summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/41618-0.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
Diffstat (limited to '41618-0.txt')
-rw-r--r--41618-0.txt12230
1 files changed, 12230 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/41618-0.txt b/41618-0.txt
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..34e5c7d
--- /dev/null
+++ b/41618-0.txt
@@ -0,0 +1,12230 @@
+The Project Gutenberg eBook, Chronological Retrospect of the History of
+Yarmouth and Neighbourhood, by William Finch-Crisp
+
+
+This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
+almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
+re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
+with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org
+
+
+
+
+
+Title: Chronological Retrospect of the History of Yarmouth and Neighbourhood
+ from A.D. 46 to 1884
+
+
+Author: William Finch-Crisp
+
+
+
+Release Date: December 13, 2012 [eBook #41618]
+
+Language: English
+
+Character set encoding: UTF-8
+
+
+***START OF THE PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK CHRONOLOGICAL RETROSPECT OF THE
+HISTORY YARMOUTH AND NEIGHBOURHOOD***
+
+
+Transcribed from the third edition by David Price, email ccx074@pglaf.org
+
+ _THIRD EDITION—EXTENDED AND IMPROVED_.
+
+
+
+
+
+ Chronological Retrospect
+ OF THE
+ History of Yarmouth
+ and Neighbourhood,
+ FROM A.D. 46 TO 1884,
+
+
+ CONTAINING ABOUT
+ 5,000 Important Local Events, &c.;
+ AND AN
+ ALPHABETICAL LIST OF MAYORS.
+
+ [Picture: Shield of Yarmouth]
+
+ “It is to Chronology that History owes its use and beauty; as being
+ without it a mere chaos, a jumble of facts confusedly heaped
+ together, and consequently capable of affording neither pleasure nor
+ instruction.”—LOCKE.
+
+ * * * * *
+
+ By WILLIAM FINCH-CRISP,
+
+ _Author of_ “_Printer’s Business Guide_,” “_Printer’s Book of
+ Reference_,”
+ “_Punctuation Simplified_,” “_Handbook to Angling_,” _&c._, _&c._
+
+ * * * * *
+
+ Great Yarmouth:
+ WILLIAM FINCH-CRISP, No. 20, ALMA PLACE.
+ LONDON: J. HADDON & Co., 3, BOUVERIE STREET, E.C.
+
+ * * * * *
+
+ ’Tis well to wander back at times
+ Through Memory’s faded Halls,
+ And gaze upon the many Scenes
+ That hang upon its Walls.
+
+
+
+
+PREFACE.
+
+
+Few words only are necessary to introduce this Third Edition to our
+readers, beyond expressing a hope that the contents will meet with
+general approbation, and that much pleasure will be derived from its
+perusal, now and for many years to come. We would ask, as a SPECIAL
+FAVOUR, in order to ensure a wider circulation, that our friends will
+recapitulate the comments of the Press, by recommending this _History of
+Yarmouth_ as “worthy of a place in every library.” It is seven years
+since the Second Edition, without supplement, was published.
+
+No greater honour could have been conferred upon the Author than when the
+Heir Apparent to the Throne of England (His Royal Highness the PRINCE OF
+WALES, K.G.), on his visit to Yarmouth in 1882, expressed his pleasure,
+through Colonel Teesdale, in the acceptance as a present, of a copy of
+this History; and the placing of this work, with supplement (A.D. 46 to
+1879) in the principal stone of the New Town Hall in 1880 by the then
+Mayor (C. C. Aldred, Esq.) was also gratifying.
+
+EDWARD BIRKBECK, ESQ., M.P., writing to us from the House of Commons, on
+March 19th, 1884, says:—“I do not think my name is worthy of having a
+book dedicated to me, but I shall nevertheless be proud to have it placed
+where you suggest.” The people of Yarmouth will endorse our sentiments
+when we say, for his zeal and untiring energy in promoting many special
+objects in the “good old town,” that he is worthy of greater eulogiums
+than we can bestow, and therefore tender our best thanks to that
+gentleman for his courtesy in allowing this volume to be dedicated to
+him—a privilege that was also given us in a first issue, by his
+predecessor in the Imperial Parliament, the lamented COLONEL DUFF.
+Neither must we forget to express our obligation to a select list of
+subscribers to the work.
+
+GREAT YARMOUTH, APRIL, 1884.
+
+ * * * * *
+
+ TO
+ EDWARD BIRKBECK, ESQ.
+ M.P. FOR NORTH NORFOLK,
+ THIS BOOK
+ (WITH PERMISSION)
+ IS
+ MOST RESPECTFULLY DEDICATED
+ BY
+ HIS OBEDIENT AND HUMBLE SERVANT,
+
+ WM. FINCH-CRISP.
+
+
+
+
+LIST OF MAYORS.
+
+
+_The following dates refer to the time of election_, _November_ 9_th_,
+_after the year_ 1836.
+
+Abbon Robert 1749
+Albertson John 1688
+Aldred C. C. 1856, ’65, ’79, ’81, ’82
+Artis James 1710
+Artis Samuel 1727
+Baker John 1832
+Baker Richd. 1754, ’60
+Barber Robt. D. 1874
+Barker Samuel 1800
+Barnard Wm. 1883
+Barnby J. Eager 1875
+Barnby John 1762
+Bernard Chris. 1740*
+Barth W. 1824, ’26, ’36*
+Bateman Dr. G. 1829
+Bateman Dr. T. 1819
+Bird John 1730
+Borrett Henry 1711*
+Bracey Andrew 1714
+Bradford Thos. 1685
+Brightin Chris. 1721
+Browne W., sen. 1744
+Browne William 1709, ’33, ’48, ’56
+Burroughs W. N. 1846
+Butcher William 1753
+Cherry James 1853
+Cobb Simon 1838
+Colby Dover 1796
+Colby E. H. H. 1878
+Cooke Thomas 1732
+Cory Robert 1803
+Cory Robert, jun. 1815
+Costerton Chas. 1825
+Coteman Joseph 1704, ’45, ’57, ’59
+Diver Charles 1877
+Eagle Benjamin 1702*
+Ellys Anthy, jun. 1705
+Ellys Anthy. 1708, ’19
+Ellys Thomas 1739
+England Benj. 1703
+England George 1715
+Fenn Samuel 1686
+Ferrier Rich. 1706, ’20
+Ferrier R., jun. 1724
+Ferrier Robert 1750
+Fielding B. 1787, 1810
+Fisher J. 1767, 1802, ’11
+Fisher Jas. 1774, 1809
+Fisher William 1766, ’78, ’80, ’94, 1806
+Fisher W., jun. 1786, ’99
+Fisher J. jun. 1788, ’97
+Fisher J. Goate 1820
+Fuller Samuel 1707
+Gooch Henry 1772
+Gourlay David A. 1849
+Harmer Wm. 1741
+Horsley Thomas 1738
+Ireland John 1716
+Jay Samuel 1839
+Johnson William 1841
+Killett Samuel 1746
+Lacon Edmund 1792
+Lacon Sir E.* 1795, ’98, 1812
+Lacon E. K. 1807
+Lacon Mortlock 1828
+Lancaster Robt. 1768
+La Grice Thos. 1717
+Lombe Henry 1725
+Love Barry 1734
+Love John Goslin 1763
+Manclark Colman 1770
+Marsh S. C. 1843, ’52
+Martin Thomas 1747
+Mew Mitchell 1687
+Miles Thomas 1737
+Moyse Richard 1764
+Medowe Sir T. 1684*
+Neech John 1743
+Nightingale S. 1860, ’68
+Norfor John 1765
+Pacey William 1722
+Paget Samuel 1817
+Palgrave William 1782, 1805, ’14
+Palmer J. D. 1821, ’33
+Palmer Chas. Jno. 1835, ’54, ’55
+Palmer Samuel T. 1840, ’42, ’45
+Palmer W. H. 1844
+Pearson John 1723, ’36
+Pearson Chas., R.N. 1850, ’51
+Penrice George 1837
+Pitt Thomas 1776
+Preston I. 1816, ’22
+Preston E. 1818, ’30
+Preston Jacob 1793, 1801, ’18
+Preston John 1827, ’31
+Preston I., jun. 1834
+Preston E. H. L. 1870, ’71*
+Pue Jonathan 1718
+Pullyn Philip 1817, ’43
+Ramey John 1760, ’73
+Ramey Joseph 1778
+Reynolds J. 1781, ’84
+Reynolds F. R. 1804, ’23
+Spooner William 1713
+Spurgeon John 1712
+Steward Robert 1858, ’61, ’62, ’63, ’64
+Steward Thos. B. 1876, ’80
+Symonds N. 1726, ’77
+Taylor Anthy. 1731, ’71
+Taylor Chris. 1752*
+Taylor William 1783
+Teasdel Henry 1873
+Thompson Geo. 1791
+Tolver Samuel 1789
+Turner James 1779
+Wakeman Sand. 1765
+Wakeman G. 1752, ’58
+Wallis John 1761*
+Ward G. 1684*, 1728
+Ward Robert 1729
+Ward James 1751
+Warmington Robert 1790, 1808
+Watson John 1785
+Woolverton Chas. 1869, ’71*, ’72
+Worship Francis 1857
+Worship W. 1859, ’67
+Youell E. Pitt 1866
+
+ NOTE—Those with an *, see Historical Pages.
+
+ From 1688 to 1700, two Bailiffs were chosen instead of a Mayor.
+
+
+
+
+Crisp’s History Of Great Yarmouth.
+
+
+A.D. 46.
+
+
+The Romans entered this part of Britain when the valleys of the Yare,
+Waveney, and Bure, as well as the sand-bank upon which Yarmouth stands,
+were covered by the ocean.
+
+
+
+100.
+
+
+Burgh Castle, a Roman encampment, supposed to have been founded.
+
+
+
+495.
+
+
+Cerdic, a Saxon Prince, and Qenrick his son, with five ships, entered the
+port of Yarmouth and named in Cerdic Shore. This Cerdic Shore seems to
+have been a great sand-bank formed along the shore between two branches
+or channels of the Yare called Havens, by which two channels the river
+entered the sea, one running near Caister and the other near Gorleston.
+
+
+
+633.
+
+
+Between this and the year 640, a Saxon Monastery was founded at Burgh, by
+Fursey, an Irish monk.
+
+
+
+870.
+
+
+Lodbrog, the Dane, driven by a sudden tempest from Denmark across the
+sea, and, entering the Yare, landed at Reedham, where the Court of
+Edmund, King of East Anglia, was then kept. Lodbrog is said to have been
+received into Court favour, but was soon afterwards murdered in a wood by
+the King’s huntsman (Bern) through jealousy. This led to the
+imprisonment and execution of Edmund, and put an end to the Saxon dynasty
+in East Anglia, after Hinguar and Hubba, two Danish chieftains, at the
+head of 20,000 men, had ravished all East Anglia.
+
+
+
+1008.
+
+
+First houses and habitations erected in Yarmouth on Fuller’s Hill, that
+being then the only dry land in Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1041–7.
+
+
+Yarmouth belonged to the King in the reign of Edward the Confessor, and
+had 70 burgesses, besides a number of soccagers.
+
+
+
+1045.
+
+
+Bishop Herbert born; and in 1091 was consecrated Bishop of Thetford.
+
+
+
+1066.
+
+
+Cocklewater, or Grubb’s Haven, stopped up with sand.
+
+
+
+1100.
+
+
+St. Bennet’s Church pulled down. It was built in the time of Edward the
+Confessor.
+
+Yarmouth governed by a Provost, the first constituted magistrate, whose
+public office was in the _Congé_, North Quay. Foreigners were only
+allowed to come to Yarmouth at the annual free-fair.
+
+
+
+1101.
+
+
+Bishop Herbert de Lozinga, the first Bishop of Norwich [translated from
+the See of Thetford in the 7th year of William II. (Rufus), whose
+Chamberlain he was], founded St. Nicholas’ Church, and re-built a Chapel
+on the North Denes. He was made Lord High Chancellor to Henry I. of
+England in 1104, and died August 11th, 1119.
+
+
+
+1119.
+
+
+St. Nicholas’ Church consecrated. Enlarged 1123, 1250, and 1338. The
+last attempt after 10 years’ labour in trying to build a west aisle,
+failing, the ruins were used in the building of a Chapel-of-Ease.
+
+
+
+1199.
+
+
+Forty thousand lives lost at sea during the war between King John and the
+Barons; a great multitude washed ashore on Yarmouth beach.
+
+
+
+1204.
+
+
+Monastery of Black Friars founded by St. Dominica.
+
+
+
+1205.
+
+
+Yarmouth had three galleys or vessels of war. Two were manned with seven
+score mariners.
+
+
+
+1209.
+
+
+First charter granted by King John, and Yarmouth incorporated as a
+borough. The document is still preserved (1834).
+
+
+
+1216.
+
+
+All vessels in the port with Scottish property on board were arrested.
+
+
+
+1257.
+
+
+Henry III. granted certain franchises. In 1261 he granted licenses for
+fortifying the town; and on Sept. 28th, 1262, granted a Charter for
+enclosing the town with a wall and moat, so as to resist the power of an
+invading enemy. (See 1396.)
+
+
+
+1261.
+
+
+The Tolhouse Hall, Middlegate Street, erected.
+
+
+
+1272.
+
+
+Yarmouth first called _Magna_ (Great) in the reign of Edward I., to
+distinguish it from Little Yarmouth, or Southtown.
+
+
+
+1275.
+
+
+The town wall and fosse commenced at the north end of town.
+
+
+
+1272.
+
+
+St. Mary’s Hospital founded. It was a free Grammar School in 1551, and
+fitted up as a school for poor children in 1634.
+
+The Carmelites, or Whitefriars, founded at Yarmouth, and took the north
+and some other parts of the town under their charge. (See 1509.)
+
+
+
+1285.
+
+
+King Henry’s Tower erected at the north-east corner of St. Nicholas’
+churchyard.
+
+
+
+1286.
+
+
+St. Nicholas’ Church and churchyard consecrated by Bishop Middleton, of
+Norwich.
+
+
+
+1287.
+
+
+The sea flowed into St. Nicholas’ Church 4 feet deep, and the town was
+inundated.
+
+
+
+1290.
+
+
+A beautiful ship built at Yarmouth for King Edward II., and sent to
+Norway for the King’s daughter, upon her proposed marriage with the then
+Prince. She was heiress of Norway and Scotland.
+
+
+
+1291.
+
+
+No one allowed to draw wine after the Curfew bell had rung.
+
+
+
+1294.
+
+
+Yarmouth first summoned to send four Burgesses annually to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1295.
+
+
+Sir J. De Botetourt, a Norfolk Knight, had command of a Yarmouth fleet of
+fifty-three vessels. Fresh herrings sold for 37s. per last.
+
+
+
+1297.
+
+
+Simon Blaking, of Martham, fled into St. Nicholas’ Church, and confessed
+to having broken open a house at Hemsby and the prison at Southtown, and
+to having killed W. F. N. Blaking. The law in those days was, if a
+murderer could reach a church or churchyard before being apprehended, and
+confessed his crime to a coroner, justice, &c., he was set at liberty
+without taking a trial.
+
+
+
+1299.
+
+
+William Fastolf and H. Rose, Esqs., returned to Parliament, held at
+Lincoln.
+
+
+
+1300.
+
+
+Leather was not only used for various military purposes, but formed a
+considerable part of the common dress of the people before the
+introduction, and during the infancy, of the woollen manufacture.
+
+
+
+1305.
+
+
+Yarmouth claimed a free Borough by the Burgesses.
+
+
+
+1307.
+
+
+William Fastolf and H. Rose, Esqs., again returned to Parliament, held at
+Nottingham.
+
+Price of pipe (120 gals.) of “red wine,” 20s.
+
+
+
+1308 to 1472.
+
+
+During the reigns of Edward II. and III., Richard II., Henry IV., V., and
+VI., and Edward IV., upwards of 160 Burgesses were returned to
+Parliament, 72 of which were held at Westminster, 6 at York, 1 at London,
+Ripon, and New Sarum, and 2 at Gloucester.
+
+
+
+1314.
+
+
+Two Parliaments held, but not represented by the same Burgesses.
+
+
+
+1330.
+
+
+A Castle stood on the site of the King Street Independent Chapel, but was
+demolished in 1621.
+
+
+
+1332.
+
+
+Great disputes between the Barons of the Cinque Ports and the Bailiffs of
+this Borough, concerning the _free_ fair which the former attempted to
+remove.
+
+
+
+1333.
+
+
+Burgesses exempted from serving on Juries, Inquests, or at Assizes,
+within the Borough.
+
+
+
+1337.
+
+
+Blackfriars’ Tower completed.
+
+Forty ships of war ordered to Yarmouth roads.
+
+The Yarmouth navy, comprising 20 men-of-war, had orders to proceed to the
+port of Dort, to convoy the King’s four plenipotentiaries to the Court of
+Hainault from those parts to England. On their return they took two
+Flemish ships and their cargoes. The Bishop of Glasgow, who was on board
+one, died of his wounds at Sandwich.
+
+
+
+1338.
+
+
+Thomas De Drayton, a Yarmouth man, who had held the office of bailiff
+fifteen times, was appointed Admiral of the North Fleet.
+
+Yarmouth magistrates, &c., fitted out a fleet of men-of-war, well
+equipped, at their own cost and charge, to go against the enemy at sea
+for the space of a month.
+
+
+
+1340.
+
+
+John Perebrown, a burgess of Yarmouth, led the King’s North Sea Fleet in
+the great battle of Sluys, and did great service; 230 ships and 30,000
+Frenchmen were lost.
+
+
+
+1342.
+
+
+Oct. Edward III. embarked on board the Yarmouth squadron in his
+unsuccessful expedition to Brittany.
+
+The principal inhabitants fined 1000 marks for committing trespasses,
+&c., on the sea coast.
+
+
+
+1346.
+
+
+The first Haven cut.
+
+
+
+1347.
+
+
+Yarmouth assisted Edward III. at the siege of Calais with 43 vessels of
+war and 1,075 mariners, which was 18 ships more than London sent, and
+more than any other port, except Fowey.
+
+
+
+1348–9.
+
+
+Plague carried off 7,052 persons out of the then population of 10,000.
+
+
+
+1352.
+
+
+Yarmouth gave to the St. George’s College of Windsor by charter, a last
+of red herrings, to be delivered annually for ever on St. Andrew’s day,
+concerning which many disputes have since arisen.
+
+
+
+1353.
+
+
+Passenger boat from Yarmouth to Norwich sunk near Cantley, and 38 persons
+drowned.
+
+
+
+1354.
+
+
+Fastolf, father of the renowned Sir John Fastolf, one of the bailiffs.
+
+
+
+1365.
+
+
+Six Yarmouth vessels captured and burnt in the Bay of Brittany.
+
+
+
+1368.
+
+
+John Lawers hung for not paying the Custom House dues.
+
+
+
+1369.
+
+
+Yarmouth first appointed a staple port.
+
+
+
+1372.
+
+
+August 22nd. Kirkley Road united to the town and port of Yarmouth by
+charter of Edward III., but repealed four years afterwards.
+
+
+
+1378.
+
+
+Price of coal, including freight, 5s. 6d. per chaldron.
+
+
+
+1381.
+
+
+The memorable rebellion of Wat Taylor. The town attacked by 20,000 rebel
+archers or bowmen, who plundered houses and did much damage, but who were
+defeated after much bloodshed.
+
+
+
+1382.
+
+
+June 20th. Violent shock of an earthquake, and much damage done.
+
+June. King Richard II. visited Great Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1384.
+
+
+Market Place paved, and a Cross and Pillory built.
+
+
+
+1385.
+
+
+William Bardolf, Baron Bardolf, died. He had large estates near
+Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1386.
+
+
+Sir Henry Percy and Fauset Percy sent to Yarmouth with 300 men-at-arms
+and 600 archers, to guard the coast, an invasion from France being
+apprehended.
+
+
+
+1392.
+
+
+A Horse Ferry at Gorleston existed.
+
+
+
+1393.
+
+
+The second Haven made, and a third in 1408.
+
+
+
+1395.
+
+
+Several small Yarmouth and other ships taken by Danish pirates in a sharp
+conflict off the coast. Lost £20,000 in specie.
+
+
+
+1396.
+
+
+After a lapse of 111 years the fortifications of the town were
+completed—20 towers, 10 gates, and the wall, 2,280 yards in extent. (See
+1544.)
+
+
+
+1400.
+
+
+Coals first imported here from Newcastle. Wood was used as fuel before
+this.
+
+
+
+1403.
+
+
+Henry IV. granted, by the consent of Parliament, that the shipping,
+weighing, and packing of wool, hides, and skins, should be done at
+Yarmouth, it being a frontier town.
+
+
+
+1408.
+
+
+Third Haven cut.
+
+
+
+1427.
+
+
+The annual election of four Bailiffs, reduced to two, and so continued
+until a Mayor was appointed in their stead.
+
+Yarmouth Bridge, with 8 arches, built, before which a horse, cart,
+cattle, and foot ferry-boat existed. This was replaced by 4 successive
+drawbridges, i.e., 1553, 1570, 1785, and 1836. (See 1849.)
+
+
+
+1428.
+
+
+About 60 pilgrims sailed from Yarmouth in the ship “Falcon,” for the
+shrine at Santiago, in Spain; and in 1434, 20 more left.
+
+
+
+1440.
+
+
+The freedom of the Borough purchased for two marks.
+
+
+
+1448.
+
+
+Ralph Wadiswyke was made Comptroller of the Customs for taking Lord
+Doisemond, a French lieutenant, prisoner.
+
+
+
+1450.
+
+
+Caister Castle supposed to have been founded by Sir John Fastolf, K.G.
+He was born in 1377, and died in 1459 in his Hall at Caister, aged 82
+years, and was buried in the Abbey Church of St. Bennet, at Holme,
+leaving his estate to John Paston, Esq.
+
+
+
+1459.
+
+
+July 24th. Lord Lieutenants of Counties first appointed.
+
+
+
+1462 to 1586.
+
+
+Sacred Dramas and Mysteries performed in St. Nicholas’ Church.
+
+
+
+1463.
+
+
+John Pedle, labourer, of Yarmouth, executed for coining and uttering 18
+groats, made of copper and lead, as good and lawful money of England.
+
+
+
+1465.
+
+
+Our Lady’s organ in St. Nicholas’ Church built; the old and new organs in
+1485; great old organs in 1486; and Jesus’ organ in 1550.
+
+
+
+1466.
+
+
+John Paston died in the Fleet Prison, after the seizure of his estates.
+
+
+
+1467.
+
+
+Fourteen persons hanged at one time upon a gallows erected on the beach.
+
+
+
+1469.
+
+
+The Duke of Norfolk, at the head of 3,000 men, laid siege to Caister
+Castle, which was surrendered to his Grace. He died in 1475, and Caister
+Castle again reverted to the Paston family.
+
+
+
+1475.
+
+
+Yarmouth threatened by the French fleet. 200 armed men sent from
+Norwich.
+
+A whale came ashore south of Grubb’s Haven, which was cut to pieces and
+carried away in carts.
+
+
+
+1488.
+
+
+The Bailiffs feasted Sir John Paston, son of the late John Paston, on
+porpoise, then a royal fish.
+
+
+
+1493.
+
+
+May 16th. By charter of Henry VII., Burgesses were empowered to
+constitute Justices of the Peace.
+
+
+
+1508.
+
+
+The fourth Haven made; and the fifth Haven cut in the reign of Henry
+VIII., 1529.
+
+
+
+1509.
+
+
+House of Carmelites, or White Friars, destroyed by fire; founded in
+Edward I.’s time, 1278.
+
+
+
+1511.
+
+
+Southtown united with Gorleston.
+
+
+
+1515.
+
+
+Queen of France and her husband, Charles Brandon, Duke of Suffolk,
+entertained here three days.
+
+
+
+1525.
+
+
+Church of the Dominicans burnt down.
+
+
+
+1528.
+
+
+Great dearth of corn. The extravagant sale price then was 26s. 8d. per
+quarter. Several men were hanged for taking part in a riot arising from
+the same.
+
+Gorleston began to be built upon. (See 1511.)
+
+The first Yarmouth crane erected by Richard Bishop.
+
+
+
+1529.
+
+
+Duke of Suffolk suppressed a riot arising from the dearness of corn.
+
+
+
+1535.
+
+
+Nov. 1st. Tumult in St. Nicholas’ Church; twenty-four persons, with
+William Swarton, the chaplain, at their head, disturbed the congregation
+while the Rev. D. R. Cotton was preaching.
+
+
+
+1538.
+
+
+The high altar of St. Nicholas’ Church, remarkable for its richness and
+beauty, with the saints’ figures and pictures, broken and destroyed.
+
+
+
+1541.
+
+
+Oct. 28th. Four merchant heretics entered St. Nicholas’ Church, and
+created a great disturbance during the service.
+
+Nov. 2nd. A merchant and shoemaker were fined 2s. each for bargaining
+and selling a last of white herring in the Church.
+
+Sir Humphrey Wingfield returned to Parliament, held at Westminster.
+
+Ordered that Aldermen should wear scarlet gowns, with fur tippets and
+straight hose, at assemblies and festivals.
+
+
+
+1544.
+
+
+Height of town wall, 23 feet. On war being declared the following year
+with France, a large rampire was thrown up on the eastern side, and
+afterwards extended along the north and south walls. (See 1396.)
+
+Sir H. Wingfield again returned to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1545.
+
+
+At Corporate meetings no member allowed to depart without leave of the
+Bailiffs; otherwise was fined for disorderly conduct. Members of the
+Corporation compelled to wear scarlet gowns and straight hose, under
+penalty of fines.
+
+
+
+1546.
+
+
+Two French ships and 120 prisoners taken by the town.
+
+A house for country butchers built.
+
+
+
+1549.
+
+
+The sixth Haven made. It was agreed that the money, plate, ornaments,
+robes, vestments, tunicles, albs, ameffes, belonging to St. Nicholas’
+Church, should be disposed of, together with the bells in the steeple and
+other property in the Church, and the proceeds (£1,816 9s. 7d.) devoted
+to its construction. The Haven was then commenced, 100 men being
+employed daily upon it.
+
+A rebellion in the town. Kett’s adherents advanced and destroyed all the
+materials for the Haven, and laid it in ruins; and the work of the
+Harbour was stopped till the following year. The next attempt also
+proved as unsuccessful. Another report says—The Norfolk rebellion, under
+Kett, the tanner, commenced; but their designs were frustrated by
+Yarmouth men, who, setting fire to a stack of hay on the west side of the
+Haven, were able to attack the enemy unseen, and defeated them, many
+insurgents being killed, 80 taken prisoners, and six pieces of ordnance
+secured. They were afterwards defeated by the Earl of Warwick at
+head-quarters in Norwich, and lost some 4,500 men; their leaders, William
+and Robert Kett, being suspended alive in chains on a gibbet.
+
+
+
+1550.
+
+
+Another great Plague. (See 1349.)
+
+The Castle used as a Borough Gaol. During subsequent periods of alarm,
+it was again repaired. The upper part of it was taken down in 1620, and
+the following year the whole fabric was ordered to be dismantled and
+demolished.
+
+
+
+1551.
+
+
+Many of the brasses enclosing the inscriptions on the walls of St.
+Nicholas’ Church sent to London to be cast into weights and measures for
+the town’s use.
+
+John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland, K.G., High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1551.
+
+
+A Grammar and Free School in existence in Yarmouth, the “Parson of
+Haddiscoe” being appointed for a quarter of a year on trial. He was
+succeeded the same year by an “expert man;” and it was agreed that each
+of the four-and-twenties (Aldermen) should pay towards his living 18d.,
+and each of the eight-and-forties (Common Councilmen) 8d. a-year over the
+stipends, upon the well-doing of the schoolmaster. From 1551 till 1757,
+twenty-eight gentlemen were appointed to the Mastership. In 1757 the
+school appears to have been closed, for we find the master quitting
+possession and resigning his office; and on Feb. 5th, 1773, the
+chamberlains were directed to do necessary repairs, and to let the school
+to Mr. Richard Eaton, the younger, for £4 a-year. The school was
+re-established in 1863.
+
+
+
+1552.
+
+
+Sir W. Wodehouse, Knt., and N. Frymage, Esq., returned to Parliament.
+Every inhabitant found smoking tobacco or overcome with drink in any
+tippling-house was apprehended.
+
+
+
+1553.
+
+
+Oct. 1st. Robert Eyre and Simon More were chosen Burgesses of the
+Parliament.
+
+Drawbridge erected to connect Southtown with Great Yarmouth, in place of
+the one built in 1427, but which was carried away in 1570 by the tide.
+
+Beer sold at 3s. 4d. per thirty-two gallons.
+
+This year and two following, six Aldermen were returned to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1554.
+
+
+Thomas Howard, Duke of Norfolk, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Fifty vessels wrecked off Yarmouth within 24 hours.
+
+A fire beacon placed on the top of the Castle, as the Haven was very
+dangerous.
+
+
+
+1555.
+
+
+No brewer allowed to brew in the town unless by the appointment of the
+Bailiffs.
+
+Another attempt to form a Haven, a ship being sunk at the mouth to stem
+the tide. But this project was abandoned the following year, and it was
+stopped up with furze bundles in 1557.
+
+The Hermitage on the west side of the Haven given to the town.
+
+
+
+1557.
+
+
+Dec. 1st. The town inundated. Men rowed up and down the streets in
+boats, and several ships were drawn over the Denes with windlasses.
+
+
+
+1558 to 1567.
+
+
+The ground on the south side of Town Hall was, in the time of Queen
+Elizabeth, called “The South Foreland,” or “Furlong’s End.” In 1568 the
+houses there standing were given by William Garton to the churchwardens
+for the use of the Church. In 1622 they were repaired, and in 1674
+rebuilt. John Fastolf, the father of Sir John Fastolf, of Caister
+Castle, had a house in the “Foreland,” but whereabouts cannot now be
+discovered. These houses were re-fronted by the present owner in 1866.
+
+Sir T. Wodehouse, Knt., and William Barker, Esq., returned to Parliament.
+
+The Market Cross repaired.
+
+
+
+1559.
+
+
+May 26th. Queen Elizabeth granted a Charter for the better security,
+defence, and protection of the town.
+
+
+
+1560.
+
+
+Jan. 8th. The present (seventh) Haven commenced. Joyce Johnson, the
+eminent Dutch engineer, who superintended the construction, was paid 4s.
+a day. This Haven was cut near the spot of the one made in 1529. Nearly
+1,000 persons, including women and children, were employed about the
+works, which were completed on March 4th to the satisfaction of the
+inhabitants. In 1566 the water broke through, and made its old channel
+towards Newton Cross.
+
+First Jetty erected, having a crane at the end to facilitate the landing
+of goods from boats. Re-built in 1767.
+
+
+
+1561.
+
+
+Three town wells opened.
+
+
+
+1562.
+
+
+Thomas Timperley and William Grice, Esqs., were returned to Parliament;
+the latter was also returned in 1570 with William Barker, Esq.; in 1571
+with John Bacon, Esq.; and in 1584 and 1585 with Thomas Damett, Esq.
+
+Three small silver maces, belonging to the Corporation, made.
+
+
+
+1563.
+
+
+Herrings very scarce, and sold for £9 a last.
+
+
+
+1567.
+
+
+Piers built on both sides of the Haven’s mouth.
+
+The London Privy Council lent the town of Yarmouth £1,000 without
+interest, for repairing the Haven, which was refunded by instalments of
+£100 a-year.
+
+
+
+1569.
+
+
+Three ships of war compelled to leave by the town guns.
+
+Haven expenses for the year, £1,230 12s. 4d.
+
+The Paston family sold Caister Castle to meet their embarrassments.
+
+Herrings sold for £8 a last; a tun (4 hogshds.) of wine was also of the
+same value.
+
+Part of the town wall fell through being overcharged.
+
+
+
+1570.
+
+
+Mr. Vincent Goodwin first preacher appointed at St. Nicholas’ Church.
+
+Drawbridge carried away by high tide, and another constructed in 1785, at
+a cost of £403 15s. 9d., notwithstanding £225 had been expended the year
+previous in repairs.
+
+
+
+1571.
+
+
+Thatched roofs to houses forbidden, and wood was substituted.
+
+
+
+1572.
+
+
+Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, K.G., High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Brewers ordered to brew with coals instead of wood.
+
+Every ale-house licensed by the Bailiffs.
+
+
+
+1573.
+
+
+Regulations made to prevent goods lying on the Quay longer than
+necessary.
+
+
+
+1574.
+
+
+A Bill introduced to Parliament to enroll Yarmouth as a Cinque Port; but
+this was not properly carried out. In 1702 the Government of Yarmouth
+was settled under Anne in its proper and present form.
+
+
+
+1575.
+
+
+Feb. 10th. Mr. Harbrowne elected to Parliament in place of John Bacon,
+Esq., but only served one day, the latter being re-elected.
+
+
+
+1576.
+
+
+Edward Owner born. He represented the town in Parliament four times, and
+died August 13th, 1650.
+
+A part of the Hospital, Market Place, converted into a House of
+Correction.
+
+
+
+1577.
+
+
+Burgh Water Frolic first spoken of, being a grand event, and patronized
+by the Mayor and Corporation.
+
+
+
+1578.
+
+
+Inhabitants prohibited from washing their clothes near the public wells.
+
+Lord Burleigh and the Earl of Leicester paid Yarmouth a visit, and were
+entertained at the Priory. Queen Elizabeth was expected, and a silver
+cup, in the form of a ship, costing £16, made for presentation to her
+Majesty, but she reached no further than Norwich.
+
+Scratby Sand became entirely dry land, and raised its head so much above
+high-water mark, that grass, &c., grew on it, and sea birds built their
+nests. It was called “Yarmouth Island,” and was a favourite resort in
+the summer season for Yarmouth people.
+
+
+
+1579.
+
+
+May to Sept. Great plague; 2,000 persons died, and the Grammar School
+shut up for six months. (See 1349 and 1550.)
+
+
+
+1580.
+
+
+August 2nd. Dinner provided for 43 gentlemen on a sandbank out at sea,
+called Scratby Sand. In 1582 it was swept away by a strong easterly wind
+and tide, much to the disappointment of Sir Edward Clare, Knt., who had
+made a claim to it. Valuable wreckage was often found there.
+
+2,000 lasts (2,640,000 single fish) of herrings brought in on one tide.
+
+
+
+1582.
+
+
+Large fish, 17 yards long, the jaw 3¼ yards long, body 4½ yards thick,
+caught at Caister.
+
+
+
+1583.
+
+
+No one could be elected a Burgess in Parliament unless he was an
+Alderman.
+
+
+
+1585.
+
+
+The Privy Council requested the town to provide ships for the transport
+of 400 soldiers into the Low Countries. To raise funds, every Alderman
+advanced £5, and every Common Councilman £2 10s., the rest of the money
+being raised by assessment.
+
+
+
+1586.
+
+
+Pulpit erected at the west-end of St. Nicholas’ Church; removed in 1635.
+Another erected in the south-east comer of the south aisle, which was
+also removed in 1846.
+
+Number of “tippling houses” in Yarmouth restricted to 16.
+
+
+
+1588.
+
+
+John Stubbs and Roger Drury, Esqs., elected to Parliament.
+
+William Cecil, Lord Burleigh, K.G., High Steward of the Borough. In 1578
+he visited Yarmouth in company with the Earl of Leicester.
+
+Preparations to receive the Spanish Armada. The fortifications put into
+the best state of defence, a boom thrown across the Haven at the south
+gates, and a mound of earth raised higher than the walls, called the
+“South Mount,” on which was placed several pieces of ordnance. Another
+mound, the “New Mount,” was afterwards thrown up near St. George’s
+Chapel, and a warlike ship fitted out at the town’s expense to annoy the
+enemy at sea, and preparations made to lodge and provision a garrison of
+1,000 men. The sum of £1,355 4s. 9d. was assessed on the County.
+
+
+
+1589.
+
+
+No victualler or innkeeper allowed to retail any “strange beer” under
+pain of forfeiture.
+
+
+
+1591.
+
+
+An ale-house or tavern could only be kept by a Freeman or the widow of a
+Freeman.
+
+Two Yarmouth ships required to carry out 150 soldiers to Normandy.
+
+
+
+1592.
+
+
+T. Damett, Esq., again returned to Parliament with John Felton, Esq.
+
+
+
+1593.
+
+
+The fishing nets used by boat owners valued at £50,000.
+
+
+
+1596.
+
+
+John Felton, Esq., again returned to Parliament with Sir H. Hobart.
+
+Elizabethan House on the Quay, built by Benjamin Cowper. It was sold to
+John Carter, a friend of Oliver Cromwell. The supporters of Cromwell
+frequently assembled in this house, and it is supposed that the death of
+Charles I. was here determined on. It was for many years previously to
+Feb. 26th, 1867, the residence and property of the late Charles J.
+Palmer, Esq., F.S.A.
+
+Arthur Wilson born at Yarmouth. He published an account of the life and
+reign of James I, written with much freedom, and displaying a thorough
+knowledge of Court intrigues; but the liberties he took in exposing the
+propensities of that monarch and his son towards the Catholic cause,
+brought upon him the vehement censure of the friends of the Stuart
+family, who said that he had written from conjectures rather than from
+records, and that his work was more like a pasquinade than an authentic
+history. He was for many years an attendant on the Earl of Essex, and
+afterwards steward to the Earl of Warwick. He died in 1652.
+
+
+
+1597.
+
+
+Seven hundred vessels in the Haven at one time.
+
+
+
+1598.
+
+
+The number of Rows was seven score (140).
+
+The south side of the Hospital School used as a House of Correction.
+
+Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex, K.G., High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1599.
+
+
+Rev. Thomas Nash published the “Lenten Stuffe,” containing a poetical and
+satirical description of Yarmouth, &c., and a play in “Praise of a Red
+Herring.” He was born at Lowestoft in 1567, and died in 1600. He was
+called by Dr. Lodge “the true English Gifford or Aretino.” His name is
+mentioned by Michael Drayton, and also in the play, “_Return from
+Parnassus_.” (_Vide_ page 486, Pimperley’s “Encyclopædia of Literary and
+Typ. Anecdote.”)
+
+One penny per swill by day and 1½d. at night were charged for carting
+herrings from the beach.
+
+
+
+1599 to 1660.
+
+
+Caister Castle deserted as a residence.
+
+
+
+1600.
+
+
+Sir Henry Hobart and T. Damett, Esq., again returned to Parliament; the
+latter, with John Wheeler, Esq., also returned on the accession of James
+I.
+
+The Dutch Chapel, South Quay, built, and afterwards converted into a
+Theatre.
+
+Every Alderman, or his deputy, with a constable, ordered to visit all
+ale-houses and taverns twice a week, and make inquiries respecting the
+customers.
+
+
+
+1601.
+
+
+The washing and rinsing of nets near the public wells forbidden.
+
+The town required to provide and provision ships for transporting 600
+soldiers to the Low Countries.
+
+Charles Howard, Earl of Nottingham, K.G., Lord High Admiral of England,
+elected High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1604.
+
+
+A third Market Cross erected.
+
+
+
+1607.
+
+
+The three local rivers frozen over for 40 days.
+
+
+
+1608.
+
+
+James I. made Yarmouth a free Borough by charter, by the title of
+Bailiff, Aldermen, Burgesses, and Commonalty; which charter in 1683
+(Charles II.) was surrendered to the King. (See July 22nd, 1684.)
+
+
+
+1611.
+
+
+Drapers, mercers, grocers, and haberdashers prohibited from having stalls
+in the market.
+
+Herring Fair held. A great scarcity of herrings this year—a last of
+Windsor herrings being sold for £15 5s.
+
+
+
+1612.
+
+
+Great damage done to the Piers by a raging tide.
+
+Aldermen who had held office as Bailiffs, compelled to wear scarlet gowns
+with tippets, under pain of a 40s. fine. (See 1541.)
+
+
+
+1613.
+
+
+The present Haven completed at a cost of £38,682, and from this date to
+1770 inclusive, £215,644 had been expended about the Haven and Piers.
+
+
+
+1614.
+
+
+Sir Theophilus Finch and G. Hardware, Esq., returned to Parliament, but
+the former was succeeded soon after by Sir Henry Hobart.
+
+One hundred jacobuses (a gold coin struck in the time of James I.)
+presented to King James I. by the town, as a mark of loyalty and
+affection.
+
+
+
+1615.
+
+
+At Corporate meetings no gentleman allowed to make uncomely and indecent
+speeches out of time and order, or create a disturbance when touching
+upon any public good, or even allowed to make a remark till the previous
+speaker had sat down, under penalty of fine or dismissal.
+
+
+
+1616.
+
+
+About 50 Yarmouth fishermen laid up their vessels, having no licenses for
+exportation.
+
+
+
+1617.
+
+
+License granted for the export of 600 lasts of herrings, which was
+annually renewed till 1624.
+
+
+
+1618.
+
+
+The Cage or Stock-house set up.
+
+An ordinance made that all doors opening outwards into the Rows should be
+made to swing inwards, otherwise the constables would nail them up, and
+levy a fine of 5s. on the owners.
+
+
+
+1619.
+
+
+The last demand made by the Crown for furnishing vessels of war, until
+Charles I. resorted to that means of raising a revenue without the
+sanction of Parliament.
+
+
+
+1620.
+
+
+Dec. 21st. John Cowldham, J.P., four times a Bailiff, died, aged 84
+years.
+
+B. Cowper and Edward Owner, Esqs., free Burgesses, elected to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1622.
+
+
+“Tippling houses” had increased to 40, and were restricted to that
+number.
+
+
+
+1623.
+
+
+Benjamin Cowper, Esq., re-elected, with G. Hardware, Esq., to serve in
+Parliament.
+
+
+
+1624.
+
+
+Artillery yard on the site of present Unitarian Chapel.
+
+
+
+1625.
+
+
+Dec. 29th. Poor people were ordered not to marry unless sanctioned in
+writing by the Chief Alderman and Chief Constable.
+
+Manship, who wrote the “History of Great Yarmouth,” died. He was Town
+Clerk in 1579.
+
+Sir John Corbet and E. Owner, Esq., elected to Parliament; and in the
+same year Sir John was re-elected with Thomas Johnson, Esq.
+
+Fish Market, on the site of the present, covered in and paved. Covering
+removed in 1844.
+
+
+
+1626.
+
+
+Robert Sydney, Earl of Leicester, K.G., High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1626.
+
+
+Nicholas Felton, Bishop of Ely, died. He was a native of Yarmouth, and
+one of the prelates employed by James I. in the new translation of the
+Bible.
+
+
+
+1627.
+
+
+Sir John Wentworth and Miles Corbet, Esq., elected to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1628.
+
+
+The town obtained leave to export 1,000 lasts of herrings, which
+continued till 1637, when £50 per annum was demanded by the Trinity for
+10 years, and afterwards for 40 years.
+
+
+
+1629.
+
+
+Twelve hundred householders in Yarmouth.
+
+Edward Sackville, Earl of Dorset, K.G., High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1631.
+
+
+Fishing with a trawl prohibited by proclamation.
+
+£1 a quarter paid by the town to the Postmaster of Ipswich for carrying
+letters to and from Yarmouth for London.
+
+
+
+1632.
+
+
+Tobacco allowed only to be retailed in this town by one apothecary, six
+grocers, two hosiers, one merchant, and a chairmaker.
+
+June 26th. Four Frenchmen executed for murdering Nicholas Harpley.
+
+
+
+1633.
+
+
+Aldermen’s wives compelled to wear velvet hats up to this date, when the
+ordinance was annulled.
+
+
+
+1637.
+
+
+Thirty-four brewing-houses in Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1639.
+
+
+Miles Corbet, Esq., re-elected, with Edward Owner, Esq., as members of
+Parliament.
+
+The East and West Flegg granted to the family of Cornwallis.
+
+
+
+1642.
+
+
+Oct. 12th. A ship, with 140 armed soldiers on board, through stress of
+weather, put into Yarmouth port; she was seized by the townsmen, and her
+crew and soldiers imprisoned on behalf of the Parliament.
+
+
+
+1642.
+
+
+Sept. Earl of Warwick, Lord High Admiral, visited Yarmouth, and was
+entertained by the Corporation.
+
+Dec. 23rd. A rate of £1,200 assessed upon the inhabitants for the
+fortifications.
+
+The town collected £136 for the relief of distressed subjects in Ireland.
+
+
+
+1643.
+
+
+Feb. Lord Grey of Werke required Yarmouth to send 80 dragoons to
+Cambridge.
+
+
+
+1644.
+
+
+The number of “tippling-houses” increased to 80, besides great inns and
+taverns; and in 1705 augmented to 120.
+
+Letters between Yarmouth and London only passed once a week.
+
+Twenty Iceland fishing barques belonging to Yarmouth merchants taken by
+pirates, only three escaping.
+
+
+
+1645.
+
+
+Additional fortifications made. Breastworks and platforms built at the
+seaside, and ordnance mounted on them.
+
+The Earl of Lauderdale visited Yarmouth, and was sumptuously entertained
+at the town’s expense.
+
+
+
+1648.
+
+
+Sep. 9th. Lord Fairfax marched into Yarmouth, and the town was converted
+into a garrison.
+
+Three men-of-war ships sent to convoy the fishers and guard the coast.
+
+The Burgesses raised 600 foot and 50 horse soldiers, in lieu of having
+other forces marched into the town to do garrison duty.
+
+
+
+1649.
+
+
+Four Aldermen and 16 Common Councillors resigned office in the
+Corporation; 6 were afterwards reinstated.
+
+
+
+1650.
+
+
+The Puritans removed a fine old organ from St. Nicholas’ Church.
+
+The Presbyterians made a doorway in the north wall of the Parish Church,
+and opened the north aisle of the chancel for public worship.
+
+
+
+1651.
+
+
+Up to this date prayer was always used before the commencement of public
+business.
+
+
+
+1652.
+
+
+Admiral Blake sent several ships to Yarmouth, which he had captured from
+the Dutch.
+
+Dr. Thomes Soame died. He was the son of a fisherman at Yarmouth, but
+related to a wealthy family of the same name at Burnham. He lived in the
+reign of Charles I., and having entered holy orders he became minister of
+Staines in Middlesex, and Prebendary of Windsor. During the civil wars
+he was so zealously attached to Royalty that he sent all he had to the
+King, so that when the rebels came to plunder him he had nothing, for
+which he was imprisoned, first in Newgate, and afterwards in the Fleet
+Prison, where he died.
+
+
+
+1653.
+
+
+June 6th. Yarmouth sent 5 members to the “Little” Parliament summoned by
+Cromwell. Resigned Dec. 12th.
+
+Aug. 29th. General Monk granted a warrant to free Yarmouth fishermen
+from being pressed into the service of the State.
+
+Lord Henry, youngest son of Oliver Cromwell, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1653–4.
+
+
+Norfolk sent ten members to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1654.
+
+
+Dec. 16th. Oliver Cromwell proclaimed in the Market Place Protector of
+the Commonwealth of the United Kingdom.
+
+Colonel William Goffe and Thomas Dunne, Esq., were elected Burgesses to
+Parliament by 3 Aldermen and 26 Common Councilmen.
+
+
+
+1656.
+
+
+William Burton and C. G. Cock, Esqs., elected to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1659.
+
+
+W. Burton and C. G. Cock, Esqs., re-elected to Parliament.
+
+Yarmouth people sent to Southwold 30 coombs of wheat and 10 coombs of rye
+for the sufferers from a fire which consumed the greater part of that
+town.
+
+
+
+1660.
+
+
+Edward Hyde, Earl of Clarendon, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+A “Healing Parliament” called, and Sir J. Palgrave, Bart., and Miles
+Corbet, Esq., elected.
+
+
+
+1661.
+
+
+Sir William D’Oyley, Bart., and Sir W. Coventry, Bart., Secretary to the
+Admiralty, returned to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1662.
+
+
+Contention and bloodshed through concurrent jurisdiction ceased, when the
+Cinque Ports dissolved government with Yarmouth.
+
+Dec. 10th. James Smith was fined £10 for saying of Sir Thomas Medowe, a
+Bailiff, “He is a fool, and I have killed a bull of 80s. that had better
+brains than Sir Thomas have.”
+
+
+
+1664.
+
+
+Jan. 22nd. Rev. John Brinsley, sen., lecturer in Yarmouth, died, aged
+64.
+
+Two thousand five hundred persons died of plague, including two ministers
+of St. Nicholas’ Church. (See 1349, 1550, and 1579.)
+
+
+
+1665.
+
+
+June 3rd. Great sea fight off Lowestoft, when the Dutch Admiral (Opdam)
+was defeated.
+
+Every person receiving parish relief ordered to wear a pewter badge on
+the left arm, which was called “the badge of poverty.”
+
+
+
+1667.
+
+
+John Carter, twice Bailiff, and one of the Elders, died, aged 73.
+
+Town farthings coined by the Overseers “for the use of the poor.” In
+1673 they were cried down, and the town fined £90 for setting up a local
+mint. Lord Townshend petitioned the King on their behalf that he would
+pardon their offence.
+
+
+
+1668.
+
+
+Twenty-two thousand seven hundred and sixty chaldrons of coal imported.
+
+
+
+1670.
+
+
+An Act of Parliament passed appointing Haven Commissioners, viz., three
+for Norfolk, three for Suffolk, two for Norwich, and two for Yarmouth.
+
+April 21st. Mitchell Mew, twice Bailiff, and once Mayor, died, aged 71
+years.
+
+
+
+1671.
+
+
+Sep. 27th. Charles II. visited Yarmouth, accompanied by the Dukes of
+York, Monmouth, and Buckingham, and publicly entertained at a cost of
+£1,000.—The Corporation presented the King with four golden herrings and
+a chain, value £250. The King knighted three gentlemen of the Council.
+
+
+
+1672.
+
+
+May 28th. Duke of York, commander of the English fleet, defeated the
+Dutch fleet under De Ruyter, in Sole Bay, or Southwold Bay. The guns
+were heard at Yarmouth, and the sick and wounded afterwards brought here.
+Yarmouth sent presents of wine, sheep, lambs, lemons, fowls, and fish to
+the Duke of York, previous to the engagement.
+
+
+
+1673.
+
+
+April 8th. William Burton, sen., twice Bailiff of the town, died, aged
+65 years.
+
+Son of Sir William Paston created Baron Paston and Viscount Yarmouth;
+also created Earl of Yarmouth in 1679. In 1676 he was shot at and
+wounded while in his coach. He died in 1682.
+
+
+
+1674.
+
+
+Robert Paston, Viscount Yarmouth, chosen High Steward of the Borough.
+
+The famous “Yarmouth Troll Cart” in use. At this date they were known by
+the name of “Yarmouth Coaches,” being more elegantly made, and let out to
+pleasure parties.
+
+Bell factory supposed to have existed.
+
+Haven expenses this year, £2,099 9s. 6d.
+
+
+
+1677.
+
+
+Grand celebration in Yarmouth on the marriage of William III., Prince of
+Orange, with Princess Mary.
+
+Captain Booth executed in the town for stabbing a seaman.
+
+The ground between the walls and the east side of the town, from the
+Market Place, along King Street to the Friars’ Lane, was sold for £2,265
+17s. 6d., to sundry persons to build upon.
+
+
+
+1678.
+
+
+Bonfires, by order of the Corporation, made in the Market Place and other
+parts of the town, on the passing of the “Test Act” by both Houses of
+Parliament.
+
+
+
+1679.
+
+
+Sir W. Coventry, Knt., re-elected to Parliament, with Lord Huntingdon.
+
+
+
+1680.
+
+
+Richard Huntingdon and George England, Esqs., returned to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1681.
+
+
+Oct. 21st. Sir William Gooch, Bart., born at Yarmouth. Early in life he
+entered the army, and distinguished himself in the Rebellion of 1715.
+George I. made him Lieutenant-Governor of Virginia in 1727; and in 1740
+he was appointed Colonel of an American Regiment, and assisted at the
+memorable siege of Carthagena. For his services he was promoted, being
+first made Brigadier and then Major-General, in which capacity, in 1747,
+he commanded in the expedition to Quebec. Died at Bath, Dec. 17th, 1751.
+
+The whole body of Freemen claimed a right of electing members for the
+town, and accordingly chose Sir James Johnson, Knt., and George England,
+Esq. Before this, the Corporation had usually taken upon themselves this
+business, sometimes by a majority of the assembly, and sometimes by an
+inquest of six Aldermen and six Common Councilmen.
+
+H.R.H. the Duke of York entertained to a sumptuous dinner in Yarmouth;
+afterwards embarked in the frigate “Gloucester,” but (May 6th) the vessel
+striking on the Leman and Ower sand, 12 leagues from Yarmouth, she filled
+with water, and the Duke escaped in a shallop, with Colonel Churchill,
+Earl of Aberdeen, Duke of Montrose, and a few other distinguished
+personages.
+
+
+
+1683.
+
+
+William Paston, Earl of Yarmouth, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Spire of St. Nicholas’ Church, being of wood and lead, set on fire by
+lightning. John Grice received from the Corporation a piece of plate,
+value £10, for extinguishing it.
+
+
+
+1684.
+
+
+April 26th. First Yarmouth Fair held.
+
+May 7th. John Hall, Esq., died, aged 61 years. He was a merchant,
+Alderman by the old and new charters, and twice Bailiff of the town.
+
+July 22nd. The charter granted by which a Mayor was substituted for the
+2 Bailiffs, 18 Aldermen instead of 36, and 36 Common Councilmen instead
+of 18. By Charles II. a High Steward, a Recorder, a Sub-Steward, 2
+Coroners, 2 Chamberlains, and a Clerk of the Courts were also appointed.
+Southtown was added to the liberties of the Borough. (See 1608, 1687,
+and 1763.) This charter also empowered them to hold _two_ fairs yearly.
+The instrument was brought from London by the eldest son of the Earl of
+Yarmouth to Haddiscoe, and given to George Ward, Esq., the first Mayor
+elected. He, accompanied by a large train of carriages, and from 300 to
+400 horsemen, proceeded to Haddiscoe to receive it. Great rejoicing in
+the town.
+
+Lady Yarmouth, wife of the above Earl, died.
+
+The Corporation Sword of Justice, carried before the Mayor, adopted.
+
+Sir Thomas Medowe, Mayor, being the second elected the same year.
+Bailiffs prior to this year were chosen instead of Mayor.
+
+Lord Huntingdon and George England, Esq., returned to Parliament; also in
+1686 and 1688.
+
+Town Charters surrendered to Charles II.
+
+
+
+1685.
+
+
+May 1st. Earl of Yarmouth invited Sir A. Dean and Sir H. Shiers to view
+the Haven and Piers. The latter was presented at the “Three Feathers”
+Inn with 100 guineas for his journey. He also visited the town in 1687,
+accompanied by Lord Dartmouth, who recommended that a ship be sunk, or
+jetty made, northward of the north Pier, to prevent the sand from coming
+into the Haven, and that a basin be formed westward of the “brush,” with
+a sluice to let out the water forcibly into the Haven towards the latter
+ebb.
+
+
+
+1686.
+
+
+Lord Huntingdon and George England, Esq., elected by the Freemen to serve
+in Parliament. The right of Freemen to vote was ever acquiesced in by
+the Corporation.
+
+
+
+1687.
+
+
+Aug. 12th. Prince George of Denmark landed at Yarmouth, and went post to
+Windsor.
+
+James II. ejected 5 Aldermen and 12 Common Councilmen from the Corporate
+Body; and in the following year 3 Aldermen and 4 Councilmen, and placed
+others in their stead. This right of displacing the Corporate body was
+reserved by the King.
+
+
+
+1688.
+
+
+June 24th. Tumult and riotous proceedings took place in the town through
+the bigoted conduct of King James II.
+
+Lord Huntingdon and G. England, Esq., again elected, and sent to the
+Convention Parliament the same year. Re-elected in 1690 and 1695.
+
+Prince George of Denmark’s regiment of Dragoons sent to Yarmouth; and in
+1696, two companies of Lieut.-General Bellasis’ Royal Fusiliers were
+quartered in the town.
+
+The office of Mayor ceased, and the Government of the town again reverted
+to two Bailiffs, under King James II.’s proclamation. This continued
+till the time of Queen Anne. (See 1702.)
+
+Haven expenses for the year, £2,323 5s. 4d.
+
+
+
+1689.
+
+
+Feb. 16th. Prince of Orange and the Princess Mary proclaimed in the
+Market Place.
+
+George England and Samuel Fuller, Esqs., returned to Parliament; also in
+1695, 1698, and 1700.
+
+
+
+1690.
+
+
+May 16th. Edmund Thaxter, Alderman and twice Bailiff, died, aged 62.
+
+The Maces carried by the Mayor’s officers ordered to be made. At New
+Romney are now (1884) two maces used here at Herring Fair.
+
+
+
+1691.
+
+
+Anthony Ellys, Bishop of St. David’s, and author of several theological
+works, was born at Yarmouth. Died in 1761.
+
+
+
+1692.
+
+
+Oct. 18th. William III. landed at Yarmouth, and received with great
+enthusiasm. The Corporation spent £106 in entertaining him.
+
+All Boroughs were reduced by proclamation to the same state of government
+as before the surrender of charters to Charles II. (See 1702.)
+
+Two hundred vessels and nearly 1,000 lives lost in one night off this
+coast.
+
+
+
+1693.
+
+
+Sept. 11th. Thomas, second son of Sir George England, Alderman and twice
+Bailiff, died, aged 48 years.
+
+Oct. 28th. John Albertson, Esq., Alderman and Bailiff in 1655, died,
+aged 71 years.
+
+
+
+1694.
+
+
+A Bar having formed across the Harbour’s mouth, the dangerous state of
+the Haven was made known by the beat of a drum, and the inhabitants
+desired to cut and dig a “gut” or trench through the Bar.
+
+Proposed to break up the streets and lay pipes to supply the inhabitants
+with spring water from a large reservoir, collected from the wells on the
+Denes. Also in 1810. (See 1835 and 1855.)
+
+
+
+1697.
+
+
+Corporation voted an address to the King upon his safe return, and peace
+with the French King.
+
+
+
+1701.
+
+
+John Nicholson and John Burton, Esqs., returned to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1702.
+
+
+June 30th. George England, Esq., eldest son of Sir George, died, aged 58
+years. He was Recorder, and several times member of Parliament for the
+Borough. (See 1693 and 1711.)
+
+Fishermen’s Hospital (for 40 persons) erected by the Corporation.
+
+The Corporation obtained a new charter, granted by Queen Anne, which
+again allowed them to choose a Mayor on Sept. 29th, instead of two
+Bailiffs. (See 1692.)
+
+Benjamin England and J. Nicholson, Esqs., returned to Parliament; also in
+1705.
+
+
+
+1703.
+
+
+July 3rd. Thomas Bradford, Esq., Mayor, died, aged 74 years.
+
+March 11th. Twenty-fifth and last Charter granted by Queen Anne,
+re-appointing certain governors of the town. (See 1684.) When the
+Parliamentary and Municipal Reform Acts were passed (1832 and 1835), the
+Mayor was again required to be chosen from the whole body of the
+Corporation, whether Aldermen or Town Councillors.
+
+A dreadful Fire broke out at the north end of the town, and several
+houses were blown up to prevent its spreading.
+
+
+
+1704.
+
+
+April 30th. Thomas Godfrey, twice Bailiff and many years Town Clerk of
+this Borough, died, aged 63 years. He was succeeded by John Carlow, and
+at his decease in 1710 by Francis Turner.
+
+
+
+1706.
+
+
+The expenses of Yarmouth Haven amounted to £2,710 7s. 5d.
+
+
+
+1707.
+
+
+April 27th. Thomas Bendish, Esq., died, aged 61 years. He was a
+descendant of the ancient family of Sir Thomas Bendish, Bart., of Essex,
+who was ambassador from Charles II. to the Grand Seigneur. He married
+Bridget, daughter of H. Ireton, Esq., of Ireton, for some time Lord
+Lieutenant of Ireland.
+
+
+
+1708.
+
+
+Hon. Roger Townshend and Richard Ferrier, Esq., returned to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1709.
+
+
+A Quaker had his Burgess Letter on taking his solemn _affirmation_ only.
+
+
+
+1710.
+
+
+Nov. 7th. William Browne, Esq., Mayor, died, aged 46 years.
+
+Richard Ferrier and Benjamin England, Esqs., returned to Parliament.
+Poll—F. 278; Eng. 269; Townshend 231; Ellys 173. Also in 1713.
+
+
+
+1711.
+
+
+April 30th. Benjamin England, Esq., third son of Sir George, died. He
+was several times Bailiff, Mayor, and Member of Parliament for the
+Borough.
+
+Henry Borrett, Esq., was Mayor, but dying before his term of office was
+completed, Samuel Wakeman, Esq., was chosen.
+
+Ordered that no license be granted to any person to draw or retail ale or
+any other liquor at any house by the sea-side, except during the fishing
+seasons.
+
+
+
+1712.
+
+
+Oct. 3rd. Twenty persons drowned on Breydon from the upsetting of a
+wherry.
+
+An Act obtained for making a causeway over the Denes from Yarmouth to
+Caister.
+
+
+
+1713.
+
+
+The Charity School erected in the Market Place by a few benevolent
+persons; and in 1724 the Corporation built two large rooms.
+
+First Town Hall built at a cost of £880. (See April 20th, 1880, and May
+31st, 1882.)
+
+
+
+1715.
+
+
+Mayors and Justices allowed to wear different gowns to those of other
+Corporate members.
+
+St. George’s Episcopal Chapel finished building. The contractors were
+Messrs. Price and Son, who built the Town Hall. The Chapel was
+consecrated Dec. 8th, 1815. Cost £3,800.
+
+South Denes laid out as a race-course by John Holdrich and other
+innkeepers of Yarmouth; but annual races not held till 1810.
+
+Easter Fair held on Good Friday until this date, when the Corporation
+ordered it to take place on the Friday following.
+
+Geo. England, Esq., and the Hon. Horatio Townshend returned to
+Parliament.
+
+
+
+1718.
+
+
+It was agreed that the two last and every succeeding Mayor should receive
+£100 each, in lieu of the fishing thousand.
+
+The Vicar’s house built by the Corporation.
+
+
+
+1721.
+
+
+An Act passed enforcing half the amount of ordinary duties on the Haven
+to be expended in improving the Haven, Piers, and Jetties; one-fourth
+part to be expended in deepening and cleansing the three rivers, and
+repairing the bridge and public quays at Yarmouth; and the remaining
+fourth part in cleansing and deepening Breydon.
+
+
+
+1722.
+
+
+Oct. 2nd. William Spooner, Bailiff, and afterwards Mayor, died, aged 67
+years.
+
+Hon. Charles Townshend and Hon. Horatio Walpole returned to Parliament.
+The latter created a Baronet in 1756.
+
+
+
+1723.
+
+
+Guildhall, near St. Nicholas’ Church, pulled down and replaced by an
+unsightly building, where Corporate assemblies were held till 1835.
+
+
+
+1724.
+
+
+The Charity School for 50 boys and 30 girls was built by subscription.
+(See, 1713).
+
+Jan. 28th. James Artis, Esq., Bailiff, Mayor, and Captain of Fusiliers,
+died, aged 68 years.
+
+
+
+1724.
+
+
+Corbridge published his “West Prospect of Yarmouth.” Buck published one
+in 1741; and Laing’s Map came out in 1867.
+
+
+
+1726.
+
+
+July 14th. Mrs. Bridget Bendish, granddaughter of Oliver Cromwell, died
+at Southtown.
+
+
+
+1727.
+
+
+Hon. W. Townshend and Hon. Horatio Walpole returned to Parliament.
+
+The _Norwich Mercury_ of this date says:—“The persons appointed for
+choosing a Mayor for the town of Great Yarmouth (according to custom)
+were locked up in a room on Tuesday last at 12 o’clock, and did not
+determine the election till 9 o’clock on Thursday morning, when Samuel
+Artis, Esq., a gentleman of known loyalty and integrity, was declared
+Mayor-Elect for the year ensuing, to the great disappointment of the
+Tories.”
+
+
+
+1729.
+
+
+The Pillory removed.
+
+£50 raised by the town for the relief of the English prisoners at
+Mequinez.
+
+
+
+1730.
+
+
+July. A remarkable storm and tempest; hailstones of prodigious magnitude
+fell.
+
+
+
+1732
+
+
+Sir Robert Walpole, Earl of Orford, K.G., High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1733.
+
+
+Dec. 20th. Organ now at the Parish Church first opened. The Rev. Thos.
+Macro, D.D., minister of Yarmouth, preached the sermon on “The Melody of
+the Heart.”—_Eph._ 5, 19 _verse_. (See Jan. 25th, 1869.)
+
+
+
+1734.
+
+
+A poor fisherman named Danby obtained a verdict, with £15 damages,
+against William Brown, Esq. (the Mayor), Justice Artis, and Masters (the
+Bridewell man), for whipping and false imprisoning the plaintiff.
+
+The Mayor’s gold chain and medal appendant having the arms of the
+Corporation on one side, and a ship under sail on the reverse, to be worn
+by every Mayor for ever. (See 1746.) It was subscribed for. The cost
+of the chain alone was £141 18s. 3d.
+
+Organ at St. George’s Chapel built by Jordan.
+
+Hon. Edward Walpole and the Hon. William Townshend returned to
+Parliament, but the latter dying in 1737, was succeeded by his brother,
+the Hon. Roger Townshend.
+
+Sarah Johnson, a widow, was whipped upon a cart round the Market Place,
+for stealing three gold rings and a silver spoon. In 1763 two sailors
+were served in like manner, receiving four lashes under each public-house
+sign for stealing merchandise.
+
+
+
+1736.
+
+
+Elizabeth Thompson hanged for the murder of a Dutchman in the Gaol-row.
+
+
+
+1737.
+
+
+Jan. 14th. George II. landed a few miles south of Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1739.
+
+
+Sir R. Walpole sent 50 guineas to be expended in coal for the poor.
+
+Robert Ferrier appointed Town Clerk, and eleven years afterwards he
+filled the civic chair.
+
+
+
+1740.
+
+
+Chris. Bernard, Esq., elected Mayor, but died before completing his term
+of office.
+
+Expenses of Yarmouth Haven were £3,299 15s. 9d.
+
+Amelia Sophia de Walmoden, presumed to have been the mistress of George
+II., was created Baroness and Countess of Yarmouth for life. She died in
+1750.
+
+
+
+1741.
+
+
+Hon. Roger Townshend and E. Walpole, Esq., returned to Parliament.
+Votes—T., 400, W., 391; Howling Luston, 104; Richard Fuller, 97.
+
+
+
+1742.
+
+
+John Thacker hanged for killing John Auger with a pistol ball in a shop
+near the “Wheel of Fortune.”
+
+
+
+1744.
+
+
+The inquest, chosen for electing a Mayor, locked up in the Guildhall for
+ten days; in 1765, six days; in 1767, three days and three nights; and in
+1814, fifty-four hours.
+
+Samuel Killett, Esq., Alderman, gave the Corporation of Yarmouth a silver
+oar, double gilt, the insignia of the Admiralty Court.
+
+
+
+1745.
+
+
+Ancient Order of Foresters first formed.
+
+Robert Walpole, Earl of Orford, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1746.
+
+
+Nov. 25th. Mayor’s medal appendant sold; its value applied for adding
+links to the chain, the two being valued at £166. (See 1734.)
+
+
+
+1747.
+
+
+Hon. E. Walpole and the Hon. Chas. Townshend elected to Parliament.
+
+The Cage or Stock-house removed.
+
+
+
+1748.
+
+
+Nov. 30th. John Dobson Tongue hanged for robbing Mr. Halsden on the
+Southtown-road.
+
+
+
+1749.
+
+
+Oct. 13th. John Sullivan hanged for robbing Mrs. Meed on the Denes.
+
+
+
+1750.
+
+
+John Barcham, mariner, executed for the murder of Robert Bullen.
+
+An Act passed appointing a committee of twelve inhabitants of Yarmouth to
+inspect the Haven works, and to summon the Commissioners in cases of
+need.
+
+Mrs. Cromwell, lineally descended from Oliver Cromwell, died at Yarmouth,
+at an advanced age.
+
+A live infant named Sarah Pycraft found in a basket in St. Nicholas’
+Churchyard, and was taken to the Workhouse, where she died 96 years
+afterwards.
+
+
+
+1751.
+
+
+George Walpole, Earl of Orford, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Dr. John Butler, minister at St. Nicholas’ Church, and afterwards Bishop
+of Oxford and Hereford. He died in 1802.
+
+An Act passed to open the port of Yarmouth for the importation of wool
+and woollen yarn from Ireland.
+
+
+
+1752.
+
+
+Chris. Taylor, Esq., Mayor, died before completing his term of office,
+and was succeeded by Giles Wakeman.
+
+The Gallows-house on the North Denes removed.
+
+
+
+1753.
+
+
+Expenses of Yarmouth Haven amounted to £3,360 3s. 9d.
+
+
+
+1754.
+
+
+April 18th. Right Hon. C. Townshend and his former colleague, then Sir
+E. Walpole, K.B., and Chief Secretary for Ireland, elected to Parliament.
+Votes—T., 541; W., 518; R. Fuller, 397; and William Browne, 342.
+
+Mr. Thos. Olivers made an unsuccessful attempt to introduce Methodism
+into the town. He and a friend were assailed on the Sunday with dirt,
+stones, and missiles of every description without mercy, and driven out
+of the town. Mr. Howell Harris made an attempt in 1760, which was more
+successful, though at great risk of his life.
+
+
+
+1756.
+
+
+July 23rd. William Burton, M.D., died, aged 53.
+
+Sept. 1st. Naval engagement off Lowestoft between H.M.S. “Hazard” and a
+French privateer, “La Subtille,” carrying 12 guns and 86 men. After six
+hours the Frenchman struck off Winterton, and the next day (Sunday) the
+prisoners were landed and lodged in gaol. By undermining the prison
+wall, fourteen broke out, and only four were retaken.
+
+C. Townshend, Esq., of Honingham, a cousin to the Hon. Charles, was
+elected to Parliament by a majority of 32 votes, on the latter accepting
+the office of Treasurer of his Majesty’s Chamber. Mr. C. Townshend was
+elected eight times in thirty-three years.
+
+
+
+1756.
+
+
+An Act for the better recovery of small debts within the liberties of the
+Borough obtained.
+
+
+
+1758.
+
+
+Oct. 7th. Joseph Ames, F.R.S., died. He was born at Yarmouth on Jan.
+23rd, 1688, and was the author of “Typographical Antiquities”; being an
+historical account of printing in England, with memoirs of our ancient
+printers, and a register of the books printed by them, from the year 1471
+to 1600, with an appendix concerning printing in Scotland and Ireland to
+the same time. It was dedicated to Philip, Earl of Hardwick, Lord High
+Chancellor of England. He was originally a piano maker, and afterwards a
+ship chandler at Wapping, which trade he carried on till his death. He
+was a great lover of history. In 1741 was appointed secretary of the
+Society of Antiquaries. Mr. Ames printed a “Catalogue of English
+Printers from 1471 to 1700,” “An Index to Lord Pembroke’s Coins,” also “A
+Catalogue of English Heads, or an account of about 2,000 prints,”
+describing what is peculiar on each; he drew up the “Parentalia, or
+Memoirs of the Family of Wren.” His collection of coins, curiosities,
+books, &c., were sold in 1760. Among the latter was a copy of Tindall’s
+New Testament, supposed to be the only one which escaped the flames, when
+the Bishop of London (Tonstall) ordered them to be burnt. _Vide_
+“Timperley’s Encyclopedia of Literary and Typ. Anecdote,” 1842, p. 703.
+
+
+
+1759.
+
+
+Yarmouth Sea-baths built. Cost £2,000. A handsome public room added in
+1785.
+
+Terrible affray with the 2nd Dragoons (Scotch Greys) and 6th Irish
+Dragoons (Enniskilling), who were quartered in the town. They attacked
+each other with swords.
+
+
+
+1761.
+
+
+John Willis, Esq., elected Mayor, but died before completing his term of
+office.
+
+Hon. Sir Edward Walpole, K.B., and C. Townshend, Esq., returned to
+Parliament.
+
+
+
+1762.
+
+
+The number of boys and girls at the Hospital School reduced from 49 to
+41.
+
+
+
+1763.
+
+
+Gorleston Parish, with the Hamlet of Southtown, in Mutford and
+Lothingland Hundreds (Suffolk) incorporated for the maintenance of the
+poor of its 24 parishes. Also by an amended Act in 1833.
+
+
+
+1765.
+
+
+Dec. 10th. Rev. Christopher Spendlove, sen., lecturer, of Yarmouth,
+died, aged 69 years.
+
+
+
+1766.
+
+
+Jan. 8th. Much distress caused through the high price of food, and a
+subscription was opened and liberally supported by the inhabitants—60,138
+quartern loaves, weighing 4 lbs. 14 ozs., at 3d. each, distributed for
+three months, among the poor till April 25th.
+
+
+
+1767.
+
+
+100 ft. of the Jetty carried away by high tide.
+
+
+
+1768.
+
+
+C. Townshend, Esq., returned to Parliament, with the Hon. Richard
+Walpole. (Also in 1770, 1774, and 1780.)
+
+
+
+1769.
+
+
+Sept. 16th. Elizabeth Martin executed for the murder of her illegitimate
+child.
+
+
+
+1770.
+
+
+April 18th. The day of John Wilkes’s releasement from the Tower
+celebrated at Yarmouth with great rejoicings. He was an eminent English
+politician.
+
+Nov. 8th. Rev. John Manclarke, minister of the parish, died, aged 38
+years.
+
+During a gale, thirty vessels and two hundred men lost.
+
+Four of the Town Gates pulled down.
+
+One guinea bounty offered to every able seaman at Yarmouth who would join
+the fleet to suppress the war with Spain.
+
+
+
+1771.
+
+
+“Clappermen” appointed to watch the vessels in the Harbour, and prevent
+any fire or light being used on board.
+
+
+
+1772.
+
+
+Jan. 11th. Henry Swinden, a diligent antiquary, who for twenty years
+collected and digested a large mass of information respecting his native
+town, author of “History of Great Yarmouth,” died, the same year his work
+was published, and while the last sheet was in the press, aged 55 years.
+(See 1776.)
+
+
+
+1774.
+
+
+Charles Townshend, Esq., and the Hon. Richard Walpole returned to
+Parliament. Votes—T., 310; W., 310; W. Beckford, 218; Sir Charles
+Saunders, K.B., 216. In 1777, Charles Townshend, Esq., vacated his seat,
+but was returned with W. Beckford, Esq. Votes—T., 502; B., 199.
+
+The overseers’ account for the past year, ending at Easter, was—Money
+received, £2,694 16s.; money paid (including everything, and a new
+building at £201 10s.) left a balance in hand of £61 15s. 7d.
+
+
+
+1775.
+
+
+The “Nine houses” at Southtown built by John Eggoty, on the site of
+public tea-gardens and cream house.
+
+
+
+1776.
+
+
+“The History and Antiquities of Yarmouth,” by the Rev. Charles Parkin,
+M.A., Rector of Oxburgh, published.
+
+John Ives, F.R.S., F.S.A., died. He was born at Yarmouth in 1730, and
+became eminent for his skill in antiquarian science. He published
+“Manship’s History,” wrote the preface, and erected a marble monument in
+St. Nicholas’ Church to Manship’s memory.
+
+
+
+1778.
+
+
+Dec. 4th. Theatre erected, and opened with the comedy of the _English
+Merchant_. Building cost £1,500. Renovated in 1828.
+
+
+
+1779.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. A tremendous storm and flood, and much damage done to
+shipping.
+
+First Map of Yarmouth published by Mr. M. J. Armstrong. It was prepared
+by Swinden in 1722.
+
+
+
+1780.
+
+
+March 6th. A Monthly Book Club established by the Rev. R. Turner, B.D.
+
+Armed Associations formed at Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1781.
+
+
+William Penn, a pirate, hanged in London, and afterwards put on a gibbet
+on the North Denes.
+
+Two batteries on the North Denes erected.
+
+
+
+1782.
+
+
+A fort erected on Gorleston heights, armed with six 24-pounders and a
+battery of nine 18-pounders, for the defence of St. Nicholas’ Gat. An
+invasion expected.
+
+The Fisheries protected by an armed force.
+
+Parliamentary Reform agitated; and the town was filled with troops, much
+to the annoyance of the inhabitants.
+
+An Act passed for the better securing the duties payable on the
+importation of coal and cinders.
+
+The Norfolk Rangers first established.
+
+
+
+1783.
+
+
+The celebrated John Wesley preached in Yarmouth, and on Oct. the 22nd
+opened a chapel. He paid the town several visits, the last in 1790, not
+five months before his death in 1791. Aged 87.
+
+Right Hon. C. Townshend re-elected to Parliament.
+
+
+
+1784.
+
+
+First Census taken. Population 12,608.
+
+Two vessels fitted out for the Greenland whale fishery.
+
+Mr. S. Bream, of Yarmouth, advocated the extension of the North Pier for
+the removal of the Bar. Mr. J. Nichalls, an engineer, suggested in a
+report that the river should be straightened, and a weir placed across
+the river near its junction with Breydon.
+
+
+
+1784.
+
+
+June 22nd. A great part of the outward wall of the east end of the
+Parish Church fell down, and destroyed the tombs and gravestones to some
+distance.
+
+Mr. Barrett died, aged 100 years.
+
+Oct. The Prince of Wales (afterwards Geo. IV.) invited by the
+Corporation to dine at the Town Hall. Not accepted.
+
+Sir John Jervis, K.B., returned to Parliament with H. Beaufoy, Esq.
+
+
+
+1785.
+
+
+Another town gate pulled down.
+
+The Dutch sent over 87 boats for the herring fishery off our coast.
+
+Wooden drawbridge across the stream near the Town Hall built, and existed
+till 1843.
+
+
+
+1786.
+
+
+Second drawbridge connecting Yarmouth with Southtown over the Yare
+re-built and opened to the public.
+
+Josiah Curtis appointed town crier, an office which he held for 32 years.
+
+
+
+1788.
+
+
+Martha Stanninot, a peculiar woman known as “Queen Martha,” who fancied
+she should be Queen of England, lived and died in Row 28.
+
+
+
+1789.
+
+
+Nov. 1st. Forty vessels driven ashore between Yarmouth and Southwold; 80
+fishing boats wrecked, and 120 bodies washed ashore between Yarmouth and
+Cromer.
+
+An appointed day of thanksgiving for the King’s recovery, and the town
+illuminated.
+
+Seven hundred lasts of herrings taken by 180 boats.
+
+
+
+1790.
+
+
+June 18th. Right Hon. Charles Townshend and Henry Beaufoy, Esq.,
+returned to Parliament. Votes—T., 632; B., 455; J. T. Sandys, 182.
+
+A pottery established at Yarmouth.
+
+
+
+1791.
+
+
+George Townshend, Marquis Townshend, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Feb. 3rd. Part of the Jetty carried away by a destructive high tide, and
+the Denes under water. On the Southtown-road the water was deep enough
+for boats to ply.
+
+Oct. 27th. Riot on account of the dearness of provisions, but suppressed
+by the magistrates.
+
+
+
+1792.
+
+
+Feb. 7th. House of Commons petitioned by Yarmouth for the abolition of
+slave trade.
+
+May 29th. The “Church and King Club” established, and first meeting held
+at the “Wrestler’s Inn.”
+
+Dec. Meeting held in Yarmouth, pledging themselves to support the
+Constitution of King, Lords, and Commons, as established in 1688.
+
+
+
+1793.
+
+
+Feb. 11th. Embargo laid on all vessels at Yarmouth.
+
+Feb. 28th. H.M.S. “Savage” brought in the French privateer, “Custine,”
+she being the first prize taken in the war.
+
+Matthew Champion died at the age of 111 years.
+
+The title of Earl of Yarmouth was revived as the secondary title of the
+Marquis of Hertford.
+
+
+
+1794.
+
+
+July. Subscription entered into and a benefit play performed at
+Yarmouth, for the relief of the widows and orphans of those killed on
+board the fleet in Lord Howe’s victory on June 1st.
+
+
+
+1795.
+
+
+May 29th. On the death of H. Beaufoy, Esq., Colonel S. Howe was elected
+to Parliament with George Anson, Esq. Votes—H., 483; A., 347.
+
+Sir Edmund Lacon, Knt., Mayor. This hon. gentleman was knighted for
+quelling the riot which began in the Market Place, occasioned by the high
+price of provisions.
+
+The Distillery, on the site of the Silk Factory purchased by Government,
+and Barracks made of wood, erected there for 1,600 men.
+
+Jan. 19th. The illustrious fugitive, the Princess of Orange, with her
+daughter-in-law, little granddaughter, and the child’s nurse, accompanied
+by two gentlemen, embarked on board a fishing boat. They took up their
+quarters in the hold of the vessel, and were covered with the sails as a
+defence against the inclement weather. After being safely landed at
+Yarmouth, the military were drawn up, and their Royal Highnesses driven
+twice round the Market Place, and then entertained by the Mayor. The
+Prince unexpectedly came also and took his wife away. The next day the
+Duke of York visited Yarmouth for the purpose of welcoming them, and,
+though disappointed, was enthusiastically received by the inhabitants.
+
+Another unfortunate Princess near landing on our shore. Princess
+Caroline of Brunswick, accompanied by the English envoy, Lord Malmesbury,
+embarked at Cuxhaven on board the “Jupiter,” 50 guns, and through stress
+of weather came within six leagues of the Beach.
+
+A line of packets to Cuxhaven was started from our Port, and the Dover
+and Harwich packets removed.
+
+Congratulatory address from the Corporation and inhabitants of Yarmouth
+presented to George III. on his escape from the attack made on his person
+while proceeding to Parliament House.
+
+
+
+1796.
+
+
+June. Lord C. P. T. Townshend and Colonel S. Howe returned to
+Parliament. Lord Charles on the day following his election was found
+dead in his carriage, shot in the mouth by a pistol ball. The same year
+(Oct. 26th), Major-General W. Loftus and H. Jodrell, Esq., were elected
+to Parliament. Votes—L., 599; J., 561; Sir J. Jervis, K.B., 418.
+
+June 25th. First time that a squadron of men-of-war ships entered
+Yarmouth Roads. There were 13 British and 3 Russian, under the command
+of Admiral Macbride.
+
+Freedom of the Borough presented to Captain Trollope, for defeating 8
+French ships of war off the coast of Holland.
+
+Aug. 19th. Whilst Thelwall, a political lecturer, was declaiming in a
+room at Yarmouth, a party of armed sailors from the ships in the Roads
+broke in, and in their attempt to seize the orator, knocked down every
+person who opposed them. Upwards of 40 persons were wounded in the
+scuffle; the orator escaped unhurt.
+
+
+
+1797.
+
+
+June 1st. Mutiny on board the North Sea Fleet at Yarmouth, and several
+sail of the line hoisted the red flag of defiance.
+
+Sept. 18th. Admiral Duncan assumed the command of the North Sea Fleet in
+the Roadstead, _vice_ Admiral Macbride.
+
+Oct. 3rd. Admiral Duncan put into Yarmouth Roads, and six days
+afterwards went in search of the Dutch fleet, which was totally defeated
+(Oct. 11th) off Camperdown. The British fleet returned in triumph to
+Yarmouth Roads, bringing seven sail of the line as prizes. The wounded
+men were landed and conveyed to the Barracks and to Norwich—there being
+no Naval Hospital. Yarmouth for several days was thronged with visitors
+to see the victorious British fleet and their prizes. A subscription was
+raised on behalf of the wounded.
+
+A high tide nearly demolished the Bath House.
+
+Somerset Militia quartered in the town.
+
+Captain Rysoort, of the “Hercules” (one of Admiral Duncan’s prizes), died
+in Yarmouth, and was buried with military honours.
+
+A boat on the river Breydon upset, and six out of seven youths drowned.
+
+Freedom of the town presented to Lord Duncan and Sir Richard Onslow for
+their victories over the Dutch fleet; also to Earl St. Vincent for the
+victory over the Spanish fleet on the 14th of February.
+
+Mutiny broke out at the Nore, and extended itself to the vessels in
+Yarmouth Roads, but was quickly suppressed.
+
+
+
+1798.
+
+
+Mar. 2nd. Through financial pressure at the Bank of England, Yarmouth
+banks paid in their own notes, and fractional parts were paid in specie.
+
+Two Volunteer Companies of Yeomanry Cavalry formed at Yarmouth under
+Samuel Barker and H. Worship, Esqs.
+
+Oct. 1st. Intelligence of Admiral Viscount Nelson’s ever memorable
+victory off the mouth of the Nile received at Yarmouth with great
+rejoicing.
+
+Oct. 1st. The _Times_ says: At half-past twelve the following men-of-war
+in Yarmouth Roads got under weigh to cruise off the Texel:—“Monarch,” 74
+guns, Admiral Sir Richard Onslow, Captain Sutton; “Monmouth,” 64, Deane;
+“Belligneux,” 64, England; “Ardent,” 64, Bertie; “Agamemnon,” 64,
+Fancourt. Remaining in the Roads:—“Kent,” 74, Lord Duncan; “Ganges,” 74,
+Captain M’Dowall; “America,” 64, Smith; “Veteran,” 64, Mosse; “Glatton,”
+54, Cobb; with the “Europa” and “Mististoff” men-of-war.
+
+
+
+1799.
+
+
+Sept. 28th. The Duke of York’s army returned from an unsuccessful
+campaign, and the Guards and 24 other regiments, comprising 25,000 troops
+(infantry and cavalry), were landed at Yarmouth on their return from
+Holland.
+
+An embargo laid on all shipping at Yarmouth.
+
+Hospital for sick and wounded soldiers erected on the site of Grout’s
+Silk Factory. The wounded from Copenhagen were taken here.
+
+
+
+1800.
+
+
+Sept. 25th. Freedom of the Borough voted to Sir A. Dickson and Mr. Pitt.
+
+Nov. 6th. Admiral Lord Nelson landed here after the battle of Aboukir,
+having been absent 2½ years from his native county, and was presented
+with an enthusiastic welcome and the freedom of the town. He stayed at
+the “Wrestler’s” Inn, Church Plain, and in a speech he made there, said,
+“I am myself a Norfolk man, and I glory in being so.” When he
+subsequently visited the Parish Church, the organ played, “See the
+Conquering Hero comes.” He was accompanied by Lady and Sir William
+Hamilton.
+
+Nov. 20th. The herring fishery off Yarmouth was unusually productive
+this year, the catch being so great that one of Mr. Batley’s boats, after
+taking on board 14 lasts, was obliged to throw two lasts overboard.
+
+
+
+1801.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. This day being the first of the 19th century, and the day on
+which the union of Great Britain and Ireland took place, the Durham
+Militia fired a _feu de joie_ at Yarmouth; and the ships in the Roadstead
+gave a royal salute and hoisted their new colours in honour of the union.
+
+Mar. 7th. The St. “George,” carrying 98 guns, and bearing the flag of
+Lord Nelson, arrived in the Roadstead.
+
+Mar. 12th. The grand fleet of 47 ships of war, with 3,000 mariners,
+under the command of Admiral Sir Hyde Parker in the “London,” 98 guns,
+with Lord Nelson as his Vice-Admiral, sailed from Yarmouth, and
+proceeded, after they had been joined by seven sail of the line in Leith
+Roads, to Copenhagen to destroy the Danish navy.
+
+Mar. 16th. The “Invincible,” 74 guns (built in 1766), Rear-Admiral
+Totty, on her way to join the grand fleet, got on the ridge near Hasbro’
+Sand, and remained till daybreak next morning, but had no sooner floated
+into deep water than she went down with her captain (J. Lawford), several
+officers, and about 300 men. By the exertions of Daniel Grigson, master
+of the cod-smack, “Nancy,” the Admiral, 7 officers, and about 190 of the
+crew, were saved.
+
+April 14th. Intelligence received at Yarmouth of the destruction of the
+Danish navy in Copenhagen by the British fleet, on April 2nd, after four
+hours’ fighting. Great rejoicing in this town and country generally.
+
+July 1st. Owing to Lord Nelson’s ill-health he again landed at the Jetty
+from the gun-brig, “Kite.”
+
+Nov. 2nd. The Prince of Orange arrived at Yarmouth from London, and on
+the 6th sailed in the packet “Diana,” for Cuxhaven.
+
+Census taken. Population of Yarmouth, 14,854; with Gorleston and
+Southtown, 16,573.
+
+The batteries erected on the verge of the beach, and mounted with
+32-pounders. The harbour was also defended on each side by two bastions
+of a mural construction. They were dismounted after the general peace,
+and guns returned to Woolwich.
+
+
+
+1802.
+
+
+Jan. 6th. The Public Library first instituted by a certain number of
+subscribers. In 1808 the Corporation granted the lease of the present
+building. The Dutch clock (removed in 1861) was erected on the exterior
+in 1600, when the building was used as a Dutch Chapel by the Hollanders;
+was afterwards used as an English Chapel, and previous to the Theatre
+being built the back premises were converted into a room for dramatic
+entertainments. New Reading Room opened Feb. 19th, 1859.
+
+May 5th. The town illuminated on the proclamation of peace.
+
+May 24th. The Duke of Cambridge sailed from Yarmouth in the frigate,
+“Amphion,” for Hanover, of which kingdom he was appointed Regent. (See
+June 13th, 1803.)
+
+June 28th. Custom House opened.
+
+July. Rear-Admiral Sir Thomas Trowbridge, Bart., and Thomas Jervis,
+Esq., returned to Parliament. The boat built for Sir Thomas to be
+chaired in, made of oak, 14 ft. long, and 3 ft. 9 in. wide, is still
+preserved (1884). On the stern is “Trowbridge and the Navy,” under which
+is a naval crown and trophy. It was built by Mr. James Hurry.
+
+Three hundred persons impressed, but 250 were afterwards liberated. (See
+1805.)
+
+Montgomeryshire and Cheshire Militia left the town.
+
+
+
+1803.
+
+
+May 5th. An active press at Yarmouth.
+
+May 16th. Embargo laid on all vessels in the Roads.
+
+June 13th. H.R.H. the Duke of Cambridge and suite left Yarmouth for
+Norwich. They came in the same frigate which brought Prince William of
+Gloucester from Cuxhaven, where their Royal Highnesses were nearly being
+made prisoners by the advanced guard of the French army. Had they
+remained there another hour they would have shared the fate of the
+Hanoverian army. The French General in Holland put an immense number of
+fishing boats in requisition for the avowed purpose of invading England.
+
+Oct. 25th. The Volunteer Regiments in Norfolk and Norwich resolved to
+perform permanent duty in Yarmouth in case of an invasion, and on Nov.
+the 9th two troops of Norfolk Rangers (established 1782), headed by the
+Marquis Townshend, the Lord Lieutenant, and commanded by Captain Sir M.
+B. Ffolkes, Bart., and Capt. Beauchamp, marched to Yarmouth on permanent
+duty; also the Norwich and the Fakenham Volunteers.
+
+Nov. 5th. The Lord Lieutenants of the maritime counties received
+warrants under his Majesty’s sign-manual, commanding them, “as there was
+actual appearance of invasion,” to give the necessary orders in pursuance
+of the late statute, that on the approach of the enemy all waggons and
+carts, cattle, and stores of corn, likely to fall into their hands, be
+removed or destroyed, and also that all women and children be likewise
+removed. The proprietors to be indemnified.
+
+Nov. 7th. Lieut.-Col. Harvey’s battalion of Norwich Volunteers arrived
+here for garrison duty; also the Norfolk Rangers and Norwich and Fakenham
+Corps.
+
+Nov. 10th. The Yarmouth Volunteer Infantry received their colours
+(presented by the Corporation) from the hands of the Mayoress.
+
+Dec. 6th. On the Norwich Volunteers’ return to Norwich, this regiment
+was succeeded in their fortnight’s garrison duty by the Yarmouth
+Volunteer Infantry (550), commanded by Lieut.-Colonel Gould.
+
+Dec. 15th. The Lynn and Freebridge Yeomanry Cavalry, with the Artillery
+and Rifle Corps, marched through Norwich to Yarmouth, to relieve the
+Dereham and South Erpingham troops.
+
+Dec. 22nd. The Dereham and Swaffham troops of Yeomanry Cavalry marched
+through Norwich for Yarmouth, to relieve the Lynn and Freebridge troops;
+and the Diss, North Walsham, Wells, and Old Buckenham Volunteer Companies
+of Infantry marched into Yarmouth for a fortnight’s duty.
+
+Dec. 30th. The Hingham and Wymondham troops marched to Yarmouth, to
+relieve the Swaffham and Dereham troops.
+
+Tower and spire of St. Nicholas’ Church removed; rebuilt in 1807 at a
+cost of £1,890. (See 1806.)
+
+The Militia regiments of the county assembled at Yarmouth and were
+embodied.
+
+
+
+1804.
+
+
+April 4th. The “Antelope,” (Commodore Sir W. Sydney Smith,) the brig
+“Cruizer,” and the cutter “Prince of Wales,” arrived at Yarmouth, from
+the Flushing station, which made an unsuccessful attempt to cut out an
+armed brig near the Scaw. They were attacked by an armed schooner, and
+obliged to abandon their enterprize, with the loss of five killed and ten
+wounded.
+
+April 11th. Rear-Admiral Sir W. Sydney Smith left Yarmouth for Norwich.
+The hero of St. Jean d’Acre proceeded next day on a tour of the country
+before accompanying the King of Portugal to Brazil.
+
+May 2nd. The gibbet on which Payne was hung in 1781 taken down by order
+of the Corporation.
+
+May 14th. Lynn Volunteers and (May 26th) North Walsham Light Infantry,
+came for a fortnight’s training.
+
+The first newspaper, _The Yarmouth Herald_, printed in the town by a Mr.
+Black.
+
+May 23rd. Blickling and Gunton Rifle Corps arrived here for a
+fortnight’s garrison duty.
+
+May 25th. A general fast observed. The Shropshire Militia and the
+Volunteers at Yarmouth (nearly 25,000 men) attended divine service.
+
+May 26th. The sloop “Helena,” 20 guns, and on Sept. 4th the brig
+“Musquito,” 18 guns, launched from Mr. J. Preston’s yard.
+
+Sept. 6th. Sloop of war “Cygnet,” 18 guns, launched from Mr. Nathaniel
+Palmer’s yard.
+
+Oct. 28th. Lord Viscount Chedworth, of Ipswich, died worth £500,000.
+Thomas Penrice, Esq., surgeon, of Yarmouth, was left a legacy of £20,000
+and also residuary legatee, by which he came into possession of at least
+£300,000.
+
+Nov. 26th. The Corporation and merchants of Yarmouth voted their thanks
+to Captain Hancock and his officers for capturing the notorious Blackman,
+who commanded a French privateer of 18 guns, and 98 prisoners were also
+taken.
+
+Nov. 22nd. The “Romney,” 50 guns, which sailed from Yarmouth Roadstead
+on the 18th with bullocks and vegetables for the blockading fleet off the
+Texel, under Admiral Russell, was lost in a dreadful gale of wind on the
+South Haak Sand. All the officers and crew saved themselves on rafts,
+but were made prisoners by the Dutch. The officers were afterwards
+liberated on their parole by the Dutch Admiral Kikkert.
+
+William Gould, Esq., appointed Lieutenant-Colonel of the 6th (Yarmouth)
+Norfolk Volunteer Infantry.
+
+Night signals established along the coast, and special constables sworn
+in at Yarmouth.
+
+Yarmouth Volunteer Infantry embodied for 14 days’ garrison duty.
+
+The Rows first numbered; they formerly bore the names of houses in or
+near them, or persons living near them.
+
+The public mind was much excited by a possible French Invasion, under
+Napoleon, and many Volunteer and Militia Regiments of Norfolk and Suffolk
+did garrison duty here.
+
+The Gorleston Volunteers had a field day, when the manœuvres were done in
+a masterly style, under Captain J. B. Bell. They afterwards dined at the
+“Feathers” Inn.
+
+Hay was sold at £4 10s. per ton.
+
+The winter was a very severe one, more intense than in 1740. Coals were
+2s. a chaldron.
+
+Capt. Dickens, of the Shropshire Militia, walked from the “Angel” Inn, at
+Yarmouth, to the “Angel” Inn, at Norwich, and back again (47 miles) in
+11½ hours, for a wager.
+
+A very large sale of 50 prize ships was advertised to take place at
+Yarmouth on the 25th. These were principally Dutch vessels used as
+privateers and fishing vessels, and the description of them took about
+one column of space. No auctioneer was named, but catalogues were to be
+had of Mr. A. H. Steward, of Great Yarmouth.
+
+Mr. Aldred, of Yarmouth, met with a serious loss by being robbed in Long
+Lane, Smithfield, of notes, bills, and jewellery, to the amount of
+£2,000. He was seized from behind a chaise by a daring street robber,
+who eluded the vigilance of the police.
+
+
+
+1805.
+
+
+April 27th. Two gun-brigs, 14 guns each, built in Mr. J. Preston’s yard,
+launched.
+
+May 9th. One of the sharpest presses ever remembered in Yarmouth took
+place. No fewer than 300 persons of the town were impressed, of whom
+only about 50 were ultimately detained. (See 1802.)
+
+Nov. 7th. Intelligence received of the glorious victory over the
+combined fleets of France and Spain, off Cape Trafalgar, on the 21st of
+October, though purchased by the ever-to-be-lamented death of
+Vice-Admiral Lord Viscount Nelson, who was born at Burnham Thorpe,
+Norfolk, September 29th, 1758. Congratulatory addresses were voted to
+his Majesty by Yarmouth; _feu de joie_ fired by the military and
+volunteers.
+
+Several regiments of Volunteers did garrison duty in the town till
+relieved by the Shropshire Militia.
+
+
+
+1806.
+
+
+April 19th. The frigate, “Boreas,” 28 guns, launched from Messrs. Stone
+and Constance’s yard; the sloop, “Ariel,” 18 guns, from Mr. N. Palmer’s
+yard.
+
+June 9th. Vice-Admiral Russell, accompanied by several officers of the
+North Sea Fleet who were stationed at Yarmouth, visited Norwich.
+
+July 26th. French frigate “La Guerrière,” brought into the Roadstead by
+the frigate “Blanche.” The former was captured on the 18th, after a
+desperate action of 45 minutes; she had taken eight Greenlandmen and one
+Yarmouth vessel, all of which she destroyed.
+
+Aug. 14th. Frigate “Comus,” launched from Messrs. Constance and Co.’s
+yard.
+
+Nov. 4th. Hon. E. Harbord (second son of Lord Suffield) and Stephen
+Lushington, Esq., returned to Parliament, but on June 25th, 1808, Dr.
+Lushington vacated his seat in favour of Giffin Wilson, Esq.
+
+An Act of Parliament passed for repairing the Parish Church of Great
+Yarmouth and rebuilding the tower belonging to it. (See 1803.)
+
+Southtown Armoury built by Wyatt, at a cost of £15,000. During the war
+10,000 stand of arms were arranged in it, after the disposition observed
+in the Tower of London. After the war the arms were removed to the
+Tower.
+
+The gun-brig, “Fancy,” built in Mr. J. Preston’s yard.
+
+
+
+1807.
+
+
+Feb. 17th. Gun-brig “Snipe,” with 30 French prisoners on board, wrecked
+on the Beach. Many of them were drowned, together with part of her crew
+and some women, in all upwards of 60. There were several other wrecks,
+for the wind blew a hurricane, and a drifting snow rendered the highways
+for a time impassable.
+
+Feb. 18th. Capt. G. W. Manby, barrack-master at Yarmouth, first
+succeeded in projecting a line over a stranded vessel; and on Feb. 12th,
+1808, seven lives were saved from a vessel 150 yards from the Beach.
+Parliament rewarded him at different times with grants amounting to
+£6,000. He was born at Hilgay, Norfolk. Captain Manby, at the age of 88
+years, had the satisfaction of knowing that he had been instrumental in
+saving upwards of 1,000 lives in various parts of the world by his
+invention. The two ingenious painters (the Joys), brothers and sons of a
+mail-guard, owed much of their fame to the patronage and assistance
+afforded them in their youth by Captain Manby.
+
+May 9th. Hon. E. Harbord and S. Lushington, Esq., returned to
+Parliament. Votes—H., 627; L., 604; William Jacob, 341; A. Upcher, 21.
+
+July 3rd. Mrs. Cooper, relict of the Rev. D. Cooper, of Yarmouth, died.
+This lady, with an ardent desire to inculcate Christian morality, penned
+several publications, viz., “Fanny Meadows,” “The Daughter,” “The School
+for Wives,” and “Exemplary Mother.”
+
+July 26th. The fleet, under Lord Gambier and Vice-Admiral Stanhope (69
+pennants in all), sailed from Yarmouth Roads. Sir W. Sidney Smith sailed
+in Gambier’s flag-ship, “Prince of Wales,” 98 guns. Soon afterwards was
+fought the second battle of Copenhagen (Sept. 7th). Most of their prizes
+were brought to Yarmouth—64 vessels mounting 1,994 guns.
+
+Aug. 14th. E. H. K. Lacon born. He was educated at Cambridge, and
+created a baronet in 1820 on the death of his father.
+
+Sept. 7th. Norwich Volunteer Infantry marched to Yarmouth for garrison
+duty.
+
+Oct. 29th. Several transports lost off Yarmouth and Lowestoft.
+
+Nov. 14th. Privateer “Le Décide” brought into this port by the frigate
+“L’Amiable.” She had made no less than 30 prizes.
+
+Nov. 2nd. Louis XVIII. (under the title of Count de Lille) landed at
+Yarmouth from a Swedish frigate. The Dukes d’Angouleme and De Berri, and
+several French noblemen, came with him. This was the first time since
+the memorable battle of Poictiers, in 1356, that a King of France had
+been in England.
+
+Dec. A Telegraph erected upon the hill at Thorpe communicating with
+Yarmouth. An order from the Admiralty Office in London was received at
+Yarmouth in seventeen minutes.
+
+North Gate removed to widen the roadway. It was flanked with square
+towers of curious workmanship.
+
+One hundred and forty-four dead bodies washed ashore in this vicinity
+after a heavy gale.
+
+A new peal of ten bells put in the tower of St. Nicholas’ Church, and
+first rung out on May 2nd, 1808. Cost £1,161 8s. 4d. The spire of the
+Church was also rebuilt the same year.
+
+
+
+1808.
+
+
+Jan. 10th. Lord Hutchinson and Lord Gower landed here from the
+“Bellette” sloop-of-war, from St. Petersburgh.
+
+March 30th. Silver eel, 6 ft. long and 21 in. in girth, and weighing
+42lbs., caught a mile below Yarmouth bridge in the harbour.
+
+May 10th. Expedition, consisting of 105 transports, under Admiral Keats,
+left the Roadstead for the Baltic and the protection of Sweden. Sir John
+Moore commanded the troops. He sailed in the “Mars,” and Major-Generals
+Paget and Murray in the “Audacious.”
+
+Aug. 20th. First pile of the present Jetty driven, and finished building
+and opened to the public Jan. 13th, 1809, at a cost of £5,000; 450 ft.
+long, and platform 21 ft. wide. Extended 60 ft. in 1846 at a cost of
+about £900, and again 60 ft. in 1870 at a further cost of £859 10s.
+Constructed on the site of one built in 1560.
+
+Charles Townshend, Lord Bayning, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Shropshire and Cambridgeshire Militia left the town.
+
+
+
+1809.
+
+
+Jan. 28th. Owing to a rapid thaw and the inundation of the meadows the
+barges proceeding from Norwich to Yarmouth were obliged to return,
+because the men were unable to find the channel of the river.
+
+Oct. 25th. Fiftieth anniversary of George III.’s reign celebrated in
+Yarmouth as a jubilee.
+
+One thousand four hundred and sixty-four pounds of fresh salmon from
+Scotland landed in one day, and sold in Yarmouth market owing to the
+embargo on all shipping.
+
+A very productive herring fishery.
+
+
+
+1810.
+
+
+May 10th. Vice-Admiral Sir J. Saumarez’s fleet left the Roadstead for
+the Baltic; also the “Victory” (100 guns) and seven other sail of the
+line.
+
+May 20th. The Eight Hon. Charles, Lord Bayning, of Honingham Hall, a
+Privy Councillor and High Steward of Yarmouth, died in London, aged 81
+years.
+
+Aug. Yarmouth Annual Races first established by the Officers of the
+Berkshire Militia.
+
+Berkshire Militia left the town.
+
+Mrs. Hunter died, aged 102.
+
+By the Paving Act, provision was made against placing materials on the
+Quays or other public places for a longer time than was necessary for
+removing and housing the same.
+
+Nov. 2nd. The Beach from Yarmouth to Wells covered with wrecks and dead
+bodies after a heavy gale. Another gale and high tide on the 10th, and
+many vessels and lives lost.
+
+Nov. 14th. Gustavus Adolphus IV., ex-King of Sweden, who had abdicated
+his throne, landed on the Beach from the sloop “Tartar.” He assumed the
+title of Count Guttorp, and afterwards proceeded to London.
+
+
+
+1811.
+
+
+March 28th. Count Guttorp sailed from Yarmouth on his return to the
+Continent.
+
+Vice-Admiral Murray appointed to the Naval command of Yarmouth. In 1815
+Admiral Drake was appointed Port-Admiral of Yarmouth, the last who held
+the appointment.
+
+Census taken. Population of Yarmouth, 17,977; with Gorleston and
+Southtown, 19,691.
+
+The Royal Hospital or Asylum built by Government at a cost of £120,000.
+Foundation-stone laid by Admiral Billy Douglas in 1809. (See 1815.) The
+building was erected by Mr. Peto (father of Sir S. Morton Peto), from
+designs by H. Parkington, Esq., for a naval Hospital. The 11 acres of
+ground to the east cost the Government £11,000 in 1875.
+
+
+
+1812.
+
+
+March 13th. The South Gate sold for £26 to Jonathan Poppy.
+
+July 27th. General Viscount Cathcart’s embassy to the Court of Russia
+left the Roadstead in the frigate “Aquilon.” Lord Walpole, secretary of
+Legation to Lord Cathcart, sailed in the “Calipso” to the headquarters of
+the Russian army.
+
+Oct. 6th. Edmund Knowles Lacon and William Loftus, Esqs., returned to
+Parliament. Votes—Lacon, 607; Loftus, 387; G. Wilson, 329.
+
+Oct. 26th. Tremendous gale, and eight vessels driven ashore in the
+vicinity.
+
+A. Royals died, aged 103.
+
+
+
+1813.
+
+
+Feb. A high wind blew down and completely demolished the Conventual
+Church at Gorleston, dedicated to St. Nicholas.
+
+Feb. 18th. Gorleston steeple (about 100 ft. high), which stood near the
+Haven’s mouth as an immemorial sea-mark, was blown down in a gale.
+
+March 24th. Volunteer Corps of Infantry disbanded, and deposited their
+arms in store on the establishment of the local Militia.
+
+April 15th. Prince of Orange landed at the Jetty.
+
+April 29th. H.R.H. the Duke of Cumberland arrived at Yarmouth, and
+embarked on board the frigate “Nymphen” for the Continent.
+
+July 4th. News of Wellington’s victory over the French at Vittoria in
+Spain received here with great rejoicings.
+
+Aug. 10th. First steam barge proceeded from Yarmouth to Norwich at the
+rate of five miles per hour.
+
+Sept. 29th. Regent Street formed and opened at a cost of £30,000.
+Before the opening of this street there was no roadway between King
+Street and the Quay, except Fuller’s Hill and Friar’s Lane, the latter of
+which was widened in 1866.
+
+Nov. 14th. Great rejoicing at Yarmouth on the splendid victories gained
+over the French in Spain and Germany.
+
+The Lancasterian or British School erected; enlarged in 1861.
+
+William III. landed at the Jetty.
+
+North Mayo Militia left the town, and the Wexford Militia the following
+year.
+
+Sept. 3rd. John Hannah (70) tried at the Yarmouth Sessions for the
+murder of Elizabeth, his wife, he being the last man executed in the town
+for murder. A bill issued, with the imprint of Clark, Broad Row,
+Yarmouth, read as follows: “Monday Morning, Sept. 6th, at about 11
+o’clock. Everything being ready, the prisoner, attended by the gaoler
+and a number of constables, with a great concourse of spectators, moved
+from the Gaol at 11.15. They went at a slow pace, and at the entrance of
+Regent Street were joined by the Mayor and other Borough Officers. It
+was past 12 o’clock when the prisoner arrived at the place of execution;
+on his way thither he was perfectly composed, turning from one side to
+the other, viewing the populace. After ascending the scaffold, he spent
+some time in prayer, and when the hangman had placed the rope round his
+neck, he was asked if he had anything farther to say. He then confessed
+as follows: ‘That he was the murderer of his wife by strangling her with
+his hands, and not with a rope, as had been stated; he said they had
+lived a very uncomfortable life for many years past, owing to his wife
+giving her company to other men, which was the cause of his committing
+the murder.’ The instant before being turned off, he particularly
+requested to see his daughter, when he was informed it was not possible,
+as she was confined in Bedlam; he also desired the gaoler to look under
+the step of the cell, and he would there find four shillings and
+sixpence. A signal was then given, and the unhappy man was immediately
+launched into eternity. The body, after hanging the usual time, was
+delivered to the surgeons for dissection. The gaoler, on his return,
+found the money as described in the cell.”
+
+
+
+1814.
+
+
+July 6th. Peace proclaimed at Yarmouth; Mayor and Corporation went in
+procession, and at night the town was illuminated.
+
+The Duke of Clarence (afterwards King William IV.), accompanied by his
+Duchess (Queen Adelaide), landed at Yarmouth, and stayed one night at the
+“Angel Hotel.”
+
+March 11th. Henry Joddrell, Esq., Bayfield Hall, many years Recorder and
+Representative of Yarmouth, Chairman of the Norfolk Quarter Sessions,
+died in London.
+
+April 21st. Restoration of Louis XVIII. to the throne of France. The
+inhabitants of Yarmouth subscribed £1,106 8s. 6d., for providing a grand
+dinner to all the inhabitants who chose to partake of it. Fifty-eight
+tables were spread in the open air along the Hall and South Quays, at
+which 8,028 persons were seated, and made an excellent dinner of roast
+beef and plum-pudding. A man personating Neptune in a car attended by
+Tritons and other deities paraded the town, headed by a band of music.
+In the evening a large bonfire was made on the North Denes, in which the
+effigy of Napoleon was consumed amidst much rejoicing, and in the
+presence of nearly 30,000 persons.
+
+July 14th. First division of West Norfolk Militia landed at Yarmouth
+from Edinburgh, and marched to Norwich, and joined their Colonel, the
+Earl of Orford.
+
+Aug. 11th. The Hon. John Wodehouse proposed, and T. W. Coke, Esq.,
+seconded, resolutions recommending that a subscription should be opened
+for erecting a monument at Yarmouth to the memory of the late Lord
+Nelson. Lord and Lady Wodehouse, the Hon. Colonel Wodehouse, and Mr. and
+Miss Coke headed the list with £700. The Corporation of Norwich
+subscribed £200. (See Aug. 15th, 1817.)
+
+
+
+1815.
+
+
+Jan. 24th. A sea-eagle shot at Rollesby, which measured from tip to tip
+of its wings 7 ft. 6 in.
+
+May 10th. Sharp press for seamen at Yarmouth.
+
+John Thomas Townshend, Viscount Sydney, High Steward of the Borough. He
+died in 1831.
+
+Six hundred wounded men from Waterloo lodged in the Naval Hospital. (See
+1811.)
+
+March 29th. The Nelson Monument Committee at Thetford, after inspecting
+44 beautiful plans and designs, selected an Athenian Doric Column, sent
+by William Wilkins, Esq., architect, of London, a native of Norwich, and
+author of “Magna Græcia.” Nearly £7,000 was subscribed.
+
+
+
+1816.
+
+
+Feb. 16th. Very high tide, the sea and river meeting over the South
+Denes. A similar event had not occurred since Feb. 3rd, 1791.
+
+Feb. 19th. Corporation petitioned Parliament for a continuance of the
+Property Tax.
+
+Feb. 26th. Mr. Incledon, Master Taylor, and Mr. Collyer appeared at the
+Theatre Royal, in _The Minstrel_; _or_, _a Tour Through England and
+Ireland_. Prices—4s., 3s., 2s. 6d., and 1s.
+
+Nov. 2nd. Thomas Penrice, Esq., of Yarmouth, to whom the late Lord
+Chedworth, of Ipswich, left the bulk of his immense property, died at
+Narford Hall, the seat of A. Fountaine, Esq., his son-in-law. (See Oct.
+28th, 1804.)
+
+
+
+1817.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. £1,000 subscribed at Yarmouth to relieve and employ the
+labouring poor; 460 men were employed to form roads to the Bath House,
+Jetty, &c.
+
+Feb. 4th. The Corporation voted a loyal address to the Prince Regent,
+expressive of their abhorrence of the attack made upon his Royal person
+on his return from opening Parliament on the 28th ult. Presented at the
+levée by Isaac Preston, Esq. (Mayor), accompanied by the High Steward and
+the Members for the Borough.
+
+Feb. 13th. The new silver coinage of crowns, half-crowns, shillings, and
+sixpences exchanged for the old at the Town Hall.
+
+Between 7,000 and 8,000 lasts of Herrings taken by 193 boats.
+
+An Act passed to continue two former Acts for widening and amending the
+road from Yarmouth Bridge to Gorleston.
+
+April 4th, Good Friday morning. Explosion on board the Norwich and
+Yarmouth steamer—ten persons killed and five injured—just as she was
+leaving the Foundry Bridge, Norwich. She had 22 men, women, and children
+on board. £350 raised for relief. These steamboats were first employed
+on Aug. 10th, 1813.
+
+June 5th. The celebrated Mr. Betty performed at the Theatre in the _Iron
+Chest_, as “Sir Edward Mortimer;” and as “Frislam Fickle,” in _The
+Weather Cock_.
+
+June 11th. Mr. Matthews appeared at the Theatre as “Goldfinch,” in the
+_Road to Ruin_; and as “Somno,” in the _Sleep Walker_. On 12th, as “Sir
+David Dundee,” in _Ways and Means_, “Chip,” in _A Chip of the Old Block_,
+and “Buskin,” in _Killing no Murder_. On the 16th, as “Rover,” in _Wild
+Oats_; and in the _Adventures of a Mail Coach_.
+
+June 23rd. Munden appeared at the Theatre as “Sir Abel Handy,” in _Speed
+the Plough_, and as “Crack,” in the _Turnpike Gate_. On the 25th, as
+“Old Rapid,” in a _Cure for the Heartache_, and as “Dozey,” in _Past Ten
+o’clock_. On the 26th, as “Sir Anthony Absolute,” in the _Rivals_, and
+as “Sam Dabbs,” in _Who’s Who?_ On the 28th, as “Bonus,” in _Laugh When
+You Can_, as “Nipperkin,” in the _Rival Soldier_, and “Lazarillo,” in
+_Two Strings to Your Bow_.
+
+Aug. 15th. First stone of Nelson Monument laid by Col. Wodehouse. The
+column is 144 ft. high, ascended by a flight of 217 steps. The architect
+was Mr. Wm. Wilkin, R.A., a Norfolk man. There was a grand civic,
+military, and masonic procession from the Town Hall. After the ceremony,
+the Mayor, (Isaac Preston, Esq.) gave a dinner to the company; and in the
+evening he gave a grand ball to 350 of the _élite_, at the Town Hall.
+
+The Rev. Fisher Watson, M.A., elected minister of St. George’s Chapel, on
+the death of the Rev. S. L. Cooper in June. On Aug. 9th, 1821, the Rev.
+John Homfray, and April 16th, 1833, the Rev. Mark Waters, were appointed
+at salaries of £100 per annum.
+
+Aug. 20th. The great Edward Kean appeared at Theatre Royal in _Richard
+the Third_, when nothing but full prices were taken—Lower Boxes, 5s.;
+Green, 4s.; Pit, 3s.; Gallery, 1s.—and part of the Pit taken into the
+Boxes, and part of the Gallery railed off for the use of the Pit. Free
+list suspended during the engagement. On the 21st, Mr. Kean took the
+character of “Sir Giles Overreach,” in _New Way to Pay Old Debts_. On
+the 22nd, in _Othello_. On Sept. 5th, “Shylock,” in the _Merchant of
+Venice_. On Sept. 6th (Mr. Kean’s benefit) he appeared as “Octavia,” in
+the _Mountaineers_, and as “Paul,” in _Paul and Virginia_.
+
+Nov. 19th. The remains of Princess Charlotte interred at Windsor. The
+bells tolled, the shops closed all the day, and the day solemnly
+observed.
+
+Dec. 3rd. The Corporation voted addresses of condolence to the Prince
+Regent and Prince Leopold of Saxe-Cobourg on the death of Princess
+Charlotte.
+
+Dec. 31st. At the Concert Room, Mr. Matthews, the celebrated Irish
+comedian, appeared in the entertainment of the _Union_, of the English,
+Irish, and Scotch characters.
+
+
+
+1818.
+
+
+Jan. 19th. £6,000 subscribed for aiding a plan to extend the navigation
+of the River Waveney from Bungay to Diss by the inhabitants of Yarmouth
+at a meeting at the New Hall.
+
+March 4th. Several ships driven ashore in a heavy gale from the
+south-east.
+
+June 1st. Miss Bryne sustained the part of “Adela,” at the Theatre
+Royal, in the _Haunted Tower_. On the 2nd, in _Love in a Village_ as
+“Rosella,” and in _No Song No Supper_ the part of “Margaretta.” On the
+4th, “Rosina,” in _Rosina_, and “Leonora,” in the _Padlock_. On the 6th,
+“Lilla,” in _Siege of Belgrade_, and “Virginia,” in _Paul and Virginia_.
+
+June 8th. Mr. Bartley appeared at the Theatre Royal as “Sir John
+Falstaff,” in _Henry IV._ On the 9th, as “Solas,” in _Every One has His
+Fault_, and “Michael,” in the _Adopted Child_. On the 11th, “Sir John
+Falstaff,” in the _Merry Wives of Windsor_. On the 13th, as “Governor
+Heartall,” in the _Soldier’s Daughter_.
+
+June 19th. Hon. T. W. Anson and C. E. Rumbold, Esq., returned to
+Parliament. It was a three days’ poll, and one of the severest contests
+ever known in the Borough. Anson polled 780; Rumbold, 760; E. K. Lacon,
+Esq., 651; General Loftus, 612.
+
+Aug. 3rd. At the Theatre Royal, Mr. Blanchard, of Covent Garden,
+appeared in the _Soldier’s Daughter_, as “Governor Heartall,” and
+“Crack,” in _Turnpike Gate_. On the 5th, as “Dr. Ollapod,” in the _Poor
+Gentleman_; and “Abnego,” in the _Jew and Doctor_. On the 6th, as “Tobby
+Allspice,” in _The Way to get Married_, and “Caleb Quotem,” in the _Wags
+of Windsor_. On the 8th, “Dr. Panglos,” in the _Heir at Law_, and
+“Davy,” in _Bon Ton_.
+
+Sept. 4th. Miss O’Neil appeared at the Theatre as “Belvidere,” in
+_Venice Preserved_. On the 5th, as “Juliet,” in _Romeo and Juliet_. On
+the 7th, as “Mrs. Haller.”
+
+Sept. 30th. Lord Viscount Anson died in London, aged 57; and the
+newly-elected Member of Parliament succeeded to the title.
+
+Oct. 3rd. Sir Edmund Lacon, Knt., of Great Yarmouth; Thomas Hare, Esq.,
+of Stow Hall; and Edward Stracey, Esq., of Rackheath Hall, created
+Baronets.
+
+Dec. 2nd. The day of interment of her late Majesty Queen Charlotte at
+Windsor, observed with great solemnity. Addresses of condolence to the
+Prince Regent on the death of her late Majesty were voted by the
+Corporation of Yarmouth on the 7th.
+
+John Bennie, Esq., engineer to the Haven Commissioners, drew up a report
+for improving the Bar and Haven. On 4th of Oct., 1821, he died in
+London, aged 64.
+
+The Yarmouth Savings Bank established. The deposits in 1843 amounted to
+£80,246 19s. 7d., belonging to 2,550 depositors and 67 charities and
+friendly societies.
+
+Nearly 100 vessels building at one time in our shipyards.
+
+The gun-brig “Havoc” built in Mr. Stone’s yard.
+
+Borough Gaol enlarged and House of Correction added; it was strengthened
+in 1835. The original built 609 years previously.
+
+
+
+1819.
+
+
+Feb. 15th. The Hon. George Anson unanimously elected Member of
+Parliament for the Borough (there being no other candidate), in the room
+of his brother, Lord Viscount Anson.
+
+April. Velocipedes or Pedestrian Hobby-horses used this year. A person
+could walk from eight to ten miles an hour on them. Like the
+Kaleidoscope, they proved only “a nine-days’ wonder,” till 1872, when
+velocipedes again came into general use.
+
+June 1st. Mr. Thomas Sutton (as surveyor) died on the top of the Nelson
+Monument, while giving directions. Aged 66 years.
+
+June 14th. Mr. Edmund Kean again appeared at the Theatre as “Brutus,” in
+_Brutus_; and on the 15th as “Mortimer,” in the _Iron Chest_.
+
+July 18th. Mr. N. B. Palmer presented with a piece of plate (an
+épergne), value 100 guineas, for his exertions in the election and firm
+support of his principles, which seated the Hon. G. Anson and C. E.
+Rumbold, Esq., as Members for the Borough.
+
+Sept. 6th to 9th. The celebrated Young appeared at the Theatre in
+_Hamlet_, _Revenge_, _Macbeth_, _King Lear_.
+
+Duty on coals, 6s. 6d. per chaldron.
+
+Paxton’s “Picture of Great Yarmouth” published, illustrated with
+engravings of public buildings.
+
+
+
+1820.
+
+
+Jan. 29th. Death of George III., in the 82nd year of his age and 60th of
+his reign. On Feb. 1st George IV. was proclaimed at Yarmouth with much
+ceremony and rejoicing.
+
+Feb. 28th. Parliament dissolved; and on the 10th of March, after four
+days’ sharp contest, the Hon. George Anson and C. E. Rumbold Esq., were
+returned to Parliament for the Borough. The Hon. G. Anson polled 754; C.
+E. Rumbold, Esq., 752; Lieut.-General John Michell, 612; and J. H.
+Stracey, Esq., 612 votes.
+
+March 1st. A number of vessels stranded along the Beach. A high flood
+and tremendous storm, the like not known since Jan. 1st, 1779. On Nov.
+4th there was another great gale.
+
+April 19th. Frigate “Boreas,” 28 guns, launched from Messrs. Stone and
+Constance’s yard.
+
+July 19th. Coronation day of George IV. at Westminster Abbey, which
+auspicious event was celebrated at Yarmouth by a public dinner at the
+Town Hall; bonfires, bullock roasting, fireworks, and other rejoicings
+also marked the occasion.
+
+Aug. 15th. A grand Musical Festival at the Town Hall. The next morning,
+selections from the _Messiah_ were performed at St. Nicholas’ Church; on
+Wednesday at the Town Hall; and again on the Thursday following the
+entire first part of the _Creation_ was executed at the Church, with two
+miscellaneous acts selected from the _Requiem_, _Mount of Olives_, _Judas
+Maccabeus_, _Israel in Egypt_, and other esteemed compositions. The
+Church presented a very brilliant appearance, from the number of lamps
+and candles with which the orchestra (expressly built for the occasion)
+and the other parts of the edifice were dedicated. Among the eminent
+professors who aided in the festival was Lindley, the celebrated
+violoncello performer; Mr. Eager, and his principal second Mr. Cooper,
+conducted the instrumental band, and Mr. Buck presided at the organ.
+
+Aug. 20th. Mrs. Bartley recited _Collins’ Ode to the Passions_, at the
+Theatre Royal.
+
+Sept. 6th. Mrs. Davidson appeared at the Theatre Royal in the _Jealous
+Wife_, as “Mrs. Oakley.” On the 7th, in _The Belle’s Stratagem_, as
+“Letitia Hardy.” On the 9th, in _The School for Scandal_, as “Lady
+Teazle.” On the 11th, in _Know Your Own Mind_, as “Lady Bell.”
+
+Nov. 3rd. Sir Edmund Lacon, Bart., died at Yarmouth, universally
+regretted, aged 69 years. He was the senior Alderman of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1821.
+
+
+Feb. 28th. An unusual supply of herrings caught off Yarmouth; and sold
+in the town twelve for one penny.
+
+March 13th. Petition presented by E. Wodehouse, Esq., to the House of
+Commons from the owners and occupiers of land in the vicinity of
+Yarmouth, praying for a repeal of the Malt-tax, and a modified tax on
+property.
+
+April 10th. A committee appointed and subscription entered into for
+forming a fund for rewarding boatmen who might save persons from
+shipwreck.
+
+Nov. 4th. Tremendous gale—a great number of vessels foundered in the
+Roadstead, and also many came ashore near Yarmouth. It was just such
+another gale as was recorded Nov. 1st, 1789.
+
+Dec. 23rd. A fine new East Indiaman, the “Indian,” 400 tons, totally
+wrecked off Yarmouth. The crew of twenty were saved, and a small part of
+the stores. The value of ship and cargo estimated at £10,000.
+
+Dec. 25th. Season unusually mild; the thermometer stood at 50, and so
+continued throughout the following winter months. Many remarkable
+specimens of early vegetation; and swallows were seen flying about at
+Yarmouth. Since the 1st of Sept. there had been but eighteen days
+without rain.
+
+There were 1,229 men, women, and children receiving out-door parish
+relief; and the income of the parish was £10,770. The income in 1875 was
+about £15,000 a year.
+
+Census taken. Population of Yarmouth, 18,040; with Gorleston and
+Southtown, 19,968. Houses inhabited, 3,981; inhabited by families,
+4,318; uninhabited, 157; building, 20—total, 8,476.
+
+
+
+1822.
+
+
+Jan. 31st. George IV. arrived, and anchored his vessel in the Roads.
+
+July 29th. Samuel Tolver, Esq., elected Town Clerk. He was succeeded by
+Henry Palmer, Esq., on June 6th, 1848; John Clowes, Esq., on Nov. 26th,
+1850; and Chas. Cory, Esq., on Nov. 9th, 1851. (See June 9th, 1869.)
+
+Oct. 14th. The Revenue cutter “Ranger” lost at sea.
+
+Oct. 21st and 22nd. Miscellaneous concert, under the direction of Mr.
+Sippe, given at the Theatre. Leader, Mr. Eager. The principals were
+Mrs. Salmon and the Misses Sapis and Beale.
+
+Exported from the Port of Yarmouth—flour 105,377 sacks; barley, malt,
+oats, beans, pease, rye, and wheat, 298,147 quarters.
+
+J. Matchett, of Lakenham, published “The Norfolk and Norwich Remembrancer
+and Vade Mecum.”
+
+
+
+1823.
+
+
+March 3rd. Samuel Hurst, Esq., died at Southtown.
+
+Exported from the Port of Yarmouth—flour 126,768 sacks; barley, malt,
+oats, beans, pease, rye, and wheat, 264,546 quarters.
+
+Grout and Co.’s Silk Crape Factory erected.
+
+Admiralty Sessions for trial of Pirates last held in Yarmouth.
+
+Porpoise found on the Beach—7 ft. long, and weighing 4 cwt.
+
+Masonic Hall erected in Gaol Paved Row.
+
+James Sayer, son of a Yarmouth block-maker, a celebrated caricaturist,
+and author of many satirical poems suitable to the political topics of
+the times, died in London.
+
+
+
+1824.
+
+
+Exported from the Port of Yarmouth—flour 148,252 sacks; barley, malt,
+oats, beans, pease, rye, and wheat, 326,789 quarters.
+
+Gas Works constructed; enlarged in 1862 and 1864, and new additional
+works afterwards erected. About five miles of the main iron pipe were
+laid in the streets, and on Dec. 6th the street lamps, 150 in number,
+were first lighted.
+
+Five beachmen drowned in rescuing a crew.
+
+Luke Waller died, aged 105 years.
+
+The number of vessels of all classes registered at the Custom House
+amounted to 549.
+
+
+
+1825.
+
+
+Sept. 3rd. Miss Cranmer appeared at the Theatre Royal in _Don Giovanni_;
+and “Adela,” in the _Haunted Tower_.
+
+Sept. 8th. Mr. Chippendale played “Useph,” in _The Siege of Belgrade_;
+and “Chip,” in a _Chip of the Old Block_, at the Theatre Royal.
+
+Oct. 11th. The Catholic Chapel, in George Street (the first built in the
+town), finished, and consecrated by the Rev. Joseph Tate.
+
+The mackerel brought to Yarmouth realized £17,000.
+
+River overflowed the Quays and entered the houses and stores, doing much
+damage.
+
+
+
+1826.
+
+
+M. A. Jefferies threw himself from the bridge.
+
+May 15th. Lord Anson and C. E. Rumbold, Esq., presented with the freedom
+of the town, and returned to Parliament June 9th. Votes—R., 649; A.,
+645; Sir E. K. Lacon, 250; Lord Suffield, 250.
+
+May 25th. The old Crane on South Quay blown down during a heavy gale of
+wind, and a new one erected at a cost of about £1,400.
+
+Mariners’ Chapel built by George Palmer, Esq., service having previously
+been held in a vessel named the “Ark,” which fell into decay and so
+became useless.
+
+“Historical and Topographical Notices of Great Yarmouth and its
+Environs,” by John Henry Druery, published. The work was dedicated to
+the Right Hon. George William, Lord Stafford, Baron Stafford and Baronet,
+of Costessey Park, Norfolk.
+
+
+
+1827.
+
+
+Feb. 6th. Mary Welch died, aged 73 years, leaving 102 children and
+grandchildren.
+
+Vaughan and Murphey, two noted resurrectionists, stole several bodies
+from St. Nicholas’ churchyard, and caused great excitement in the town.
+The railings on the west side were subsequently erected in consequence.
+
+
+
+1828.
+
+
+Mr. David Service, the Yarmouth poet, died.
+
+
+
+1829.
+
+
+May 29th. The bells rang out a merry peal on the opening day of the
+Suspension Bridge. This structure, on the North Quay, was made chiefly
+of iron, and thrown across the river Bure by Robert Cory, Esq., under the
+powers of an Act of Parliament passed in the year 1827. It cost about
+£4,000.
+
+
+
+1830.
+
+
+Feb. 8th. Intense frost; river frozen as far down as the Public Library.
+
+July 31st. Hon. Colonel G. Anson and C. E. Rumbold, Esq., returned to
+Parliament. Votes—A., 946; R., 945; H. Preston, 751; T. E. Campbell,
+754.
+
+
+
+1831.
+
+
+Launches: March 8th, schooner “Sea Witch;” March 15th, brig “Ocean,” from
+Mr. Palmer’s yard; Aug. 1st, brig “Earl Grey,” from Mr. Teasdel’s yard.
+
+March 15th. Marriage at Stokesby Church of Samuel Taylor, only son of
+Wm. Huke, of Yarmouth, with Charlotte Crowe Norton, of Stokesby.
+
+May 2nd. Hon. G. Anson and C. E. Rumbold, Esq., again returned to
+Parliament.
+
+July 7th. First stone of St. Peter’s Church laid, and finished building
+and consecrated Aug. 26th, 1838. Cost £12,000.
+
+Sept. 12th. Mr. Power, of Covent Garden, appeared at the Theatre Royal,
+as “Colonel O’Dillon,” in _The Married Lover_.
+
+Census taken. Population of Yarmouth 21,115; with Gorleston and
+Southtown, 28,231.
+
+St. Mary’s Church, Southtown, erected. Site presented by the Earl of
+Lichfield; cost, raised by subscription, about £3,000.
+
+
+
+1832.
+
+
+April 3rd. The Hon. and Rev. E. Pellew appointed Chaplain of St.
+Nicholas’ Church, at £40 per annum.
+
+April 17th. Mr. Wm. Hazard died, aged 72 years.
+
+May 27th. Messrs. Grout and Co.’s Silk Crape Factory burnt down.
+Present one erected in the same place. A Hospital originally stood here.
+(See 1828.)
+
+Oct. 11th. Russian Horn Band Concert at the Town Hall.
+
+Dec. 11th. The Hon. G. Anson and C. E. Rumbold, Esq., returned to
+Parliament, after the passing of the Reform Bill.
+
+Edw. Pellew, Admiral Viscount Exmouth, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+District Visiting Society established, and failed for want of support;
+but another attempt was made to re-establish it April 10th, 1861.
+
+Yarmouth Glee Society gave their first concert.
+
+
+
+1832 to 1835.
+
+
+By Municipal Reform Act the rest of Gorleston parish added to Yarmouth
+Borough.
+
+
+
+1833.
+
+
+Launches: Jan. 18th, schooner “Cornelia” from Mr. Holmes’ yard; May 6th,
+brig “Hudson” from Mr. Preston’s yard; July 12th, schooner “Abeona” from
+Messrs. Fellows’ yard; July 21st, brig “Margaret” from Messrs. Fellows’
+yard; same year the barque “Harmony;” Dec. 10th, schooner “Fairy Queen,”
+and Dec. 12th, brig “Pioneer” from Mr. Lubbock’s yard.
+
+Bishop of Norwich inspected the plate at St. Nicholas’ Church and St.
+George’s Chapel.
+
+Horatio Walpole, Earl of Orford, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+
+
+1834.
+
+
+Jan. 15th. Divine Service performed in the Chancel of St. Nicholas’
+Church for the first time.
+
+Jan. 24th. Brig “Pioneer,” of Yarmouth, stranded near the Dungeness
+Light.
+
+May 12th. Proprietary Grammar School at Southtown opened. It was
+demolished in July, 1858, to make room for the Goods Station of the East
+Suffolk Railway. The school cost £1,500.
+
+June 16th. Yarmouth and Southtown Ferry opened.
+
+Aug. 1st. First Annual Marine Regatta held.
+
+The Fort removed.
+
+Launches: May 18th, brig “Alexander,” from Mr. Preston’s yard; June 21st,
+schooner “Racer,” and Sept. 11th, schooner “Maria,” from Mr. Lubbock’s
+yard; Sept. 17th, brig “Vivid,” and Oct. 16th, schooner “Nora Creina,”
+from Messrs. Fellows’ yard.
+
+An inquiry opened at the Tolhouse Hall, before J. H. Hogg and J. Buckle,
+Esqs., two of her Majesty’s Commissioners, respecting the state of the
+Yarmouth Corporation. After nineteen days’ inquiry, it was adjourned
+_sine die_. The evidence adduced was published the same year by Mr.
+Henry Barrett.
+
+
+
+1835.
+
+
+Jan. 7th. Thomas Baling and W. M. Praed, Esqs., returned to Parliament.
+
+Jan. 23rd. Lord Walpole and E. Woodhouse, Esq., returned to Parliament.
+
+April 7th. The “Baltic,” “Venus,” and “Wellington” left the Harbour with
+200 emigrants for Canada.
+
+Oct. 6th. Samuel Brock, a Yarmouth beachman, with a company, went off in
+the yawl “Increase” to the rescue of the crew of a Spanish ship, about
+twelve miles from land. They reached the vessel, and on returning in a
+squall the yawl was capsized, and nine men were drowned. Brock, the only
+surviving one, after battling with the waves for seven hours, was safely
+taken on board the brig “Betsy,” at 1 a.m. the next morning, and put
+ashore at Lowestoft. (See 1873.)
+
+Dec. 26th. In pursuance of the Act, 6 William 4th, cap. 76, for the
+better Regulation of Municipal Corporations in England and Wales, the
+first Election of Councillors (under this Act) took place, when the
+returns were as follows:—_North Ward_—R. Hammond (108 votes), W. N.
+Burroughs (99), A. Sewell (94), Chas. G. Doughty (91), Benj. Sherrington
+(90), E. H. L. Preston (89). _Market_—Simon Cobb (135), Wm. Johnson
+(134), Wm. Hammond (131), B. Cobb (129), Edw. N. Clowes (128), Edw.
+Sewell (124). _Regent_—John Brightwen (98), S. T. Palmer (98), S.
+Charles Marsh (98), J. Tomlinson (98), Cufaude Davie (97), Benjamin
+Dowson (95). _St. George’s_—C. Sayers (91), Wm. Grave (91), G. Penrice
+(91), Wm. Barber (91), H. V. Worship (90), T. Lettis (89). _Nelson_—G.
+D. Palmer (147), R. Palmer Kemp (137), G. Garson (127), Matthew Butcher
+(124), John Symonds (122), S. Robinson (118). _St. Andrew’s_—J. S. Bell
+(115), T. Hammond (111), J. W. Dowson (105), Wm. Barth (101), Hezekiah
+Martin (91), Patrick Stead (87). At a Meeting of the Council, on the
+31st Dec., 1835, the following gentlemen were elected the Aldermen for
+the Borough, viz.:—John Brightwen, Benj. Dowson, Captain Wm. Larke,
+Richard Sibbs Lonsdale, J. B. Palmer, Joseph Starling, Robert Teasdel,
+George Jeffries, Benjamin Fenn, Robert Wall, Thomas Pitt, Charles
+Nichols.
+
+The custom of electing Mayors by an inquest abolished. They were elected
+previous to this date, Sept. 29th.
+
+Scheme projected for supplying the Town with Fresh Water by means of a
+Reservoir on the high lands at Burgh Castle, but unsupported.
+
+The Hon. and Rev. Edward Pellew, fourth son of Admiral Lord Viscount
+Exmouth, appointed to the incumbency of St. Nicholas’ Church, on the
+resignation of Mr. Turner.
+
+The two stuffed figures representing John and Betty Goblett, annually
+exhibited in front of Tolhouse Hall, prohibited being placed there.
+
+Capital Jurisdiction abolished.
+
+
+
+1836.
+
+
+William Barth, Esq., elected Mayor on Jan. 1st, and again on Nov. 9th.
+
+Feb. 27th. Brig “Isis” wrecked on the South Beach. “The History,
+Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk, including Great Yarmouth,” by Mr.
+William White, of Sheffield, published; second edition in 1815.
+
+Thomas William Anson, Earl of Lichfield, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Great storm, twenty-three vessels stranded on Yarmouth Beach, and upwards
+of forty lost on the coast.
+
+The last Market Cross removed.
+
+Rev. R. Pillans, while driving his carriage into the Angel yard, struck
+his head against a beam and broke his neck.
+
+
+
+1837.
+
+
+Nov. 12th. Captain William Watts died, aged 70 years.
+
+Dec. 2nd. Brig “Valeria” launched from Mr. Lubbock’s yard.
+
+First stone of the Wesleyan Chapel laid. The building cost £4,200.
+
+On Queen Victoria ascending the Throne, C. E. Rumbold, Esq., was
+re-seated in Parliament, and the election of W. Wilshere, Esq., secured
+as a colleague.
+
+G. D. Palmer, Esq., appointed as a Magistrate.
+
+
+
+1838.
+
+
+Aug. 28th. William Wilshere again returned to Parliament.
+
+The new Workhouse opened. Cost of entire building up to 1860, about
+£10,000.
+
+Sergeant John Wright died, aged 110 years.
+
+The last of the Town Gates (Pudding) pulled down.
+
+Yarmouth Hospital founded, mainly through the exertions of Mr. Wm.
+Steward, and completed in 1839.
+
+Crew of ten hands, drowned from the fishing lugger “Walter and Ann.”
+
+
+
+1839.
+
+
+Feb. 14th. Brig “James,” of Yarmouth, lost off the coast of Scotland.
+
+March 7th. A tremendous hurricane, and the streets and rows were strewn
+with _débris_ from the roofs of houses, to which much damage was done.
+
+Sept. 25th. Arthur Beevor, Esq. died, aged 82 years.
+
+Launches: June 13th, schooner “Rob Roy,” from Mr. Lubbock’s yard; Aug.
+29th, schooner “George Lord,” from Mr. Preston’s yard; Oct. 2nd, brig
+“Elizabeth,” from Messrs. Fellows’ yard; and Nov. 11th, schooner “Star,”
+from Mr. Teasdel’s yard.
+
+
+
+1840.
+
+
+Jan. 10th. The uniform penny postage first came into operation, and
+excited a great deal of ridicule, and its speedy failure predicted.
+Railways were in their infancy. Book post established in 1855, and
+Postal Cards introduced in 1870.
+
+Jan. 30th. William Finch-Crisp, the compiler of this work, born at
+Hackney, afterwards lived at Erith, in Kent, for 11 years (where his
+father died on March 12th, 1850), and then came to reside in Great
+Yarmouth at the end of the year 1854, at which place he married Mary Ann,
+second daughter of the late Robert Boyce Crisp, on June 25th, 1870. His
+dearly-beloved mother died in Oxford on Dec. 5th, 1869, and her remains
+were interred in Jericho Cemetery, Oxford.
+
+Nov. 4th. A selection of sacred music from Handel’s oratorios, _Judas
+Maccabæus_ and the _Messiah_, performed at St. Nicholas’ Church by the
+Yarmouth Choral Society. Conductor, Mr. Woolman. Price (by ticket
+only), 2s. 6d., and for young ladies and gentlemen under 14 years of age,
+1s. 6d.; book of words, 6d. Concert on behalf of Yarmouth Hospital and
+Dispensary.
+
+Dec. Mr. James Burman conducted a complete peal of Bob Major on the
+Parish Church bells, composed of 5,040 changes, which were rung in 3 hrs.
+25 min. In Jan., 1843, was rung a true and complete peal of Grandsire
+caters, containing 4,004 changes, in 3½ hours (composed by Burman), the
+only peal of the kind on record; also, same year, a peal of Treble Bob
+Royal, 5,040 changes, in 3 hrs. 35 min. (These records are now in the
+belfry.)
+
+The old Post Office in Row 63 removed to the Hall Quay. The first office
+was in Row 107, about the year 1695.
+
+John W. Shelly and Wm. Johnson, Esqs., were appointed Magistrates.
+
+Gorleston National Schools erected.
+
+John Clowes, Esq., presented with the silver medal of the Lifeboat
+Association for personal exertions rendered in the Nov. gale.
+
+
+
+1841.
+
+
+March 22nd. First stone of the Victoria Buildings laid.
+
+June 29th. C. E. Rumbold and W. Wilshere, Esqs., returned to Parliament.
+
+Nov. 14th. The _Birmingham Gazette_ of 100 years ago (1741) says:—“From
+Yarmouth we hear there are great complaints this year in relation to
+their herring fishery; their men being all pressed into the service, and
+only boys left in the town for that employ.”
+
+Nov. 18th. The barque “Iron Duke” came ashore, and sunk near the
+Britannia Pier. (See Oct., 1879.)
+
+The Sawyers’ Arms public-house, Fuller’s Hill, destroyed by fire, and the
+Albion Tavern subsequently built on the site.
+
+They were 49 persons in the Children’s Hospital, 223 in the Workhouse, 6
+in the Royal Hospital, 37 in the Borough Gaol, 134 fishermen, &c., in
+boats and barges, and 173 absent mariners, according to return.
+
+Launches: March 17th, the brig “Norfolk Lass,” and May 24th, the barque
+“Maria Soanes.”
+
+Richard Hammond, J. F. Costerton, E. H. L. Preston, J. C. Smith, and W.
+Yetts, Esqs., were appointed as Magistrates.
+
+Sir E. Lacon and Sons endeavoured to sink an Artesian well on their
+premises, but an accident to the pipes after boring 600 feet caused the
+undertaking to be abandoned. Sand and shingle were found to the depth of
+111 ft., then 49 ft. of dark sand, below this very fine clay to the depth
+of 350 ft., then a layer of flints 5 ft. thick, and below them chalk,
+which was not penetrated.
+
+Census taken. Population, 24,529—10,780 males and 18,529 females;
+Gorleston and Southtown making an addition of 3,779—total, 28,038. Of
+the inhabitants of Yarmouth, 3,340 were not born in Norfolk, and 13,430
+were above 20 years of age—5,515 males and 7,915 females. Gorleston
+comprised 3,201 acres of land, and had 6,223 houses; of the latter, 5,408
+were considered in Yarmouth, 164 were uninhabited, and 61 building.
+
+Lifeboat Station first established at Caister.
+
+Deaths: John Berney Crome.—August 18th, Giles Borrett, Esq., M.D.
+
+
+
+1842.
+
+
+Nov. 21st. First Concert of the Great Yarmouth Amateur Musical Society
+given at the Town Hall. Leader of the band, Mr. A. Suggate.
+
+The present Hospital School erected on the site of the one built in 1278.
+
+The duties levied on vessels entering the Port and discharging cargoes
+from the Roadstead amounted to £10,074 17s.
+
+Police Court, Station House, and detention cells added to the Town Hall.
+(See Sept. 30th, 1879.)
+
+Corn Exchange, Regent Street, attached to the Commercial Club-house,
+opened by a Company, to whom they both belonged. The former pulled down
+in Jan., 1871, and a new Post Office built.
+
+
+
+1843.
+
+
+Aug. 3rd. Children’s Hospital School opened after its re-erection.
+
+Oct. 15th. Sarah Martin, the prison visitor, died; and in 1858 a
+memorial window to her memory was put in St. Nicholas’ Church. She was
+born in 1791, at Caister, and left an orphan at an early age.
+
+The Round Tower near the Hospital built; ascended by a flight of 42
+stairs. It was built by the merchants and shipowners, as an observatory
+tower, at a cost of £150.
+
+
+
+1844.
+
+
+May 1st. Railway between Norwich and Yarmouth opened, and the event was
+marked with great festivity and rejoicing. Messrs. Grissell and Peto
+contracted for the work at £10,000 per mile. Previous to this, steam
+packets plied twice a day on the Yare, between Norwich and Yarmouth.
+
+Oct. Fish Market erected and opened on the site of the old one, but
+removed to widen the road.
+
+Nov. 18th. Mrs. Harriet Chandler murdered in her grocery shop in Howard
+Street by Samuel Yarham, who was tried at Norwich on Mar. 27th, 1845, and
+executed there on April 11th. The prosecution cost £542. (See Jan.
+30th, 1882.)
+
+Dec. 13th. Paget’s Brewery, North Quay, pulled down.
+
+Rev. Henry Mackenzie, incumbent of Bermondsey, appointed to the
+incumbency of St. Nicholas’ Church, but resigned in July, 1848, having
+the vicarage of St. Martin’s-in-the-Fields, Westminster, conferred upon
+him. On the 15th of February, 1870, the Town Council voted an address of
+congratulation on his being appointed Suffragan Bishop of Nottingham.
+This was the first appointment of a Suffragan Bishop in England for 200
+years.
+
+The Naval Hospital converted into a Lunatic Asylum. The building was
+re-modelled in 1868, and 37 new wards added, by Mr. G. Tyrrell. 80
+inmates were received the same year (Sept.) from Haslar, making a total
+of 169. (See 1811.)
+
+The Mackerel exported realised this year £14,500.
+
+Gorleston Museum, containing many works of art, curiosities, antiquities,
+&c., established.
+
+Her Majesty Queen Victoria passed through the Roadstead, on her way from
+Scotland, within a short distance of the shore. The Beach was lined with
+spectators, and several pleasure boats went off close to the Royal yacht
+to testify their loyalty.
+
+
+
+1845.
+
+
+Jan. 20th. Schooner “John,” of Jersey, stranded on the South Beach.
+
+Jan. 26th. The yawl “Phœnix” and seven lives lost. Meeting convened on
+the 29th to relieve the widows and orphans left destitute.
+
+April 16th. First stone of Unitarian Chapel, Middlegate Street, laid.
+Opened October 13th. Built on the site of the Old Meeting House.
+
+May 2nd. Fall of the Suspension Bridge. 400 persons precipitated into
+the water, out of which number 79 were drowned. An immense crowd were
+attracted to the bridge and its precincts by a fête on the River Bure.
+The bill announcing the entertainment for the evening was headed, “Is it
+to be a benefit or not?” and underneath it a clown pointing to the above
+words. Then follows an address by Mr. Nelson as “a candidate for public
+favour,” who announces that “Friday night will be a grand banquet night,”
+and adds, “The following extraordinary fête will most positively be
+achieved, Mr. Nelson, the celebrated clown and modern Yorick, will sail
+on the River Bure, starting from Yarmouth Bridge to Vauxhall Gardens, at
+5 o’clock on the above day in a common washing tub, drawn by four real
+geese, elegantly harnessed and caparisoned.” The tub was 18 inches deep.
+The annexed verses were on either side of a wood cut of the clown:—
+
+ Dear public, you and I of late
+ Have dealt so much in fun;
+ I’ll give you now a monstrous great
+ Quadruplicated pun—
+ Like a grate full of coals I’ll burn
+ A great full house to see;
+ And if I am not grateful too
+ A great fool I must be.
+
+The following artistes were to appear at the Circus (a wooden structure
+on the Theatre Plain)—Master Barlow, the four sons of Siberia, Mr. Alfred
+Cooke, Signor Germani, Mr. Charles Adams, Mr. George Cooke, Madame
+Culine, and Mr. W. Cooke.
+
+Sept. 24th. Mr. Henry Teasdel’s warehouses destroyed by fire.
+
+Gorleston Wesleyan Chapel re-built.
+
+Yarmouth exported 327,000 quarters of corn; and in 1855, 258,000
+quarters.
+
+
+
+1846.
+
+
+Sept. 2nd. Burgh Castle sold to Sir J. Boileau, Bart., of Ketteringham.
+
+W. H. Palmer, W. Thurtell, J. Fenn, B. Jay, and W. H. Bessey, Esqs., were
+appointed Magistrates.
+
+Lord Wodehouse, Lord Lieutenant of the County, died at Kimberley.
+
+
+
+1847.
+
+
+County Court first held at Yarmouth.
+
+Steamer “Enterprise” seized for smuggling tobacco, and the engineer fined
+£100.
+
+The Sea Wall in front of Britannia Terrace erected by C. Cory, Esq. Cost
+£2,000.
+
+June 17th. The schooner “Ann and Jane” launched from Mr. King’s yard.
+
+July 29th. Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur Lennox and O. Coope, Esq., returned
+to Parliament.
+
+Aug. 31st. Jewish Synagogue, in Row 42, built and consecrated. It was
+built on the site of a former one.
+
+Nov. 29th. Cart-load of hay burned on the Hall Quay.
+
+Deaths: June 6th, Capt. H. Barrett, ballast-master.—Dec. 24th, Admiral
+Sir George Parker, K.C.B.
+
+
+
+1848.
+
+
+April 8th. The brig “Agenoria” wrecked on the North Beach.
+
+May 17th. Address of Loyalty presented to her Majesty by the Mayor.
+
+June 30th. A Bill brought into Parliament depriving the Freemen of
+Yarmouth of their votes. The number on the Register was 1,106. Only
+such householders as were on the Register allowed to vote at the ensuing
+election, when J. Saunders and C. E. Rumbold, Esqs., were returned to
+Parliament.
+
+Aug. St. Nicholas’ Church re-opened after restoration.
+
+Sept. 22nd. Richardson’s Rock Band Concert at the Town Hall.
+
+Oct. 7th. Mr. Norman’s warehouse, in Blind Middle Street, burnt down.
+
+Lord Fairfax, with a large retinue, arrived in the town.
+
+Nov. 6th. Murder at Stanfield Hall of Mr. Isaac Jermy and his son, by
+James Blomefield Rush, who also wounded with pistol shots the son’s wife
+and a domestic. The victim’s family resided in Yarmouth. (See Dec.
+27th, 1879.)
+
+Deaths: Feb. 26th, at Southampton, Rev. H. G. Maul, formerly curate of
+St. Nicholas’ Church.—Sept. 1st, Rev. Alexander Creak.—Nov. 20th, James
+Gidney, Esq., at Southtown.—Dec. 9th, John Lacon, Esq., at Hopton.—Dec.
+27th, James Norton Sherrington, Esq.
+
+
+
+1849.
+
+
+Feb. 12th. Stone coffin, containing a perfect skeleton wrapped in hempen
+sackcloth, discovered in the north wall of St. Nicholas’ Church.
+
+The Fishing boat “William Tell,” of Yarmouth (and crew), lost off North
+Foreland.
+
+Sept. 18th. Mr. John Driscoll buried in the Roman Catholic Cemetery;
+this was the first interment there.
+
+Nov. 15th. General Thanksgiving Day for Deliverance from Cholera.
+
+The remains of Bishop Stanley landed at the Crane Quay.
+
+The new Bridge crossing the River Yare, and connecting Southtown with
+Yarmouth, commenced. Cost £50,000, including the site. 2,600 tons of
+stone and about 300 tons of iron were used in the construction, the two
+leaves of iron weighing about 45 tons each. (See 1427 and 1854.)
+
+
+
+1850.
+
+
+Jan. 28th. Parliamentary and Financial Reform Meeting held at the Corn
+Hall.
+
+Mar. 31st. Mr. Waters’ Mill burned down.
+
+Sept. 5th. Primitive Methodist Chapel opened. The Schoolroom adjoining
+was opened Oct. 29th, 1855, and cost about £450. (See Aug. 3rd, 1874,
+and June 22nd, 1875.)
+
+Sept. St. Mary’s Roman Catholic Church completed. Cost £10,000.
+
+St. Peter’s National Schools erected.
+
+Mr. Archard, with the assistance of Mr. C. C. Wilkinson (a resident of
+Yarmouth in 1880, and a relative of Mr. J. W. Argyle, of this town),
+brought out the invention for perforating postage stamps. They were
+before this date cut up with scissors. The former gentleman received a
+Government grant of £4,000 as inventor, and the latter £150 for
+constructing the machine. (See March 14th, 1881.)
+
+Deaths: March 21st, William Glenister, Esq., architect.—March 24th, Rev.
+G. S. Barlow, rector of Burgh.—June 7th, Capt. Larke, R.N.—July 11th, J.
+Pritchard, Esq., surgeon.
+
+
+
+1851.
+
+
+Feb. 22nd. Sailors’ Riot for advance of wages. 11th Hussars sent from
+Norwich to suppress it. 18 persons taken prisoners.
+
+The Duke of Northumberland awarded Mr. James Beeching 100 guineas for the
+Best Model of a Lifeboat. There were 280 competitors for the prize.
+
+Census taken. The returns were as follows:—Population of Yarmouth,
+11,867 males, 15,014 females, total, 26,881—321 males included being at
+sea. Gorleston, 1,195 males, and 1,391 females. Southtown, 572 males,
+and 840 females. The number of houses in Yarmouth was 6,328; and in
+Gorleston and Southtown, 948 houses—6,886 being inhabited.
+
+Deaths: March 18th, Cufaude Davie, Esq., J.P., aged 56.—Oct. 23rd, Rev.
+J. Watson, D.D.—Lady Arabella Parker.
+
+
+
+1852.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. A procession of sailors through the town.
+
+Jan. 3rd. Mr. Ransom’s mill burned down.
+
+Jan. 17th. Douglas’ Travelling Theatre arrived here, and left on the
+29th.
+
+Jan. 18th. The brig “James and Margaret,” of Newcastle, whilst passing
+through the Roadstead, was discovered to be on fire, and she was run on
+shore opposite the Victoria Hotel. The fire was got under, and she was
+towed into the Harbour by the tug “Robert Owen.” After being temporarily
+repaired was sent home.
+
+Feb. 5th. Mr. Bales’ Ball at the Town Hall.
+
+Feb. 12th. Seventh Anniversary and Conversazione of Young Men’s
+Institute at Town Hall; Sir E. H. K. Lacon in the chair. A splendid
+collection of British and Foreign Goods, Pictures, and Curiosities were
+exhibited.
+
+Feb. 20th. Mr. Ellis Mickleburgh, aged 80, accidentally killed by Mr.
+Roll’s van on the Lowestoft Road.
+
+Feb. Gersham Davie, master of the Charity School, died.
+
+Mar. 22nd. Jacobs, the Wizard, at the Theatre.
+
+Mar. 22nd. Mr. Eccleston’s draper’s shop, Broad Row, was destroyed by
+fire at 11 p.m.
+
+April 11th. A fire broke out in a Malt House, in Row 70, Howard Street.
+No material damage.
+
+April 19th. Miss Fanny Kemble gave a Reading at the Town Hall. Subject:
+_As you Like it_. On Sept. 8th, another Reading from the _Play of
+Measure for Measure_.
+
+May 17th. Grand Masquerade and Fancy Dress Ball at the Theatre Royal
+
+May 30th. Public Anti-Mormon Meeting on the Chapel Denes for the purpose
+of exposing Mormonism. A Meeting also at Masonic Hall on Aug. 30th.
+
+June 25th. Musical Reunion Conversazione at the Bath House Reading Room.
+
+June 29th and 30th. Mr. Gill’s Midsummer Flower Show at his Nursery,
+Regent Road. Admission, 6d. to the Gardens.
+
+July 8th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., and C. E. Rumbold, Esq., elected to
+Parliament for the Borough. They were opposed by Vice-Admiral Sir
+Charles Napier and W. T. McCullagh, Esq. Returns next day—L., 617; R.,
+547; M’C., 523; N., 488. The proclamation was read on 2nd; hustings
+erected on north-front of Town Hall on the 5th; booths erected on 6th;
+and nomination on 7th.
+
+July 13th and 14th. Yarmouth Roads Regatta.
+
+Aug. 12th. Flower Show at Vauxhall Gardens postponed owing to bad
+weather, till next day.
+
+Aug. 20th. Robbery at the shop of Mr. Mouse, George Street.
+
+Aug. 27th. Mr. W. Cook’s equestrian troupe entered the town, and their
+marquee erected on the Chapel Denes.
+
+Sept. 17th. Grand Balloon Ascent at 5.30 p.m., at the Vauxhall Gardens
+by Lieut. Chambers, R.N., amid the cheers of a vast multitude of people.
+It was postponed from the previous day owing to the wet weather. (See
+July 27th, 1868.)
+
+Dr. Alfred Impey died at Cove Hall, Suffolk, aged 38.
+
+Oct. 7th. The Lord Bishop of Norwich and the Rev. W. Hook, vicar of
+Leeds, and Chaplain to the Queen, preached at the Parish Church on behalf
+of the New Priory Schools. Between the services a cold collation was
+provided by Mr. Brown, of the “Angel” Hotel.
+
+Oct. 7th. Priory National Schools opened and the restoration of the Old
+Hall celebrated. Built from a design by J. Flakewell, Esq. Cost, 1,850.
+Library and Museum built in 1868.
+
+Nov. 18th. Funeral of the Duke of Wellington took place. By request all
+shops in the town were closed.
+
+Nov. 28th. Fire on the premises of Mr. J. W. Darnell, baker, Howard
+Street.
+
+Nov. 29th and 30th. Two Concerts at the Town Hall by Mr. H. Phillips and
+his daughter.
+
+Dec. 14th. Mrs. Swan gave a Reading from the Play of _Henry VIII._ at
+the Town Hall.
+
+R. Steward, T. Brightwen, B. Fenn, J. G. Plummer, J. Cherry, and C. C.
+Aldred, Esqs., were appointed Magistrates.
+
+Caister Castle sold by auction to John Gurney, Esq., of Hoveton Hall.
+Norfolk.
+
+Southtown Gas Works erected; enlarged in 1859. (See March 23rd, 1876.)
+
+Local Board of Health established, succeeding the Board of Paving
+Commissioners.
+
+
+
+1853.
+
+
+June 28th. On Tuesday afternoon the ceremony of driving the first pile
+of the Wellington Pier took place. The beach and terrace were decorated
+with flags, &c. The pile driven had a brass plate inlaid, bearing the
+following inscription:—“This, the first pile of the Wellington Pier, was
+driven on the 28th of June, 1853, by S. C. Marsh, Esq., Mayor of this
+Borough. David Waddington, Esq., M.P., chairman of the Company; Mr.
+Peter Asheroft, Engineer; and C. J. Palmer, Secretary.” The procession
+from the Hall comprised a body of police, then a band, followed by the
+Mayor and Corporation, the Minister of the Parish, and the Town Clerk,
+the Ancient Order of Oddfellows bringing up the rear. The procession
+entered the Pier, marched to the far end, and there several blows by the
+“monkey” were given to one of the piles; speeches made, colours hoisted,
+guns fired, &c. When they retired the public were admitted free. The
+pier was decorated with flags and laurels. Cosgrove’s brass band was in
+attendance. Grand dinner at Victoria hotel at 8 p.m., and a ball at the
+Town Hall. The pier, which cost £7,000, was opened to the public on Oct.
+31st, and the day being fine, the town was _en fête_. The structure was
+not finished till 1854.
+
+July 28th. Re-opening of the Particular Baptist Chapel, after extensive
+alterations.
+
+Aug. 27th. Mortlock Lacon, Esq., died at his residence, Hall Quay, aged
+66, and was buried at South Walsham.
+
+Aug. Coast visited by a very heavy gale, and on Jan. 4th of the
+following year, so boisterous was the wind that most of the shops in the
+Market had to be closed, except the doors. The market on Wednesday was
+suspended. The snow was of great depth.
+
+About 90 boats employed in the mackerel fishery, each carrying ten men,
+and 65 trawling smacks, belonging to the Port of Yarmouth. Sale of fish
+realised nearly £27,000.
+
+A herring 17½ in. long by 7½ in. in girth, and weighing 18 ozs., caught
+near Yarmouth.—In Nov., 1870, a mackerel caught weighing 2 lbs. 11 ozs.,
+length 19 in., and girth 10¼ in.
+
+The herring fishery during this year was very successful. About 100 sail
+of boats comprised the fleet of herring craft. Seven boats belonging to
+Mr. Letts and Mr. Skuckford brought in 650 lasts. The prices realised
+ranged from £4 10s. to £24 per last. The following ships left for
+different parts of the Mediterranean: Isis, 2,282 barrels; Fanny Palmer,
+1,750; Acis, 1,488; Race Horse, 2,385; Stamboul, 1,811; Clarissa, 400;
+Tyro, 2,342; Fegossa, 1,728; Princess Royal, 1,480; Queen of the East,
+1,925; Secret, 2,085; Earl Leicester, 2,800; Isma, 2,930.
+
+Sept. 18th to Dec. 18th. The quantity of herrings sent by rail from
+Yarmouth:—To London, 202,844 packages, weighing 7,559 tons; to Norwich,
+3,873 packages, or 387 tons; to Eastern Counties Railways, 18,298
+packages, or 914 tons; Eastern Union, 5,252, or 200 tons; to stations
+beyond Peterborough on Midland, London and North-Western, and Great
+Northern, 51,782 packages, or 2,589 tons; herrings in bulk to Manchester,
+Birmingham, Worcester, &c., 500 tons—total, 281,850 packages, or 12,189
+tons in weight.
+
+Sept. Mr. Peter Coble, Mayor’s officer, died.
+
+Dec. 31st. The Icehouse, situate near the Vauxhall Railway Station, was
+partly destroyed by fire. The roof being thatched, it burnt very
+fiercely, so that engines were not of much avail, and the fire continued
+burning all night, and up to Sunday evening of New Year’s Day. It is now
+(1884) occupied as a coal store.
+
+
+
+1854.
+
+
+July 19th. First stone of the Independent Chapel, King Street, laid.
+Building opened in June, 1855; cost £3,700, including site.
+
+One hundred and eighty-four licensed public-houses and 50 beer-shops in
+the town.
+
+George John Milles, Lord Sondes, High Steward of the Borough.
+
+Oct. 18th. The Southtown Bridge opened to the public. (See 1849.)
+
+Nov. 18th. Messrs. Gurneys and Co.’s Bank erected and opened.
+
+
+
+1855.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. The town and neighbourhood visited with one of the highest
+tides witnessed for many years. The wind blew hard from N.W., and the
+moon was at the full. Some parts of Southtown were inundated, as also
+the North Quay, reaching to the Laughing Image Corner. It reached the
+north and south terraces on the beach, and a large boat floated near the
+Holkham Steps.
+
+July 28th. First number of the _Yarmouth Free Press_ published; enlarged
+January 19th, 1856; and name altered to _Yarmouth Independent_, June
+27th, 1857. (See August 14th, 1881.)
+
+Aug. 11th. Collision between the Dover and Calais mail steamer “Vivid”
+and the schooner “Henry,” of Yarmouth, by which the latter was run down
+in Dover Roads.
+
+Aug. 12th. Wesleyan Reform Chapel at Caister opened.
+
+Aug. 20th. Affray with Militiamen. Several influential gentlemen
+sustained severe injuries.
+
+Aug. Laing’s Map of Yarmouth published. It took fifteen months to
+complete, and cost £600. (See March, 1856.)
+
+Sept. 5th. Brig “Venilia” launched from Mr. Rust’s yard.
+
+Sept. 25th. Address voted by the Town Council to the Queen, on the fall
+of Sebastopol.
+
+Sept. 30th. National Thanksgiving Day for the successful issue of the
+Crimean war.
+
+Oct. 3rd. Three French gun boats came into the harbour.
+
+Oct. 6th. Russian schooner “Sampo” captured by H.M.S. “Tartar,” and
+brought into our harbour.
+
+Oct. 25th. Loss of the steamer “Isle of Thanet,” off Yarmouth, and three
+lives.
+
+Oct. 26th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., entertained the East Norfolk
+Militia at Hopton.
+
+Oct. The New Cemetery walled-in, and consecrated by Bishop Spencer, July
+16th, 1856. (See Sept. 7th, 1876.)
+
+Nov. 3rd. Two war-ships, “Phœnix” and “Mæander,” anchored in the
+Roadstead.
+
+Nov. 28th. Miss Fanny Kemble read Shakespeare’s _Julius Cæsar_ at the
+Corn Hall.
+
+Dec. 17th to 20th. Heavy gales; fifteen vessels driven ashore on the
+Beach.
+
+Yarmouth Water Works Company completed laying the water-pipes throughout
+the town, and opened the works at Ormesby.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 25th, Rev. Lithgoe, minister of the Roman Catholic
+Church.—April 24th, Charles Day, Esq.
+
+The Rev. C. Smyth, formerly a curate of St. Nicholas’ Church, ascended to
+the summit of Monte Rosa and Monte Blanc.
+
+The Yarmouth mackerel fishery realised a sum of £20,000, and 14,045 tons
+of fish of all kinds were sent from this town by rail. 20,248 barrels of
+herrings shipped at Yarmouth for foreign ports.
+
+The Dene Well, Albion Road, covered up, and the ancient mode of drawing
+water replaced by a pump, which was ordered to be removed in Nov., 1876,
+on account of the impurity of the water.
+
+Yarmouth Elocution Society established.
+
+
+
+1856.
+
+
+Jan. 30th. The Norfolk Artillery Militia left by rail for the camp at
+Colchester.
+
+Mar. 19th. Sarah Hunnibell attempted to set fire to the Gaol.
+
+Mar. J. Laing, Esq., appointed Town Surveyor of Hastings, a similar
+office to which he had held for several years in Yarmouth, and was
+succeeded by A. W. Morant, Esq. (See Aug., 1875, and July, 28th, 1881.)
+
+April 16th. Steam tug “Robert Owen” sunk at the Haven’s mouth.
+
+May 29th. Peace celebration at the conclusion of the Russian War.
+
+May. The Rev. J. H. H. McSwinney, minister of St. Peter’s Church,
+presented with a silver salver before his departure for Cronstadt.
+Appointed minister of St. John’s on his return in 1884.
+
+July 13th. Wesleyan Free Church, Regent Road, opened.
+
+Sept. 24th. First general meeting of the directors of the Yarmouth and
+Haddiscoe Railway held at the Star Hotel.
+
+Oct. 20th. Brigantine “Lizzie Lee” launched from Mr. J. Powell’s yard.
+
+Oct. 23rd. “Parallax” lectured at the Corn Hall, and caused great
+excitement by his public discussions.
+
+Nov. 25th. Very high tide and heavy gale.
+
+Dec. Rev. W. D. Wade appointed to the incumbency of St. Mary’s Church,
+Southtown.
+
+Commander Kisbie, R.N., awarded by the National Lifeboat Institution a
+medal for saving 90 lives.
+
+Thirty thousand two hundred and twenty-seven barrels of herrings shipped
+at Yarmouth for foreign parts.
+
+Marine Parade commenced. (See Mar. 7th, 1876.)
+
+Deaths: Aug. 10th, Henry Humphrey, in the 100th year of his age.—Aug.
+21st, Captain Charles Pearson, aged 72.
+
+
+
+1857.
+
+
+Jan. 8th. “Volunteer” steam-tug on fire in the harbour.
+
+Jan. 13th. Inauguration Dinner of the Eastern Star Provident Association
+Friendly Society held at the Corn Hall. The society started with near
+900 members in 12 branches established in Norfolk and Suffolk.
+
+Jan. Rorqual whale, 45 feet in length, and weighing about 20 tons,
+caught at Winterton, and exhibited on Wrestler’s Plain.
+
+Feb. 6th. Mr. J. B. Beales appointed Inspector of Weights and Measures,
+succeeded by Mr. E. D. Louttid, who resigned the office in Jan., 1871;
+and on Feb. 27th, 1871, Mr. F. W. Robinson was appointed. (See 1874.)
+
+Feb. 20th. Man-of-war ship “Blenheim,” 74 guns, anchored in the
+Roadstead.
+
+Feb. 28th. The schooner “Branch” launched from Mr. Fellows’ yard.
+
+Mar. 1st. The iron screw-collier “Isby” run ashore south of Caister.
+
+Mar. 28th. E. Watkin and W. Torrens McCullagh, Esqs., returned to
+Parliament for the Borough, by a majority of 158. Parliament dissolved
+on Mar. 21st. Grand procession of the United Seamen’s Association.
+
+Mar. Mr. George Tewsley appointed Superintendent of the Borough Police.
+(See 1872, 1877, and 1878.)
+
+April. A fine sturgeon, a Royal fish, caught off Yarmouth.
+
+A mammoth tusk picked up at sea, which measured 4 ft. on the bend and 21
+in. in girth.
+
+May 15th. Thackeray, the novelist, lectured in Yarmouth: Subject—Georges
+III. and IV.
+
+May 16th. Emily Major, dressed in male attire, attempted to escape from
+Gaol.
+
+May 27th. Two Russian trophies received at Yarmouth. The Mayor applied
+to Lord Panmure for them in June, 1856.
+
+June 7th. Corner-stone of St. John’s Church laid. This building, which
+cost £2,000, was opened Feb. 7th, 1858. In 1859 the southern aisle was
+added as a memorial to the late Miss Maurice, and opened by Bishop Hills
+before his departure for British Columbia.
+
+June 8th. The Bill authorising the construction of the Britannia Pier
+read a third time and passed. This Pier was opened by a public company,
+July 13th, 1858, which has since dissolved.
+
+Aug. 28th. Meeting of the British Archæological Association at the Town
+Hall.
+
+Aug. 29th. The House of Commons decided the election to Parliament of W.
+T. McCullagh and E. Watkins, Esqs., as invalid. A. W. Young and J.
+Mellor, Esqs., were returned to Parliament in their place; the next day a
+monster meeting, between 10,000 and 12,000 people being present, was held
+on the Quay. E. Watkin, Esq., was drawn by men, by means of a rope
+attached to his carriage, from the Railway Station round the town.
+
+Sept. 15th. Two Prize Fights took place on the banks of the Yare,
+between Batson and Slack, and Stamp and Turner.
+
+Sept. 18th. Meeting at the Town Hall on the Indian Mutinies; £233 17s.
+subscribed in the room for the sufferers.
+
+Sept. 24th. Organ at St. Peter’s Church opened. It was built by Messrs.
+Bishop and Starr, at a cost of £400.
+
+Sept. 30th. Day of National Fasting and Humiliation.
+
+Oct. 14th. Dinner given to Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., at the Town Hall.
+
+Oct. 22nd. Loss of the s.s. “Ontario” and 24 of her crew, on the Barber
+Sand. A dreadful gale and great destruction to the shipping.
+
+Oct. Government Schools of Art and Navigation established, mainly
+through the exertions of the Rev. J. B. Bampton.—Exhibition of Paintings,
+&c., held at these schools in 1860. These schools occupy part of a
+Mansion formerly the residence of the Paget family.
+
+Oct. 29th. Demonstration of the Liberal party at the Town Hall.
+
+Nov. 12th. A warm Vestry Meeting (the second) at the Town Hall for
+making a Church Rate of 1½d. in the £, to include St. Peter’s. The
+report of the Church property in the town was made by a committee
+appointed at the first meeting, and it was resolved that no rate should
+be made. The Church party demanded a poll, which lasted till the
+following afternoon, but they lost it by 121 majority. The Church party
+finding they were defeated, the Parish Church and St. George’s Chapel
+Clocks were stopped till Dec. 22nd, when they were set going after nearly
+six weeks’ rest.
+
+Nov. 17th. T. P. Burroughs, Esq., passed his examination for admission
+as a Solicitor.
+
+Dec. 4th. The steamship “Rapid,” of Leith, sunk on the Cross Sands, and
+in 1858 divers were employed to raise some of her stores, consisting of
+wine, drapery goods, hearthrugs, smoked meats, tins of herrings, &c.,
+which were sold at St. George’s Hall, Corn Hall, and on Hall Quay.
+
+
+
+1858.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Fire in Jane Place, destroyed the roofing of three houses, and
+entirely demolished the whole of a net chamber. It originated in Mr.
+Moore’s workshop.
+
+Jan. 11th. Testimonial, consisting of a splendid tea and coffee service,
+with an oval 24-inch waiter, weighing 203 ozs., presented to B. Fenn,
+Esq., by the Fishermen’s Provident Society.
+
+Jan. 18th. The Aztec Lilliputians, the reputed Gods of the Pagan Temple
+of Iximaya, exhibited at the Corn Hall, Regent Street.
+
+Feb. 11th. An Address voted by the Town Council to her Majesty on the
+marriage of H.R.H. the Princess Royal to H.R.H. Prince Frederick William
+of Prussia.
+
+Feb. The Lord Chancellor appointed six (out of 15 candidates) new
+Magistrates for the Borough, viz., P. Pullyn, D. A. Gourlay, F. Palmer,
+W. T. Clarke, J. Barker, and J. Owles, Esqs.
+
+Feb. 11th. The Town Battery ordered to be removed. The materials were
+sold for £84 12s.
+
+Mar. 8th. The Fermanagh Light Infantry Militia (845 rank and file),
+commanded by Lord Enniskillen and the Hon. S. Crichton, arrived in
+Yarmouth.
+
+Mar. 14th. The “Frederica,” 420 tons register and 600 tons burthen,
+launched from Mr. T. Branford’s yard. Between 8,000 and 4,000 persons
+witnessed the sight.
+
+April 15th. Collision between the s.s. “Ernestide” and the Prussian ship
+“Thomas” off Yarmouth. The former foundered.
+
+April 22nd. St. John’s Church consecrated, and in the same month the
+stone pulpit and the communion plate at this church were bought out of
+the proceeds of sale of the book, “Story of Samuel Brock.” The Church
+was opened Feb. 7th; enlarged in 1859, 1866, and 1868.
+
+May 4th. Riot at Southtown between the Fermanagh Militia and some
+coalheavers.
+
+May 19th. The brig “Nil Desperandum,” 800 tons register and over 500
+tons burthen, launched from Mr. J. Rust’s yard. Thousands of persons
+witnessed the sight.
+
+May 26th. The Corn Exchange, Regent Street, sold to R. Steward, Esq.,
+for £1,540; and in 1870 was purchased by Government for the New Post and
+Telegraph Offices, &c.
+
+June 10th. Sir E. N. Buxton, M.P., died at Cromer, aged 46 years.
+
+June 15th. Congratulatory address voted by the Town Council to J. Paget,
+Esq., on his appointment as Surgeon-Extraordinary to her Majesty the
+Queen.
+
+June 20th. Dawson Turner, Esq., M.A., F.S.A., F.R.S., &c., died at
+Brompton, aged 83 years, and his will was sworn under £70,000
+personality. He was born Oct., 1775, at Yarmouth, where his father was a
+banker. He was educated at the Grammar School at North Walsham, and
+entered Pembroke College, Cambridge, in 1793. At his father’s decease he
+became a partner in the firm of Messrs. Gurneys and Co., and managed the
+Yarmouth bank. He married the daughter of the late William Palgrave,
+Esq., of Coltishall. His library comprised 40,000 volumes.
+
+June 29th. County Election between Cooke and Stracey, for the vacancy
+caused by the death of Mr. Buxton. The former returned by a large
+majority. Each party had a booth in the Yarmouth Market Place.
+
+July 4th. Rev. William Tritton, of Cambridge, preached his first sermon
+at the Independent Chapel, King Street.
+
+July 13th. Britannia Pier opened. _Déjeûner_ given in the afternoon on
+the Pier to the shareholders and their friends, 150 in number. The
+structure cost about £6,000.
+
+July 16th. Grand Procession of the Freemasons to and from St. Nicholas’
+Church to the Town Hall, where about 125 gentlemen sat down to an
+excellent dinner.
+
+July 20th. Nottingham Order of Oddfellows opened a new Court in
+Middlegate Street, and next day was publicly commemorated by a procession
+through the town, headed by Hulley’s Saxhorn Band.
+
+July. Fifty-seven invalids, mostly Indian sufferers, arrived at the
+military Hospital on the South Denes from Chatham.
+
+Aug. 26th. The Norfolk Hotel sold by auction to Messrs. Hills and
+Underwood for £2,160.
+
+Aug. 30th. G. Wells Holt, Esq., Magistrates’ Clerk, tendered his
+resignation to the Magistrates. He ably filled the office for over 22
+years. His son William succeeded to the office, to whom a dinner was
+given at the “Crown and Anchor” on Oct. 4th. (See Dec. 4th, 1884.)
+
+Sept. 2nd. Riot in Charlotte Street and Broad Row with the Fermanagh
+Militia. Tradesmen obliged to close their shops.
+
+Sept. 4th. Royal yacht “Grille,” belonging to the King of Prussia,
+arrived in the Harbour.
+
+Sept. 8th. Two Prussian frigates, “Thetis” and “Gefion,” under the
+command of the High Admiral Prince Adalbert, arrived in the Roadstead.
+
+Sept. 23rd. The Louth Rifles, under the command of Sir John Robinson,
+and comprising 500 men and 24 officers, arrived in Yarmouth.
+
+Oct. 1st. First Evening Service held at St. George’s Chapel after the
+gas had been laid on.
+
+Oct. 6th. An elegant Church Service, bound in turkey morocco, presented
+to the Rev. Robert Boyle, LL.D., by the inhabitants of Gorleston, as a
+farewell token of their esteem.
+
+Nov. 15th. The s.s. “Hunwick” sunk off the Jetty. Ship and cargo valued
+at £8,500. The crew saved.
+
+Nov. The Rev. G. Hills, B.D. resigned the incumbency of St. Nicholas’
+Church, on his appointment to the Bishopric of British Columbia. The
+degree of Doctor of Divinity was conferred by diploma at a convocation at
+Durham on the 30th.
+
+Nov. Mr. G. Dowey appointed Station Master, and resigned in 1884.
+
+Dec. 13th. The Rev. W. D. Wade, B.A., incumbent of St. Mary’s Church,
+Southtown, presented with a purse of 60 guineas.
+
+Dec. 23rd. S. C. Burton, Esq., solicitor, sworn as a Commissioner to
+Administer Oaths in the High Court of Chancery of England.
+
+Dec. Rev. H. R. Nevill, incumbent of St. Mark’s Church, Lakenham, near
+Norwich, appointed to the incumbency of Yarmouth; and the Rev. G. I.
+Pellew, curate of St. Nicholas’ Church, appointed to fill the vacancy at
+Lakenham.
+
+Dec. Mr. J. M. Petts, late chief officer at the Coast Guard Station at
+Gillingham, Chatham, promoted by the Admiralty to be chief officer of the
+Yarmouth Coastguard. In March, 1866, he was presented with a gold watch
+and guard (value £65) and a silver cup (value £85), subscribed for by 121
+gentlemen of the town, and presented at the Town Hall by the Mayor (C. C.
+Aldred, Esq.), in recognition of many acts of bravery in saving
+shipwrecked crews. He resigned the office on Oct. 1st, 1870. From Oct.
+5th, 1859, to Feb. 14th, 1870, no less than 40 vessels were wrecked on
+the beach and off the coast, from which Mr. Petts, in conjunction with
+those under his command, was instrumental in rescuing 295 lives. Joined
+the service June 22nd, 1827.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 17th, Rev. J. Pike, the much-esteemed minister of the
+Independent Chapel, Gorleston, died directly after leaving the pulpit,
+where he officiated in the service.—Mar. 4th, Sir Eton S. Travers, aged
+69 years.—Mar. 15th, Mr. S. V. Moore, a respected member of the Town
+Council.
+
+
+
+1858–9.
+
+
+The winter was remarkably fine, neither wind, rain, nor snow interrupting
+fine weather till 31st March, when snow fell, and a severe frost
+followed.
+
+
+
+1859.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Sailors’ Home established. Its completion on Feb. 2nd was
+celebrated by a tea given to a large party of beachmen and their wives at
+the Norfolk Hotel. The Home cost about £2,000.
+
+Jan. 12th. Mr. James Buddrell, master of the fishing vessel “Hosannah,”
+presented with a first-class silver medal and diploma from the Emperor of
+the French for saving the lives of 11 men, the crew of the French brig
+“La Prospère,” off Hasbro’.
+
+Jan. 12th. The Queen constituted the Colonies of British Columbia and
+Vancouver’s Island to be a Bishop’s See, and appointed the Rev. George
+Hills, D.D., to be ordained and consecrated Bishop of it. This ceremony
+was performed at Westminster Abbey by the Archbishop of Canterbury and
+the Bishops of Norwich and Oxford, on Feb. 24th. In Jan. Dr. Hills was
+presented with a handsome communion service by the members of his
+congregation, and on the 26th of May was presented at the Town Hall with
+a testimonial, value £400, as a token of esteem. He reached his new
+diocese in March, 1860.
+
+Jan. 17th. The Rev. H. Hitcham died, aged 40 years.
+
+Jan. 19th. The sloop “Eliza” launched from Mr. J. Rust’s yard.
+
+Feb. 10th. An Address voted by the Town Council to her Majesty on the
+birth of a grandson, heir to the Throne of Prussia.
+
+Feb. 17th. Cuthbert Collingwood Hall, Esq., of Beach House, on the
+Marine Parade, died at his seat, Collingwood Court, near Windsor. Mr.
+Hall was one of the earliest advocates of our Marine Parade, and gave £50
+towards its construction. He married the granddaughter and co-heiress of
+the celebrated Admiral Cuthbert Lord Collingwood, who commanded at
+Trafalgar after Lord Nelson received his death wound.
+
+Feb. 20th. The “reading-in” ceremony and first sermon preached by the
+Rev. H. R. Nevill at St. Nicholas’ Church. The text chosen was 1 Cor.
+ii. 1, 2.
+
+Feb. Portrait of Lord Sondes, High Steward of the Borough, placed in the
+Town Hall.
+
+Mar. 17th. St. Patrick’s Day was ushered in at break of day by the band
+of the Louth Rifles playing through our streets the Irish air dedicated
+to the patron saint.
+
+Mar. 21st. East Suffolk Railway Bill read a third time in the House of
+Commons and passed. The line was opened at Southtown on the 1st of June.
+
+April 5th. E. W. Watkin and A. W. Young, Esqs., addressed a large
+meeting of between 2,000 and 3,000 persons on the Hall Quay; and again on
+the 15th.
+
+April 13th to 16th. Charles Stratton, commonly known as “General Tom
+Thumb,” with a company, gave an entertainment at the Theatre.
+
+April 19th. The “Athelstan” launched from Messrs. Fellows’ yard. This
+fine vessel was commanded by Captain John Braccy, of Yarmouth. (See Aug.
+18th, 1882.)
+
+April 29th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., and Sir Henry J. Stracey, Bart.,
+returned to Parliament.—Votes—L., 693; S., 653; Watkin, 568; Young, 537.
+This was the first time of polling in wards. No hustings. Nomination
+from the “Crown and Anchor” balcony.
+
+May 12th. Cardinal Wiseman, accompanied by Lord Stafford and a party of
+friends, paid a visit to Yarmouth.
+
+May 26th. The house of Mr. Bradnum, at Gorleston, struck by lightning,
+the fluid knocking a chimneypot through the roof, smashing the windows
+and frames, and doing other damage.
+
+May 27th. First meeting, called by the Mayor at the Town Hall,
+respecting the enrolment of Rifle Volunteers at Yarmouth.
+
+June 7th. Miss Ann Turner, daughter of the late Dawson Turner, Esq.,
+presented the Town Council with 17 rolls, &c., relative to the History of
+Yarmouth.
+
+July 11th. Eighty invalids, mostly Indian sufferers, arrived at the
+Military Hospital on the South Denes from Chatham.
+
+July. The schooner “Alma” brought to Yarmouth nine 68 and one 54-pounder
+guns from Woolwich for the North and South Batteries. There were six
+guns mounted on each battery, namely, three 82, two 68, and one long
+24-pounders, some of them weighing as much as five tons.
+
+July. B. Dowson and F. Worship, Esqs., appointed Deputy-Lieutenants of
+the County.
+
+Aug. 12th. The fine vessel “Himalaya,” 375 feet in length, with her
+saloon of 100 ft., brought a portion of the Donegal Militia to Yarmouth,
+who were landed by the steam-tug “Robert Owen” at the Barrack Wharf; and
+on the 14th the vessel left, having previously embarked the Louth Rifles
+for Preston.
+
+Sep. 1st. Appointment of officers for the Rifle Volunteers, and the
+services of the men accepted by Government.
+
+Sept. 7th. Rev. W. Griffiths, M.A., minister of the Congregational body,
+ordained at King Street Chapel.
+
+Sept. 12th. Fire at Mr. S. Ives’ premises, in Howard Street; estimated
+damage, £150. Another fire originated at the same place on June 5th,
+1867, doing damage to the amount of £600.
+
+Sep. 26th. C. P. Molly, Esq., of Liverpool, contributed a Mural Drinking
+Fountain for the Borough. R. Steward, Esq., contributed one in Nov.,
+which is now placed in front of the Sailors’ Home.
+
+Sept. 28th. Services of the Artillery Volunteer Corps accepted by
+Government, and the appointment of officers confirmed.
+
+Sept. Water supplied by the Yarmouth Water Works Company to the
+inhabitants of Southtown.
+
+Oct. 8th. Riot in King Street with four of the Donegal Militia, one of
+whom when in custody at the Police Station attempted to set fire to his
+cell, and a _melée_ took place before it could be extinguished.
+
+Oct. 25th. Violent gale, 14 lives lost off this coast, and 80
+shipwrecked seamen lodged at the Sailors’ Home. A sloop driven through
+the Britannia Pier and severed it in two.
+
+Nov. 30th. First stone of St. Andrew’s Church laid. Contract for
+building was £1,050 10s. In March, 1864, a schoolroom was built
+adjoining the church, which cost £500 more.
+
+Dec. 16th. The _Norfolk Standard_, published by Mr. J. Cooper, was
+discontinued. The same publisher printed the _Yarmouth Weekly News_ and
+the _Yarmouth Standard_ previously.
+
+Dec. 20th. Rev. F. W. Johnson, who was appointed in Jan., 1858, minister
+of St. John’s Church, died in London. By will he bequeathed £3,000 to
+endow the Beach and Harbour Mission.
+
+Dec. 27th. Jacob Astley, Baron Hastings, and a baronet of England, died
+at his town residence, aged 62 years. He was born on Nov. 13th, 1797,
+and was the eldest son of Sir Jacob Henry Astley. The late lord married,
+on Mar. 22nd, 1819, Georgiana Caroline, youngest daughter of Sir Henry W.
+Dashwood, Bart., and sister of the late Marchioness of Ely. (See Dec.
+24th, 1875.)
+
+Francis Worship, E. P. Youell, and J. Clark, Esqs., appointed as
+Magistrates.
+
+Bastard shark caught off Yarmouth.
+
+Thirty-two thousand seven hundred and ninety-nine barrels of herrings
+shipped at Yarmouth for foreign ports.
+
+Vice-Admiral Lovell, K.H., who had served under Nelson at Trafalgar,
+died, aged 72.
+
+New Lifeboat-house erected by the National Association at a cost of £400.
+
+
+
+1860.
+
+
+Jan. 3rd. Three cases of wine, eight of spirits, and five of oil, and a
+cask of vinegar, landed here, having been picked up by the smack
+“Chance.”
+
+Jan. 4th. Schooner “Hero,” of and for Yarmouth, went ashore on Palling
+Beach and became a total wreck. Sold for £9.
+
+Jan. 20th. The people in Southtown alarmed by the report of a
+“Spring-heel’d Jack” in the locality for some days previous. The
+supposed fiend, who assaulted one of the employés on the East Suffolk
+railway, and left him insensible on the ground, was said to be a man clad
+in a white tight-skin dress, and goat’s horns fixed to his head.
+
+Jan. F. Palmer, Esq., appointed hon. surgeon to the Rifle Volunteer
+Corps.
+
+Feb. 2nd. The fishing lugger “Paymaster,” belonging to Mr. B. Fenn,
+sailed from Yarmouth to Portsmouth, a distance of 240 miles, in 23 hours.
+
+Feb. 14th. A detachment of the Donegal Militia (162) left Yarmouth for
+Deptford.
+
+Feb. 16th. The premises of Messrs. Bullimore, West, and Todd,
+coachbuilders, carpenters, &c., destroyed by fire.
+
+Feb. 16th and 18th. Officers of the Donegal Militia performed at the
+Theatre on behalf of the Hospital. _Used Up_ and the _Irish Attorney_
+were represented.
+
+Feb. 17th. The fishing smack “John Bull” driven on Yarmouth beach in a
+gale. The crew of five were taken out of the rigging by a lifeboat crew,
+and all saved except one boy. George Milligan, at the risk of his own
+life, bravely rescued a helpless man who was lashed to the rigging. In
+March, he and Capt. T. Davies, R.N., inspecting commander of the Yarmouth
+Coastguards, received silver medals for their bravery on this occasion,
+and the lifeboat crew £24.
+
+Feb. 24th. Enquiry opened in the House of Commons upon the petition
+against the return of Sir E. Lacon and Sir H. Stracey, Barts., as M.P.’s
+for the Borough. After seven days’ investigation, the Chairman of the
+Committee announced them as duly elected.
+
+Feb. 28th. A tremendous hurricane, which for about half-an-hour in the
+afternoon raged with the greatest fury, the pressure per square foot
+being 30 lbs. The like not known before for many years. In 1839 it
+reached only 28 lbs.
+
+Feb. A beautiful silver épergne, of Eastern design, representing a
+giraffe feeding under a palm tree, presented to the Rev. J. B. Bampton on
+his leaving Yarmouth for Dover, by the supporters and students of the
+Yarmouth Government School of Art and Navigation, as a token of esteem.
+
+March 7th. At a Levée at St. James’ Palace, Captains S. C. Marsh and W.
+J. Foreman; Lieut. A. W. Morant and Dr. Stephenson, of the 1st Norfolk
+Artillery Volunteers; and Capt. J. H. Orde, Lieut. E. P. Youell, Ensign
+J. Tomlinson, and Hon. Assistant Surgeon F. Palmer, 2nd Norfolk Rifle
+Volunteers, were introduced to her Majesty by the Earl of Leicester, Lord
+Lieutenant of the County.
+
+March 13th. A new fishing smack, “Harriett Todd” launched. Mr. Todd
+lost the smack “Viper,” and had three others damaged in the gale of the
+20th Nov., 1861.
+
+March. The brave crew of the Gorleston Lifeboat “Ranger” awarded the sum
+of £233 by the owner of the brig “Martin Luther,” for assisting his
+vessel into Harbour during the hurricanes of Feb. 28th.
+
+March. Petition sent to the House of Commons for total abolition of
+Church rates; also a petition to suppress Bribery by a condign punishment
+upon all guilty of the practice. The latter was signed by 230 electors,
+and presented to the House on the 24th instant, by J. Mellor, Esq., M.P.
+
+March. Loss of the Yarmouth fishing smack “Emerald,” and seven hands,
+about twenty miles east of the Leman and Owen Sands.
+
+April 6th. Artillery and Rifle Volunteers’ first demonstration on the
+South Denes.
+
+April 10th. Conservative Banquet at the Theatre. The entire pit was
+boarded over on a level with the stage, where the tables were arranged;
+and a military band played in the gallery. A marquee was erected on the
+plain as a reception room.
+
+April 23rd. First stone of the Gorleston Methodist New Connexion Chapel
+laid. Building cost £250. It was opened July 22nd.
+
+May 17th. The barque “Caroline” launched, after being repaired at an
+outlay of £5,000, from Mr. Powell’s yard. The band of the Donegal
+Militia played “Rule, Britannia” as she glided off the incline.
+
+May 28th. Fearful gale and loss of life at sea; eight vessels—brigs,
+schooners, and a barge—lost on Scroby and in the Cockle Gat, with their
+crews; also 14 fishing vessels and 156 men and boys, lost off Yarmouth.
+The appeal to the town and nation on behalf of 50 widows and 160 orphans
+left destitute resulted in the handsome sum of £10,000. Her Majesty and
+Prince Consort headed the list with £100 each. In a former gale the
+north-east pinnacle of St. Peter’s Church fell over the nave and crashed
+through the roof into the organ gallery, the organ narrowly escaping.
+Damage estimated at £250.
+
+June 5th. G. S. Harcourt, Esq., resigned the Secretaryship of the
+Sailors’ Home owing to ill-health.
+
+June 30th. The Channel Fleet of 13 vessels, under the command of Sir C.
+Freemantle, anchored in the Roads, and comprised the “Royal Albert,” 121
+guns; “Donegal,” 101; “Edgar,” 91; “Aboukir,” 91; “Conqueror,” 101;
+“Trafalgar,” 91; “Centurion,” 91; “Algiers,” 91; “Mars,” 80; “Mersey,”
+40; “Diadem,” 32; also the “Greyhound” corvette, and “Locust.”
+
+July 9th. Procession through the town of the Foresters and Members of
+the Eastern Star Provident Association to the Victoria Gardens, where a
+gala was given.
+
+July 18th. Sir Samuel Morton Peto presented with a superb china dessert
+service, and an elaborately-worked plateau épergne candelabrum and other
+plate, value about £2,000, by 300 subscribers, as a token of regard and
+obligation to him in making the East Suffolk Railway.
+
+July 24th. Prince of Wales’ Own Donegal Militia, under the command of
+Lieut.-Colonel Lord Claude E. Hamilton, left Yarmouth for Ireland, after
+staying twelve months.
+
+Aug. 8th. The Norfolk Militia Artillery arrived at the Southtown
+Barracks, and were disbanded on the 20th. This regiment was embodied in
+April, 1859, and in May left for Sheerness, and thence for Woolwich.
+
+Sept. 3rd. First prize competition meeting of the Rifle Volunteers held.
+
+Sept. W. Strike, Esq., Collector of Customs, promoted to the
+Collectorship at Waterford; he was succeeded by W. C. Maclean, Esq.,
+Comptroller at Portsmouth.
+
+Oct. 15th. Mr. and Mrs. Charles Kean, the celebrated Tragedians,
+appeared at the Theatre Royal in _The Wife’s Secret_.
+
+Oct. 26th. A short sun-fish caught on the North Beach. It was 4 ft. in
+length, and weighed about 11 stone. A fine specimen was also caught off
+Yarmouth in 1821.
+
+Nov. 3rd. Frightful boiler explosion on board the steamer “Tonning,” off
+Yarmouth.
+
+Nov. 7th. Race by two herring traders—the brig “Susan Bailey,” of
+Ipswich, and schooner “The Belle,” of Brixton—from Yarmouth to Leghorn.
+The latter arrived at her destination after a run of nearly 17 days, the
+“Susan Bailey” being two days behind her.
+
+Nov. 10th. The brig “Eleanor,” 300 tons register, launched in full rig
+from Messrs. Beeching’s yard.
+
+Dec. 28th. Melancholy occurrence at the Theatre, caused by the sudden
+death of Tom Algar, the clown, during the Christmas Pantomime. On Jan.
+4th Mr. Owen, the manager, gave a benefit to the widow and orphans.
+
+Dec. 29th (Saturday). The town, in consequence of a hard frost, had the
+gas cut off from 5 p.m. till 9, and then only partially.
+
+Dec. The Rev. Henry Ralph Nevill, M.A., nominated to the Honorary
+Canonry in the Cathedral Church in Norwich, vacated by the death of the
+Rev. W. M. Hanson.
+
+Fish Depôt, near the Jetty, erected.
+
+The sum collected in Market Tolls this year was £220 12s., about the
+average for the last 22 years.
+
+Parliamentary returns show that the number of houses in Yarmouth
+compounded for by landlords was 1,098, of the annual gross-rent of £6;
+and 229 at £7.
+
+About 1,300 Voters on the Register this year.
+
+
+
+1861.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Yarmouth specially appointed as one of the 32 Ports into which
+wine in casks was allowed to be imported, but the “testing” not permitted
+unless by special grant.
+
+Jan. 6th to 11th. Colder weather than had been experienced in Yarmouth
+within living memory.
+
+Jan. 15th. Meeting at the Town Hall for the relief of the poor in the
+town; £330 subscribed in the room.
+
+Feb. 1st. “Iconoclast” lectured at the Theatre to a crowded house.
+Subject, “What Must a Man Do to be Saved?” Admission, 6d. and 2d.
+
+April 8th. Census taken. The returns were as follows: Population of
+Yarmouth, 13,207 males; 16,881 females—30,088. Gorleston and Southtown,
+2,029 males; 2,456 females—4,485. Houses inhabited in Yarmouth, 6,861;
+uninhabited, 239; building, 73; inhabited in Gorleston and Southtown,
+975.
+
+April 13th. A detachment of the Royal Artillery, comprising 403 men,
+officers included, with 15 women and 19 children, arrived at the Armoury
+from Woolwich.
+
+April 24th. The barque “Harmony,” 300 tons register, or about 450
+burthen, launched from Mr. H. Fellows’ yard, after which a religious
+service was held on board. She was built for carrying Missionaries to
+Labrador, and was the second built by Mr. Fellows for the Moravian
+Mission, the one built in 1833 being of the same name.
+
+May 20th and 21st. Riot in the town between the Royal Artillery and the
+E. N. Militia. About 100 men, armed with sabres, broke out of the
+Armoury, and rushed down the road towards the bridge like wild men, where
+several hundred civilians had congregated, but who fled before the
+soldiers, spreading terror in the neighbourhood. Tradesmen had to close
+their shops.
+
+May 24th. Gable-end of a three-storey house, built on the site of the
+Convent of Blackfriars, in Friar’s Lane, fell out from top to bottom.
+
+May 29th. The Rev. James Tann, 14 years Pastor of the Particular
+Baptists of this town, died.
+
+June 18th. Stormy meeting at the Town Hall respecting the election of a
+Vestry Clerk. The four following days a poll was taken, which resulted
+in the return of Mr. S. B. Cory by a majority of 233 votes. Cory, 856;
+Mr. C. H. Chamberlin, 623. Mr. Cory died in Oct. 1876. (See Aug. 16th,
+1861, and Nov. 1876.)
+
+June 23rd. Rev. H. Squire, Unitarian Minister of this town, terminated
+30 years’ Ministry. On Aug. 5th he was presented with a silver inkstand,
+value £30, by the members of the congregation. He died in London, Aug.
+1869, aged 62.
+
+June 30th. Comet first seen in Yarmouth. Its brightness and length of
+tail rivalled Donati’s, which appeared in 1858.
+
+June. Mons. A. A. Desfougerais appointed as French Maritime Consul and
+Agent in Yarmouth, by the French Government.
+
+June. Mr. F. Danby Palmer passed legal examination in honours, he being
+the first local candidate who obtained that distinction.
+
+June. Lieutenant E. Leeds, R.A., instructor to the Artillery Volunteers,
+presented by the officers and men of the corps with a gold watch and
+chain, as a memento of their esteem.
+
+July 6th. Sir Francis Palgrave, K.H., Deputy-Keeper of her Majesty’s
+Records, died, aged 72 years. He married the daughter of the late Dawson
+Turner, Esq., of Yarmouth, and was Knighted in 1832 for his services and
+attention to Constitutional and Parliamentary literature.
+
+July. Mr. George Tyrrell, builder, of Southtown, received the Government
+contract for altering and re-constructing the Redoubt at Harwich. In
+May, 1862, he also obtained the Government contract for the erection of a
+Fort at Bembridge Town, Isle of Wight, at an outlay of about £40,000.
+
+Aug. 16th. Purse of £70 presented to Mr. S. B. Cory, the newly-appointed
+Vestry Clerk. (See June 18th.)
+
+Aug. Turkish Baths on Regent Road established, but were not in existence
+many months.
+
+Aug. Mr. J. S. Cobb passed his examination at the Royal College of
+Surgeons, and obtained his diploma as a dental surgeon.
+
+Sept. 1st. Mr. F. W. Rolfe played his opening service at St. Peter’s
+Church, and received his appointment as organist. In Nov., 1870, he was
+presented with a purse of £11 by the members of the St. Peter’s Musical
+Association. He died in 1884.
+
+Sept. 12th. Yarmouth and other Norfolk Volunteers reviewed at the Earl
+of Leicester’s Park at Holkham.
+
+Oct. 26th. Alarming Fire at Mr. J. Self’s fish storehouse and
+drying-rooms, in Row 145. Estimated damage, £400. And on Nov. 25th, Mr.
+T. W. Downing’s fish-stores; damage, £200.
+
+Nov. 2nd and 3rd. Heavy gale and great loss of life and property; 19
+shipwrecked seamen received at the Home; the previous ten days, 44.
+
+Nov. 21st. New Lifeboat sent to Yarmouth by the National Institution.
+
+Nov. 26th. A site on the South Denes, for erecting an Iron Mission
+Church and Schools, granted by the Town Council to the Rev. H. R. Nevill.
+The Church was opened for Service on March 4th, 1862. Cost, £500. (See
+May 26th, 1869.)
+
+Nov. 28th. Artillery Volunteers’ First Distribution of Prizes and
+Presentation of eight Saluting Flags, which cost £14, the gift of fifty
+lady subscribers, took place at the Corn Hall.
+
+Nov. The fishing-lugger “Triumph,” of Yarmouth, lost in a gale in the
+North Sea, and 11 hands, principally belonging to Sherringham. Mr. J. W.
+De Caux, assisted by the Mayor (R. Steward, Esq.), collected £52 13s.
+for the widows and orphans.
+
+Nov. The Rev. Hezekiah Martin, B.A., Curate of Caister Church, presented
+by the parishioners with a silver salver as a tribute of esteem.
+
+Dec. 14th. H.R.H. the Prince Consort died, aged 42. During the ensuing
+week all outward manifestations of sorrow were paid in Yarmouth to the
+deceased Prince—shops were partly closed, flags raised half-mast,
+mourning uniform worn by volunteers, &c. On the 23rd the Town Council
+adopted a vote of condolence to her Majesty.
+
+Dec. The Rev. F. C. Skey, late Curate of St. Nicholas’ Church, appointed
+Minor Canon in Bristol Cathedral. A gold pencil case was presented to
+him (Dec. 19th) by the scholars and teachers of St. Peter’s School.
+
+St. John’s School erected.
+
+St. Andrew’s Institute established in Charlotte Street, but removed to
+the North Quay in 1865.
+
+Deaths: Oct. 21st, Mr. David Hogarth, who ably filled the position of
+Postmaster of Yarmouth for upwards of twenty years, aged 68.—Nov. 1st,
+John Goate Fisher, Esq., aged 82.—Nov. 4th, Mr. T. W Chevalier, Head
+Master of the School of Design, aged 30.
+
+
+
+1862.
+
+
+March 1st. 1862 changes of grandsire triples, composed and conducted by
+Mr. William Lee, were rung on eight bells in the Parish Church Steeple.
+
+April 9th. Suffolk Militia Artillery, commanded by Colonel Adair (460
+men), arrived at Southtown.
+
+May 5th. Corner stone of the Bethel laid, and the Chapel opened Aug.
+15th. Cost about £300.
+
+May 23rd. The Priory Musical Class presented Mr. Musgrave with a silver
+inkstand.
+
+May 27th. A portion of the Channel Fleet anchored in the Roadstead. It
+comprised the “Revenge,” 91 guns; “Trafalgar,” 90; “Emerald,” 51;
+“Chanticleer,” 17; and the gunboat “Porpoise.” They waited the arrival
+of the “St. George,” the vessel in which H.R.H. Prince Alfred sailed.
+
+May. C. J. Palmer, Esq., presented the Corporation with a scarlet gown
+and a black gown, originally worn by the Mayors. The former to be worn
+on extraordinary and the latter on ordinary occasions.
+
+June 1st. The man-of-war ship “St. George,” 90 guns, with. 900 men on
+board, joined the Channel Fleet in the Roadstead. On the following
+morning (Monday) a royal salute of 21 guns was fired from the North
+Battery, and a gay display of colours hoisted by every ship in the
+Harbour, in honour of Prince Alfred. The same afternoon the Sailor
+Prince, accompanied by Major Cowell, the Rev. W. Lake Onslow, and the
+Hon. Manners Sutton, landed on the Beach, and proceeded to the South
+Denes, where a cricket match was played by 11 Officers of the Fleet
+against 11 Gentlemen of Great Yarmouth.
+
+June 19th. Review of the Eastern Counties’ Volunteers at Yarmouth. No
+less than 30,000 spectators from all quarters of the country assembled on
+the South Denes to witness the review, which was of the grandest
+description. A dinner was afterwards given to the Volunteers (3,500) and
+about 250 other guests, on the St. George’s Denes, which passed off
+admirably. Purveyor, Mr. J. Franklin, Crown and Anchor. The cost to the
+town was about £530.
+
+July 9th. Blondin, the Niagara rope-walker, appeared at the Victoria
+Gardens.
+
+July 16th. Caister lifeboat, while lying on Caister Beach, was struck by
+lightning during a heavy thunderstorm.
+
+July. H. R. Harmer, Esq., solicitor, appointed a Commissioner to
+Administer Oaths in Admiralty.
+
+Aug. 19th. Sir E. Lacon assumed the command of the Artillery Volunteer
+Corps on the resignation of Major S. C. Marsh.
+
+Sept. 12th. Grand fête of Norfolk Volunteers at Crown Point, Norwich.
+
+Oct. 8th. The celebrated Rev. C. H. Spurgeon preached at the Wesleyan
+Chapel.
+
+Oct. 20th. Fearful gale. About 1,000 vessels sheltered in the
+Roadstead. Five others were reported to have gone down on the Sands with
+their crews.
+
+Nov. 21st. Public meeting at the Town Hall, for raising a fund to
+relieve the distressed Lancashire operatives. £160 was subscribed in the
+room.
+
+Nov. The Trustees of the Municipal Charities received the sanction of
+the Charity Commissioners to erect a Grammar School at Yarmouth, which
+was built and opened July 29th, 1863.
+
+Dec. 20th. High tide. On the Southtown Road the water was a foot deep,
+and many parts of the town were inundated. The tide was higher than that
+recorded in 1816. Mr. T. W. Downing lost the smack “Gem” in the gale.
+
+Dec. 22nd. The brig “Lotus” launched from J. W. Rust’s yard.
+Dimensions—length, 103 ft.; breadth, 24 ft.; depth, 24 ft.; burthen, 258
+tons.
+
+Deaths: Feb. 27th, the Rev. Thomas C. Clowes, formerly Incumbent of St.
+Mary’s Church, and Head Master of the Preparatory Grammar School,
+Southtown, at Ashbocking Vicarage, aged 61.—March 20th, Mr. Henry Danby
+Palmer, third son of George Danby Palmer, Esq., aged 47.—Nov. 12th,
+Nathaniel B. Palmer, Esq., aged 37.
+
+
+
+1863.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Assembly Rooms opened by a company. On Feb. 13th, 1870, the
+Billiard Rooms were destroyed by fire; damage, £700.
+
+Jan. 20th. Smack “Baron Campbell,” belonging to Mr. Yaxley, foundered in
+a heavy gale. The crew, after battling with the fury of the waves for 13
+hours, and being nearly exhausted at the pumps, were gallantly rescued by
+the crew of the smack “Greyhound.”
+
+March 10th. Marriage of Prince Albert Edward with Princess Alexandra of
+Denmark, at Windsor. The display of enthusiasm at Yarmouth somewhat
+resembled the Volunteer Review of June 19th, 1862, with this
+difference—the town in the evening was brilliantly illuminated, and a
+display of fireworks took place in the Market Place. Nearly 600
+Volunteers were entertained by Sir E. Lacon to a sumptuous repast at his
+stores on the North Quay. 4,669 school children were regaled with a tea
+at the town’s expense, which, with all other expenses, incurred an outlay
+of £259. The subscriptions amounted to £322.
+
+March. 19th. The Yarmouth Gas Bill Clauses to incorporate the Company,
+and make further provisions for lighting the town, were agreed to by a
+Committee of the House of Commons. The bill was read a third time, and
+passed March 23rd.
+
+March. The Rev. John Beazor ordained as Deacon by the Bishop of
+Tasmania.
+
+April 18th. A fine otter captured on the Hall Quay.
+
+April. The Royal Marriage Celebration Committee presented R. Steward,
+Esq., and Capt. W. J. Foreman with a silver medal as a souvenir of the
+eventful occasion, and in recognition of their valuable services.
+
+May 12th. Sardinian barque “Mississippi,” with 1,000 tons of cargo,
+sprang a leak and was beached, but got off again by the Gorleston boatmen
+for £300, when (on the 16th) she stranded on the Bar. In June she was
+dry-docked in the yard of Messrs. Fellows and Sons.
+
+May 26th. Charles Marsh, a nigger acrobat, went up the Nelson Monument,
+got outside, and after clambering up the caryatides to the figure of
+Britannia, performed some of his gambols, but accidentally missing his
+footing, fell headlong from the trident to the ground, a distance of 140
+ft., and was killed.
+
+May 31st. First service for the ordaining of priests and deacons held at
+St. Nicholas’ Church by the Bishop of Norwich. Five ordained as deacons
+and four as priests.
+
+June 17th. The Norfolk Agricultural Society held their Annual Show of
+Stock and Implements for the first time at Yarmouth. The prizes offered
+were £558 in money, £53 in silver medals, and £37 in four silver cups.
+
+June 24th. Bishop Hills returned to England upon a visit from British
+Columbia, and preached at St. Nicholas’ Church, Aug. 16th.
+
+June 25th. Mr. N. Clowes, Secretary to the Young Men’s Association, was
+presented with “Routledge’s Edition of the Poets” (19 vols.), as a mark
+of esteem.
+
+June 25th. The Yarmouth Gas Bill read a third time and passed, and
+received the Royal assent June 29th.
+
+June. David Falcke, James Scott, and William Briggs, Esqs., were
+approved as Magistrates by the Lord Chancellor.
+
+July 1st. The barque “Egbert,” 400 tons burthen, launched from Messrs.
+Fellows and Sons’ yard.
+
+July 6th. Two men accidentally killed by the falling of a hatchway
+belonging to the wherry “Rigby,” while at Burgh Water Frolic with a
+freight of 90 or 100 pleasure-seekers, many of whom were precipitated
+into the water.
+
+July 14th. The Channel Squadron, under the command of Admiral Dacres,
+visited Yarmouth Roads. It comprised the “Edgar,” 71 guns; “Black
+Prince,” 41; “Warrior,” 40; “Liverpool,” 39; “Royal Oak,” 35; “Emerald,”
+35; “Resistance,” 16; “Defence,” 16; and the corvette “Trinculo.”
+Totals—293 guns, 6,800 horse-power, and 4,799 men.
+
+Aug. 26th. Memorial stone of the new Baptist Chapel, St. George’s Park,
+laid. Contract for building, £1,500.
+
+Sept. 15th. Review on Mousehold Heath of the Norfolk Volunteers, on
+which occasion Corporal J. Wilshak, of Yarmouth, was presented with the
+Champion’s Prize (£20 and bronze medal) from the hands of Lady Suffield.
+
+Sept. 18th. Messrs. Churchwardens Steward and Aldred presented with a
+silver tea service each, by members of the congregation of St. Nicholas’
+Church, in testimony of their esteem. (See Nov. 23rd, 1879.)
+
+Sept. 26th. First number of _Yarmouth Chronicle_ published by Messrs.
+Steer and Godfrey.
+
+Oct. 3rd. The cutter “Samuel and William” (60 tons), belonging to
+Messrs. Smith and Sons, launched, this being the first built at Runham,
+near the Suspension Bridge. She was built by Messrs. Winter and Pigg.
+The father of the latter built the yacht, “Red Rover,” the property of S.
+Nightingale, Esq.
+
+Oct. Mr. C. C. Newcombe, appointed Postmaster.
+
+Oct. A pedestrian named Elson, of Nottingham, walked for several days
+from Yarmouth to Lowestoft and back three times each day—a distance of
+sixty miles a-day.
+
+Nov. 2nd. The Board of Health decided to borrow £3,000 for extending the
+Parade south, on the suggestion of C. J. Palmer, Esq.
+
+Nov. 9th. R. Steward, Esq., elected as Mayor. On March 10th, 1864, Mr.
+Steward was presented with a testimonial, value £200, subscribed for by
+the town. It comprised an elegant tea and coffee service, a silver
+salver, and a cake basket.
+
+Nov. 16th. The Royal Sea Fisheries Commissioners held an enquiry at the
+Sailors’ Home.
+
+Nov. 20th. Destructive fire at the farm of Mr. J. Hammond, at Gorleston.
+
+Nov. 21st. Mr. Robert Hales, the Norfolk Giant, died in Yarmouth, aged
+43 years. He was born at West Somerton, May 2nd, 1820. In the prime of
+life his height was 7ft. 6in., and he weighed 33 stone. He measured
+round the chest 64in., waist 62in., thigh 36in., calf of leg 21in.,
+across the shoulders 36in. His father was 6ft. 6in., and mother 6ft. in
+height. His brothers averaged 6ft. 5in., and sisters 6ft. 3in.
+
+Nov. 29th. Rear-Admiral Sir J. H. Plumridge, K.C.B., died at Hopton. He
+was distinguished for many gallant services in Egypt, Denmark, Genoa, and
+Bomarsund. He was Knighted in 1855.
+
+Nov. 30th. Mr. H. Panks presented with a silver watch and chain, and a
+book, as a mark of esteem and appreciation of his efficient services as
+organist, by the congregation of St. John’s Mission Room.
+
+Nov. The Rev. W. T. Harrison presented with a handsome pocket communion
+service.
+
+Nov. The lifeboat “Friend of all Nations” launched from Mr. Critton’s
+yard. Cost nearly £400.
+
+Dec. 3rd. Furious gale (more disastrous than recorded May 28th, 1860),
+attended with loss of 17 smacks, 2 schooners, and 1 brig, belonging to
+Yarmouth, and all their crews; also seven other vessels lost off the
+coast. The total number of lives lost was 145 men and boys, leaving 73
+widows and 110 orphan children. Her Majesty’s gunboat “Ruby,” one of the
+vessels despatched from the Humber to search for the missing smacks, was
+lost on Texel Beach. On the 21st, the Government sent from Sheerness the
+steamer “Medusa” (800 tons) to search the North Sea for missing smacks,
+but she returned unsuccessful. On the 28th a meeting was convened at the
+Town Hall by the Mayor, for relieving the sufferers, £222 being
+subscribed in the room, which, with other subscriptions, amounted to
+nearly £2,000, her Majesty heading the list with £100.
+
+The Yarmouth College, South Quay, established; and Sutherland House
+School in 1875.
+
+Dec. 8th. Case of arbitration at the Town Hall between the Corporation
+and the Gas Company as to the value of 10,000 square yards of land for
+building the new Gas Works. The Corporation demanded £7,646, but the
+arbitrator (Mr. Rodwell, Q.C.) awarded £4,106 15s.
+
+Dec. 14th. The schooner “Spray” on fire, and was run ashore near the
+Wellington Pier. She was laden with deals, coal, and coke; valued at
+about £700.
+
+Dec. 16th. Owing to the death of Major S. C. Marsh on Aug. 30th, the
+Artillery Volunteers presented his family with a solid silver working
+model of a field piece, with a miniature officer at the trail end, the
+whole standing on a chased silver plateau and an ebony stand, as a
+memento of Mr. Marsh’s connection with the Corps.
+
+Dec. 17th. Conversazione at the Public Library, many objects of interest
+exhibited.
+
+Great Yarmouth Building Society established.
+
+Deaths: Mar. 25th, William Yetts, Esq., J.P., aged 67.—April 6th, John S.
+Coxon, Esq., who held the office of Postmaster for one year, aged 32.
+April 29th, Joseph G. Plummer, Esq., J.P., aged 58.—May 8th, William T.
+Clarke, Esq., J.P., aged 49.—May 19th, Mr. William Green, many years
+Overseer of the Parish, aged 74.—Sept. 18th, Rosamond Matilda, widow of
+the late Dawson Turner, Esq., at Kirkley, Lowestoft, aged 52.—Sept. 25th,
+John Youell, Esq., A.L.S., aged 89.—Oct. 7th, Ambrose Reeve Palmer, Esq.,
+of Haddiscoe Hall, aged 51.—Nov. 4th, Edmund Reeve Palmer, Esq., for many
+years Registrar of Yarmouth County Court, aged 63.—Nov. 30th, Capt. B.
+Love, E.N.M., aged 71.
+
+
+
+1864.
+
+
+Jan. 28th. Rev. John Walker, M.A., instituted to the Rectory of
+Bradwell; and the Rev. John James licensed to the Curacy of Southtown.
+
+Jan. Rev. T. K. Richmond, six years Curate of St. Nicholas’ Church,
+elected Chaplain of St. George’s Hospital, London. On the 17th of March
+this gentleman was presented with a gold lever watch, value £27, and a
+purse of £10, by a number of parishioners; and a silver communion service
+by the Clergy.
+
+Feb. 10th. The Danish corvette “Neils Juel,” 450 men and 47 guns, and a
+powerful ironclad gunboat captured a Prussian ship outside the sands, and
+after putting a prize crew on board, took her to Copenhagen.
+
+Feb. 27th. D. Tomkins, Esq., elected a member of the College of
+Preceptors.
+
+March 1st. The brig “William and Richard” foundered off the Monument.
+Seven men belonging to the Admiralty cutter “Dolphin,” seven beachmen,
+and five from the screw-collier “Ryhope,” were immersed in the water,
+four being drowned.
+
+March 2nd. Petition presented to the House of Commons by Edward Howes,
+Esq., M.P., from the Haven Commissioners of Yarmouth, in opposition to
+the East Norfolk Railway Bill.
+
+Launches: March 31st, the first barge, “The Garson;” April 26th, barge
+“Whitwell;” July 5th, the barque-rigged vessel “Oriental;” Aug. 20th,
+schooner “Shepherdess.”
+
+March. The Rev. Arthur P. Holme, M.A., licensed by the Bishop of Norwich
+to the Incumbency of St. Andrew’s Church.
+
+March. James Morris Hill, Esq., late Major Military Train, approved of
+by her Majesty to fill the Adjutancy of the 1st Norfolk Artillery
+Volunteers.
+
+April 28th. John Dawson, Esq., admitted a member of the Royal College of
+Surgeons.
+
+July 20th. The East of England Joint Stock Bank (established in Dec.,
+1835) suspended payment, with liabilities amounting to £576,963 7s. 5d.,
+and assets £453,256.
+
+Aug. 1st. Mr. S. Allies appointed Borough Gaoler.
+
+Aug. Rev. A. B. Crosse resigned the Incumbency of St. John’s Church. On
+Dec. 30th this gentleman was presented with a handsome clock, value £30,
+and a purse of 60 guineas, previous to his leaving for Kessingland.
+
+Aug. 15th. Three fishermen out of seven belonging to Cromer lost off the
+Haven’s mouth, out of the crab-boat “Garibaldi.”
+
+Sept. 9th. Review of the members of the Norfolk Rifle Volunteer
+Association on the South Denes, in the presence of 9,000 people. Four
+battalions were reviewed, viz.—1st Norfolk A. V., 178; 1st Norfolk
+Rifles, 356; 2nd Norfolk, 218; and 2nd Norfolk Administrative Battalion,
+294; Norwich Light Horse, 68—numbering in all, officers and men, 1,106.
+
+Oct. 16th. The three-decked steamer “Ontario,” 4,000 tons burthen, 350
+h.p., and laden with 2,000 tons of coal and iron, struck on Hasbro’
+Sands. All efforts to get her off having failed, she was abandoned by
+her crew of 80, inclusive of officers, and on the 21st she foundered. 70
+of the crew, rescued by the tug “Pioneer,” were afterwards forwarded to
+their respective homes by the Shipwrecked Mariners’ Society. The
+“Ontario” was built this year at Jarrow, Durham. Her registered tonnage
+was 2,083, length 370 feet, and depth 48 feet, and her estimated value
+£120,000—£90,000 covered by insurance.
+
+Oct. 21st. Festival service to commemorate the partial restoration of
+St. Nicholas’ Church, which was thrown open for the first time for 200
+years—the time of Cromwell, 1649.
+
+Nov. 15th. The Rev. G. Firth, five years and four months pastor of the
+Independent Chapel, Gorleston, presented with an electro-plated tea
+service, as a mark of esteem, by his friends, previous to his leaving
+Gorleston.
+
+Nov. 24th and following nights, very heavy gales. Six vessels out of
+several hundreds then lying in the Roadstead were driven ashore, and 10
+lives lost off the coast. The barque “Sea Serpent” came ashore 20 yards
+off the Wellington Pier. Through the exertions of Capt. Bevon and Mr. J.
+M. Petts, ten men were brought ashore in the cradle of Manby’s apparatus.
+The s.s. “William Hull,” laden with 600 tons of coal, foundered in St.
+Nicholas’ Gat, and her crew of 16 hands all perished, except one. At
+Gorleston 23 sailors were saved by the beachmen and Manby’s apparatus.
+
+Dec. 7th. A crew of 13 hands gallantly rescued by the Yarmouth lifeboat
+from the Austrian brig “Zornizza,” which foundered on Scroby Sands. The
+National Lifeboat Institution sent the beachmen £25, and they also
+received an acknowledgment of thanks from the Austrian Government.
+
+Dec. 15th. The Haven Bill adopted by the Town Council.
+
+St. Nicholas’ Churchyard contained 3,847 gravestones.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 17th, Wm. Briggs, Esq., J.P., aged 63.—May 7th,
+Lieut.-Colonel C. S. Naylor, at Bognor, aged 75.—May 21st, John
+Brightwen, Esq., partner in Gurney’s banking firm, died at Thorpe, near
+Norwich, aged 81.—July 23rd, George W. Steward, Esq., M.B., M.A., second
+son of the Rev. G. W. Steward, Incumbent of Caister, aged 28.—Oct. 19th,
+the Rev. Mark Waters, Incumbent of St. George’s Chapel, aged 57.—Nov.
+10th, Capt. Barry Haines, R.N.—Nov. 11th, Rev. E. B. Frere, M.A., aged
+82.
+
+
+
+1865.
+
+
+Jan. 8th. Hopton Church destroyed by fire. On Sept. 27th, 1866, the new
+Church was consecrated by the Bishop of Norwich.
+
+Jan. 11th. Mr. Robert Warner Durrell, organist of the Independent
+Chapel, Gorleston, presented with a splendid timepiece by the choir as a
+memento of their esteem; and on Jan. 11th, 1870, an easy chair.
+
+Jan. Sergt. Berry promoted to the rank of Inspector; and on Dec. 15th,
+1870, the town presented him with a gold watch, value £20, and a purse of
+£140 in money, in recognition of his valuable services.
+
+Feb. 1st. Royal Hotel Company proposed to be formed in Yarmouth at a
+cost of £25,000, in 2,500 shares at £10 each. On Jan. 23rd, 1868, 1,182
+shares had been taken by 48 shareholders, and the claims against the
+Company were £7,379 10s., including a mortgage of £3,000 on the Royal
+Hotel, which led to serious litigation.
+
+Feb. 27th. The Haven and Port Bill passed its second reading in the
+House of Commons by a majority of 112.
+
+March 8th. Mr. A. W. Morant appointed to the Town Surveyorship of
+Norwich. His office in Yarmouth was filled by Mr. H. H. Baker, on May
+13th.
+
+March 31st. Mr. J. R. Jones, who had been Head Master of the Government
+School of Navigation since its establishment on Oct. 1st, 1857, resigned
+his appointment, having accepted the post of Head Master of the Board of
+Trade Navigation School at Aberdeen.
+
+June 13th. Lieut. H. R. Harmer presented with a silver salver by the
+Yarmouth Rifle Volunteers, as a mark of esteem on his retiring from the
+corps.
+
+July 12th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., and J. Goodson, Esq., returned to
+Parliament for the Borough. Votes—L., 828; G., 784; A. Brogden, Esq.,
+634; P. Vanderbyl, Esq., 589. J. C. Marshman, Esq., retired from the
+contest in favour of the latter.
+
+Oct. 12th. Henrich Erenschiusen, a Dutch sailor, committed a shocking
+tragedy on a fellow-shipmate by stabbing him through the heart, at the
+City of London Tavern, Charlotte Street. Sentenced to twenty years’
+penal servitude.
+
+Oct. 25th. The lifeboat “James Pearce” launched from Messrs. Mills and
+Blake’s ship-yard.
+
+Dec. The Gospel Hall erected by Mr. T. C. Foreman, subsequently
+proprietor of the _Free Lance_ Newspaper.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 8th, Benjamin Dowson, Esq., aged 77.—Jan. 14th, John Barker,
+Esq.—July 21st, Mr. Matthew Hastings Swann, aged 58. In 1835 this
+gentleman penned and published a “Guide to Yarmouth.”—Nov. 21st, B. Fenn,
+Esq., aged 73.
+
+
+
+1866.
+
+
+Jan. 13th. The lifeboat “Rescuer” upset at Gorleston Pier, and twelve of
+her crew drowned. The names of the rescued were E. Woods, Wm. Austin,
+Geo. Palmer, and Robt. Warner. Eight widows and over thirty orphan
+children were left unprovided for.
+
+Jan. 27th. Exhibition of curiosities, &c., at the Town Hall, closed
+after five weeks.
+
+Feb. St. George’s Denes laid out as a park and promenade, at a cost of
+£449 to the town. June 21st, 1807, an épergne of frosted silver and a
+silver salver were presented to Mr. Edward Stagg, by 200 subscribers, for
+the promoting and laying out of these grounds. A portion of it was laid
+out in 1884 as a lawn tennis ground.
+
+Apr. 23rd. Foundation stone of the Gorleston Wesleyan Chapel laid.
+
+May 7th. First Yarmouth Annual Spring Meeting held.
+
+July 10th. H.M.S. “Dauntless,” 36 guns, and carrying 280 men; July 14th,
+H.M.S. “Trafalgar;” and on the 15th, H.M.S. “Irresistible,” anchored in
+the Roadstead.
+
+July 19th. General holiday. Volunteer Review day; 1,300 Volunteers
+practised on the South Denes.
+
+July 20th. Fishwharf and Tramway Bill passed in the House of Lords.
+
+July 31st. The lifeboat “Leicester,” presented by Mrs. Hodges, launched
+at Gorleston. Cost, £600.
+
+Aug. 16th. Royal Commission of Inquiry into the state of bribery at
+Parliamentary elections opened before Wyndham Slade, Lucius Henry
+Fitzgerald, and George Russell, Esqs., barristers-at-law, at the Town
+Hall. The inquiry lasted 34 days, and over 700 witnesses were examined.
+(See Feb. 15th, 1867.)
+
+Dec. 3rd. The town, through an accident at the Gas Works, put in total
+darkness. Loss of gas estimated at about 100,000 cubic feet, value
+£1,000.
+
+Dec. 12th. Loss of the fishing-lugger “William and Mary,” belonging to
+Mr. Utting, and nine lives, off Pakefield.
+
+Dec. 30th. Meeting at the Town Hall on behalf of the sufferers from a
+colliery explosion in Yorkshire and Staffordshire.
+
+“Chapters on the East Anglian Coast,” in two vols., 800 pages, published.
+_The London Quarterly Review_ of April, 1807, says, “We have seldom met
+with a more elaborate, exhaustive, beautiful, and ably-written guide-book
+and local history.” It was penned by Mr. John Greaves Nall, who died in
+June, 1876.
+
+Messrs. Lacons, Youell, and Co.’s Bank re-erected.
+
+Top of Recent Road, near Town Wall House, widened by the Corporation.
+
+A wooden circus building, on Mr. De Canx’s garden, converted into the
+Regent Hall, and used as a Theatre, &c. It has since been demolished.
+
+Deaths: Feb. 2nd, Mr. W. P. Windham, at Norwich.—Feb. 9th, John Bessey
+Hilton, Esq., aged 44.—Feb. 18th, Isaac Preston, sen., Esq., aged
+92.—Sept. 4th, David Falcke, Esq., J.P., at Paris.—Dec. 18th, Mr. Joseph
+Tomlinson, sen., brewer, aged 78.
+
+
+
+1867.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Oddfellows’ Hall opened in Gorleston.
+
+Jan. 5th. Eighteen hands lost from the brigs “Sarah” and “The Ark,” in
+collision in the South Ham, 500 yards off Gorleston Pier.
+
+Jan. 8th. Mr. F. W. Maryson presented with a silver star, at the Steam
+Packet Tavern, by the Nottingham Order of Oddfellows.
+
+Jan. 12th. Heavy gale. Six vessels lost, and 48 shipwrecked mariners
+afterwards taken to the Sailors’ Home.
+
+Jan. Fish Wharf scheme proposed, and on April 20th the wharf was
+commenced by “turning the sod.” The Fish Wharf and Tramway Bill cost
+£2,481. (See Feb. 16th, 1869.)
+
+Jan. 16th. Loss of the “Eclipse,” at Dieppe, and three lives.
+
+Feb. 15th. The report of the Royal Commissioners laid before the House
+of Commons; March 15th, Petition presented by Sir Edmund H. K. Lacon,
+Bart., against the Disfranchisement of the Borough; May 30th, the Borough
+disfranchised; June 7th, another Petition presented to the House of
+Commons against the Disfranchisement; and one to the House of Lords, July
+29th, but all proved unavailing.
+
+Feb. 22nd. Mr. C. Rumbold appointed as a Relieving Officer.
+
+Feb. 26th. The Elizabethan house of C. J. Palmer, Esq., sold by auction
+for £1,150, and the fixtures for £64 14s. 6d.
+
+March 21st. Mr. S. Durrell resigned the Overseership of Gorleston
+Parish.
+
+April 2nd. First meeting of the Port and Haven Commissioners under the
+new Act of Parliament. H. N. Burroughes, Esq., resigned the
+chairmanship.
+
+April 4th. Foundation stone of the Gourlay Wesleyan Day Schools laid.
+The founder, D. A. Gourlay, Esq., J.P., gave £1,000 towards the building.
+
+April 20th. A party of gentlemen, comprising Messrs. Spence, Fenner,
+Everard, R. Veale, Moore, Silvers, Douglas, Neave, and Harrison, had
+their boat upset on Ormesby Broad, 100 yards from the shore, and narrowly
+escaped drowning.
+
+April 21st. Heavy gale, and loss of the smacks “Swan” and “Talisman” and
+twelve hands.
+
+May 8th. Service of plate presented at the Duke’s Head Hotel to W.
+Heath, Esq., of Ludham Hall.
+
+May 16th. Foundation-stone of the new Primitive Methodist Chapel,
+Queen’s Road, laid. Chapel opened Sept. 26th. Building cost £1,000.
+
+May 20th. Reform meeting. Mr. Edmond Beales, the great Reformer,
+addressed from 2,000 to 3,000 people from the balcony of the Steam Packet
+Tavern.
+
+June 1st. A halibut, weighing 161 lbs., 6 ft. in length, and 30 inches
+across, captured by a smack; and in March, 1868, two were caught off the
+coast—one weighing 198 lbs., and the other 140 lbs.
+
+June 24th. Resolved by the Town Council to have new fire engines and a
+fire escape for the Borough; their capabilities were tested on Sept. 9th.
+On Aug. 20th an engine was provided for Gorleston.
+
+June. Sergeant John Quince presented with a gold-mounted meerschaum pipe
+by the officers of the Artillery Militia.
+
+July 6th. First London daily passenger boat to Yarmouth.
+
+July. E. H. L. Preston, Esq., received from the Belgian Government the
+Decoration of Knight of the Order of Leopold, in recognition of 28 years’
+service as Consul.
+
+Aug. 29th. Roman Catholic Mortuary Chapel opened by the Bishop of
+Demerara. Foundation stone laid on Aug. 15th, 1866, by Lady Stafford.
+
+Sept. 10th. “Routledge’s Magazine for Boys’” lifeboat for Caister
+launched. Built by Messrs. Beeching at a cost of £300.
+
+Sept. Mr. G. B. Kennett, managing clerk to Mr. W. Holt, appointed clerk
+to the Norwich Magistrates.
+
+Sept. Permanent Fund established. The surplus of £500 remaining from
+the relief fund of Dec., 1863, was added to this institution, and in
+Jan., 1868, the Princess of Wales sent a cheque for £25 to this Fund.
+
+Oct. 3rd. The dead body of an infant found wrapped up in a bundle in Mr.
+Knight’s yard; Jane Jarron was examined on 11th, and committed for trial
+at the Assizes on the charge of murder on the 18th. Acquitted Dec. 5th.
+
+Nov. 6th. Mr. James Sharman, keeper of the Nelson Monument, died, aged
+82 years. He was a Trafalgar veteran, and one who assisted Lord Nelson
+in his dying moments.
+
+Nov. 10th. The Rifle Volunteer Drill Hall opened by the Mayor, Captain
+E. P. Youell. Cost £1,200.
+
+Dec. 2nd. High tide; the Southtown Road and various parts of the town
+near the river were inundated, through the banks of Breydon being broken.
+On the following day there was a heavy gale, when the Gorleston lifeboat
+“Rescuer” was again capsized (see Jan. 13th, 1866) through collision with
+the fishing lugger “James and Ellen,” and 23 were drowned, including 11
+of the crew of the “George Kendall,” for whose widows and orphans a
+special donation of £234 was received. The number of men lost off the
+coast was 85, leaving 33 widows and 71 children destitute.
+
+Launches: April 16th, fishing boat “Express,” from Messrs. Hastings
+Brothers’ yard; May 20th, smack “Spring Flower,” from Messrs. King and
+Baker’s yard; July 4th, smack “Pathfinder,” from Messrs. J. and H.
+Beeching’s yard; July 8th, smack “Hermit,” from Mr. A. J. Palmer’s yard;
+Aug. 13th, smack “Mermaid,” from Mr. Rust’s yard; Aug. 20th, model
+pleasure boat “Nonpareil,” from Messrs. Aldred and Morl’s yard; Sept.
+10th, smack “Olga,” from Messrs. Fellows’ yard; Oct. 24th, smack “Silver
+Cloud,” from Messrs. Critten and Clarke’s yard; Oct. 31st, Mr. Lawrie’s
+small steamtug “Enterprise,” she being the first iron vessel built at
+this Port.
+
+Dec. 6th. The Haven Commissioners resolved to borrow £27,188 15s. for
+Haven improvements.
+
+Dec. 26th. An original local Christmas pantomime, entitled _Neptune’s
+Decree_, &c., was produced at the Theatre Royal, written by “Felix,” a
+local author.
+
+Deaths: March 2nd, W. H. Bessey, Esq., J.P.—Dec. 25th, W. Mayes Bond,
+Esq., aged 66.—Dec. 31st, Mr. J. Norman, aged 80.
+
+
+
+1868.
+
+
+Jan. 3rd. The schooner “Roberts” driven on the North Sand near the mouth
+of the Harbour, 300 yards from the shore, and her crew bravely rescued
+out of her shrouds by Mr. J. M. Petts and four beachmen.—The brig “Carl
+Frederick” was lost the same morning on Hasbro’ Sand, with seven of her
+crew, two boys only being saved.
+
+Jan. 9th. F. Diver, Esq., of Yarmouth, commander of the R.M.S. “Roman,”
+presented with a handsome watch, subscribed for by the passengers of the
+ship for having completed a voyage from this country to Table Bay in
+thirty days.
+
+Jan. 23rd. At midnight a destructive fire took place in a shop in the
+Market Row, and three precious lives (a lady named Mrs. Pigg, and two
+children) were sacrificed, and property destroyed and damaged to the
+amount of £3,000.
+
+Feb. 8th. The fishing lugger “Flying Fish” fouled the sunken wreck of
+the barque “Lord Clyde,” and foundered in the Roadstead.
+
+March 6th. The cigar steamship “Walter S. Winans,” of Havre, arrived in
+the Harbour. Dimensions—length, 112 ft.; deck, 66 ft. in length; width
+amidships, 5 ft.; 24 tons register.
+
+April 29th. The brig “Ewerette” foundered opposite the Monument.
+
+April 29th. The Rev. W. T. Harrison, minister of St. John’s Church,
+presented with a chaste silver tea and coffee pot, cream jug, and sugar
+basin, value £50, by 300 of the members of his congregation, previous to
+leaving for Thorpe Morieux, Suffolk. He was succeeded by Rev. R. J.
+Dundas.
+
+May 11th. The Regent Hall, a wooden structure on Regent Road, opened,
+after being converted from a circus to a music-hall. It was pulled down
+in 1874. (See 1866.)
+
+May 23rd. Mr. William Jones died. In the early part of his life he
+served as a seaman in the navy, and was present at several engagements
+under Sir Charles Napier.
+
+June. Robert Cory, Esq., passed his examination and admitted an Attorney
+of the Court of Queen’s Bench and other Courts, and as a Solicitor in
+Chancery.
+
+June 10th. Mr. Robert Clifton, master mariner, died at Southtown, aged
+85. In early life and during the French war he was seized by the
+press-gang while ashore at Newcastle, and carried on board a man-of-war,
+where he served several years till being landed an invalid.
+
+July 13th to 22nd. Chang, the Chinese Giant, aged 22, and nearly 9 ft.
+in height, said to be the largest man in the world, with his wife
+King-Foo, exhibited at the old Corn Hall.
+
+July 18th. C. Woolverton, E. R. Aldred, R. D. Barber, and C. E. Bartram,
+Esqs., sworn in as Magistrates for the Borough.
+
+July 22nd. Horticultural and Floral Fête held at the Assembly Rooms.
+
+July 27th. Balloon ascent by Professor Simmons from the Victoria
+Gardens. This was the first aërial ascent in Yarmouth since Sept. 17th,
+1852.
+
+Aug. 11th. Mr. and Mrs. J. F. Young, the well-known actor and actress,
+presented with a testimonial—an address beautifully written on vellum, a
+port-monnaie, and a sum of money—at the Corn Hall, in recognition of
+their talented aid in an amateur entertainment given at the Regent Hall,
+on June 23rd, on behalf of the Yarmouth Hospital.
+
+Aug. 18th. The corner-stone of the Methodist New Connexion Sunday School
+at Burgh laid by J. A. Horner, Esq., of Burgh Grange.
+
+Aug. James Cherry, Esq., appointed Revising Barrister for Leicester and
+Rutland.
+
+Sept. 23rd. The B battery C brigade of Royal Horse Artillery, under the
+command of Lieut.-Colonel Bishop, arrived at the Armoury.
+
+Oct. 24th. Heavy gale and loss of three vessels. Upwards of sixty
+French fishing boats (1,200 to 1,400 men) sought refuge in the Harbour.
+The s.s. “Ganges,” 1,600 tons, struck on Hasbro’ Sands the previous day.
+
+Oct. The Board of Health Act adopted in Gorleston, and on March 8th,
+1869, 12 members, out of 27 nominated, were chosen for constituting the
+Board.
+
+Nov. 14th. First number of the _Yarmouth Gazette and North Norfolk
+Constitutionalist_ published by Mr. C. W. Godfrey. This journal
+subsequently became the sole property of Mr. E. W. Shortman.
+
+Nov. 19th. The Scotch fishing-boat “Excellent” on fire in the Harbour,
+and was scuttled to extinguish it. Estimated loss, £200.
+
+Nov. 22nd. During a gale the schooner “Seagull” broke the massive piles
+of the Britannia Pier, and smashed 100 ft. away. (See July 13th, 1858.)
+In Oct. 1859, a sloop was driven through, and did damage to the Pier
+amounting to £800 or £900. The Pier has since been shortened 50 ft.
+
+Nov. 26th. The Hon. F. Walpole and Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., elected
+M.P.’s for North Norfolk. Votes—W., 2,630; L., 2,563; Edmund R.
+Wodehouse, Esq., 2,235; Robert T. Gurdon, Esq., 2,078; including Yarmouth
+votes, viz., W., 913; L., 971; Wodehouse, 514; G., 476. On Sept. 15th,
+1869, a Banquet was given at the Drill Hall, at which 800 or 900 persons
+were present, and a testimonial, value £600, was presented to Sir Edmund
+in honour of the successful issue of the petition. The testimonial was a
+magnificent piece of plate, weighing nearly 900 ozs., and consisted of a
+massive centre piece and plateau of silver; the base was flanked by three
+elaborate buttresses supporting brackets, with fluted columns, around
+which were grouped the figures of Agriculture, Commerce, and Art, the
+capital being encrusted with a frieze of lions’ heads and festoons of
+laurels, a figure of Fame crowning the summit. The Hon. F. Walpole died
+on April 1st, 1876; and on April 21st Colonel James Duff was elected M.P.
+for North Norfolk by a majority of 110.
+
+Dec. 7th. The south aisle of St. Nicholas’ Church closed for
+restoration. In 1864 Mr. Seddon, architect, estimated that the
+restoration of the entire church would cost about £23,000.
+
+Dec. 9th. A Grand Concert, under the patronage of the Mayor (S.
+Nightingale, Esq.) and the Mayoress; Right Hon. Lord Sondes, Right Hon.
+Lord and Lady Suffield, Sir E. Lacon, Bart., M.P., and the Deputy-Mayor
+and Mrs. Worship, was given at the Regent Hall. Distinguished
+artistes—Mdlles. Titiens and Sinico, Signors Bulterini and Campi, and Mr.
+Santley. Mr. Wehli, solo pianoforte; and Signor Bevignani acted as
+conductor.
+
+Dec. 10th. The s.s. “City of Hamburg,” plying between this port and
+London, stranded close to the North Pier, and thereby sustained
+considerable damage.
+
+Engine-house and reservoir erected on the north side of the Jetty for
+supplying the Bath House with water. (See 1759.)
+
+An octagonal tower and observatory, 75 ft. high, erected on South Quay by
+the Trinity Corporation.
+
+Launches: Aug. 17th, the carrier cutter “Chieftain,” from Messrs. Smith
+and Son’s yard; Sept. 23rd, the brig “Sultana,” 310 tons, from Messrs.
+Fellows and Son’s yard.
+
+Deaths: Feb. 24th, Mr. Chas. C. Newcombe, postmaster, aged 49.—May 25th,
+Edward Norris Clowes, Esq., Solicitor, New Buckenham, aged 61.—June 2nd,
+Mr. W. Shuckford, 15 years Governor of the Workhouse, aged 62.—June 7th,
+Thomas Bunn, Esq., Corn Merchant, and an Alderman, at Southtown, aged
+87.—Sept. 18th, Captain Robert Bensley Davie, Commander of the Cape mail
+steamer “Saxon,” at Southampton, aged 37.—Sept. 18th, John Palgrave,
+Esq., son of the late William Palgrave, Esq., Collector of Custom Dues at
+Yarmouth, and afterwards at Dublin, aged 55.—Nov. 2nd, John D’Ade, Esq.,
+at Southtown, aged 86.—Dec. 5th, Mr. W. C. Nutman, many years
+Relieving-officer, aged 45.—Dec. 27th, Richd. Ferrier, Esq., Brewer, aged
+73.
+
+
+
+1869.
+
+
+Jan. 25th. The Chancellor (E. Howes, Esq., M.P.) decided the
+long-pending question of removing St. Nicholas’ Church organ from the
+west end of the south aisle to the North transept, in the affirmative.
+This grand old organ, built by Jordan, Bridge, and Bayfield, in 1733;
+repaired by England (Jordan’s grandson) in 1812, and by Gray in 1840; was
+removed to the north transept in Feb., 1869.
+
+Jan. Gaol Street Congregational Chapel (built in 1773) closed, and
+pulled down for the purpose of building the Middlegate Church.
+
+Feb. 9th. The North-end Church Mission Room opened. Cost about £100.
+Mr. W. Wright was the architect.
+
+Feb. 16th. The Fish Wharf, 2,251 ft. in length, shed 750 ft., completed.
+Total cost, £20,627. The sum borrowed and advanced by the Corporation
+for the works was £20,502 6s.; total amount of annual outgoings estimated
+at £1,587 17s. Offices and premises let at £565 16s.
+
+Feb. 23rd. While the s.s. “Buccleuch,” was on the point of leaving the
+wharf in Yarmouth Harbour for Hull, with 20 passengers on board, her
+boiler burst, and several persons were scalded and otherwise slightly
+injured, the Captain (W. Wright) being seriously hurt. The steamer was
+much damaged, and her fittings amidships blown to a considerable
+distance.
+
+March 1st. The full-rigged ship “Hannah Pattersen,” laden with 1,500
+tons of coal, came ashore abreast of the Workhouse, where she became a
+total wreck. Insured for £2,000.
+
+March 2nd. Ten tenders opened for re-building the south aisle of St.
+Nicholas’ Church, and Mr. Williams, of Cardiff, was selected, his
+estimate for the work being £4,755, out of which sum £480 was deducted
+for old materials.
+
+March 9th. Mr. C. L. Chipperfield presented by Major Foreman with a
+handsome timepiece, in acknowledgment of his valuable services as
+Secretary of the Yarmouth Building Society.
+
+March 10th. The smack “Silver Cloud” run into by the steamer “Earl of
+Durham,” off Winterton, and foundered with loss of all hands.
+
+April 3rd. Schooner “Hickman,” 98 tons, struck by lightning.
+
+April 15th. The Great Yarmouth Water Works Bill, for further extending
+its powers in a drainage scheme, passed in the House of Lords.
+
+April 20th. The King of Prussia, through the Ambassador at the Court of
+St. James’, awarded Capt. Balls, of the schooner “George,” of Yarmouth, a
+gratuity of £10 for rescuing the crew of the Prussian schooner
+“Christine.”
+
+April 22nd. New organ opened at Belton Church by Mr. F. W. Rolfe,
+organist of St. Peter’s, Yarmouth.
+
+April 28th. Duke’s Head Hotel sold to Mr. J. Davy for £1,525.
+
+April 29th. The iron s.s. “Lady Flora,” 1,000 tons burthen, 250 feet in
+length, ran ashore on Caister beach, and after unremitting efforts on the
+part of Mr. T. B. Carr, of Hull, Mr. Beeching, of Yarmouth, and a
+numerous gang of men, who bodily raised her massive weight on to blocks,
+she was again successfully launched on July 8th in the presence of
+several hundred spectators. In Dec. this steamer was totally lost in the
+Baltic.
+
+May 19th. The Gorleston Company of the Yarmouth Rifle Corps first met
+for recruit drill. First competition prize match, Oct. 14th.
+
+May 26th. First stone of the St. James’ Church laid by the Very Rev. Dr.
+Goulburn, Dean of Norwich.
+
+June 4th. Violent explosion of gas at Mr. Gambling’s office at
+Southtown, doing damage in and around the premises to the extent of £200
+or £300.
+
+June 9th. Charles Cory, Esq., 18 years Town Clerk of the Borough, died
+at Lugano, Switzerland, aged 54 years. It was decided on June 28th to
+place a memorial window to his memory in St. Nicholas’ Church. His
+father and grandfather both held the office of Chief Magistrate of the
+Borough; the former died in 1840.
+
+June 24th. Charles Diver, Esq., appointed as Town Clerk at a salary of
+£200, and £50 extra as Clerk to the Local Board of Health. (See Nov.
+30th, 1875, and Dec. 5th, 1883.)
+
+Aug. 24th. Comer stone of the residence of the Head Master of the
+Grammar School laid next the site for the intended new Grammar School.
+
+Aug. The Hon. and Rev. Edward Pellew, M.A. (about eight years Incumbent
+of St. Nicholas’ Church, and which he resigned in 1844 in favour of the
+Ven. H. Mackenzie, M.A.), died at Crowe Hill, Nottinghamshire, aged 69.
+
+Sept. 6th. Two gentlemen started on a voyage by the rivers and streams,
+a distance of about 130 miles—from Hitchin to Yarmouth, _via_ Norwich and
+Reedham—in the canoes “Wanderer” and “Ruby,” which adventurous journey
+was completed in six days.
+
+Sept, 9th. The French iron steamer “Fulton,” worth about £5,000, and
+cargo £650, through collision with the brig “Thomas Gales,” opposite the
+Monument, foundered, but her crew were saved. Insured for £3,200.
+
+Sept. 15th. Mr. T. Todd’s smack “Ann” foundered.
+
+Sept. 20th. Mr. H. Stonex presented by the Yarmouth Musical Society with
+a gold-mounted ivory baton and an inlaid walnut music-stool as a token of
+their appreciation of him as their conductor.
+
+Sept. 23rd. Mr. William James Palmer admitted a licentiate of the
+Society of Apothecaries.
+
+Sept. Commander T. S. Gooch, R.N., son of Admiral Gooch of Yarmouth,
+appointed to the command of H.M.S. “Beacon,” on the coast of Africa.
+
+Oct. 5th. Mr. Thomas H. Colley, on resigning the office of House Surgeon
+at the Yarmouth Hospital, after 14 years’ service, was presented at the
+Town Hall with a gold watch and chain, value about £40, and a purse of
+250 guineas, by 500 subscribers, for his zeal and kindness in the
+discharge of his duties.
+
+Oct. 19th. Terrific gale. More than 70 smacks put in disabled, and some
+seven lost their crews (41 men), besides 14 other men washed overboard;
+13 widows and 25 children left destitute.
+
+Oct. 29th. The Italian barque “Oceana Antonio,” 529 tons, ran ashore
+south of the Wellington Pier.
+
+Dec. 20th. Gas explosion at Messrs. Bracey and Son’s counting-house,
+whereby two persons were injured.
+
+Launches: Feb. 1st, the schooner “Maria,” from Mr. Rust’s yard after
+extensive repairs.—Oct. 11th, the smack “Alice,” 40 tons register, from
+Mr. Rust’s yard.—Nov. 12th, the self-righting lifeboat “Penny Readings,”
+33 feet long, cost £500, launched at Lynn, the boat having been built in
+Yarmouth.—Nov. 25th, the smack “Cambria,” from Messrs. Smith’s yard.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 11th, Arthur Steward, Esq., aged 68.—March 4th, William Jex,
+Esq., Master of the Hopton Hunt, aged 68.—April 14th, William Hill
+Winmill, Esq., of Gorleston, aged 35.—Aug. 10th, Edward Trafford, Esq.,
+of Wroxham.—Dec. 8th, Mr. Stephen Hardingham, aged 74.
+
+
+
+1870.
+
+
+Jan. 2nd. New organ at Roman Catholic Church opened.
+
+Feb. 14th. The schooner “St. Cyran” came ashore south of the Britannia
+Pier, and the crew rescued by the rocket apparatus; the Austrian brig
+“Giovanning” came ashore in the South Ham; the steamer “Sea Queen,” 677
+tons burthen or 903 dead weight, laden with 1,100 tons of coal, wrecked
+off Yarmouth, and her crew of 24 hands perished; and the barque
+“Victoria” wrecked on Gorleston Beach, 500 yards from the shore, and out
+of a crew of 16 but fire were rescued.
+
+Feb. 15th. The schooner “Favourite” came ashore between the Jetty and
+Wellington Pier, and the crew, except one boy, saved; and on the same
+morning, the crew of the lifeboat “Friend of All Nations” courageously
+proceeded out of the harbour to a vessel in the South Ham, and the
+perilous venture of the crew was hailed with lusty cheers from a crowd
+assembled on the Gorleston Pier. In these gales the smack “Chance It”
+was burnt to the water’s edge off Yarmouth, and the crew gallantly
+rescued by the smack “William and Ann,” of this port.
+
+Feb. 23rd. The organ at St. Nicholas’ Church, after being repaired by
+Messrs. Hill, of London, at a cost of £820, was opened by a grand choral
+service. Before removal it contained 2,133 pipes, which number has been
+increased to 2,873, viz., great organ 1,311, swell 908, choir organ 504,
+pedal organ 150; 45 stops and 7 couplers.
+
+Feb. Rev. A. P. Holme appointed by the Bishop of Chester to the Rectory
+of Tattenhall, Cheshire; and on Mar. 1st the rev. gentleman was presented
+with a silver inkstand, value £25, marble timepiece £5, and an
+electro-plated cruet stand.
+
+March 5th. Collision in the Roadstead between the s.s. “Chester,” value
+£8,000, and s.s. “Thames,” the former being run ashore north of the
+Britannia Pier.
+
+March 20th. Fire on board the iron s.s. “Emily.”
+
+April 27th. The first portion of St. James’ Church, which cost about
+£1,000, was opened by the Bishop of Columbia. The entire building, when
+finished, will cost £8,000 or £10,000.
+
+April 28th. The south aisle of St. Nicholas’ Church, after being
+rebuilt, opened with a full choral service, the Lord Bishops of Rochester
+and Norwich officiating in the service. This service was the grandest
+since Aug., 1848, when Dr. Stanley and Dr. Wilberforce preached at the
+opening services, after the old galleries, pews, &c., had been swept
+away. The Church covers an area of 23,085 square feet; is 228 ft. long
+and 110 ft. wide, transept 148 ft.; and will accommodate 5,500
+worshippers.
+
+April. Captains Spencer Smyth, R.N., and C. Dent promoted to the rank of
+Rear-Admirals. The former served in several naval engagements from
+March, 1803 (when he entered as Midshipman on board the “Dreadnought,” 98
+guns), to Oct. 22nd, 1827, the date he was promoted to the rank of
+Commander; and from 19th of March, 1833, to Oct., 1835, he filled the
+position of Assistant-Commander of the Coastguard at Yarmouth; and
+promoted to Captain on the reserve list F.G., July 28th, 1851, for
+meritorious services. (See Aug. 3rd.) Admiral Dent also served in
+several similar engagements since the year 1810.
+
+May 18th. Gaol Street altered to its original name, Middlegate Street.
+
+May. Baptist Chapel in Row 14 sold to Sir E. H. K. Lacon, and converted
+into a beer store. In excavating, an immense leaden coffin was
+discovered, besides the human bones of persons long since departed this
+life, which were re-interred. On Aug. 25th the cornerstone of the new
+Chapel on Wellesley Road was laid. (See April 7th, 1871.)
+
+May 30th. Lord Mahon, eldest son of Earl Stanhope, returned as Member of
+Parliament for East Suffolk, including Gorleston. Votes—Mahon, 3,456;
+Colonel Sir Shafto Adair, Bart., 3,285; including Gorleston votes, M.,
+245; A., 183.
+
+June 6th. Mr. E. Cattermoul, librarian, presented with a watch, value
+£25, and a cheque for £31 10s., by the subscribers to the Public library.
+
+July 12th. Middlegate Congregational Church rebuilt and opened. This
+building alone cost £4,000, the architect being Mr. J. T. Bottle, of
+Yarmouth.
+
+July 18th. John Bately, Esq., of Southtown, was admitted a licentiate of
+the Royal College of Physicians of London, having passed on Sept. 24th,
+1864, the examination in Arts at Apothecaries’ Hall; on May 6th, 1868,
+admitted a member of the Royal College of Surgeons; and on July 2nd of
+the same year, a licentiate of the Society of Apothecaries of London. On
+October 1st, 1868, this gentleman, at the opening of the Medical Session
+of Queen’s College, Birmingham, by Lord Littleton, received from the
+hands of the Bishop of Worcester the Council Prize of the Sydenham
+College—the highest honour the College could confer.
+
+July 27th. Mr. M. E. Sturge, the newly-appointed bandmaster of the East
+Norfolk Militia, presented with a richly-chased ebony and gold baton by
+the members of the band, as a mark of their respect and esteem.
+
+Aug. 3rd. Police-constable Shreeve gallantly rescued a lady, who had
+fallen overboard while in the act of landing from the London passenger
+steamer “Albion,” from drowning.
+
+Aug. 3rd. Mr. W. S. Stanford appointed Harbour Master in the place of
+Rear-Admiral S. Smyth.
+
+Aug. 7th. H.M.S. “Penelope” put into Yarmouth, but left on the 12th.
+This ironclad vessel, under the command of Lieut. Mogel, is a double
+screw corvette, 600 horse-power, 3,096 tons, carries ten guns, and a crew
+of 400 all told.
+
+Aug. 8th. Edward Youell, Esq., died at Yarmouth, aged 89 years. This
+much respected gentleman was a partner for 42 years in the banking firm,
+of Lacons, Youell, and Co., from which he retired in 1863, having been in
+the house nearly 70 years.
+
+Aug. 8th. A fishing trawler driven into the new works of the Jetty (see
+Aug. 20th, 1808), carrying away one of the piles, and knocking down the
+pile-driving machine, which fell on her deck and completely crushed it.
+
+Aug. Mr. William James Palmer, L.S.A., admitted a Member of the Royal
+College of Surgeons.
+
+Aug. 18th. Mr. J. S. Dominy, previous to leaving for York, resigned the
+position of Head Master of the Government School of Art in favour of Mr.
+J. F. Ryan.
+
+Aug. 20th. Mr. John Harrington gallantly rescued two men from drowning
+on Yarmouth Beach; and during the present year he was instrumental in
+saving the lives of two others, for which he was awarded a testimonial on
+vellum by the Royal Humane Society.
+
+Aug. 23rd. Great Yarmouth Annual Marine Regatta took place. The first
+Annual Roads Regatta was held Aug. 1st, 1834.
+
+Sept. 1st. Meeting convened by the Mayor at the Town Hall on behalf of
+the sick and wounded in the Franco-German war; £297 6s. 7d. collected in
+the town, out of which sum £291 16s. was forwarded, when the list closed
+in Jan., 1871, to the National Society.
+
+Sept. 22nd. S. J. F. Stafford, Esq., surgeon, presented with an elegant
+crystal-and-gold claret jug, and on Dec. 29th with a silver salver by the
+Nottingham Order of Oddfellows, as a token of their esteem.
+
+Sept. Miss Emma Pearson, daughter of the late Capt. Pearson, of
+Yarmouth, sacrificed the comforts of her home to undergo suffering and
+privation in a foreign country as head nurse amidst the carnage of battle
+fields, and too much cannot be said in praise of her conduct. On being
+invited by Count Bernstoff to the Prussian Embassy, she received many
+merited thanks for her kindness and attention to the German wounded.
+(See Aug., 1872.)
+
+Oct. 14th. Heavy gale, in which the “Ex,” of Yarmouth, foundered; and on
+the 16th, the lugger “Proverb,” of Gorleston, and six other vessels.
+
+Oct. 24th and 25th. The most beautiful display of the Aurora Borealis
+witnessed since 1707.
+
+Nov. 18th. The s.s. “M. E. Clarke” totally lost on Hasbro’ Sands, and
+her crew of 16 hands landed at Cromer.
+
+Nov. 26th. The s.s. “Dolphin,” with cattle for London, towed into
+Yarmouth Roadstead. To save the vessel, 150 bullocks and 250 sheep were
+thrown overboard.
+
+Dec. 13th. The catch of herrings this season up to this date was 18,394
+lasts, which realised no less a sum than £180,000. One boat brought in
+142 lasts, another 132 lasts, and others were almost equally successful.
+Last year’s catch was about 13,221 lasts; and in 1868, 15,476 lasts. 12
+vessels left with 28,390 barrels of bloaters for exportation.
+
+During the summer season, the town was visited by upwards of 78,000
+people, viz., 63,000 by rail, and 15,000 by the passenger steamers
+“Albion” and “Seine.”
+
+A mackerel, 19 in. long, 10½ in. in girth, and weighing 2 lbs. 11 ozs.,
+brought ashore.
+
+One hundred and fifty-six fully-licensed public-houses, 16 hotels, and 88
+beer-houses, including Gorleston—making a total of 260.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 9th, Thomas Brightwen, Esq., J.P., senior local partner in
+the banking firm of Messrs. Gurneys, Birkbeck, and Co., aged 57.—Feb.
+24th, D. Stewart, Esq., aged 79.—Feb., Mr. Henry Jay, shipowner, and
+formerly a Member of the Corporation.—April 4th, the Rev. John Meffin, 50
+years minister of the Countess of Huntingdon Connexion, aged 93.—May
+25th, John Branch, Esq., aged 74.—May 31st, Mr. George Alexander, artist,
+aged 64.—June 1st, at Yarmouth, Alex. John, son of the late Samuel
+Grimmer, Esq., of Haddiscoe Hall, aged 61.—July 21st, Mr. Samuel Cubitt
+Richmond, merchant, a Member of the Town Council.—Oct. 6th, at
+Portsmouth, Col. Edwin Wodehouse, C.B., R.A., Aide-de-camp to the Queen,
+eldest son of the late Admiral the Hon. Philip Wodehouse, aged 53.—Oct.
+17th, Mr. Edward Stagg, a Member of the Town Council, aged 57 (see Feb.,
+1866).—Nov. 14th, C. E. Bartram, Esq., J.P., and Town Councillor, aged
+72.—Nov. 30th, Henry Holt Barber, Esq., a Member of the Town Council,
+aged 38.—Dec. 19th, Mr. Henry Fellows, shipbuilder, at Southtown, aged
+69.
+
+The cost of lighting the town (330) lamps with gas this year was £1,178
+12s.
+
+Launches: Feb. 14th, the smack “Valentine;” June 20th, the brigantine
+“Ethel,” 100 feet long, and 200 tons register, belonging to W. J.
+Foreman, Esq., launched, after being repaired, from Mr. Rust’s yard; Aug.
+29th, the new trawling smack “Bonny Boys;” Oct. 1st, the fishing lugger
+“Guiding Star;” Nov. 17th, the lifeboat “Bolton,” built by Messrs.
+Beeching, of Yarmouth, publicly inaugurated at Kessingland; Nov. 19th,
+trawling smack “Statesman;” Dec. 14th, smack “Galatea.”
+
+
+
+1871.
+
+
+Jan. 3rd. A male otter caught in one of the Broads near Yarmouth. It
+weighed 30 lbs., and was four feet long, the tail alone measuring 21
+inches.
+
+Jan. 9th. Lady King, late of Telegraph House, died at Maddingley Hall,
+Cambridge.
+
+Jan. 13th. Race for £100 on the ice covering the Southtown marshes,
+between Mr. Barnes’ pony (ridden by the owner) and an excellent skater
+named Woodhouse. The rough-shod pony won by several yards.
+
+Jan. 13th. Public subscriptions for aiding the wounded in the
+Franco-German war amounted to £297 6s. 7d. Jan. 27th. Forty-five screw
+steamers passed up through the Roadstead within three hours.
+
+Jan. 18,709 lasts of herrings caught during the last voyage, or 5,353
+lasts more than the previous year’s catch.
+
+The rateable value of the Borough as per last poor rate, £96,556 10s.,
+and the number of ratepayers 9,750.
+
+Seventy-five schools provided accommodation for 5,370 pupils, viz.,
+Yarmouth, 65 schools, 4,587 children; Gorleston and Southtown, 10
+schools, 781 children.
+
+The total receipts of the Board of Health for the past year were £6,819
+8s. 8d., and the expenditure £6,698 19s.
+
+Feb. 4th. Robert Steward, Esq., J.P., died at Cambridge, aged 57. This
+gentleman was five times Mayor of the Borough, and was also a Member of
+the Town Council for upwards of 20 years.
+
+Feb. 7th. Fire in Broad Row at the shop of Mr. J. H. Lay. About £100
+worth of damage done.
+
+Feb. 18th. Mantby Hall destroyed by fire.
+
+Feb. Two whitings caught by the smack “Dutch Trader”—one measured 26
+inches and the other 24 inches.—The number of fishing boats belonging to
+Yarmouth, according to a Parliamentary return, amounted to 900, of the
+aggregate tonnage of 14,788, giving employment to 4,051 men and 530 boys.
+
+March. Lieut. Fyson appointed Captain of the 2nd Company of Rifle
+Volunteers on the retirement of Capt. Tomlinson.
+
+C. C. Aldred, Esq., appointed a Justice of the Peace for East Suffolk in
+place of the late R. Steward, Esq.
+
+March 3rd. Police-constable George Shreeve met with a fatal accident by
+falling from the fire escape at the Police Station. (See Aug. 3rd,
+1870.)
+
+March 29th. Mr. A. D. Stone purchased the barque “Frederica,” with
+stores, &c., for £1,425.
+
+April 3rd. Census taken. Population of Yarmouth, 33,880; Gorleston and
+Southtown, 6,645; exclusive of about 700 absentees at sea. Number of
+houses: Yarmouth, 8,098; Gorleston, 1,534. Population of surrounding
+villages: Belton, 582; Bradwell, 387; Burgh Castle, 409; Fritton, 221;
+Hopton, 309; Ashby, 95; Blundeston, 716; Corton, 530; Flixton, 52;
+Gunton, 73; Herringfleet, 230; Lound, 422; Oulton, 860; Somerleyton, 592;
+Flegg Hundreds, 9,381.
+
+April 7th. The new Tabernacle on Wellesley Road opened for Divine
+worship. It cost £2,496. (See May, 1870.)
+
+April 19th. Mr. H. Fenner’s smack “Sebastopol” destroyed by fire whilst
+at sea.
+
+April 19th. Edmund Girling, Esq., formerly in Messrs. Gurneys and Co.’s
+bank, died in London, aged 75. He was a talented artist.
+
+April 22nd. The screw steamer “Kestrel,” with emigrants for America
+(about 150), run down by the screw collier “Frankland,” near Cromer. All
+hands saved.
+
+April 24th. The smack “Otter,” launched.
+
+April. A beautifully-stained window placed in St. Nicholas’ Church to
+the memory of the late John Goate Fisher, Esq., Mayor of the Borough in
+1820.
+
+The number of wherries registered as belonging to the river Bure was 103,
+of 1,846 tons burthen.
+
+May 4th. Mr. J. R. Baumgartner passed his examination at Apothecaries’
+Hall.
+
+May 6th. Richard Hammond, Esq., J.P., died at Yarmouth, aged 78. This
+much-respected gentleman was the oldest Magistrate of the Borough, having
+been called to the Bench in 1841; he was also a Port and Haven
+Commissioner. On the Bench he once remarked that our smacksmen “earned
+their money like horses, but spent it like asses.”
+
+Under the general poor rate and compounds in Yarmouth, there were 5,136
+tenements, of the total value of £81,222 10s.
+
+May 31st. David A. Gourlay, Esq., J.P., died at Yarmouth, aged 88 years.
+He was elected Mayor of the Borough in 1849, and was for many years a
+respected member of the Town Council. (See April 4th, 1867.)
+
+June 6th. Salmon Palmer, J. W. de Caux, and Garson Blake, Esqs.,
+nominated by the Town Council as new Magistrates for the Borough.
+
+June 10th. Nearly 50 porpoises observed disporting themselves in the
+Roadstead.
+
+June 13th to 24th. The D. Battery B. Brigade of Royal Horse Artillery
+encamped on the North Denes, under the command of Captain Strangways.
+120 rank and file, having 116 horses, and 6 9-pound rifle-loading guns,
+&c.
+
+June 21st. Messrs. F. S. Smyth and R. G. Bately acquitted themselves
+satisfactorily in their preliminary examinations at the Royal College of
+Surgeons, London.
+
+June. Major W. J. Foreman, 1st Norfolk Artillery Volunteers, passed his
+examination and received a certificate of efficiency at the School of
+Instruction formed at Woolwich, under Lieut.-Colonel Woolsey, R.A.
+
+June. Messrs. J. T. Waters, F. Burton, and F. W. Dendy passed final
+examination at the London Incorporated Law Society.
+
+July 9th. Fire on the fishing premises of Messrs. Bland Brothers,
+Queen’s Road. A public subscription was made on their behalf.
+
+July 13th. Boat accident in the Roadstead, by which a man and two boys,
+out of a crew of five, were drowned, the youths being members of a
+Norwich Church Choir.
+
+July 15th. The 1st Suffolk and (on the 18th) 1st Norfolk Rifle
+Volunteers encamped for a week on the North Denes. The former mustered
+in all about 600 men.
+
+July 26th. H.M.S. “Repulse,” 12 guns, 3,749 tons burthen, 800 h.p.,
+commanded by Capt. Rollins, came into the Roads to embark 50
+coastguardsmen.
+
+July 30th. A terrific thunder peal, the like not having been heard for
+many years. The electric fluid did a considerable amount of damage to
+the residence of Mr. Hinchman Hammond.
+
+Aug. 1st. The new smack “Zephyr,” on Aug. 3rd the fishing boat “Henry
+and Edmund,” and on Aug. 7th the dandy smack “Coral” launched. Since
+August last year 30 smacks and fishing boats had been launched at the
+various shipyards in Yarmouth and Gorleston.
+
+Aug. 7th. Miss E. Pearson, accompanied by Miss L. E. MacLaughlin, paid a
+visit to the Sailors’ Home, having just returned from the Franco-German
+War. In October these two ladies had conferred upon them the bronze
+cross and diploma of the Society de Secours aux Blessés of France, in
+recognition of their services on the battle fields of Metz, Sedan, and
+Orleans. (See Sept., 1870, Aug., 1872, and Aug. 8th, 1876.)
+
+Aug. 11th. Fatal accident to Mr. Henry Worlledge, third son of the
+County Court Judge, while bathing at Folkestone.
+
+Aug. 14th. E. P. Youell, Esq., who had for 11 years previous been
+Captain of the 2nd Company Rifle Volunteers, was presented by the members
+of his company at the Drill Hall with a handsome silver salver, value
+£13, as a mark of esteem.
+
+Aug. 15th. Mrs. Levina Onslow died at Yarmouth, aged 75 years. This
+lady was the widow of the late Capt. John James Onslow, R.N.,
+post-captain in H.M.’s Royal Navy, and last commanding H.M.S. “Daphne,”
+as senior officer in New Zealand in 1845; and mother of the late Rev. W.
+Lake Onslow, M.A., R.N., formerly chaplain on board the “St. George” with
+the Duke of Edinburgh, and subsequently domestic chaplain to the Prince
+and Princess of Wales at Sandringham. (See June 1st, 1862.) The Rev.
+Onslow was educated as a boy at the old Grammar School, under the Rev. T.
+C. Clowes, M.A., of Queen’s College, Cambridge, and his grandfather, as
+Admiral, commanded the squadron in the Roads after the Camperdown action.
+
+Aug. 15th. A congratulatory address voted by the Town Council to Sir
+James Paget, on her Majesty conferring upon him a baronetcy. Sir James
+is the son of the late Samuel Paget, Esq., a long resident in this town.
+The same honour was conferred by George IV. in 1821 on Astley Cooper,
+Esq., son of Dr. Cooper, minister of St. Nicholas’ Church. (See June
+15th, 1858.)
+
+Aug. 15th. Brigantine “Edward,” belonging to Mr. W. J. Foreman,
+launched, after extensive repairs, from Mr. Rust’s yard. The same
+morning, a new lugger, belonging to Mr. G. Palmer, was launched from the
+same shipbuilder’s yard.
+
+Aug. 17th. Tenders opened for laying a common sewer through Gorleston
+and Southtown, viz., 350 feet run of from 2 to 3½ feet brick sewer, and
+about 5,500 feet run of pipe sewer, from 9 to 15 inches in diameter. A
+tender of £1,725 was accepted by the Gorleston Board of Health. (See
+June 25th, 1872.)
+
+Aug. 23rd. The sale of Mr. J. Tomlinson’s business premises, Howard
+Street, realised £11,390.
+
+Aug. 25th. Fire at Mr. C. Garwood’s fish-house in Charlotte Street; very
+little damage done.
+
+Aug. 28th. H.M.’s paddle-frigate “Terrible,” 1,850 tons burthen, 800
+horse power, 19 guns, commanded by Capt. Travenen, passed through the
+Roadstead.
+
+Aug. 31st. The Yarmouth Horticultural Society’s first show, held in St.
+George’s Park, which was entirely enclosed with boarding, was a grand
+horticultural and floral fête, and patronised by most of the élite of the
+town. The East Norfolk Militia and Artillery Militia bands played at
+intervals during the day.
+
+Aug. H.R.H. the Prince of Wales accepted the hon. colonelcy of the
+Norfolk Artillery Militia, rendered vacant by the death of Lord Hastings.
+
+Sept. Mons. A. A. Desfougerais, Vice-Consul to the French Government,
+after 11 years’ residence in Yarmouth, obtained an appointment in the
+Foreign Office in Paris. On Sept. 22nd this gentleman was presented with
+a claret jug and cup, value £40, as testimony of respect.
+
+Sept. 11th. The dandy smack “Fern,” 54 feet long, 7 ft. 2 in. deep, and
+32 4-100ths tonnage, launched from Mr. R. Rust’s yard.
+
+Sept. 17th. Organ at St. George’s Chapel re-opened after being restored.
+
+Sept. 17th. The Rev. C. Voysey, B.A., late Vicar of Heaulaugh, preached
+at the Unitarian Chapel.
+
+Sept. 22nd. The smack “Maria and Isabella,” belonging to Mr. Seago, of
+this port, ran into by the barque “Rock City,” near the Dogger Bank,
+where she foundered, and four of her crew were drowned.
+
+Sept. 25th. The captain of the passenger steamer “Albion,” plying
+between Yarmouth and London, fined £6 11s. for having on board 448
+passengers, or 111 more than the vessel was chartered to carry.
+
+Sept. 29th. The new General Post Office, Regent Street, opened.
+
+Sept. 29th and 30th. The brig “New Fair Trader,” and the fishing lugger
+“Black-eye’d Susan,” of this port, received much damage.
+
+Oct. Number of persons by excursion trains during the summer
+was—Vauxhall Station, 47,176; Southtown, 35,383; total, 82,559. Last
+season, V., 32,103: S., 26,009; total, 58,112.
+
+Oct. 4th. The schooner “John Watson,” belonging to Messrs. Watling, of
+this port, collided with the barque “Thomas Knox,” in the Roadstead, and
+the former sunk. Crew saved.
+
+Oct. 5th. Mr. William Mallam Vores admitted a licentiate of the Society
+of Apothecaries.
+
+Oct. 16th. The screw steamer “Annie Bronghton,” 120 h.p., 782 tons
+register, 230 feet long, 32 ft. beam, drawing 19 ft. of water, and valued
+at £22,000, while on a voyage from Newcastle to Alexandria with 1,650
+tons of coal, got on Hasbro’ Sands, but was assisted off after four days’
+hard exertions. The salvage claims amounted to £1,300.
+
+Oct. 16th. Fire at Mr. A. Tabraham’s jewellery shop on St. Peter’s Road.
+Considerable damage done.
+
+Oct. 16th. A royal sturgeon caught off Yarmouth. It was 7 ft. 10 in.
+long, and weighed 28 stone.
+
+Oct. 18th. The new Corn Hall, Howard Street, opened by a public dinner,
+to which nearly 200 gentlemen sat down, including Viscount Mahon, M.P.,
+Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., M.P., the Hon. F. Walpole, M.P., C. S. Read,
+Esq., M.P., E. Corrance, Esq., M.P., and the Mayor (E. H. L. Preston,
+Esq.) H. S. Grimmer, Esq., occupied the chair.
+
+Oct. 24th. George S. Harcourt, Esq., of Ankerwych, formerly M.P. for
+Bucks, died at St. George’s Square, Belgravia, aged 64 years. This
+gentleman established the Yarmouth Sailors’ Home.
+
+Oct. 26th. A silver tea-kettle, value £25, presented as a testimonial to
+the Rev. R. J. Dundas, prior to his leaving the town for Albury, near
+Guildford.
+
+Oct. 30th. The Rev. W. Boycott, rector and patron of Burgh St. Peter,
+died at Ormesby, aged 73 years.
+
+Nov. Mr. Ziba Rayson passed his third and final examination at the Law
+Society’s Hall, London.
+
+Nov. 3rd. Fire at the drapery shop of Mr. E. Bostock, King Street, and
+damage done to the amount of £350. (See 1884.)
+
+Nov. The smack “Evangeline,” built for Mr. Olley of this town, launched
+from Mr. Fellows’ shipyard.
+
+Nov. 14th. The iron screw steamer “Benjamin Whitworth,” 639 tons
+register, 99 h.p. (Capt. John Smith), got upon the Cross Sands and
+encountered a terrifically heavy sea; but after great perseverance she
+was floated off on the following day. The steam tug “Reliance,” value
+£2,500, belonging to the Standard Company, while assisting the
+“Whitworth,” struck against a piece of sunken wreck, and so rendered
+leaky. She was run on to Caister beach, where she became a total wreck.
+(See Dec. 4th, 1875.)
+
+Nov. 14th. A fleet of some 1,200 sailing vessels passed through the
+Roadstead.
+
+Nov. 25th. The fishing lugger “Sailor’s Friend,” value, with nets, &c.,
+about £850, the property of Mr. C. Rumbold, was run into by the French
+screw steamer “Union Bayonnaise,” which caused the lugger to founder.
+Crew all saved.
+
+Nov. 30th to Dec. 2nd. Heavy gale. Lifeboat crews performed several
+daring acts of bravery, and although about 25 hands were unfortunately
+lost near Yarmouth, no less than 23 shipwrecked men were rescued and
+taken to the Sailors’ Home.
+
+Dec. 4th. Smack “George and Elizabeth” ran ashore north of the North
+Pier, where she went to pieces, her crew being rescued by the rocket
+apparatus.
+
+Dec. 4th. Rev. A. T. Shelley, Congregational minister at Aylesbury, and
+formerly of this town, died at Aylesbury, Bucks, aged 45.
+
+Dec. 6th. Intense frost. Every street and road one mass of ice, and so
+smooth and slippery as to render walking upright impossible. Several
+accidents occurred to people and horses.
+
+Dec. 9th. The smack “Friendship,” value £400, lost in the North Sea.
+
+Dec. 10th. The new steamer “South Tyne” stranded on North Scroby Sand.
+She was got off the next morning after 100 tons of coal had been thrown
+overboard. Salvage services amounted to £1,000.
+
+Dec. 11th. The market tolls, &c., were let by public competition by Mr.
+S. Aldred for £890 per annum. (See Aug. 21st, 1876.)
+
+Dec. 15th. The smack “Dagmar” on fire in the harbour. Much damaged.
+
+Dec. 19th. The smack “Emma,” valued at £300, totally destroyed by fire
+while in the North Sea. Crew rescued.
+
+Dec. 19th. The screw collier “Magdeburg” struck on Scroby Sand, but was
+got off by the steam tug “Reliance” for £200.
+
+Dec. In the 2nd Norfolk Rifle Volunteers in 1871 there were in the five
+companies 11 officers, 22 sergeants, and 460 men, 87 of whom were
+marksmen.
+
+The 600 fishing craft belonging to this port pay annually for towage
+about £4,000.
+
+A new Primitive Methodist Chapel opened at Bradwell.
+
+Mr. J. T. Clarke, solicitor, appointed a Commissioner to administer oaths
+in the High Court of Admiralty in England.
+
+Two hundred and forty millions of herring landed at the Fish Wharf during
+the whole of the present season.
+
+The number of shipwrecked men received during the year at the Sailors’
+Home was 228.
+
+A whiting measuring 26 inches caught on the coast.
+
+
+
+1872.
+
+
+Jan. 1st, The barque “Sing Tai” (Rising Sun), 500 tons, launched from
+Messrs. Beeching’s shipyard.
+
+Jan. 1st. The brigantine “Sybil,” belonging to Mr. H. H. Gambling, while
+entering the harbour got on the North Sand, and was wrecked. Value,
+£400.
+
+Jan. 3rd. Rear-Admiral Charles Calmady Dent, of Yarmouth, died. (See
+April 4th.)
+
+Jan. 5th. Sir Francis Crossley, Bart., M.P., of Somerleyton Hall, died
+at Belle Vue, Halifax, aged 54 years.
+
+Jan. 10th. First prosecution for Sunday trading instituted, the
+magistrates fining two delinquents—Messrs. Duffell—5s. each and costs.
+This continued weekly for over five years.
+
+Jan. 12th. Restoration of Gorleston Church mooted. On May 15th Mr.
+Hubbard’s (East Dereham) contract of £2,642 accepted. (See June 12th,
+1873.)
+
+Jan. 16th. Loyal addresses voted by the Council to the Queen on the
+recovery of the Prince of Wales from a severe illness; also
+congratulatory addresses to the Prince and Princess.
+
+Jan. 17th. Gallant lifeboat service by the Caister beachmen during a
+heavy gale, in the preservation of the barque “Jessie,” and the whole of
+her crew.
+
+Jan. 25th. The Gorleston Board of Health resolved to borrow £1,000, in
+addition to the £3,500 previously borrowed for the Southtown drainage.
+(See Aug. 17th, 1871.)
+
+Jan. 28th. John Lomas Cufaude, Esq., solicitor, died, aged 61 years.
+The deceased was Clerk of the Peace, Clerk to the Board of Guardians, and
+Superintendent Registrar of this Borough.
+
+Jan. 29th. Caleb Burrell Rose, Esq., F.G.S., died, aged 81 years.
+
+Jan. 29th. Supt. G. Tewsley presented with a richly-chased silver cup,
+at the Bear Hotel, by the sergeants and constables of the Borough Police,
+as a memento of their esteem.
+
+Feb. 2nd. F. Danby Palmer, Esq., elected Supt. Registrar, and on the 9th
+Clerk to the Board of Guardians.
+
+Feb. 2nd. Further experiments in the Roadstead with Harvey’s sea
+torpedoes, under the inspection of gentlemen representing the American
+Government.
+
+Feb. 9th, 10th, and 18th. Action in the Court of Chancery—I. and C. A.
+Preston _versus_ the Mayor, Aldermen, and Burgesses of the Borough—to
+recover £20,000, lent by various mortgagees on the general district
+rates. Bill dismissed with costs. An appeal was made against the
+judgment in the same Court on June 19th, with a like result.
+
+Feb. 13th. Isaac Preston, jun., Esq., elected Clerk of the Peace by the
+Town Council; and on March 5th, Visiting Justices’ Clerk.
+
+Feb. 23rd. Brigantine “Isabella Walker” collided with the steam tug
+“Andrew Woodhouse,” the latter sustaining damage to the amount of £50.
+
+Feb. 27th. General Thanksgiving Day for the recovery from sickness of
+the Prince of Wales observed in Yarmouth.
+
+Feb. £4,680 required for the restoration of Gorleston Church. (See Jan.
+12th, 1872, and April 28th, 1876.)
+
+March 1st. Mr. G. M. Burton elected Vaccination Officer.
+
+March 2nd. Smack “Queen of the Fleet” launched from Messrs. Smith and
+Son’s shipyard.
+
+March 14th. J. Cherry, Esq., of the Norfolk Circuit, took the oaths and
+handed in his formal appointment as Clerk of the Peace for Suffolk,
+conferred by the Lord Lieutenant of the County (Lord Stradbroke), vacated
+by the late Mr. Borton, who held the office 30 years prior to his death.
+
+March 22nd. Henry Negus Burroughes, Esq., died at Burlingham Hall, aged
+82 years. This gentleman was elected M.P. for East Norfolk in Aug.,
+1837; July, 1841; Aug., 1847; and July, 1852, with the late Edmund
+Wodehouse, Esq., as a colleague, on the last two occasions without
+opposition. In 1855, however, Mr. Wodehouse, accepting the Chiltern
+Hundreds, Sir Henry J. Stracey was returned in the place of that hon.
+gentleman, but at the dissolution in March, 1857, they neither of them
+went to the poll. Mr. Burroughes was a Port and Haven Commissioner for
+over 45 years. The Rev. Randall Burroughes, who married a sister of Lord
+Suffield, succeeded to the possession of his fine landed property.
+
+March 30th. Nathaniel Palmer, Esq., died at Coltishall. He was born at
+Yarmouth in Oct., 1792. In 1827 was called to the bar by the Inner
+Temple, and in 1886 appointed Judge of the Guildhall Court of Norwich and
+Recorder of Great Yarmouth.
+
+March. The loop-line between Somerleyton and St. Olave’s on the Great
+Eastern Railway opened.
+
+April 4th. Marriage of Lieut. Charles Francis Hastings Dent, commanding
+H.M.S. “Orwell,” eldest son of the late Admiral Dent and Lady Selina
+(daughter of the 11th Earl of Huntingdon), with Miss Jane Collins, of
+Bury, was celebrated at St. Mary’s Church. (See Jan. 3rd.)
+
+April 19th. Corner-stone of the new schools in connection with St.
+James’ Mission laid.
+
+April 24th. Simms Reeve, Esq., took the declaration at the Tolhouse Hall
+on acceptance of the office of Recorder of Yarmouth.
+
+May 2nd. The fine new lugger “Sir Roger Tichborne” launched from Messrs.
+Smith’s shipyard at Runham.
+
+May 13th. The smack “Renown,” belonging to Messrs. Smith and Son, fouled
+the South Pier, and afterwards sunk with her cargo of fish in the
+harbour.
+
+May 13th. The Dutch man-of-war brig “Tornate,” used as a training ship,
+and having on board 110 boys and 10 men and officers, was towed into our
+harbour.
+
+May 20th. A young shark, about six feet long, caught off Yarmouth, and
+landed on the beach.
+
+May 20th. Serious accident to J. W. de Caux, Esq., J.P., by falling from
+a cart on the Marine Parade.
+
+May. A salmon weighing 12½ lbs., and two salmon trout, one 15 lbs. in
+weight, and the other 2 ft. 4 in. long, taken near Caister.
+
+May 29th. James Scott, Esq., J.P., a shipowner of this port, died, aged
+69 years. (See June, 1863.)
+
+June 6th. First visit to Yarmouth of H.R.H. the Prince of Wales,
+attended by the Earl of Leicester, Major-General Probyn, C.B., and Col.
+Teesdale. This never-to-be-forgotten visit of the Heir Apparent to the
+Throne was the grandest event in respect to the general superb
+decorations and illuminations, together with the rapturous enthusiasm and
+open generosity of the populace, ever recorded in the annals of local
+history. Some 3,500 excursionists from Norwich, as well as numbers from
+neighbouring districts, flocked into the town on the two first days. The
+Prince and suite, who were entertained here by James Cuddon, Esq., J.P.,
+at Shadingfield Lodge, left the Borough on the 8th by the East Suffolk
+line, _en route_ for London.
+
+June 6th. The new Grammar School opened by H.R.H. the Prince of Wales,
+K.G.
+
+June 6th. Primitive Methodist Conference opened at Yarmouth, and lasted
+for a week. Number of members in 1872, 161,464.
+
+June 13th. Two Companies of 33rd Regiment of Foot (Duke of Wellington’s)
+and the staff of the Essex Rifle Militia, 152 rank and file, arrived at
+the Southtown barracks, where they stayed for a month.
+
+June 15th. At Cambridge, the degree of Doctor of Divinity conferred on
+the Rev. J. J. Raven, head master of the Yarmouth Grammar School.
+
+June 15th. Mr. Edward Fyson, a member of the Town Council, and a Captain
+in the 2nd Norfolk Rifle Volunteers, died, aged 37 years.
+
+July 9th. William Sheppard, Esq., died, aged 76.
+
+July 11th. Heavy tempest. Mr. Burton Steward’s house struck by
+lightning, and the interior of more than one room was damaged by the
+electric fluid.
+
+July 16th. The Royal Humane Society presented Mr. Thomas Joyce with the
+usual honorary testimonial on parchment for saving the life of a lad
+named F. J. Martin, while in a very precarious state in the sea. This
+was the second testimonial Mr. Joyce had received for his bravery.
+
+July. Cuddon-Fletcher, Esq., of Somerton (son of James Cuddon, Esq.,
+late of Shadingfield Lodge), created a Justice of the Peace for Norfolk.
+
+Aug. The decoration of the Order of Sanitat Kreuz Militar of Hesse
+Darmstadt, conferred on Miss E. Pearson (of Yarmouth) and Miss L. E.
+MacLaughlin, for their attention as nurses to the wounded soldiers in the
+Franco-German war. (See Sept., 1870, and Aug. 7th, 1871.)
+
+Aug. 8th. The new organ in St. Mary’s Church, Southtown, opened with a
+full choral service. This fine-toned instrument was built by Mr. W. C.
+Mack, of Yarmouth, at a cost of £250. (See Sept. 9th, 1875.)
+
+Aug. 9th. Mr. R. Collins resigned the appointment of Town Hall keeper,
+which he had held for 20 years, and was succeeded on Aug. 13th by Mr.
+George Harvey. (See Oct. 20th, 1874.)
+
+Aug. 10th. By an Act of Parliament this day in force different
+independent sanitary bodies were placed under one authority, including
+the Yarmouth and Gorleston Local Boards. Yarmouth Town Council then
+became the sanitary authority for the whole district, at the same time
+taking possession of the property in Gorleston and Southtown, assessed at
+£15,700.
+
+Aug. 13th. H. Fellows, F. Dendy, and S. W. Spelman, Esqs., appointed as
+Magistrates for the Borough.
+
+Aug. 13th. Mr. C. H. Chamberlin’s resignation as Borough Coroner
+accepted by the Town Council. Mr. William Holt was at the same meeting
+appointed his successor. (See Dec. 5th, 1883.)
+
+Aug. 18th. John Hillam Mills, Esq., banister, died at Lowestoft. The
+deceased gentleman acted as Deputy-Recorder of Yarmouth during the many
+years’ protracted illness of the late Mr. N. Palmer. (See March 30th,
+1872.)
+
+Aug. 20th. Edward Harbord Lushington Preston, Esq., died. He was Mayor
+of the Borough at the time, and held several offices of responsibility.
+Born on Nov. 4th, 1806. The remains of deceased were intended in the
+family vault in St. Nicholas’ Churchyard, near the Cemetery.
+
+Aug. 20th. The new smack “Star,” built for Mr. Fleming Hewitt, launched
+from the shipyard of Mr. J. H. Fellows.
+
+Aug. 27th. Charles Woolverton, Esq., elected Mayor to the 1st of
+November, in the place of the late E. H. L. Preston, Esq.
+
+Aug. 29th. Part of the fleet of H.M.’s ironclads, under the command of
+Rear-Admiral G. G. Randolph, C.B., anchored in the Roadstead. The fleet
+comprised the “Achilles,” 26 guns; “Hector,” 18; “Penelope,” 11;
+“Audacious,” 11; “Vanguard,” 14; “Black Prince,” 28; “Resistance,” 16;
+“Favourite,” 10; “Valiant,” 18; and the dispatch boat “Imogen.” In the
+whole squadron there were some 4,500 men, including about 1,500
+coastguardsmen. The Admiral’s ship (“Achilles”) carried 750 men, had 40
+furnaces, and when steaming at full speed consumed at the rate of 250
+tons of coal a day.
+
+Sept. 29th. The lugger “Bee” (formerly “Prima Donna”), belonging to Mr.
+T. Tyrrell, of this port, foundered about 60 miles abreast of Winterton.
+
+Oct. 3rd. Destructive fire at the shop of Messrs. Leach Brothers,
+oilmen, &c., Market Place, which resulted in the almost entire
+destruction of the shop and stock-in-trade. Estimated loss, £1,000;
+property saved, value about £400.
+
+Oct. 11th. Heavy gale. Loss of the schooner “Lucy,” belonging to Mr. R.
+Barber, of this port, on Whitby beach.
+
+Oct. 14th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., M.P., laid the first plate of the
+Gorleston tramway, which ceremony was celebrated by a banquet at the Town
+Hall in the evening.
+
+Oct. 16th. Mr. J. Suffling’s smack “Humility” driven ashore in a gale
+north of Britannia Pier.
+
+Oct. 17th. Terrible accident on the Great Eastern Railway near
+Kelvedon—18 people wounded and one killed, among the former being William
+Worship, Esq., of Yarmouth.
+
+Oct. 26th. The schooner “Blyliam” foundered in the North Sea. Mr.
+Walter Haylett, master of the smack “Eclipse,” was subsequently awarded a
+silver medal and certificate of honour by the King of the Netherlands for
+rescuing the crew.
+
+Oct. 29th and five following days. The sale of Mr. J. Owles’ collection
+of pottery and porcelain, at the Corn Hall, realised £4,738.
+
+Oct. Mr. A. J. Rivett passed the minor examination of the Pharmaceutical
+Society.
+
+Oct. The widow of Sir William J. Hooker died. This lady was the
+daughter of the late Mr. Dawson Turner, F.R.S., of Yarmouth, and mother
+of Dr. Hooker. She was married to Sir William in 1815.
+
+Oct. The Rev. John Beazor, late of Yarmouth, appointed to the Rectory of
+Portland by the Bishop of Oxford. This rev. gentleman had for six years
+previously held the sole charge of Minster Lovell. (See March, 1863.)
+
+Nov. to March, 1873. Pinder’s Royal Circus at Regent Hall.
+
+Nov. 2nd. The lugger “Good Advice,” belonging to Mr. John Hart, of
+Gorleston, run down by a brig.
+
+Nov. 11th to 17th. Heavy gains, the smacks “Coronella” and “Thomas and
+Edward” lost, and all hands (on the 12th), and Gorleston Pier was also
+damaged to the extent of £3,339.
+
+Nov. 13th. Mr. A. E. Cowl, third son of Mr. Henry Cowl, passed his final
+examination prior to his admission as an attorney, at the Institute of
+the Incorporated Law Society, London.
+
+Nov. 13th. Sudden death of Mr. S. C. Cooke, of Horstead, at the Thorpe
+Railway Station, aged 71. The deceased was a member of the Port and
+Haven Commission.
+
+Nov. 26th. Captain John Garnham, R.N., died, aged 83. The deceased was
+42 years a Magistrate for Suffolk, and was for some years a Lieutenant in
+the Royal Navy, and taken prisoner by the French in 1814, after which he
+returned to England.
+
+Nov. 30th. The smack “Challenger,” reputed to be the largest built in
+Yarmouth, was launched from Messrs. Smith and Son’s yard.
+
+Nov. Mr. F. J. Dowsett passed his final examination for an attorney at
+the Incorporated Law Society’s Hall, Chancery Lane.
+
+Dec. 8th and for several days, a succession of gales. About 15 vessels
+in all foundered, and 100 shipwrecked mariners were received at the
+Sailors’ Home.
+
+Dec. The Militia Depôt at Yarmouth offered to the Government at £12,500.
+
+Dec. 21st 14,451 lasts of herrings delivered at the Fishwharf, as
+compared with 19,639 lasts for the corresponding period of 1871.
+
+
+
+1873.
+
+
+Jan. 3rd. Three men lost in the North Sea out of the smack “Peep o’
+Day,” belonging to Mr. Jex.
+
+Jan. 6th. Boiler explosion on board the s.s. “Druid,” seven miles off
+Yarmouth, resulting in the death of two men and serious injury to three
+others.
+
+Jan. 8th. Great Yarmouth Licensed Victuallers’ Association established
+through the exertions of Mr. R. S. Steele.
+
+Jan. 10th. The new building annexed to the Priory Schools for the
+accommodation of some 200 children, opened by the Mayor.
+
+Jan. 20th. Dr. Lushington, judge, philanthropist, and politician, and
+late M.P. for Yarmouth, died at his seat near Ockham, aged 91 years.
+
+Jan. 20th. Charles H. Chamberlin, Esq., Registrar of the Yarmouth County
+Court and Borough Coroner, died, aged 51 years.
+
+Jan. 22nd. Mr. Blyth, of this port, and second mate of the “Northfleet,”
+lost in that ill-fated vessel, with over 300 passengers.
+
+Jan. 27th. A halibut, 4 ft. 6 in. in length and weighing about five
+stone, caught near Yarmouth.
+
+Jan. Henry John Walker, Esq., solicitor of Brompton, appointed to the
+Registrarship of the Yarmouth County Court. In March, 1875, resigned for
+a Registrarship in Southampton, and in Dec., 1876, District Registrar of
+High Court of Justice at Manchester.
+
+Jan. A very handsome silver waiter presented to Alderman W. Laws by the
+teachers of St. Nicholas’ Sunday School, in token of their respect.
+
+Feb. 1st. Mr. Holmes’s new smack “Serjeant Ballantine” launched from Mr.
+Mack’s shipyard.
+
+Feb. 7th. Great Yarmouth and Eastern Counties’ Aquarium Company
+registered, with a capital of £50,000 in shares of £2 each. (See June
+18th.)
+
+Feb. 26th. The Rev. J. Partridge, formerly head master of the Yarmouth
+Preparatory Grammar School, Southtown, died at Thornbury, near Bristol,
+aged 46 years.
+
+March 17th. Mr. George T. Watson, Superintendent of Sailors’ Home,
+presented with a handsome gold ring by the members of the Beachmen’s and
+Fishermen’s Friendly Society, as a memento of respect.
+
+March 24th. The steam tug “Minnet” stranded on the North Sand at the
+mouth of the harbour.
+
+March. The Rectory of Buckenham, Kent, conferred upon the Rev. William
+Cator, B.A., curate of St. Nicholas’ Church.
+
+March 25th. The new brick-built reservoir at Gorleston, belonging to the
+Great Yarmouth Water Works Company, opened. It is 115 feet square
+inside; height from floor to roof, 16 ft., and holds 800,000 gallons of
+water, being, when full, 1½ feet from the top.
+
+March. The Rev. Dr. Raven was presented with a handsome silver-plated
+coffee pot, teapot, cream jug, and sugar basin, by the pupils of the
+Yarmouth Grammar School as a mark of their esteem.
+
+April 11th. Loss of the fishing smack “Vesper,” off the Holland coast;
+on 19th, in the North Sea, the dandy “Morgan;” and on 27th, the smack
+“Proctor.” Crews all saved.
+
+April 13th (Easter Day). The new peal of bells at Gorleston Parish
+Church first rung out. These six bells were cast by Messrs. Mears and
+Hainbank, of Whitechapel, and presented to Gorleston by Miss C. Roberts,
+of Hersham, Esher. The tenor bell, weighing 10 cwt., is in the key of G,
+and has a chiming apparatus.
+
+April 14th. John Owles, Esq., died at Great Yarmouth, aged 65 years.
+(See Feb., 1858, and Oct. 29th, 1872.)
+
+April 17th. H. E. Buxton, Esq., and Captain John Gilbertson elected
+Churchwardens of the Parish Church. Stormy vestry meeting.
+
+April 18th. The Rev. R. Shelley, Unitarian minister of Yarmouth, died at
+Newbury, Berks, aged 39 years.
+
+April 24th. The Rev. H. R. Nevill, M.A., vicar of Yarmouth, formally
+installed a Canon of Norwich Cathedral. (See Jan. 25th, 1874.)
+
+April 29th. The schooner “Margaret” sunk in the harbour whilst crossing
+the bar. She subsequently broke up, and the wreck and stores were sold
+for £40.
+
+April. Bat.-Sergt.-Major E. Cooke, 1st N.A.V., presented with a massive
+electro-plated cup by T. Dawson, Esq.
+
+May 1st and 2nd. Sir John Coode, E.C., visited Yarmouth to inspect and
+report upon the South Pier and Haven works, and on the 30th forwarded his
+report to the Port and Haven Commissioners. The estimated cost of
+improvements was put down by Sir John at £12,880.
+
+May 3rd. Mr. James Mitchell died, in the 100th year of his age.
+
+May 11th. Robert Palmer Kemp, Esq., J.P. for the Borough, and also for
+the County of Norfolk, died at Coltishall, aged 70 years.
+
+May 12th. The Rev. J. W. Colvin, M.A., minister of St. Andrew’s Church,
+presented with a pair of handsome oak study candlesticks and a
+plated-chased biscuit caddy, by the Sunday School teachers, and members
+of the choir and Bible classes, as a memento of their kindly feeling
+towards him.
+
+May 25th. Loss of the smack “Active” and three of her crew in the North
+Sea, by being run down by the steamer “Iris.” Value of smack, £1,000.
+
+May 29th. John Fisher Costerton, Esq., J.P., of this Borough, died at
+Yarmouth, aged 88 years. (See 1841.)
+
+May 30th. About 50 members of the Hon. Artillery Company came from
+Finsbury, London, to this town by rail, and marched from Yarmouth to
+Brundall—a distance of 14 miles—on the following morning, _en route_ for
+Norwich.
+
+June 7th. Three of the crew of the smack “Pioneer,” and one of the
+“Ethelwolf’s,” lost at sea whilst ferrying fish to the London carrying
+steamers.
+
+June 12th. Rear-Admiral Spencer Smyth promoted to retired Vice-Admiral
+in her Majesty’s fleet. (See April, 1870.)
+
+June 12th. Gorleston Parish Church opened by the Lord Bishop of Norwich,
+after its restoration.
+
+June 18th. A resolution passed at a meeting of the Directors in London
+to dissolve the first Aquarium Company, the shares allotted being
+inadequate to carry out the project as designed. (See Feb. 7th.)
+
+June 24th. The new smack “Daniel” launched from Mr. J. H. Fellows’
+shipyard.
+
+June. New Wesleyan school at Gorleston completed.
+
+June. Six guns, weighing five tons each, and carrying shot and shell
+weighing 50, 71, and 78 lbs. respectively, landed at Yarmouth from
+Woolwich for the North and South batteries, in place of the old
+68-pounders.
+
+July 2nd. A young live seal, 2½ feet long, brought ashore by the crew of
+the smack “Flying Fish,”‘ who had captured it in the North Sea.
+
+July 2nd. The Rev. W. Sumpter Beevor, senior curate of St. Nicholas’
+Church, had the degree of M.A. conferred by the Trinity College, Dublin.
+
+July. Mr. Arthur Vores passed his preliminary examination for the
+Fellowship of the College of Surgeons.
+
+Aug. 16th. Mr. H. Jay elected to the office of Fishwharf Master, on the
+resignation of Mr. W. Capon.
+
+Aug. A fine new fishing smack, “The Shah,” launched, also the “Falcon”
+and the “Albion.”
+
+Aug. 26th. H.R.H. the Prince of Wales consented to become a patron of
+the Yarmouth Marine Regatta, and forwarded a cheque of £26 5s. through
+Sir Wm. Knollys for a competition prize.
+
+Sept. 12th. The King of the Belgians’ superbly-fitted yacht, “Prince
+Baudoin,” put into Yarmouth harbour for coal previous to conveying his
+Majesty across the Channel from Dover to Ostend on the 16th.
+
+Sept. 15th. The new smack “Mercy” launched from Messrs. Mack’s yard.
+
+Sept. 25th. The will of Mrs. Jemima Bacon Ciocci, formerly the wife of
+Raffaelle Ciocci, late of Yarmouth, proved under £25,000.
+
+Sept. 29th. A new steam tug, the “Star,” the property of the Star Steam
+Tug Company, launched from Messrs. Beeching’s shipyard. Length, 88 feet;
+width, 16 ft. 7 in.; depth, 9 ft. 9 in.; builders’ measurement, 113 tons;
+gross register, 88 tons, and cost over £2,000. Her lever engine of 45
+h.p. was saved from the “Minnet.” (See March 24th.)
+
+Sept. Shadingfield Lodge, the Royal residence during the Prince of
+Wales’ stay in Yarmouth, in June, 1872, purchased by S. Nightingale,
+Esq., for £3,000.
+
+Oct. 1st. Destructive fire at the farm of Mr. T. W. Daniel, at Caister;
+damage over £1,000.
+
+Oct. 1st. Loss of the s.s. “Whittington,” of Newcastle, with 400 tons of
+coal, on the Middle Cross Sand.
+
+Oct. 7th. Three men lost belonging to the smack “Ellen,” whilst ferrying
+29 packages of fish to the London carrying steamer, near the Dogger Bank.
+
+Oct. 7th. R. Morgan, Esq., C.E., visited Yarmouth on behalf of the Local
+Government Board, and took evidence upon the matter of the Market Gates’
+Improvement, for which a loan of £2,500 was required for 30 years.
+Sanction to the loan given.
+
+Oct. 8th. The lugger “Young Charles” run down by the s.s. “Osborne,” off
+Smith’s Knowl (14 miles off Lowestoft), and the whole of her crew, 10
+hands, unfortunately lost.
+
+Oct. 10th. Demonstration of Freemasons at Yarmouth, on the opening of
+the Provincial Grand Lodge at the Hospital School by the Hon. F. Walpole,
+M.P., Deputy Provincial Grand Master of Norfolk.
+
+Oct. 11th. The reputed fastest schooner yacht afloat, the “Livonia,” 128
+tons burthen, and a crew of 16 hands, put into Yarmouth harbour.
+
+Oct. 11th. Dr. James Borrett, late of Yarmouth, died at Clifton, near
+Bristol. His remains were interred in Castleton Churchyard.
+
+Oct. 15th. The high lights on the N.E. corner of the Sailors’ Home, at
+an altitude of 60 ft. above high water, and the lower light on the
+Britannia Pier, at an elevation of 20 ft., used for the first time.
+
+Oct. 23rd. The new smack “Livonia,” belonging to Messrs. Smith and Son,
+launched from their shipyard.
+
+Oct. 24th. Inspector Berry resigned from the borough police force,
+having been unanimously chosen Chief Constable of Police for Gravesend
+out of 40 candidates for the appointment, at a stipend of £200 per annum.
+He entered on his new duties on Nov. 1st. (See Jan., 1865.)
+
+Oct. 30th. A testimonial, comprising a gilt-framed document and a
+sealskin purse, containing £20, presented to Police-sergeant Brown by
+Captain Matthews, on behalf of 64 subscribers, as a mark of respect from
+the inhabitants of Gorleston.
+
+Oct. Mr. W. M. Vores resigned the office of house-surgeon to the
+Yarmouth Hospital.
+
+Oct. A memorial window, admirable in design and execution, placed in the
+Parish Church by the eminent surgeon, Sir James Paget, a native of
+Yarmouth, and brother of Professor Paget, in memory of his father and
+mother. Samuel Paget died in 1857, aged 83; Sarah Elizabeth Paget in
+1848, aged 65. Twelve of their children rest within and near the church.
+(See June 15th, 1858.)
+
+Oct. Henry E. Buxton, W. P. Brown, G. B. Palmer, J. H. Orde, A. D.
+Stone, and E. H. H. Combe, Esqs., appointed as Magistrates for the
+Borough by the Lord Chancellor of England. (See Jan., 1874.)
+
+Nov. 3rd. A Local Government Board Inquiry opened by Inspector H. B.
+Farnall, Esq., at the Tolhouse Hall, and resulted in the ejection of
+three Liberal Guardians from the Board in Feb., 1874. This inquiry cost
+the town £187.
+
+Nov. 10th. Disgraceful riot in Middlegate Street and at the Fishwharf
+with Sherringham fishermen. (See Jan. 12th, 1874.)
+
+Nov. 18th. Thomas Baring, Esq., M.P., died at Fontmell Lodge,
+Bournemouth, aged 73 years. The deceased represented this Borough in
+Parliament in 1835.
+
+Nov. 20th. Mr. R. S. Steele presented with a handsome tea and coffee
+service by the members of the Perseverance Lodge of Nottingham Order of
+Oddfellows, in recognition of his valuable services.
+
+Nov. 27th. The Rev. J. W. Colvin, minister of St. Andrew’s, presented
+with a water-colour drawing by Mr. W. Platt; and on the following
+evening, by his congregation, a marble timepiece, set of bronze chimney
+ornaments and candlesticks, and a pair of salts, as souvenirs of their
+esteem, previous to his leaving Yarmouth. (See May 12th.)
+
+Nov. 30th. Fire at the warehouse of Mr. J. Green, King Street, and
+damage done to the amount of about £15.
+
+Dec. 10th. A gold Albert chain presented by the Yarmouth Bathing and
+Swimming Association to Mr. John Page, secretary, in acknowledgment of
+his kindness to the members.
+
+Dec. 12th. Samuel Brock, better known as “Brock the swimmer,” died at
+Yarmouth, aged 70 years. (See Oct. 6th, 1835.)
+
+Dec. 17th. Fire at the premises of Mr. W. Lawrie, manufacturer of
+vegetable black, ink, &c., and damage done to the extent of about £150.
+
+Dec. 21st. 18,806 lasts of herring delivered at the Fishwharf, and sold
+at the average price of £11 10s., 4,000 lasts (equal to £46,000) in
+excess of the previous year’s catch.
+
+Dec. The Rev. Dr. Gott appointed by the Queen to the Vicarage of Leeds.
+
+Dec. The cutters “Brilliant,” “Diamond,” and “British Lion,” the
+property of Mr. I. Shuckford, sold to the Steam-Cutter Carrying Company,
+for £2,000.
+
+The rateable value of the parish in 1873 was £84,600, of which sum
+£68,200 was apportioned to Yarmouth and the remaining £16,400 to
+Gorleston and Southtown, including Cobholm Island; and the Corporation
+was indebted to the extent of £29,522 for town improvements (including
+Regent Street and the Marine Parade). £14,000 out of the above was an
+old Paving Bond debt contracted in 1810 and 1851, which was being paid
+off at £100 a year.
+
+Godfrey’s “Finger Post Guide to Yarmouth and its Norfolk and Suffolk
+Environs, embracing every object of Interest to Visitors,” (an
+illustrated work from the pen of W. F. Crisp) published.
+
+
+
+1874.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Rev. D. W. Seppings, M.A., late minister of St. Andrew’s,
+Yarmouth, died, aged 37, at Bramley, Leeds, where he was for seven years
+the senior curate.
+
+Jan. The Vicarage of Great Yarmouth vacated by the Rev. H. R. Nevill,
+and offered to the Rev. George Venables, S.C.L., four years the Vicar of
+St. Matthew’s, Leicester. (See Jan. 23rd, 25th, and Feb. 22nd.)
+
+Jan. 1st. The screw smack “Pioneer,” built for the Steam Carrying
+Company, launched from Messrs. Fellows’ shipyard at Southtown.
+Dimensions—length of keel, 83 ft. 6 in.; 20 ft. beam; depth of hold, 10
+ft., and capable of carrying 1,200 packages of fish. She made her first
+trial trip on the 24th, at a speed of six or seven knots an hour.
+
+Jan. 1st. Richard Ferrier, Esq., brewer, died at Broughton, Chester,
+aged 51.
+
+Jan. 3rd. William Maclean, Esq., for several years Secretary of H.M.
+Customs, died at Camberwell, Surrey, aged 78.
+
+Jan. 5th. A. D. Stone, E. H. Combe, W. P. Brown, and G. B. Palmer,
+Esqs., sworn in as Magistrates before the Recorder. J. H. Orde and H. E.
+Buxton, Esqs., subsequently took the oaths of office.
+
+Jan. 9th. The smack “William,” of this port, value £300, lost in a gale,
+and her crew saved by the smack “Rachel.”
+
+Jan. 10th. Police-constable Layton bravely rescued a man and woman from
+the river opposite Queen Street. Another male and female fell over the
+quay-head on Jan. 15th, when Police-constable Green rendered good
+service.
+
+Jan. 11th. Rev. J. B. Woolnough, the new minister of St. Andrew’s,
+preached his first sermon at this Church after his appointment.
+
+Jan. Captain Gilbertson, Adjutant of N.A.M., appointed a
+Gentleman-at-Arms at Windsor Castle. He died on June 18th, 1870.
+
+Jan. 12th. Six Sherringham fishermen convicted at a special Session, for
+creating, with others, a riot in the town.
+
+Jan. H. Teasdel (Mayor) and E. H. H. Combe, Esqs., appointed trustees of
+the Southtown Road.
+
+Jan. 13th. First meeting of Scientific Society at the Public Library.
+
+Jan. 13th. John Godwin Johnson, Esq., late a member of the Yarmouth Port
+and Haven Commission for Norwich, died, aged 76. The deceased gentleman
+was Mayor of Norwich in 1855.
+
+Jan. 18th. Mr. Frederick Diver, commander, Union Steam Shipping Company,
+died at Woolston, Southampton, aged 34. (See Jan. 9th, 1868.)
+
+Jan. 23rd. A general holiday and day of rejoicing in celebration of the
+marriage of H.R.H. the Duke of Edinburgh to the Grand Duchess Marie of
+Russia; 200 gentlemen dining together at the Town Hall.
+
+Jan. 23rd. Rev. Henry R. Nevill presented with a massive antique oak
+cabinet by the school teachers; and a handsome escritoire by the scholars
+of St. Andrew’s and Priory schools, as _souvenirs_.
+
+Jan. 25th. Rev. H. R. Nevill preached his farewell sermon at the Parish
+Church. (See Dec., 1858.)
+
+Jan. 25th. The Yarmouth sloop “Harriet” rundown by the steamer “Tanjore”
+off Chapman Head. Crew saved.
+
+Jan. 26th. The first Aquarium Company liquidated, and the list of
+contributories settled.
+
+Jan. 27th. James Curtis, one of the crew of the small river steamer
+“Alpha,” accidentally drowned on Breydon.
+
+Jan. 27th. General Election. The Members for North Norfolk (Sir E.
+Lacon and the Hon. F. Walpole) issued an address to their constituency
+prior to the general election, but at the nomination at Aylsham on Jan.
+31st there was no opposition to their return. (See Feb. 10th.)
+
+Feb. 3rd. Rev. J. H. Rawdon, on leaving Yarmouth was presented, at the
+North-end Mission, with a biscuit basket and a chased-silver inkstand, as
+a mark of appreciation of his labours.
+
+Feb. 4th. Messrs. H. Brand, J. Rivett, and W. T. Fisher, after an
+enquiry under Mr. H. B. Farnall, were unseated as guardians, in favour of
+Messrs. W. Laws, W. J. Foreman, and J. T. Bracey.
+
+Feb. 6th. Mrs. H. Teasdel, the Mayoress, died at Southtown, aged 68.
+
+Feb. 6th. Charles John, son of the late Charles John Moore, of Caister,
+killed by being thrown from his trap on Caister turnpike, aged 26.
+
+Feb. 7th. The barque “Krona,” of Landskrona, with 2,364 quarters of
+oats, struck on Hasbro’ Sand and remained fast till the 9th.
+
+Feb. 10th. Election of Members of Parliament for East Suffolk took
+place. Colonel Tomline (L) opposed Lord Mahon (C) and Lord Rendlesham
+(C); and the result of poll made known next day was:—Rendlesham, 4,136;
+Mahon, 3,896; Tomline, 3,014. Gorleston and Southtown polled 511, out of
+about 700 voters. (See May 30th, 1870, and Feb. 22nd, 1876.) The South
+Norfolk Election also took place on Feb. 10th.
+
+Feb. 16th. The new smack “Reindeer” launched from Mr. Mack’s yard at
+Southtown.
+
+Feb. 18th. Mr. R. W. Durrell, organist, presented with a handsome
+electro-plated sugar basin and a bottle by the members of the Gorleston
+Congregational Chapel choir as a memento of esteem.
+
+Feb. 22nd. Rev. G. Venables, S.C.L., Vicar of Yarmouth, read himself in
+and preached his first sermons at the Parish Church, from (morning) 2
+Tim. i. 13; (evening) Psalm xlviii. 12; before crowded congregations.
+
+Feb. 24th. Rev. W. S. Beevor, assistant minister at St. Peter’s Church,
+presented, by 157 subscribers, with a silver inkstand, and a silver
+penholder with gold pen, by the Sunday School teachers and friends.
+
+Feb. 25th. Meeting to dispose of the balance of the May Gale Fund. (See
+May 28th, 1860.) Statement of accounts: Subscriptions, £10,410 4s. 7d.;
+accumulated interest, £1,573 8s. 2d.; total, £11,983 15s. 9d. Paid in
+relief, £10,923 15s. 11d.; printing, &c., £779 6s. 9d. A mitigated
+balance of £50 or £60 was distributed among the remaining 44 widows and
+22 children.
+
+Feb. Two stained-glass windows placed in the south wall of Gorleston
+Church in memory of Mr. and Mrs. John Sayers Bell and Miss Jane Whaites,
+by their relatives.
+
+March 2nd. James Crow, Esq., of Gorleston, died, aged 78.
+
+March 6th. The result of the arbitration relative to the purchase by the
+Corporation of property for the Market Gates’ improvement received by the
+Town Clerk. The umpire’s award was £1,576.
+
+March 10th. Excitable public meeting at the Town Hall to consider the
+abolition or retention of the annual Easter Fair. The latter chosen by a
+large majority.
+
+March 10th. A fine otter caught two miles from Yarmouth, and
+subsequently made great havoc in the residence of Mr. S. J. F. Stafford,
+prior to that gentleman sending it to the Zoological Society, London.
+
+March 18th. Mrs. Page, sister of the late Hales, the Norfolk giant, died
+in Yarmouth Workhouse. Deceased was 6 ft. 3 in. in height.
+
+March 19th. The smack “Niobe,” and all hands, lost in the North Sea.
+
+March 27th. The Rev. S. N. Vowler appointed chaplain of the Workhouse.
+
+April 9th. Mr. Wm. Brogden, of Scarborough, appointed police detective
+and inspector by the Town Council, in place of Inspector Berry, resigned.
+Mr. Brogden entered on his duties in May, and was subsequently made chief
+constable. (See May 5th, 1881.)
+
+April 14th. Seven smacks, late the property of Mr. Yaxley, sold by
+auction, and realised £1,597. On Dec. 29th, 1873, seven of Mr. W.
+Shuckford’s smacks realised £4,525 at an auction.
+
+April 20th. The roof of Mr. Combe’s new malting premises at Southtown
+fell in, and resulted in killing two workmen and wounding three others.
+
+April 21st. Another new steamtug, “Star,” launched from Mr. J.
+Beeching’s yard. Dimensions—length over all, 104 ft.; beam, 18 ft. 4
+in.; depth, 9 ft. 6 in. Propelled by two engines, each 25 nominal horse
+power.
+
+April 22nd. Thomas H. Palmer, Esq., of Norwich, eldest son of the late
+Nathaniel Palmer, Esq., who was formerly Recorder of Yarmouth, died, aged
+58 years.
+
+April 28th. Mr. B. M. Spanton, scripture reader, presented by 230
+members and friends of the Market Mission with an eight-day timepiece, a
+purse of 9 guineas, and a morocco-bound book, for his zealous labours.
+
+April 29th. The East Anglian Tramway Company summoned before the
+Magistrates and fined £5 for not keeping the Southtown Road in repair.
+
+April 29th. Four smacks—the “Edgar,” “Ceres,” “Blue Jacket,” and
+“Mispah”—lost on the Dutch coast near Terschelling.
+
+April 30th. John Thornhill Harrison, Esq., C.E., after an inquiry, this
+day decided that a provisional order would be issued by the Local
+Government Board for merging the district late under the jurisdiction of
+the Gorleston and Southtown Local Board into the Rural Sanitary District
+of the Mutford and Lothingland Incorporation.
+
+May 4th. A lad named Everett Albert Parker thrown into a ditch at Flegg
+Burgh by four schoolboys and drowned.
+
+May 8th. Mr. Samuel Linay, of Norwich (formerly a clerk in the office of
+the late John Lomas Cufaude, Esq., of Yarmouth, Clerk of the Peace),
+admitted an attorney and solicitor of the Court of Chancery, and
+subsequently catered into partnership with Wm. Sadd, Esq., of Norwich (to
+whom he served his articles)—firm, Sadd and Linay. The same year Mr.
+Linay was also appointed a Commissioner for taking oaths in the Superior
+Courts.
+
+May 14th. Mr. F. W. Robinson resigned the office of Inspector of Weights
+and Measures (see Feb., 1857), and Mr. R. J. Buddery was appointed to the
+situation.
+
+May 21st. Insubordination in the Gaol, and conspiracy to kill a warder.
+
+May 27th. Mrs. Cator, wife of the Rev. Wm. Cator, and daughter of Lady
+Elizabeth Orde, died at Beckenham, Kent.
+
+May 31st. The Mayor’s new robe first worn in public. It was purchased
+by the Corporation, and is made of flowered scarlet silk.
+
+May 31st. Rev. Jas. Smith, B.A., eldest son of J. C. Smith, Esq., M.D.,
+died, aged 57.
+
+May. Mr. C. F. Laws passed his final examination for an attorney.
+
+June 10th. The brigantine “Good Design,” of this port, lost off the
+Spurn. Crew saved.
+
+June 11th. The Great Yarmouth Provisional Order Port and Haven Bill
+confirmed in the House of Commons.
+
+June 11th. A deputation from Yarmouth waited upon the President of the
+Local Government Board (the Right Hon. Sclater-Booth) in London,
+respecting the “trickery” resorted to in the Election of Guardians, and
+urged a remedy.
+
+June 13th. The brig “Eleanor,” of Yarmouth, collided with the barque
+“Belle Vue,” and was dismasted.
+
+June 24th. Mr. J. E. Bales entertained at the Rose to a luncheon by his
+friends on the attainment of his 80th birthday. (See March 27th, 1876.)
+
+June 25th. The “Refuge,” a model floating battery 40 ft. long, and in
+the form of two oblongs crossed like a star, with a sliding keel,
+water-tight compartments, &c., left the Roadstead for Shields.
+
+June 30th. A massive and elaborately-chased silver salver and a sum of
+money presented by the parishioners to Archdeacon Nevill, in token of
+esteem. (See Jan. 23rd and 25th.)
+
+June. Messrs. P. Chamberlin and J. S. Clowes, jun., passed examinations
+for attorneys. The latter died in 1884.
+
+July 2nd. Mr. Shadrake, master of the Gorleston National Schools,
+presented with a gold watch and chain and a purse of 20 guineas, as a
+memento of esteem.
+
+July 16th. Mr. Edward Morgan saved the life of George Daudy while
+bathing, and the 26th of Oct. received the Humane Society’s award on
+vellum for his courageous conduct.
+
+July 22nd. A comet visible at Yarmouth for several days previous to this
+date. Its reputed distance from the earth was 27,000,000 miles.
+
+July 27th. The Rev. J. Upjohn, M.A., of Queen’s College, Cambridge, for
+many years vicar of Gorleston, died in London.
+
+July 30th. Rents first demanded by the Corporation for stalls on the
+beach, and subsequently for music-stands, chairs, &c.
+
+July 31st. The smack “Elizabeth and Mary” launched from Messrs. Fellows’
+yard.
+
+Aug. 3rd. A new Primitive Methodist Temple, Priory Plain, to accommodate
+1,100 persons—on the site of a Chanel built in 1850—decided upon at a
+public meeting and luncheon held this day. (See June 22nd, 1875.)
+
+Aug. 10th to 24th. Local Government Board Inquiry, relative to the
+election of Guardians in St. George’s and Regent Wards in the previous
+April, was opened at the Tolhouse Hall, before George Taylor, Esq. Mr.
+J. H. Norman was subsequently unseated in favour of Mr. I. Preston, jun.
+(Regent), and Mr. W. J. Foreman gained the seat for St. George’s.
+
+Aug. 20th. H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, accompanied by two or three
+officers of the 7th Hussars, paid an unexpected visit to Yarmouth; and
+again on Aug. 28th, and proceeded to Lowestoft on the following day. He
+was entertained here by the Hon. Courtenay Boyle, in apartments at No. 3,
+Kimberley Terrace.
+
+Aug. 23rd. Mr. Saml. Durrell, many years assistant overseer of Gorleston
+and Southtown, died, aged 82.
+
+Aug. 27th. The Royal Assembly Rooms sold by auction to Mr. Henry W. Ulph
+for £2,050, and since then to the officers of the P.W.O. Royal
+Artillery. (See Jan. 1st, 1863.)
+
+Sept. 4th. The dead body of a newly-born babe found on the river-side
+ridge of the Bridge, but how it came there was never traced out.
+
+Sept. 10th. The never-to-be-forgotten appalling Thorpe railway accident,
+in which the Yarmouth night mail collided with the Norwich down train,
+and resulted in the death of 27 persons, besides wounding 50 others.
+
+Sept. 16th. Sergt.-Major Hanlon, E.N.M., (on his retiring from the
+service after 22 years,) presented with a chaste silver tea-service and
+silver inkstand by Sir E. Lacon, Bart., M.P., and the officers and
+non-commissioned officers of his regiment, at the Town Hall.
+
+Sept. 19th. The new three-masted schooner “Eunice” launched from Messrs.
+Fellows and Son’s yard. Dimensions—156 ft. over all; beam, 24 ft.; depth
+of hold, 13 ft.; registered tonnage, 260 tons.
+
+Sept. 20th. The war ships “Northumberland,” “Sultan,” and “Monarch”
+anchored in the Roads, but left again on the 23rd.
+
+Sept. 23rd. Lieut. F. A. Newington, R.M.L.I., of H.M.S. “Sultan,” after
+leaving a ball at the Town Hall, jumped into the river and rescued from
+drowning two women who had fallen overboard while in the act of landing
+from the steamtug “Victoria,” at 3.30 a.m. A public subscription
+amounting to £47 5s. 6d. was afterwards got up, and Mr. Newington was
+presented with a breach-loading gun, value £34, and an illuminated
+testimonial, for his bravery; on Nov. 17th he was also presented with a
+sword by the officers of his ship.
+
+Oct. 1st. First annual meeting of the Young Men’s Christian Association
+held at the Town Hall.
+
+Oct. 7th. Sir Thos. W. B. Proctor Beauchamp, Bart., died at Langley
+Park, aged 59.
+
+Oct. 18th. The Rev. T. Allnut, after eight years’ ministration in
+Gorleston, preached his farewell sermons at St. Andrew’s Church, in that
+Parish. On May 14th, 1875, was instituted to the Rectory and Parish
+Church of Stibbard, Norfolk.
+
+Oct. 19th. The smack “Alert,” of this port, run into by the full-rigged
+ship “Edith,” in the North Sea, and foundered. Two hands were drowned.
+
+Oct. 20th. Mr. W. J. Lincoln appointed Town Hall keeper in place of Mr.
+G. Harvey, resigned.
+
+Oct. 29th. The settlement of the Rev. Arthur Peaton, as Unitarian
+Minister at the Old Meeting, Middlegate Street, in the place of the late
+Rev. R. Shelley, decided by a public meeting.
+
+Oct. H. R. Harmer, Esq., captured, on Hoveton Broad, a pike 8 ft. 1 in.
+in length, and weighing 15 lbs. It was presented to the Mayor.
+
+Oct. The Misses Pearson and MacLaughlin received the War Medal granted
+by the Emperor of Germany. (See Sept., 1870.)
+
+Nov. 7th. The Lowestoft, Yarmouth, and Southtown Tramway Company wound
+up by order of the Master of the Rolls.
+
+Nov. 9th. C. C. Aldred, Esq., elected an Alderman, in the place of W.
+Laws, Esq., resigned.
+
+Nov. 11th. Mr. William Webb passed his final examination before the
+Incorporated Law Society as an attorney and solicitor.
+
+Nov. 12th. N. G. Barthropp, Esq., died, aged 60.
+
+Nov. 16th. Mr. R. S. Steele presented with a handsome marble timepiece
+and a purse of three guineas by the Forester Brotherhood (Court Crown and
+Anchor), in appreciation of services as secretary.
+
+Nov. 27th. The tenders of Mr. Davey (£276) and Messrs. Warner and Loup,
+of Ipswich (£688), for constructing a hot-water apparatus at the
+Workhouse, were accepted by the Guardians.
+
+Nov. 29th. The fishing boat “William and Charles” lost off Winterton.
+
+Dec. 11th. The smack “Rosa” came ashore in a gale near the Britannia
+Pier, where she became a total wreck. The crew were saved.
+
+Dec. 14th. James Morris Hill, Adjutant 1st Administrative Brigade
+N.A.V., and late Major Military Train, died at Southtown, aged 51, and
+was interred with military honours in Gorleston churchyard. Deceased
+served in the Kaffir war in 1845, and received subsequently several marks
+of honour for his services abroad.
+
+Dec. 17th. Mr. Edward Smyth, eldest son of the late E. H. L. Preston,
+Esq., died at Seaford, aged 37.
+
+Dec. 17th. The Right Hon. Lord George John Sondes (4th baron), Lord High
+Steward of the Borough for 20 years, and also Deputy-Lieut. and J.P. for
+the County, died at Elmham Hall, Norfolk, aged 80, and his remains
+interred in Elmham Churchyard.
+
+Dec. 21st. 17,724 lasts of herrings landed dining the season at the
+Fishwharf.
+
+Dec. 23rd. The dandy cutter “Ben Nevis” foundered in Hollosley Bay.
+Crew saved.
+
+Dec. The smack “Ace of Trumps” launched from Messrs. Hastings’ yard.
+
+Dec. About 12 acres of Corporation land on the South Denes accepted by
+the Government at £100 per acre, for making Yarmouth a Military Depôt
+Centre, but was never established. (See Nov., 1875.)
+
+Dec. The removal of the Parish Church organ to the north and south
+aisles of the chancel, estimated to cost £1,000.
+
+The returns of the weight of fish carried from Yarmouth by the Great
+Eastern Railway this year were 27,517 tons, as against 20,399 tons in
+1860; 27,222 in 1861; 28,346 in 1862; 31,947 in 1863; 34,432 in 1864;
+22,764 in 1869; 26,894 in 1870; 31,898 in 1871; 27,400 in 1872; and
+27,864 in 1878. The railway books containing the returns from 1865 to
+1868 were destroyed by fire.
+
+
+
+1875.
+
+
+Jan. 4th. The closing of the Gaol and sending all prisoners to Norwich,
+by order of the Home Secretary, reported.
+
+Jan. 5th. Mr. R. W. Durrell, organist, presented with a silver watch by
+the Gorleston Congregationalists, in recognition of his services; and on
+the 27th, Mr. and Mrs. Durrell were presented with an electro-plated
+cream jug and a pair of sugar tongs, as the remaining articles required
+to complete a previously-subscribed service.
+
+Jan. 7th and 8th. Two consecutive explosions of oxygen gas, used in the
+pantomime of _Ali Baba_, took place at the Theatre Royal, but little
+damage was done to the building.
+
+Jan. 8th. Board of Trade Inquiry at the Police Court into the
+circumstances attending the stranding and abandonment of the oak-built
+brigantine “Effort” on the 23rd of Dec. last. The vessel (160 tons
+register) was built at Yarmouth in 1830, and had at the time of her
+abandonment on the Cross Sand 120 tons of coal on board.
+
+Jan. 11th. Jas. Cobb, Esq., solicitor, died, aged 84.
+
+Jan. 13th. Mr. Joseph Fleming Neave, a late member of the Town Council,
+died at the age of 59.
+
+Jan. 18th. The new St. Andrew’s Hall at Gorleston opened by the then
+Mayor (R. D. Barber, Esq.) at a public entertainment. This hall, built
+by a company, and situate in Now Street, is 60 ft. long by 40 ft. wide.
+It was sold to Mr. Bellamy in 1884.
+
+Jan. 19th. The schooner “Shamrock,” of this port, struck on Scroby Sand,
+and subsequently foundered. Value of the vessel and cargo, £500.
+
+Jan. 19th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., M.P., elected by the Corporation
+to the office of High Steward in the place of the late Lord Sondes. A
+counter proposal that the Marquis of Salisbury, D.C.L., Secretary of
+State for India, be appointed, was negatived by 22 to 4.
+
+Feb. 1st. Stormy meeting at Town Hall on the question of the School
+Board formation, and subsequently many other public meetings in various
+parts of the borough.
+
+Feb. 16th. First election of a School Board for Yarmouth, and though 26
+gentlemen were nominated, but 24 went to the poll, the greatest
+excitement being manifested as to the returns, which were published the
+next morning, as follows:—S. J. F. Stafford, 3,975; G. Baker, 3,149; D.
+Tomkins, 2,672; Rev. A. Peaton, 2,615; C. H. S. Geake, 2,411; J. Bracey,
+2,131; T. P. Burroughs, 2,060; R. E. Dowson, 2,041; J. W. de Caux, 1,884;
+E. P. Youell, 1,858; and J. H. Orde, 1,827. The total number of persons
+polled was 9,901, and the votes given 39,295. The above gentlemen were
+elected for three years. (See May 28th.) On Mr. Burroughs resigning in
+1876, Mr. H. E. Buxton took his seat.
+
+Feb. 23rd. Four of Messrs. Watling and Son’s vessels sold by auction,
+and realised the following prices:—“Mary,” £890; “Isis,” £390; “Kate,”
+£385; and “John Wrey,” £340.
+
+Feb. 24th. The schooner “Jessie Brown,” of this port, stranded on
+Scroby, but her cargo of 1,425 bags of flour (16 st. each) kept the
+vessel afloat.
+
+Feb. F. D. Palmer, Esq., elected a Vice-President of the Legal
+Practitioners’ Society, London.
+
+March 1st. First meeting of the School Board held at the Tolhouse Hall.
+Mr. J. H. Orde elected chairman, and Mr. D. Tomkins vice-chairman for
+three years.
+
+March 2nd. Messrs. Massey and Norton obtained consent to a lease from
+Michaelmas, 1876, for 999 years, of a piece of ground north of the
+Britannia Pier—430 ft. by 100 ft.—for the purpose of making an Aquarium,
+&c., at an estimated cost of £60,000, which was confirmed by the Council
+on the 9th.
+
+March 2nd. Action at the Police Court—Board of Trade _v._ Mr. Garson
+Blake—to recover costs for surveying the “True Blue,” £24 18s. Judgment
+for the Crown with costs.
+
+March 2nd. Mr. Francis Sutton, of Norwich, appointed by the Council as a
+public analyst for the borough.
+
+March 9th. Heavy gale and serious loss of life and property. The
+schooner “Elizabeth” and all hands lost near the Barber Sand.
+
+March 19th. The brig “Tweedside” and the iron brig “Robert Anderson”
+collided in St. Nicholas’ Gat, causing the former to founder. Crew
+saved.
+
+March 25th. The Yarmouth and Gorleston Tramway opened to the public by
+the Mayor, and a luncheon afterwards given at the Star Hotel, in
+celebration of the event.
+
+March 25th. Number of wherries registered with the Norfolk Port and
+Haven Commissioners during the past year was 112, of the total burthen of
+1,963 tons, being an increase of 93 tons on the year.
+
+March 25th. From this date to June 14th, the total number of passengers
+conveyed by the tram cars to and from Gorleston was 95,912.
+
+March 27th. The brig “Thirteen,” of Sunderland, struck on the Cross Sand
+in a heavy sea, and both vessel and cargo, value £1,100 and £350
+respectively, foundered. The crew were gallantly rescued by the Caister
+lifeboatmen.
+
+March. The Rev. E. M. Sanderson, M.A., senior curate of the Parish,
+presented by the Lord Chancellor to the living of Weston St. Mary, near
+Spalding, worth £300 a year.
+
+April 1st. The “Ernestine,” a full-rigged Dutch East-Indiaman, of 1,296
+tons, with a crew of 27 hands, and having 2,000 tons of coal on board,
+struck on Hasbro’ Sands, but was got off by the aid of five tugs and
+another steam vessel the next day, after 800 tons of coal had been thrown
+overboard. Value of ship and cargo, £7,162. On June 24th the Admiralty
+Court awarded £1,800., i.e., £1,000 to beachmen and £800 to steamers.
+
+April 2nd. Mr. C. H. Wiltshire selected Clerk to the School Board, out
+of ten candidates nominated.
+
+April 5th. Last meeting held in the old Primitive Methodist Chapel,
+Priory Plain. (See Sept., 1850.)
+
+April 8th. Bradwell Church (St. Nicholas’) re-opened after £750 had been
+expended in restoring the fabric and interior fittings. This church,
+dating from the 14th century, consists of nave, north and south aisles,
+chancel, south porch, and round tower at west end.
+
+April 9th. Mr. William Laws, after serving as a Guardian of the Poor for
+25 years, retired from the Board, at the age of three score and ten.
+
+May 1st. The smack “Harkaway” lost on the Barber Sand. Value £600.
+
+May 7th. A paper balloon sent up at the Crystal Palace at Sydenham, fell
+at Belton same evening.
+
+May 18th. Contracts for enclosing additional ground to New Cemetery,
+amounting to £3,086—viz., brickwork, £2,230, stone-work, £286,
+palisading, &c., £520—accepted by the Corporation, the work to be
+completed by 29th Sept. (See June 9th, 1875, and Sept. 7th, 1876.)
+
+May 18th. The whaling ship “Labrador,” from the Arctic Seas, anchored in
+the Roadstead.
+
+May 20th. Mr. G. W. Bond, of Pulham, Norfolk, was elected House Surgeon
+at the Great Yarmouth Hospital; _vice_ Dr. Murrell, resigned.
+
+May 20th. The foundation stone of the new Baptist Tabernacle on the
+Lowestoft Road, at Gorleston, laid by J. Edwards, Esq., of London. The
+building, of ornamental brick, cost about £600, and will accommodate 800
+persons.
+
+May 28th. The Returning Officer’s account for the newly-appointed School
+Board was £220 11s. 7d., but the Educational Department finally decided
+(Sept.) that £178 9s. 2d. was sufficient.
+
+May. Petition forwarded to the Commissioners of Charities for England
+and Wales against the appointment of new Charity Trustees for this town,
+but on June 7th there was an excitable meeting at the Town Hall, called
+“for the purpose of considering the present position of the Children’s
+Hospital and other local charities, and the nomination of new trustees in
+conjunction with the existing five trustees—Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart.,
+M.P., and C. C. Aldred, B. Jay, W. Johnson, and J. Palmer, Esqs.” July
+28th, the Commissioners “concurred in the annual publication of local
+charity accounts,” and thought 15 trustees sufficient. In July, 1876,
+the Charity Commissioners appointed them as follows: The Vicar (for the
+time being), and W. Worship, R. S. Watling, T. B. Steward, H. E. Buxton,
+R. H. I. Palgrave, J. Bracey, C. H. Wiltshire, W. J. Foreman, and T. P.
+Burroughs, Esqs.
+
+June 8th and 9th. Frank Buckland, Esq., Inspector of Salmon Fisheries,
+held an inquiry at the Town Hall, as to “the state of the crab, lobster,
+and other sea fisheries along this coast, with a view of preserving them
+for the future.” On Nov. 16th, 1863, Commissioners Caird, M.P., Lefevre,
+M.P., and Dr. Huxley held an inquiry here on the same subject, but saw no
+reason for legislative measures.
+
+June 9th. The memorial stone of the new Cemetery laid by the Mayor.
+(See May 18th.)
+
+June. The total cost of pauperism last year was—out-relief, £2,855,
+in-maintenance, £2,131—total, £4,986. For the previous year, £5,272.
+East and West Fleggs for first-named period, £855.
+
+June 14th. Mr. Edward Owen (37), a native of Shrewsbury, schoolmaster
+and local preacher, in travelling from Yarmouth to Gorleston,
+accidentally fell while in the act of jumping from a tram-car in which he
+was riding, and the injuries received resulted fatally. Deceased had
+resided in Gorleston for six years. A public subscription of £100 was
+raised for his widow and four children.
+
+June 15th. Two new smacks—“Albatross” and “Terrier”—launched from
+Messrs. Beechings’ shipyard.
+
+June 22nd. The four chief stones of the Temple, Priory Plain, laid by
+Messrs. J. Riches, F. Salmon, J. W. Neave, and A. J. N. Chamberlin. A
+tea for 1,000 persons was served in the Drill Hall, and a public meeting
+held in the King Street Congregational Chapel. (See Aug. 3rd, 1874.)
+
+June 22nd. The principal stone of the Walrond Smack-Boys’ Home laid by
+Vice-Admiral Sir John Walter Tarleton, K.C.B., Commander-in-Chief of Her
+Majesty’s Naval Reserve. The promoter (Rev. A. T. Walrond) died on Oct.
+2nd, 1873, but the family raised £1,000 toward the building fund. (See
+Feb. 15th, 1876.)
+
+June 23rd. The marriage between the Rev. E. M. Sanderson, M.A., and Miss
+Eveline Mary Venables (only daughter of the Vicar of this parish)
+solemnized with much festivity.
+
+June 24th. The Yarmouth Gaol, after this date, to be used only as a
+lock-up for prisoners on remand, by order of the Home Secretary.
+
+June 28th. Colour-Sergeant Chipperfield presented, at the New Royal
+Standard Tavern, with a marble timepiece by the officers and men of the D
+Company of Rifle Volunteers, as a memento of their esteem on his
+retirement and promotion to the office of Paymaster-Sergeant, after 15
+years’ service.
+
+June 29th. Mr. Hitchman Hammond, a late member of the Town Council,
+died, aged 46 years.
+
+June 30th. Smack “William and Ann” launched from the yard of Messrs. S.
+K. Smith and Sons.
+
+June 30th. The opening of St. Andrew’s Church, Gorleston, after its
+complete restoration, was commemorated by a full choral service and
+sermons by the Rev. George Venables, S.C.L., and the Rev. — Gibson, of
+Lound. The new pulpit was the gift of E. W. Bell, Esq.
+
+June. Mr. E. W. Worlledge, solicitor (second son of John Worlledge,
+Esq., County Court Judge of this district, and Chancellor of the
+Diocese), appointed joint Registrar of Yarmouth County Court.
+
+June. Dr. Macleod, of Yarmouth Naval Hospital, promoted to the rank of
+Inspector-General of Hospitals and Fleets; and Sub-Lieut. F. C. N. Knox
+to Lieut. in 2nd or East Norfolk Regiment.
+
+July 6th. Full choral service held at the Parish Church at the
+re-opening of the fine old organ, after being removed, thoroughly
+repaired, and additional stops added by Messrs. Bishop and Son, of
+London. (See 1733, Jan. 25th, 1869, and Feb. 23rd, 1870.) The organ is
+now divided into two parts, and placed in the Chancel 60 ft. apart. They
+contain 280 motor, and the same number of pneumatic tubes for conveying
+the wind to the manuals, supplied by two low and one high pressure
+bellows. The number of stops is 48, and of sounding pipes about 3,100,
+viz., Great Organ CC to G, 56 notes 17 stops; Swell Organ CC to G, 17
+stops; Choir Organ CC to G, 10 stops; north Pedal Organ CCC to F, 30
+notes; south Pedal CCC to F, 30 notes; 7 couplers and 10 composition
+pedals.
+
+July 13th. Mr. A. J. B. Howes’ tender of £385 accepted by the
+Corporation for erecting the Fish Wharf master’s house; the same
+contractor on Aug. 17th was appointed to alter the Refreshment Depôt at
+the Fish Wharf, at the cost of £145.
+
+July 17th. A horse belonging to Mr. H. H. Gambling backed into the river
+near the Bridge, and was drowned.
+
+July. The Norfolk Militia Artillery received the honour of being called
+“The Prince of Wales’ Own Regiment of Norfolk Artillery Militia,” H.R.H.
+the Prince of Wales being the Hon. Colonel.
+
+July 19th. Richard Mann, Esq., died at Ditchingham, Suffolk, aged 72.
+Deceased was a County Magistrate and a member of the Port and Haven
+Commission for Suffolk. Mr. James Peto, of Lowestoft, was elected in
+Oct. a Commissioner in place of the above-named gentleman.
+
+July 22nd. Public meeting at the Town Hall on the question of
+establishing an Aquarium at Yarmouth and for obtaining local co-operation
+in the project. A committee of 17 gentlemen was appointed. It was
+subsequently published that the capital required was £100,000, to be
+raised in shares of £5 each. The cost of the whole building would be
+£75,000, leaving £25,000 not called up. The Aquarium and Skating Rink
+would cost about £23,000, and a public hall to hold 3,000 people—194 ft.
+by 60 ft.—£30,000. (See March 2nd, Oct. 9th, and Nov. 3rd.)
+
+July 24th. The French gunboat “Cuvier” with four guns and crew of 75
+hands, put into Yarmouth Roadstead.
+
+July 28th. Rev. T. W. Harrison, late of Yarmouth, instituted to the
+vicarage of Christ Church, Luton, Beds, by the Lord Bishop of the
+Diocese.
+
+July 30th. A hoax, resembling somewhat the evergreen Cromer hoax of
+Sept. 2nd, 1868, apparently perpetrated. On the first occasion, large
+bills were previously posted over the town, representing that on this
+eventful day “a fine commodious steamer,” with every comfort and
+convenience, named the “Isis,” from London, would take excursionists on a
+day’s pleasure to Cromer and back, at the reasonable charge of 2s. 6d. a
+head. Tickets to be procured before Wednesday, the 2nd. About £14
+worth—_i.e._ 112—were disposed of, and the money handed over to the
+“enterprising swindler.” Intending passengers waited long and patiently
+on the Jetty and Beach on the morning in question, but the steamer never
+came to view, and our townspeople retired home the wiser for their bought
+experience. On a later occasion, however, a steamer _did_ go to Cromer,
+but left some 40 or 50 of her passengers to get home as best they could
+overland, owing to a heavy sea running.
+
+July. Dr. Hubert Airy visited Yarmouth, by order of the Local Government
+Board, to enquire into the cause of zymotic diseases then prevalent. He
+issued his report with numerous suggestions in Nov.
+
+Aug. 2nd. The barque “Ponda Chief,” named after a Kaffir tribe in
+Africa, one of the finest vessels ever built in Yarmouth, and the longest
+by some six or eight ft., launched from Messrs. Fellows’ ship-yard.
+Dimensions—140 ft. long, 28 ft. beam, 14 ft. 6 in. deep, and 416 tons
+register. A luncheon was afterwards given at the Crown and Anchor.
+
+Aug. 3rd. (Regatta day.) The armour-plated corvette “Favorite,” of
+2,094 tons and 400-horse power, got on Scroby Sand, but came off with the
+flood tide.
+
+Aug. 10th. The War Department applied for additional ground, 2a. 3r.
+0p., for the Military Centre Depôt, on the South Denes, at £100 per acre,
+but it was decided by the Council (Aug. 17th) not to dispose of the land
+for less than £500 for the two acres.
+
+Aug. 11th. The new carrier-cutter “Flower of the Fleet” launched from
+Messrs. S. K. Smith and Son’s yard.
+
+Aug. 17th. The Council were apprised by a letter from the Lord
+Chancellor’s Secretary, that Henry Teasdel, John Bracey, Robert Veale,
+and Robert Henry Inglis Palgrave, Esqs., had been appointed Justices of
+the Peace for the Borough.
+
+Aug. 31st. An extraordinary race horse named Skardo jumped over the iron
+railings in _front_ of the Town Hall, dashed into an iron gate, which was
+carried away, then crossing the garden to the south side in its mad
+career, knocked down the two entrance-gates; also several feet of iron
+railings across the road, but the force of the blow against the wall of
+Messrs. Fenner and Suffling’s office overpowered the animal. It has
+since won several races, and the fame of Skardo (_alias_ Iron Duke) will
+be handed down to posterity among the wonders of the past.
+
+Aug. 31st. Collision in the Tyne between the steamer “Glanabanta,” of
+Newcastle, and the schooner “Second Adventure,” of Lynn, the latter being
+sunk and the crew drowned. (See Jan. 23rd, 1876.)
+
+Aug. 31st. Messrs. G. T. Clough and J. Bonnick accomplished, on
+bicycles, the journey from London to Yarmouth, 122 miles, in 17½ hours,
+or 12¼ hours exclusive of the 5¼ hours they stopped for refreshments.
+They left Bow at 4 a.m., and arrived here at 9.30 p.m. The same two
+gentlemen on Sept. 3rd completed 120 miles homeward in 11h. 55m.,
+exclusive of 4h. 25m. stoppage.
+
+Sept. 3rd. The cost for purchasing property and widening the Market
+Gates, up to this date, was £1,446 4s.; £1,400 being borrowed at 4 per
+cent. on mortgage of the General District Rates.
+
+Sept. 6th. The new smack “Huntsman” launched from Mr. H. Critten’s yard.
+Length, 55 ft. over all; depth of hold, 7 ft. 4 in.; beam, 16 ft. 8 in.
+
+Sept. 9th. The new organ in St. George’s Park (Baptist) Chapel opened.
+The instrument, built by Mr. W. C. Mack, contains 318 pipes, and one row
+of manuals, 54 notes, from CC to F, and 1½ octave of German pedals, from
+CCC to F. Five stops are in general swell. The cost, including
+alterations in fixing, was £200. (See Aug. 8th, 1872.)
+
+Sept. 20th. Revs. W. J. Blake and H. J. Bode, B.A., were licensed as
+curates for Yarmouth, the Revs. R. V. Barker and E. R. Adams being about
+to be removed. (See Oct. 29th.)
+
+Sept. 26th. One boat brought in 1,600 mackerel caught off the coast,
+which sold at 2d. each.
+
+Sept. 28th. The deliveries of herrings up to this date far below those
+of last year and less than in 1873.
+
+Sept. 30th. The body of a male child discovered in a rain-water cistern,
+after five or six months, on the premises of D. Meadows, Esq., surgeon,
+King Street, which was subsequently proved to have been illegitimate, and
+concealed by a maid-servant.
+
+Oct. 7th. The Rev. Samuel Hurst, of Southtown, died very suddenly at
+Corton, near Lowestoft, aged 80. The deceased gentleman was much
+esteemed for his liberality to local charities.
+
+Oct. 9th. A dead porpoise, weighing 70lbs., found on Breydon, and sold
+for 1s. to a smacksman.
+
+Oct. 9th. The foundation-stone of the Aquarium laid by Lord Suffield,
+the ceremony being attended by the Mayor and other members of the
+Corporation, and a large concourse of spectators. The band of the P.W.O.
+Norfolk Militia Artillery played at intervals. A luncheon was afterwards
+spread at the Town Hall, to which about 100 gentlemen sat down, including
+the Mayor (R. D. Barber, Esq.) and Deputy-Mayor; Lord Suffield, Hon. F.
+Walpole, M.P., Colonel Duff, and the officials of the Aquarium Society.
+(See Sept. 5th, 1876.)
+
+Oct. 10th. The smack “Notre Dame,” of this port, lost in a gale about 10
+miles S. W. of the Newark lightship. Crew saved.
+
+Oct. 10th. The smack “Vixen” lost three hands whilst ferrying fish to a
+steamer.
+
+Oct. 14th. The Baptist Tabernacle at Gorleston opened. It is of white
+brick, and of the Italian order. The interior measures 57 ft by 31 ft.
+(See May 20th.)
+
+Oct. 17th and 23rd. Very heavy gales. The barque “Young England,” of
+Middlesbro’, struck on the Cockle Sand and foundered (on the 20th), and
+12 out of a crew of 17 were unfortunately drowned.
+
+Oct. 21st. The trawler “Surf” launched from Messrs. Beeching’s yard.
+Dimensions—Length, 66 ft.; beam, 18½ ft.; depth of hold, 8½ ft.
+
+Oct. 22nd. Captain William Bugg, of the schooner “Eliza Jane,” and his
+wife, walked over the quay-head near the Gorleston Ferry, in the dark,
+and were drowned, and a third person had a narrow escape.
+
+Oct. 23rd. The brigantine “Saucy Jack,” belonging to Mr. G. Blake, of
+this port, run ashore opposite the Coastguard Station, and became a total
+wreck. The vessel was built in 1841, and valued at £500. Wreckage sold
+for £38.
+
+Oct. A handsome specimen of the Maigre (_Sciæna aquila_) caught off
+Yarmouth. The fish was 4 ft. 9 in. long, and weighed 75 lbs. It is a
+Mediterranean fish, and seldom caught on the English coast.
+
+Oct. 27th. Public meeting in the Town Hall to consider the projected
+Railway from Yarmouth to Stalham, at a cost of £70,000, the land alone
+being calculated to cost £13,000. The total length of the light line to
+be 22 miles, and pass through and near to 37 parishes. On Nov. 9th the
+Council accorded their approval of the whole scheme.
+
+Oct. 27th. Captain William Swann Stanford, five years pier-master of
+this port, and eight years previously harbour-master, died suddenly at
+Gorleston.
+
+Oct. 29th. Sale of six smacks by auction, late the property of Mr. R.
+Galleway, realised £3,105.
+
+Oct. 29th. The Rev. E. R. Adams presented with a case of four elegant
+silver salt stands, by the congregation of St. Andrew’s; and on Nov. 1st
+was presented with a pair of silver fish carvers in morocco leather case,
+by the Sunday School Teachers.
+
+Oct. 29th. Charles Diver, Esq., tendered his resignation as Town Clerk
+of the Borough. (See Nov. 30th and Dec. 16th.)
+
+Nov. 3rd. Gallant lifeboat services rendered by the Caister beachmen.
+The brigantine “Harmston” lost on the Middle Cross Sand, but the crew of
+seven, who were in the rigging for several hours during a very heavy sea,
+were ultimately hauled through the surf to the lifeboat and saved. Up to
+1874 the Caister boatmen, about 40 in number, had launched their boats on
+122 occasions, and had rescued 541 lives. A public subscription was
+opened in Nov. through the exertions of the Misses Morton. (See Dec.
+25th.)
+
+Nov. 3rd. At a general meeting of the Shareholders of the Yarmouth
+Aquarium Society (Limited), held in London, Lord Suffield, K.C.B.,
+Colonel Edward Money, and T. A. Masey, I. Strutt, and J. H. Orde, Esqs.,
+were appointed the Executive Committee of Directors. It was stated at
+this meeting that the contractors, Messrs. Chas. Aldin and Sons, offered
+to take shares to the amount of £20,000, and that the contemplated outlay
+up to the date of opening would be about £35,000. In July the
+subscriptions amounted to £21,865.
+
+Nov. 7th. Thirty-five large sound codfish captured in the Roadstead with
+hook and line by two men.
+
+Nov. 9th. First school under the School Board opened at the Oddfellows’
+Hall, Gorleston; on Nov. 26th the Yarmouth Temporary Grammar School was
+hired; and in Jan., 1877, the new Cobholm Island and Gorleston Schools
+were opened.
+
+Nov. 11th. A conveyance made out to Her Majesty’s principal Secretary of
+State for the War Department of land and hereditaments situate on the
+South Denes for the purpose of a Military Depôt Centre, and release of
+certain rights. Purchase money, £1,635, was sealed by the Committee.
+(See Dec., 1874.)
+
+Nov. 11th. Heavy rainfall; no less than 120 tons per acre fell in 24
+hours.
+
+Nov. 13th. Frederic Graham Lacon, late of the 17th Regiment of Foot, of
+Tharston, Norfolk, only son of John Edmund Lacon, Esq., died at Madeira,
+aged 26 years.
+
+Nov. 13th. Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., M.P.’s, brougham overturned near
+the Workhouse, the horse having become frightened and bolted, and
+although the coachman was much hurt, the baronet escaped with only a
+severe shaking.
+
+Nov. 14th. Floods and much destruction of property throughout the
+country. There were 18 feet of water on the bar at our harbour, _i.e._,
+9 feet more than the usual flood. The schooner “Elizabeth and Susan,” of
+this port, was lost off the Humber, and much damage done to fishing craft
+and shipping generally.
+
+Nov. 17th. Mr. H. Stonex, organist of the Parish Church, presented, in
+the Record Room of the Town Hall, with a purse of £81, subscribed by the
+parishioners of the town as a token of respect.
+
+Nov. 19th and 20th. Very heavy gale and serious loss of life and
+property. The schooner “Wild Wave” (95 tons), of Sunderland, laden with
+600,000 bottles, run on to Caister beach (after fouling with the Cockle
+lightship) and two hands—master and boy—were washed off the rigging and
+drowned.
+
+Not. 21st. A daring Scotchman, named Watson, again climbed through the
+caryatides outside the Nelson Monument of the roof, and after embracing
+the figure of Britannia, &c., descended by the lightning conductor wire
+outside, 144 feet, to the amazement of several spectators. (See 1863.)
+
+Nov. 23rd. Mr. Edward Cattermole resigned the office of librarian at the
+Public Library, which he had held 15 years. (See Dec. 9th.)
+
+Nov. 26th. The Rev. A. J. Spencer presented by the congregation of St.
+James’ with a silver pocket Communion service and some volumes of books,
+as tokens of regard.
+
+Nov. 27th. A tar tank, containing about 50,000 gallons, on the works of
+Mr. Davy, Cobholm Island, burst, and the tar ran about in huge streams.
+
+Nov. 30th. A Committee of the Town Council accepted Mr. Charles Diver’s
+resignation as Town Clerk of the Borough, the term to expire on Jan. 3rd,
+1876. (See Dec. 16th.)
+
+Nov. 30th. The smack “Chosen” ran ashore near the North Pier.
+
+Nov. The Rev. R. V. Barker, M.A., presented previous to his leaving
+Yarmouth for a sojourn through the Holy Land, with a silver salver,
+silver tobacco jar, gold pencil case, and a box of mathematical
+instruments, by the congregation, Bible Class, and teachers and scholars
+of St. John’s Church.
+
+Nov. The original manuscript of “Manship’s History of Yarmouth” found by
+the Rev. A. Peaton, at an old book shop in Bury St. Edmunds.
+
+Nov. The “Perlustration of Great Yarmouth,” in three vols., by Charles
+John Palmer, Esq., F.S.A., printed and published by Mr. George Nall. It
+is an illustrated work of 1,282 quarto pages.
+
+Nov. Mr. W. Saville Kent, F.L.S., F.Z.S., appointed Naturalist and
+Manager of the Aquarium.
+
+Dec. 2nd. The schooner “Tantivy” of this port went ashore on Kessingland
+beach during a dense snowstorm.
+
+Dec. 2nd. The Royal National Lifeboat Institution voted a silver medal
+and its thanks on vellum to Philip George, coxswain of the Caister
+Lifeboats; and to S. Bishop, chief boatman of H.M. Coastguard, at
+Caister, for their bravery in saving three of the crew of the “Wild
+Wave.” The Institution voted £10 for the others who rendered assistance.
+(See Dec. 25th.)
+
+Dec. 4th. Another tug, named “Reliance,” struck the sunken wreck of the
+steamer “Gladstone,” off Hasbro’, and was run on to Eccles beach, where
+she became a wreck. Valued at £3,500; but insured for only £2,000. Crew
+saved. The hull was subsequently sold for £140. (See Nov. 14th, 1871.)
+
+Dec. 4th. The schooner “X. L.,” of Goole, lost on Winterton beach; also
+two hands.
+
+Dec. 5th. The billyboy “Three Anns” driven among the breakers off
+Gorleston, and the crew rescued by the lifeboat “Ranger.”
+
+Dec. 6th. The Corporation resolved to erect a Contagious Disease
+Hospital next the Workhouse, at a cost of £500, and £200 for an enclosing
+wall, 200 ft. square by 7 ft. high. A contract of £1,050 was afterwards
+accepted.
+
+Dec. 6th. Captain R. J. C. Day, harbour master of Ipswich, appointed as
+Pier Master by the Port and Haven Commission at a salary of £150 and
+residence.
+
+Dec. 9th. Mr. C. Hall appointed librarian of the Public Library. (See
+Nov. 23rd.)
+
+Dec. 16th. Mr. T. M. Baker appointed by the Town Council as Town Clerk,
+at a salary of £450 a year.
+
+Dec. 21st. The returns of herrings landed at the Fishwharf during the
+season from Aug. 23rd to above date were 11,850 lasts and 2,600 fish.
+(18,200 to the last.)
+
+Dec. 24th. Lord Hastings died at Calicut, Bombay, aged 20 years.
+
+Dec. 25th. The sum of £197 2s. subscribed as a testimonial for the
+Caister Company of beachmen, for their bravery at the wreck of the “Wild
+Wave,” on Nov. 19th, and many former acts of daring in rescuing
+shipwrecked crews. On Jan. 4th the money was distributed, each of the 40
+men receiving four guineas tied up in blue satin bags. (See Nov. 3rd.)
+
+Dec. 26th. Edward Reynolds Aldred, Esq., J.P., died at Southtown, aged
+68 years.
+
+Dec. 29th. The new smack “Gem,” belonging to Mr. W. H. Stanley, of
+Southtown, launched from Messrs. J. and F. Mack’s yard.
+
+Dec. 30th. Singular freak of a horse ridden by Mr. F. Danby Palmer. The
+animal having thrown his rider, bolted towards the sea, into which it
+dashed, and swam out with considerable energy for nearly a mile and a
+half, towards Scroby, when it was captured by some boatmen, and brought
+safely to shore again.
+
+
+
+1876.
+
+
+Jan. 3rd. Quarter Sessions. No prisoners for trial, a maiden session
+not having occurred for more than 20 years, the Mayor presented the
+Recorder with a pair of white kid gloves.—R. H. I. Palgrave, Esq.,
+qualified as a magistrate for the Borough.
+
+Jan. 4th. Arthur George Thompson (22), incautiously walked on an
+overhanging cornice at the top of the new Temple, Priory Plain, from
+which he fell 45 feet to the ground and was killed. The falling _débris_
+so injured Thomas Kirk as to result fatally.
+
+Jan. 6th. Five of Mr. Malden’s smacks sold for £2,775.
+
+Jan. 6th. Juvenile Fancy Dress Ball at Town Hall.
+
+Jan. 10th. A woman (73), named Hannah Ives, was brutally murdered with a
+spade by an insane woman, named Swatman, at Belton.
+
+Jan. 13th. Fire in the Card-room of the Town Hall, under the
+hearthstone, and damage done to the extent of £15 or £16.
+
+Jan. 19th. The smack “Charley,” belonging to Mr. Alfred Fisher, launched
+from Mr. Fellows’ yard.
+
+Jan. 20th. Marriage of Reginald Thorsby Gwyn, Esq., Captain of the 4th
+King’s Own Royals, and Adjutant of the 4th Norfolk Rifle Volunteers, with
+Miss Mary Joanna Farr, youngest daughter of Isaac Preston, Esq.
+
+Jan. 23rd. Collision in the Roadstead, about 1 p.m., between the s.s.
+“Glanabanta” (Capt. Ablitt, of Yarmouth) and the s.s. “Transit.” The
+latter, with a crew of 21 all told, of Dieppe (described in the _Veritas_
+to be 548 tons gross, 373 tons net [French], engines 90 h.p., and built
+at Newcastle-upon-Tyne in 1871), was laden with 120 tons of coal and a
+general cargo of 290 tons, comprising machinery, silk, cotton, and light
+manufactures, valued between £30,000 and £40,000. The “Transit” was run
+on to the beach, opposite Trafalgar Road, where her hull still (1884)
+remains. The “Glanabanta” claimed £5,000 damages; but in a cross action
+the “Transit” claimed heavier damages, as the loss was computed to be
+£50,000. In the High Court of Admiralty, Sir R. Phillimore ruled that
+the “Transit” was alone to blame for the collision; but on an appeal in
+the High Court of Justice, Lord Justice Baggallay reversed the decision.
+The salvors were awarded £2,000.
+
+Jan. 23rd. The Rev. Mangan, D.D., LL.D., late Dean of Limerick, after
+being appointed evening lecturer at St. Peter’s Church, preached his
+first sermon.
+
+Jan. 26th. The cabin of the brigantine “William Crow,” whilst in
+harbour, caught fire, and damage was done to the extent of about £200.
+
+Feb. 3rd. First “Spelling Bee” entertainment held in Yarmouth.
+
+Feb. 15th. The Walrond Smack-Beys’ Home opened by Earl Nelson. (See
+June 22nd, 1875.) This Gothic building cost with fittings about £2,000,
+and will accommodate about 40 boys.
+
+Feb. 21st. Mr. William Laws, as superintendent of St. Nicholas’ Sunday
+School since 1844, presented with several testimonials previous to his
+leaving for Beccles.
+
+Feb. 22nd. East Suffolk Election. Lord Mahon having been elevated to
+the House of Peers on the death of his father, his seat in Parliament for
+East Suffolk became vacant, and Lieut.-Colonel St. John Barne (C.) and
+Charles Easton, Esq. (L.), contested for the seat. Poll—Colonel Barne,
+3,659; Mr. Easton, 2,708—majority, 951. Colonel Barne’s election cost
+£4,140, and Mr. Easton’s £2,312.
+
+Feb. 23rd. Fire at Mr. John Harris’ pipe manufactory, Priory Plain.
+Damage about £150.
+
+Feb. 23rd and 24th. Sir Randal Roberts, Bart., appeared at the Theatre
+Royal, and impersonated “Charles Devereux” in the comedietta _Under a
+Veil_, written by himself; and on the 25th and 26th he appeared as
+“Lieutenant Ringston, R.N.,” in _Naval Engagements_, with the Maitland
+Blue Beard Burlesque Company.
+
+The Marine Drive widened 60 feet, between Britannia and Wellington Piers,
+a distance of 3,000 feet; cost, £2,500. (See April 22nd.)
+
+A new gasometer (No. 3), capable of holding 63,000 cubic feet of gas, and
+its tank 406,350 gallons of water, was erected at the Southtown Gas
+Works, which, with other modern improvements, cost £5,000.
+
+April 1st. The Hon. Frederick Walpole, of Rainthorpe Hall, Flordon, M.P.
+for North Norfolk, died in London. Deceased was third surviving son of
+the third Earl of Orford, and was born in 1822.
+
+April 14th. Loss of the “Cygnet” and all hands.
+
+April 18th. The full-rigged ship “Humboldt,” with 349 emigrants on
+board, ran on to Winterton Beach.
+
+April 20th. The Rev. G. Merriman, M.A., presented with a gold watch,
+silver tea service, and a silver claret jug, by the St. James’
+congregation.
+
+April 21st. Lieutenant-Colonel James Duff elected a Member of Parliament
+for North Norfolk, in place of the Hon. F. Walpole, deceased. (See April
+1st, 1876, and Nov. 26th, 1868.) Poll—Colonel Duff (C.), 2,302; Sir
+Thomas Fowell Buxton, Bart. (L.), 2,192; majority, 110. Out of the 6,231
+voters on register, only 4,494 voted. Number on register in the Borough
+(including Runham), 1,980; number voted in Yarmouth, 1,380.
+
+April 22nd. R. Morgan, Esq., C.E., Government Board Inspector, visited
+Yarmouth respecting the borrowing of £3,300 by the Corporation, for
+widening the Drive, &c.
+
+April 23rd. Lady Elizabeth Susan Orde died at Hopton. She was eldest
+daughter of Henry Charles, sixth Duke of Beaufort, and born June 23rd,
+1798.
+
+April 28th. E. P. Youell, Esq., presented by the parishioners of
+Gorleston with a massive silver four-glass épergne, value £80, for his
+zealous exertions in connection with the restoration of Gorleston Church.
+(See Aug. 14th, 1871.)
+
+May 9th. The Yarmouth brig “Tradesman” lost on the Normandy coast.
+
+June 2nd. Meeting at the Town Hall resolved to have a four-dial clock in
+St. Peter’s Tower, which was placed there the same year.
+
+June 8th. The Gt. Yarmouth Bowling Green opened.
+
+June 13th. Vice-Admiral Thomas Lewis Gooch, youngest son of the late Sir
+Thomas Sherlock Gooch, Bart., died at Yarmouth, aged 69 years.
+
+June 22nd. Capt. Wm. Holt, 16 years connected with the 2nd N.R.V.,
+presented, on his retirement, with four elegantly-chased silver dessert
+spoons by the members of D. Company. (See Dec. 4th, 1883.)
+
+July 8th. Heavy thunderstorm. The electric fluid struck the chimney and
+entered a cottage in the factory yard, disarranging and breaking the
+furniture and ornaments in the room; it also did damage to other property
+in the town, including some amount of destruction of property belonging
+to Mr. H. Harding, St. Nicholas’ Road, who had a large chimney knocked
+down and many squares of glass broken.
+
+July 10th. Fire in Church Street, Gorleston. Six cottages burnt down,
+and three others partly destroyed. Nearly 40 men, women, and children
+rendered homeless for a time.
+
+July 27th. The Yarmouth Temple dedicated for Divine worship before its
+completion. Interior dimensions, 72 feet by 52 feet; height, 35 feet.
+Cost £4,000; accommodates 1,100.
+
+July. St. Peter’s Road footway laid with concrete.
+
+Aug. 8th. Miss E. Pearson, of Yarmouth, and Miss MacLaughlin, left
+London for Servia, _via_ Vienna, their services as nurses to the sick and
+wounded in the Eastern war having been accepted by Archbishop Michael, at
+Belgrade. They were greeted by a torchlight procession on their arrival.
+(See Aug. 7th, 1871.)
+
+Aug. 21st. The stallage, rents, and tolls in the Market and Fair let by
+auction for five years from Jan. 1st, 1877, to Messrs. Bower, of Leeds,
+for £925 per annum. (See Dec. 11th, 1871.) Some 13 years ago, the same
+lessees gave but £625 per annum.
+
+Aug. 29th. A cyclone of great violence swept over some parts of this
+district, and carried trees, stacks, &c., away in its narrow track.
+
+Aug. The Registrar-General’s returns show that the mortality of Yarmouth
+was 15 per 1,000—nine other places only out of 46 being lower.
+
+Sept. 5th. The Yarmouth Aquarium opened to the public with much
+ceremony, and a _recherché_ luncheon was spread in the corridor.
+
+Sept. 7th. Another new cemetery (No. 3) consecrated by the Bishop of
+Norwich. It comprises about ten acres. (See Oct. 18th, 1855.)
+
+Sept. 7th and 8th. East of England Great Horse Fête held on Southtown
+Marshes.
+
+Sept. 8th. Meeting at Town Hall protesting against the Turkish
+atrocities.
+
+Sept. 11th. Mr. W. J. Lincoln presented with a handsome timepiece by the
+members of the Foresters’ Court “Star of the East” (2728). He had been
+18 years secretary.
+
+Sept. 24th. At 6.30 p.m., an extraordinary meteor, resembling a
+brilliant ball of fire and shooting stars, illuminated the heavens for
+several seconds.
+
+Sept. 27th. Commander Horatio Nelson, R.N., son of the late Thomas
+Atkinson, master of the flag-ship “Victory” at Trafalgar, and godson of
+the late Admiral Lord Nelson, died at Yarmouth, aged 78.
+
+Oct. 13th. H. E. Buxton, Esq., elected a member of the School Board in
+place of T. P. Burroughs, Esq., resigned.
+
+Oct. At the Norfolk Quarter Sessions, the Revs. R. J. Tacon (Rollesby),
+and T. J. Blofeld (Ormesby), and G. M. Beck, Esq. (Ormesby), qualified as
+County Magistrates.
+
+Oct. 16th. Testimonials of £15 sterling—a richly-mounted walking stick,
+and a pipe—presented to pay-master-Sergt. Grier, on his leaving the E. N.
+Militia, after 22 years.
+
+Oct. 19th. The screw gunboat “Cherub,” 60 h.p., and two guns, anchored
+in the Roadstead. Also the screw iron troopship “Assistance,” 1,300
+h.p., and two guns, 2,037 tons burthen; and two Tyne gunboats, each
+having a 35-pounder.
+
+Oct. 22nd. Heavy gale. Loss of the lugger “Cynthia,” and all hands.
+
+Oct. 23rd. First burial in the new Cemetery—Samuel Mannall, many years
+in the Trinity service, aged 47.
+
+Oct. 28th. A live stag found swimming at sea, over three miles from
+land. The crew of the smack “Gleaner” picked the animal up, and brought
+it safely to the Royal Hotel stables.
+
+Nov. 5th. Mr. J. W. Parsley, smack owner, late of Greenwich, died at
+Gorleston, aged 46.
+
+Nov. 8th. Schooner “Essex” driven ashore, and wrecked south of Gorleston
+Pier. On the 11th the brig “Vulcan” shared the same fate in the South
+Ham.
+
+Nov. 15th. Mr. T. Elliot, of Ormesby, presented at the Aquarium with a
+testimonial—a handsome épergne or candelabrum, with a group of stags at
+the base—in acknowledgment of public services rendered to numerous
+charities.
+
+Nov. 15th. Great Conservative Banquet held at the Drill Hall. About 600
+guests present, including the members for North Norfolk, and Colonel
+Barne, M.P.
+
+Nov. 17th. H. R. Harmer, Esq., appointed as Vestry Clerk without a poll,
+in place of the late Mr. S. Barnard Cory.
+
+Nov. 23rd. Mr. W. Stockton, Master of the School of Navigation,
+presented with a travelling bag, completely fitted up, a silver pencil
+case, and set of gold studs, by his old pupils and friends, as a token of
+esteem.
+
+Nov. The new steam tug “Comet,” built for the Yarmouth Star Steam Tug
+Company, arrived at this port.
+
+Nov. Mr. Henry Spelman Palmer attained the degree of B.A. at the London
+University.
+
+Nov. A patent wedge or railway key invented by Mr. James Gillings.
+
+Nov. 29th. Mr. John Woodger, died, aged 63 years. Deceased was a member
+of the Yarmouth Corporation and Board of Guardians.
+
+Nov. Mr. Thomas Small resigned the Consular Agency after 24 years, and
+the French Government presented him with a gold medal (in case) in
+recognition of valuable services.
+
+Dec. 3rd. The Austrian barque “Olympo” stranded on Yarmouth beach. The
+smack “Steadfast” was lost on the following day, with two hands.
+
+Dec. 6th. Mr. William Rudd presented with a handsome timepiece, silver
+inkstand and penholder, and two bronze candelabra, by the Sunday School
+teachers and congregation of St. Andrew’s.
+
+Dec. 7th. Baptist Schoolrooms, Crown Road, built and opened. Cost,
+£950. The corner-stone was laid July 20th.
+
+Dec. 8th. A black marble timepiece, inlaid with malachite, presented to
+Mr. J. Johnson (foreman to Messrs. Aldin), by the Directors of the
+Aquarium, for his skill and assiduity in conducting these prodigious
+works.
+
+Dec. 12th. The smack “Gnat,” of this port, after a collision, foundered
+at the Silver Pits, value £1,000.
+
+Dec. 13th. Sir Charles R. Turner, fifth son of the late Rev. Richard
+Turner of this town, died in London, aged 87.
+
+Dec. 21st. The number of lasts of herrings for the present season landed
+at the Fishwharf was 18,836. The aggregate earnings of 20 boats amounted
+to £24,217, _i.e._, £1,210 per boat, and the gross expenses amounted to
+about £4,907. The previous year the aggregate of 20 boats was £18,787,
+_i.e._, £981 per boat, and the expenses reached £4,582.
+
+Dec. 23rd. The barque “Ingleborough,” of Hull, lost on the Barber Sand.
+Value, £2,000; cargo, £900. On the 27th the “Countess of Zetland,”
+damaged by the floating wreck of the above, was ran ashore opposite the
+Aquarium, where she became a total wreck.
+
+Dec. 28th. James Wright, master of the smack “Olive Branch,” awarded a
+silver medal by the King of Sweden and Norway for his bravery in saving
+the crew of a Norwegian brig.
+
+Dec. 30th. H.M. paddle-steamer “Valorous,” and four iron twin-screw
+gunboats, of 360 tons each, arrived in the Roadstead.
+
+Deaths: March 27th, Mr. J. Barney Beales, sheriff’s officer, aged
+82.—Aug. 22nd, the Hon. Mrs. Harbord Harbord, daughter of Sir H. J.
+Stracey.—Oct. 21st, Mr. S. B. Cory, vestry clerk, aged 80.—Nov. 18th, H.
+E. B. Giles, solicitor, aged 65.
+
+Launches: Jan. 30th, smack “Flash.”—May, smack “Ruby.”—July, yacht
+“Harry,” belonging to Mr. H. A. Morris.—July, fishing boat “Arab
+Steed.”—Aug. 19th, fishing dandy “Challenge.”—Oct. 4th, smacks “Sunbeam”
+and “Puss.”—Nov. 27th, schooner “Arthur.”—Dec. 11th, trawling smack
+“Carlisle.”
+
+
+
+1877.
+
+
+Jan. A portion of the North Denes levelled, preparatory to laying the
+rails of the North Norfolk Railway. (See Oct. 27th, 1875.)
+
+Jan. 9th. Charles Diver, Esq., elected Justices’ Clerk for the East and
+West Fleggs, in place of the late Mr. S. B. Cory, deceased.
+
+Jan. 9th. Fifteen fishing craft belonging to Messrs. Smith and Son, sold
+at the “Star” for £13,320; and on Feb. 5th ten of the late Mr. J. W.
+Parsley’s realised £5,615.
+
+Jan. 16th. P.c. Edwards presented with a handsome timepiece and purse of
+£4 14s., by the salesmen, buyers, and boatowners, for his attention and
+courtesy to them at the Fishwharf.
+
+Jan. 19th. The Stradbroke Road Board Schools, Gorleston, opened. Cost,
+with fittings, £3,000; accommodate 500 children. (See Nov. 9th, 1875.)
+
+Jan. 30th. Very heavy gale and boisterous high tide, parts of the town
+being inundated. 18 Yarmouth smacks and over 100 hands were lost. The
+Yarmouth “Mark Lane” lifeboatmen bravely rescued the crew (12) of the
+barque “Constantia,” wrecked on Scroby. Fifty-five widows, 108 children,
+and 17 aged parents were left destitute in this locality. The local
+relief fund reached £2,540, and in London £6,800. The first grant voted
+for Yarmouth and district was £2,745.
+
+Jan. 30th. Calico fancy dress ball at St. Andrew’s Hall, Gorleston.
+
+Feb. 5th. Charles John Palmer, Esq., presented with a gold watch, a
+silver flower-basket, and a purse of 100 guineas, as a complimentary
+testimonial for his local literary researches &c.; 235 persons subscribed
+£233 9s. 6d. (See 1830.)
+
+Feb. 18th. New oak pulpit in the parish church erected and used for the
+first time by the Vicar, the Rev. George Venables, S.C.L.
+
+Feb. The Secretary of State for War decided on the formation of an
+Administrative Battalion, to consist of the 2nd Norfolk (Yarmouth), 4th
+Suffolk (Bungay), 14th Suffolk (Beccles), and 17th Suffolk (Lowestoft),
+under the title of the 1st Administrative Battalion Norfolk Rifle
+Volunteers, with headquarters at Yarmouth.
+
+Feb. 19th. Sir James Paget, Bart., F.R.S., D.C.L., LL.D., appointed one
+of the Serjeant-Surgeons in Ordinary to the Queen, in the room of Sir
+William Fergusson, Bart., deceased. He is the son of the late Mr. Samuel
+Paget, of this town, and was born in 1814.
+
+Feb. 21st. John Clowes, Esq., solicitor, died, aged 67 years. This
+gentleman formerly filled the office of Town Clerk of the Borough; he was
+also a member of the Council and Board of Guardians for many years,
+besides being Lord of the Manor of Caister. (See 1822 and 1840.)
+
+Feb. The body of a male child, about five months old, sent from
+Liverpool Station to the Vauxhall terminus in a small black bag; but no
+clue was ever found to the supposed murderess or the gentleman to whom it
+was consigned.
+
+March. J. H. Orde, Esq., resigned after 18 years’ service in the 2nd
+Norfolk Rifle Volunteer Corps. On June 21st he was presented with a
+valuable gold repeater watch by the Corps, at the Drill Hall, as a
+memento of esteem.
+
+March 5th. Major General Francis Montague Maxwell Ommanney, B.A., died
+at Yarmouth, aged 50 years.
+
+March 6th. Benjamin Daniels, a farmer of Scratby (five miles from the
+birthplace of Hales), and the last of the East Anglian giants, died and
+buried at Ormesby St. Margaret, aged 45 years. Height, 6 ft. 6 in.;
+weight, 24 stone; width across the shoulders, 20 in.; and possessed great
+strength.
+
+March 25th. Income of the Haven Commissioners for the past year, £11,927
+12s. 11d.; an increase of £782 11s. 5d. on the previous year. The
+imports in 1877 included 87,729 tons of coal, 288,032 qrs. of corn, and
+tonnage dues 176,475 tons, &c.; on fish and fishing vessels, £2,110.
+Number of wherries trading on the Bure, 108, of 1,934 tons burthen, and
+the income from this source, £455 16s. 3d.
+
+March 28th. First Military Assault-at-Arms at the Drill Hall by the
+Non-commissioned officers and men of the 1st Royal Dragoons from Norwich;
+and a second on April 17th, 1879, by the 1st Norfolk Artillery
+Volunteers.
+
+March 31st. The Registrar-General reported 300 births, 135 marriages,
+and 179 deaths, 66 of the latter being persons of 60 years old and
+upwards, in the Borough during the past three months.
+
+April 16th. The schooner “Jane” (121 tons), of Colchester, lost, with
+six hands, in a heavy gale, on the Cross Sands; and on the 19th the
+Norwegian barque “Suez” was beached south of the Wellington pier, with
+the loss of one of her crew.
+
+April 22nd. The Great Yarmouth Church of England, “Mission” opened, and
+lasted a week.
+
+May 3rd and 5th. The Corporation _versus_ J. W. de Caux. Arbitration
+proceedings taken respecting the ownership of the Town wall, on the site
+of “Town Wall House,” Theatre Plain, and subsequently decided in favour
+of defendant.
+
+May 4th. The National Lifeboat Institution reported the gallant services
+rendered by the Yarmouth and Gorleston lifeboat crews in saving 22 men
+from shipwreck during recent gales.
+
+May 8th and 9th. A locomotive engine, intended for the North Norfolk
+Railway, drawn on rails through Regent Street and Market Place _en route_
+to the Beach Station. It was named the “Ormesby,” and weighed about 18
+tons; on the 9th and 10th July a second engine, the “Stalham,” was
+dragged by horses along Regent Street, Regent Road, and Nelson Road
+North. On Sept. 13th, a third engine, the “North Walsham,” and a fourth,
+the “Martham,” on March 28th, 1879. The carriages also had to be
+conveyed in like manner. (See Aug. 7th.)
+
+May 17th. Rev. S. Hooke presented with a handsome timepiece by the
+congregation of St. Peter’s Church.
+
+May 24th. Sergeant-Major Britton, Colour-Sergts. J. Norton and J. Wall,
+Sergt. J. Steel, Corporal W. Page, and Privates T. Freebury and R. Hayes,
+belonging to the 9th Regiment, each presented at Southtown Armoury with a
+medal for long service and good conduct.
+
+May 25th. The smack “Dauntless” lost on Haak Sand.
+
+May 27th. Rev. Edward Venables, B.A., son of the Vicar of Yarmouth,
+ordained by the Bishop of Chichester, and was appointed to a curacy at
+Hastings.
+
+June 8th. The Royal Hotel partly rebuilt and re-modelled.
+
+June 16th. Five gentlemen belonging to the Britannia Amateur Rowing Club
+rowed from Wroxham to Norwich, _via_ Yarmouth (63 miles), in 10 hrs. 40
+min.
+
+June 17th. Three Gorleston young men—Edwin Darby, Augustus Hawes, and
+Arthur Thrower—accidentally drowned in the river Wensum.
+
+June 24th. On the death of his father, Viscount Canterbury, K.C.B.,
+G.C.M.G., Henry Charles, fourth Viscount (who married in 1872 Amyée
+Rachel, the only daughter of the late Hon. F. Walpole, M.P.), succeeded
+to the title.
+
+July 2nd. The Norfolk and Suffolk Fisheries Bill passed the House of
+Lords, and Royal assent given by Commission on July 19th.
+
+July. The billyboy “Breeze,” of this port, collided with H.M.S. “Wye,”
+off Carlton, and foundered.
+
+July 9th. The inhabitants and the Board of Trade awarded Thomas Love and
+William Mann, of the smack “Fawn” two medals and two watches for their
+bravery in rescuing five hands from the smack “Bessie,” of London, during
+the gale of Jan. 30th.
+
+July 10th. Mr. I. S. Cooper’s tender of £325 10s. for each of the two
+brick mortuary chapels in the new Cemetery accepted by the Corporation.
+
+July 11th. The Royal Assembly Rooms purchased by Mr. W. Butcher for
+£1,975. (See 1851, and April, 1869.)
+
+July 21st to 27th. Encampment of the 3rd and 4th Norfolk Rifles (about
+920 rank and file), under command of Lieut.-Col. Duff, M.P., and
+Lieut.-Col. R. T. Gurdon, on the North Denes. On the brigade day about
+2,000 volunteers, divided into 30 companies, were manœuvred, and it was
+estimated that some 20,000 civilians were present.
+
+July 24th. Mr. Charles John Stokes (22), a member of the Lynn
+Volunteers, mysteriously drowned in the river Yare. On the 28th the body
+was picked up, and subsequently buried at Lynn; but by order of the
+Secretary of State it was (Aug. 31st) exhumed, and a _post-mortem_
+examination made, but no marks of violence were discovered.
+
+July 25th. The two principal stones of the nave of St. James’ Church
+laid by the Mayor (T. B. Steward, Esq.) and Mayoress. Cost of the nave
+was given at £3,150.
+
+July 27th. Capt. Stokes, of the smack “Falcon,” awarded a gold watch by
+the Emperor of Germany for rescuing the crew of the wrecked ship “Elise,”
+in Nov., 1876.
+
+Aug. 7th. The North Norfolk Railway having been inspected the previous
+day by Major-General Hutchinson, R.E., was opened to the public as far as
+completed, namely, Yarmouth, Caister, and Ormesby (5½ miles). The line
+was constructed by Messrs. Wilkinson and Jarvis, of London. May 16th
+opened to Hemsby, and on July 15th, 1878, from this village to Martham.
+(See May 8th and July.)
+
+Aug. 9th. St. George’s Board Schools, St. Peter’s Plain, opened, Mr. J.
+T. Bottle being the architect. This Gothic building comprises girls’
+school, 64 ft. by 20 ft., and accommodates 200 children; infants’ room,
+60 ft. by 23 ft., for 300 girls; and another room, 24 ft. by 20 ft.; also
+lobbies, offices, and an open and covered playground. Cost, £2,370.
+
+Aug. 11th. Collision between the steam tugs “United Service” and
+“Express” at the Harbour’s mouth. Estimated damage to the latter, £200.
+
+Aug. 21st. Mr. Charles Panchen, of this town, rescued from drowning a
+gentleman visitor whilst bathing from the South Beach, and in Nov. was
+awarded the Royal Humane Society’s bronze medal for his gallantry.
+
+Aug. 21st. Miss Clementine Stirling-Graham died at Duntrune, aged 95.
+On the death of this lady, John Edmund Lacon, Esq., of this town,
+succeeded to her estates in Forfarshire, and to all papers and relics of
+the great Viscount Dundee.
+
+Aug. 26th. Batt. Sergt.-Major Quince, (P.W.O.) Royal Artillery, rescued
+another gentleman in imminent danger of drowning, and in Jan., 1878,
+presented with the bronze medal of the Royal Humane Society for his
+bravery, and by order of H.R.H. the Duke of Cambridge it was presented by
+Lord Suffield on May 29th at a full parade, and permission given him to
+wear it on his breast.
+
+Aug. Captain Balls, of the schooner “Benjamin,” belonging to W. J.
+Foreman, Esq., awarded a silver medal and certificate by the King of the
+Netherlands for gallant services in saving the crew of the “Fortuna.”
+(See April, 1869.)
+
+Aug. 30th. Miss Emma Maria Pearson lectured at the Town Hall on “Servia
+during the War.”
+
+Sept. Rateable value of the Borough, after deducting allowances and
+losses, £73,400; Gorleston, Southtown, and Cobholm Island, £19,000.
+
+Sept. A new organ, built by Mr. W. C. Mack, of Yarmouth, presented to
+the Queen’s Road Primitive Methodist Chapel by G. Baker, Esq. It is 8
+ft. 6 in. wide and 17 ft. high. One manual from CC to G, 55 notes, and
+l½ octaves, German pedals, &c., and contains 398 pipes. Opened Sept.
+9th.
+
+Sept. 5th. The smack “Joseph and Ann,” belonging to Mr. G. Grief, of
+this port, run down by a steamer on Cromer Knowl, and three of her crew
+drowned.
+
+Sept. 9th. The Rev. S. Hooke preached his first sermon at St. Peter’s
+Church after appointment as curate.
+
+Sept. Mr. Ambrose Hulley presented with a silver-mounted piccolo, in
+morocco case, with silver plate, at the Aquarium, in appreciation of his
+talent as a musician.
+
+Sept. 12th. Meeting at the Town Hall to raise subscriptions for
+alleviating the distress caused by the famine in India. Total collected
+here, £516 6s. 2d.
+
+Sept. 13th. First annual regatta and fête of the Yarmouth Rowing Club on
+the river Bure.
+
+Sept. 29th. Mr. Edward Garrett presented at the Royal Hotel with an
+elegant silver tea and coffee service, and a massive silver salver, as a
+mark of esteem on his retiring from the post of Master of the Norfolk and
+Suffolk Harriers, which he had held 12 years.
+
+Oct. 1st. The Temporary Grammar School opened as a Board School.
+
+Oct. 4th. The phenomenon of a water spout, in the form of three immense
+pillars of vapour, and afterwards a spiral column, passed over Gorleston,
+but did not discharge itself.
+
+Oct. Additions made to the Parish Church organ, viz., a “third rank” to
+the “mixture,” and an orchestral hautbois, the latter with the cremona
+being enclosed in a new small “swell case.” The organ now contains 3,188
+pipes in actual use.
+
+Oct. 8th. High tide and heavy gale. Much damage done to shipping in the
+Roadstead and at sea.
+
+Nov. The School Board spent during the past year £7,600; and the
+expenditure for building alone since the establishment of the Board was
+just under £7,700.
+
+Nov. 1st. Great excitement at Gorleston over the Municipal contest
+between Messrs. S. S. Bately, F. Dendy, and H. Denton. Result of
+poll:—Bately, 420; Dendy, 360; Denton, 221.
+
+Nov. 3rd. Riot in the town between Scotch and Yarmouth fishermen.
+
+Nov. 9th. Messrs. A. D. Stone, Wm. Worship, and P. Case elected as
+Aldermen in the places of Messrs. R. Purdy, G. S. Shingles, and W. D.
+Palmer, resigned.
+
+Nov. 11th. Heavy gale, disastrous casualties among the shipping and loss
+of life, the “Allerton Packet” and “Beatrix” being stranded on the North
+Beach. In another gale on Nov. 24th the hull of the latter was carried
+against the Britannia Pier, breaking the piles, and damaging them to the
+extent of £300.
+
+Nov. 28th. Mr. J. F. Ryan, master of the School of Art, presented at the
+Town Hall with an elaborately-chased silver salver, and a purse of 20
+guineas, by the past and present students for his efficient teaching.
+
+Nov. 29th. Mr. George Tewsley, after 21 years’ service as Superintendent
+of the Borough Police, resigned on a superannuation fee. He had been 17
+years previously in the Metropolitan Force. On March 18th, 1878, the
+Police Force presented Mr. Tewsley with a handsome marble clock, as a
+memento of esteem, prior to his removing to Diss.
+
+Dec. 2nd. The fishing lugger “Ceres” on fire near the Fishwharf. Damage
+about £100.
+
+Dec. 8th. H. R. Harmer, Esq., captured in the Norfolk Broads a pike 41½
+in. long, 19 in. in girth, and weighing 20 lbs.
+
+Dec. 31st. 188 shipwrecked seamen received at the Sailors’ Home in the
+year, and 4,660 since the opening of the institution.
+
+Dec. 277 English and foreign vessels, and 605 coasters arrived in port
+in the year. During the year, 87 put in wind-bound and 37 with loss of
+anchors; 21 were totally lost off this coast, two with all hands; 36
+assisted in by lifeboat crews, and 36 casualties occurred in the river.
+
+Dec. 31st. For the past 21 weeks 61,928 passengers had been carried by
+the North Norfolk Railway, representing in receipts £1,267 15s., with
+goods, £1,460.
+
+Dec. During the past year 1,571 births occurred, and 913 deaths—increase
+of population, 658.
+
+Marriages: April 10th, William Towler, eldest son of J. P. Hall, Esq., to
+Miss Ellen E. Bunn.—June 14th, F. Burton, Esq., solicitor, to Miss M. I.
+Meadows.—June 19th, Rev. A. Hume, M.A., to Miss E. T. Waters.—July 5th,
+H. J. N. Stratton, Esq., to Miss E. M. Youell, of Gorleston.—July 20th,
+T. B. U. Lacon, Esq., to Florence Dunbar Banks.—Aug. 18th, J. S. Clowes,
+Esq., solicitor, to Miss Isabella M. Clowes.—Oct. 23rd, T. P. Burroughs,
+Esq., to Miss S. Fulcher.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 6th, Francis Worship, Esq., J.P., aged 75.—Feb. 8th, Major
+R. B. Nesbitt.—Feb. 21st, John Clowes, Esq., aged 67.—March 9th, Mr.
+William Shipley, M.R.C.V.S.—March 2lst, Henry Hammond, Esq., at
+Southtown, aged 70.—April 15th, John Fenn, Esq., J.P., aged 81.—May 16th,
+Captain C. Small, Vice-Consul, aged 60. July 18th, Mr. James Beeching,
+shipbuilder, aged 65.—July 23rd, Captain William S. Scroggs, aged
+60.—July 26th, Mr. H. Pestell, aged 77.—Sept. 8th, Isaac Strutt, Esq.,
+aged 38.—Oct. 19th, R. F. Veale, Esq., J.P., aged 46. Nov. 2nd, W.
+Thurtell, Esq., J.P., aged 82.—Nov. 3rd, Mr. R. W. Durrell, of Gorleston,
+aged 44.
+
+Launches: June 12th, smack “Emma Eliza.”—July 19th, trawling smack
+“Chatterbox.”—Aug. 14th, fishing lugger “Seamew.”—Aug. 28th, fishing boat
+“Norfolk.”—Sept. 1st, cutter “Flare.”
+
+
+
+1878.
+
+
+Jan. The Rev. A. J. Worlledge, M.A., appointed by the Bishop of Lincoln
+to an honorary canonry of Lincoln Cathedral, at the early age of 29
+years.
+
+Jan. 15th. Two fires broke out in fishhouses and premises belonging to
+Mr. R. T. Seago, Row 137, and Mr. Wisker, Row 138.
+
+Jan. 16th. John Van Hutton died, aged 102, being born on March 10th,
+1776, and his remains buried in the New Cemetery.
+
+Jan. 31st. First triennial election of the School Board, who held office
+till Feb. 16th. The following 11 gentlemen chosen without going to a
+poll:—Messrs. J. H. Orde, H. E. Buxton, J. W. de Caux, (Rev.) A. Peaton,
+G. Baker, D. Tomkins, R. E. Dowson, S. J. F. Stafford, T. Saul, J. T.
+Waters, and (Rev.) J. F. Splaine, eight being re-elected. On Nov. 29th
+Mr. F. Dendy elected in the place of Mr. Stafford.
+
+Feb. 8th. The Rev. E. Whitehead, M.A., incumbent of Southtown, presented
+with a chased silver salver by the parishioners of Denham, Suffolk.
+
+Feb. 26th. William E. Pretyman, Esq., grandson of the late Bishop of
+Lincoln, died at Yarmouth. This gentleman, up to the time of his
+decease, spent the greater part of his time in fishing like an ordinary
+smacksman, for which pursuit he owned a smack—the “Lincoln”—fitted up in
+a superior style.
+
+Feb. 28th. Mr. J. Ogden, Inspector of Police at Hanley, appointed, out
+of 50 candidates, Superintendent of the Yarmouth Constabulary in the
+place of Mr. Tewsley.
+
+Mar. Rev. G. Merriman, Vicar of Martham, appointed domestic chaplain to
+the Marquis of Ailesbury.
+
+March 7th. Mr. Walter Teasdel gallantly rescued a boy named Coen (12)
+from drowning in the river, and in April the Royal Humane Society
+acknowledged his bravery.
+
+March 7th. High and boisterous tide, the lower parts of the town being
+inundated, and a wherry, belonging to Mr. Goff, and the smack “Two
+Brothers” sunk in the harbour.
+
+March. Loss of the smack “Fawn” and all hands.
+
+March 22nd. The claims of the shareholders in the Yarmouth and Eastern
+Counties’ Aquarium Company, after five years, finally wound-up, 15s. out
+of each £ invested being refunded by the hon. liquidator, C. C. Aldred,
+Esq., who was presented with a magnificent silver salver by the
+shareholders. The amount invested was £3,431.
+
+March 24th. The training-ship “Eurydice” wrecked off Dunnose, Isle of
+Wight, and over 360 lives lost. This vessel anchored in Yarmouth
+Roadstead in 1877.
+
+March 25th. The annual income this year of the Port and Haven
+Commissioners was £12,478 10s. 3d., and for 1879, £12,110 15s. 1d.
+
+March 28th. Loss of the smacks “Henry,” “Dairy Maid,” and “Deerhound;”
+also the barque “Theresa” and brig “Vladimir” in a gale.
+
+April 1st. Major Hector Tullock, R.E., held an enquiry at
+Runham-Vauxhall respecting the borrowing of £1,000 for carrying out the
+water and drainage scheme; also on Feb. 11th, 1879.
+
+April. Memorial window placed in the chancel-part of the Parish Church
+in memory of William Palgrave, Esq. (who died in 1838), and Elizabeth,
+his wife, by their surviving children.
+
+April. Intelligence received at Yarmouth of the loss of the barque
+“Ponda Chief” off Natal. (See Aug. 2nd, 1875.)
+
+April 17th. Public meeting at the Town Hall to oppose the Town Council
+in the proposed building of a new Town Hall, but on Jan. 16th, 1879, the
+loan of £30,000 was sanctioned by the Treasury.
+
+April 20th. The Army and East Norfolk Militia Reserves called up, and
+subsequently the former sent to Colchester and the latter to Ireland.
+
+April 23rd and 24th. Frank Buckland and Spencer Walpole, Esqs., two of
+her Majesty’s Commissioners, held an enquiry at the Sailors’ Home
+respecting the destruction of small soles and other trawl fish, by order
+of the Secretary of the Home Department.
+
+April. A handsome and costly monument, rather above 20 feet in height,
+erected in the Cemetery. It bears the following inscription:—“Erected by
+his bereaved and sorrowing mother, in fond remembrance of Charles S. T.
+Mills, Esq. (the dearly beloved and only son of Charles and Maria Mills),
+who died at Great Yarmouth on the 19th December, 1875, aged 29 years.
+Gone before.” This monument is of solid Aberdeen polished grey granite,
+surmounted by a beautiful marble upright figure representing “Truth,” the
+latter being the work of an Italian sculptor. The tomb is surrounded at
+the base by floral wrought-iron railings, fixed in 1879. (See Sept.,
+1883.)
+
+April. The congregation of St. Andrew’s presented the Rev. E. G. H.
+Murrell with a silver salver and two silver napkin-rings, as a wedding
+present.
+
+May 1st. The new nave of St. James’ Church built and opened at a cost of
+£3,250. Interior length, 103 ft.; width, 33 ft.; height, 53 ft.;
+exterior height, 70 ft. Accommodates about 700 worshippers. This nave
+forms only a third of the proposed entire building.
+
+May 2nd. Mrs. T. Burton Steward, wife of the Captain of the 1st Norfolk
+Artillery Volunteers, presented with a handsome silver-plated épergne,
+subscribed for by the officers and men of the corps.
+
+May 3rd. Mr. Archibald Forbes, war correspondent to the _Daily News_,
+lectured at the Aquarium on the leading episodes, from personal
+experience, of the Battle of the Shipka Pass, crossing the Danube, and
+the Battle of Plevna. Mr. Forbes’ first visit to Yarmouth was in 1872,
+during the stay of the Prince of Wales.
+
+May 6th. H.M. steam-yacht “Hawk” and schooner “Mermaid” anchored in the
+Roadstead.
+
+May 7th. Rev. F. C. Villiers presented with a handsome épergne by the
+North-end Mission congregation in this town.
+
+May. Sir Francis Goldsmid, Bart., Q.C., F.R.G.S., died from an accident.
+In 1854 he was a candidate with Mr. Rumbold for the representation of the
+Borough.
+
+May 9th. Quay House sold by auction for £1,720.
+
+May 12th. Fire at Messrs. H. and E. Brand’s outfitting premises, South
+Denes Road.
+
+May 23rd. Fire in a tar store at Gorleston belonging to Mr. J. Fleming
+Hewett; damage £80.
+
+May 26th. Mr. H. S. Baumgartner, of Gorleston, passed the preliminary
+examination of the Apothecaries’ Hall.
+
+May 29th. The Venerable Archdeacon Perowne made his first visitation
+since being appointed to the place of Archbishop Hopper, deceased.
+
+June 20th. Mr. Edward T. Ayers, author of several legal works, passed
+the intermediate examination under the Solicitors’ Act, 1877, held by the
+Incorporated Law Society; and on the same date Mr. W. H. Cowl
+successfully passed a similar examination.
+
+June 24th. The Wellington Pier Company let by public tender their pier
+to Mr. S. Boughton, for three years, the average receipts for the
+previous three years being £481 5s. per annum.
+
+June 28th. The Rev. George Venables appointed one of her Majesty’s
+Commissioners to enquire into the law and the existing practice as to the
+sale, exchange, and resignation of Ecclesiastical Benefices, and to
+recommend remedies for abuses if any found to exist.
+
+June. A large dredger for the Haven, named the “FitzRoy,” costing
+£5,495, ordered by the Port and Haven Commissioners, which arrived here
+April 6th, 1879.
+
+June 28th. Major Dods, E.N.M., presented with an elaborate silver
+épergne, with a greyhound at the base, as a testimonial, by the gentlemen
+forming the Norfolk and Suffolk Coursing Meeting, in token of respect,
+after 15 years their hon. sec.
+
+June. Mr. Leggett’s contract of £855 for building the north transept,
+aisle, and porch of St. John’s Church accepted. Entire cost, £1,050.
+
+July 4th. The Council elected Mr. William Hurry Palmer as an Alderman;
+and on Aug. 26th Mr. Charles Diver to fill the vacancy in the Haven
+Commission caused by the death of Mr. J. W. Bunn.
+
+July 9th. Winterton Church re-opened after being partly restored at a
+cost of £3,000.
+
+July 11th. Mr. Charles Jennings, son of C. H. Wiltshire, Esq., passed
+the preliminary examination of the Incorporated Law Society.
+
+July. Forty-one designs for a new Town Hall for the Borough open to
+public inspection at the old Town Hall, three prizes having been offered
+by the Corporation for the three best.
+
+July 13th. The smack “Admiral” sunk off Southwold, and on the same day
+one of Messrs. Hewitt’s steam-cutters collided with the steamboat “Naiad”
+off Gravesend.
+
+July 26th. Encampment on the South Denes during the past week of the 3rd
+and 4th Norfolk Rifles, there being over 200 tents erected for their
+accommodation. (See July 21st, 1877.)
+
+July 31st. Rev. G. Venables, Vicar of Yarmouth, appointed by the Bishop
+of Norwich Rural Dean of Flegg.
+
+Aug. 1st. Serious fire broke out on the premises of Mr. H. Teasdel,
+ship-chandler, Southtown. On Sept. 24th, 1845, Mr. Teasdel’s warehouses
+were destroyed by the same element.
+
+Aug. 12th. Alarming thunderstorm, accompanied with vivid flashes of
+lightning, heavy hail and rainfall, and a hurricane. The electric fluid
+did considerable damage to several houses in the town and neighbourhood,
+and in more than one dwelling played sad havoc with the furniture, &c.—a
+house in Row 63 coming off worst. A part of one of St. Mary’s Church
+(Southtown) pinnacles was dislocated.
+
+Aug. 22nd. Loss of the “Norfolk Lass” (140 tons), of this port, and five
+hands, including Capt. A. W. Vince and his son, aged 12, on Corton Sand.
+She was built by Messrs. Fellows in 1841.
+
+Aug. An old wreck found under-water near the entrance of the Harbour,
+supposed to have been sunk two centuries before to prevent the old fort
+from being undermined by the current. In 1555 a vessel was sunk here,
+but whether the same, is doubtful. It was 77 ft. long by 27 ft. wide.
+
+Aug. 28th. A horse and cart belonging to Mr. Norton fell over the
+Quay-head opposite Town Hall and the animal drowned.
+
+Aug. 29th. Eight houses in St. George’s Terrace sold by public auction
+for £4,400.
+
+Sept. 3rd. A member of Mr. B. Fielding’s Concert Party lost his wife and
+two children among the 600 drowned in the ill-fated steamship “Princess
+Alice,” which collided with s.s. “Bywell Castle” off Barking.
+
+Sept. 19th. Fishing boat “Stately” wrecked on Yarmouth Beach.
+
+Sept. 25th. New Post office at Gorleston opened.
+
+Sept. 26th. Vice-Admiral Spencer Smyth, of this town, promoted from the
+rank of Vice-Admiral to that of Admiral on the retired list. (See April,
+1870, and June 12th, 1873.) He died on April 3rd, 1879, aged 87 years,
+and his remains were subsequently interred in Gorleston Churchyard.
+
+Sept. 28th. The body of a newly-born female babe found by two smack-boys
+on the beach wrapped in a white cotton bundle, and a reward of £50 was
+offered by Government for the apprehension of any person concerned in the
+murder.
+
+Sept. 29th. A fine sturgeon, 5 ft. long, and weighing about 90 lbs.,
+captured in the Roadstead; also a young porpoise and (in Dec.) a live
+seal, all of which were taken to the Aquarium.
+
+Sept. 29th. One thousand five hundred and twenty-six police cases
+summarily dealt with by the Magistrates during the past year.
+
+Sept. 29th. The Port and Haven Commissioners’ receipts from dues for the
+past half-year amounted to £6,883 18s.
+
+Sept. 30th to Oct. 1st. The celebrated actress, Mrs. Rousby, appeared at
+the Theatre Royal as “Princess Elizabeth” in ’_Twixt Axe and Grown_.
+Mrs. Rousby died in April, 1879.
+
+Oct. The high flint wall enclosing St. Mary’s Catholic Church, Regent
+Road, pulled down, and a low wall, surmounted with a light handsome
+palisading, put in its place. In 1879 the Roman Catholic Cemetery,
+Caister Road, was enclosed with a stone wall mounted by an iron railing.
+
+Oct. 10th. Three men belonging to the “Sea Gull,” owned by Messrs.
+Hewitt and Co., drowned at sea whilst ferrying fish.
+
+Oct. 13th. The Lord Bishop of British Columbia (Dr. George Hills) again
+preached in St. Nicholas’ Church.
+
+Oct. 15th. The Right Rev. Bishop Mackenzie, Sub-Dean of Lincoln and
+Bishop Suffragan of Nottingham, died at Lincoln. (See 1844 and Aug.,
+1869.)
+
+Oct. 21st. Messrs. Grout and Co. presented at the Paris Exhibition with
+a gold medal for superiority in the manufacture of pure silk crape.
+
+Oct. 23rd. The fishing lugger “Eustace” foundered at sea.
+
+Oct. 23rd. Inspector George Tewsley, chief-clerk in the Leeds Police
+Force, and son of our late Superintendent of Police, promoted to
+Lieutenant in the Edinburgh Constabulary, at a salary of £170 a-year. On
+Jan. 1st, 1879, the Leeds Force presented him with an illuminated
+address.
+
+Oct. 24th. The Gorleston Storm Company’s lifeboatmen gallantly rescued
+the crew of the brig “Fuschia,” which foundered on Scroby Sands.
+
+Oct. E. P. Youell, Esq., appointed by the Lord Lieutenant a Magistrate
+for the County of Suffolk.
+
+Nov. 2nd. Mr. J. Green, of Gorleston, sprang into the river at the Brush
+and rescued a child named Warner from drowning. In March, 1879, he was
+awarded the Royal Humane Society’s bronze medal and clasp for his
+gallantry.
+
+Nov. 4th. A wooden building constructed on the North Nelson Road, which
+Messrs. W. and G. Pinder used as a circus up to March 22nd, 1879.
+Messrs. Pinder first made their acquaintance with Yarmouth during the
+existence of the Regent Hall.
+
+Nov. 5th. 80th birthdays of Mrs. Bowles and Mrs. Marshall, twin sisters,
+of this town, the only two surviving “children” of the late Robert Blake,
+fish merchant, out of a family of 22.
+
+Nov. 8th. A terrific gale and serious damage to fishing craft (about 70)
+and shipping generally, with loss of life, including three hands
+belonging to the smack “Olive Leaf.”
+
+Nov. 16th. Destructive floods throughout the County—Norwich on this date
+being the greater sufferer; part of the Great Eastern Railway was
+submerged, as well as the Hundreds in the Northern and Eastern Divisions.
+
+Nov. 27th. The Town Council appointed as Burial Board for the parish of
+Gorleston, and in 1879 the new Cemetery at Gorleston was formed.
+
+Dec. 14th. The news of the death of her Majesty’s second daughter
+Princess Alice observed in the town with the usual outward manifestations
+of sorrow.
+
+Dec. Smack “Ingomar” lost through a collision.
+
+Dec. 18th. Robert David Barber, Esq., J.P., T.C., and Actuary of the
+Yarmouth Savings Bank, died, aged 72 years. Mr. Barber was Mayor of the
+Borough in 1874. He was succeeded in the Council by Mr. Fredk. Carpenter
+on Jan. 16th, 1879; W. Barnard, Esq., as a Magistrate on March 7th, 1879;
+and Mr. Alfred Teasdel in the banking firm.
+
+Dec. 20th. The s.s. “C. S. Butler,” with 900 tons of coal, of London,
+wrecked on Hasbro’ Sand, but her crew of 17 saved by the “Tyro.”
+
+Dec. 23rd. Lieut.-Colonel James Duff, M.P. for North Norfolk, died in
+London, aged 47 years. His remains were interred in the quiet churchyard
+at Westwick, Westwick Park. As a Statesman, an officer in the army, a
+Freemason, or a private gentleman, Col. Duff’s general manner, his
+courtesy, and his hospitality endeared him to the hearts of all classes
+and sects who had the honour of his acquaintance.
+
+Dec. 26th. Three Yarmouth gentlemen skated a distance of 23 miles over
+the rivers Thirne and Bure.
+
+Dec. 31st. During the past half-year the Y. and N. N. Railway had
+carried 89,762 passengers, and taken £2,607 14s. 5d. The gross receipts
+amounted to £3,503 16s., and the expenditure was £1,629 8s.
+
+Dec. 31st. The number of herrings landed at the Fishwharf during the
+season amounted to 10,150 lasts; and in the previous year 19,405 lasts,
+by about 650 fishing boats.
+
+Dec. One hundred and eighty-four public-houses and 121 beer-houses in
+Yarmouth.
+
+Dec. Three hundred and thirty-seven English and foreign vessels arrived
+in port during the year. Number of coasters 973. 24 vessels were
+totally lost off this coast in 1878, one with all hands, and 67 assisted
+in by lifeboat crews.
+
+The receipts for this year’s Roads Regatta were £203 7s. 8d. The
+expenditure left a balance of £11 2s.
+
+Marriages: Jan. 10th, A. E. Cowl, Esq., to Miss Emma E. Gambling; Feb.
+16th, E. B. K. Lacon, Esq., to Florence A. Foster; Feb. 27th, J. S. Cobb,
+L.D.S., R.C.S., to Caroline S. Simpson; March 5th, Mr. Jas. Rivett to
+Miss A. Pike; April 30th, Rev. E. G. H. Murrell to Miss Agnes E. Aldred;
+May 7th, Rev. R. J. Tacon, J.P., of Rollesby, to Caroline B. Pitt; June
+11th, Rev. H. J. Bode to Miss G. H. Murrell; Aug. 8th, Mr. F. W. Dendy to
+Miss J. Baumgartner.
+
+Deaths: Jan., Capt. Cox, late County Court Bailiff; Jan. 18th, Mrs. Geo.
+Danby Palmer, aged 91; Jan. 26th, Mr. H. W. Weller, seven years manager
+of Southtown Gas Works, aged 47; March 17th, Mr. T. G. Ridgway Knight;
+May 31st, Rev. G. W. Steward, of Caister, aged 73; June 1st, Mr. Frank
+Noverre, aged 71; June 4th, Mr. J. T. Savage, aged 52; June 2nd, Garson
+Blake, Esq., J.P., aged 63; June 3rd, Capt. John Porter Laws, aged 71;
+June 11th, Capt. T. Davis, R.N.; June 24th, Mr. Alderman J. W. Bunn, aged
+49; Dec. 18th, R. D. Barber, Esq., J.P., aged 72; Dec. 30th, Rev. J.
+Randerson, aged 72; Dec. 31st, Mr. T. W. Attwood, aged 60.
+
+Launches: Jan. 2nd, dandy smack “Charlie”; Jan. 11th, smack “Rover”; Feb.
+7th, smack “Daylight”; May 16th, dandy cutter “Susie”; June 5th, dandy
+cutter “Moggy”; June 17th, smack “Oak”; Aug. smacks “Myrtle,” “Prompt”
+and “Violet May”; Aug. 29th, trawling smack “Cyprus”; Sept. “Hilda”;
+Sept. 18th, “Progress”; same month “William Henry” and “Ettie.”
+
+
+
+1878–9.
+
+
+The winter was one of the longest and severest known for many years past,
+lasting over seven months. The Southtown slabs and marshes were for
+several weeks covered with ice.
+
+
+
+1879.
+
+
+Jan. 1st. Rateable yearly value of property in Yarmouth was £92,603.
+Number of paupers relieved this day—indoor, 307; outdoor, 852.
+Expenditure for year ending Michaelmas, 1878, in-maintenance, £3,778;
+out-relief, £4,413. Salaries, rations, and superannuation of officers,
+£1,824; maintenance of lunatics in asylums, £1,273; other expenses,
+£1,401; total relief to the poor, £12,689.
+
+Jan. Mr. J. T. Bottle, architect of this town, wrote and published a
+poetical play entitled, _Brian Boru_, of which the Spectator says:—“There
+is so much that is pure, and stately, and dramatic in the tragedy, that
+we cannot but hope much for the author.”
+
+Jan. 18th. Weston, the American pedestrian, started from the Royal
+Exchange on a walk of 2,000 miles in 1,000 hours. After completing
+1,782½ miles he lectured at the Yarmouth Theatre. On Feb. 28th, Weston
+had walked 1,977½ miles, being 22½ miles in arrear.
+
+Jan. 21st. Edward Birkbeck, Esq., of Horstead Hall, Norwich, elected
+M.P. for North Norfolk, in place of the late Col. Duff, by a majority of
+490 over Sir Thomas Fowell Buxton, Bart., of Warlies, Waltham Abbey,
+Essex. The declaration of the poll at Aylsham next day was—Birkbeck
+(C.), 2,742; Buxton, 2,252. About 1,600 voters polled in Yarmouth, and
+the remainder in the Division. The constituency comprised 6,474
+electors, but 1,480 abstained from voting. It was a sharply-contested
+battle, and cost, according to official returns, Mr. Birkbeck, £3,496;
+and Sir Thomas Fowell Buxton, £3,189 14s. 8d.
+
+Feb. 9th. Mr. F. Hewitt’s smack “Henry and Polly” foundered on the
+Shipwash Sand, and on Feb. 10th, the “William” on Scroby.
+
+Feb. 12th. St. John’s Church re-opened.
+
+Feb. The smack “Himalaya” launched.
+
+Feb. 18th. Captain Wilson presented with a handsome silver flower-stand
+by the Mayor, on behalf of the Gorleston Company of the 2nd Norfolk
+Rifles, as a testimonial.
+
+March 6th. In the skating contest of 12 hours, at the Norwich Rink, 33
+rounds to the mile, for the Championship of the Eastern Counties, 16
+entered, but only eight started, the son of Mr. E. Candler, now of
+“Angel” Hotel, Yarmouth, taking first prize—a gold medal, in a beautiful
+case, bearing the following inscription:—“Twelve hours’ skating contest,
+champion of Eastern Counties, won by E. F. Candler. Distance skated in
+twelve hours, 77 miles 7 laps.”
+
+March 7th. T. B. Steward, Wm. Barnard, W. Harrison, Walter Brown, W. H.
+Bessey, R. E. Dowson, J. A. Norman, J. P. Baumgartner, and R. Bryant,
+Esqs., appointed Magistrates for the Borough.
+
+March 25th. Receipts of the School Board for past half-year, £1,765;
+expenditure, £1,521. The rate was then 1d. on the £ per quarter.
+
+March. The steamer “Luxor” (under the command of Captain Fill, son of
+the late Mr. S. Fill, of Yarmouth), on fire at Gravesend; and
+Chief-Constable Berry (late of Yarmouth), with Captain John Lake and the
+Fire Brigade, subdued the conflagration after 26 hours’ hard work.
+
+March 24th. Gallant services rendered by the Caister beachmen in
+rescuing the captain and crew of the Norwegian brig “Cito” on Hasbro’
+during a heavy gale and sea, after 14 hours’ exposure.
+
+March. Rev. A. Aldred, curate of Horncastle, son of C. C. Aldred, Esq.,
+presented by the Lord Chancellor to the living of Worlingham, near
+Beccles.
+
+April 3rd. Mr. W. Sexton, Lay Vicar of Westminster Abbey (formerly of
+Yarmouth), appointed Professor of Music and Singing at the Westminster
+Endowed Schools (600 boys). Was also chosen choir-master of St. Peter’s,
+Eaton Square, on March the 25th.
+
+April 3rd. First Yarmouth Bicycle Club opened with 16 members.
+
+April 7th. The “Falcon,” of this port, stranded on Fedra Rocks; and on
+the 9th the Italian barque “Guiseppina N.” wrecked on Yarmouth
+Beach—value £4,900.
+
+April 18th. Mr. T. Saul elected a member of the Town Council for St.
+Andrew’s Ward by a majority of 100 shove Mr. B. H. Press. Vacancy caused
+by death of Mr. T. W. Gooda, whose property was sold on May 15th, and
+realised £3,814 14s. 6d.
+
+April 24th. The Vicar of Yarmouth presented with a life-size portrait of
+himself in gilt frame by a number of parishioners as a token of respect,
+on his 57th birthday. It was painted in oil by Mr. Baldry (Herbert
+Leslie).
+
+Messrs. Hunter and English’s charge for constructing the new dredger
+(FitzRoy) was £5,647. On trial it raised 360 tons of loamy clay in 3½
+hours, and since then 800 tons were dredged up in six hours. The
+consumption of coal was one ton for every 750 tons of soil raised. The
+old dredger was sold by auction in June, 1880, for £125.
+
+April. Rev. S. Hooke, minister of St. Peter’s, presented by the members
+of his Bible Class with a small Communion service. On July 14th this
+gentleman, on the death of the Rev. R. F. Palmer, was instituted to the
+living at Clopton, worth about £600 or £700 a year. Mr. Hooke preached
+his farewell sermon on Aug. 31st, and on the following evening was
+presented at the Rifle Drill Hall with a silver tea and coffee service,
+silver salts, fish carver and fork, by his congregation and friends.
+
+May. New Barracks on the South Denes built.
+
+May 10th. The body of a dead female child found in Row 43. It was
+wrapped up in rags, and weighed 8 lbs. Supposed to have been murdered.
+
+May 28th. Mr. L Preston, jun.’s, yacht “Maud” sold by auction for £120.
+She is now the property of Mr. Stanley.
+
+June. Sir John Hawkshaw made a report on the causes of the late
+disastrous floods in the valley of the Wensum and at Norwich.
+
+June 10th. Mr. Wm. Howes Hunt died, aged 72. He was born on Oct. 10th,
+1806, and was originally apprenticed to a bookbinder, and served his time
+to it; but that not proving lucrative, he afterwards turned his attention
+to the drapery business—first as an assistant, then as manager, and
+afterwards as a partner in this town with Mr. C. Miller. His leisure
+time was spent in painting, and he became an artist of considerable
+ability, his works being much valued.
+
+June. The so-called “Captain Alwyns,” of the yacht “Cynthia,” visited
+Yarmouth, and will be long remembered by some of our tradesmen who were
+duped by him, especially Mr. Sutton, of the “Victoria” Hotel, and Mrs.
+Sewell, grocer, with whom he dealt heavily. He was subsequently captured
+at Keswick, in Cumberland, and committed for trial.
+
+June 17th. H.R.H. the Prince of Wales came to Yarmouth, _via_ Norwich,
+this being his second visit, and the town was _en fête_. The principal
+streets were gaily decorated with bunting, and there was a grand display
+of fireworks from the Wellington Pier the same evening. He stayed at
+Shaddingfield Lodge till the 19th, during which time he inspected his own
+Artillery Regiment, the Volunteers, and the Duke of Edinburgh’s Band. He
+also visited the Theatre Royal (where the Gaiety Company had made
+arrangements for his delectation), and Somerleyton Hall, the seat of Lady
+and Sir Savile Crossley.
+
+June 18th. Sir John Coode furnished a lengthy report for improving the
+South Pier and Haven Works, and the Commissioners decided to spend
+£3,650. The Spur Breakwater, of cement concrete, was estimated to cost
+£10,600. Sir John’s first report was dated April, 1873.
+
+June 23rd. Sergt.-Major Britton, who had served nearly 23 years in the
+army, viz., 18 months in the 17th Hussars and Military Train
+respectively, and 21 years in the 9th Regiment, from which he now retires
+upon pension, was presented with a diamond-set gold scarf-pin in case, by
+his brother Non-commissioned Officers of the 31st Brigade Depôt, and a
+meerschaum pipe by Canteen Steward Welby. He was in the Crimea for 15
+months, and served at the siege of Sebastopol.
+
+June 25th. Dr. J. J. Raven presented with a testimonial by the scholars
+of the Grammar School on the anniversary of his birthday, as a mark of
+respect to him as their Head Master.
+
+June 29th. Fatal boiler explosion on board the s.s. “Black Swan,” while
+in the Cockle Gat, and three men killed, and one other severely scalded,
+so much so that he died in the Yarmouth Hospital on July 13th. The
+ill-fated steamer was brought into this port, and an inquest held at the
+above Institute.
+
+June 30th. Caister churchyard closed for burials, and a new Cemetery
+opened.
+
+June 30th. The smack “Wild Duck” lost at sea; and on July 3rd the
+“Tantivy” shared the same fate. Crews saved.
+
+July 8th. A vote of condolence proposed by the Yarmouth Town Council to
+the Empress Eugénie, the Ex-Empress of France, expressive of the town’s
+sympathy with her on the loss of her son (the Prince Imperial) in the
+Zulu War.
+
+July 14th. The great tenor, Sims Reeves, accompanied by Miss Brooke and
+Signor Foli, gave a Concert at the Aquarium, under the direction of Mr.
+W. Pyatt. _Formosa_ was performed the same evening at the Theatre Royal
+on the opening night of Mr. A. Terry Hurst’s season.
+
+July 15th. A plague comprising millions of tiny spiders visited our
+shores, and exemplified their natural industry. A similar plague on
+April 24th, 1880. On Sept. 1st, 1880, there was a plague of myriads of
+flies on the beach.
+
+July 18th. Fire at Mr. Smith’s fish office and premises in Row 123.
+
+July 23rd. A handsome silver épergne, with glasses for flowers and
+fruit, and surmounted by a richly-chased cradle, bearing the Yarmouth
+Arms and Corporation Insignia, presented to the Mayor at the Town Hall.
+On the base of the épergne is inscribed:—“Presented to E. H. H. Combe,
+Esq., by the Justices and Town Council of the Borough of Great Yarmouth,
+in commemoration of the birth of a daughter during his mayoralty,
+1878–9.” The health of the daughter was drunk in the “loving cup” after
+the ceremony.
+
+July 24th. Boat capsized on Breydon, and the four men in it rescued by a
+wherryman, named James Paston. The wherry, however, sunk before they
+were got ashore, and Paston and his wife, together with the four men had
+a narrow escape, but were all brought to land safely in another boat
+which went to their rescue.
+
+July 29th. One hundred and ninety-three building sites north of the
+Workhouse, and 18 to west of New Cemetery, belonging to the Corporation,
+offered by auction, but only a few found purchasers.
+
+Aug. The new Police Station at Gorleston built.
+
+Aug. 3rd. A terrible thunderstorm, accompanied by rain and lightning of
+a most dangerous character, at early morning, and lasted for several
+hours. There were also a gale and high tide. The lightning destroyed
+much property, Mr. Pycraft, of Exmouth Road, being among the greater
+sufferers, his residence being wrecked by the electric fluid; and in
+Gorleston several houses suffered from the same cause. Many parts of the
+district were flooded with water, as the rainfall was 2.43 inches, equal
+to 245.414 tons, or 54,972.796 gallons per acre; and on the square mile,
+157,065.139 tons, or 35,182,592.919 gallons. Mr. W. H. Willis says:—“A
+dam, 2,000 feet long and 50 ft. wide, would require the sides and ends to
+be about 111 ft. 9 in. high to hold a fall of 2.43 inches.”
+
+Aug. 8th. A smacksman attempted to murder a woman, named Alice Sutton,
+in George Street, by stabbing her several times with a knife.
+
+Aug. 11th. A young man, named Harvey, saved three gentlemen whilst
+bathing from the beach. These made 11 he has saved from a watery grave.
+
+Aug. 11th to 20th. The British Archæological Society held their 26th
+Annual Congress at Yarmouth, under the presidency of Lord Waveney, D.L.,
+F.R.S., the Mayor being chairman of the local committee. The opening
+dinner was held in the Nelson Room, at the Star Hotel, and meetings every
+evening were convened at the Town Hall. Every place of interest in the
+town and neighbourhood were visited in the ten days.
+
+Aug. 13th. The barque “Zurich” foundered on Hasbro’. Crew saved.
+
+Aug. 25th. Eighty children baptized at St. Peter’s Church.
+
+Aug. 27th. Tenders opened for erecting the new Municipal Buildings.
+Thirteen were sent in, viz.:—Messrs. Durrant and Evans, £31,300; T.
+Howes, £28,572; B. Springall, £28,208; Hubbard and Co., £27,995; Cornish
+and Gaymer, £27,740; I. S. Cooper, £27,650; Bardwell and Bros., £27,600;
+E. Howes and Cooper, £27,590; P. H. Dawes, £27,417; G. E. Howes, £26,900;
+Jones and Co., £26,533; H. Everett and Son, £26,000; and Lacey and Co.
+(Norwich), £26,200, the latter being accepted. For building the new
+Police Station, residence for chief constable, &c., in Middlegate Street,
+Mr. Bray’s tender of £1,447 was accepted.
+
+Aug. 29th. R. F. Kemp saved a man from drowning near the beach, his
+bravery being afterwards recognised by the Royal Humane Society.
+
+Aug. 29th. The opening of the Yare-side Iron Works at Southtown
+celebrated by a dinner to the work people of Messrs. Alexander and
+Wright.
+
+Sept. 6th. A rate collector charged with embezzling £362 18s. 9½d., and
+afterwards imprisoned for 15 months. Another collector absconded in
+Nov., and was arrested by Inspector Dann at Liverpool, on the 21st.
+
+Sep. 14th. A pike, 43 in. long and 20 in. in girth, weighing 27 lbs.,
+caught at Cantley.
+
+Sept. 24th and 25th. The seventh annual East of England Horse Show held
+at Southtown. This was the second time Yarmouth had been chosen.
+
+Sept. 30th. Tom Massingham, of Newcastle, better known as “Steeple
+Jack,” removed the weather-cock off St. Nicholas’ spire for regilding.
+This wind-indicator is 141 years old, stands 2 ft. 8 in, in height, and
+is 4 ft. long. It had not been gilded for 39 years before. The act was
+a daring one, as the steeple is 168 feet high. The steeple is covered
+with tinned sheet copper.
+
+Sept. 30th. Mr. S. Aldred sold by auction the old Town Hall, Police
+Station, &c., to be pulled down by purchasers, which realised a total of
+£535. The fixtures were sold previously. The Corporation “reserved to
+themselves” the foundation or memorial stone, _with its contents_, but
+this was “conspicuous by its absence.”
+
+Oct. 1st. The Yarmouth ringers rang 1,008 grandsire trebles on the
+Parish Church bells, to celebrate the 84th birthday of Thomas Gooch, he
+himself taking the treble. Gooch was born at Richmond in 1795, and died
+at Yarmouth in 1883. His late father was steward to George III.
+
+Oct. The hull of the “Iron Duke,” wrecked on the beach on Nov. 18th,
+1841, discovered under the sand opposite the Aquarium, in a direct line
+with the third bay from the south end.
+
+Oct. 4th. Fire on Mr. Robert George’s premises at Southtown. Damage,
+£1,150.
+
+Oct. 9th. Gorleston Cemetery consecrated by the Lord Bishop of Norwich.
+
+Oct. 19th. The Bishop of British Columbia preached at the Parish Church.
+(See Nov., 1858.) It is reported that he has now (1884) resigned the
+Bishopric.
+
+Nov. 2nd. Loss of the smack “Florence and Johanna,” and five hands, the
+vessel being run down on the fishing grounds. Six other hands were
+drowned this day in a gale.
+
+Nov. 1st. The _Graphic_ published a sketch of the original Peggotty’s
+Hut in Yarmouth, which was then about to be demolished.
+
+The poor rate for the year was 3s. 4d.; in 1869 it was 5s. 2d.; in 1873,
+4s. 4d.; and in 1877, 3s. 6d.
+
+Nov. 5th. The “Jetty Mills,” St. George’s Road, purchased by Mr. F.
+Carpenter for £1,170, and pulled down.
+
+Nov. 23rd. Mr. Charles Samuel Dale Steward, Parish Churchwarden from
+1848 till 1873, died, aged 77 years. A memorial window is placed in the
+Parish Church to his and the late Mr. Churchwarden Aldred’s memory.
+Subscriptions for this amounted to £151 12s. 6d.
+
+Nov. 28th. Elizabeth, widow of Thomas Warren, a mail-coach driver, died
+in Row 21, at the advanced age of 104 years and 8 months.
+
+Nov. 29th. Fire at Mr. W. S. Wigg’s, jeweller, Regent Street.
+
+Dec. 11th. Rev. Joseph Tongue, Primitive Methodist Minister, received
+his B.A. degree at Cambridge University.
+
+Dec. 27th. Miss Jermy, daughter of the late Recorder of Norwich, died,
+and was interred in the vault at Wymondham Churchyard, with the bodies of
+Isaac Jenny and his son, who were murdered by Rush. (See Nov. 6th,
+1848.)
+
+One hundred and five vessels imported timber here in the year; 112 in
+1878; and 104 in 1877.
+
+Marriages: Feb. 20th, Mr. J. Percival Smith, son of J. C. Smith, Esq., to
+Miss Eliza Jane Branch.—Aug. 20th, Rev. A. Aldred, rector of Worlingham,
+to Miss M. O. Clowes.—Sept. 2nd, H. Harvey-George, Esq., to Jessie,
+second daughter of Robert Hewett, Esq.
+
+Deaths: Feb. 27th, Lieut.-Col. FitzRoy, J.P.—March 22nd, T. W. Gooda,
+Esq., T.C., aged 72.—April 6th, Sir Thomas B. Beevor, Bart., aged
+81.—April 23rd, William Wright, Esq., architect and builder, aged 69.—May
+5th, Captain J. Emerson, harbour master, aged 62.—May 26th, Philip
+Pullen, Esq., J.P., aged 87.—June 10th, Mr. W. H. Hunt, aged 72.—June
+25th, Mr. James Burman, bell ringer and late parish clerk, aged 64.—July
+20th, Mary, mother of Mr. J. H. Harrison, aged 87.
+
+Launches: April 24th, smacks “Magpie” and “Greyhound.”—May 27th, Mr.
+Morgan’s yacht “Gnat.”—Sept. 8th, smack “Leonard.”—Sept. 16th, fishing
+boat “Promise.”
+
+
+
+1880.
+
+
+Jan. The Bure Preservation Society established.
+
+Jan. 3rd. Schooner “Kate,” of Yarmouth, wrecked.
+
+Jan. 13th. Fire at Mr. Pond’s shop, King Street; and on Jan. 30th a fire
+on the fishing premises of Mr. Joseph Ellis, Middle Market Road.
+
+Feb. 21st. Major James Henry Orde, 2nd N.R.V., of Hopton Hall, Suffolk,
+son of the late General and Lady Elizabeth Orde, died, aged 49.
+
+March 18th. A sad accident happened in the Market Place. Mr. Johnson’s
+horses, in a mourning coach, ran away, and overtaking a walking funeral
+(Mrs. Thompson’s), came in contact with the bearers, one of whom was
+knocked over and the coffin thrown to the ground. Damage was also done
+to some of the shops in the Butchery by the runaways.
+
+March 20th. Fire on board the smack “Young Harry” whilst at sea, and
+several fishermen injured.
+
+April 7th. The Parliamentary Election for East Suffolk, which includes
+Gorleston and Southtown, took place, and resulted as follows:—Lord
+Rendlesham (C.), 4,239 votes; Colonel F. S. N. Barne (C.), 3,620; Mr. R.
+L. Everett (L.), 3,502. The two first-named were re-elected. This
+election cost the two Conservative candidates £1,921 6s. each, and Mr.
+Everett, £1,230 13s. 2d.
+
+April. The first dissolution of Parliament since March 5th, 1874.
+Although Sir E. H. K. Lacon, Bart., and E. Birkbeck, Esq., were returned
+to Parliament for North Norfolk without opposition, their expenses were
+£325 16s. 5d., including £87 for agency.
+
+April 8th. Mr. T. P. George presented with a massive marble timepiece by
+the teachers of St. Nicholas’ Sunday School.
+
+April 20th. The principal corner-stone (3 tons in weight), of the new
+Town Hall and Municipal Buildings was laid by the Mayor (C. C. Aldred,
+Esq.), in the presence of the Corporation and a large number of ladies
+and gentlemen. The Mayor was presented with a richly-chased silver
+trowel appropriately inscribed. In the cavity of the stone was deposited
+in two stone bottles, “Crisp’s Chronological History of Yarmouth” (A.D.
+46 to 1879 inclusive); _Times_, April 20th; _Yarmouth Independent and
+Gazette_, April 17th; _Builder_, Feb. 22nd, 1879; _Building News_, Sept.
+27th, 1878; a sequence of coin, from a sovereign to a farthing (exclusive
+of a crown and fourpenny-piece); photograph of Old Town Hall; Council’s
+Committee Book and statement of date of laying the principal stone, with
+the names of the Building Committee. (See May 31st, 1882.)
+
+April 27th. Mr. William Smith, 20 years sick steward of the Good
+Samaritan Lodge (M.U.O.O.), presented with a silver watch and gold Albert
+chain and appendages by the brotherhood as a memento of esteem; and on
+June 15th Bro. R. Ladbroke, eight years treasurer to the Marquis of Lorne
+Lodge, presented with a marble timepiece.
+
+May. R. Martins and S. Nightingale, jun., Esqs., appointed Borough
+Magistrates by the Lord Chancellor.
+
+May 4th. Marriage of Mr. W. Teasdel with Alice, second daughter of J. E.
+Barnby, Esq.; June 3rd, F. J. Irwin with Kate, third daughter of Mr.
+Barnby; and on Oct. 12th Mr. Edgar Barnby with Edith Mary, third daughter
+of the late J. W. Bunn, Esq.
+
+May 8th. The Mayor (C. C. Aldred, Esq.) and Dr. Mayo thrown out of a dog
+cart on Regent Road, caused by a runaway horse.
+
+May 19th to 21st. Visit to Yarmouth of the Duke of Edinburgh, as Admiral
+Superintendent of the Naval Reserve, and considerable _éclat_ was given
+to the occasion. The Duke also paid a flying visit to this town by the
+North Norfolk Railway on Nov. 24th.
+
+May 22nd. St. Nicholas’ Church broken into by thieves.
+
+May 25th. St. Nicholas’ change bell ringers rang, in 1 hr. 20 min., on
+the eight large Parish Church bells (the tenor 31 cwt.), 1,880 changes of
+Bob major, composed and conducted by William Lee.
+
+May 26th. A Royal sturgeon, six feet long and weighing eleven stone,
+brought in by the cutter “British Lion.”
+
+June. The Steward memorial drinking fountain removed to the Marine
+Parade.
+
+June 15th. Mr. S. Sparrow, 14 years hon. treasurer to Court Star of West
+(A.I.O.F.), presented by the brotherhood with a silver watch, suitably
+inscribed.
+
+June 17th. Opening of the new Congregational School Room and Lecture
+Hall, South Howard Street. Cost, with fittings, £3,000.
+
+June 29th. A handsome brass-bound family Bible presented to Bro.
+Spanton, 10 years auditor to the St. Nicholas’ Lodge (N.O.O.), as a
+memento of esteem.
+
+June 31st. J. Worlledge, Esq., resigned his position as County Court
+Judge. On Nov. 6th he was presented with an illuminated address, with
+153 signatures. He died on July 19th, 1881. T. B. Bristowe, Esq., Q.C.,
+was appointed Judge on July 28th.
+
+July 1st. Captain Giles, A Company, 2nd N.R.V., presented with a
+testimonial in commemoration of his marriage by his brother officers and
+privates.
+
+July 16th. The new Drill Hall, for the 1st Norfolk Artillery Volunteers,
+opened. The hall is 73 ft. by 40 ft., with orderly and committee rooms
+attached, each 17 by 13 ft.
+
+July 20th. The first Gorleston Marine Regatta held in the South Ham and
+Roadstead.
+
+July. On the retirement of Mr. S. Swarbrick from the office of General
+Manager of the Great Eastern Railway, Mr. William Birt, many years Goods
+Manager, succeeded to the post. Mr. Swarbrick was presented with a
+service of silver plate, value 250 guineas, by the heads of the
+department.
+
+Aug. 14th. The _Yarmouth Independent_ permanently enlarged. (See July
+28th, 1855.)
+
+Aug. 20th. Fire at Messrs. R. and A. Brown’s fishing premises, Friar’s
+Lane.
+
+Sept. Mr. E. Hawkins resigned the management of the Southtown Tramway,
+and was succeeded by Mr. George Wright.
+
+Sept. 3rd. The mail steamer “Grantully Castle” passed outside the sands
+on a voyage from Leith to Gravesend, having on board the Hon. William E.
+Gladstone and family. About 50 Yarmouth gentlemen went out in the tug
+“Meteor” to present him with an address of congratulation upon his
+convalescence.
+
+Sept. Part of the original MSS. of “Swinden’s History of Yarmouth” and
+“Manship’s History” purchased by T. P. Burroughs, Esq., F.S.A. (See
+1772).
+
+Sept. 18th. The old wooden Grand Stand on the South Denes totally
+destroyed by fire.
+
+Oct. 2nd. The three-masted schooner “Curlew,” with her captain and four
+of the crew, lost off Yarmouth, the result of a collision.
+
+Oct. 4th. Heavy gale and loss of the lugger “Ebenezer” on the South
+Beach. About £400 worth of damage done to South Pier. On the 29th there
+was another gale, and many men injured and drowned at sea as well as
+great destruction of fishing property. The Yarmouth schooners “John
+Snell” and “Isis” lost. The smacks “Expert,” “Luna,” “Mystery,” “Harry,”
+and “Defiance” each lost six hands. The Swedish barque “Systers,” which
+came into port after the gale in a wretched state of dilapidation, was
+the best criterion of what she had encountered. The “Systers” was valued
+at £927 14s. 1d., and salvors were awarded £384. She was sold in London
+on Feb. 1st, for £295.
+
+Oct. 7th. The wine and spirit stores and building site of Messrs. S.
+Grimmer and Co., at the south-east corner of Regent Street, sold by
+auction, and realized £5,300, but was afterwards re-sold to Mr. Bayfield
+by private contract.
+
+Oct. 15th. The resident Inspector at the Vauxhall Station (Mr. Reeve)
+run over by a train and killed.
+
+Oct. 18th. The Rev. R. Nicholson, founder of the Boys’ and Girls’ Homes,
+presented with a public subscription (£61) prior to leaving the town.
+
+Oct. 18th. A petty juryman fined £5 for refusing to appear at the
+Quarter Sessions when summoned.
+
+Oct. 24th. Great communion at the Parish Church, and 1,102 persons
+partook of the Sacrament this day.
+
+Oct. 30th. A lad named Charles Meffin (15) fell from the inner
+scaffolding at the new Town Hall (26 ft.), and died from injuries
+received.
+
+Oct. Cornelius Harley Christmas, a native of this town, whose property
+was sworn under £60,000, willed £15,800 to the poor of Great Yarmouth
+_for ever_, the yearly interest of which was upwards of £770, which sum
+was to be divided and spent every year, the week before Christmas, in
+coal, bread, and money. The £770 was reduced by other expenses to £696,
+viz., £199 for bread, £398 for coal, and £99 in money, to be distributed
+in wards, namely, North and South Wards each £100 coal, £50 bread, and
+£24 in money; Market, Regent, and St. George’s each £66 coal, £33 bread,
+and £17 in money. Not more than 2 cwt. of coal, 1s. in bread, and 1s. to
+2s. in money, to be given to one house. But “if difficulties arose
+through litigation, the property to be realised, and the money to be
+distributed among the poor of Yarmouth, not more than £20 to occupier of
+each house.” This year nearly 8,000 cwts. of coal, 16,000 loaves, and
+more than £100 in money was distributed among 6,000 families, but Mr.
+Christmas’ death occurring afterwards (see Feb. 4th, 1881) the gift was
+passed into Chancery, and the poor will have to wait its resuscitation
+before they get further aid. Other charities were to be benefited. (See
+Feb. 4th, 1881).
+
+Nov. 4th. Several uproarious meetings of the Board of Guardians
+commenced, relative to the election of a registrar of births and deaths
+for the South District.
+
+Nov. 8th. First burial in Yarmouth under the New Burial Law; and on Dec.
+27th, the first Nonconformist was buried in the churchyard without the
+rite of the Church of England.
+
+Nov. 6th. Mr. B. Press elected as an Alderman in place of Mr. P. Case,
+resigned.
+
+Nov. The beautifully-carved pulpit (designed by the Vicar) in the Parish
+Church finished. It cost £579 14s., and was 3½ years in making.
+
+Nov. 25th. Mr. Waters presented with a marble timepiece by the senior
+members of St. James’ choir.
+
+Dec. 23rd. That “a cat has nine lives” was partly verified by the fact
+that a feline was accidentally nailed under the floor at 47, South Quay,
+for three weeks without food, and was taken out alive.
+
+Dec. 25th. The dead body of a woman named Harriet Parsons (60), of
+Norwich, found on Yarmouth Beach. Her husband left her for 27 years, and
+she, believing him dead, in the interval married again; and her first
+husband’s return home is supposed to have caused her to commit suicide.
+
+Dec. 26th. Mr. H. T. Stonex ordained by the Bishop of Bath and Wells,
+and licensed to a curacy at Taunton.
+
+Launches: Jan., smack “Nellie”; Jan. 28th, smack “Silver Dart”; May 3rd,
+smacks “Busy Bee” and “Edith Mary”; May 10th, smack “Greenheys”; Sept.
+27th, smack “Francis”; Nov. 6th, fish carrier “Bessie”; Nov. 22nd, cutter
+“Phœnix.”
+
+Marriages: March 31st, Rev. G. Merriman, of Martham, to Miss E. S.
+Steward; May 20th, Mr. G. W. Giles to Miss A. E. L. Blake; June 8th, R.
+E. Pinhey, Esq., to Emily Gertrude, eldest daughter of F. Palmer, Esq.,
+J.P.; Oct. 21st, Mr. E. H. Morgan to Miss E. K. Press, of Southtown.
+
+Deaths: Feb. 5th, Mr. Marcus John Grimmer, aged 63; Feb. 23rd, Mr. Thos.
+Todd, boatowner, aged 52; March 11th, Mr. Walter J. Lincoln, Town Hall
+keeper, aged 48; March 13th, Mr. Geo. Hastings, boat builder; May 28th,
+Wm. Danby Palmer, Esq., of Southtown, aged 46, June, Daniel Gurney, Esq.,
+at North Runcton, aged 89; July 1st, Arthur G. W. Neale, B.A., aged 23;
+Aug. 27th. Hezekiah Martin, Esq., aged 86; Sept. 22nd, Mr. Wm. Hewke,
+many years head master at the Hospital School, aged 68; Oct. 19th, John
+Wilton Shelly, J.P., aged 70; Oct. 21st, Dr. J. Baily, aged 74; Dec.,
+Frank Buckland, Esq., H.M’s. Inspector of Fisheries, aged 54.
+
+
+
+1881.
+
+
+Jan. 6th. Mr. W. H. Willis, boat owner of Gorleston, presented with a
+handsome timepiece by the Pilot Lodge (M.U.O.O.), of which he was hon.
+sec.
+
+Jan. The Local Government Board consented to lend the Corporation £2,000
+for wood and concrete pavements, the money spent in wood to be refunded
+in 15 years, and that for concreting in 20 years.
+
+Jan. New Coastguard House on Gorleston Pier erected.
+
+Jan. 7th. Mr. Robert Warner’s sail and net stores at Gorleston destroyed
+by fire; damage about £3,500; and on Jan. 26th a large fire at Mr. C.
+Seiver’s net chamber, at Gorleston. March 28th, one occurred at Mr. T.
+Gallant’s, “William the IV.” public house, Gorleston.
+
+Jan. 11th. The North End Mission Room opened.
+
+Jan. 11th. A large gallery in the north-west aisle of St. Nicholas’
+Church removed.
+
+Jan. 17th. Mr. C. H. Wiltshire elected an Alderman in the place of the
+late Mr. R. S. Watling.
+
+Jan. 18th. One of the worst gales experienced in the present generation,
+when six out of a crew of nine brave beachmen and a volunteer lost their
+lives by the upsetting of the surf lifeboat “Abraham Thomas” whilst
+trying to rescue the mate of the schooner “Guiding Star” (Thomas Jones),
+whose vessel was stranded on the South Beach, opposite the Asylum. Jones
+was also lost out of the lifeboat. Highway traffic and the Great Eastern
+Railway was blocked for 24 hours. About 50 lives were lost off this
+coast. Besides the “Guiding Star,” the schooners “Rhoda,” and “Sarah
+Jane,” the French ketch “Manne du Ciel,” and the brig “Battle of Corunna”
+were driven ashore, and from the last-named, in the South Ham, seven
+hands, including a woman, were drowned. The names of the men in the
+lifeboat who were drowned were J. Ditcham (30), H. Masterson (15), J.
+Sherwood (44), Robert Symonds (37), Charles Henry Beckett (21), and
+William Green (whose body was not recovered), leaving 4 widows and 22
+children. On the day of the interment (24th) thousands of people filled
+the Parish Church, and lined the route to the New Cemetery. At the
+funeral service the organ played the “Dead March” in _Samson_, and the
+Mayoress (Mrs. T. B. Steward) placed a beautiful floral wreath upon each
+of the coffins before they entered the church. The funeral _cortège_
+comprised five separate hearses, and thirteen mourning coaches with the
+relatives. The subscriptions raised for the relief of the widows and
+orphans reached over £3,000. The four survivors among the lifeboat men
+were W. Haylett, coxswain, W. Davey, R. Brown, and W. P. Smith.
+
+Jan. Mr. W. G. Poll, of Yarmouth, and Mr. A. E. Richmond, of Southtown,
+passed their preliminary examinations of the Pharmaceutical Society.
+
+Feb. 4th. Mr. C. H. Christmas died at Yarmouth, aged 86 years. (See
+Oct., 1880.)
+
+Feb. Mr. W. H. Cowl, solicitor, awarded the special prizes of the
+“Timphron Martin” and “John Atkinson” gold medals for 1880.
+
+Feb. 11th. The stoker on board the steam tug “Victoria,” Robert Jackman
+(46), accidentally killed after towing the Norwegian steamer “Norma” (652
+tons register) on to Gorleston beach the day before, where she became a
+total wreck.
+
+Feb. 11th. School Board Election. The following candidates were
+returned:—Messrs. Palgrave, Peaton, Moxon, Johnson, Dowson, Waters,
+Worlledge, Leach (Mrs.), Bately, Splain, and Tomkins. (See Feb., 1875.)
+
+Feb. 12th. Marriage of the Baroness Burdett-Coutts, with W. Ashmead
+Bartlett, Esq., in London.
+
+March. A fine shark, 7 ft. long, brought to the Fishwharf.
+
+March 5th. Total loss of the Yarmouth schooner “Princess Royal” and all
+hands.
+
+March 14th. Charles Crawshaw Wilkinson, inventor of the perforated stamp
+sheets, died at Yarmouth, aged 79 years. (See 1850.)
+
+April. Lieut.-Col. Sir E. Lacon resigned his commission in the 2nd East
+Norfolk Militia, but retains the rank of hon. colonel.
+
+April 18th to May 7th. The first National Fisheries Exhibition at
+Norwich, and many contributions were sent from Yarmouth.
+
+April. The census of Yarmouth and Gorleston taken by 22 enumerators.
+Population of the Borough, 44,782, including 8,903 in Gorleston and
+Southtown, viz., 24,447 females and 20,335 males (many men at sea not
+included). Number of houses and buildings, 10,098. The increase on the
+past ten years was 7,009.
+
+April 19th. The intelligence of the death this day of Earl Beaconsfield,
+in his 76th year, was received here with manifestations of sorrow. The
+very first flag hoisted on the New Town Hall, was half-mast, and that in
+respect to the memory of the deceased. This day is now known as
+“Primrose Day,” when the primrose is extensively used as a button-hole
+throughout the nation.
+
+April 19th. The Rev. Bowyer Vaux, M.A., presented with a massive chased
+silver tea tray, together with an address on vellum, by the congregation
+of St. Peter’s Church, as a token of esteem, he having been minister
+there for 35 years.
+
+April 28th. Opening of the New Organ at the Temple. It was built by Mr.
+W. C. Mack, of this town.
+
+May 1st. Boat accident on Breydon, when William Hawkins. John McPhee,
+and Louis Feekins lost their lives by being drowned.
+
+May 5th. Inspector Brogden elected Chief Constable for the Borough on
+the resignation of Mr. Joseph Ogden.
+
+May 7th. Col.-Sergt. Fenton, E.N.M., presented with a silver cup by his
+late Captain, Major Lacon, for efficient services.
+
+May 11th. The new Northgate Board Schools, in Ramp Row, opened. The
+site is 195 ft. by 150 ft., and the buildings, of red brick, set in dark
+mortar joints, are of a Gothic character. They cost, with fittings,
+legal expenses, &c., £5,660, and will accommodate 610 children.
+
+May. On the removal of Mr. J. W. Keogh, collector of Customs at this
+port, Mr. J. Robertson was promoted to Yarmouth.
+
+June 8th. The magnificent three-mast steam yacht “Northumbria,” 456
+tons, belonging to Lord Lonsdale, came into harbour, and was inspected by
+the Prince of Wales. Her crew comprised 25 hands.
+
+June 9th to 11th. The third visit to Yarmouth of H.R.H. the Prince of
+Wales, who was joined here by H.R.H. the Duke of Cambridge, K.G., and
+other distinguished visitors. (See June 6th, 1882.)
+
+June 10th. The Rev. E. C. Kemp, M.A., Incumbent of St. George’s Chapel,
+died at Yarmouth, aged 87. Dr. J. J. Raven, head master of the Grammar
+School, succeeded him as minister.
+
+June 18th. W. Brewer’s Spanish bitch had a litter of 11 pups, and the
+previous Nov. she had 12, making 28 in 8 months.
+
+June 18th. E. A. Ducket and F. H. S. Raven took their B.A. degrees at
+Cambridge.
+
+June. The Lord Chancellor of England appointed Francis Roxburgh, Esq.,
+Q.C., to be the Judge of the County Courts of the district, in place of
+S. B. Bristowe, Esq., Q.C., transferred.
+
+June 18th. The smack “Excellent” lost on the Dutch coast.
+
+June 27th. Isaac Hill, T. Saul, L. Blake, and A. Palmer, Esqs., took the
+oath as Borough Magistrates.
+
+July. Mr. C. J. Wiltshire, son of C. H. Wiltshire, Esq., passed the
+intermediate examination of the Law Society.
+
+July 9th. Review of nearly 60,000 Volunteers in Windsor Park by the
+Queen and other members of the Royal Family. Eleven officers and 309 men
+of the Yarmouth Corps attended. The Duke of Cambridge, Prince Edward of
+Saxe-Weimar, Sir Garnet Wolseley, and others rode down the lines.
+
+July 12th. New Grand Stand, South Denes, first opened. (See Sept. 18th,
+1880.)
+
+July 14th. The wife of Mr. A. E. Blagg, Market Row, unfortunately
+knocked down and killed by a railway truck while passing over the level
+crossing on the Southtown Road.
+
+July 19th. John Worlledge, Esq., late County Court Judge, died at
+Brooklyn, Ipswich, aged 72 years. (See June 31st, 1880.)
+
+July 19th. The Duke of Argyle and Admiral Hamilton landed here from the
+Trinity yacht “Galatea.”
+
+July 23rd. Another fire at Mr. R. Kemp’s premises at Gorleston, and
+damage estimated at £2,000; also on Dec. 8th (the sixth) on fishing
+premises.
+
+July. The new valuation lists completed, and the town re-assessed, much
+to the dissatisfaction of many ratepayers. Oct. 3rd. Messrs. Lacons’
+brewery assessed at £2,100 gross, on an estimated rental of £1,400. The
+brewery occupies la. 0r. 25p. On an appeal before the Recorder in June,
+1882, these sums were reduced.
+
+July. Mr. A. E. Gunton passed his preliminary examination in Pharmacy.
+
+July 28th. Mr. Thos. Womack Branford, boat builder and inventor of a
+plan for speedily launching a boat from a ship’s deck, died at Burgh,
+aged 72 years.
+
+July 28th. Mr. A. W. Morant died at Leeds, aged 53 years. (See March,
+1856.)
+
+Aug. 22nd. The Market tolls let by auction for five years to Mr. Percy,
+of London, at £970 per annum. They had let hitherto for £925 a year.
+
+Sept. 17th. A viper, 25 inches long, killed at Caister, and found to
+have a common rat in its stomach.
+
+Sept. 22nd. Captain Brown, 2nd N.R.V., presented with a handsome marble
+and bronze clock and a pair of bronzes to match, as a memento of esteem
+on his retirement from the corps.
+
+Sept. 22nd. Rev. C. M. Hardy, B.A., ordained the minister of the Park
+Baptist Chapel in place of Rev. W. Vincent.
+
+Sept. 29th. Mr. W. P. Creak, T.C., presented with a silver épergne by
+the teachers and officers of the Free Church Sunday School.
+
+Oct. 9th. St. Nicholas’ Church again broken into, and the contents of
+the collection boxes rifled. (See May 22nd, 1880.)
+
+Oct. 14th. Heavy gale, great destruction of property, and about 120 men
+and boys lost at sea. Nov. 26th we were visited with another gale.
+
+Oct. The Town Council discussed the advisability of raising £30,000 by
+shares for carrying out a new dock scheme.
+
+Oct. 31st. The Royal Aquarium put up to public auction, but withdrawn.
+It was subsequently purchased for £5,000 by Messrs. F. Carpenter, William
+Barnard, S. Gunton, and O. Diver. (See July 2nd, 1883.)
+
+Nov. 11th. The s.s. “Fairy,” plying between this port and the Tyne, sunk
+off Flamborough Head, the result of a collision.
+
+Nov. A challenge trophy provided for the 1st N.A.V. It is an excellent
+model, value 50 guineas, representing a 64-pounder M.L.R. gun on a
+temporary sleigh. (See Challenge cup, 1883.)
+
+Nov. A mackerel, 20 in. long, 10½ in. girth, and weighing 2¾ lbs., and
+another 17 inches long, brought in from sea.
+
+Dec. 10th. Fire on board the fishing boat “Eureka” at the Fish Wharf,
+causing the death of one of the crew.
+
+Dec. The wife of Police-constable Allcock gave birth to triplets.
+
+Dec. 29th. Edward Killington, formerly of this town, died in London, and
+bequeathed £1,000 to St. John’s Church, £500 to Sailors’ Home, £300 to
+Yarmouth Hospital, and £100 to National Lifeboat Institution.
+
+The Great Eastern Railway conveyed in 1881 more fish inland than any
+other line, viz., 60,314 tons, and this town, among the ports it serves,
+provided the largest supply. By rail from Yarmouth, 32,696 tons; in
+1879, 28,263; and in 1880, 31,238. In 1881, Lowestoft sent 23,019 tons.
+
+Launches: Jan. 4th, smack “Serapis;” March 14th, the fishing boats “Young
+Florence” and the “William;” Aug. 2nd, the cutter “Gorleston;” Sept. 5th,
+smack “Success.”
+
+Marriages: July 13th, James Hurry, son of the late Nathaniel Palmer,
+Esq., to Miss Ellen Boardman, of Stratford.—July 19th, Rev. D. W. Evans
+to Miss Alice Graham Lacon.—Oct. 4th, Edward P., son of P. E. Back, Esq.,
+to Miss Ellen R. Shales.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 5th, R. S. Watling, Esq., J.P., aged 70.—March 16th, Herr A.
+S. Dorla, bandmaster of the P.W.O. Artillery Militia, aged 61.—April
+15th, Charles Venables, brother of the Vicar of Yarmouth, at Taplow, aged
+61.—April 17th, Eliza, wife of K. Harvey, Esq., and daughter of the late
+Sir Edward K. Lacon, Bart., M.P., at Bath, aged 75.—April 19th, Judith,
+wife of James Hurry Palmer, Esq., aged 62.—Oct. 10th, Harriet, widow of
+the late Graham Lacon, Esq.—Nov. 12th, Mr. H. Hunt, watchmaker, Broad
+Row, aged 87.
+
+
+
+1882.
+
+
+Jan. 2nd. Mr. Henry H. Baker, town surveyor for nearly 20 years, died,
+aged 52 years. He succeeded Mr. Morant on his resignation in Nov., 1864.
+On Feb. 14th, Mr. J. W. Cockrill was appointed town surveyor.
+
+Jan. 9th. First annual tea given to 600 aged poor people at the Drill
+Hall, inaugurated by Mr. T. C. Foreman.
+
+Jan. 30th. James Hall, better known as “Jigger” Hall, died in the
+workhouse. He was one put upon his trial with Mapes and Royal for the
+murder of Mrs. Chandler, and acquitted. Hall was the last survivor of
+the accused. (See Nov. 18th, 1844.)
+
+Jan. 31st. Silver wedding day of Mr. C. Woolverton celebrated by a
+dinner to his workpeople.
+
+Feb. 18th. Rev. G. Venables, S.C.L., vicar of Yarmouth, was collated and
+instituted by the Bishop of Norwich to the office or place of an Honorary
+Canon in the Cathedral Church at Norwich, vacant by the death of the Rev.
+W. F. Patteson.
+
+Feb. 28th. Loss of the steamer “Livadia” (1,447 tons) on the Middle
+Cross Sands, and 24 of her crew drowned, the boatman (Thomas Sewell,
+brother of the captain of the local tug “United Service”) being the only
+survivor, who was bravely rescued by the Gorleston Volunteer Lifeboat
+“Revenge.” A subscription was made for the 14 lifeboatmen by Mrs.
+Bowler, who gave them each one guinea, and the National Institution
+awarded £20. On March 12th, a lifeboat, marked “Livadia,” was picked up
+in the North Sea with three dead bodies in it.
+
+March 2nd. Hannah Sarah, relict of the late T. Brightwen, Esq., died at
+Fritton, aged 73 years. Deceased’s personal estate was sworn under
+£50,000. She bequeathed £6,000 to the perpetual endowments of St.
+Andrew’s and St. James’ Churches; £500 to the Yarmouth Hospital, and
+numerous legacies to friends and dependants.
+
+March. A leather bag, containing cheques and documents, value £6,000,
+dredged up at sea by the smack “Nelson,” of this port. The bag was lost
+out of the steamer “Annie Arbib,” which foundered in the North Sea in
+Nov., 1881.
+
+March 6th. A “scene” in the Police Court over the appeals against the
+Poor-rate. Six magistrates left the Bench, and a “warm discussion”
+ensued.
+
+March. E. W. Worlledge, Esq., appointed by the Lord Chancellor to be a
+Commissioner to administer oaths in the Supreme Court of Judicature.
+
+March. Mr. F. E. Bowler presented with a handsome timepiece and an
+illuminated address by the assistants in Messrs. Chamberlins and Co.’s
+establishment, as a token of esteem on his 50th birthday.
+
+March 31st. The Rev. A. R. Abbott, B.A., instituted to the vicarage and
+parish church of Gorleston and Southtown, on his own petition.
+
+April 3rd. Fire in Mr. S. Randell’s stock room, Market Row. Damage
+about £30.
+
+April 29th. Heavy gale, which played sad havoc among the fishing craft,
+those entirely lost with all hands including the “Jester,” “Phœnix,” and
+“Olive Leaf.”
+
+April. Mr. A. Linder, of this town, chosen pier-master at Skegness, out
+of 76 candidates. On May 5th he was presented with a purse of £18 13s.,
+as a mark of respect by the patrons of the Wellington Pier.
+
+May 9th. The Town Council moved addresses of congratulation to the Duke
+and Duchess of Albany on their marriage on April 27th; and congratulation
+to the Queen.
+
+May 18th. The Wellington Pier sold by auction to Mr. Chappell for £890,
+but through some discrepancy in the transfer the bid was withdrawn.
+
+May 18th. Launch at Southtown of a new iron paddle boat, 100 ft. long,
+breadth 14 ft. 2 in., depth 7 ft., and owned by Mr. R. J. Blyth. It was
+built by Mr. H. E. Wright, Yare-side Iron Works, and Miss Wright
+christened it “Jumbo.”
+
+May 30th. H.R.H. the Prince of Wales paid a fourth visit to this town,
+and left on June 2nd.
+
+May 31st. Opening of the New Town Hall and Municipal Buildings by the
+Prince of Wales, the ceremony being on a very grand scale. Three hundred
+and fifty guests were invited to the _déjeuner_, including the Mayor of
+Yarmouth and the Lord Mayor of London, Lords Aylesford, Suffield,
+Rendlesham, and Carpington; Sir H. Clifford, Sir E. Lacon, Sir H.
+Bedingfield, Sir R. J. Buxton, Sir T. Boileau, Sir T. Beevor, Admiral Sir
+H. Keppel, Colonel Teesdale, E. Birkbeck, Esq., &c. In the evening there
+a grand display of fireworks on the Britannia Pier. The Hall was
+designed by J. B. Pearce, Esq., and the contractors Messrs. J. W. Lacey,
+of Norwich. The total cost was £35,764, as follows:—Building contract,
+£26,200; extras on building, new works, and fittings, £4,442 11s. 1d.;
+architect’s commission, £1,705 10s. 9d.; Clerk of Works, £417 5s.; Norman
+and Son, furniture and fittings, £1,177 7s. 9d.; Mr. Finch, ditto, £592
+1s. 5d.; Chamberlins and Co., linoleum, £351 9s.; Aldred and Son, clock,
+£361 15s.; Mr. Keable, blinds, £26 15s. 3d.; Ellis and Son, mats, £22
+15s. 10d.; decorations, opening ceremony, £28; premiums on designs for
+Town Hall, £70; foundation stone and the laying, £46 5s. 1d.; expenses of
+opening ceremony, £38 9s. 4d.; travelling expenses to inspect other Town
+Halls, £29 5s. 4d.; solicitor to H.M.’s Treasury, £17 6s. 10d.;
+miscellaneous charges and expenses, £239 14s. 6d. (See April 20th,
+1880.)
+
+May 31st. John Mooring, captain of the maintop of H.M.S. “Thunderer,” at
+the Battle of Trafalgar, died at the Yarmouth Naval Hospital, aged 102
+years.
+
+May. The Union Railway, from the Beach Station to the North Quay,
+completed.
+
+May. Surgeon-Major C. C. Aldred resigned after 29 years his commission
+in the 2nd Brigade (E.D.) Royal Artillery. On April 24th, 1883, Mr.
+Aldred was presented with a pair of silver cups, on which was
+inscribed:—“Presented to Surgeon-Major Aldred, on his retirement from the
+regiment, by H.R.H. the Prince of Wales, K.G., and the officers who have
+served and are serving in the P.W.O. Norfolk Artillery Militia.” (See
+June 28th, 1884.)
+
+May. Capt. Combe, promoted to the rank of Major in the 2nd Norfolk Rifle
+Corps.
+
+May. Count Bismarck, son of Prince Bismarck, visited Yarmouth.
+
+June 7th. Thos. George Wooden (15) died through being crashed by the
+buffer of a railway carriage at the Southtown Station.
+
+July 17th. Mr. S. J. B. Batchelder, hon. sec. of Court Star of West
+(A.O.F.), presented with a marble clock and an illuminated list of
+subscribers for several years good service.
+
+July 25th. Mr. J. T. Waters, ten years choir master of St. James’
+Church, presented with a handsome silver keyless chronometer.
+
+July 27th. Sham fight between 2,000 men belonging to the Royal Naval
+Reserves, 1st Norfolk Artillery, and 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Norfolk
+Rifles on the North Denes, in the presence of 2,000 or 3,000 people.
+
+Aug. 18th. John Bracey, Esq., J.P., T.C., whilst out celebrating his
+52nd birthday, with his family, at Fritton, died suddenly. On Dec. 13th,
+the mother of the above, and wife of J. T. Bracey, Esq., died, aged 68.
+(See April 19th, 1859.)
+
+Sept. 5th. The Army and Navy Tavern, Blackfriars’ Road, sold by auction
+for £2,100, and £68 fixtures.
+
+Sept. 5th. Commander Parker, R.N., presented with a handsome silver and
+polished oak salad bowl as a mark of esteem by the Caister Life-Saving
+Volunteer Corps; and on Sept. 23rd, the Gorleston L.S.V.C. gave him a
+marble timepiece and bronze ornaments; and Commander Parker presented the
+chief officer with a beautiful clock, and chief boatman Bridgeland with a
+book, “The World of Wit and Humour.”
+
+Sept. 29th. £11,247 8s. 8d. had been expended on the Gorleston Spur
+Breakwater. £6,000 more required to complete the work.
+
+Sept. 30th. This being the eve of the 88th birthday of the veteran
+ringer, Thomas Gooch, a merry peal was rung on the Parish Church bells.
+(See Aug. 27th, 1883.)
+
+Sept. The council decided to allow the Tolhouse Hall to be retained by
+the Archæological Society, as a monument of antiquity, and the trustees
+subsequently accepted Mr. R. Davy’s contract (£485) for its restoration.
+
+Oct. 3rd. St. John’s Church organ, after being enlarged and renovated by
+Mr. W. C. Mack, was opened. It has two manuals CC to F 54 notes, and
+pedal CCC to F 30 notes; 18 stops and 726 pipes, viz.:—Great organ, 408
+pipes, swell, 288, and pedal, 30. The anchor lashed to a cross on the
+front panel of the case was designed by Mr. Chas. Harrison (a local
+artist of wide-spread popularity), and carved by Mr. Homes.
+
+Oct. 10th and 11th. Board of Trade Fisheries Enquiry at the Town Hall,
+by Messrs. C. M. Norwood, M.P., E. Birkbeck, M.P., E. Heneage, M.P.,
+Alderman Leak (Mayor of Hull), and T. Gray, sec. of the Marine
+Department.
+
+Oct. 11th. St. George’s Chapel re-opened after extensive renovation,
+inside and out, at a total cost of £1,700.
+
+Oct. 20th. Mr. G. R. Ceiley rewarded by the Humane Society for bravely
+saving the lives of James Simonds at Yarmouth, and four persons at
+Lowestoft.
+
+Oct. 23rd. Cabmen’s shelter placed on the Hall Quay.
+
+Oct. 24th. Heavy gale. Loss of the lugger “Edward and Ellen,” smack
+“Nancy,” the Yarmouth brigantine “Let me Alone,” and ketch “Hannah.”
+
+Oct. 26th. The wife of Capt. Bunn presented with an elegant silver
+épergne, as a wedding present, by the A Company Rifle Volunteers, out of
+respect to their captain.
+
+Oct. 28th. Gale of great severity, and another on Nov. 14th, when the
+brig “Kettland” came ashore on the South Beach, and great bravery was
+displayed by the Gorleston lifeboat, and also Mr. Lloyd, Inspector of
+Naval Reserve, in rescuing the crew. Commander Poynder presented Lloyd
+with two medals. Fifty fishermen were lost during the late gales,
+together with the fishing dandies “Sceptre,” “Silver Streak,” “Children’s
+Friend,” “Ich Dien,” &c., leaving 14 widows and 44 orphans.
+
+In Yarmouth there are 621 fishing boats, 333 being smacks and the
+remainder luggers; their value is £372,000, and their nets and gear,
+£100,000 more. Their owners number 498, and crews 5,160. Scotch boats
+800, and 120 smacks from Gorleston. Value of fish caught by trawlers of
+this port, £325,000. Number of herrings caught in five years, 71,458
+lasts, which at an average of £10 a last gives a total of £714,580. The
+Corporation had up to date spent £34,916 in building the fishwharf,
+offices, &c., which latter let for £1,438 a year. Trawl fish caught in
+1877, 11,863 packages; 1878, 39,508; 1879, 31,072; 1880, 28,400; 1881,
+24,003. The dues were as follows:—In 1877, £1,574 on herring, and £59 on
+trawl fish; 1878, £846 herring, £164 trawl; 1879, £978 herring, £129
+trawl; 1880, £1,163 herring, £118 trawl, 1881, £1,393 herring, and £100
+trawl.
+
+Nov. 11th. Mrs. Harriet Vade, wife of R. H. V. Walpole, of Yarmouth, and
+Suffolk Hall, Cheltenham, died.
+
+Nov. £3,349 14s. 4d. spent about the erection and fittings of new nave
+of St. James’ Church.
+
+Nov. 20th. The steamtug “Andrew Woodhouse” sold for £90.
+
+Nov. 21st. J. C. Smith, Esq., elected Alderman of the Borough in place
+of the late Wm. Worship, Esq. Seventeen voted for Mr. Smith, and 11 for
+Mr. E. Worlledge.
+
+Oct. 20th. The Swedish man-of-war frigate “Vanadis,” in the Roadstead;
+and on 26th, German war-ship “Leipzic,” 16 guns and 483 men.
+
+Oct. 23rd. Fires at Mrs. Rigg’s wool shop, St. Peter’s Row, E; Nov. 16th
+at Mr. Jas. Ayers’ fishing premises, S. Market Road; Nov. 23rd, at Mr.
+H. Fenner’s, steam tannery works, S. Denes Road; Nov. 24th at Mr. Wigg’s
+jewellery shop, Regent Street; Dec. 10th, the net chamber of Mr.
+Hellenburgh, Ordnance Road; and at Mr. G. B. Palmer’s, Market Place.
+
+Nov. 9th. Mr. F. Arnold presented with an elaborate salad bowl and pair
+of silver ladles on the opening of the Park Young Men’s Institute.
+
+Nov. Rev. E. Venables appointed to the church and district of St. John’s
+the Evangelist, Drury Lane, London.
+
+Nov. 12th. Wm. Worship, Esq., solicitor, died at Ormesby, aged 70 years.
+£1,000 was subsequently subscribed by the town for the founding of a
+scholarship at the Yarmouth Grammar School to perpetuate his memory.
+
+The fishing smack “John Cooper” sunk by a steamer, and one man drowned.
+
+1,028 lbs. 13 ozs. of tobacco (value £284 8s. 9d.) smuggled into Yarmouth
+during the year.
+
+This year 99,422 coins were collected for various objects in the Parish
+Church, viz., 36,816 half-pence, 36,817 pennies, 10,756 threepenny
+pieces, 300 fourpenny pieces, 9,872 sixpences, 4,061 shillings, 412
+florins, 289 half-crowns, _nil_ crowns, 68 half-sovereigns, 28
+sovereigns, and three notes. Total amount, £1,038 14s. 7d.
+
+One thousand eight hundred and fifty plaints entered in the County Court
+for sums amounting to £10,639. In 1881, 2,591 plaints for £12,967.
+
+Launches: March 7th, a steam launch launched from the Yare-side Iron
+Works; March 30th, smack “Morning Star”; July 4th, fishing boat
+“Muscotte.”
+
+Marriages: Feb. 28th, Alexander Mitchell, Esq., M.D., to Ellen Eugénie
+Ramsdale, of E. Dereham; April 10th, Mr. W. H. Kempton, of London, to
+Miss H. M. Gamble; Mr. E. S. Brown to Miss A. M. Ulph, in London; April
+6th, Mr. T. Ambrose Palmer to Miss E. J. Sheewan; June 8th, Mr. F. H.
+Smith, of Bradwell, to Miss Grace Dendy, of Gorleston.
+
+Deaths: Jan., Henry B. Thompson, serjeant-at-mace and bellman, aged 65;
+March 25th, Caroline Louisa Bartlett, widow of Capt. H. J. Lacon, R.N.,
+at Ipswich; March 31st, Mr. W. A. Hardingham, 45 years in the service of
+Messrs. Grout and Co., aged 59; May 4th, Mr. R. Dumbleton, ex-Town
+Councillor, aged 63; May 18th, Mr. W. R. P. Dick, senior cashier at
+Messrs. Lacon’s Bank, aged 50; Aug. 12th, Mr. John Clowes, grocer, aged
+73; Sept. 24th, Chas. John Palmer, Esq., F.S.A., aged 78; Dec. 17th, Wm.
+Johnson, Esq., J.P., at Caister, aged 82.
+
+
+
+1883.
+
+
+Jan. 2nd. Frederick Redgrave (8), of Row 122, fell under the wheels of a
+railway truck on South Quay, and both his legs had to be amputated. £52
+9s. 9d. was collected for his benefit.
+
+Jan. Mr. Fisher’s smack “Reindeer” lost.
+
+Jan. 23rd. Schooners “Jim Crow” and “Try,” of this port, stranded and
+became total wrecks.
+
+Jan. 24th. Mr. James Brown, Beach Station Master, presented by the staff
+employed on the railway, with a silver-mounted inkstand and pencil case,
+on his birthday.
+
+Jan. 24th. Very low tide, the water being 3 ft. 10 in. below zero, and 6
+ft. 2 in. on the bar.
+
+Jan. 25th. St. Paul’s Mission Church opened.
+
+Feb. Mr. R. S. C. Keymer appointed organist of Gorleston Church.
+
+Feb. A pike, weighing 20 lbs., caught at Horsey Mere.
+
+Feb. Mr. F. W. Rolfe, organist, presented with a handsome timepiece by
+the choir of St. Peter’s Church.
+
+March 1st. The upper and lower ferries let by auction for five years to
+Mr. A. Green, at the annual rent of £780, viz., lower, £410; upper (with
+cottage), £370.
+
+March 6th. Heavy gale and high tide, the drive being inundated, and some
+of the boats “moored” at the lamp posts. Part of the Jetty was torn up,
+and “Uncle Tom’s Cabin,” under the Britannia Pier, made a complete wreck.
+The water was 21 or 22 ft. on the bar, and there was a flood tide in the
+harbour for 21 hours. Several trawlers were lost, including the
+“Musquito,” “Sea Flower,” “Clarence,” “Reaper,” and “Muscotte,” and 36
+lives, leaving 15 widows and 16 children. £132 19s. 8d. was contributed
+by the Mansion House Fund. Mr. W. P. Brown’s brig “Mary” was lost on the
+following day with her crew.
+
+March 11th. Major John Gillespie, 31st Brigade Depôt, died, and on 15th
+was buried with grand military honours in the Cemetery. About 500 of the
+military and 50 officers were present. Three military bands (including
+9th from Colchester, 54), played at intervals, and thousands of civilians
+lined the streets.
+
+March 12th. New Railway line from Yarmouth to Acle opened for traffic.
+
+March 22nd. The iron gates leading to the Parish Church knocked down by
+a horse.
+
+March 24th. The three-masted schooner “Orienten” (6,500 deals), stranded
+south of Wellington Pier.
+
+April 5th. The property of the Earl of Lichfield at Southtown (26 lots,
+including the “Nine Houses”) sold, by auction for £10,699.
+
+April. Mr. George Dowey, station master (G.E.R.), resigned his position
+after 25 years’ service, and on Oct. 25th was presented with £100 by 150
+subscribers.
+
+April 26th. Lord Suffield presented Bat.-Sergt. Major Quince with a
+clasp from the Royal Humane Society, and Mr. G. Ceiley with a bronze
+medal for their bravery in saving lives.
+
+April 28th. James Sutton (64), gate-keeper at a level crossing on the
+Eastern and Midlands Railway near Hemsby, knocked down by a goods train
+and killed, while in the act of opening the gates at 9.20 p.m.
+
+April. The Great Yarmouth Yacht Club established.
+
+May 3rd. An elegant liqueur stand with three glasses presented to Mr. H.
+Pechey, at the Aquarium, by the Winter Assembly Class.
+
+May 5th. Smack “Falcon,” on the North Sand, and crew bravely rescued by
+the Gorleston National lifeboat crew.
+
+May 12th. The International Fisheries Exhibition in London opened by the
+Prince of Wales, E. Birkbeck, Esq., M.P., as president, taking especial
+interest in the show. Many exhibits were contributed by local gentlemen.
+Exhibition closed Oct. 31st, 2,703,051 persons, exclusive of 20,000 on
+the opening day, having visited it during the season.
+
+May 18th. Mr. E. W. Worlledge elected as Alderman in place of the late
+Mr. J. T. Bracey.
+
+May 19th. A handsome timepiece presented by Major Dods and officers and
+men of the Gorleston Coastguard to Chief-boatman Bridgeland.
+
+May 20th. Rev. E. A. Ducket, B.A., ordained at Wells Cathedral, and
+licensed to a Curacy at Tiverton-on-Avon.
+
+May. Regent Street paved with blocks of wood, and afterwards a part of
+King Street.
+
+May 31st. Sergt.-Major Williams, 18 years drill sergeant in 2nd N.R.V.,
+presented with an illuminated address and £35 on his retirement.
+
+May 31st. About 30 yards of palisading and wall on the west side of the
+churchyard fell down.
+
+June 2nd. Gas explosion in Apsley Terrace. The windows, doors, &c.,
+were completely shattered, and Mr. Rushmer, who entered the drawing room
+with a lighted candle, was severely injured.
+
+June 5th. Mr. James Ling, relieving officer of Gorleston, appointed
+registrar of births and deaths in place of the late Dr. Arnott.
+
+June 6th. Mr. Robert Lane, 15 years lessee of the ferries, presented
+with a ten-guinea silver cup and an illuminated address by his respected
+patrons.
+
+June 8th. Singing platform on the beach let for £210; and in 1884 for
+£150 to Mr. Chappell.
+
+June. First prize meeting of the Yarmouth Golf Club.
+
+June. The old Borough Gaol sold for £170 12s.
+
+July 2nd. The Royal Aquarium opened by the Mayor, after its being nearly
+rebuilt and beautifully decorated at a cost of about £10,000. The event
+was celebrated by a luncheon and concert given by Madame Alice Barth’s
+Opera Company. The grand hall is 115 ft. by 60 ft., and 44 ft. high; and
+the minor hall 80 ft. by 38 ft., and 23 ft. high. The south front is
+faced with buff terra-cotta, the style Italian, freely treated. Messrs.
+Bottle and Olley were the architects, and Messrs. Cork and Beach and Mr.
+B. Springall, building contractors. (See Oct. 31st, 1881.) The same
+builders contracted for the new Board School, Church Road, Gorleston, on
+July 17th, at £4,348.
+
+July 4th. C. C. Aldred, Esq., sworn as a Magistrate for the County of
+Norfolk. (See June 28th, 1884.)
+
+July. Corporal S. J. Batchelder, 2nd N.R.V., won the champion medal of
+Norfolk at Norwich.
+
+July. Invalid shelter on South Parade ordered by the Council. Cost £60.
+
+July 9th. Retired Commander Francis Harris, R.N., a Trafalgar veteran,
+died at Southtown, and buried at Gorleston. He was born May 17th, 1795,
+and was 11 years old when the great battle was fought. He entered the
+Navy as First-class Volunteer on board the “Téméraire;” was at the battle
+of Trafalgar with his father, at the defence of Cadiz until Feb., 1811;
+removed to the “Unité;” assisted at the capture in 1811 of the French
+store ship “Dromédaire,” 800 tons; in the following May, in the same
+frigate, in company with the “Pemone” and “Scout,” at the destruction of
+the “Giraffe” and “Nourrice.” He participated in many boat affairs in
+the Adriatic; and in the same ship shared in a partial action, fought,
+13th Feb., 1814, with the Toulon fleet, under Sir E. Pellew. He was
+advanced to the rank of Lieutenant in 1815, and made Commander in 1860.
+The _Graphic_, March 1st, 1879, published the portraits of the then seven
+survivors, including Commander Harris and Admiral Spencer Smyth, of this
+town.
+
+July 13th. Sydney Stalley (20) drowned on Oulton Broad.
+
+July 17th. Columbia Fish Market, London (built some ten years ago by the
+Baroness Burdett-Coutts, at a cost of £300,000), re-opened, to which
+large quantities of fish are consigned from Yarmouth.
+
+July 22nd. On Sunday a man (name unknown) hung himself on one of the
+trees on Trafalgar Road, near the Grammar School.
+
+Aug. 1st. The “Duke’s Head” and Corn Hall let by auction for seven years
+to Mr. Seaman at an annual rent of £460.
+
+Aug. 23rd. Mr. A. E. Welch saved a gentleman from drowning, and received
+a testimonial from the Royal Humane Society; and in Sept. Rev. G. Wilson
+and J. W. Duffield were similarly recognised for their bravery.
+
+Aug. 29th. Messrs. Ferrier and Co.’s brewery, Middlegate Street, with
+plant, machinery, residence, &c., also 21 public-houses and beerhouses,
+sold in one lot for £15,750 (exclusive of £669 for rolling stock).
+
+Sept. 2nd. Very heavy gale.
+
+Sept. An elegant obelisk, 24 ft. high, erected in the churchyard at the
+north-east corner of the Parish Church. It is made of polished red
+Aberdeen granite, resting on die and steps of the same beautiful stone,
+while under these is a massive grey granite platform, a single block, 9½
+ft. square, surrounded with posts of like material, and rails of shining
+gun metal. It is erected by Mrs. Mills, of Nelson Road, to the memory of
+George J. Mills (died Nov. 6th, 1827, aged 37), and other members of her
+family. (See April, 1878.)
+
+Sept. 17th. Steamer “Isis” stranded on Hasbro’.
+
+Sept. 22nd. Rev. Henry Stebbings, D.D., F.R.S., died in London. He was
+born at Yarmouth in 1799, took his degree of B.A. at Cambridge in 1828,
+and ordained by Bishop Bathurst. He was the first editor of the
+_Athenæum_, and wrote the “Lives of the Italian Poets.”
+
+Oct. 5th. Batt.-Sergt. Major Quince presented with a handsome timepiece
+by the pupils in his swimming class, in recognition of his kindness to
+them.
+
+Oct. 22nd. Destructive fire on the premises of Messrs. Robert Yaxley and
+John Beckett, and total demolition of the intended Salvation Army
+barracks. It broke out about 6 p.m., and the group of buildings,
+comprising fish and tan houses, stable, net stores, &c., were soon one
+mass of ruins. On Nov. 1st £100 worth of damage by fire was done to
+Messrs. S. K. Smith and Son’s fishing premises, on St. Peter’s Road.
+
+Nov. Remarkable sunsets, the western horizon night after night being
+resplendent, the sky changing from pale orange to blood red.
+
+Nov. 19th. Smack “Puss” lost in the North Sea, through collision; and on
+Dec. 28th the fishing boat “Raven” collided with the “Daylight,” and
+sunk.
+
+Nov. 27th. Mad pranks of a bull belonging to Mr. Southgate. It entered
+Mr. Harrison’s grocer’s shop in the Market, injuring one of the
+assistants and damaging the goods. Afterwards running down Regent Street
+and along the Hall Quay, it found its way to the Broad Row, where it
+smashed windows and did other injury, till being secured by a rope round
+a lamp-post, it was killed, and the carcase removed on a cart. The
+inhabitants were much terrified, and tradesmen quickly closed their
+shops.
+
+Dec. 4th. William Holt, Esq., Magistrates’ Clerk and Borough Coroner,
+died, aged 57 years.
+
+Dec. 4th. Mr. C. A. Goodwin passed a very successful examination as
+second mate at the London Local Marine Board.
+
+Dec. 4th. Gale and heavy thunderstorm.
+
+Dec. 5th. Mr. Charles Diver resigned his seat in the Council for Regent
+Ward, and paid the £25 fine; and Mr. Walter Brown was elected to the seat
+on 24th, by 224 votes, or 52 more than Mr. F. Burton. On Dec. 11th Mr.
+Diver was appointed Borough Coroner, and Dec. 13th as Magistrates’ Clerk.
+(See June 24th, 1869, and Jan. 8th, 1884.)
+
+Dec. 8th. John Reeve (38), of Hopton, fell off a load of hay in
+Gorleston, and died from injuries received.
+
+Dec. 9th. William Jackson, porter on the Eastern and Midlands Railway,
+at Yarmouth, was run over by a railway carriage, and one of his legs was
+subsequently amputated at the Hospital.
+
+Dec. 11th and 12th. Another destructive gale and very high tide, the
+wind blowing “great guns.” Loss of Messrs. Bessey and Palmer’s “Francis”
+and three hands; the carrier steamer “Marie,” owned by the Baroness
+Burdett-Coutts, and all hands (12); also Mr. M. Barber’s brigantine
+“Susannah,” with a crew of four or five hands; and five smacks. About 60
+lives were lost in all.
+
+Dec. The season’s catch of herrings was 19,232 lasts.
+
+Dec. Sir Francis Roxburgh, Q.C., appointed Mr. John Etheridge Chief
+Clerk to the Registrar of the County Court.
+
+Dec. 14th. The derelict barque “Ulah” beached opposite the Nelson
+Monument. Crew lost.
+
+Dec. W. N. Burroughs, Esq., gave a donation of £500 to the Yarmouth
+Hospital, and £500 to the Fishermen’s Hospital as a birthday present.
+Mr. Burroughs died on April 12th, 1884. (See June 11th, 1884.)
+
+Dec. 22nd. Chief Constable W. Brogden presented with a handsome gold
+keyless hunter watch by the Mayor, on behalf of the Race Committee, for
+his vigilant attention to duty.
+
+Winners of the Ladies’ Challenge Cups in the Yarmouth Volunteer
+Corps:—_2nd Norfolk Rifles_. As will be seen by the following list,
+Sergeant Buddery took the cup in 1883, after 24 years.
+
+ Pts.
+1860. J. H. Bly 12
+1861. H. Fenner 12
+1862. Col.-Sgt. Chipperfield 17
+1863. Bugle-Major Fenner 16
+1864. G. W. N. Borrett 17
+1865. H. E. Pestell 30
+1866. Capt. E. P. Youell 45
+1867. Corp. A. Gunton 43
+1868. Corpl. Wilshak 47
+1869. Sergt. G. S. Pearson 45
+1870. A. J. Harpour 45
+1871. Corp. Wilshak 50
+1872. A. J. Harpour 43
+1873. Ar.-Sgt.-Wales 47
+1874. Wm. Hunt 44
+1875. Corp. Goddard 82
+1876. Wm. Hunt 80
+1877. Corp. Goddard 78
+1878. Corp. J. W. Cross 82
+1879. W. Barrett 82
+1880. Sergt. Goddard 88
+1881. Sergt. Buddery 90
+1882. „ „ 80
+1883. „ „ 65
+
+_1st Norfolk Artillery Volunteers_: The cup was first shot for in 1869,
+and after 13 years became the sole property of Battery-Sergt.-Major R. B.
+Smith, as will be seen by the annexed list of winners:—
+
+1869. Lieut. H. H. Baker.
+1870. Sergt. G. H. Self.
+1871. „
+1872. Qr.-Master W. C. Mack.
+1873. Gunner Woodhouse.
+1874. Sergt. G. H. Sell.
+1875. Qr.-Master Sergt. Mack.
+1876. Qr.-Master Sgt. Mack.
+1877. Bt.-Sgt. Major Self.
+1878. „ ,, „
+1879. Sergt. R. B. Smith.
+1880. Bat.-Sergt.-Major R. B. Smith.
+1881. ,, ,, ,,
+
+Launches: Feb. 24th, fishing boat “Nell,” from Messrs. Castle’s yard;
+March 12th, smack “Sylvia;” March 19th, smack “Little Tom;” May 23rd,
+Messrs. Morgan’s yachts “Midge,” and June 6th, “Red White;” June 28th,
+steam tug “Yare,” from Messrs. Beeching’s yard; July 9th, smack “E.
+Birkbeck,” from Mr. Critton’s yard; July 30th, dandy trawlers “Boy Ben”
+and “New Spray;” Nov. 3rd, lifeboat “Covent Garden,” from Messrs.
+Beeching’s yard.
+
+Marriages: Jan. 25th, Mr. G. D. Gowing, Norwich, to Miss E. S. Gambling,
+Southtown.—May 5th, Mr. E. B. Sewell to Elizabeth, daughter of Mr. John
+Caleb Fenn, of Gorleston.—July 24th, Rev. E. A. Ducket, B.A., to Miss
+Maria H. Denny.—June 19th, G. A. Ward, Esq., to Katherine Scott, fourth
+daughter of E. P. Youell, Esq.—July 20th, Arthur H., second son of R. B.
+B. Norman, Esq., surgeon, to Edith L. Stevens, of Norwich.—Aug. 9th, Mr.
+Wm. E. Bovill to Persis, daughter of J. P. Baumgartner, Esq.—Sept. 20th,
+Mr. C. R. St. Aubyn, of Gorleston, to Miss Annie Adelaide Arnott.—Oct.
+22nd, Charles A. S. Ling, M.R.C.S., L.S.A., of Gorleston, to Miss Ada A.
+Cooper.—Nov. 6th, Rev. R. V. Barker, M.A., to Miss Palgrave.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 2nd, Rev. J. Mangan, D.D., aged 46.—Jan. 30th, Mrs. Garwood
+B. Palmer, of Gorleston, aged 63.—Mr. T. E. Gray, ironmonger, aged
+74.—May 1st. Alderman J. T. Bracey, aged 82.—May 26th, Charles D.
+Arnott, Esq., M.D., at Gorleston, aged 62.—June 16th, Mr. G. S. F.
+Skoulding, T.C., chemist.—June 25th, Mr. George Farrow, aged 81.—July
+25th, Elizabeth Tolver, wife of the Rev. A. Hume, and daughter of the
+late Rev. Mark Waters. July 27th, Mr. George Reginald Harmer, aged
+28.—Aug. 3rd, Mr. Robert B. Moxon, aged 20.—Aug. 4th, Mary, relict of the
+late Samuel C. Marsh, aged 68.—Aug. 10th, Elizabeth Boyce Crisp, aged
+27.—Aug. 27th, the veteran bellringer, Thomas Gooch, aged 88.—Nov. 3rd,
+Mr. Joseph Tomlinson, ex-Town Councillor, at Gorleston, aged 47.—Dec.
+24th, F. H. S. Raven, B.A., son of Dr. Raven, aged 23.
+
+
+
+1884.
+
+
+Jan. 8th. J. T. Waters, Esq., elected Borough Coroner in place of C.
+Diver, Esq., resigned.
+
+Jan. 15th. St. Andrew’s Hall, Gorleston, sold, including fittings and
+dwelling-house adjoining, for £430.
+
+Jan. 23rd. Heavy gale; and another on 26th, accompanied with a heavy
+thunderstorm.
+
+Jan. 26th. At midnight Mr. E. Bostock’s draper’s shop, King Street,
+burnt down, and stock-in-trade completely demolished; the Rose Tavern
+adjoining (occupied by Mr. W. Overed) was also partly destroyed by fire;
+at the same time part of Mr. Watts’ dyeing premises in Middlegate Street
+were in flames.
+
+Jan. Mr. Keymer, organist of Gorleston Church, presented with a handsome
+five-o’clock tea service by the choir.
+
+The past winter, and during several previous, were among the mildest on
+record, snow and frost being scarcely seen.
+
+Feb. 4th. School Board Election.
+
+Feb. 15th. Boiler explosion at Mr. Nall’s steam printing works, Row 63.
+Messrs. George Emmerson and John Hughes were severely scalded, and much
+damage was done to the building and machinery.
+
+Feb. 16th. Fire at Mr. G. Archard’s, King Street.
+
+March. The Rev. A. J. Spencer, M.A., prior to leaving the ministry at
+St. John’s Church for Hickley. Leicestershire, was presented with
+several costly presents by his congregation, church helpers, &c.
+
+March. A clerical impostor, named John Lindsay, scripture reader
+connected with St. Peter’s Church, brought to bay, and subsequently
+imprisoned for solemnizing matrimony without a license.
+
+March. Mr. C. W. Moss, F.C.O., appointed organist of St. Peter’s Church.
+
+April 1st. Mr. Wm. Albrow, 14 years hon. sec. of the Market Ward
+Conservative Association, presented with a handsome ormolu clock under
+glass shade, by the members.
+
+April 2nd. A young cow visited the shop of Mr. Baird, Regent Street, but
+being no judge of leather left without giving an order. Prior to this,
+Mr. F. Norris’ shop was visited by some sheep.
+
+April 6th. Fire at the Belvedere Tavern, Caister Road.
+
+April 7th. C. S. Orde, D. Tomkins, and F. Arnold, Esqs., sworn in as
+Borough Magistrates before the Recorder.
+
+April 17th. Fire at Mr. W. Wilkins’ net chamber and residence,
+Southtown.
+
+April 22nd. Destructive earthquake in East Anglia, but the shock was
+only slightly felt at Yarmouth, and no damage done.
+
+May 15th. Quarter-Master Cooke, 1st N.A.V., presented with a silver
+tankard and a four-o’clock tea service, by the past and present officers
+of the corps and other friends, on his retirement; also an illuminated
+address.
+
+May 15th. Wm. Smith attempted to murder his wife at Gorleston, and
+sentenced to 7 years’ imprisonment on July 25th.
+
+May 21st to 23rd. An Ohio Englyshe Fayre at the Town Hall.
+
+May 28th. The south transept of the Parish Church opened after
+restoration. (See Dec. 3rd.)
+
+June 11th. The will of the late Mr. W. N. Burroughs proved, his personal
+estate amounting to over £11,000. (See Dec., 1883.)
+
+June 28th. Chas. Cory Aldred, Esq., Deputy-Mayor, and five times Chief
+Magistrate of the Borough, died. He was born March 21st, 1811, and for
+40 years was a very prominent member of society. To perpetuate his
+memory, his portrait, in robes, painted by Mr. J. B. Burgess, A.R.A., of
+Finchley Road, St. John’s Wood, and subscribed for by the town, is to be
+hung in the Town Hall.
+
+June. The Guardians issued bills in all the Wards with the names of
+defaulting ratepayers upon them, which led to much ridicule, and a public
+indignation meeting was called on June 25th.
+
+July 5th. Fire at Mr. Sharman’s, Regent Street.
+
+Launches: Jan. 7th, the trawler “Ethel May;” Jan. 29th, smack “Sir
+Francis Burdett.”
+
+Marriages: March 19th, Mr. W. Richardson, M.B., C.M., to Miss Helen S.
+Blake.—April 16th, Mr. R. P. Chamberlin, of Wroxham, to Miss Clara M.
+Wiltshire.
+
+Deaths: Jan. 3rd, John Clarke, Esq., J.P., at Felbrigg; Jan. 9th,
+Quarter-Master Stembridge, P.W.O. Royal Artillery, aged 47; Jan. 3rd, Mr.
+Geo. M. Pulford, aged 80; Feb. 15th, Mr. H. H. Gambling, aged 60; Feb.
+22nd, Mr. F. W. Rolfe, organist of St. Peter’s Church, aged 43; April
+12th, W. N. Burroughs, Esq., aged 85; April 14th, Emma, widow of the late
+Robert Boyce Crisp, aged 68; April 16th, Arthur Palmer, Esq., J.P., aged
+63; April 26th, J. S. Clowes, Esq., T.C., aged 35.
+
+August. The following is a list of persons who died in this Borough of
+90 years and upwards:—1793, Matthew Champion, aged 111; 1854, Eleanor
+Warren, 102; 1855, Thomas Burgess, 94; 1860, Ann Mann, 96; 1861, Thornton
+Fisher, 91; 1865, Susannah Clark, 97; 1866, Edmund Clarke 95; 1868, Sarah
+Crockett, 99; 1869, John T. Buston, 90; 1870, John Meffin, 93; 1873,
+James Mitchell 99, Mary Ablitt, 95, Susan Baldwin 90, Rebecca Willemite,
+90; 1874, Ann Kippon, 97; 1875, Catherine Pullyn 90; Mary Thomas 93, Mary
+Hall, 91; 1876, Sophia Ranall 90, Mary Ann Blyth, 90; 1877, John Smith
+90, Barker Crisp 94, Elizabeth Bristow 91, Martha Bryanton, 91; 1878,
+Mrs. George Danby Palmer 91, Wm. Plummer 96, Sarah Kelf 92, John Van
+Hutton 102, Hannah Fountain 91, Susannah Newman 91, Ann Pidgeon 94, Sarah
+Porter, 94; 1879, Sarah Haw 91, Jane Haw 93, April 6th, Ann Parker 95;
+Elizabeth Fenn, 90, Elizabeth Farrow 92, Mary Francis 93, Elizabeth
+Warren 104 and 8 months; 1880, Margaret Henry, 96; 1881, Samuel Yarham
+94, M. A. Crickmay 90, Ralph Newby, 93; 1882, Sarah Parker 91, John
+Mooring 102, Susannah Dye, 94; 1883, Elizabeth Wright 94, Wm. Tyrrell 92,
+Mary Hogg 91, Maria Manship 96, Lydia Bulley 90, Mary Errington, 92;
+1884, Feb. 9th, James Kemp 90, Elizabeth Roberts 97, Sarah Gates 91,
+Elizabeth James 90, and Wm. Wood 91.
+
+
+
+
+***END OF THE PROJECT GUTENBERG EBOOK CHRONOLOGICAL RETROSPECT OF THE
+HISTORY OF YARMOUTH AND NEIGHBOURHOOD***
+
+
+******* This file should be named 41618-0.txt or 41618-0.zip *******
+
+
+This and all associated files of various formats will be found in:
+http://www.gutenberg.org/dirs/4/1/6/1/41618
+
+
+
+Updated editions will replace the previous one--the old editions
+will be renamed.
+
+Creating the works from public domain print editions means that no
+one owns a United States copyright in these works, so the Foundation
+(and you!) can copy and distribute it in the United States without
+permission and without paying copyright royalties. Special rules,
+set forth in the General Terms of Use part of this license, apply to
+copying and distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works to
+protect the PROJECT GUTENBERG-tm concept and trademark. Project
+Gutenberg is a registered trademark, and may not be used if you
+charge for the eBooks, unless you receive specific permission. If you
+do not charge anything for copies of this eBook, complying with the
+rules is very easy. You may use this eBook for nearly any purpose
+such as creation of derivative works, reports, performances and
+research. They may be modified and printed and given away--you may do
+practically ANYTHING with public domain eBooks. Redistribution is
+subject to the trademark license, especially commercial
+redistribution.
+
+
+
+*** START: FULL LICENSE ***
+
+THE FULL PROJECT GUTENBERG LICENSE
+PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE YOU DISTRIBUTE OR USE THIS WORK
+
+To protect the Project Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting the free
+distribution of electronic works, by using or distributing this work
+(or any other work associated in any way with the phrase "Project
+Gutenberg"), you agree to comply with all the terms of the Full Project
+Gutenberg-tm License available with this file or online at
+ www.gutenberg.org/license.
+
+
+Section 1. General Terms of Use and Redistributing Project Gutenberg-tm
+electronic works
+
+1.A. By reading or using any part of this Project Gutenberg-tm
+electronic work, you indicate that you have read, understand, agree to
+and accept all the terms of this license and intellectual property
+(trademark/copyright) agreement. If you do not agree to abide by all
+the terms of this agreement, you must cease using and return or destroy
+all copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in your possession.
+If you paid a fee for obtaining a copy of or access to a Project
+Gutenberg-tm electronic work and you do not agree to be bound by the
+terms of this agreement, you may obtain a refund from the person or
+entity to whom you paid the fee as set forth in paragraph 1.E.8.
+
+1.B. "Project Gutenberg" is a registered trademark. It may only be
+used on or associated in any way with an electronic work by people who
+agree to be bound by the terms of this agreement. There are a few
+things that you can do with most Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works
+even without complying with the full terms of this agreement. See
+paragraph 1.C below. There are a lot of things you can do with Project
+Gutenberg-tm electronic works if you follow the terms of this agreement
+and help preserve free future access to Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
+works. See paragraph 1.E below.
+
+1.C. The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation ("the Foundation"
+or PGLAF), owns a compilation copyright in the collection of Project
+Gutenberg-tm electronic works. Nearly all the individual works in the
+collection are in the public domain in the United States. If an
+individual work is in the public domain in the United States and you are
+located in the United States, we do not claim a right to prevent you from
+copying, distributing, performing, displaying or creating derivative
+works based on the work as long as all references to Project Gutenberg
+are removed. Of course, we hope that you will support the Project
+Gutenberg-tm mission of promoting free access to electronic works by
+freely sharing Project Gutenberg-tm works in compliance with the terms of
+this agreement for keeping the Project Gutenberg-tm name associated with
+the work. You can easily comply with the terms of this agreement by
+keeping this work in the same format with its attached full Project
+Gutenberg-tm License when you share it without charge with others.
+
+1.D. The copyright laws of the place where you are located also govern
+what you can do with this work. Copyright laws in most countries are in
+a constant state of change. If you are outside the United States, check
+the laws of your country in addition to the terms of this agreement
+before downloading, copying, displaying, performing, distributing or
+creating derivative works based on this work or any other Project
+Gutenberg-tm work. The Foundation makes no representations concerning
+the copyright status of any work in any country outside the United
+States.
+
+1.E. Unless you have removed all references to Project Gutenberg:
+
+1.E.1. The following sentence, with active links to, or other immediate
+access to, the full Project Gutenberg-tm License must appear prominently
+whenever any copy of a Project Gutenberg-tm work (any work on which the
+phrase "Project Gutenberg" appears, or with which the phrase "Project
+Gutenberg" is associated) is accessed, displayed, performed, viewed,
+copied or distributed:
+
+This eBook is for the use of anyone anywhere at no cost and with
+almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or
+re-use it under the terms of the Project Gutenberg License included
+with this eBook or online at www.gutenberg.org
+
+1.E.2. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is derived
+from the public domain (does not contain a notice indicating that it is
+posted with permission of the copyright holder), the work can be copied
+and distributed to anyone in the United States without paying any fees
+or charges. If you are redistributing or providing access to a work
+with the phrase "Project Gutenberg" associated with or appearing on the
+work, you must comply either with the requirements of paragraphs 1.E.1
+through 1.E.7 or obtain permission for the use of the work and the
+Project Gutenberg-tm trademark as set forth in paragraphs 1.E.8 or
+1.E.9.
+
+1.E.3. If an individual Project Gutenberg-tm electronic work is posted
+with the permission of the copyright holder, your use and distribution
+must comply with both paragraphs 1.E.1 through 1.E.7 and any additional
+terms imposed by the copyright holder. Additional terms will be linked
+to the Project Gutenberg-tm License for all works posted with the
+permission of the copyright holder found at the beginning of this work.
+
+1.E.4. Do not unlink or detach or remove the full Project Gutenberg-tm
+License terms from this work, or any files containing a part of this
+work or any other work associated with Project Gutenberg-tm.
+
+1.E.5. Do not copy, display, perform, distribute or redistribute this
+electronic work, or any part of this electronic work, without
+prominently displaying the sentence set forth in paragraph 1.E.1 with
+active links or immediate access to the full terms of the Project
+Gutenberg-tm License.
+
+1.E.6. You may convert to and distribute this work in any binary,
+compressed, marked up, nonproprietary or proprietary form, including any
+word processing or hypertext form. However, if you provide access to or
+distribute copies of a Project Gutenberg-tm work in a format other than
+"Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other format used in the official version
+posted on the official Project Gutenberg-tm web site (www.gutenberg.org),
+you must, at no additional cost, fee or expense to the user, provide a
+copy, a means of exporting a copy, or a means of obtaining a copy upon
+request, of the work in its original "Plain Vanilla ASCII" or other
+form. Any alternate format must include the full Project Gutenberg-tm
+License as specified in paragraph 1.E.1.
+
+1.E.7. Do not charge a fee for access to, viewing, displaying,
+performing, copying or distributing any Project Gutenberg-tm works
+unless you comply with paragraph 1.E.8 or 1.E.9.
+
+1.E.8. You may charge a reasonable fee for copies of or providing
+access to or distributing Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works provided
+that
+
+- You pay a royalty fee of 20% of the gross profits you derive from
+ the use of Project Gutenberg-tm works calculated using the method
+ you already use to calculate your applicable taxes. The fee is
+ owed to the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark, but he
+ has agreed to donate royalties under this paragraph to the
+ Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation. Royalty payments
+ must be paid within 60 days following each date on which you
+ prepare (or are legally required to prepare) your periodic tax
+ returns. Royalty payments should be clearly marked as such and
+ sent to the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation at the
+ address specified in Section 4, "Information about donations to
+ the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation."
+
+- You provide a full refund of any money paid by a user who notifies
+ you in writing (or by e-mail) within 30 days of receipt that s/he
+ does not agree to the terms of the full Project Gutenberg-tm
+ License. You must require such a user to return or
+ destroy all copies of the works possessed in a physical medium
+ and discontinue all use of and all access to other copies of
+ Project Gutenberg-tm works.
+
+- You provide, in accordance with paragraph 1.F.3, a full refund of any
+ money paid for a work or a replacement copy, if a defect in the
+ electronic work is discovered and reported to you within 90 days
+ of receipt of the work.
+
+- You comply with all other terms of this agreement for free
+ distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm works.
+
+1.E.9. If you wish to charge a fee or distribute a Project Gutenberg-tm
+electronic work or group of works on different terms than are set
+forth in this agreement, you must obtain permission in writing from
+both the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation and Michael
+Hart, the owner of the Project Gutenberg-tm trademark. Contact the
+Foundation as set forth in Section 3 below.
+
+1.F.
+
+1.F.1. Project Gutenberg volunteers and employees expend considerable
+effort to identify, do copyright research on, transcribe and proofread
+public domain works in creating the Project Gutenberg-tm
+collection. Despite these efforts, Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
+works, and the medium on which they may be stored, may contain
+"Defects," such as, but not limited to, incomplete, inaccurate or
+corrupt data, transcription errors, a copyright or other intellectual
+property infringement, a defective or damaged disk or other medium, a
+computer virus, or computer codes that damage or cannot be read by
+your equipment.
+
+1.F.2. LIMITED WARRANTY, DISCLAIMER OF DAMAGES - Except for the "Right
+of Replacement or Refund" described in paragraph 1.F.3, the Project
+Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation, the owner of the Project
+Gutenberg-tm trademark, and any other party distributing a Project
+Gutenberg-tm electronic work under this agreement, disclaim all
+liability to you for damages, costs and expenses, including legal
+fees. YOU AGREE THAT YOU HAVE NO REMEDIES FOR NEGLIGENCE, STRICT
+LIABILITY, BREACH OF WARRANTY OR BREACH OF CONTRACT EXCEPT THOSE
+PROVIDED IN PARAGRAPH 1.F.3. YOU AGREE THAT THE FOUNDATION, THE
+TRADEMARK OWNER, AND ANY DISTRIBUTOR UNDER THIS AGREEMENT WILL NOT BE
+LIABLE TO YOU FOR ACTUAL, DIRECT, INDIRECT, CONSEQUENTIAL, PUNITIVE OR
+INCIDENTAL DAMAGES EVEN IF YOU GIVE NOTICE OF THE POSSIBILITY OF SUCH
+DAMAGE.
+
+1.F.3. LIMITED RIGHT OF REPLACEMENT OR REFUND - If you discover a
+defect in this electronic work within 90 days of receiving it, you can
+receive a refund of the money (if any) you paid for it by sending a
+written explanation to the person you received the work from. If you
+received the work on a physical medium, you must return the medium with
+your written explanation. The person or entity that provided you with
+the defective work may elect to provide a replacement copy in lieu of a
+refund. If you received the work electronically, the person or entity
+providing it to you may choose to give you a second opportunity to
+receive the work electronically in lieu of a refund. If the second copy
+is also defective, you may demand a refund in writing without further
+opportunities to fix the problem.
+
+1.F.4. Except for the limited right of replacement or refund set forth
+in paragraph 1.F.3, this work is provided to you 'AS-IS', WITH NO OTHER
+WARRANTIES OF ANY KIND, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO
+WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR ANY PURPOSE.
+
+1.F.5. Some states do not allow disclaimers of certain implied
+warranties or the exclusion or limitation of certain types of damages.
+If any disclaimer or limitation set forth in this agreement violates the
+law of the state applicable to this agreement, the agreement shall be
+interpreted to make the maximum disclaimer or limitation permitted by
+the applicable state law. The invalidity or unenforceability of any
+provision of this agreement shall not void the remaining provisions.
+
+1.F.6. INDEMNITY - You agree to indemnify and hold the Foundation, the
+trademark owner, any agent or employee of the Foundation, anyone
+providing copies of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works in accordance
+with this agreement, and any volunteers associated with the production,
+promotion and distribution of Project Gutenberg-tm electronic works,
+harmless from all liability, costs and expenses, including legal fees,
+that arise directly or indirectly from any of the following which you do
+or cause to occur: (a) distribution of this or any Project Gutenberg-tm
+work, (b) alteration, modification, or additions or deletions to any
+Project Gutenberg-tm work, and (c) any Defect you cause.
+
+
+Section 2. Information about the Mission of Project Gutenberg-tm
+
+Project Gutenberg-tm is synonymous with the free distribution of
+electronic works in formats readable by the widest variety of computers
+including obsolete, old, middle-aged and new computers. It exists
+because of the efforts of hundreds of volunteers and donations from
+people in all walks of life.
+
+Volunteers and financial support to provide volunteers with the
+assistance they need are critical to reaching Project Gutenberg-tm's
+goals and ensuring that the Project Gutenberg-tm collection will
+remain freely available for generations to come. In 2001, the Project
+Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation was created to provide a secure
+and permanent future for Project Gutenberg-tm and future generations.
+To learn more about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation
+and how your efforts and donations can help, see Sections 3 and 4
+and the Foundation information page at www.gutenberg.org
+
+
+Section 3. Information about the Project Gutenberg Literary Archive
+Foundation
+
+The Project Gutenberg Literary Archive Foundation is a non profit
+501(c)(3) educational corporation organized under the laws of the
+state of Mississippi and granted tax exempt status by the Internal
+Revenue Service. The Foundation's EIN or federal tax identification
+number is 64-6221541. Contributions to the Project Gutenberg
+Literary Archive Foundation are tax deductible to the full extent
+permitted by U.S. federal laws and your state's laws.
+
+The Foundation's principal office is located at 4557 Melan Dr. S.
+Fairbanks, AK, 99712., but its volunteers and employees are scattered
+throughout numerous locations. Its business office is located at 809
+North 1500 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84116, (801) 596-1887. Email
+contact links and up to date contact information can be found at the
+Foundation's web site and official page at www.gutenberg.org/contact
+
+For additional contact information:
+ Dr. Gregory B. Newby
+ Chief Executive and Director
+ gbnewby@pglaf.org
+
+Section 4. Information about Donations to the Project Gutenberg
+Literary Archive Foundation
+
+Project Gutenberg-tm depends upon and cannot survive without wide
+spread public support and donations to carry out its mission of
+increasing the number of public domain and licensed works that can be
+freely distributed in machine readable form accessible by the widest
+array of equipment including outdated equipment. Many small donations
+($1 to $5,000) are particularly important to maintaining tax exempt
+status with the IRS.
+
+The Foundation is committed to complying with the laws regulating
+charities and charitable donations in all 50 states of the United
+States. Compliance requirements are not uniform and it takes a
+considerable effort, much paperwork and many fees to meet and keep up
+with these requirements. We do not solicit donations in locations
+where we have not received written confirmation of compliance. To
+SEND DONATIONS or determine the status of compliance for any
+particular state visit www.gutenberg.org/donate
+
+While we cannot and do not solicit contributions from states where we
+have not met the solicitation requirements, we know of no prohibition
+against accepting unsolicited donations from donors in such states who
+approach us with offers to donate.
+
+International donations are gratefully accepted, but we cannot make
+any statements concerning tax treatment of donations received from
+outside the United States. U.S. laws alone swamp our small staff.
+
+Please check the Project Gutenberg Web pages for current donation
+methods and addresses. Donations are accepted in a number of other
+ways including checks, online payments and credit card donations.
+To donate, please visit: www.gutenberg.org/donate
+
+
+Section 5. General Information About Project Gutenberg-tm electronic
+works.
+
+Professor Michael S. Hart was the originator of the Project Gutenberg-tm
+concept of a library of electronic works that could be freely shared
+with anyone. For forty years, he produced and distributed Project
+Gutenberg-tm eBooks with only a loose network of volunteer support.
+
+Project Gutenberg-tm eBooks are often created from several printed
+editions, all of which are confirmed as Public Domain in the U.S.
+unless a copyright notice is included. Thus, we do not necessarily
+keep eBooks in compliance with any particular paper edition.
+
+Most people start at our Web site which has the main PG search facility:
+
+ www.gutenberg.org
+
+This Web site includes information about Project Gutenberg-tm,
+including how to make donations to the Project Gutenberg Literary
+Archive Foundation, how to help produce our new eBooks, and how to
+subscribe to our email newsletter to hear about new eBooks.