work, (b) alteration, modification, or additions or deletions to any
-Project Gutenberg-tm work, and (c) any Defect you cause.
-
-
-Section 2. Information about the Mission of Project Gutenberg-tm
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm is synonymous with the free distribution of
-electronic works in formats readable by the widest variety of computers
-including obsolete, old, middle-aged and new computers. It exists
-because of the efforts of hundreds of volunteers and donations from
-people in all walks of life.
-
-Volunteers and financial support to provide volunteers with the
-assistance they need, are critical to reaching Project Gutenberg-tm's
-goals and ensuring that the Project Gutenberg-tm collection will
-remain freely available for generations to come. In 2001, the Project
-Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation was created to provide a secure
-and permanent future for Project Gutenberg-tm and future generations.
-To learn more about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation
-and how your efforts and donations can help, see Sections 3 and 4
-and the Foundation web page at http://www.pglaf.org.
-
-
-Section 3. Information about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive
-Foundation
-
-The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation is a non profit
-501(c)(3) educational corporation organized under the laws of the
-state of Mississippi and granted tax exempt status by the Internal
-Revenue Service. The Foundation's EIN or federal tax identification
-number is 64-6221541. Its 501(c)(3) letter is posted at
-http://pglaf.org/fundraising. Contributions to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation are tax deductible to the full extent
-permitted by U.S. federal laws and your state's laws.
-
-The Foundation's principal office is located at 4557 Melan Dr. S.
-Fairbanks, AK, 99712., but its volunteers and employees are scattered
-throughout numerous locations. Its business office is located at
-809 North 1500 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, (801) 596-1887, email
-business@pglaf.org. Email contact links and up to date contact
-information can be found at the Foundation's web site and official
-page at http://pglaf.org
-
-For additional contact information:
- Dr. Gregory B. Newby
- Chief Executive and Director
- gbnewby@pglaf.org
-
-
-Section 4. Information about Donations to the Project Gutenberg
-Literary Archive Foundation
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm depends upon and cannot survive without wide
-spread public support and donations to carry out its mission of
-increasing the number of public domain and licensed works that can be
-freely distributed in machine readable form accessible by the widest
-array of equipment including outdated equipment. Many small donations
-($1 to $5,000) are particularly important to maintaining tax exempt
-status with the IRS.
-
-The Foundation is committed to complying with the laws regulating
-charities and charitable donations in all 50 states of the United
-States. Compliance requirements are not uniform and it takes a
-considerable effort, much paperwork and many fees to meet and keep up
-with these requirements. We do not solicit donations in locations
-where we have not received written confirmation of compliance. To
-SEND DONATIONS or determine the status of compliance for any
-particular state visit http://pglaf.org
-
-While we cannot and do not solicit contributions from states where we
-have not met the solicitation requirements, we know of no prohibition
-against accepting unsolicited donations from donors in such states who
-approach us with offers to donate.
-
-International donations are gratefully accepted, but we cannot make
-any statements concerning tax treatment of donations received from
-outside the United States. U.S. laws alone swamp our small staff.
-
-Please check the Project Gutenberg Web pages for current donation
-methods and addresses. Donations are accepted in a number of other
-ways including checks, online payments and credit card donations.
-To donate, please visit: http://pglaf.org/donate
-
-
-Section 5. General Information About Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
-works.
-
-Professor Michael S. Hart is the originator of the Project Gutenberg-tm
-concept of a library of electronic works that could be freely shared
-with anyone. For thirty years, he produced and distributed Project
-Gutenberg-tm eBooks with only a loose network of volunteer support.
-
-
-Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks are often created from several printed
-editions, all of which are confirmed as Public Domain in the U.S.
-unless a copyright notice is included. Thus, we do not necessarily
-keep eBooks in compliance with any particular paper edition.
-
-
-Most people start at our Web site which has the main PG search facility:
-
- http://www.gutenberg.org
-
-This Web site includes information about Project Gutenberg-tm,
-including how to make donations to the Project Gutenberg Literary
-Archive Foundation, how to help produce our new eBooks, and how to
-subscribe to our email newsletter to hear about new eBooks.